SARSOTA, FLORIDA -- Went on a bus tour which included Las Vegas, the Grand Canyon, and the balloon ascension in Albuquerque. Bus was bad with broken seat recliners, shades that popped up if you touched them, a crummy bathroom worse than you would find on an airplane and considerably less leg room that we had on our Southwest Airlines economy seats flying in. Motels were poorly thought out or L.J. just didn't care. We arrived into Winston, AZ one night around 1.5 hours late (for no discernible reason) and were glad that we had not chosen to go on an optional dinner tour. We would have had 5 minutes to rest after 400 miles before boarding the bus again.
After the dinner tour left, we started to think about our own dinner only to find out from motel staff that there were no restaurants within walking distance. So we ended the day eating a warm pizza that we phoned in. The hotel in Albuquerque, a city I am familiar with, was in the worst part of town and dinner was at a next door Burger King. Used condoms, needles, and panhandlers made our 50 yard trip exciting!
The balloon ascension was wonderful, but again L.J. royally fouled up the bus schedule by trying to use the same bus to bring in another group and finding that buses who brought people in could not turn around and leave for another hour or so (i.e., only one way traffic allowed). Consequently, we were very late getting back to the motel and again had no time to catch a breath before the tour to Santa Fe left (we were to have had at least an hour). That tour got back hours after when it was supposed to and we missed having dinner with local friends.
I know that this is a budget outfit and you pay a budget price. Fine. But I have been on many great budget tours in the last 40 years and come back fully satisfied. This was a joke as nobody at L.J. coordinated anything and in my world, that is what you pay travel agents to do. Anyway, if you go and come back unhappy, don't complain to the Better Business Bureau. They don't belong.
SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- Cuba Tour - I would never travel with Legendary Journeys again. Although the ship docked in Montego Bay, Jamaica, at 8 a.m. and we were off the ship by 8:30 a.m., our transfer to the airport was not there - Jamaican dock personnel had to call twice to get the transport company to come. LJ would not discuss flights from Montego Bay to Fort Lauderdale with any of us and then put us on a flight leaving Montego Bay at 4:51 p.m., the only Spirit Airline flight out of Montego Bay.
Having to book a flight less than a week before embarkation in order to make my connecting flight from Fort Lauderdale cost me an additional $215. LJ would not consider reimbursing the $99 flight because they had booked non-refundable tickets. If LJ really cared about their customers, it would have refunded the money and taken the (for them) small loss. LJ personnel gave no information regarding the tour, other than the brochure we initially received, although we asked numerous questions.
LADY LAKE, FLORIDA -- After reading previous reviews it seems this company will not change. They never take the blame for anything going wrong and blame the customers. We never could get any info before our trip and we were leaving early and meeting our group. We never had name of hotel till day before we left. We were never told we could upgrade our hotel. We Never got to the balloon fiesta on the scheduled day as local driver got lost and we spent 5 hours sitting on bus with a tour guide who went into a meltdown and screamed at all of us.
They did take us the morning we were to leave for the Grand Canyon which meant we spent from 5 am till almost 7pm on the bus. We ended up paying for our own hotel room in Las Vegas as we were not happy with their choice of circus circus and were never given the option to upgrade. Never again.
Signed myself and 5 others up for the Savannah St. Patrick's Day Parade. Flyer and still to this day states 3 nights in Jekyll Isle. Also reserved seating for the parade. 4 of us paid extra for drinks and food. Received the dues on Friday 3/11/16 and it stated we are staying at a Comfort Inn off I-95 in Brunswick Georgia, definitely not Jekyll Isle. Called my agent (Sandy), left message then called main office in Sarasota, spoke to Marco. He would get back to me.
Here we are 3/13/16, have heard from no one. Have a 6:00 am pickup for a ride that is less than 5 hours from home (Melbourne, Florida) going from Melbourne off I-85 to Orlando and then back to I-95 to Daytona. No mention of reserved seating and the extra we paid for. I am so upset and we haven't even left yet. I can't imagine what else will happen. Will never travel with this agency again. I am reporting them to the Better Business Bureau and the Elder Abuse hotline as we are all over 65. Please be aware this is not a good company to travel with. This is not my first rodeo. I have been traveling for many years. I am very very upset.
SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- I booked a tour for my family and myself, paid for 4 people plus an optional Grand Canyon Train tour. This tour was from Oct. 5th-Oct 12th, right at the beginning there were problems. I dealt with ** at the Summerfield office, what a case she is, doesn't know anything but to take your money. The whole experience was a nightmare and a rip-off of false advertising and a scam.
We were to go to the Albuquerque Balloon Fest, then stop at the Petrified National Forest, Grand Canyon, and on to Las Vegas. The balloon fest was cancelled the day we went and the tour company had no back-up schedule to go the next day even though we were still there. We had to find our own way back and pay extra to see what we already paid for. Everything was rush, rush and you had no time to walk around and see other things.
The hotel they put us in was doing renovations and we were supposed to have a handicap room and it was not done, in fact the room was the farthest from an elevator and exit. Also, there was no safe place for eating. Then we left there and did a quick drive-through of the Petrified National Forest. That night we were put up in a hotel outside of Williams to go to the Grand Canyon the next day, instead of putting us in a hotel in town where we could sight see and make use of the trip. The only place to eat was Denny's and they only had 2 people serving so that was another nightmare.
We were expecting the Grand Canyon Train to take us around and through the Grand Canyon, well that was a rip-off, because the only Grand Canyon you see with that train is in the name of the train. They charged us more through the tour company than the actual tickets cost and you saw NOTHING. Because we paid extra for a no nothing train ride when we got to the Grand Canyon we only had 40 mins. and no time to take the free shuttle to other spots of the Grand Canyon.
To get to the Canyon view point from the train required walking and steps, well my mother was handicap and there was no wheelchair for her when we got off the train, it took all she had to try to make it where we had to go and then less time to look. The tour guide was no tour guide, she didn't help with handicap at all, she gave no information during the bus travels, and was not around when you needed her.
The hotel in Las Vegas that was supposed to be handicap was far from anything and meant she couldn't leave the room because it was far from an elevator and exit. They put us in the dumpy, far away from everything Riviera to save their expenses but of course still charged us a fortune. We had to keep paying bus fare to try to get to anything on the strip and then it rained and flooded the couple of days we were there. Then the flight home was another disaster and they put us on an airline where you had to pay for every checked bag and they had nothing ready for handicap assistance like they were supposed to.
The shuttle from the hotel to the airport was an hour late, for a 7:00 am flight we were told to be outside with our bags at 4:20 am, the shuttle didn't get there until 5:15 am. The trip was told to be 8 days and 7 nights, but that also was not true because day one you fly out late and get in with no time to see anything and the last day they booked us out so early that again another you saw nothing except an airplane all day long.
I have taken many tours with other agencies and this is the worst I have ever dealt with and been through.. Everybody I talked to that took this tour was very pissed also and said they were writing complaints and never going with this company again. There are so many more bad things about this company, but I only have so much time and every time I think about it I get more **. The owner of the company claims there are not complaints or bad things about the company but that shows he doesn't have a clue or doesn't want to deal with all the problems. I would not recommend this company to even an enemy it's that bad.
BEWARE DON'T TRAVEL WITH THEM YOU'LL DEEPLY REGRET IT. I wrote a complaint to the owner and told him I wanted a refund, of course I haven't heard a thing, so I'm trying to warn everybody I can. I'm also going to send a complaint to the BBB, they need to be shut down now.
Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We would like to first point out that this client began making unreasonable demands and threats long before her trip left, continuing on the trip, as well as after she returned home. Legendary Journeys did everything within a reasonable expectation to attempt to appease this client and her concerns. At the time, our Vice-President, who is now our President, personally responded to this client. In fact, it was a mere 6 days prior to this client posting on this site was when our then Vice President threatened legal action against this client due to her unreasonable threats and libelous actions. In fact, this person's post is libelous, at best!
It is most unfortunate because our Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta trip is one that we repeat year after year with great success! Our clients love the features of the trip, plus the huge event that IS the Balloon Fiesta is simply spectacular! We continue to receive rave reviews on this trip from many clients each year.
In the case of this trip, all aspects of the trip that were scheduled to take place, happened. The Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta events took place as scheduled. In fact, we received rave reviews from other guests on this trip.
The hotel in Albuquerque was undergoing renovations, however the Balloon Fiesta is such a huge events that changing hotels at the last minute for a group is an impossible task. The point the client makes about the Handicap accessible hotel room is just one example of her unreasonable expectations. Just because the room is Handicap accessible, does NOT mean the room will be next to, or close to, an elevator. The reason a room is accessible is because the room can accommodate someone restricted to a wheelchair, or other mobility device, with wider doorways, wider interior doorways (to accommodate the mobility device), and a bathroom & shower that can also accommodate a mobility device.
The Grand Canyon Railway does not take you into the Grand Canyon. A simple Google search would have let this client know that "the Grand Canyon Railway travels 130 miles round-trip from Williams to the South Rim" (This verbiage is taken directly from their website and our literature). At no time did Legendary Journeys ever state this railway took you into the depths of the Grand Canyon.
Furthermore, your statements regarding your "Tour Guide" are simply invalid. They were not a Tour guide, but were your Tour Manager. They are in place to ensure all components of the trip happen and to smooth over any hiccups that can occur along the way when one travels. They are not your personal assistant.
Our records indicate that you had our Standard Air Arrangements. On our trip flyer and your Client information packet we explain our standard air arrangements as follows:
STANDARD AIR: Refers to the Free Air (and Low-cost add-on cities) included with the package. Standard air arrangements, Airline and Flight Schedule, are at Legendary Journey's sole discretion. Standard air schedule will be available approximately 7 days prior to the trip departure date. Requests cannot be accepted for Standard Air Arrangements.
Please note: Standard Air low-cost air gateways will require payment of all air costs at the time of acceptance.
If you were concerned over the airline you fly, or any aspect of your airline arrangements, why did you not take advantage of our optional Legendary Premium Air Program? For a fee of $49 plus the additional cost of the service requested you can customize your airline arrangements to your exact specification. With Legendary Premium Air you will never again be unhappy with your Air Arrangements! You did sign your contract booking form acknowledging that you were offered Premium Air. Why did you not take advantage of that? More on this point, Legendary Journeys offered a NO AIR / NO TRANSFER Credit that you could have taken advantage of, then made your own airline & Transfer arrangements. Why did you not take advantage of that feature? Again, both of these features were presented to you on our trip flyer and the Client Information Packet that you received upon making your reservation.
In Conclusion, you were the only person to have issues with this trip as you were the only complaint we received from this departure (both before the trip left and after the trip returned). Legendary Journeys does apologize that your experience did not meet your overly high expectations. Legendary Journeys strives to provide our guests with great value for their travel dollar.
ST PETERSBURG, FLORIDA -- Took a 60-day trip and Cruise. Price paid was fair, trip was great, everything promised we got! We have used them many times and understand they are a B travel service, if you want a A travel company, pay more go elsewhere. There are some glitches it overall it's pretty good. The travel agent we used with them is the worst I've used but I kept getting her.
I just booked a 37 day trip to Australia with them and used a different agent. Her name is Maribeth. She came highly recommended and did everything we asked, got back to us and was very responsive. One thing LJ never told us with our 60-day trip that we needed visas for China and India. When asked Tammi she said, "It's in the documents, didn't you read them?" Well yes, but a Visa should have been explained in large red letters. My trip to Australia needs a Visa and Maribeth explained the process. Are they the best? Not sure but they always offer pretty good deals. I'll continue to use them with the understanding they are just that, a pretty good deal!
SARASOTA, FL, FLORIDA -- Legendary Journeys Travel sold an all-inclusive cruise, air and resort post cruise stay with choice of daily tours. We, 8 customers, were told when we arrived at the resort 90 minutes from Seattle and ANY transportation, that THE TOURS WERE CANCELLED. LJ did not respond to our calls, texts or emails for a satisfactory resolution to this situation. They knew before we arrived this was the situation but did nothing to rectify it. We were abandoned by LJ. None of us gambled, but we went there so we could take the promised tours.
LJ continued to advertise and offer this trip EXACTLY as it was paid for by us even though we were told their subcontractor went out of business. False advertising, fraud and failure to meet contractual agreements?? TAKING ADVANTAGE OF SENIORS TOO... Buyer beware of Legendary... Corporate greed at its finest.
FT LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- I was in progress of having several friends booked for a cruise departing on 11/26 on the MSC Divina to Panama Canal. I completed 2 of the booking and paid the deposits with agent, Erika on 1/18/2016. Within the next two weeks 5 other couples had completed their bookings and paid their deposits of $400 each, as required. Four other couples were told after that that Legendary Journeys had completely booked all of the available cabins, therefore were unable to book.
On 2/17, I contacted Erika with an inquiry. It was then that she told me that three of those cabins that were booked and the required deposits paid, were not available and that every cabin on the ship had been sold out, claiming having been told that by the MSC representative. She said that the deposits paid could be refunded or they (the three cabins) could just wait in hopes that cabins may later become available through cancellations. One of those who has "lost" their cabin, I had booked on their behalf, and paid their deposit on 1/18, receiving written confirmation that same date.
Yesterday and today I have made 2 calls to the Inventory Supervisor, Heather and also to another supervisor, Gayle, hoping to resolve this huge problem and be assured my friends will get the cabins which they have properly reserved and paid deposits. Neither of these persons have bothered to return my call. I am hoping that you may be able to assist me in getting these issues resolved. I have used Legendary Journeys travel services several times in the past and this is my first serious problem.
The Orlando hotels had notified the companies that they were discontinuing these tours. AAA canceled the same trip and refunded the individuals their money. After numerous calls to Legendary office and to sue who worked for them and went with the group nothing was done until some people notified seniors against crime. Legendary still refused a monetary refund but gave out a voucher that could be used on another trip with them.
Who in their right mind would ever book as much as a hay ride with them after this disaster and their extremely poor treatment of their customers. Needless to say I am sure no one used their voucher and Legendary retained all of the individuals' money. Never ever again.
Thank you for posting your continued concerns regarding this Day trip. In your previous posting we explained in great detail what had occurred on this one day trip. (Please see "Trip was a disaster .... to finish" below and our detailed response) In our original explanation we explained that while there were issues with this one day trip, Legendary Journeys did make alternate arrangements so that this trip would operate. Our decision to provide compensation to our guests in the form of a Future Travel Certificate was based on the fact that the tour did operate with some modifications and the prevailing hiccups that occurred throughout the tour due to the last minute modifications. Needless to say, your statement is wildly inaccurate and not correct. We actually had a large number of Future Travel Certificates used from this matter. We are sorry to hear of your decision to not utilize your certificate.
Again, Legendary Journeys apologizes that our tour, even with the last minute modifications, did not meet your expectations. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.
PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- LEGENDARY JOURNEYS. All their fliers state "From $xxx per person per day INCLUDING all taxes and fees!" About 4 months before the trip was to depart Legendary Journeys offered lots of options like trip excursions, hotel location, buddy charge (same hotel and air). All this should have been made available when we paid a deposit for the trip. Even though about 19 signed up together we were not a group according to our agent, but lo and behold those people were listed on my invoice as additional traveling companions.
Pre Trip Concerns: 1. Trip Insurance (refund due) - On May 17, 2007 our agent sent an email instructing me to complete the attached forms and mail them back with a check for trip insurance if I wished to purchase it. Which I did not. When the Final Invoice came I paid it. I later found that Legendary Journey put the charge for trip insurance on the invoice. When I called and asked for a refund I was told there would be a $100 charge and I would only get a $380 refund from the $480 charge for trip insurance. There was never another communication between me and Legendary Journeys concerning trip insurance and when I called about the charge.
Bus transportation. - Free Bus to ship we were told and on the invoice says Boca Raton (I-95) where in actuality it was SW 10th Street in Deerfield Beach which is in the next county and the travel documents that we got 5 days before we left said pick-up would be at 8 am for a 50 mile trip and that people could not board the ship before 1 pm. A 4 hour wait in the Florida sun.
Hotel Switch - Approximately 3 weeks before the trip I tried to find out if I was in the same hotel as my in-laws as my father in-law fell. I wanted to be closer to them if they needed help so I asked if we were in the same hotel. I kept getting "hotels had not yet been finalized" from our agent. I called again and again she was out sick but the person who I spoke to gave me the information and I found out that we were not in the same hotel.
So I called asked if we could switch but I was told that I had not paid the $49/pp so it could not be done. I asked if anyone cancelled their trip that was staying at the Hotel Byron where my in-laws were staying, I was denied that information as it was confidential. I asked if I could get a list of people who were staying at the Hotel Byron so I could offer a financial incentive to someone to switch hotels but I was told that the lists were confidential (that turned out to be a lie as lists of people and their hotels were publicly posted on the Lido deck for all passengers to see).
About 10 days before we set sail I called the Hotel Byron directly to see if they had availability to which they replied "only singles". A day or two later I get a call from someone at Legendary Journeys saying that they heard my concerns from the travel agent and they wanted to see if they could help. I told them I called the Hotel a day earlier and was told they only had singles but maybe he had more pull then me. He told me that before he made the call I had to agree to a $99/pp charge. I agreed and I got a call less than 30 minutes later that he was able to get us a room. Hummmm. I have the phone call on tape as well as emails to substantiate this.
City Center (Refund due) - About 4 months before the sail date and were told that it was advisable to be in City Center to be closer to downtown or we might far enough away from everything it might take a taxi to get everywhere and that could be expensive, the charge would $129/pp. It turns out that our hotel was not in City Center as were most of the hotels that were selected by Legendary Journeys.
Fuel Surcharge (refund due?) - Everyone paid this which was refunded to everyone. Question is how long long did Legendary Journeys have the money in an escrow account before Carnival Cruise Line was paid. If this is the case why is Legendary Journeys not refunding the interest that was accrued in escrow?
Excursions - Bad trips: 1. April 29th Dutch/French St. Maarten. Supposed to be a tour of both sides of the Island the we only did half as we were told by our driver that due to Carnival the shops would closed. You would think that a tour company would know that in advance.
We were dropped off about 10:30 am and were told to be back at 2:15 pm at the same spot to be picked up and we were on our own till then, no tour guide. The shops in the town closed at 1 pm for siesta and the only other tourist venue was a castle/fortress to visit (additional cost to enter). When we were picked up we were driven to Forte dei Marmi we got there at 3 pm, we told to be back at 4:30 to be taken back to the ship also, we were told we were on our own again. No tourist venues here and the shops were closed until 4 pm for siesta.
When I got home I did a search and found this but was not offered by Legendary Journeys: "From Lerici, you can take boats across the gulf to the Cinque Terre, five villages strung along the coast north of Portovenere. A leisurely
walk between two or more of the villages along the footpath which connects them will provide some absolutely breathtaking views of the sea and the surrounding mountains."
If you do an internet search for these cities and select things to do you get " NO THINGS TO DO LISTED." Carnival Cruise lines did arrange alternate transportation to Cinque Terre but not Legendary Journeys. Also, I am sure that Legendary Journeys got a refund for the train ride part of the excursion.
May 10th Vatican City, Sistine Chapel & Rome Orientation Tour. We did the Vatican and Sistine Chapel after lunch we got on the bus for orientation tour of historic Rome including the Forum and Colosseum. What this consisted of was a drive by of the just the Colosseum we did not go by the Forum. According to Webster's the definition of tour is: "a journey for business, pleasure, or education often involving a series of stops and ending at a point."
May 12th Best of Pisa/ Enchanting Lucca. In Pisa when we were on the tour of the Cathedral, the Bapistery, the Leaning Tower & the Monumental Cemetery we were charged admission to the Cathredral. Next you will visit Piazza dei Cavalieri, which in the Middle Ages was the political and commercial center of Pisa. We never made it there.
Discrepancies in LJ's Brochures. Between mint (#1) one to select excursions which was sent in about 4 months before we departed and the one given in our state room yellow (#2) 1. #1 It is impossible to purchase these tours from ANY Legendary Journeys Representative WHILE ON THE SHIP. This is your only notice of the limited sightseeing available. #2 They list the excursions and the amount of spaces left for each one.
#1 Legendary Journeys designs all tours primarily for seniors, you may expect moderate to normal amounts of walking on some excursions. #2 Parking at the Vatican requires significant amount of walking to the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica as vehicles are not allowed in proximity to the museums. This is false as buses were dropping off tours right in front.
#1 All Guests will be off the ship by 7 am. It was a nightmare for example when giving instructions for debarkation the cruise director said sorry that he had to use "L" word. 4. #1 Allowed 1 Carry-on bag and 1 checked bag. #2 Allowed 1 Overnight bag and 1 checked bag. If you had an extra bag Legendary Journeys wanted an extra $39 it was waived for me after I pointed out the discrepancy, but about other people, I do not know.
#2 Please remember that Legendary Journeys will be the ONLY company offering any tour options in Montecatini. This is false as we visited the tourist bureau 100 yards from city hall on Via Verde where tours were available. 6. #1 Describes the trip to Venice. #2 Urgent notes Regarding Venice Tour - long ride 4-5 hrs each way. I wonder if anyone got a refund.
STAY AWAY FROM LEGENDARY JOURNEYS.