PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- LEGENDARY JOURNEYS. All their fliers state "From $xxx per person per day INCLUDING all taxes and fees!" About 4 months before the trip was to depart Legendary Journeys offered lots of options like trip excursions, hotel location, buddy charge (same hotel and air). All this should have been made available when we paid a deposit for the trip. Even though about 19 signed up together we were not a group according to our agent, but lo and behold those people were listed on my invoice as additional traveling companions.
Pre Trip Concerns: 1. Trip Insurance (refund due) - On May 17, 2007 our agent sent an email instructing me to complete the attached forms and mail them back with a check for trip insurance if I wished to purchase it. Which I did not. When the Final Invoice came I paid it. I later found that Legendary Journey put the charge for trip insurance on the invoice. When I called and asked for a refund I was told there would be a $100 charge and I would only get a $380 refund from the $480 charge for trip insurance. There was never another communication between me and Legendary Journeys concerning trip insurance and when I called about the charge.
Bus transportation. - Free Bus to ship we were told and on the invoice says Boca Raton (I-95) where in actuality it was SW 10th Street in Deerfield Beach which is in the next county and the travel documents that we got 5 days before we left said pick-up would be at 8 am for a 50 mile trip and that people could not board the ship before 1 pm. A 4 hour wait in the Florida sun.
Hotel Switch - Approximately 3 weeks before the trip I tried to find out if I was in the same hotel as my in-laws as my father in-law fell. I wanted to be closer to them if they needed help so I asked if we were in the same hotel. I kept getting "hotels had not yet been finalized" from our agent. I called again and again she was out sick but the person who I spoke to gave me the information and I found out that we were not in the same hotel.
So I called asked if we could switch but I was told that I had not paid the $49/pp so it could not be done. I asked if anyone cancelled their trip that was staying at the Hotel Byron where my in-laws were staying, I was denied that information as it was confidential. I asked if I could get a list of people who were staying at the Hotel Byron so I could offer a financial incentive to someone to switch hotels but I was told that the lists were confidential (that turned out to be a lie as lists of people and their hotels were publicly posted on the Lido deck for all passengers to see).
About 10 days before we set sail I called the Hotel Byron directly to see if they had availability to which they replied "only singles". A day or two later I get a call from someone at Legendary Journeys saying that they heard my concerns from the travel agent and they wanted to see if they could help. I told them I called the Hotel a day earlier and was told they only had singles but maybe he had more pull then me. He told me that before he made the call I had to agree to a $99/pp charge. I agreed and I got a call less than 30 minutes later that he was able to get us a room. Hummmm. I have the phone call on tape as well as emails to substantiate this.
City Center (Refund due) - About 4 months before the sail date and were told that it was advisable to be in City Center to be closer to downtown or we might far enough away from everything it might take a taxi to get everywhere and that could be expensive, the charge would $129/pp. It turns out that our hotel was not in City Center as were most of the hotels that were selected by Legendary Journeys.
Fuel Surcharge (refund due?) - Everyone paid this which was refunded to everyone. Question is how long long did Legendary Journeys have the money in an escrow account before Carnival Cruise Line was paid. If this is the case why is Legendary Journeys not refunding the interest that was accrued in escrow?
Excursions - Bad trips: 1. April 29th Dutch/French St. Maarten. Supposed to be a tour of both sides of the Island the we only did half as we were told by our driver that due to Carnival the shops would closed. You would think that a tour company would know that in advance.
We were dropped off about 10:30 am and were told to be back at 2:15 pm at the same spot to be picked up and we were on our own till then, no tour guide. The shops in the town closed at 1 pm for siesta and the only other tourist venue was a castle/fortress to visit (additional cost to enter). When we were picked up we were driven to Forte dei Marmi we got there at 3 pm, we told to be back at 4:30 to be taken back to the ship also, we were told we were on our own again. No tourist venues here and the shops were closed until 4 pm for siesta.
When I got home I did a search and found this but was not offered by Legendary Journeys: "From Lerici, you can take boats across the gulf to the Cinque Terre, five villages strung along the coast north of Portovenere. A leisurely
walk between two or more of the villages along the footpath which connects them will provide some absolutely breathtaking views of the sea and the surrounding mountains."
If you do an internet search for these cities and select things to do you get " NO THINGS TO DO LISTED." Carnival Cruise lines did arrange alternate transportation to Cinque Terre but not Legendary Journeys. Also, I am sure that Legendary Journeys got a refund for the train ride part of the excursion.
May 10th Vatican City, Sistine Chapel & Rome Orientation Tour. We did the Vatican and Sistine Chapel after lunch we got on the bus for orientation tour of historic Rome including the Forum and Colosseum. What this consisted of was a drive by of the just the Colosseum we did not go by the Forum. According to Webster's the definition of tour is: "a journey for business, pleasure, or education often involving a series of stops and ending at a point."
May 12th Best of Pisa/ Enchanting Lucca. In Pisa when we were on the tour of the Cathedral, the Bapistery, the Leaning Tower & the Monumental Cemetery we were charged admission to the Cathredral. Next you will visit Piazza dei Cavalieri, which in the Middle Ages was the political and commercial center of Pisa. We never made it there.
Discrepancies in LJ's Brochures. Between mint (#1) one to select excursions which was sent in about 4 months before we departed and the one given in our state room yellow (#2) 1. #1 It is impossible to purchase these tours from ANY Legendary Journeys Representative WHILE ON THE SHIP. This is your only notice of the limited sightseeing available. #2 They list the excursions and the amount of spaces left for each one.
#1 Legendary Journeys designs all tours primarily for seniors, you may expect moderate to normal amounts of walking on some excursions. #2 Parking at the Vatican requires significant amount of walking to the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica as vehicles are not allowed in proximity to the museums. This is false as buses were dropping off tours right in front.
#1 All Guests will be off the ship by 7 am. It was a nightmare for example when giving instructions for debarkation the cruise director said sorry that he had to use "L" word. 4. #1 Allowed 1 Carry-on bag and 1 checked bag. #2 Allowed 1 Overnight bag and 1 checked bag. If you had an extra bag Legendary Journeys wanted an extra $39 it was waived for me after I pointed out the discrepancy, but about other people, I do not know.
#2 Please remember that Legendary Journeys will be the ONLY company offering any tour options in Montecatini. This is false as we visited the tourist bureau 100 yards from city hall on Via Verde where tours were available. 6. #1 Describes the trip to Venice. #2 Urgent notes Regarding Venice Tour - long ride 4-5 hrs each way. I wonder if anyone got a refund.
STAY AWAY FROM LEGENDARY JOURNEYS.
THE VILLAGES, FLORIDA -- This is an opportunity for Legendary Journeys to do something about a false promise before it is too late. Hopefully someone cares enough to help our travel agent with her inability to get a response from the travel itinerary group, which seems to be overwhelmed and too busy to meet their scheduled commitments.
We leave Saturday, April 2 for a three-week trip to Europe, staying overnight in three different countries and a river cruise. This is a long and complicated trip with transfers, bus, ship, airplane, etc. At the last minute we did receive our airline reservations. Of course at the last minute a couple of flights do not have seat assignments, reservations made too late to get seat assignments, but so far we are able to get there, but no idea what we are doing when we get there.
We were promised our itinerary yesterday by 6pm by our travel agent, who seems to have little control over the response of her organization. Of course, it's impossible to contact anyone at LJ on a Saturday. So, hopefully someone will read this and help out so this turns out to be a good trip instead of some of the disasters I have read about. Better to write before and give them a chance to make things right before they go too wrong, right?
Oh, did I mention we made these reservations in December, 2015? One would think it's enough time to plan and issue the itinerary 7 days in advance as promised. Thanks for your help. Hopefully the follow-up will be positive with great reviews for LJ.
Hello, we would love to help you on this issue and we have received an e-mail to our e-mail customer relations mail, but we don't know if it is you on there because you listed no way to contact you here. Your concerns have been noted about how we give out information and please rest assure that do listen to our travelers on these issues.If it was you who e-mailed us in, great, if not please follow up at email@example.com so we can personally help you.
All the best,
SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- Legendary Journeys definitely outdid themselves with the Costa Rican trip. It was 7 days of wonderful, exciting experiences. Our guides Philippe and Juan Carlos were excellent. Hotel was fantastic and the value was unbeatable!
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent Costa Rica Trip! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful time on the tour! We look forward to seeing you on a Future Legendary Journey!
SUMMERFIELD, FLORIDA -- We also had a horrible experience with Legendary Journeys on a 16 day land and sea trip to Alaska. I have written about it so many times I am not going to tell the whole story. However, I also dealt with ** in the Summerfield office and was completely disgusted that she never contacted us when we returned to see how our trip was. I copied her on all my emails to the company about the many problems we had and we never heard from her!
Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. Legendary Journeys apologizes that your June 2014 "Alaska at Leisure Southbound Glacier Tour" did not meet your expectations. Luckily we were able to locate your reservation and retrieve all of the correspondence between yourself and Legendary Journeys. Incidentally, there was considerable communication back and forth between these clients and our Customer Relations Team. The majority of this client's concerns revolve around the fact that we tried to accommodate a small group of 10. Being a smaller group, we utilized transportation that best fit a group of that size. Unfortunately, due to that smaller size we did not utilize a large 54 seat motorcoach, however we used a 14 passenger van. Also due to the small size of the group, we did not have an escort that traveled with the group, however gave instruction in the document packet. We further had some misprints in some of the information within the travel document packet that caused some frustration to some passengers on this tour.
We sincerely apologize to this client for these items and for the tour not living up to their expectations. We tried to make arrangements so that this tour could run with a minimum number of passengers. The alternative would have been to completely cancel the arrangements at the last minute and we did not wish to do this and completely disappoint those that purchased the tour and made arrangements to travel at that time.
In the matter of these clients, Legendary Journeys provided compensation to them to be used on a future travel package with Legendary Journeys. To date, these clients have utilized this compensation and I do hope they have a wonderful time on their upcoming Western Caribbean Cruise they purchased through Legendary Journeys.
Again, Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. Legendary Journeys strives to provide the greatest value for your travel dollar.
SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- After a bad mis-communication experience with ** at LEGENDARY JOURNEYS our friends sent us an email with new quotes for us to join them to Australia. We are now, again, getting her sly tricks with the "check/cash discount" figures.
A month ago we almost booked this trip with our friends but canceled the last day when Ms ** told us a different trip price than we had discussed. She said she didn't realize we wanted the WHOLE trip with our friends and that the price was $2300 per person more! Wow! This after I had been talking with her for a week about every aspect of the trip. We have never traveled with an agent or cruised before and although our friends booked months previous, Ms ** quote to us was similar. Additionally, it occurred to us that the industry was struggling this spring with two cruise liner mishaps in the news. We thought our quote was good. WE DID NOT GET IT IN WRITING FROM HER. OOPS.
So now we are back to booking based on the figures in our friend's email from his conversation with Ms **--AND CONFIRMED over the phone by my husband before giving her his credit card number. Oops. Not in writing again from her. Now she is adding the $100 ($200 dbl) cash discount to the cabin price which she quoted before the discount. She, and her math, and explanations circle how we (our friends and us) misunderstood the discount. She always quoted all the items and lastly, the discount. It was always separate, though now she seems to think we don't understand that she is changing the cabin/cruise price.
What a run-a-round! Don't know how the rest of the company is, our friends say it is OK, but don't anyone deal with this agent. And get your quotes in writing. Of course that is basic. :-(
Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We apologize that your booking experience fell below your expectations. Unfortunately, I am unable to locate this specific client to further research and address all of their specific concerns and issues, however we will respond based on what is written below.
Regarding the statements made regarding obtaining quotes. Many times, a quote is good for that moment. If this is a Cruise and tour combination, where the tour portion may not change, the cruise reservation can remain in flux until the client is prepared to place a deposit. As I am unable to ascertain the amount of time between the "friends" who obtained a quote and these clients calling in, I can only assume that some time had passed and the rates fluctuated. It also sounds like the friends may have added an optional pre or post tour and the agent was not advised that these clients also wished to participate in the same optional pre or post tour.
Regarding our Check Discount policy, please understand that our Reservations Agents do not have the ability to add this check discount to an invoice. This is completely handled by our accounting department, who also posts any deposits and payments to any invoice. Our Accounting Department posts a check discount when they also post a deposit received as they verify that a check is the form of payment used prior to posting any check discount. This is why, once after initially making your reservation with our agents and they send you an initial invoice that does not show any payments posted to the invoice, nor will it show any check discount posted to the invoice. Once accounting posts the payment, verifies the form of payment, posts the check discount, they always email the client an invoice.
Again, Thank you for posting your concerns. We do hope that you had a wonderful time on your trip to Australia! Legendary Journeys always provides the greatest value for your travel dollar!
SARASOTALARGO, FLORIDA -- The trip wasn't bad, we just had a problem with the write up on the flier. Such as "after breakfast we will all meet..." Breakfast wasn't at a restaurant or at the Killington Resort it was what we made in the condo. On the way to the "Resort" (which was a condo near the resort) the tour guide gave us $35.00 each to go grocery shopping for food we had to prepare in our condo. We were also told we would have a tour then the next day would be a leisure day so we could relax and rest up for the next day to sit on the bus for 3 hours to go to the next touring destination.
My husband has an illness that he needed the resting day before the next trip day. We read that on the flier and we felt we could do this trip. When we got on the bus the tour guide said she was changing this around and we would be touring three days in a row. If we went on the weekend it would be too busy to get the bus in and out. There would also be double the amount of people there so it would be too congested to tour around. If we would have known that, we wouldn't have taken the tour because of my husband's health problem.
My advice to anyone booking with Legendary Journeys ask questions about everything, like "are you making your own breakfast or eating in a restaurant?" What is the name and address of the resort they say you are staying at, will the tours be as stated or will the tour guide have the option to change it around. Overall the trip was enjoyable, just be careful about the wording and phrasing they write on the FLYER DESCRIBING THE ITINERARY OF THE TRIP.
Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We do apologize that certain aspects of the tour did not meet your expectations.
We did try some new things with this tour, such as providing each guest a stipend to use in the grocery store for the Breakfasts. Typically most hotels provide a continental breakfast and we thought it would be a nice experience to enjoy breakfast in your room, since each room had a full kitchen. We do apologize that you were not pleased with this feature of the trip.
We did make some modifications to the tour. Due to the influx of other tourist traffic in some areas, it was necessary for our Tour Manager to swap around some of the touring days and free days. This was done to provide a better overall tour experience for our guests. We are sorry to hear of your husband's medical issues and we do hope he has made a full recovery.
Legendary Journeys, as all other tour operators, makes our guests aware of the potential changes in our Terms and Conditions, where we clearly state: ”Legendary Journeys reserves the right in its sole discretion, and acting as intermediary or as agent for these suppliers, to modify the itinerary, components of the itinerary, or the use of suppliers that is best for the operation of that tour. Legendary Journeys is not responsible to any person for expense, loss of time, money, or other circumstances resulting from a change in itinerary or change of tour arrangements. Legendary Journeys reserves the right to substitute hotels, shows, airlines, restaurants, attractions, etc., of similar quality at any time."
In conclusion, Legendary Journeys hopes that you did enjoy the tour. We appreciate the time you took to post these concerns. Legendary Journeys will always provide the greatest value for your travel dollar.
VILLAGES, FLORIDA -- I have to admit, we were impulsive in booking the cruise from Sydney to Hawaii with a group of friends, who actually originated and advised us to book with "LJ" who was marketing it as discounted rate for groups! This blunder was committed in April 2012 when we deposited $3,000.00 for a cruise we would take in April 2013! Yes, I know, we were fools to have let LJ sit on our money for a WHOLE YEAR! But then there is always first time for everything, right?
This was our first and last time to be scammed by LJ. Also, to top their scamming, LJ 'Reservation Agent' informs us since we are on the east coast, we have to pay $300.00 each for flying from NY! Stupid us! We did. After this absolutely no communication from so called 'Reservation Agent' for 9 months and year 2012 is gone. Come January 2013 we are supposed to pay balance for the cruise - guess what? No reminder or call/email from this scuzzbucket of 'reservation agent' - we still did the right thing and paid balance and called him up to get further details about flights/hotel etc. of which he provided none.
It went on back and forth till end of March 2013 when Royal Caribbean emailed us with confirmation no. and 'check in' online since we cruise with them often. So now we emailed this LJ idiot again about flights etc. Turns out LJ air dept. had booked us on outlandish routes! How about on return from Hawaii, we had to wait 11 hours at Honolulu airport to catch a flight to SEATTLE and next day from Seattle to New York!! So it took us 2 days to fly within US! Upon questioning his answer was "he doesn't do the air reservation and for additional 600.00 he can have the flight changed to direct flight!!!" Say what?? We already paid $600.00 in 2012 as penalty for flying from NY!
Then, he had no clue as to what hotel we would be staying in Sydney till seven days prior to our departure of April 14, 2013! I must have called him relentlessly so many times and he had the nerve to threaten to hang up on my husband because he was angry about ** asking for additional 600.00 while American Airlines was ready to change our flight for half that price! This company should not be in Travel Business. They are nothing but extremely incompetent, rude, ignorant bunch of scammers and the owner is the head scammer. All I have to say to my fellow senior travelers: "Beware of Legendary Journeys - you have been warned". Thank you.
Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. We are surprised to find this posting here as this client never brought these matters to our attention directly. He did contact us after the cruise as they had an insurance claim due to flight delays, lost luggage, etc. We do hope that the travel protection claim was processed without delay. Regarding the matters listed in this post, we will address these in our response here.
Your decision to make your reservation well in advance of the trip departure date was actually a very good decision. When you book early, you have all the options available to you and can book exactly what you wish as there is still ample availability. When you wait until the last minute to make your reservation, you may receive a discounted rate if they are attempting to fill space left over, however you are left to choose from what hasn't been picked already, and could end up paying a much higher rate if the departure is almost sold out. You may not get the tours you want, you may not receive the cabin/hotel location that you want. There is a myriad of things that could potentially no longer be available when booking at the last minute.
Legendary Journeys makes you aware in our Terms and Conditions that your travel documents and all trip information will be available to you approx 7 days prior to the departure date. With that said, what other communication were you expecting from us? Of course, if you had any questions about your reservation, your Reservation Specialist was available to answer any questions you may have had throughout the course of your reservation.
Furthermore, we often times refer to our Terms and Conditions regarding our policies and procedures. Legendary Journeys is very unique in the fact we put in front of you , our Terms and Conditions, no less than 5 times. Our Terms and Conditions are on each Flyer is that created, they are posted on our website, www.LJ.travel, They are presented with our contract Booking Form in which the client signs declaring that they have read our Terms and Conditions, which are printed on the BACK of the contract Booking Form (or on the following page if printed from a PDF format file). Most competitors reference them, but merely place them in the back of a catalog/brochure and doesn't really care if the consumer reads them or not. At least Legendary Journeys makes a conscious effort to bring our Terms and Conditions to the forefront of our clients. Even to the point of asking our clients to sign confirming they have read and accept our Terms and Conditions (Which you did).
Please understand that our Reservations Staff do not call clients to remind them to make their final payments. On our Client information packet that was sent to you upon your initial reservation (This same packet contained the Client Booking Form and Terms and Conditions), right on the FRONT COVER in LARGE PRINT it states: "Please remember to do the following: ... Then it states "Note Final Payment Date on your calendar".
Your statements regarding your air arrangements are simply inaccurate. Our records indicate that you had our Standard air arrangements and purchased a low-cost add-on city to depart from New York. First, the majority of flights departing Honolulu for the East Coast are mostly red-eye flights. Your flight schedule was one of these red-eye flights. You left Honolulu at 815PM and flew non-stop to Seattle, arriving there at 5:00AM. You then had a TWO HOUR LAYOVER, then your connecting flight took off at 7AM and flew non-stop to New York arriving there at 3:29PM. This is far from an "outlandish" schedule. These points notwithstanding, if you were this concerned over your airline flight arrangements, why did you not take advantage of our Optional Premium Air program at the time you made your reservation? With Legendary Premium Air you can customize your airline flight arrangements to your exact specifications and never be unhappy with your flight arrangements again! Legendary Premium Air costs a mere $49 plus the additional cost of the service you are requesting. Unfortunately, you chose to accept our Standard Air Arrangements. In our Client Information Packet and on the trip flyer, we make you aware of the difference between Standard and Premium Air where it states:
STANDARD AIR: Refers to the Free Air (and Low-cost add-on cities) included with the package. Standard air arrangements, Airline and Flight Schedule, are at Legendary Journey's sole discretion. Standard air schedule will be available approximately 7 days prior to the trip departure date. Requests cannot be accepted for Standard Air Arrangements.
Please note: Standard Air low-cost air gateways will require payment of all air costs at the time of acceptance.
LEGENDARY PREMIUM AIR ®: Legendary Journeys can customize your air arrangements for a fee of $49.00 per person, plus the additional air cost of the service requested. Legendary Premium Air requires payment in full of all additional air charges at the time off acceptance and is non-refundable. Certain packages may require full payment of the invoice prior to air purchase, and your Reservations Specialist will advise you of these requirements at the time of quotation. Legendary Premium Air schedules are available approximately 30 days prior to your scheduled departure date.
Please understand that Legendary Journeys purchases NON-REFUNDABLE NON-TRANSFERRABLE airline tickets. Once the tickets are purchased, any changes will incur airline change fees, service fees plus additional airfare if applicable. This is why your Reservations Agent informed you that there would be an additional cost to change your already purchased airline tickets.
It is most unfortunate that the frustrations you have listed in this post could have all been prevented had you simply read the information we provided to you.
Again, thank you for posting your concerns. Legendary Journeys apologizes that your tour experience did not meet your expectations. Legendary Journeys strives to provide the greatest value for your travel dollar.
STUART, FLORIDA -- My husband and I booked a trip in July 2007 with Legendary Journey/Royal Caribbean for March 30, 2008. The cruise was to include Ireland, Azores, Paris, London, Amsterdam and the Tulips in Amsterdam plus hotel for two nights in Amsterdam.
Trip was paid, side trips were booked. Oops, everything was changed and not even Legendary Journey knew about it until I called to tell them. In mid-January, Royal Caribbean "dropped" Ireland, and changed Cornwall to Dover. No replacement was made and now we are spending 9 days on the water which is 75% of the trip. Ugh! This is not the trip I purchased but, it was too late to get a refund. I wrote to the Attorney General Office in Florida at that time and have not gotten a response.
I called, e-mailed Royal Caribbean and have gotten "0" except that they have the right to change the itinerary. I feel that this is a "Bait and Switch" since no replacement was made for the dropped Ireland except for more water time. Legendary Journey has looked the other way and refused to fight for any compensation.
Today, was the last straw (13 days before departure), the hotel that is booked for Amsterdam is 66 miles from Amsterdam in the middle of nowhere. I asked where the upgraded hotels would be and never got a response from Legendary Journey. Legendary Journey also booked us the late dinner when I asked for early and booked our return into Orlando instead of Miami. This is the last time I will book with Legendary Journey and the last time I will sail with Royal Caribbean. This trip was expensive and has turned out to be a very expensive disaster.
I thought the reason to book with a travel agency was that they took good care of their clients since it was important to have repeat business and a good reputation. I guess they don't care!
LARGO, FLORIDA -- We dealt with Legendary Journeys in Largo, Fl. and had no problems at all. We made a deposit and continued to pay until we have completely paid for the trip. They made all arrangements, we left from Tampa International Airport, flew into Munich, 3 or 4 people had lost luggage. We were met by a tour director who gathered everyone together, we rode on a beautiful bus to Seefeld, the hotel was quaint and very nice. Legendary Journeys worked with the airline to get the luggage for those people and saw that it was delivered to the hotel in Seefeld by the next day. The hotel staff was great, we did not have a great selection on the food but it was just fine.
I had already figured from the great price we had that there would be some compensations, but a full European breakfast with several juices, etc and dinner with 2 selections for the main course again was fine with me.. each night the salad bar was full. Our rooms were clean, lobby clean, etc. We really liked ** our tour guide, she had a quirky sense of humor and was quite knowledgeable.. No problems on our trip.
Thank you for posting your comments! Legendary Journeys appreciates your kind words and are thrilled that you had a great Reservation Experience and thoroughly enjoyed your trip! So often, people are quick to post the negative, but we truly appreciate you taking the time to post your positive experience!
Thank you again for posting your comments! We look forward to seeing you on a future Legendary Journey! Legendary Journeys strives to provide the greatest value for your travel dollar!
SARASOTA, FLORIDA -- We just returned from the Cruise/Rail tour from New York to Quebec, and then back to NY via Montreal. Legendary Journeys promised better land excursions and better prices than if booked with the cruise - not true - excursions were often less with the cruise, and went to better places and had better times. One shore excursion was done by a "city" bus - and the guide said he had no idea where he was supposed to take us! We jumbled off, jammed into our uncomfortable seats, some facing BACKWARDS, while the cruise line shore excursion folks boarded their nice, plush, good visibility coaches. Typical of whole tour.
LJ did not account for time changes, and we only accidentally found our Green Gables tour bus as we were heading for a nice lunch on shore, thinking we had an hour to kill. At least 4 booked passengers missed this tour. (The cruise ship, MSC Poesia, was very nice BTW).
To top it off, we were promised airport transport from our included hotel in NY at the end. Well, LJ booked all our flights, and then put us in a hotel next to LaGuardia - we were booked out of JFK. The hotel, when we asked for our transport to JFK (as LJ directed us to do) said, "we only provide for LaGuardia." So we got up at 4:45 AM to get and PAY for a taxi to JFK. We were stupid for not checking this site before we booked, and we will never book with them again. BEWARE!
Thank you for posting your concerns and giving Legendary Journeys the opportunity to respond. This client also submitted a letter to our Customer Relations Team, which we responded to on November 2, 2010.
We apologize to this client as the tour did not meet their expectations. Legendary Journeys offers highly competitive rates giving our clients great value in their travel purchases. Our Optional Tour program offers a great value for our clients as our rates are typically much lower rates when you compare the same tour(s) with the cruise line tours. All of our pricing in this optional tour book was valid as of the time it was published. All tour suppliers regularly make modifications to their products depending on the number of passengers traveling and the amount of time in port.
In our response to this client we advised him that he should not have had to pay for the taxi from La Guardia Airport to JFK airport in New York. We further asked him to please mail us his receipts so that we could reimburse him for those expenses. To date, we have never received any such receipt to reimburse.
We understand aspects of your tour did not meet your expectations, however we provided you with excellent value for this cruise tour while traveling Canada & New England during its peak travel time.
If you would like to submit your receipt for that taxi ride for reimbursement, please email our Customer Relations Team at Customerrelations@LJ.travel. Please provide your names, invoice number and as much detail as possible along with the receipt and we will process this accordingly.
Again, Thank you for posting your concerns. Legendary Journeys strives to provide our guests with great value for the travel dollar!