[X]

Lexus RX 330


2 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Problem with Seals
Posted by JoJoCamel on 03/14/2011
TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- Lexus has a problem with seals. Most recently they've been recalling 2004 to 2006 RX330's to replace a seal at the rear of the master brake cylinder. But the brake cylinder seal isn't the only seal with problems in RX's.

My dad's '05 RX330 with 48K miles started losing power steering fluid. It was determined that the power steering rack and pinion assembly was losing fluid. While in warranty by mileage, my dad's vehicle is out time-wise.

How a Lexus can develop such a problem at such low mileage can only be the result of poor design or a problem in manufacture. My wife's ES300 has over 100K miles, my RX330 roughly 95K. Neither have exhibited any such problems. Nor have any Toyotas I've owned with well over 100K miles. If indeed seals have "blown," I'll venture a guess that there was a problem from day one. A simple web search tells me my dad is not alone with this problem.

Our Lexus dealer wanted to charge $1800 to replace the power steering rack and pinion assembly. They settled for half. They are good people, but I'm not at all happy with Lexus. Let me tell you why.

On February 11th, 2011 I wrote a letter to Lexus and mailed it to P. O. Box 2991-Mail Drop L201 Torrance, CA 90509-2991, the address listed on their website. I've pasted the letter below.

Lexus never replied.

I wrote the following to Lexus through their website on February 23rd, 2011: "A response to my letter of February 11th, mailed to P. O. Box 2991-Mail Drop L201 Torrance, CA 90509-2991 has not been received."

I received an email response on the 23rd with a reference number stating, "You should expect a response from us within 24 hours if it was submitted between Monday and Thursday."

I received another email response on the 25th that read as follows: "Thank you again for contacting Lexus Customer Satisfaction.

You information has been forwarded to a department specialist in our office for further review. The specialist who will complete a full review and then contact you within three to five business days at phone 203-555-5555, (number changed for obvious reasons). If there is better number to reach you at, please respond to this email so that we may update are records accordingly. We do apologize for any inconvenience this may cause you."

I responded by email immediately (on February 25th) with another telephone number for contact, as they requested.

Today is March 14th. Lexus never responded to my letter, nor have they followed through in contacting me as they promised.

I'm waiting patiently, Lexus. Your pursuit again is what?



LEXUS Customer Service
P. O. Box 2991-Mail Drop L201
Torrance, CA 90509-2991

February 11, 2011

To whom it may concern:

You’re on the verge of losing three LEXUS customers for a most foolish decision.
My dad, wife and I are the most loyal LEXUS owners you’ll come across. We’ve all convinced several others to purchase your vehicles. Why? Because we believe LEXUS to be “top-shelf” when it comes to build-quality & reliability. In our opinions, and with full-conviction, a better vehicle doesn’t exist – not Mercedes, not Audi - nothing. We pay a higher price for your vehicles precisely for that reason.

The above being written, my father’s most recent experience with LEXUS may cause us to shop elsewhere next time around. That elsewhere would be Infiniti.
My dad’s LEXUS RX330, VIN # 2T2HA31U55C082061 recently required service in the replacement of the vehicle’s power-steering gear assembly, (steering rack and pinion unit). It seems the seals had begun leaking which caused low fluid levels and subsequent difficulty in steering at low speed, (maximum friction coefficient). My dad’s vehicle is a 2005 with only 48,370 miles, dealer-serviced from day one – garaged and driven by a senior citizen. The problem is no fault of my dad’s. And while technically the vehicle is out of warranty, (time-wise; mileage is still under 50K), this issue should be an embarrassment for LEXUS.

I’ve owned several Toyotas over the years, none of which exhibited any such problem within mileage exceeding 100K. Not one leaky rack & pinion seal. If indeed seals have "blown," a problem existed from day one. Quality control, tolerances, rubber chemistry/technology/extrusion - only LEXUS knows. Suffice it to say that if a Jeep sustained such a problem at 48K that the owner would be disappointed - perhaps even disgusted that such a problem could occur at said mileage. It would prove that said brand had earned the reputation it deserved. You’re LEXUS. Have you forgotten?

This problem is documented on the Web - and apparently you didn’t fix it in 2006. Now you’re recalling RX’s to replace ANOTHER SEAL, this one being located at the rear of the master brake cylinder. Really? I’m certain you want to replace that one as it’s more of a safety issue. Rack & Pinion seals don’t leak in QUALITY five-year-old vehicles with 48K miles, and certainly not in a LEXUS. Perhaps the numbers don’t exist to warrant a recall, but you’ve got a problem, intermittent or not.

I believe my dad was initially quoted in the neighborhood of $1800 for the work. The final repair price was reduced to less than half. I’m asking that you refund what he paid, customer # 42184, invoice # 564309, serviced by LEXUS of Greenwich, (we love them). No LEXUS owner should pay for this service within 50K miles. It’s insulting. By charging for such service you’re acknowledging you do not believe your front-ends should make it past the 50K mile point. From a LEXUS? How sad.

Take care of this and we stay. Don’t and we’re history and I get to make a YouTube video soliciting others with the same problem. For goodness’ sake, LEXUS – wake up and do the right thing!

Joseph Mayone Jr.
     
Read 63 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2011-03-16:
Well, if this is the response you get after spending a lot of money for a Lexus, I don't think I'll be considering them when I get my next car.
Posted by lexus owner on 2011-06-16:
Did they take care of you? We have had the same problem. Waiting on a reply.
Posted by Dave on 2011-11-12:
I've got a 2004 RX 330 that has been serviced at the dealer repeatedly and per manufacturers service recommendations for all of its now 124,000 miles. I love the vehicle but now I'm told about leaking seals in the power steering rack and pinion assembly, but I've got no signs of leaks where I park the vehicle
Posted by Cindi on 2011-11-29:
There will be no signs of leaks if in fact it's leaking into the boot.
Posted by Disappointed owner on 2012-06-28:
I just took my 2006 RX 330 for it's regular maintenance (67,000 miles). I was shocked to get a call telling me that the power steering rack was leaking (never saw a leak) and I needed to replace the power steering rack at a cost of $1,500! I am someone who maintains my cars, keeps them a long time (Mustang, 9 years, Toyota, 9 years and Honda 10 years)and have never had any repair this serious. A Lexus at this low mileage?? Seriously? That is not acceptable. I will be getting other opinions today.
Posted by Danny G on 2012-09-06:
I am having the same problem 2006 Lexus Rx330 and I am wondering if the mechanic did this on purpose as a scam like auto parts suspected or if its a known issue Lexus needs to address.
Posted by Jonathan T on 2012-09-16:
I have a 2007 Lexus Rx350. Two days ago I had a Toyota dealership resealed the front timing cover due to oil leak for $1680.00
Posted by Mary M on 2012-09-20:
I have the same problem with the rack and pinion but mine gets worse. I have a 2005 RX330 with $80,000 miles on it. They also told me the front
differential is leaking and the cost to fix that is $2100. The Lexus quality on this vehicle will make me think twice before purchasing another Lexus.
Posted by Jonathan /tan on 2012-09-22:
I also had a Toyota dealership replaced the steering rack last week for $950.00 due to steering fluid leakage. My RX350 had 71,500 miles at the time.
Posted by fran on 2012-09-30:
I too have an RX330. North Carolina dealer tells me leaking at my 95,000 mile check up. Replaced timing belt and other belts. Now the leak will cost 1650.00 What is up with this? Seems like a true problem. My response is don't go for 95,000 mile check up. Seems to be common factor in them telling us that it is leaking.
Posted by Tania on 2013-01-19:
Just took my 2007 RX350, 70k miles, for standard oil change. Was told pwr steering fluid leaking in boot. Need to replace rack and pinion plus must have wheel alignment after re
pair. total $1,433.00! This vehicle has had a lot of issues- somewhat disappointed in Lexus.
Posted by LexInLouisville on 2013-02-05:
I am having a similar issue with a 2004 RX330 (109,000 miles) and am looking at at $1600 repair. Has anyone found Lexus documentation indicating this was a know issue as indicated above. I am calling the Lexus 800# and would appreciate any info available
Posted by Curtis in Texas on 2013-02-25:
Just received a call from Lexus Dealer. My 2007 RX 350 has a leak in the rack and pinion with only 62K miles. Very disappointing that this will cost $1600 plus alignment. This defect seems to be a trend from what I have seen online. Lexus needs to stand by their product or I need to find a new brand. Seems the high cost of owning is not proportionate with the quality.
Posted by Jane Abu on 2013-03-06:
I have a LEXUS rx330 with 90K, and was just told that I need a new steering rack for $1700, plus alignment. I was told that I have a level 3 leak and this needs to be taken care of right away. I am getting second opinion and attempting to get the issue fixed for under $1000.
Posted by Tammy on 2013-04-07:
I just had the same problem with my 2006 RX330 and a cost of $1800.00 to fix (with a 10%) discount.
Posted by LHuang on 2013-04-13:
Same issue. I was told of the leak with, of course, estimate of expensive repair. I didn't see any drops in my garage. It shows wet boot only. I was advised my mechanics to just ignore unless I see the condition worsened.
Posted by Werbaz on 2013-04-29:
RX350 2008 model, one owner, lives in garage, 65K miles. Grapevine Tx Lexus dealer who has done all the maintenance on that vehicle since we bought it new advises approx $1700 replacement of rack and pinon assembly
Posted by Andrew on 2013-05-02:
90K service on 2007 RX350 - dealer called said steering rack was leaking - $1500. I am going to check it out when i get it back. Seems to be a problem with Lexus based on comments above.
Posted by Brad on 2013-05-09:
Have a 2007 Lexus RX350 with 105,000 miles. Took in to the dealer for oil change and I now have the Mysterious power steering fluid leaking in boot. Need to replace rack and pinion for $1,500. JoJo (original poster) how did you get the dealer to come down to half the price? I'm going to give it try tomorrow starting with printing this thread.
Posted by OldSalt45 on 2013-05-28:
Just got a call about my 2007 RX350 which is in for 85K service. He said the rack and pinion is leaking in the boot. While talking to him, I checked my garage floor which is clean. They want $1900 to replace. I delayed. How serious is continued leaking into the boot? Will the boot give way at some point? Can't I just keep the PS fluid topped up? Truth be told, I would rather wait until I have something to go on other than their word. This sounds like the old "You need to get an engine induction cleaning".
Posted by lexus 05 rx on 2013-06-01:
I have the same problem they should fix the problem I was not aware but looks i should go back to Acura. No more #1 because of high volume of sales. They loose quality over quantity.
Posted by Disappointed on 2013-06-01:
While in for 10,000 mile check and oil change at 10,700 miles, was told the power steering rack was leaking on my 2009 RX 350 that just went out of warranty (time wise) last month. When I balked at the high cost of repair, service manager called Lexus. They want to charge me half price: $938.40. From searching the web, it appears that this problem is very prevalent. I sincerely doubt that I will never own another LEXUS.
Posted by MoreThanDisappointed on 2013-06-02:
I have 65,000 miles on my 2007 RX350 - in for an oil change and told my rack and pinion needed to be replaced - $1700. I have had these problems over the years: CD player replaced 4 times before it quit eating the CDs
Posted by Upset in Texas on 2013-06-06:
I love my 2007 RX350 - best vehicle ever! All service work at Lexus of Austin. Before today, had not considered replacing it. Today, advised the rack and pinion needs to be replaced due to a small leak, cost approx $2000 with 90K service. There are no signs of steering problems or leaks. After reading reviews, reconsidering opening statement. Deeply upset at the problem after owning four previous Lexus vehicles.
Posted by Not happy in NC on 2013-06-14:
I have a 2005 RX330 with $90k miles, garage kept with all services performed by Lexus. I too brought my car in for the 90k mile service and was told that I need to have the rack and pinion replaced for $1,500 plus the cost of an alignment. I was told it's leaking in the boot and that I could probably drive it for awhile if I keep the fluid filled although I probably won't pass the state inspection. In addition, I have a seep at the water pump that they suggested replacing which I declined. I don't have water or steering fluid visibly leaking. I was hoping to keep my car for another couple of years, but may not now. I just got back from the dealer and my side mirrors won't adjust. They worked last week. What's next?
Posted by AMANDA G on 2013-06-15:
RX330. Just in for an oil change and tire rot at 118k miles and told by dealer need to replace power steering rack due to leak (in boots) will cost $1500. This sounds like a recall. How do we make it happen?
Posted by Peg on 2013-06-22:
I have a 2006 RX330 with 114K miles on it, I have been told since my 95K service that I need to replace the power steering rack assy. Leaking boot on right. I to park in a garage and had seen no leaking on garage floor. How long can I drive it like this as I do not have the $1650.00 to replace it? Worried. P.S. I do a LOT of driving! Still worried.............
Posted by Brenda on 2013-06-28:
I have a Lexus RX330 85k miles with the same issue. My RXs rack and pinion is leaking on the passenger side I agree that this should be recall. They want $1650.00 the money I won't pay for I rather get rid of the car. on the other hand Lexus lack of design lately has been very poor. For example they killed the gs and all the trucks are outdated .Poor craftsmanship and design.I'm not doing any kind of business with them not even an oil change.
Posted by K.D. on 2013-07-09:
I just picked up my 2009 RX350 from the dealership for it's 30K service and was told I need a new power steering rack due to a leak ($1600). This is nuts! Has anyone found a contact at Lexus that provides any help? I have no sign of a leak and wonder if this is their way of making up for the free service on new vehicles??
Posted by Sandra Lloyd on 2013-07-11:
I also have a Lexus RX 330. Took it in to the dealer because the dashboard is cracking! Got an oil change and was told the steering rack is leaking. It will 1,450 to fix and 2,000 to replace dashboard. The car is garage kept. In all the cars I've had never had a problem like this. My car has 102,000 miles and I planned to keep it @ least another year. My research on this shows this problem is common(both). I was proud of my Lexus but not anymore. I believe these issues should be addressed by corporate. Recall!
Posted by David on 2013-07-11:
2005 Lexus RX330 - 90k miles - Rt. steering rack leaks enough to ruin boot.
Posted by Ned on 2013-07-12:
Our 2008 rx 350 65,000 miles also "needs" a replacement for the rack and pinion assembly. estimated cost is $1,569.83 with alignment. Seems to be a common defect.
Do not know what to purchase for my new car!
Posted by Cheryl on 2013-07-28:
First experience with problematic power steering rack and pinion on our Lexus 2005 RX330 was in January of 2012. Dealer quoted $1,700 to "fix" the issue. Had to bring vehicle back within the same week of repairs because we felt the same tightness when steering. Dealer kept the vehicle an additional two days to "fix" the issue and discounted us $160.00. On 7.22.13 we returned the vehicle to the dealer because we were experiencing the same steering problem. The dealer kept the vehicle for two days, we picked up the vehicle on 7.24.13 after 5:00 (because that is when they called us to tell us it was ready) no one could tell us what was wrong with the vehicle
Posted by Maria on 2013-08-02:
75 k on my 2004 rx330. Leaking power steering fluid. Dealer fixed it for free. Needed rear brake rotors replaced. Corroded. $400. I'm lucky I guess!!
Posted by Ruth Copeland on 2013-08-09:
I have a 2008 RX350.. In for 55k service. Same story about rack and pinion leaking fluid. $1500 to replace it... Is that a reasonable price? It has to be fixed, but that seems to be the same problem everyone is discussing.... Hello LEXUS.... Something is wrong here if this many people are having the same issues.. Help!!!
Posted by Daryl on 2013-08-13:
I have the same issue with my 2007 RX350. Brought it in for its 60,000 mile service and the power steering boot is disintegrating due to a leak in the power steering rack. No fluid on my garage floor and the mechanic says I can drive it for quite a while before it will get too much worse, but I hate to do that. $1,500 that I should not have to spend. I am going to call Lexus and see if they will do anything about this, like pay most of it. The unit is about $300 and the rest is labor.
Posted by Wenqing on 2013-08-15:
I have a 2007 RX350. Today I brought it to dealer to have regular 65k service. Just got a call from them that power steering fluid is leaking and need $1600 wheel alignment to replace it. It is really too much!
Posted by Lon on 2013-08-22:
RX350 with same problem. Service manager at Lexus of Richmond said they have replaced a lot of them. I bought my Lexus used from them and they did their multiple point check. Now 6,000 miles later this "problem"was identified. Going to another brand given the info I got here as well as other sites about Lexus.
Posted by lon on 2013-08-23:
I gave $1500 dollar estimate for rack and pinion repair also. Just posted review on auto trader warning people of this problem. If we all did this Lexus might change. Looking at other cars now. Truly sad for a reportedly high quality car manufacturer.
Com
Posted by lon on 2013-08-23:
I should followup on my earlier comment. Lexus of Richmond agreed to make repair at reduced cost and apparently I drove the car 12,000 miles rather than 6000. The Lexus of richmond staff have been great. Lexus, for letting this problem continue.. not so much.
Posted by rene on 2013-09-09:
Just took to the dealer my 2004 RX 330 for a minor service. I was told that rack and pinion is leaking. I was surprised because it's only 76K miles, well kept and always serviced at the dealership. The part alone is almost $1400 and labor is $600. I was so disappointed, because I got a 1997 Toyota Camry with 257K miles and still no problem. I thought Lexus is better, but apparently it is not. Definitely, this will be my 1st and last Lexus. I have a 2nd thought about replacing this part, because it may happen again at 76K after replacement. I thought I got a good car, it is not.
Posted by Sara on 2013-09-15:
I own a Lexus 2007 RX 350 with 66,000 miles. I thought my car was in good working condition because I have always taken it to the dealer where I purchased the car for any repairs. However, I had a major shock yesterday when I took my car into the dealer to get my oil changed. The service person told me, I need to have my rack pinion replaced at a cost of $1,800.00. Prior to taking my car in for oil change, I had not seen any leaks on my garage floor but after service yesterday morning, I saw oil leaks on the garage floor. In my opinion, it looks like there is a pattern of complaints with the rack pinion on the Lexus RX 350. I plan to call Lexus' 800 number and see what they have to say when I remind them about all of the complaints about the rack pinion problem.
Posted by Sue on 2013-10-08:
My Lexus is a 2008 RX 350 with 55,200 miles. This car has been to the dealer for all suggested mileage maintenance services.
Just returned from the 55,000 mile checkup...and was told I have a power steering leak that one cannot "see" because it only leaks when the car is moving and wheels are being turned. Car design is such that the fluid "blows away" when moving so you cannot "see" leaks when car is at rest. WTH!!!
$1525.88 to replace rack and pinion assembly plus $129.95 for wheel alignment which has to be done at same time. So, when you add shop supplies and sales tax...$1997.47.
I see all these complaints...have there been any positive resolutions?
Posted by RK on 2013-10-11:
I have 2004 Lexus RX330. Today I took the vehicle for 120K service. The service advisor informed me about following leaks :
Front Differential leaking
Radiator leaking
Valve cover gaskets leaking
Power steering rack and pinion

I don't understand with this Lexus and all these leaks.... I hope Lexus will wake up to take care of these problems in their vehicles.
Posted by Ahmad on 2013-10-21:
Wow. Kinda unbelievable all posted Lexus owners are experiencing similar problems, I recently purchased 2004 rx330, @ 87700. I found out about my rack/pinion leak following an oil change. I googled just for a price quote, and found there is a real, almost criminal problem with r/p. I appreciate all the helpful comments and will bring this to the Lexus service consultants attention, at the least, for a price reduction. Has anyone received any response from Lexus regarding the situation? Please post.
Posted by KP on 2013-10-22:
Same problem on 2007 RX 350 with 50,000 miles....called Lexus customer services and they told me 'Lexus are not perfect cars
Posted by sreelekha on 2013-11-05:
We are having terrible time with our Lexus RX 330 .My 2005 RX330 was involved in couple of recalls. Now it is leaking power steering rack and the dealer wants $1800.00 plus tax to fix it . Taking a look at the comments and complaints from other Lexus owners it is evident that what Lexus making is a very inferior quality product, very bad design and engineering ..We should all get together and complain to NHTSA @ 1-888-327-4236 about this major issue. Lexus and its dealers should be ashamed for ignoring this major concern. Aso we should start an online agitation against Lexus and its very low quality service.
Posted by Tina on 2013-11-07:
I just had the same problem. I took my 2009 RX350 with 66,400 miles on it for its 65K service yesterday. They called to tell me that there's a leak in the power steering rack and that it needs to be replaced. So my $215 oil change turns into nearly $2000 with the repair on it. My husband is livid. There is truly a major issue with this, and I would love to find a way to convince Lexus to do the right thing. This may very well be our last Lexus.
Posted by Antoine on 2013-11-21:
The problem is growing. I just had the same problem too on my 2006
RX330. What is so shocking is that I just had a 90k mile service last month. Now I'm being hit with a $2,100 repair bill from Lexus. I really think this should be brought to the attention of the media, because that's usually the only time they respond.
Posted by PS Sinder on 2013-11-23:
My RX350 was just in for service at 105,000 mi. and had to have the power steering rack replaced. I was shocked to have this issue. This is my third Lexus RX 330/350, I did not have a major repair in previous vehicles. Disappointing. Will consider a different brand for replacement.
Posted by JC on 2013-11-25:
Ok, took my 2005 RX 330 in today for a tune-up. $700. Ok, that's probably reasonable. Then I get a call that my rack and pinion is out and needs replaced. $2,000. I'm thinking this is a scam created by Lexus.
Posted by PM on 2013-12-05:
This thread (and others I've found today) makes me sad -- and mad!
I have loved my Lexus 330, and in fact, up to this point have thought that if/when I'm able to get a new replacement, I'd go with the same. Having SERIOUS second thoughts now.
My Lexus has been a champ and has 145,000 miles. Always serviced regularly, garage-stored, etc.
we took it to our dealer for check on the most recent recall. This morning I get the call that A) the rack and pinion needs to be replaced because of a leak, and B) another repair that's "necessary" because of a leaky seal. As I'm adding all this up, if I said, "Go ahead", my bill would be about $3,000!
We won't be addressing these issues today, and will get a second opinion. One of two things seems to be going on here: a vehicle with a defect common to the model which should be a recall, and/ or it's a scam by Lexus. Why has no one else picked up on these leaks? My car has been looked at by other mechanics in recent months/years. It seems that Lexus knows this is a problem and LOOKS for it. Just spoke with my husband who tells me that when he took it in for the floor mat recall, they told him the rack and pinion needed to be replaced. That was 40,000 miles ago. Car has been fine. This is all so very interesting.
Posted by mm on 2013-12-15:
Took my RX 350 (85,000 miles) for a regular oil change to a Toyota service center. They told me rack and pinion should be replaced due to steering fluid leak. They did not have the parts for RX 350 and have requested a lexus dealer.
I am going to wait and see. This is going on too long for Lexus to ignore.
Going to observe
Posted by Jonathan on 2014-02-04:
I have 2 Lexus cars, one 2007 ES 350 and one 2006 RX 330. As several Lexus customers are experiencing, I too have a leaking rack and pinion on my RX 330. With just 60,000 miles plus I am having this problem with this so-called quality luxury car. I just have my oil change yesterday and quoted me about $1,800 to repair. What a quality car we have to just spend this much for a low mileage. Lexus should do this repairs at no cost to the customers if they want to claim that their vehicles are built with a seal good quality and workmanship. This issue should be taken seriously before and serious things happens.
Posted by Vicki from Dallas on 2014-02-08:
I took my 2007 RX 350 to the dealer for brake pads an was told my Rack and Pinion needed to be replaced too! $2,300 total :/ I'm not happy with only 80k miles. Drove my Nissan 160k with no problems, garage kept, well taken care of......so frustrating!
Posted by Jonathan Simpson on 2014-02-10:
Same problem here... 2004 Lexus RX330 w/ 114K - steering rack leaking (take a guess) passenger side out of the boot.

This is my 2nd RX330 with this problem.

I hope Lexus recalls these vehicles and fixes these bad seals. This is ridiculous!
Posted by ISH KANSAS CITY , MO on 2014-02-16:
This is crazy and I am going to do something about it. I bought mine brand new 2006 RX 330 from lexus and also bought the pre-paid maintenance program I was talked into, which is up to about, I think 45,000 miles. Took my RX 330 for an oil change, right after this maitenance expired just to continue taking it to the "expert." This was what gets me, as I was waiting for my car to be serviced, the sales rep. came over to a lady sitting next to me and started narrating to her, the newly discovered issues with her lexus: her power stering rack and pinion is leaking and need to be replaced. She politely asked how much will it cost and was told $1400.00. I was listening attentively and thinking, damn ! thats is too bad. The lady told the guy to go ahead and fix it. I feel sorry for her, thinking about how much extra she had to spend out of the blue. So I waited about 20 minutes later, my guy came over, (different sales rep.) with papers in his hand (may be not knowing what I over heard from the coversation with the other customer) and said to me "your oil change is done but want to let me know that your rack and pinion is leaking.....and it will cost me about $1400.00 to fix it. ....."! I almost jumped out of the chair and I was like "Hell .....No" what a coincidence! At that time I did not know anything about any of this posting / complaints online or otherwise, but I had that feeling of "This is not right , and you are not going to take me for a ride ." It is either 1)there is something wrong with your product or 2) lexus dealership is starting some systematic unscrupulous, embarrassing practice. I took my car home, frazzled and all anxious. This was 40,000 miles ago, up to today, I have not seen a single drop of oil in my garage. Although, few months after that, I bought 4 new set of tires form my neighborhood NTB and saw how the right boot was all busted, as If shreded with some razor. Did not know if lexus did this to me intentionally or is from a bad manufactured rack and pinion leak. Right there, the service guy from NTB installing my new tires, in his mid 20's who had no reason to lie to me, said to me his mom has the same car, had the same problem, love her car and had to pay $1600. I was like damn! And that was when I start googling and searching in line. Disappointed.
Posted by mike w on 2014-02-25:
The brides 04 needs a new rack, $1600 to replace. She loves the car, always has. Just did major repairs to it last year. The dealer wanted $5500 for a wheel bearing, strut, radiator, brakes. I did the repairs, except for the strut, all in for $1300. I now need to replace the rack $900 , power sterring pump, $300, it has 185,000 and has been solid but at what point do you jump ship? Was thinking about a new RX but with all the complaints, not so sure.
Posted by Richard on 2014/03/10 on 2014-03-10:
My wife owns a 2005 Lexus RX 330. It ran smoothly for the first 60,000 miles. However, a number of issues cropped up afterwards.

First I thought it had to do with the dishonest Lexus service staff. Switched to a Toyota dealer for service, they found more problems with this car.

Have never encountered such issues as water pump leakage and seeping in power steering rack with my other cars. As a materials scientist, I feel that it is time for Lexus to review their design and part life data related to the reported early failure.
Posted by Frustrated in ATL on 2014-03-19:
We took our 2004 RX 330 to a local Atlanta Lexus dealer for 90K service last week. While my preference was to use an independent shop for this expensive service, my wife was raised as the daughter of a new car dealer and was more comfortable taking the car to a Lexus dealer.

Additionally, she discovered that the water pump and timing belt had already been replaced in this vehicle at 73K miles ("water pump leaking"), so the expensive ($1200) part of the 90K service had already been done. We were quoted $350 for the remaining 90K service.

Once the car was in the shop, additional "problems" were discovered, to the tune of $3,100. These included the following from the service advisor's email to me:


1. Power steering rack and pinion is leaking. Estimate for repair is $1550.00
2. Coolant Valley is leaking coolant. Estimate for repair is $958.00
3. Recommends Transmission flush (fluid is dark) $305.00
4. Air induction Service for carbon build up in the vehicle $255.00

I took the car to another dealer who is a personal friend (Japanese brand, not Lexus). He put the car on the rack and had his best mechanic look underneath. The conclusion was that nothing needed to be done other than to monitor the situation.

I called the Lexus dealer back and explained my frustration. My son drives this vehicle at college, and we had spent two days worrying about having the dealership perform repairs, going to an independent ($1700 quote for same work based on the email), or just trading the car in on something else. The service manager asked me to bring the vehicle back so that he could check it out himself.

After that check, the service manager apologized to me and told me that "if this was my wife's car, I wouldn't do anything to it now, just monitor things going forward." He took pictures and was going to "have a discussion" with the original mechanic.

I forwarded him a copy of this email chain about customer dissatisfaction with Lexus over some of these rack and pinion issues (and others).

We may continue to take my wife's Lexus (2008) in for service as it is still under warranty, but I'm done with this dealership on the 2004.

Yesterday, my wife received a phone call from the dealership wanting to know if there was any reason why we couldn't give them "all fives" on our recent service experience. I can think of $3100 reasons!
Posted by Stanley G on 2014-03-22:
Bay Area Lexus dealer advised that my power steering high pressure hose was leaking on our '05 RX330...repair cost $1,000. No sign of leaks - an dependent mechanic specializing in Lexus and Acura estimated cost at $500-$600.
Posted by Patel on 2014-03-29:
Have a 2009 RX 350 and while getting the 75k service they informed me that the power steering was leaking with an estimate of 1700. I declined and now after reading this thread, looks criminal to me.
Posted by Chris on 2014-04-03:
2007 RX 350
@ 78k Rack and Pinion work recommended by Rockville Lexus Dealer ($1600)
(delayed as we had spent $981 to have the water pump replaced)
@ 101K complete engine failure $11,000 (water pump, thermostat etc).
Don't be fooled by the nice ride. They are junk!
Close commentsAdd reply


Lexus RX 330 Broken FM Radio Antenna
Posted by Cannotbelieve on 07/30/2010
Someone broke off the fm radio antenna that is on the roof of my Lexus RX330.
I took the car to the Lexus dealer in South Hampton, Long Island and they wanted $1200 to put on a new FM antenna. I then took the car to a Lexus Dealer in Sarasota, Fl. to fix the antenna. After keeping the car for 4 or 5 hours, they said it would cost $1200 to fix the antenna.

I then called Lexus Headquarters in California and said that I cannot believe it would be so expensive to fix a car antenna - don't they know antennas are broken off cars all the time and should be made to break away. They got back to me in a week and said they researched the subject and it will cost $1200 to fix. They did supply me with a free antenna tip.

I then explained the the broken antenna situation to my next door neighbor, he got on a step ladder, and within a minute was able to unscrew the broken off screw in the antenna base and screw in the new antenna. The antenna works perfectly now - and did not cost a thing to fix.

When I called Lexus Headquarters to tell them this story, they said they would get back to me within 24 to 36 hours. That was over two weeks ago. I just tried calling their Customer Satisfaction Line, but after a half hour of holding on, and being told how important my call was to them, I hung up. In my opinion, Lexus has really gone down hill from when they first started out.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by goduke on 2010-07-30:
It's a lexus. It's expensive to buy, expensive to keep and expensive to fix.
Posted by fast327 on 2010-07-30:
Good to have neighbors like yours. If it were me, I'd take him out to a nice restaurant!
Posted by dan gordon on 2010-07-30:
try going to a good independent car stereo shop and see what they say. Somethings are better done by a non dealer for 'generic' issues.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-07-30:
hmmm I'm puzzled what they would have done for the $1200. Maybe they thought they needed to replace the whole base? strange.
Posted by Frank on 2013-01-04:
This is why we need consumer protections. Many corporations and small businesses are systematically intentionally stealing from their customers
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >