Lifemates

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
9 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
It worked for me
Posted by on
My name is Tracy and I became a member after I clicked on an ad that popped up while I was online. I had been doing online dating for quite a while and was looking for something that wasn't such a waste of time. In fact, I thought it was another online site when I clicked the information button, but it was really different. The first big difference was that someone called to speak to me. I think her name was Karen, but she was very nice and took the time to ask me what I was looking for and to book an appointment. I work different shifts as a nurse, so this was not easy. I was a little nervous about having to go for an appointment, but I was curious about what they would do.

When I arrived for the appointment I had to wait for the representatives to finish with other clients so they gave me some forms to fill out and some personality test to do while I was waiting. After about 20 minutes, my interviewer started our meeting and was asking me all kinds of questions about my marriage and dating. This was a little nerve-racking, but she told me that the main reason for the interview was to screen and qualify people for membership and that one of the things they screened was emotional availability! I thought this was great because so many times I had met guys that just wanted casual dating or they were not done with their ex's. This interviewing went on for over an hour, but it was helpful. I didn't realize how easy it was to date the wrong kind of guy. I learned a lot and in the end decided I'd give it a try even though it was more money than I thought.

Right away I got a call from a matchmaker that wanted to review my file. I received my first match about 3 weeks after that and it was horrible! LOL. We didn't connect at all! I have 2 kids in their early teens and this man didn't have kids and couldn't understand the life. I also was not attracted. The next match was attractive, but no spark. I also think he wasn't in to me as well. Then I waited almost 6 weeks for a match and called Natasha to find out what was going on. We also adjusted my wish-list a little and Natasha gave me some feedback on the matching process. As it turns out, one of my matches wasn't available, so they were working on another. Long story short, this went on for almost 5 months until I was matched with Steven. Steven and I had a great first date and similar dating experiences. We didn't have a ton of hobbies in common, but we both were open to trying new things and letting some things be our own. Steven will NEVER enjoy scrap-booking! We have been dating seriously for almost 8 months now and I am very happy. I guess if I were to sum up my experiences, I would say that using a matchmaker requires some patience but when they get it right, they hit home-runs.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
madconsumer on 2011-04-13:
great review.

very helpful.
Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
Excellent review. I'm glad things worked out for you.
Anonymous on 2011-04-13:
Thanks for sharing. It must have been nice to work with actual people instead of computer generated matches.
Anonymous on 2011-04-14:
Excellent review! It goes to show that very seldom will couples agree on every single facet of their life. For instance, my wife loves to jam to 80's "hair band" music, while I cannot stand it. But we appreciate the differences in each other. I'm glad you found someone like that, and I wish you and Steven nothing but love and happiness for many years to come:)
bs review and comments on 2012-11-23:
This is obviously written by the employees of this fraudulence and ethically and morally bankrupt company. Don't believe the propaganda they're pulling and seriously what kind of animal works for a scumbag to pull this off and why is the company still around committing fraud day in and day out with ZERO consequence?
Dawn on 2014-04-18:
I signed on today and as soon as I got home I had several red flags in my mind. Only one hour had gone by so I called and asked them to cancel my membership immediately. Craig the founder spoke with me and said I would only get 50% back of the money I spent!. After about 30 min on the line with him he convinced me I was over reacting. I felt lied to and betrayed. Tina called me and said I would be meeting with Tracy. Dan met me and the entire 2 hours I was there I did not see one other person come or go not did I meant Tracy. I also received an e mail from her early that morning saying she is looking forward to meeting me.
When the contract came it was $800 more than we agreed. I sat alone for most of the time. We had to do another contract. I was told they would pay my parking but they did not pay it in its entirety, they gave me stickers to cover $5 and I had to pay $7.50 above that. The other thing that bothered me was Craig covered by saying that they use code names. And Tracey was a code name?? What's that about, deception and lying? It doesn't feel good to me. Now I will contact me provincial buyer beware. Hope they have one!! To protect me. What a fool I am.
Thanks for the 'heads up' I should have googled this first!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Lifemates Is A Scam
Posted by on
CALGARY, AB -- Don't waste your money on this matchmaking service. I received a flier in the mail, and decided I would give them a try as I was a too busy professional to want to go through one of the internet dating sites. Went for an interview, and did not buy into it right away. They kept calling me, making comments to play on the missed opportunities, etc, and then they offered a 40% deal and also told me that they had a very good match for me already - the cost was a hefty $2200 for a membership. Needless to say months later, I had no calls from them. And so I kept calling to find out status, and they kept baiting me with yes, they were just finalizing things or some other excuse. Really noticed the customer service was very unprofessional as one girl actually giggled when she was talking to me explaining things.

In any case, after 6 months later, I asked for a refund as they had done absolutely nothing. At this point, they were anxious to set me up with someone. It turns out, they were trying to do this to avoid giving any refund back. This was obvious as the unsuspecting match turned out to be so far from what my profile had asked for, and the company did not keep to their protocol where they should have asked for my permission prior to divulging my personal contact info to a possible match. I did not accept a date with that match and requested a refund.

The company sent me a letter asking me to sign that I would not tell anyone of that letter or sue any of the directors, or officers of the company. Needless to say almost a year later, I have not received any refund back (they were only going to refund 50%). Please note this same company goes under the name of Integrity Integration, Elite Singles of Canada. I just wonder how many people have gotten taken by them? There is a good article from the CBC about them on the internet. It is a few years old, but every comment is definitely true today. These guys are a scam. They make quite a bit of money, just by having people cancel because they do not provide a service. I have tried many times to contact them, and they have never returned my phone calls.

Also, put in a BBB complaint, turns out there are a few BBB complaints out there on them. I plan on suing them anyway. Please let me know if you have been a victim also.

Updated Feb. 2/08

My advice is to be careful, even using internet dating sites. Apparently such practices may be common - look at complaints for eHarmony, etc. I wouldn't be surprised if they are connected. They have a similar profiling system.

For those already in the mess of trying to get a refund from Lifemates - request a credit chargeback from your credit card company right away for the full refund, and don't sign the Lifemates release contract I mentioned above (do not wait, they will not honor their refund deadline, and for good reason, they do not want to give your money back). Apparently, there are a few dating services that are using these deceptive tactics. Buyer beware.
     
Read 31 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2007-11-17:
I'm sorry you got scammed and I hope you get your money back - but I just can't figure out why anyone would spend thousands of dollars on a dating service to begin with. Do people really think that these companies are going to work their butts off to find you your perfect match, once they have your money?
Anonymous on 2007-11-17:
I have to Echo justcuz's comment and can only add, good luck to you.
Sparticus on 2007-11-18:
Many folks don't realize there are some free dating resources out there. Before ponying up thousands to these scam companies, check out:

1. OkCupid
2. Plenty of fish
3. Connecting singles

(Google "free dating sites" and the above names for more info!)
Ponie on 2007-11-18:
'a too busy professional'? First time I've heard that used as an excuse. You mean there are no singles in your 'profession' you could meet? Heck! For $2,200, I'll send my Sis, who's a real looker, up to Canada for a date with you. But, darn, my BIL may object.

Good info, Sparticus--but the poster may be 'too busy' to check out these sites. :)
jktshff1 on 2007-11-18:
is that in $ or Canadian?
Anonymous on 2007-11-19:
I've said this before: Be very careful with PlentyOfFish.com save for ONE person, many on there are total psychos. I went one date with a guy and it was so scary that after I deleted my profile totally.
1ne on 2008-01-18:
Have a look at these 2 url...

CBC http://www.cbc.ca/consumers/market/files/services/dating/index.html

http://www.discovervancouver.com/forum/Lifemates-Dating-services-t109305.html
Fiorentina on 2008-02-02:
I purchased the services of LifeMates, The Relationship People, Canadian HQ located in Mississauga, Ontario on May 15th, 2007. Paid in full to the tune of $2,220.70 Less than a week later, I was let go from my place of employment. I immediately contacted LifeMates to cancel my membership, fully understanding and agreeing to their first condition on contract that states "In the event that Client elects to cancel or terminate this Agreement prior to any use of services offered by Lifemates, Client shall be liable for one half the Member fee as full consideration for interviewing, testing and evaluation of Client." One half is $1,110.35. I was told that refund would be forthcoming within 90days. I have sent e-mails, faxes and have spoken to Customer Service, Executive VP Canadian Operations. Their excuse is that HQ in California is to process refund. After numerous messages, which remain unanswered, and no refund forthcoming, I have contacted the Better Business Bureau of Canada to intervene on my behalf. Following my own search of this organization, I have found a number of complaints in other regions of Canada related to LifeMates, which also operate under Elite Singles. I have also e-mailed a number of media organizations on this. If I can't get my money back, I will make sure that some other fool, yes such as I, does not get screwed.
Daveyyy on 2009-03-11:
Buddy you are right don't waste your money because this service is not a waste, it is worth every penny. After spending hours using web dating services I signed up with them and I do not regret it.

So far they have set me up with 6 solid dates. Their matchmakers took a genuine interest in my case and have worked closely with me since I signed. I do not even know what you are referring to when you say you had to call them, since they are always calling me offering me great choices that I never would have found on the web.
RuthG on 2009-03-24:
I was hell bent on this compatibility thing when I joined Lifemates. After going through a distressing divorce, I was very frustrated. I and my ex-husband were not compatible at all. We got married only after knowing each other for a short while and then the monster differences began to show their ugly faces. After the divorce, I had made up my mind that I would never get into a relationship with anyone. I was depressed and angry at the whole concept and wanted to be independent. A friend introduced me to Lifemates, and lo and behold they were to prepare a compatibility report for me! I was impressed. This is what I was looking for all these years. When they sent me on the first date, I was quite apprehensive. But it seemed they had taken care of my wishes. I like him. Thanks Lifemates.
bone head on 2009-03-30:
I decided to go for their services five months back. I paid the joining fee, though soon after that I had to leave my job due to some reason and found myself in a tight financial situation. I decided I needed money and wanted my membership canceled. I called them up explaining them my problem and they said that I would get half of my money back as refund. It took 2 weeks but they refunded my much needed money. Also I would add that their customer service people are very helpful.
single_London on 2011-01-06:
I would love to get in touch with you and talk about this...I too am thinking about suing this company for their false advertisements. I am seriously upset with is company! If you have an email address please post it.
muskoka on 2011-12-22:
I have read many many complaints about being scammed by Lifemates. I too was taken. Is there anyone willing out there to organize a class action suit.
Anonymous on 2011-12-27:
Yes, LifeMates is a SCAM!

I joined in April 2011 and was told, among other wonderful things, that I would be "married in a year", and so far, eight months later, I had only one incompatible match to someone who has been in their database for 7 years. The guy explained that he was not happy with their service and eventually instead of a refund he accepted a "lifetime" membership which he now regrets doing because he is not even getting one match a year! Anyhow, every time I have asked about why I am not receiving any matches I am told "it shouldn't be long", and then I don't hear from them for months. Ladies don't be FOOLED.
I am in the process of requesting a refund. Will keep you posted on how that turns out.

Muskoka and Single London: yes, I would be willing to join in an organized class action suit. Let's keep in touch and please keep me posted.
mzunderstoodru on 2012-02-29:
I'm kicking myself for not doing my research before I signed up with LifeMates and paying all that money. I experienced the same runaround and BS, but the problem was I couldn't get my money back because I "approved" the first referral so I wasn't eligible to get half. However, I heard those eligible people are STILL trying to get their money back. I signed-up back in 2007 so it's a little late for me to pursue this legally anyway. I feel disappointed, angry and embarrassed.

I hope people out there do their research. There are websites out there that have reviews that seem too biased. Most don't have dates when it was published or they're just out-dated. I don't even know if these "positive" reviews are legitimate.

Check out Consumer Affairs website which shows both sides.
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/dating_services/lifemates.html
Scammed byLifematesToo on 2012-03-25:
Yes, I was also scammed by Lifemates in 2009. Not dates and no refund and am one of those formal complaints on BBB. I really don't believe these are Lifemate Clients who posted their testaments on this page saying they received good service, solid dates and refunds. Definitelty they are posts from Lifemate employees. What kind of person works for crooks?
Gruellrule on 2012-04-14:
Also a victim of this scam called Lifemates. So has anyone actually got a lawsuit together? I would like to be sometimes correct any action taken!
jordanstinson on 2012-05-07:
Lifemates is such a scam
trmn8r on 2012-05-07:
That's what I have heard through word of mouth.
disappointed on 2012-06-25:
I am seriously disgusted with the lack of service and attention. I have been scammed as well. My criteria were completely ignored and they wouldn't even allow me access to my OWN profile. I wrote a letter to cancel my membership. Next step, getting a lawyer!
Ignac on 2012-09-19:
Yes, sadly I'm another one who has been scammed by LifeMates. Sounds like there might be enough people to form some kind of class action lawsuit against them. The positive reviews on LifeMates are not from real people, but rather paid employees.
fraudulence bogus company on 2012-11-23:
ALL POSITIVE comments/reviews are from the scumbags that works for a bigger scumbag of this company! Don't kid yourself people this company is set up to rip you off, just look at the reviews, the negative comments are very detailed and constructive and the positive reviews are 100% biased. I can't believe a company with this much wrong doing can still operate, but only in Canada!
Scammed byLifematesToo on 2013-01-08:
Sadly, I am another one who has been scammed by LifeMates. I wrote a letter to cancel the membership and tomorrow I will have an appointment with a lawyer.
Maralisa on 2013-05-01:
Good to hear. I am doing my homework and after reading all, you know I am not even going to sign up...
Jeff on 2013-05-03:
Scammed!! making sure my complaints go everywhere they are needed in order for people to be aware of exactly what they are getting into before signing! I too am looking at taking legal action to get my money back. Very unprofessional company! Been in business for 22 years should be embarrassed!
John on 2013-05-18:
Have lots of helpful advice to people that want their money back!!!
Ana on 2013-07-31:
In 8 months, one date. Looks like a scam to me.
Val on 2013-08-03:
WOW, I too very recently have been taken for a ride with this non-ethical company. I unfortunately signed (very pressured to at the time of the meeting by the sales rep) and informed them within 24hrs I could not proceed and I wanted all my money returned. To no avail. Any advise, has anyone brought them to small claims court? email me at v.kelly@rogers.com
Scotty on 2013-08-12:
"Cancel anytime" does not mean we will stop billing you. And they do need to pay for their fancy tv ads. Don't go near them.
JoJo on 2013-10-14:
I was scammed as well. Misleading high pressure sales tactics to feed off the vulnerable. They charge unreasonable, exorbant prices for their "services". Once they get your $ thousands of dollars
eva marie on 2014-03-25:
I have same experience , will ask for money refund... and call BBB about this situation.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
LifeMates Review - BUYER BEWARE!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CANADA -- People should do their research before forking over a lot of money for a membership with LifeMates. With their outrageous cost, you’d expect a high level of service. But in my opinion, they failed miserably. The following are details of their lack of service:

I signed up with LifeMates at the Calgary location back in 2007. Since then I wished I never contacted this company. I regretted signing their contract and paying all that money for a service that was so POOR. Barb, the sales rep, promised me that there were a lot of candidates that would be suitable for me. She gave me this song and dance, and I believed her. After I signed up, it took awhile for them to call me with my first referral so I had to chase them down. After a period of time, they called me with my first referral, and when I met him, he was not what I expected. That was the beginning of a BIG mistake. I specifically told them what I was looking for, then they MISMATCHED with complete opposites. I’ve brought this issue up many times, but nothing was resolved. It became a big runaround. My calls/emails took forever to be returned. I had to chase them down constantly. There were huge gaps of time in between where I didn’t get any calls/emails. I was wondering if they actually have members to match me up with. And if they did, are they really doing their job because the referrals they matched me with were totally incompatible.

They made false promises. I’ve asked if I could get half my money back and they refused because I accepted their first referral, who happened to be a complete MISMATCH, which made me quite suspicious. Then I moved to Edmonton in 2008, hoping they can match me with a proper candidate. I gave them many opportunities to prove me wrong. No such luck, it was the same issue over and over again. Please do your research, understand the fine print and give yourself time to think BEFORE signing a contract and paying all that money.

Reviews from other websites (when Google-searched as "Lifemates reviews") are somewhat biased, outdated or not dated at all. It's important for people to view BOTH sides before they make a decision to sign-up with LifeMates.

Please check out Consumer Affairs website:
http://www.consumeraffairs.com/dating_services/lifemates.html
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
sharontyler on 2012-05-07:
Lifemates looks like a deceptive company
realreviewer on 2012-11-23:
yup, definitely a manipulative and deceptive company. And they send their worthless employees to these consumer complaint sites like this one and the BBB and others to continue their crime.
Close commentsAdd reply
Beware: False Claim In Regards To The Quality Of Their Database
Posted by on
MONTREAL -- I signed up for Lifemates to meet high profile individuals outside of my usual network in September 2008.

Without wanting to sound superficial, I am a very social individual with a high profile job, good looks and a great personality. I own a beautiful condo in one of the best part of the city, drive a nice car and I must say that I have no problem meeting people. I thought I could use some help because I kept meeting the same men in my social activities, most of them were not really available.

The Lifemates representative I met with twice assured me that the level of single men represented in the agency were matching my profile perfectly. I signed on thinking it could be a regular business deal where I would pay a high price and receive great service in return. Because of my professional background, I am used to quality service and to dealing with company who deliver on their claims.

I have never been more wrong than with Lifemates!

I had made clear before purchasing the services that I considered I had a lot to offer and that I was hoping to receive the right consideration. Right from the beginning, I told them that if they could not deliver the goods, I would prefer for them to be honest. They told me they would satisfy my needs.

WRONG AGAIN!

In November, I sent a request to cancel my subscription which had covered for more that the services I had received at that time. After 3 matches (one of them I never actually met because he kept postponing the meeting), I contacted [snip] who refused to cancel my subscription telling me that now that she was personally involved in a conversation with me, she would make sure my requirements were met.

WRONG ONCE MORE!

I was set on 3 more dates that were horrible. I will spare the details because the men that were introduced to me were such caricatures and should have never been introduced to me. Even an idiot can take a look at two photos (which they have access to and not us) and see the match will not work. I sent one more note to [snip] in May 2009 asking her if the company image was more important than profit. No response¦

3 weeks passed... no feedback...This is how serious they are about providing great service.

I am thinking that for all of you out there looking for help in finding love. Lifemates is not the right choice. The services are far from the level one can expect for the price paid.





     
Read 31 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2009-05-21:
Well good luck finding a 'Lifemate'...

Alanaz on 2009-05-24:
What a nerve you have to bash the company after only giving it a small try. I am a member for three years now and have seen over and over the 'quality of their database'. They have many many singles on their list. I would not be surprised if they are the largest matchmaking service in Canada.

I like how you say they just match photos. Why don't you keep your skepticism to yourself instead of spreading your stench all over the web. I met all their matchmakers from the Vancouver office and a number of times, and trust me they do not randomly make matches. They seem to know more about my life then my older sister does.

Again, your review completely disgusts me.
old fart on 2009-05-24:
Gee whiz... don't we have a sense of self-importance and entitlement...
I'd hate to be hooked up with someone like you who's so obsessed with her worth!

Good luck in your life lady.. you're going to need it!
Ponie on 2009-05-24:
OF, isn't this attitude the same as the little gal down the street has? You know the one--she has that cute pink spiked hairdo and the 12 (visible) body piercings.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
Thanks for the post, MTL. What I find sad is that you tried to convey an experience with a company that you found not to your liking and had to endure all the negative responses. That's the way it goes around here sometimes. People are threatened when someone with high self-esteem speaks up.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with setting your sights high and also being a successful female. Mr. Right will come along in time--with or without this company's help. As always, just because this company has been successful for some, it doesn't seem to be the right one for you. Get involved in things you enjoy and forgot about looking. He will find you!
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
Best answer, kia. I always chuckle when men are threatened by a strong, independent woman.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
Thanks, jbc :) It's sad it is still true in 2009.
BokiBean on 2009-05-24:
No offense, but if this lady thinks that judging a person by their photo is acceptable...I can see why she's still looking.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
Nothing wrong with self confidence. However, arrogance is quite unattractive.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
The perfect mate can't be at Lifemates, because I have never registered. Good luck on finding 2nd best. :)
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
Personality can make a person ugly or beautiful. You may think you are attractive, but you're ugliness om the inside cancels out that outward beauty.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
LOL. I enjoy how people are judging this person because of her complaint. little, please tell me you do not judge a person by their outward appearance first, lol. Fact of life. For instance, if I like a rugged guy, I am definitely not going to be attracted to a guy that looks like an accountant. Maybe if I talked to him for a while I would get to like him, but we all judge people outwardly first. I would definitely judge a picture the same way, as would most of us. This op obviously isn't desperate enough to date the first person that comes along and I call that having a good amount of self-esteem.

I really don't feel like her complaint depicts arrogance, but, hey, that's just me. I suppose we could say that about anyone when they find fault with a company.

C2O, put your pic on that site and see how many bites you get, LOL.
BokiBean on 2009-05-24:
No. I find her arrogance very unattractive. She's calling the matchmakers "idiots" and the men she was set up with "caricatures", and in the same review talking about finding "love" because she paid for it. Ugh.
jktshff1 on 2009-05-24:
I can pay for "love" on a street corner in any town I go in.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
Jkt, that kind of "love" can lead to a burning sensation when you pee
jktshff1 on 2009-05-24:
LMAO!
DebtorBasher on 2009-05-24:
There's a name for those who look for men for a high priced service.

"I must say that I have no problem meeting people"...then why do you have a problem meeting them outside your circle? You come across as someone who doesn't need anyone because you're all it yourself and that's most likely why you're having trouble being happy in Paradise. No one wants to be with someone who starts all of their sentences with, "I".
DebtorBasher on 2009-05-24:
This reminds me of that stupid commercial..."Don't hate me because I'm beautiful"...LOL!

Anyway....I do hope you find what you're looking for out there...good luck to you.
Slimjim on 2009-05-24:
I think the thing is, the social stature and some other factors the op was looking for had become hard to find for her. Notably because I'm not Canadian, but for other reassons as well. Lifemates heard her very specific wants and said they could deliver, no doubt at a high fee. Then she got set up on dates with those who didn't match what she specified and paid to be introduced to. It's a fair complaint if Lifemates took her money based on a promise they didn't deliver. Frankly I thing all dating services are nothing but a picture swapping service that cross their fingers and hope nature takes its course and delivers the product for them. From a business standpoint, I always played with starting one just for that reason. That and self-serve launderettes. Pretty much plug and go businesses.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
Actually I would Kia, but I'm the kind of boy that likes the kind of girl that like to fool around with the boys on the first date.
I know where to find 'em too. :)
BokiBean on 2009-05-24:
"Frankly I thing all dating services are nothing but a picture swapping service that cross their fingers and hope nature takes its course and delivers the product for them."

I agree completely, Slim. To me, that's all they could be, because no one can explain chemistry and what makes people attract.
Anonymous on 2009-05-24:
I've never dated the same type of guy. Every one of my boyfriends have been different. They have all looked different and have all had different personalities. I would never trust these dating sites.
MTL on 2009-05-25:
Thank you to those who understood the complaint is really about a company that claims to be able to deliver a specific service and fails to deliver up to the initial promise made. I was convinced to sign with Lifemates based on information which proved to be misleading.

I must say that I find very interesting and funny that the people juging me for my 'shallowness' are doing so without knowing who I am. If they even spent one hour with me, they would feel cheap to have come to such a quick verdict. Personal succes and assurance does not come from stepping over people's head. Generosity is at the core of the lives of all the very successful people I know...not that I need to justify myself.
Anonymous on 2009-05-25:
You nailed it, MTL, and no you don't need to justify yourself to anyone, least of all anyone here, LOL!

For some reason, anytime someone posts a review about a dating site, they take a pretty good beating. Not sure why, as we live in the 21st century now and people all over the world use the internet to meet and communicate with others.
Ponie on 2009-05-25:
Right, Justbcuz, regarding your last comment. But instead of dishing out $$$, why not try one of the free sites out there? I don't doubt chances of something working out would be just as good, and at no cost.
I find the statement '...without knowing who I am.' interesting. I had a high school Philosophy instructor who once said: 'If someone says s/he's a nice person, once you get to know him/her--don't waste your time trying to get to know them.' I've pretty much stuck with that idea and it's served me well.
BokiBean on 2009-05-25:
LOL Ponie. Its like those people who say they are direct and honest, not just jerks.
Anonymous on 2009-05-25:
Hi Ponie! Btw, I'm a first class SOB. What time will the burgers be ready? lmao!
Ponie on 2009-05-25:
Right, Boki.
C20, you wouldn't want to know the initials others have applied to me. Our Hostess said the feed bucket would be put on around 5P, but her husband who fires up the charcoal said any time he's d*mned ready. I have such nice relatives/friends. I planned to be out of here by now to slurp some of the suds, but M3C is so interesting, it keeps pulling me back in. LOL
Anonymous on 2009-05-25:
I hear ya Ponie! It is interesting, and strangely, I find I understand more here when I visit the site when I'm drunk.
Have fun!
single_London on 2011-01-06:
I totally know how you feel and I felt the same way on my second date. This guy was missing his 2 front teeth and had a tenth grade education...WTF?????????????
interested single looking for a matching agency on 2013-07-06:
I do not think her complaint is arrogant at all. She paid for a high rate service as they advertised themselves, and has not received the service. She is a confident individual, nothing wrong with that. She was told she would be matched with like minded people and she was not...she signed up with her expectations clear to the life mates people, and they claimed they would meet her expectations to her satisfaction, they should have told her straight up, what you are looking for you will not find here, they should not have lied to her, but should have managed her expectations, that is what integrity is all about...nothing wrong with her having a healthy self esteem....I actually have a problem with people who are angry with her because she has a healthy self esteem...which is a reflection on their low esteem of themselves, or..Maybe those responding are actually the life mate’s sales person...WHO KNOWS...??? It however says a lot about the organisation and the claims they make.....
Close commentsAdd reply
Bad People
Posted by on
MISSISSAUGA -- On November 30 of 2005, I purchased a match referral service from Lifemates. The sales person was a Jackie at the Toronto office, 3080 Yonge St., Toronto. I paid $3000 for matchmaking the service and personal coaching. They failed to provide any of these services. They have not returned any phone calls or emails. Nor have they provided any contacts for dates. On the occasion when I get through to complain and/or demand satisfaction, I am given another number to call. When This number is called all we get automated message that the mailbox is full call back later. These people are masters of putting off complaints and yet failing to provide services. When I demand back monies render, they tell me that I would only entitled to half, then be wait listed for a decision to see if they willing to grant that. My last complaint I took to the head of office, 201-2100 Matheson Rd E, Mississauga, Ont. On January 5th, 2010. On January 8th, 2010 I returned to the office to follow up on my complaint. Immediately I was greeted with a big thug demanding I leave. I felt very much threatened, fearing bodily harm and staining the carpet with my blood. I stood my ground, refusing to leave until I spoke to someone.

The next fellow, a Mr. Waterman, promised to look into the mater and promised me very little. He agreed that something should be done. I just demanded my monies back. He said no. Feel that I have been scammed. They took my $3000 for services they never rendered. And I received so action for them to right this.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2010-01-14:
You need to spend a bit more money and get a lawyer. These so called match making services are often there ONLY to make money. I have never heard of them working for anyone. I also feel bad that these people prey on others who are lonely and want to spend that kind of money to find a special someone.
Alain on 2010-01-14:
Sherdy is right, but I'm not sure if you'll see your money again. If you're going to use the computer for social contacts maybe try chats, etc. for free and see what you can find out there (using caution when exchanging personal information when doing this).
Anonymous on 2010-01-14:
Sad state of affairs when one would pay to meet another human being and have to receive "coaching" as well.
Mutual friend(s), Church, workplace, chance meeting and bars also there are hundreds of legit singles websites as well. Those would be a better and cheaper alternative.
Good luck.
PepperElf on 2010-01-14:
sounds like maybe they're out of business?


personally if you really want to meet someone
I'd suggest checking out the local areas for any groups that have the same interests.
and I don't mean dating sites, but rather just social groups.

that way... you can socialize with people with similar interests and just have fun
and you might meet someone special.

of course you also might not. but to be honest in my opinion you have the best success when you're not actually looking for it
Anonymous on 2010-01-14:
".....you have the best success when you're not actually looking for it..."
So true.
Anonymous on 2010-01-14:
It's a lot harder to meet someone that people with someone think it is, and the "When your not looking, you meet someone" is a myth. The matchmaking business is huge for a reason.
let me see? on 2010-01-15:
Did I read this correct? 2005? It is now 2010 and you are demanding your money back? Did you not notice for the last 4 1/2 years they have not done what they said they would? Something is missing.
old fart on 2010-01-15:
How did you get talked into dropping 3 grand for this kind of service...?
Roy on 2012-11-15:
If anyone feels that they have been scammed by Lifemates, file an official complaint with the Ontario Consumer Protection Bureau. They will investigate your case. If there are enough complaints, they will issue a cease and desist order and if they fail to comply and change their tactics, they can be fined up to $250,000. Do your part. They should not be allowed to get away with it.
One unsatisfied customer is already one too many.. on 2013-07-06:
Strange, there are more complaints against LifeMates online than satisfied clients, Why would a potential soul mate ever join this company, there is a better chance meeting somebody online. I doubt my potential soulmate would join this company after reading all this...if you have integrity, why would you...so what are the quality/characteristics of their potential matches...???

You would obviously not meet me and I am a good catch....don't spend money on a company that has even one bad or unsatisfied customer, that is already one life that has been made unhappy through LifeMates...one life is already too much...everyone is important!!! Every single individual is special and important, whether you wear a Hijab, a head covering ....whether you have one leg...if these guys took your money, they should deliver on their promises because they took every single individual, member or complaint on the web as a potential partner that they promised to assist find a soul mate..But did not deliver on their promises....this LifeMates company..No....spend the money on singles cruises and meetups.com depending on your interests than on this matchmaking organisation that has no matches....at least on singles cruises you will see the people you might end up with....
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Beware of What They Don't Tell You
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO -- Their contract does not tell you that you're not allowed to see photos of referrals so you have no idea whom you'll be matched with. You're simply given a vague description of your date by phone. This is the crux of their business model. No reputable business operates in such a manner. So, be smart, have a lawyer review the contract and most importantly, ask to see faces. If the answer is no, don't sign. You stand to lose thousands if you so much as accept one referral sight unseen.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lifemates Rip Off
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TORONTO -- Don't even set foot in the door. Pure scam. Am fully prepared to join class action lawsuit
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Kathy11111 on 2014-05-05:
DO NOT EVER ENTER INTO AN AGREEMENT WITH LIFEMATES, after 28 years of marriage I decided to call them. They also made all these promises and there were 1000's of men in Calgary that would be a good fit for me. The saleperson asked me how much money I had in the bank, as I was broke because of my divorce I said non, but asked if I could pay monthly and she said yes. She did not say there would be an $880 finance charge on a $3700 fee, she just told me would the monthly fee would be. I also remember her telling me that they do background checks on their people, that is not true as per their agreement. After 5 crappy matches and complaints to them about the matches and a rude reply I decided to put a stop payment on the account with them. In short, they have now give me to a collection agency. they have added another
$1200 in fees on top of my balance. I will probably take them to court, however, if I loss these 4 crappy matches will have cost me $1000 each. PLEASE AGAIN DO NOT SIGN UP WITH THEM. If anyone has ever taken them to court pleas let me know so I can be prepared.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Scammed by Lifemates. Looking for Advice on How to Get Money Back
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TORONTO ONTARIO, CALIFORNIA -- I was scammed. Tried cancelling my membership within 16 hours and was lied to. No one calls me back. Giving me the run around. I would like to launch a class action suit or join one. How can I get my money back? Are there any loopholes that protect me by law ?
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2013-07-09:
Some more details would help. How were you "scammed"? Is there something in their terms and conditions that allows for cancellation within a certain amount of time?
a on 2013-07-09:
I wouldn't pay to date....I've learned dating services don't do squat...
Weedwhacked on 2013-07-09:
First of all, did you read all the terms and conditions you agreed to when you opened your membership with them?

If not read them and you'll see if anything can be done to retrieve your money. If not, you agreed to their terms already and can do nothing about it.
Roseanne on 2013-08-02:
When I joined Lifemates, and never received a call from them for over two months, and called to ask, the explanation and fakeness I got made me realize it was simply a bad investement - $2400 dollars down the drain.( I know, how or why wpould anyone pay that much for a date unless they will deliver exactly what you are looking for- right ? --well not exactly they simply match you up so that their stas can show that they matched you up...you could have met the match down the streets...) .so, lost money, nothing can be done about it, if they give you your money back, it is 50 %.....$1200, or you simply trust that they will deliver...do they deliver...apart from the positive way they call themselves, I am yet to hear a real happy client
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Consumer Recourse
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MISSISSAUGA, ONTARIO -- If a consumer is mistreated by unethical business practices in Ontario, Canada, they can complain to the government's Consumer Protection Services. You can Google it. They investigate all consumer complaints and if an organization is found to be engaging in fraudulent or misleading business practices, they can be fined up to $250,000. You may even get a refund. But make sure you have all the evidence to back up your claims or you'll be unsuccessful in your efforts.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
At Your Service on 2012-12-28:
What, exactly, does this have to do with LifeMates?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >