Preview Review

Next Review

Lufthansa Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
No Reimbursement of replacement items purchased due to lost luggage
By -

LIVERPOOL -- On 11 Jan 2010 my partner flew in from Afghanistan to Germany and then Germany to London Heathrow on Flight LH4740 to find his luggage missing. At the baggage tracing desk at Heathrow Terminal 1, he was given File Reference: ** for his Tag No. ** and a sheet of paper with contact points for lost luggage. He was instructed to buy what items he needed until his luggage was found and delivered. He was promised he would be compensated at 50% for clothes and 100% for toiletries. His missing luggage was located and delivered within a week.

Subsequently he sent a fax to the Lufthansa Customer Feedback Europe fax number (0049 6969 055171) with a copy of all receipts. This was followed up with a hard copy of the same information to the mailing address (Lufthansa Customer Relations, PO Box 1289, Liverpool L69 3AX). He waited but nothing happened. He tried calling the London Heathrow telephone number and was given the run-around. He then resubmitted all information and receipts by letter and fax and email. He received an automated email reply on 17 March (feedback reference number **) but no further action from Lufthansa.

My partner has now been re-deployed to Afghanistan and left the matter in my hands. I sent a letter dated 29 March 2010 with full details and receipts requesting a refund. I have received no response. I resubmitted all details on the online Customer Feedback email form ( and again received an automated response but no action. A hard copy was also resent. This is now the 4th time of asking for reimbursement.

Our customer feedback states that this is totally unacceptable service by Lufthansa and we demand that the claim be dealt with immediately and the promised reimbursement made. Moral: do not check your luggage, do not let it out of your sight, do not trust anything they say, do not fly Lufthansa ever again.

Resolution Update 04/23/2010:

On 9 April 2010 Lufthansa responded by email apologising for the delay but refusing to reimburse the replaced items because the luggage had been returned prior to the date of the receipts. They stated they required proof of my partner's movements in order to reconsider his claim.

My partner responded on 9 April with exact details of his onward connections to Belgium on 11 Jan 2010 and his subsequent movements until he was reunited with his luggage in London.

Finally on 20 April 2010, more than 3 months after losing his luggage, Lufthansa finally agreed to reimburse £115.27 for replacement items.

Moral: never give up - don't let them grind you down.

Deceptive Information On Lufthansa's Website - LH Won't Comment
By -

Lufthansa lies on their website about the benefits of their "Miles & More" program and won't change the information that is wrong. I am under the impression that lying is part of their marketing strategy, obviously they do it because it does not have any consequences other than losing a few customers who are pissed off. I have a Lufthansa "Miles & More" card and they have a list of partner airlines on their website.

According to LH Miles & More members can get an upgrade if they book a flight with one of these "partners". Only because I believed that I could get an upgrade I booked a flight with SIA that was more expensive, had longer flight times and more stopovers than a flight with a competitor. When calling LH to get that upgrade, it was "sorry, the upgrade does not go through". I called SIA and they told me that Star Alliance members can only accrue miles but not upgrade unless it is a code share flight.

According to SIA only members of their own frequent flier program can get upgrades. I have this in writing and submitted it to Lufthansa. They still insist that they are able to upgrade a flight that is booked through the SIA website. They don't want to comment the discrepancy between their "partner's information" that contradicts what they say, it's like they want to say "SIA is our partner but we don't talk to our partners..."

In regards to the United First Class lounge: LH's website states: "A First Class ticket holder can use any lounge of any Star Alliance partner". Still, United refused to give me access to their First Class lounge when I showed them my First Class LH ticket. I have contacted both airlines, LH never responded, United made some explanations that are contradictory to what LH explains on their website. No comment about Lufthansa's promise that a First Class ticket gives access to any Star Alliance lounge.

For someone who considers paying $ 13,000-(!!!) for a LH First Class ticket: don't expect that Lufthansa will give you any response if there are any issues. Once they receive your money, they are happy and don't care if you use their services again. By the way: the main dish on that flight was "Fish and Chips", I could have gotten this meal for $ 1,99 + tax from Long John Silver. Not really what I expected in First Class.

Lufthansa Lies That Can Cause Security Breach
By -

SAN FRANCISCO, CALIFORNIA -- On November 9, 2008, Lufthansa Canceled their San Francisco to Frankfurt flight around 3:00 pm. (Just writing from memory, it was supposed to take off around 2:15 pm). Then after keeping everyone standing in line at their counter upwards of THREE HOURS (STANDING OF FOOT -- no exaggeration), they called my name, not from the counter, but around the corner from departure floor -- around 6:40 pm (3 hours, 40 minutes standing on feet).

A very rude female Lufthansa Employee pointed to some luggage and demanded that I pick mine up! (I had already checked in two pieces, each over 50 lbs and had Lufthansa Checked in tags). It was physically impossible to have picked them up. When I asked for a luggage cart, she said "you go get them..." Then having finally reached my turn really close to the counter, I went to process my ticket (passed 6:40 PM), then paid $4.00 for a luggage cart that Lufthansa was too cheap to obtain, or too dumb and condescending to know.

At the luggage cart stand, an airport security on bicycle approached and asked what I was doing. Turns out the Lufthansa Lady HAD LIED TO AIRPORT SECURITY ABOUT UNATTENDED LUGGAGE (I had LH checked in Tags, plus both pieces had my name address and telephone number). By the time I went back to retrieve my luggage, about a dozen Uniformed Airport Security were around them. Security Level was intermittently announced as Orange! Just because of her (willful & irresponsible Lufthansa employee) lie, security was tied up attending 2 pieces of luggage that were checked into Lufthansa already.

Heaven forbid, a couple of irresponsible employees who lie through their teeth, in a real security situation can put the whole Airport and the public at real danger... Lufthansa has been dragging their feet with this complaint that I made in December 2008, after returning to the US.

Unfriendly Lufthansa Flight
By -

FRANKFURT-SFO FLIGHT, CALIFORNIA -- I have come to USA - San Francisco as a tourist from India - Dehli on 25th Nov. 07 by Dehli-Frankfurt Lufthansa flight and United Airlines UA901 from Frankfurt to SFO. I had chosen Lufthansa this time thinking it is a high standard airline caring decently the customers and my journey will be comfortable and enjoyful. My dream of enjoyful traveling vanished during the journey especially from frankfurt to sfo due to No Customer Care AND air Hostess rude smiles.

It was a journey of 24 hrs including 7 hrs waiting at frankfurt. I had requested for an indian non-vegetarian food and it was confirmed to me as Asian food/Hindu meal with non-veg chicken at the time of booking ticket as well as at checking time. I am unable to understand why food served was Hindu vegetarian meal. When I asked air Hostess "where is chicken", there was no reply. I refused to take food. There was no concern to the air hostess. She told me "you have to be without food for 9 hrs journey."

I don't understand the behavior and the humanity lost by the flight staff, at least she could bring something or pacify me. I was so much tired of the journey and the way the food service was dealt, I asked for a can of beer, the air Hostess asking me 5 dollars. What is this. After spending so much money for the air ticket, you have to pay for a small drink.

I decided not to travel by lufthansa/United Airlines any time in future. I felt regret and cheated to take this airline. I may think of other flight even I have to pay a little more. The Lufthansa flight timings are very odd from delhi which is at 3:00 AM. I hope something on the Hindu meal (non vegetarian) to be focused, the airline should understand what customer desires, and it should be clear. Also there should not be any charge for a drink for passengers traveling a long journey.

Bait and Switch/Customer Service
By -

FRANKFURT -- I wish I had the problems the other reviewers did instead of the ones we experienced. First, we purchased 4 tickets from the Lufthansa website, paying Lufthansa rates for what we expected to be a premium German flight--comfortable seats, good food, etc. In fact, Lufthansa sent us on a bankrupt airline.

When we left at San Francisco, the bankrupt airline was so inefficient at issuing boarding passes and checking baggage that it took 3 1/2 hours to service the twelve or so parties in our line. We barely made the gate and had no lunch. But, it got worse. On our return flight from Rome through Frankfurt (which actually was on a Lufthansa airplane), the flight was delayed -- not Lufthansa's fault for the delay -- Frankfurt had fog.

However, when we were dropped off in Frankfurt, along with hundreds and hundreds of others going through their hub, there was absolutely no customer service to help us get rebooked. In fact, we were misdirected away from the Lufthansa agents to the agents for the bankrupt airline, only to find that when their plane left, so did all their personnel. From 1:30 pm until 7:30 pm we stood in all sorts of lines trying to get rebooked. We went through immigration on misdirections so many times we no longer had to show our passports -- the guards just waved us through -- laughing at us.

I was one of the lucky ones. I went to a Lufthansa agent in a "transfer" line (while my companion waited in the regular line--hundreds of people long). As a result, a kindly soul took pity on me and gave me a pass to get rebooked and a hotel room in the Business Class line. Like I said, it only took us 6 hours. I ran back to get my companion. She was still several hours back in the regular line and we got out of there.

One couple waited in that line for hours only to be told that since they had used frequent flyer miles to upgrade to business class, they had to go into the business class line and start all over (a mere 1 1/2 to 2 hour wait). If you choose to fly Lufthansa, watch your ticket and carrier closely to make sure that you fly on the airplane you want. In San Francisco, the real Lufthansa flight passengers on their real flight for which we purchased tickets were quickly and easily boarded.

Also, expect no customer service or help. When we got to Frankfurt the first day and complained about the bait and switch, Lufthansa told us to present ourselves in person in New York City. Don't forget that during all this, Lufthansa had our luggage including all toiletries etc pursuant to new TSA guidelines. Nothing like putting on sweaty dirty underwear the next day for a 12-hour flight home.

Lufthansa Ruined My Vacation Too
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GERMANY, OREGON -- En-route on this airline connecting flight through from Split Croatia to Milan Italy. Change of planes in Munich, Germany - Bags checked through for me from Milan transport arranged to Bergamo airport and fly to Tel Aviv
While stuck in passport control and again through security Lufthansa left with my luggage but not me - I was lied to. Repeatedly I believe they oversold that flight and resold my seats.

My luggage was not in Milan when I got there. Telephone numbers they gave me Did not work. Lufthansa customer service in Milan - yuck! I am out prepaid airfare and lodging not to mention my luggage. Do not use this airline. They are not customer service. Try British Airways for a refreshment!!

Lufthansa opened Miles and More account without my permission. Will not release miles.

DENVER -- I've been flying Lufthansa for over 12 years. In general I was pleased with their service. During all these years I used United Mileage Plus program to collect miles from all Lufthansa flights. During last Flight in Nov/December for reason unknown to me, Lufthansa opened Miles account for myself and credited all 38,000 miles to their program.

The only thing I did differently this time was using online check-in program that I never used before. Once I realized what happened I called Lufthansa to release my miles but Lufthansa refused saying I cannot move the miles between partner programs!!!

After about 15 calls to both US and Germany, I was finally told that I need to close my Lufthansa account by written request and that my Miles will be annulled. Let's hope that United will be able to pull them in after account closure. Not to mention I need these miles to keep my 1K status with United. What a mess.

Handling of delayed luggage claims
By -

We were flying Lufthansa last week for a one week vacation abroad. Two out of three suitcases didn't arrive with us. We only got them 2 full days later. Both me and my son only had no clothes and had to spend the short vacation time on buying a few necessaries, about half we can prove with receipts. In reality it was quite a bit more since we needed transportation to the stores, we didn't think about taking receipts till after our shopping was well on the way - we were a bit tired after a day of flying topped by 2 hours of waiting for luggage and filling out the forms.

Imagine my disappointment when I was told at Lufthansa Lost & Found that I am not even entitled to the compensation I can prove with my receipts, but just to a half of it, because "I get to use the bought items". I don't need a second toothbrush, shaving set or another 3 pairs of trunks! (No, I forgot to take receipt on the first two). I'll give the sandals and the shorts to Lufthansa! I feel I should be compensated in access to the receipts I have submitted, using common sense (they are all for clothes, I forgot the receipt for the toiletry items). Also, credit cards charge extra for currency conversion (US dollars to Israeli NIS), I should be paid that as well.

Be aware buying tickets using Miles and More
By -

You can buy flight tickets and make use of bonus points via the Lufthansa Miles and More program BUT be careful! Just bought 3 flight tickets for my wife and two children for our summer holiday in Spain; decided to make use of points for my own ticket, which turned out to be bad business for us: Miles and More - on some routes - make use of expensive tickets and claims accordingly tax, meaning that you will be charged extra (besides the used points).

In our case I ended up paying much more for the same ticket as rest of the family and at the same time lost a lot of my bonus points. As a consequence of that - and because Lufthansa will not refund - I have cancelled my membership of Miles And More and I have changed my business travel profile to exclude Lufthansa in the future.

Stay Away From Lufthansa Airlines if You Are Business Traveler
By -

Lufthansa have lost my luggage (reported) three days ago (March 27, 2011) and they still do not know when I will get it! It was just a flight from Berlin to Dubrovnik (through Munich). They had 2 hour and 45 minutes between my flights. How much more time do you need? I am business traveler and I am left just with my laptop. I can't continue my business trip since I do not have any clothes!!! This is my second luggage lost in 10 days and both by Lufthansa!!! My previous luggage was delivered after 3 days!!! Lufthansa do not have any workable Customer Service and their response was not on a subject or informative.

Lost luggage tracing system is not responding too... They did not know where I was and where I was traveling to. My recommendation: This is not airline for business class travelers and airline without any Customer Service services!!! This is a disgrace for Germany and aviation industry!

Top of Page | Next Page >

Lufthansa Rating:
Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
3.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
35 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
P.O.Box 946
Santa Clarita, CA 91380
1-866-953-2294 (ph)
Compare Airline Companies