[X]
Feedburner count

Mathis Brothers Furniture

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
14 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very poor communication with customers
Posted by Okcherokeenurse on 07/09/2007
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- My husband and I were in Tulsa on a Friday evening. We decided to stop in at Mathis Brothers Furniture and shop for furniture to furnish our recently built 3600 sq.ft. home. We intended to simply browse since we were about 2-3 weeks from move-in date. As we walked past the "As is" room a couple of pieces of leather living room furniture caught my eye. We are decorating our new home in a country french style and these pieces looked just right. I was a little disappointed to find they were repossessed, but they had character and had that "distressed" look about them. The young salesman in the room told us if we liked the pieces we had better pay for them or put a deposit down to hold them, because they surely would not be there long. We put a $100 deposit and planned to pick them up at the beginning of the week since we live 60 miles away. On Monday, at 1:10 pm the young salesman called our home phone. I answered since I was home for lunch. He stated that people were wanting to buy the pieces. I replied "But, they are ours. We put the deposit on them." He then said, "I didn't tell you they had to be picked up within 48 hours?" I told him, "No, you did not." He then went on to say, "If you come get it today, the warehouse will be open until 7:30p.m." I told him we would be there. I called my husband and he told me to just call him back, pay for the pieces by credit card and pay to have them delivered since he doubted they would fit in the back of our truck. I called the salesman back who explained, "Oh, they will fit in your truck and the warehouse staff will help you load it and tie it down. So save your $80 and just come pick it up and pay for it then." I agreed. Just as we were ready to leave to drive the 60 miles, storm clouds rolled in. I tried to reach the salesman again by his cell phone. All the salesmen are reached by cell phones. I don't know if Mathis Brothers pays for these or not, but you can't have them paged overhead. A strict policy is in force for them to be reached by cell. Well, guess what? I could never get him back on his cell. So, I called the main phone number for the store to give them my credit card number to pay for the furniture. I was told the pieces had been sold to someone else. I asked, "What do you mean? I was told I could come pick it up as long as I made it before the warehouse closed." The cashier told me I could speak to a manager if I liked. So, I told him I would like. I spoke to a man who identified himself as the store's senior floor manager. He stated the strict policy is in place and would be followed. When I commented that I was disappointed in that decision, he stated, "I do apologize, but that is the policy. If you would like to buy something else, I am at liberty to give a 10-20% discount." I told him, "I feel your company has created an injustice to a potential future buyer." He simply stated, "That's our policy." So I ended with, "It is my policy to give my business to someone who will place emphasis on customer service. And that place is NOT Mathis Brothers Furniture."

Read Company Response
Company Response on 11/13/2008:
At the store we have what is called a asis room. On all four walls we have signs that state that it must be picked up within 48 hours. We opened our store in Jan. 02 and the sgins have been up since opening day.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-07-09:
Did you get your $100 deposit back?

Posted by Skye on 2007-07-09:
Too bad you weren't able to get the chairs, but at least he did offer you 10-20% off a purchase.

Will they be applying the $100.00 to the new furniture you select?? Or are you done with them?
Posted by MISSYWAT on 2007-10-15:
I had a HORRIBLE experience with MATHIS BROTHERS and ROOMS TODAY in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma and will NEVER shop there again! I have posted 2 reviews online.
Posted by David Smith on 2012-07-24:
I have had the same problem (twice). They lost my business altogether. Even if I have to pay higher prices, I'll go somewhere else.
Close commentsAdd reply

Customer Service
Posted by Jenikillion on 08/20/2002
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- My husband and I bought a dining room table and hutch with the promise upon purchase that an extra leaf to the table would be provided at no extra cost. When they delivered our furniture, however, the leaf was not there. Upon calling the store, they had no documentation re. the extra leaf. When we explained our story to them, they promised to order one and it would be shipped within 6 weeks. Six weeks later, no leaf, so we called the store again. This time, we asked to speak to the manager and were disconnected three times while waiting. When we finally connected and asked where our leaf was, he AGAIN said he was unaware of the extra leaf. We repeated the story. He told us that under no circumstances would they ship us the extra leaf. According to him, they are custom made (even though on the bottom of the table it says "made in china")and he would not send us another one. When we explained the whole reason for us to buy the table was because it could include an extra leaf, he offered no apologies, but let us know that he would have a truck in the area if we wanted to return the furniture. Nobody has apologized for this oversight and inconvenience, and the nonchalant attitude that was expressed at our dissatisfaction has only amplified our frustration.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-20:
You should have taken him up on his offer and having the truck take back the table.
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-20:
Actually you should've waited for that night, taken the furniture back yourself, put it all in a pile in the parking lot in front of the store and lit it on fire.
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-21:
GREAT ADVISE FROM ABOVE. INSTEAD OF MISSING A LEAF YOU CAN NOW BURN YOUR WHOLE TABLE AND BE ARRESTED FOR ARSON AS WELL. THE FIRST COMMENTER WAS MORE HELPFUL, TAKE THEM UP ON THEIR OFFER TO TAKE IT BACK.
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-21:
What you should have done was made sure that the extra leaf was written on the Bill of Sale or reciept.
Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-27:
What rotten service! Get a full refund, let them take the furniture and go somewhere decent.
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-04-24:
Get it in print on the bill of sale. This is common sense. Handy Latin phrase for you: CAVEAT EMPTOR.
Posted by Consumers Rule! on 2006-01-11:
we won't ever go back to mathis brothers again. the sales people follow you all over, get the sale, then try to get some assistance when the piece falls apart. we had bought a king size mattress that the material covering it began to literally shred apart. this mattress was still under warranty and we made no less than 8 calls before someone called us back. then it was one lame excuse after another as to why they haven't had a chance to exchange it. we ended up carrying the mattress back into the store, acting like we hurt our back, making a big scene, and boy did we get a new mattress quick.

sometimes you have to have a little fun with these things. they absolutely hate customers talking very loudly and disrupting potential sales.
Close commentsAdd reply

Furniture Protection Plan is apparently useless.
Posted by NitaKay on 06/23/2009
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- I purchased a living room grouping from Mathis Brothers Furniture a year and a half ago. At the time, I decided to pay the extra $400 to purchase the Furniture Protection Plan and have the furniture sprayed with the protectant to keep stains at bay. Within 6 months, it was apparent that the furniture had no protectant sprayed on it and furthermore, the stains were the least of my problems. The furniture is falling apart. The structural frame has failed in both the loveseat and the couch. I was horrified to learn that the furniture protection plan does not cover structural problems but they would send someone out to see the stains and the mishapen cushions. A month later, I called again as no one had visited to see the furniture. 2 months later I actually visited the store's customer service department and complained that no one had been to my home to inspect the damage so that it could either be repaired or replaced. They placed a call and said that someone should be in touch with me by the following Monday. Someone did finally call me and again, explained that someone would be out the next day to inspect the damaged furniture. I am still waiting for someone to show up. What a HUGE waste of $400.00.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Wendy Potter on 2014-01-07:
I am getting the run around getting my soft and recliners fixed as well. Wish I had read this review before I paid the extra as well.
Close commentsAdd reply

Our Mathis Brothers buying experience
Posted by Handyman67337 on 11/14/2007
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- We were nearing the end of our protracted living room makeover, and decided to go to Mathis Brothers Furniture (MBF) in Tulsa,OK of buy a new sofa, loveseat, and cocktail table. We live in Coffeville, KS, which is around 70 miles from Tulsa, and were attracted by the excellent prices offered by MBF. Overall, this furniture buying experience was to good one, in spite of a few problems encountered.

This journey began on 10-20-07 at the MBF store at 71st and 169 Hwy, and the first salesman to greet us was Charles King. I had read horror stories about the salesmen swarming upon customers at MBF, and was somewhat apprehensive. Charles King greeted us and introduced himshelf and we immediately informed him of why were there and what we were looking to buy. Charles quietly and methodically guided us to the furniture area that contained what we were seeking. I recommend Charles King as your salesman of choice should you choose to shop at MBF; you can ask for him at the desk when you enter the store.

Eventually, we made a decision on the sofa, loveseat, and cocktail table to purchase. Charles had watched patiently, and observed that we were drawn to a particular sofa/loveseat combonation, and proceeded to develop the sales paperwork to give us a bottom line on the cost.

Charles, then guided us to the checkout counter to pay for the selected furniture, and stayed near until the sale was completed to answer any questions that arose.....and there were several. It took at most 20 minutes to complete the deal.

The furniture was to be delivered to Coffeyville on November 2, 2007, and it was delivered on time as scheduled.

Now, this should be the end of the story, but it is not. The furniture arrived, but the sofa was a reclining sofa and had a faulty mechanism that would not allow it to remain locked in the down position; the sofa went back on the truck. The loveseat was a dual reclining type with a console between the seats and it had a small tear in the leather; it, too, was returned. We were back where we started, with no furniture in our LR, so on Sat, (11-3) we drove back to MBF to find a different sofa/loveseat. We were successful in finding a replacement (the selection is extensive), and now had to go through the accounting process.

While this took longer than during the original purchase, it was not excessive, in my opinion. At the cashier's desk, it was somewhat more difficult, in that it had to pass through 3 hands to come up with the appropriate balance due. One of the difficulties involved finding the returned furniture. Our furniture was delivered and returned on a Friday, and the practice MBF is to leave the furniture on the truck to be logged into inventory on the following Monday. The bottom line reflected the new balance for the furniture and they gave us immediate credit for the returned furniture.

Our replacement furniture arrived on the following Friday (11-9), and was delivered on time. The sofa/loveseat arrived in good condition and the cocktail table had some very minor abrasions that were resolved with a furniture marker. The table was structurally sound and otherwise free of defects.

A follow up call to MBF customer service on Monday (11-12) confirmed that the returned furniture was back in MBF's inventory.

So, while the process of acquiring our new furniture was extended and somewhat convoluted, the end result was quite satisfactory. For a one-stop furniture shopping experience with an extensive selection (try finding some furniture NOT made in China.....) and low prices we recommend Mathis Brothers Furniture of Tulsa.

     
Add reply

Quoted Incorrect Price - Tagged $899, Quoted $899 But The Tag Was Wrong
Posted by Bixbykano on 12/21/2008
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- My husband & I purchased a mattress and box springs plus a bed at Rooms Today (Owned by Mathis Brothers) 12/20/2008. In walking through the bedding gallery while waiting for the cashier to get our ticket ready, I spotted a Lady Americana knock-off set of the Temperpedic bedding. The price on the tag was $899 and the salesman showed us that the bed was adjustable and said it was priced this low due to the fact that it was the last one in stock and the new models were coming in. He said the queen size was $899 or we could buy a twin size for $799 and that it was an exceptional deal. Just so happens that one of our good friends had back surgery (4-vertebrates repaired) the week before and was in severe paint trying to sleep on his old mattress. I called him but he was asleep and didn't answer. My husband & I picked up the items we had purchased and my husband drove 20 miles to our friend's house to check on him and tell him about this "exceptional deal". Our friend said he wanted to buy it immediately. I called the salesman to tell him to call our friend immediately for his credit card number and my husband was going to drive back to Tulsa to pick up the queen size bed. The salesman was very happy to get everything ready for my husband to pick up.

THEN, 5 minutes later, the salesman called me back and said there had been a mistake. The "adjustable foundation" was $899 and the mattress was another $800+. I told him to call my husband who was unloading our purchases at our friend's house to have room on the trailer to come back and get this bed and tell him about the mistake. So - he did. Needless to day, no special discounts, no other offers, nothing but "I'm sorry" was made - just "sorry, we can't sell it to you for what the ticket was marked". It was too late by this point to return everything we had purchased today - BUT, believe me, everything is going back tomorrow morning for a full refund and we are going to the only other store in Tulsa that I know of that isn't owned by the Mathis Brothers and purchase different items. I just got off of the phone with the store manager at Snow's - Barry - and he says they have a lot of people that come in with complaints about Mathis Brothers. I could also tell anyone reading this quickly that another couple that are friends of ours purchased a bedroom suite for a little over $6,000 at Mathis Brothers two years ago and they delivered broken pieces FOUR different times over a period of six weeks before our friends told them to take back everything and give them a refund.

They would not give them a refund since they had had one of the pieces for the full six weeks - a dresser (the only piece that wasn't broken in the initial delivery) but would give them a store credit towards a "different" bedroom suite. They had to go back to the store and go up in price from just over $6000 to over $8000 to get a bedroom suite that was not cracked, split or broken. Since then, they have had more problems with this bedroom suite splitting on the 4-poster bed posts, hinges breaking, etc., but Mathis Brothers will not do anything to help. I'M DONE WITH MATHIS BROTHERS AND ALL OF THEIR STORES. Since they own most every furniture store in Tulsa, it's very difficult to buy furniture here. In the last 2 months, my husband and I have purchased new living room furniture and dining room furniture from the AMISH Furniture store in Chouteau which is very expensive but they are the most caring, careful bunch of people that I have ever worked with and if it hadn't been for the fact that they don't sell mattress sets, I would have made this purchase there too.

What Rooms Today did to us today was very typical of the old "bait and switch" game. BEWARE MATHIS BROTHER'S OWNED STORES!!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2008-12-21:
You are going to go through all the trouble to return furniture you just purchased due to a misunderstanding of the price of an item that wasn't purchased?
Oh the drama.
Mistakes happen. At least they called you before you made the trip back for nothing.
Unless there is an unconditional return policy, I would expect you may be charge a restocking fee for returning merchandise without a valid reason.
Posted by old fart on 2008-12-21:
Rob.. it appears that the salesman neglected to tell the purchaser that the mattress and foundation were separately billed items, leaving them with the impression that the whole kit and kaboodle was $899...
Posted by Anonymous on 2008-12-21:
I don't see what the issue is here, the salesman called you back *within 5 minutes* to let you know he had made a mistake and apologized. What did you want him to do? I don't understand why if a store employee makes a mistake, the expectation is that they must honor the price or offer a discount of some sort.

Also, you mentioned a friend that had bought $6k worth of broken furniture, yet that didn't stop you from making your purchase with Mathis Bros, but this mattress 'incident' did?
Posted by bixbykano on 2009-01-29:
Robf - you sound like you may be employed by Mathis Brothers or a similar store - wait until something like this happens to you. Old fart - yes, it would have been nice if they had offered anything - but absolutely nothing was offered. The sign was posted over the bed and foundation as ONE PRICE and the salesman did tell me they were correcting it. At least he did apologize. Justcuz - If you went to buy a car and the price of $24,900 was on the windshield - would you assume the tires and wheels that the car sits on would be included? And, the reason that we went to a Mathis owned furniture store is that they own EVERYTHING in Tulsa except Snow's Furniture and that is where I ended up buying the replacement pieces - at a lower price because one of the owners of Snows knew what had happened. Snows is located 10 miles from my office and two of the Mathis owned stores are within 4 miles. I will drive the distance for any future purchases. And, since this happened, I have told over 20 people about it and several of them have had bad experiences with Mathis owned stores also. That's all.
Close commentsAdd reply

Most offensive customer service EVER
Posted by BNC on 01/06/2011
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- We had a defective mattress from one of MBF's stores, Rooms Today. Customer service directed us to Mathis Brothers and we began dealing with them. We were met with extreme hostility at all steps when trying to resolve the issue. A representative from the company came to our home and acknowledged that the mattress in question was indeed defective. We were advised to go to Mathis Brothers to choose a replacement mattress, as we were under warranty. We went to MB and found the mattress that the salesperson stated was "identical" to the one we already had (it was the new model, but 3 salespersons have told us they are the exact same mattress, including the woman we originally bought it from, which is why we bought it). We then came back the next day to meet with the customer service department to complete the exchange details. The customer service representative (Joe) greeted us impolitely and did not get up from his desk to acknowledge us. We were told that we would have to pay $60 for the company to come pick up our DEFECTIVE mattress and bring our new mattress. We then were told that we would only receive store credit, which would not allow us to replace the mattress with one of equal quality because the price had gone up 30% in the FOUR months since we purchased the defective mattress. We were also told that we could not be refunded our money. Because we could not believe that we were being asked to pay $360+ just because we had a defective product, we asked to speak to the manager (Tom), who met us at customer service. Tom approached us with a very combative attitude from the beginning and never showed any sign of listening to what we had to say. I cannot put into words (at least in polite company) how unthinkably offensive and disrespectful Tom acted toward us. We explained to him that there was a difference in returning the product (and getting store credit) versus having a warranty that should replace a defective product. He cut us off and said we would have to talk to another customer service person the following day (Justin Lewis). As he walked out the door, he stated, "you didn't even buy the mattress at this store!" While that is correct, the tone of the comment was that we were stupid and/or cheap. We had been told that if we had any issues with our mattress, we could return it and have it replaced with another just like it. This absolutely was not the case. The entire situation was clearly a bait-and-switch. We bought a defective product, we are not being given a replacement or one of equivalent quality, and are also not being given our money back.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by tnchuck100 on 2011-01-06:
You have two choices:
1. Small claims court.
2. Let them get away with it.
Close commentsAdd reply

Attempted Fraud
Posted by B9030w on 07/10/2008
INDIO, CALIFORNIA -- I bought a new office suite from the Mathis Brothers Store in Indio, on June 9th,2008. They had 5 of the 7 pieces in stock, and promised the two remaining pieces by the end of the month.

We got the 5 pieces home and upon unboxing them, discovered that 2 of them were damaged.

We took the damaged goods back.

June 25th, they call and say that 2 of the pieces are in, but they can no longer get the Main piece, (the desk), and they offer us the damaged desk that we returned, at a discount. I tell them NO, we want the NEW furniture that we paid for.

July 3rd, they call, saying all pieces are in.

When we get there, they try giving us the damaged desk that we returned, back to us.
We refused it and they said that was the only one they had. We told them to cancel our entire order, and mysteriously they came up with a NEW, in-the- box desk.

We Got it home, and when unboxed, discovered that it too had been dropped from a forklift, crushing a corner and breaking it off.

Mathis Brothers offered to have someone repair it.

We refused. They told us they would order new, and put notes on the account, to insure only new, undamaged furniture would be delivered.

July 10th. The truck got here and started to unload a "Used" unboxed Hutch. I told the driver we did not order that. He then stated to unload a "Used" unboxed desk. I could see cracks in the side, where it had been screwed into another piece of furniture.

I told the driver that it was supposed to be New, In-the-Box furniture. He told me, they told him, to tell me it was new.

I refused the delivery and called Mathis Brothers. They said that there were notes on my account to only deliver NEW, In-the-box furniture. They could not understand how used furniture was being delivered.

They now tell me that they will deliver "New" furniture, this time, and I should expect delivery by July 25th, almost 2 months after my original purchase.
What do you want to bet, they deliver used, damaged furniture again, and try and pawn it off on me as "New" ?

Use "Extreme" Caution when dealing with this company, as they will attempt to charge you full, premium price, and deliver used, damaged, or Showroom Demo, furniture, and Fraudulently pass it off as new.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by tnchuck100 on 2008-07-10:
It's time to give it up. By now they have proven their inability to correct a problem. You have been more than reasonable with them. Get your money back. Find another store.
Posted by dan gordon on 2008-07-10:
they offered you the 'used' furniture at a discount> Why not just take it? Especially if its a good discount. A desk isn't like a sofa that you sit on or it gets abused.
Posted by b9030w on 2008-07-15:
This was NOT minor damage. The entire side of the natural wood desk was split, where they had screwed the desk to the base unit. This apparently was from their showroom floor, and was done to keep the unit from tipping over. In doing so, they destroyed the desk.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Unbelievable No Response
Posted by Dave.medbery on 02/07/2013
CALIFORNIA -- On Saturday 2-2-13 my wife and I went to Mathis brothers in Ontario, ca. We were greeted immediately at the door by a salesmen. Gilbert was friendly but I felt like I was buying a used car. We found the furniture we liked and bought it $1981.00. The next day was Superbowl Sunday and our stuff was to be delivered between 4pm & 9pm. Those times came and went no call no show. When I called on Monday to see what happened I was told our salesman never scheduled our delivery. We were told they would deliver Tuesday between 4 7 9 again. They did show up earlier then expected around 5:30pm. However they did not have the slat for the bed frame that the box spring & mattress would lie on and said they would bring them back on Wednesday evening. I received a call on Wednesday afternoon from the same delivery company from Mathis brothers stating the would bring out the correct slats on Thursday. I was promised a 10% discount when I first called to complain on Monday that did not happen I've left 2 voicemail messages on Tuesday & Wednesday for the gm (Laura[snip]) and did not receive a call back. On Thursday at 11:00am I called again to speak to the gm I actually spoke with her assistant who said she was on the phone. I explained my issue to the assistant and she said she would have Laura call me back. I'm still waiting...........

     
Add reply

Mathis brothers - NEVER AGAIN
Posted by Tjones96761 on 04/25/2010
TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- We bought a very expensive living room set ($2800) and the added protection plan ($400). It was delivered about 2 weeks after purchase as promised. the movers ripped the upholstery on the couch getting it in the door. they took it back and brought me a replacement 2 weeks later (promised the next day). All was good for about 11 months then the mechanism for the recliner quit working. called in to have it fixed but the protection plan does not cover structure, only upholstery. They offered to contact the manufacturer and order the parts to repair and it would be under warranty. a month goes by, no calls, no parts. I call to find out that the parts were never ordered. they will call Lane and get the parts. I get a call back 2 weeks later that the chair is no longer under warranty. $95 for repair parts. I paid and asked for service to install. they don't do repairs, only warranty work. No matter if you want to pay miles and hours for the work, they don't do that. just happened to be in Tulsa and stopped in to check on parts a couple weeks later. they said yes they were in and were scheduled to deliver next week. I asked about the phone call, response was sorry about that. they dug the parts out of the delivery truck and gave them to me. I get home, pay a guy to dismantling the chair and rebuilding it for $100. sit down in it and I'm looking at the ceiling. He tells me that apparently the parts are for a different chair because it isn't balanced correctly. I called and they said "sorry about that". they'd order the replacements and have them out next week. I told them do not deliver to me, I'll bring the chair to Tulsa and you can fix it in your shop. the showed up at my house 3 weeks later. I loaded the chair and parts and hauled it to Tulsa. asked how long to repair, they said 2-3 days usually. we'll call when it's finished. 2 weeks later I call to check on progress, they say it's finished. I asked about the phone call, they said "sorry about that". I go to pick it up and it's still not right. exactly the same issue as when I took it in. They told me they changed out the mechanism. I said it must not be the right mechanism. they said they'd take it to their shop and call me when it's finished, which is normally 2-3 days. we'll see.
totaled up to $400 useless protection plan, 3 120 mile round trips to Tulsa (2 pulling a trailer), 4 months without a piece of my living room furniture, plus parts, labor, and additional heartburn.
I've never written a complaint review. And I've been shafted on a lot of deals, but this takes the cake. I'll never buy another thing from Mathis Brothers as long as I live, even if I have to pay more and drive further to get it.



     
Add reply

Lousy Website
Posted by Connieo on 10/25/2009
Pretty stange. Should be simple to buy a couple of pieces of furniture. Thought if I bought locally it would be simpler. Needed some stuff for my memory challenged Mom. Worst website I have ever tried to deal with. Just who is this webmaster?

Too bad Mathias Brothers Furniture. I'm taking my $2500 some place else. Apparently times are so good in Oklahoma that you don't need my money.

     
Add reply

Top of Page | Next Page >