Mattress Warehouse

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lies, Incomplete Order, Abusive Manager, No Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- 18 months ago we bought two top of the line Serta adjustable, twin extra long mattresses for our king sized bed. Spent @$8,000.00. Love these beds, not the company where I bought them.
Delivery of these beds was several hours late. The delivery guys placed the twin beds on the slats in my bed frame, collected the packing materials and left. When I tried to raise the head of one mattress, I discovered that the beds did not work independently. The reason we bought two beds was so we could set the beds independently. I looked for the owners manual, there was none, the delivery guys took it along with the packing materials, warranty and bed legs. I called Mattress warehouse, explained my problem, their response was to send me a copy of the owners manual...weeks later. To reset the controls my husband had to remove the mattress, turn the foundation on it's side, remove the metal cover on the control box with a screw driver, and reset the numerical tumblers with a new code...on BOTH beds. He is not a young man! Three months later my brand new bedroom furniture arrived from Interiors Furniture store. The mattress and foundation could not be set on slats in the new bed frame...but I had no legs because the delivery guys from Mattress Warehouse took the eight legs that came with my mattress foundation along with the packaging trash. I called Mattress Warehouse again. They gave me four 4inch legs and four 6 inch skinny hollow tube legs. Junk. That's all they had.

We have been sleeping on a bed with wobbly legs and a two inch offset for the past 15 months. During this time my husband or I would stop in at the Lancaster store every few weeks for an update on the delivery of the Serta legs we bought and paid for, the ones they failed to deliver. We have dealt with five different 'managers' during this time.
Recently I stopped in at the store, and no surprise, there was a new manager. She got on the phone to Serta ( just like everyone before her) and acted like she could really get this done. She couldn't. I raised my voice and dropped the s--t word. Unbeknownst to me, a new customer entered the store, overheard the conversation and turned to leave the store. The manager told me I had to shut up, and then tried to convince the customer to stay. But the woman said she doesn't want to do business with a company with such bad customer service, and left the store.
The manager then called the police on me, lied about the incident, said I was cursing and shouting (I did raise my voice, but it didn't Shout) and had me cited for disorderly conduct! I'm still speechless. I have hired an attorney and we are suing the Mattress Warehouse.

I called Interiors Furniture store, who sells Serta beds at the EXACT SAME PRICE as Mattress Warehouse. They got the Serta legs within five days. They will deliver them to my house and put them on the bed that they did not sell.

Moral of the story....do business with Interiors. They are a class act. And whatever you do, don't expect service from a warehouse Mattress Firm.

A friend had the cops called on them at the York Mattress Warehouse store. Seems the Mattress Warehouse's business model is to call the cops when dissatisfied customers dare to demand the service and products for which they paid.

     
Replies
A very unsatisfactory and stress-filled experience
By -

6110 DOBBIN ROAD, COLUMBIA, MARYLAND -- A very unsatisfactory and stress-filled experience. This company advertises 'money back guarantee' in their radio and other ads. When they want to sell you something they are all nice and can do all kinds of things, right in the store. After you pay your money for a mattress set plus $65 for delivery, you get a nice sales contract/invoice with no mention of tortuous return or exchange policies.

Days after our new Serta mattress was delivered in October 2010 the top sagged. We called our salesman, we first we simply requested an exchange for the same model but our salesman said he was powerless to help, had to pass us to supervisor. He and the supervisor, then others at the company offices in Frederick, MD made us jump through hoops. On 16 November we put the matter into contest with our credit card company.

On 18 November Dan (of the company) said they would arrange for an 'independent inspector' to visit and judge whether or not there was problem; whatever happened to simple 'customer satisfaction'? We took a day off work on 27 November (yes I work Saturdays) to be home when their inspector visited our home and he confirmed the problem. Then the inspector sent us a form authorizing the exchange. Next Frank, the manager of the Mattress Warehouse Columbia store, demanded we pay another $65 for delivery of the replacement mattress! We said 'no'. They finally relented after I reminded Frank this was in contest with our credit card company and they will not be paid if we are not happy. Finally he called back, waived the $65 fee, and on 7 January 2011 sent a replacement mattress (another day off work to be there). The replacement appeared to have a similar problem in the making (even their delivery guys saw that). We asked them to take the new and old mattress back - the drivers said they 'did not have that authority'. With the delivery people there, we called their dispatcher who said she had no authority to take back the mattress for refund. We asked for and spoke with Tracy her 'supervisor', she too had no authority to refund our money then tried to talk us into meeting a 'regional/area supervisor' who appears to be a glorified salesman with no authority to authorize any refund.

We have notified the credit card company that contrary to claims by Mattress Warehouse that this has been resolved, this it is not. Now we simply want our money back, and want nothing more to do with this outfit. They are good at taking money and advertising promises, but horrible waste of time and energy to deal with when a problem, even a proved problem, occur. By the way, it took nearly two months for us to get to this point, in the meantime our son is not sleeping well on his sagging Serta mattress, the matter is still in contest with the credit card company, and next we are filing a formal complaint with the Maryland State Attorney General's Consumer Protection Office.

This company just doesn't get it - they can not Win a battle with any customer for the price they and their reputation will pay. Or, maybe this works for them as too many other consumers simply give up?
Columbia, Maryland

     
Replies
Defective Mattresses
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- In September 2014 I purchased a top of the line Kingsdown Provincia Queen Mattress ... within 10 nights there was such a dip in the mattress that a hole was noticeable (I weigh 117 lbs.) I notified the store and after filling out paper work they set up an inspection. The inspector immediately said "defective" . He proceeded to do the technical required measuring and filed his report ... within a few days I was notified that the mattress would be replaced. Moving along the new mattress lasted about the same amount of time and "whoa" another noticeable dip. Now I go back to the store and go through the process to schedule an inspection again.

This time it was another company Mat Tech. The individual shows up at my home (lingered in his car outside for an extended period of time???) and knocks on the door. If my German Shepherd had not been by my side I would never have allowed this character in my house. He proceeded to measure (very differently from the first inspector who was with Total Bed Inspection). His results found no defects. Really?

There is still this visible sag/hole and I am being charged $75 to again have it checked. The sales person who was the store manager three weeks ago told me, while on the phone with the Kingsdown representative that it would be replaced. I heard nothing and went back to store only to find that my sales person/store manager no longer worked there.

My bad for not checking on this Mattress Warehouse Co. They have drawn this negative experience out over the last FIVE months while I sleep in my guest room. This was a "Top of the Line Mattress $2200 plus $300 for box spring. Save your self and your money go somewhere else and check on then before you buy. Good Luck

     
Replies
Serta and Mattress Warehouse- Never again
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

FREDERICK, MARYLAND -- My wife and I bought a Serta pillow top mattress almost 2 years ago. About 6 months ago, we noticed that there was sagging in certain spots of the mattress, thinking it would go away we moved the mattress around, took it off the bedframe, put plywood between the mattress and boxspring, etc, and nothing helped. After about 3 months of trying different things, we contacted Mattress Warehouse, after all we have this great 10 year warranty. After some time, (they kept never receiving the fax of the invoice), a "third party" warranty guy came to our house and measured the bed, took pictures, and ran tests. The guy explains to me that the worse he has ever seen was a 2.5 inch sag, so he measured our bed, and it came in a little over 2 inches. With this, I thought, yea we are definitely getting a new mattress!! After another 2 week wait, we get a letter from Mattress Warehouse, stating they are sorry but our mattress is not covered by the warranty because there is a stain in the top left corner of the mattress and therefore voids the warranty. But, they would be happy to assist us in buying a new mattress. Are you kidding me???? Do you think I will buy another mattress from them again??? This is ridiculous. Needless to say, we will buy a new mattress but it won't be from them. Beware of the Serta Pillowtops!! And Beware of Mattress Warehouse's warranty!!!

     
Replies
7 weeks and NO mattresses!!!
By -

HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND -- On presidents day (Feb 18th) of this year 2011, my husband and I decided to purchase new mattress sets for both of our daughters. We checked several known stores but decided on Mattress Warehouse on Garland Groh Blvd in Hagerstown, MD. The manager was nice and gave us another discount for purchasing 2 sets on top of the sale price (that was our deciding factor)He advised us that the beds would be in on Feb 24th. That day came and went so we decided to call the store. Once again we got the nice store manager who stated that they did not come in but should be in the following Thursday.
Once again we waited for him to call, but he never did. After leaving several messages for him, he returned our call 3 days later. Unfortunately once again, no beds. He advised us that he would try and get them in from another location who had them in store stock.

March 5th- still no call and no beds. Absolutely livid my husband went to the store and cancelled the order, requesting a refund. We were told that it would take 2-4 weeks! The next day (Sunday),upon looking at other beds, we realized that we did get a good deal because of the Presidents Day sale and decided to go back and reinstate the order. (all of this happened on a weekend) The manager stated that there would be no problem since the head office wasn't going to get the refund request until Monday anyway, and that he would place a stop on the refund since it all happened on the same business day. He planned on having our beds brought in from the Frederick location on Thurday.

March 15th- Still no call. Once again left a message for him to call asap about this ridiculous issue. He did call back 2 days later and left a voicemail stating that he has 1 bed in stock and was going to give us a different bed (which was a better style) instead of waiting any longer, BUT unfortunately the refund did go through and we would have to wait until his district manager could make up a new invoice and CHARGE our account.

March 28th- NO BEDS, NO CALLS! Once again tracked down the manager and demanded to know what the problem is. He advised that the refund created the issue. He was speechless when I told him that he was full of crap, that we did NOT receive any refunds from them and I have the bank statements to prove it. Called customer service who will not give me the name of the district manager or contact number to verify what the store manager is claiming. I called the store manager back and advised his that we would be in on this Thursday to pick up our beds (that we paid for 7 weeks ago) and I suggested that if this were a problem then to have HIS manager at the store, my next step will be COURT... DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THESE STORES!! I should have checked the BBB beforehand, never again will I make the mistake of not checking out a business first! Wish me luck folks, will let you know what happens...

     
Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURLINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchased a new mattress from these crooks and specifically as the sales person Daniel if they would REMOVE THE OLD BED. He said yes. I paid $75 for delivery, specifically so I didn't have to go through the trouble of getting rid of the old one. The store is less than a mile from my house and I certainly could have picked it up for free. When the delivery guys showed up they refused to pick up the box spring of the old set, they said they would only do 1 for 1, this is NOT what Daniel had said to me. I called the store and talked to Daniel and he really didn't seem to care. These guys are not to be trusted.

     
Replies
Product sags, company won't stand behind their product
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MECHANICSBURG, PENNSYLVANIA -- Beware of buying anything from this company. We bought an expensive King mattress and box spring for almost $2,000. After about 6 months, it started sagging in the middle. We had them come out and take a look. Their 3rd party inspection team admitted it was sagging on both sides. However, they found a small sweat stain at the head of the bed and used that as an excuse to deny the claim. Their warranty doesn't mean anything. They try to find any excuse to avoid doing the right thing. Technically, the warranty is indeed void if the mattress is found to be soiled in any way. However, the stain had nothing to do with the sagging. It is poor product, and terrible customer service. They are very nice when you are buying, but when you have a problem they don't help. The only reply I get quickly is them providing excuses when I complain. Bottom line....I didn't want money back as much as I wanted a good mattress. I didn't get either. Their product is not worth the money. I wouldn't ever buy anything from this company.

     
Replies
Awful Experience and Worse Prices
By -

On Friday, October 16, 2011, we had the displeasure of working with Sabo, the store manager of the Mattress Warehouse in Warrenton, VA, who was every bit the used car salesman. We wanted to buy two mattresses for a new weekend home and have them delivered. He negotiated a free delivery and one free frame, but offered the second at $65 (you know these frames, the ones you find free on the street). He offered us his "best" price for two mattresses and we bought them for delivery the following week.

However, we happened to stop into a Mattress Authority after a visit to Sherwin-Williams nearby. Dennis, the salesman at Mattress Authority, immediately offered free delivery and free frames. He was professional and did not pressure us with offers that expired or try to convince us these these were the best prices anywhere. We found two mattresses of identical comfort and a total of $450 cheaper! So we bought them. Dennis assured us that we shouldn't have a problem canceling the other order; it won't be a problem at his store.

On Monday, we called Sabo at Mattres Warehouse to cancel our order. He argues then tells us that we have to bring in the receipt. Really? We can't address this on the phone? So, we bring it in on Friday. We call to let them know we are coming. When we arrive, they have left a young "trainee," who conveniently could not get either Sabo or the district manager on the phone. They had five days to address this issue, but did nothing. The young trainer puts me on the phone with someone from NC who tries to tell me I got ripped off at the other store -- although he knows nothing of our purchase or where we made it. After 45 minutes of phone calls and stalling, the trainee can't get any approvals and says she doesn't know how to do a refund. It was my impression that this was all intentional. The store was closing, so we called our credit cards companies to dispute the charge and left it at that. The trainee said Sabo would call to resolve. It has been four days and not a single phone call.

In sum, still no resolution. I question the reputation of a store that will not provide refunds for products that where never delivered. In fact, we never saw or touched our mattresses as they had to be delivered from a warehouse located somewhere else. I recommend staying away from Mattress Warehouse in Warrenton, unless you are great negotiator and are willing to risk a major issue returning goods that you never received. Instead, I highly recommend Mattress Authority down the street, who were professional, offered a similar product (in fact, we bought the same manufacturer) and delivered the mattress on time.

     
Replies
Don't buy from these clowns!
By -

ALTOONA, PENNSYLVANIA -- A very unsatisfactory and stress-filled experience. This company advertises 'money back guarantee' in their ads... don't you believe it! When they want to sell you something they are all nice and can do all kinds of things, right in the store. After you pay your money for a mattress set plus $65 for delivery, (and another add on fee of $28.00 to remove your old set)you get a nice sales contract/invoice that basically says you are now stuck with your purchase no matter what.

I bought the Serta Intricate set for $800.00 after much research and 'trying out' of various mattresses. This one felt great in the store, but when it was delivered if felt like a different bed entirely. After three nights of NO SLEEP at all... AND buying a mattress topper to try to make it livable, I ended up in tears from pain and lack of sleep. It was lumpy and dipped in places.

Of course I was told 'no return' policy and I should just 'get used to it.' Now I know there is a certain amount of adjustment with a mew mattress set... but I have NEVER had a bed hurt me like this one did. I called the Serta company and was told that since it wasn't a manufacturing flaw (oh really, and how would you know this?) I was out of luck... she actually said some mattresses take a month to get used to! I have never had that experience and have always enjoyed my new mattresses right away.

I went out and bought another mattress from a different dealer (A Simmons Beautyrest which we owned before)costing me $700 for just the mattress. It's great And I'd recommend it. A costly lesson for sure... NEVER BUY FROM MATTRESSS WAREHOUSE and avoid SERTA, they are poorly made!!!!

Oh and one more thing... I was promised a Serta Sheep which was on the invoice, but never got that... silly I know but with all my grief I wanted my freakin'$800 sheep!

     
Replies
Don't buy a bed from any store that Mattress World has
By -

LAKE ORION, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a bed in May, and after the 5th month the bed started to sag in the middle, so much so I started to have lower back pain to the point that I had to reach out to a Chiropractor, and when two people laid down on the bed you were on top of each other. So I called the Mattress World Superstore in Lake Orion Mi to explain my issue in September. I was then told I would have a guy call me to come out and inspect my bed. After about a month after that phone call, I called the store back to see what is taking so long, so the employee told me they will send another fax out to get the inspector to come look at my bed. Then after the I have still not gotten a phone call. (after the 3rd month) I called again. Now its December and I finally had a guy come out and take pictures of the defective bed. Then I get a letter in the mail, about two weeks after the inspector came out. And it is saying that I abused and misused the bed. The bed frame is what caused the bed to sag! (I got the frame from Mattress World Superstores with the purchase of my bed) So I contacted the store and the report from the inspector was completely wrong. It said I Had a Queen, I really have a double(full), Meanwhile I am sleeping on this bed that is defective. I even talked to the sales person at the store and she told me she wouldn't even recommend the bed that I purchased. I called the corporate office in Howell and they told me that nothing can be done with them, the issues need to be taken care of through the store and the store owner. So I tried 3 times to get into contact with the owner and he will not even talk to me about this issue.

Now In customer service, the customer should not be the one to find the business errors and be the one that is to do the run around. So Learn from my mistake and stay away from Mattress World Superstores, 1 Customer Service is really awful. 2 Their beds are cheap. I recommend Art Fan or any other company over Mattress World Superstore!

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >