Preview Review

Next Review

Mattress Warehouse Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lies, Incomplete Order, Abusive Manager, No Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- 18 months ago we bought two top of the line Serta adjustable, twin extra-long mattresses for our king-sized bed. Spent @ $8,000.00. Love these beds, not the company where I bought them. Delivery of these beds was several hours late. The delivery guys placed the twin beds on the slats in my bed frame, collected the packing materials and left. When I tried to raise the head of one mattress, I discovered that the beds did not work independently. The reason we bought two beds was so we could set the beds independently.

I looked for the owners manual, there was none, the delivery guys took it along with the packing materials, warranty and bed legs. I called Mattress Warehouse, explained my problem, their response was to send me a copy of the owners manual...weeks later. To reset the controls my husband had to remove the mattress, turn the foundation on its side, remove the metal cover on the control box with a screwdriver, and reset the numerical tumblers with a new code...on BOTH beds. He is not a young man!

Three months later my brand-new bedroom furniture arrived from Interiors Furniture store. The mattress and foundation could not be set on slats in the new bed frame...but I had no legs because the delivery guys from Mattress Warehouse took the eight legs that came with my mattress foundation along with the packaging trash. I called Mattress Warehouse again. They gave me four 4-inch legs and four 6-inch skinny hollow tube legs. Junk. That's all they had.

We have been sleeping on a bed with wobbly legs and a two-inch offset for the past 15 months. During this time my husband or I would stop in at the Lancaster store every few weeks for an update on the delivery of the Serta legs we bought and paid for, the ones they failed to deliver. We have dealt with five different 'managers' during this time.

Recently I stopped in at the store, and no surprise, there was a new manager. She got on the phone to Serta (just like everyone before her) and acted like she could really get this done. She couldn't. I raised my voice and dropped the ** word. Unbeknownst to me, a new customer entered the store, overheard the conversation and turned to leave the store. The manager told me I had to shut up, and then tried to convince the customer to stay. But the woman said she doesn't want to do business with a company with such bad customer service, and left the store.

The manager then called the police on me, lied about the incident, said I was cursing and shouting (I did raise my voice, but I didn't shout) and had me cited for disorderly conduct! I'm still speechless. I have hired an attorney and we are suing the Mattress Warehouse. I called Interiors Furniture store, who sells Serta beds at the EXACT SAME PRICE as Mattress Warehouse. They got the Serta legs within five days. They will deliver them to my house and put them on the bed that they did not sell.

Moral of the story...do business with Interiors. They are a class act. And whatever you do, don't expect service from a warehouse Mattress Firm. A friend had the cops called on them at the York Mattress Warehouse store. Seems the Mattress Warehouse's business model is to call the cops when dissatisfied customers dare to demand the service and products for which they paid.

Replies
Advertisement
Defective Mattresses
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- In September 2014 I purchased a top of the line Kingsdown Provincia Queen Mattress... Within 10 nights there was such a dip in the mattress that a hole was noticeable (I weigh 117 lbs.) I notified the store and after filling out paperwork they set up an inspection. The inspector immediately said "defective". He proceeded to do the technical required measuring and filed his report... Within a few days I was notified that the mattress would be replaced. Moving along, the new mattress lasted about the same amount of time and "whoa" another noticeable dip. Now I go back to the store and go through the process to schedule an inspection again.

This time it was another company Mat Tech. The individual shows up at my home (lingered in his car outside for an extended period of time???) and knocks on the door. If my German Shepherd had not been by my side I would never have allowed this character in my house. He proceeded to measure (very differently from the first inspector who was with Total Bed Inspection). His results found no defects. Really?

There is still this visible sag/hole and I am being charged $75 to again have it checked. The sales person who was the store manager three weeks ago told me, while on the phone with the Kingsdown representative that it would be replaced. I heard nothing and went back to store only to find that my sales person/store manager no longer worked there.

My bad for not checking on this Mattress Warehouse Co. They have drawn this negative experience out over the last FIVE months while I sleep in my guest room. This was a "Top of the Line Mattress" $2200 plus $300 for box spring. Save yourself and your money, go somewhere else and check on then before you buy. Good Luck.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURLINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchased a new mattress from these crooks and specifically ask the sales person Daniel if they would REMOVE THE OLD BED. He said yes. I paid $75 for delivery, specifically so I didn't have to go through the trouble of getting rid of the old one. The store is less than a mile from my house and I certainly could have picked it up for free. When the delivery guys showed up they refused to pick up the box spring of the old set, they said they would only do 1-for-1. This is NOT what Daniel had said to me. I called the store and talked to Daniel and he really didn't seem to care. These guys are not to be trusted.

Replies
A very unsatisfactory and stress-filled experience
By -

6110 DOBBIN ROAD, COLUMBIA, MARYLAND -- A very unsatisfactory and stress-filled experience. This company advertises 'money back guarantee' in their radio and other ads. When they want to sell you something they are all nice and can do all kinds of things, right in the store. After you pay your money for a mattress set plus $65 for delivery, you get a nice sales contract/invoice with no mention of tortuous return or exchange policies.

Days after our new Serta mattress was delivered in October 2010 the top sagged. We called our salesman, we first we simply requested an exchange for the same model but our salesman said he was powerless to help, had to pass us to supervisor. He and the supervisor, then others at the company offices in Frederick, MD made us jump through hoops. On 16 November we put the matter into contest with our credit card company.

On 18 November Dan (of the company) said they would arrange for an 'independent inspector' to visit and judge whether or not there was problem; whatever happened to simple 'customer satisfaction'? We took a day off work on 27 November (yes I work Saturdays) to be home when their inspector visited our home and he confirmed the problem. Then the inspector sent us a form authorizing the exchange.

Next Frank, the manager of the Mattress Warehouse Columbia store, demanded we pay another $65 for delivery of the replacement mattress! We said 'no'. They finally relented after I reminded Frank this was in contest with our credit card company and they will not be paid if we are not happy. Finally he called back, waived the $65 fee, and on 7 January 2011 sent a replacement mattress (another day off work to be there). The replacement appeared to have a similar problem in the making (even their delivery guys saw that). We asked them to take the new and old mattress back - the drivers said they 'did not have that authority'.

With the delivery people there, we called their dispatcher who said she had no authority to take back the mattress for refund. We asked for and spoke with Tracy her 'supervisor', she too had no authority to refund our money then tried to talk us into meeting a 'regional/area supervisor' who appears to be a glorified salesman with no authority to authorize any refund.

We have notified the credit card company that contrary to claims by Mattress Warehouse that this has been resolved, this it is not. Now we simply want our money back, and want nothing more to do with this outfit. They are good at taking money and advertising promises, but horrible waste of time and energy to deal with when a problem, even a proved problem, occur. By the way, it took nearly two months for us to get to this point, in the meantime our son is not sleeping well on his sagging Serta mattress, the matter is still in contest with the credit card company, and next we are filing a formal complaint with the Maryland State Attorney General's Consumer Protection Office.

This company just doesn't get it - they cannot win a battle with any customer for the price they and their reputation will pay. Or, maybe this works for them as too many other consumers simply give up? Columbia, Maryland

Replies
Advertisement
7 weeks and NO mattresses!!!
By -

HAGERSTOWN, MARYLAND -- On Presidents' Day (Feb 18th) of this year 2011, my husband and I decided to purchase new mattress sets for both of our daughters. We checked several known stores but decided on Mattress Warehouse on Garland Groh Blvd in Hagerstown, MD. The manager was nice and gave us another discount for purchasing 2 sets on top of the sale price (that was our deciding factor). He advised us that the beds would be in on Feb 24th. That day came and went so we decided to call the store. Once again we got the nice store manager who stated that they did not come in but should be in the following Thursday.

Once again we waited for him to call, but he never did. After leaving several messages for him, he returned our call 3 days later. Unfortunately once again, no beds. He advised us that he would try and get them in from another location who had them in store stock.

March 5th, still no call and no beds. Absolutely livid my husband went to the store and cancelled the order, requesting a refund. We were told that it would take 2-4 weeks! The next day (Sunday), upon looking at other beds, we realized that we did get a good deal because of the Presidents Day sale and decided to go back and reinstate the order (all of this happened on a weekend).

The manager stated that there would be no problem since the head office wasn't going to get the refund request until Monday anyway, and that he would place a stop on the refund since it all happened on the same business day. He planned on having our beds brought in from the Frederick location on Thursday.

March 15th, still no call. Once again left a message for him to call ASAP about this ridiculous issue. He did call back 2 days later and left a voicemail stating that he has 1 bed in stock and was going to give us a different bed (which was a better style) instead of waiting any longer, BUT unfortunately the refund did go through and we would have to wait until his district manager could make up a new invoice and CHARGE our account.

March 28th, NO BEDS, NO CALLS! Once again tracked down the manager and demanded to know what the problem is. He advised that the refund created the issue. He was speechless when I told him that he was full of crap, that we did NOT receive any refunds from them and I have the bank statements to prove it. Called customer service who will not give me the name of the district manager or contact number to verify what the store manager is claiming.

I called the store manager back and advised him that we would be in on this Thursday to pick up our beds (that we paid for 7 weeks ago) and I suggested that if this were a problem then to have HIS manager at the store, my next step will be COURT... DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THESE STORES!! I should have checked the BBB beforehand, never again will I make the mistake of not checking out a business first! Wish me luck folks, will let you know what happens.

Replies
Poor Customer Service - Still Waiting After a Month From Purchase
By -

FAIRFAX, VIRGINIA -- I purchased a mattress set accompanied with a headboard and foot board set on 1/6/08. My order was set for delivery on 1/9/08. I received a call on 1/8/08 stating that the bed would be delivered on 1/9/08 but without the accompanying headboard/foot board set due to manufacturer backorder. I stated that I did not want to receive the mattress unless I would be receiving the headboard and foot board within the two-week delay due to manufacturer backorder. I was told that I would receive this by 1/23/08 and thus I proceeded with mattress delivery.

The first problem was that I waited for delivery and then got a call saying they forgot to load it on the truck. I spent an entire day waiting and then had to take another day off for delivery. This was a small issue but the larger issue came later when 2 weeks later I had received no call on the delivery of my headboard/foot board. I tried calling the store the entire day of 1/24/08 with no answer. I then proceeded to call a different location and was told that they didn't know why I was not informed that they no longer deal with the manufacturer and would be unable to receive the product purchased.

I was also told that my sales rep no longer worked for the company and that location had new management. I contacted management on 1/26 and never received a call-back. I waited until 1/27 and then went to the store to speak to the manager. The manager of the store told me the computer said the product was on backorder and that he could not help me until Monday when he would be able to talk to customer service. I was told I would receive a call-back on 1/28/08 from him but I could call customer service myself and try to resolve the issue. I never heard back from management on 1/28 or 1/29.

I called customer service on 1/30 and was told that the company no longer worked with the manufacturer and was told I would receive a call from District Management. I did receive a call from the Executive Director of District Management who told me they could offer me a different product due to the manufacturer having the product on backorder. I called the manufacturer and was informed the product was not on backorder. Thus, I feel I was again deceived by Mattress Warehouse. However, this was at the Executive District and Corporate level.

I have yet to decide whether I will take the substitute offered. I would not have purchased the mattress from them if the headboard and foot board I selected was not carried by them. I am confused as to how the actual manufacturer, corporate customer service and management at an alternative branch can say that they no longer work with the products manufacturer and yet district management and location management say it is on backorder. This has been the worst case of customer service I have ever experienced from any company-especially one that prides themselves in customer service.

Replies
BOYCOTT Mattress Warehouse RUN SCAMS
By -

VIRGINIA -- Mattress Warehouse are they running a scam on the general public. Selling mattress's over and over. Selling to one customer then say it was canceled then sell it to another customer then sell a higher priced set to another then sell what one paid for to yet another customer. I was talking to a guy who used to work at a Mattress Warehouse. He told me the managers are supposed to lie to the public just to make a sale and the company seems to ignore customers complaints as if we/they do not exist.

We had a serious situation in our home that almost killed us. The house was completely taken over by a mold that is the second most dangerous one, it was 2 times the standard level. We were both hospitalized in November, advised not to return to our home until it was safe. We were able to move back in on December 25th of 06 after 5 weeks of living in a hotel. We had to clear our house of all it contents plus pull up all carpeting, gut 2 rooms to bare studs. Neither me or my wife had a chance to recover like most people day in day out we were moving things out or tearing thing out even the crawl space had to be gutted of all plastic and all insulation.

You could just imagine how we felt, drained, totally wipe out and it is still ongoing the cost is high. We lost hundreds of dollars in our belongings still going through them. Everything we can keep must be sanitized before it is brought back into our home. The insurance company has refused to help or pay for one thing. This deadly mold is known as Aspergillus. Trust me it is not to be taken lightly. It is quite deadly. It took over the whole house and heating a/c system. The cost just to remove this mold was over $4,000.00. Here is my complaint that did nothing but add to our situation which I wish on no one.

We knew we could move back in on December 25th, so we needed two sets of mattress's and box springs. We had to trash ours due to the toxic mold contamination. We went to Mattress Warehouse to purchase these items but they did not have them in stock.

The salesman could not tell if they could be in by Saturday 2 days before Christmas. He didn't seem too smart. He showed us two sets of queen size although we wanted regular size mattresses. He told us they were sold to a customer but they canceled the order, so we could buy them, pick them up Sunday Christmas eve. They cost more but we agreed due to the fact we had to have something to sleep on after all we have and are still going through. We financed it the deal was set only because we knew we could have them to pick up on Sunday.

Well this jerk sold one set to the same customer who had canceled the order even though we had paid for them and he knew our story. What kind of business dealing is that? To pull on a customer a scam a criminal act. I had to sleep on the cold floor the whole time until these jerks got us the other set in which was Friday. So due to rain we had to pick it up Saturday, January 6th of 07. This lousy company couldn't even deliver it to our home. We had to pick it up. You may ask why not sleep in the same bed as my wife? She has other medical problems so it was not feasible.

To those of you who feel like I do shafted, PLEASE BOYCOTT ALL MATTRESS WAREHOUSE STORES. DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR BUSINESS. 15 phone calls to them they did nothing but ignore us. This is not how you run or operate a business. The salesman looked like a 70's throwback holey socks and all.

Replies
The experience was great! Larry made it fun and easy to get a new mattress!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

FLINT, MICHIGAN -- We went in looking for a new mattress that supported both of our sleeping habits. Larry was great with our little guy! Larry was not pushy and got us in and out with a fantastic deal! We enjoyed our experience and love our new bed!

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Buy From These Clowns!
By -

ALTOONA, PENNSYLVANIA -- A very unsatisfactory and stress-filled experience. This company advertises 'money back guarantee' in their ads... Don't you believe it! When they want to sell you something they are all nice and can do all kinds of things, right in the store. After you pay your money for a mattress set plus $65 for delivery, (and another add on fee of $28.00 to remove your old set) you get a nice sales contract/invoice that basically says you are now stuck with your purchase no matter what.

I bought the Serta Intricate set for $800.00 after much research and 'trying out' of various mattresses. This one felt great in the store, but when it was delivered it felt like a different bed entirely. After three nights of NO SLEEP at all... AND buying a mattress topper to try to make it livable, I ended up in tears from pain and lack of sleep. It was lumpy and dipped in places.

Of course I was told 'no return' policy and I should just 'get used to it'. Now I know there is a certain amount of adjustment with a new mattress set... But I have NEVER had a bed hurt me like this one did. I called the Serta company and was told that since it wasn't a manufacturing flaw (oh really, and how would you know this?) I was out of luck... She actually said some mattresses take a month to get used to! I have never had that experience and have always enjoyed my new mattresses right away.

I went out and bought another mattress from a different dealer (A Simmons Beautyrest which we owned before) costing me $700 for just the mattress. It's great And I'd recommend it. A costly lesson for sure... NEVER BUY FROM MATTRESSS WAREHOUSE and avoid SERTA, they are poorly made!!! Oh and one more thing... I was promised a Serta Sheep which was on the invoice, but never got that... Silly I know but with all my grief I wanted my freakin' $800 sheep!

Replies
Don't Buy a Bed From Any Store That Mattress World Has
By -

LAKE ORION, MICHIGAN -- I purchased a bed in May, and after the 5th month the bed started to sag in the middle, so much so I started to have lower back pain to the point that I had to reach out to a Chiropractor, and when two people laid down on the bed you were on top of each other. So I called the Mattress World Superstore in Lake Orion MI to explain my issue in September. I was then told I would have a guy call me to come out and inspect my bed.

After about a month after that phone call, I called the store back to see what is taking so long, so the employee told me they will send another fax out to get the inspector to come look at my bed. Then after that I have still not gotten a phone call. (after the 3rd month) I called again. Now it's December and I finally had a guy come out and take pictures of the defective bed.

Then I get a letter in the mail, about two weeks after the inspector came out. And it is saying that I abused and misused the bed. The bed frame is what caused the bed to sag (I got the frame from Mattress World Superstores with the purchase of my bed)! So I contacted the store and the report from the inspector was completely wrong. It said I Had a Queen, I really have a double (full), meanwhile I am sleeping on this bed that is defective. I even talked to the salesperson at the store and she told me she wouldn't even recommend the bed that I purchased.

I called the corporate office in Howell and they told me that nothing can be done with them, the issues need to be taken care of through the store and the store owner. So I tried 3 times to get into contact with the owner and he will not even talk to me about this issue.

Now in customer service, the customer should not be the one to find the business errors and be the one that is to do the runaround. So learn from my mistake and stay away from Mattress World Superstores, 1 Customer Service is really awful. 2 Their beds are cheap. I recommend Art Fan or any other company over Mattress World Superstore!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Mattress Warehouse Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Mattress Warehouse
2982 Winfield Rd.
Winfield, WV 25213
1-866-637-3778 (ph)
www.mattresswarehouse.com
Compare Furniture Stores