My3cents.com

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
45 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Will Not Send Password
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
INTERNET -- Several months ago I joined MY3CENTS and was supposed to get a password verification e-mailed to me. It never came. When I try to get a new account it says that my e-mail already has an account and it asks if I would like the password e-mailed to me. Of course I say yes but the e-mail never comes. I have tried at least 5 different times but never receive the promised e-mail. I also check my spam folder but nothing there either. There is a problem somewhere and I don't think it is on my end. What's up guys?
     
Read 41 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

ticia232 on 2012-04-23:
Did you add M3C to your contact list? I had to do that when I opened my Facebook account, and also with one of my son's teachers. It doesn't show up in the Spam account because it is not seen as normal spam for some reason. It just does not get delivered. It goes back to sender with a failure to deliver note. (You know the ones you get when someone hacked your email.) As most sites like this use a computer program to send those out, then nobody would see it.
consumer on 2012-04-23:
I just added it but it may be too late. I'll wait a week and if no contact is made I will try again. Thanks
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-23:
I've had the same issue. It's been about three months now and I still have received my password help. I've clicked the 'forgot password' several different times on different days, and nothing...I Emailed them and sent an IM and still never got the password help to sign on. I pretty much gave up.
lexophiliac on 2012-04-23:
The site had issues several months ago Consumer, and the crux of your complaint is one of them. This post should bring attention and hopefully resolution to it.
Old Timer on 2012-04-23:
Another option might be to get another free email account from Hotmail or someone and try to establish a new account all over? Never know, might work.
old fart on 2012-04-23:
I just sent a message to Susan at admin on your behalf,,,lotsa luck...
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-23:
Now that I think about it...BigAl had the same problem...I sent addy an IM for BigAl and NoHandle brought it to their attention...About two days ago, Addy said they would look into it.
consumer on 2012-04-23:
old timer > I never got my original e-mail when I first signed up so I cannot participate in anything on this site except I can post comments. Apparently there is a whole other side to this site that I am not privvy to.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-23:
Thanks Lexo...I didn't know this was another issue from that crash.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-23:
Ahhhhhhh...just wait until you become privvy...I think you'll enjoy it around here.
lexophiliac on 2012-04-23:
De nada.
Churro on 2012-04-23:
Give it another try. It seems to be working. Make sure you add admin@my3cents.com to your contact list before requesting your password.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-23:
Churro...we get the message that the request was sent, but...we never get the password in our Email.
Churro on 2012-04-23:
Basher, is admin@my3cents.com in your contact list? When is the last time you requested your password? Are you sure you're entering the correct email address associated with your account? At some time within the last year or so did you change emails for your account and perhaps after the crash the system is remembering your previous email?
consumer on 2012-04-23:
I just tried again. Let's see what happens. BTW consumer=BigAl
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-23:
Of course Addy is in my contact list, I'mma going to marry Max!...Last time I requested my password was about a week ago. Yes, the email address is entered correctly, it's the same one I've had pretty much since I've been here....no, I haven't changed my email address. I believe my password was changed when addy recommended we changed it after the crash. But, here's the problem...as you can see, I AM signed on and posting...my User ID and password is saved on my account, so I don't have to even type anything in to get signed on. BUT this is on IE...the problem is, I can't get signed onto M3C through FoxFire, because THAT password is saved on the account and I can see from the little 'dots' that the password is not the same on FoxFire as it is on here...so, obviously, when I changed my password after the crash on IE, I didn't change it on FoxFire. And...well...I don't know what my current password is, so I can't change it on FoxFire.
Churro on 2012-04-23:
Eh, hate to repeat myself but, "Give it another try. It seems to be working. Make sure you add admin@my3cents.com to your contact list before requesting your password."
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-23:
OK...we'll see. I just sent the request...
Mrs. V on 2012-04-24:
I had the same problem, myself. I used the 'admin@my3cents.com' and they did answer fairly quickly. You might wish to try again. Good luck!
maybe on 2012-04-24:
maybe they didn't want you to have the password fixed?

what happens in that case?
Cwazychicken on 2012-04-24:
When I lost my password I had to find it in my junk folder. It did not send to my regular folder even though I marked it safe. So check all your folders.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-24:
I always check my spam folder before I delete everything from it. I very rarely get any spam to my M3C email address because M3C is the only thing I use it for.
Churro on 2012-04-24:
Ya know Admin this one really deserves an answer even if that answer is "I don't know".
Slimjim on 2012-04-24:
I'm kind of puzzled how this review could even be posted without being registered first.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-24:
M3C Magic!
raven2010 on 2012-04-24:
I had this issue for months, with my roadrunner address

I emailed addy from my roadrunner address and asked that they change my email to my yahoo address and send a password link

it was done within hours
BigAl on 2012-04-24:
Still no response in my e-mail. At least I tried.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-24:
Me either BigAl...I think I'mma going to go on strike!!!
jktshff1 on 2012-04-24:
Ya know, if you write it down ya don't have these problems:)
BigAl on 2012-04-24:
JKTSHIFF1> Not in my case. They will not valididate my account from the get go.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-24:
JKT, I have a little booklet with all of my passwords in it...the password from here was my old one, I didn't mark it down because it is saved on this computer...but, it wasn't changed on the FoxFire side. I'm tempted to sign completely out without saving the password on IE and see if it will work, then I'll know the password on FF...I'm sure I know my password, it's just not working on FF...but then, I'm afraid, if I don't get it right on IE, ya'll may never hear from me again....oh well....I think I'mma going to try it....*Holding my breath*
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-24:
Churro...don't laugh at me!
Churro on 2012-04-25:
LOL

You can always create a new account. Might I suggest, Churros-X
madconsumer on 2012-04-25:
since when are they sending you a password? is admin starting to verifying new user's?
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-25:
HaHa....I fooled you...AGAIN!!!
That's what happens when you keep breaking up with The Basher!!!
Churro on 2012-04-25:
You're such a brat. I miss that about you. Want to slide on over to the Sonic (America's Drive-In) for a slurpee and talk about old times.
trmn8r on 2012-04-25:
Basher, rest assured that whatever happens in this crazy mixed up world of ours, that I'm always "there" for you...
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-25:
Thank you 8er...Churro can sure use some 'manly' lessons from you.

Churro, we have a Sonic that opened up here about three years ago....I always wanted a Sonic around here...and ya know what? Now that we have one, I've never been there.

Like my Mom always said, "It's better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it."
trmn8r on 2012-04-25:
I always wanted to try Sonic, Basher. They built one here about 3 years ago also. I went once about 3 months after opening, and the food and service were horrible.
DebtorBasher on 2012-04-25:
My Nieces were excited when they opened, but said the same thing 8er, they didn't care much for it.
wandybrad on 2012-06-20:
I admire the valuable information you offer in your articles. I will bookmark your blog and have my children check up here often.
buy phd thesis
Close commentsAdd reply
Leave tubely alone
Posted by on
You are nauseating to say the least, how can you allow decadent reviews of some other network to be carried on your site. This is outrageous. For your own information tubely is an excellent site that has brought smiles to wretched souls like those that write nonsense about tubely.
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

grandma005 on 2011-09-10:
What are you talking about?
Alain on 2011-09-10:
Tubely.com is a social networking and dating site, I think. What review are you referring to, how is it unethical, who wrote it and when, Dumiemiti? Some additional information would be helpful. Thanks!
trmn8r on 2011-09-10:
I agree - we need moderation to determine which reviews can be posted, and which can't. More censureship is what would make this country great again.
Anonymous on 2011-09-10:
Just because you can say something, doesn't always mean you should...
DebtorBasher on 2011-09-10:
I only found one complaint posted on here about it.

http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=100377
redmx3racer on 2011-09-10:
I often see reviews here on companies that I have had good relations with-Dish Network, Sirius/XM radio, Enterprise RAC etc etc. I see reviews on here claiming that Hotmoviesale.com (or whatever) scams you, although I bought movies on there and declined to enroll in the auto-billed membership.

Point being, it never occurred to me to write a review on my3cents about my3cents for posting the reviews I don't agree with. Classic!
Starlord on 2011-09-10:
Dumie, how long have you owned tubely?
Old Timer on 2011-09-10:
One helpful vote? LOL, carry on....

M3C's is the "cats meow"!
(my Grandpa used to use that term all the time)
jktshff1 on 2011-09-10:
Curious, what is helpful?
Old Timer on 2011-09-10:
Three now, they are on a roll!
Anonymous on 2011-09-10:
It would be helpful to know why anyone is taking this complaint seriously.
GreenstarYT on 2011-09-10:
And what is Tubely? If I've never heard of it it probably sucks.
Close commentsAdd reply
This Site Is Bogus
Posted by on
What kind of review site is this when you point out the facts, bogus information, or basically the truth to some of the reviews here and then find your comments removed? Then to top it off they put you on double secret probation and you find your comments censored. I realize there need to be some controls but the people who run this site have turned it into a joke. You might as well turn this place into fantasy reviews. I'll bet my last dollar this gets deleted and my account terminated.
Company Response 6/15/2011:
Thanks for the feedback. Our site is moderated. Posts that are reported and determined to violate our posting guidelines will get removed.

We apologize for this inconvenience. Please see the following links for more information on our site and content guidelines:

Commenting Guidelines:
http://www.my3cents.com/mod_policy.cgi

General Site Guidelines:
http://www.my3cents.com/site_rules.cgi

Thanks,
My3cents
     
Read 21 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

MRM on 2011-06-15:
Well, what the...
Alain on 2011-06-15:
Interesting. Why terminate your account? This is just another opinion. No big deal. By the way, it's often the author of the review who does the removal.
jktshff1 on 2011-06-15:
Apparently, this particular newby (6/15/11) ticked off addy in some way.
To the op and others, be sure to read the site rules. A war was fought here several years ago and the feel goods won. I don't know of anyone outside maybe Alain, that has not been "disciplined" for one reason or another.
tnchuck100 on 2011-06-15:
They will delete comments even when rules aren't violated. If a comment is a negative truth it will stand a very good chance of being deleted.
Venice09 on 2011-06-15:
I agree, whatsthepoint. It doesn't help consumers if reviews are bogus. It defeats the purpose of a consumer website.
Churro on 2011-06-15:
Well then if I were you I'd DEMAND a refund.
Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
Try Complaintsboard.com where the West has yet to be won.
Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
Good review. Makes me think of Dean Wermer. As long your courteous and respectful towards your fellow m3c'ers and site addys, you should have no problem. Master Pirate agrees.
Churro on 2011-06-15:
In my unbiased opinion my3cents is run by morally superior individuals who figured out the gripe-site equation years ago leaving the rest of the pack playing catch-up.

You can argue with your mother or your husband or even with a cop but you can't argue with success.

In a world of uncertainties I'm glad there's my3cents.
Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
StEW +1003
trmn8r on 2011-06-15:
There isn't much "point" if a review or comment contains "bogus information".

But there are specific ways to suss out whether something passes the smell test or is raw sewage/chaff.

Self discipline and intelligence allow people to conduct themselves in a manner that follows guidelines and rules, while still getting their point across and conveying information.

If such a regimen can't be followed, a site like crybabies.com may suit one's needs. You appear to be brand new here, which is unlikely based on your complaint. Do you have a specific review or comment to illustrate your point?
jktshff1 on 2011-06-15:
+10 Churro
Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
Like most things in life, it's not what you do...it's who you know.
Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
I beg to differ on that point. It's the what, not the who. (no pun intended on the great rock band)
Master pirate would agree.
Anonymous on 2011-06-15:
Good idea Ript.
Rogue on 2011-06-16:
Complaintsboard.com is the land of the free and the home of the brave. Definitely not for the faint of heart or milquetoast personalities. Vintage vigilanteism at its finest.
DebtorBasher on 2011-06-16:
ComplaintsBoard.com allows pure filth to be posted and it is disgusting. It should be an adult rated site and they should charge for membership.
Venice09 on 2011-06-16:
DB, I absolutely agree. That's exactly what it should be. And I hope the moderators/admin here are keeping a close eye on the anonymous posters so this site doesn't become a joke, too.
DebtorBasher on 2011-06-16:
It won't be Venice...their comments would never get past the reviewer and it will just get deleted without ever being posted.
sragerone68 on 2011-12-31:
I am thankful for Add your 3 cents. It was a great way for me to vent my frustations about the way I had been treated, and the support and stories from other people was terrific and made me believe there are other people out there who do care.
Venice09 on 2011-12-31:
Sragerone68, you hit on a good point. That's one of he reasons for this site. It's a place for people to vent, hear similar stories and feel supported. I hope you stick around and check out the community forum, too.
Close commentsAdd reply
Advice for New Review Writers
Posted by on
I've been surfing M3C for about a year now. I've posted a few reviews and I've replied to a lot more. Among the reviews that I've read, I've come across a lot of the same issues and I thought that I would give a bit of advice to the new posters out there.

1. Don't write angry. When you come home after having a lousy experience, don't automatically hop on to M3C to tell the world. I will guarantee you that you will only sound like a raving lunatic. Take a walk, blow off some steam, sleep on it. Do whatever you have to do to calm yourself down. Then, if you still feel the need to write the review, go ahead. Hopefully, the time that has elapsed between your experience and writing the review will allow you to gain a bit of perspective and allow you to write a fair and accurate one.

2. Use good grammar and spelling whenever possible. Everyone has the occasional typo or run-on sentence. I know my grammar isn't perfect either, but I try to read my review before I post so that some of the more obvious errors will be flushed out. Some of the long-time members here can be a little harsh when it comes to the blatant stuff (not that that excuses them).

3. Give details. Just saying that the food at Joe's Hamburger Stand sucks, the service is slow and the waitresses are rude is not enough. You need to describe exactly what was so bad about the food, how long it took them to give you service and what exactly the servers did that you perceive as rude.

4. Leave the race card in the deck. It doesn't matter if your review is clear, precise and grammatically correct. The minute you mention that the person who offended you was black, white, Asian or purple with green spots; you will lose all credibility with other people on this site.

5. Try not to be offended by the people who reply to your post. On the same token, try not to offend people when you post on their reviews. Don't call people names and don't get upset if people don't agree with you. Just as you are entitled to your opinion, others are entitled to theirs. If you don't like it, turn off replies in the options. That way you won't be offended.

OK, that's all I have right now. If anyone else has some tips, please post them below. I promise not to be offended! :)
Company Response 10/1/2009:
Good advice. Thanks for sharing!
     
Read 58 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

goduke on 2009-09-18:
Great advice!!! Thanks for the excellent summary of things we can all keep in mind.
clutzycook on 2009-09-18:
Thanks. I was thinking of it all day while I was driving around for work. One advantage of driving 4-6 hours a day is that I get a lot of thinking in :)
skelly39 on 2009-09-18:
Excellent post. EVERYONE that is on this site should heed your advice, even those of us replying to posts. Thanks for taking the time.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
6) CHECK YOUR ORDER BEFORE LEAVING!
skelly39 on 2009-09-18:
And keep a check register.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
7] spell checker, err the caps key [when appropriate] is your friend.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
8) Major Appliances ain't what they used to be!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
9a) So is "Word".
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
9. People make mistakes... even those in a customer service related job. :-)
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
11] never ask for xtra tartar and then complain about it.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
10) The customer is NOT always right!
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
As far as reading your review over for errors before posting...um...one slipped by your proofreading:

"Just as you are entitled to your opinion, others are entitled to yours".
Are you sure that's what you meant to say?

OK, so that was my example of what you were saying...LOL!

Good advice...good post!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
13] know how to count!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
12) Living through the internet is not living.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
14) *tears*
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
15: Always use a capital "D" and a capital "B" when typing DebtorBasher!

16: It's ALWAYS POP...not soda...P-O-P, POP, just POP!

And the most important thing you must NEVER EVER FORGET is that the Basher is ALWAYS RIGHT!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
9a? lmao
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
15. Sometimes people post things at the same time which makes the sequential numbers not so sequential. :-)

There there, ZZ.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
15b) I deem this informative very helpful for keeping me laughing and annoying my co-workers!
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
Bear...that's when the edit button comes in handy...you might want to try it on your #15 ... LOL!
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
um okay .....
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
HEY...we CAN'T have three #15s!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
But, I don't want to change mine... so there! :-)
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
Well then...it doesn't COUNT!...so there!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Why do I have to change mine? I saw ZZ's post and made it right directly after ZZ's. Not my fault you posted yours at the same time. :-)
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
36] never argue with Miss B.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
37.5) The easiest way to have your mundane informative to go "Green" is to do it about this site!
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
Bear...you have to change yours because mine was posted BEFORE yours, not at the same time...here's the proof...notice the time stamp as seen on the 'what's going on' page:

15: Always use a capital "D" and a capital "B" when typing DebtorBasher! 16: It's ALWAYS POP...not soda...P-O-P, POP, just POP! And the most important thing you must NEVER EVER FORGET is that th...
Posted in Consumer Reviews by DebtorBasher - Today at 3:53


And here is YOURS that was posted AFTER mine:

15. Sometimes people post things at the same time which makes the sequential numbers not so sequential. :-) There there, ZZ....
Posted in Consumer Reviews by bearkatkitten - Today at 3:54


Uh huh...Uh huh...YEAH...there it IS!


Please take not of SirJames' #36!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
But, when I clicked on the post my comment thing, your comment wasn't on the comment page until after I posted my comment.
And besides, it's too late to change it now.

I'm just having a little fun, DB... yeesh.
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
Oh yeah? Well...I'm having MORE fun than YOU are! So, put that in your peace pipe and smoke it!
And just for the record...I was having fun BEFORE you were!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Well, good... :-)
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
LOL!
Eloise on 2009-09-18:
DB, It seems a bit off for a moderator to have a rule that she is 'always' right. Got to keep it fair and without bias don't we?
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
That's OK Eloise, I was always right before I became a moderator.
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
best answer eloise!!!!!

I missed you and barekitty and double z and superbowl and c2o ....
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Awww... :-)
Eloise on 2009-09-18:
DB, I didn't realize that Admin had declared your the only opinion that is without question.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Glad you're back MadC, LadyS and I kept the haters at bay in your absence.
Slimjim on 2009-09-18:
Stay on track, don't rant, don't pretend you're a lawyer, and most of all what King said, keep the cap key off. It's almost impossible to write something good enough to win over anyone if it's in upper case. And if you could write something that good, you already know better than to do it in all caps.
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
double z it was a heck of a week. weather delays and the whole nine yards. I guess it didn't hurt that the booze always flows freely.
DebtorBasher on 2009-09-18:
If they didn't Eloise, they should.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Better still than all these suggestions, new posters, if your concern is really that important to you, first try talking with someone in charge at the establishment. Be rational, be calm, and be logical with them. If after you tried that you still feel that you were wronged, come let the world know about it through m3c.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Oh, and Basher IS always right!
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
again eloise, very very best answer!!!!!
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
"Oh, and Basher IS always right!"

mundo you are joking right?
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
oh please, of course I meant madconsumer is always right!
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
no wonder I didn't miss this place .....
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Mad! Where ya been? You left me all alone on here? And where the hell is C2O? Did you leave him tied up on your bed again?
jktshff1 on 2009-09-18:
good post
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
I missed you too. I was on a business trip. to the arm pit of America!

c2o is alive and well.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
That's good, now untie him already! We need him on here
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
yes. it is good to see eloise and mad back. welcome back you two. we've all missed you dearly.
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
eloise was gone too? huh, I thought I had her covered.
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Now KJ it's your turn. How can I miss you when you won't go away?
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
lol yaya, best answer!!
Anonymous on 2009-09-18:
Good to see you back Mad. Now you will have to pry those noses out of your rear again. Very good review Clutzy.
madconsumer on 2009-09-18:
thank you super! it was a long week in the arm pit of America!
clutzycook on 2009-09-18:
You're right DB, I did miss that one. See, even I'm not perfect :)
Close commentsAdd reply
Unfair Practices by My 3 Cents.com
Posted by on
My 3 Cents.com does the Internet community a great disservice by accepting and publishing anonymous complaints. This opens the door for every kind of foul play and criminal activity. Among other things, it give disreputable the opportunity to slur their competitors and perceived enimies with being held accountable for their claims.

If someone will not give their name when complaining, they have no right to have their complaint published, especially when they are trashing the reputation of good citizens and legitimate businesses.

At the very least, My 3 Cents.com should make it just as easy for someone to respond to a complaint against them as it is for a complaint to be filed. That is only fair. Without an opportunity for a response, M3 3 Cents is just publishing one side of the story, and becomes party to spurious, unfounded complaints.

The complaint filed against me and broadcast by My 3 Cents.com is false and injurious to my reputation. The issue in the complaint was reviewed by both the Northeast Florida Better Business Bureau and the Consumer Complaints Division of the State of Florida and found to have no merit. Those reviews are a matter of public record and anyone interested can read them.

In my professional opinion, the person who filed the compliant against me is mentally and emotionally disturbed.

I invite anyone to go to my website www.careerFlorida.com and check out my academic record and 20-year reputation as a career counselor, then compare that to the ridiculous anonymous complaint filed against me.

I respectfully ask that My 3 Cents.com remove the complaint on their website. Note that it dates to 2002 and the complaintant did not give his name. For the record, his name is [snip - no names please], and if you will contact me, I will provide copies of the professional work I performed for him and leave it to you to decide if the quality meets professional standards.

Thank you.

Robert H. Johnson, B. A., M. A., JCTC
     
Read 25 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

yoke on 2009-03-20:
This site is not to bash people and this should be removed.
You had an opportunity back in 2002 to defend yourself and decided to wait 7 years to do so.
tnchuck100 on 2009-03-20:
What was the complaint?
How were you damaged?
What is JCTC?
I agree with yoke. Where were you 7 years ago?
Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Here's a link to the review in question: http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=2409

The original complaint seems legitimate and reasonable.
Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
And to top it off...you're doing exactly what you are complaining was done to you by naming the complainant for all on the internet to see. Not cool.

There are many complaint sites out on the web and there should be no reason why people cannot voice their concerns. I do agree it should not be malicious or filled with slander, but people have a right to voice their opinions.
Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
By posting, a perhaps erroneous name, openly on a forum you appear to be violating M3C's terms of use. "Please do not post personal information regarding individuals." By posting "
In my professional opinion, the person who filed the compliant against me is mentally and emotionally disturbed." you may be at risk for a libel complaint. Perhaps you should re-think and re-post your rebuttal more appropriately?
old fart on 2009-03-20:
Amen Doc... It seems to be a case of "do as I say, not as I do"...
I wish Mr. Johnson much luck....
tnchuck100 on 2009-03-20:
His complaint is also on RipoffReport.com. There he uses two different ID's to respond to the complaint. That was back in 2002. There are additional comments being added there now. It has the appearance of damage control only.

In my opinion he is resurrecting an old complaint which at this point can only serve to further damage his cause.
Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Huh, I see that the original review has been removed. Well played Mr. Johnson.
Administrator on 2009-03-20:
Thank you for your feedback.

First off, we reviewed the post in question regarding your company and found it to be in violation of our new site guidelines to no longer allow use of personal names in reviews. Due to the excessive use of personal names, the review has been removed.

Secondly, we do allow companies to post a response to any consumer review. It is in fact easier for a company to post a response than it is for a consumer to sign up and post a review. You simply use the "Business Owner? Post your company response!" link found below every review. Once your company response is published, it also gets forwarded to the author of the review.

We hope this answers your concerns regarding our site and services.

Regards,
My3cents Team
Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
It would seem in this particular case, the original post should have been redacted, but allowed to remain. Removing the post seems to play into careerflorida.com's demands to remove an unflattering post. Removing the names but leaving the post would allow us to make up our own minds on the validity of the original post.
Principissa on 2009-03-20:
While I agree with removing the names from the original post this poster is responding to, I do not agree with removing it entirely from the site. I read the complaint and while it did have names in it, it seemed valid. By removing this post you have deterred other people from posting similar complaints against this person in fears that their voice will not be heard. That instead careerflorida.com will post unflattering things like this and their posts will just be removed. It's a double edged sword, and while I agree respect admins opinion, I disagree with the decision to remove the original post entirely and say that this one should be removed as well since it to violates the TOS by careerflorida.com's harassment of the original poster.

tnchuck100 on 2009-03-20:
ADMIN: It would appear your integrity is on the line here. I hope you will remove the names and restore that post. The regulars are watching how this plays out.
jenjenn on 2009-03-20:
I'm not sure if it was removed. I believe it being reviewed. Personally, I feel names should not have been used, but I haven't been able to read the original post. On another note, name bashing is uncalled for. I wouldn't want advertisement like that with my name on it! It's bad for business. I wouldn't do business with you, Mr. Johnson! You sound a little "mentally and emotionally disturbed." (your words!)
Soaring Consumer on 2009-03-20:
I read the original 2002 complaint, and it seemed pretty legitimate to me. It is entirely possible that Mr. Johnson reworked the end-product between the time that the original complaint was made and now, then sent it to be reviewed. 7 years is a very ample period of time to do such a thing.
Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Couldn't agree more with Principissa and Chuck.

jenjenn, the original review was very well written and the only name mentioned was the name freely provided by the OP of this complaint.

How odd. The original complaint questioned resume_writer's composition skills and I must say if anything this review supports that claim. IMO this rebuttal is far more disparaging of careerFlorida than was the original complaint. Interesting to say the least.
Slimjim on 2009-03-20:
No consumer gripe or review forum requires a true identity and there is nothing illegal or wrong about that. Your statement- "Without an opportunity for a response, M3 3 Cents is just publishing one side of the story, and becomes party to spurious, unfounded complaints.", is completely false. M3C obviously offers comments and rebuttals to be posted with great ease, no limit and no fees to the business. (unlike Ripoff report).
If the review was too difficult to edit, then your problem is solved. If they do decide to restore it without the Pronouns, then simply post your rebuttal with it and prove your case, so to say.
CrazyRedHead on 2009-03-20:
It'll probably be another 7 years before we hear anything else from him.

Anonymous on 2009-03-20:
Interesting
tnchuck100 on 2009-03-21:
It looks like admin succumbed to pressure from this guy to get a derogatory review about his business removed. I really had faith that they would remove the names and restore it. Very disappointing.
Slimjim on 2009-03-21:
I don't know chuck, what real pressure did the guy asert? I'd say their explanation is fair. Once they looked at it again, 7 or whatever years later, it just didn't fit with present time allowable content. Maybe they just didn't want to go back and spend their time on something so outdated. The poster got his 7 years out of it and I'm sure has moved on.
jktshff1 on 2009-03-21:
Just what is B. A., M. A., JCTC and what does it have to do with the complaint?
tnchuck100 on 2009-03-21:
Slim, it isn't so much the content of the review itself. It's more about the appearance admin leaves behind in the handling of the situation.
tnchuck100 on 2009-03-21:
jkt, JCTC is:
Just
Can't
Tolerate
Criticism
Slimjim on 2009-03-21:
You know, I hear you chuck and usually frown upon tinkering like that, especially from seeing ED do it over at ROR. In this case though, it just doesn't phase me. It's just so old and they just don't want to monkey with it. I have been posting here since 2001 and have never seen a complaint vanish because of the targets request. It's just not usually a concern here.
jktshff1 on 2009-03-21:
thanks tnchuck
Close commentsAdd reply
Could Anybody Give Me Any Suggestions?
Posted by on
DAYTON, OHIO -- Hello all,

I run operations for a small business in which we have storage available for people who would like to store things! We have indoor storage as well as outdoor storage for things such as campers, RVs, boats, etc. Well here is the problem...this past Saturday, we had a violent storm roll through our area, and lightning "supposedly" struck somewhere on our property, causing our electronic gate to malfunction. In other words, it is totally fried. The technician came out who represents the fencing company we use and looked at the gate and said he would be able to order another circuit board of some sort to where we would be up and running within the week. He called us this morning to inform that what we supposedly need is discontinued! Therefore, he said we could possibly claim it on insurance to get a whole new system installed. What we have now is a card reader system (HID Corporation), to where you just tap the card against the reader, and the gate will open automatically.

Well supposedly now, we have to get a whole "upgraded" system. It doesn't affect me as much as of course the owner (my aunt). She's so mad, I think she's going to go hostile and destroy anything and everything in her path. So now, when a tenant comes in to check on their storage, they have to "manually" open the gate up and close it behind them when they are done. It just doesn't look professional at all on our part, and we need to get this problem fixed ASAP. Does anybody have any suggestions on what to do here? I just didn't know if anyone on here runs business or has had any problem of similarity in the past, or knows anyone with a problem like this.

I had to go through our entire index of tenants and call every single person to inform them of the situation, which took around three hours to do. We are working massive overtime just to overlook that nobody breaks in or tries to do anything of that nature.

Any pointers would be fine and dandy!

~J
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

bargod on 2008-07-15:
I would find out if the upgrade is covered by the insurance and go with that. If not then go for the next best quickest option. In the meantime you might/should hire security for the gate until the fix is done. Good luck.
Hugh_Jorgen on 2008-07-15:
Get the bad board from your fence guy - find out the make/model/serial number of your existing opener and get the part number of the board.

Then get to Google and get to work - Google the part number, the model, whatever you can think of. I would be willing to bet someone out there has a perfectly good used opener or circuit board you could get cheap.

There is a huge second market for industrial equipment that most people are not aware of. And most of it can be found online. Good luck.


dimplepie on 2008-07-15:
Thanks guys, I will try these options out to see what I can do. If insurance won't cover the issue, then I'll try the google idea. I just don't see how something like that can be "discontinued" when the system is only a couple years old. I'm wondering if the company is just BSing us to try to get a couple extra bucks. I just know that the owner is not very happy at all! Rated you both, "very helpful."
jktshff1 on 2008-07-15:
good points guys.
a lightning strike is a nightmare with electrical equipment. You replace the first thing you find wrong...then something else down the line is bad etc. There is no real way to insure every thing is fixed until you start replacing parts..
I am with bargod..get with the insurance company and see just what is covered and go from there.
Then go the on line route
If you have to "upgrade" according to your fence guy..get 2 or 3 quotes.
Anonymous on 2008-07-15:
"BSing us to try to get a couple extra bucks". Very strong possibility. Probably thinks a couple of nice Ladies would be an easy sale.
Mrs. V on 2008-07-15:
You may wish to pay for an independent person to come out and check the fence 1st.

Anytime someone who stands to make more money by saying, "It's broke, can't fix it, need a more expencive one, we can sell the more expencive item" makes that claim, get a second opinion.

This will also help if you do need a new fence and the insurance comp. starts bulking at the idea.

Good luck!
Close commentsAdd reply
My3cents.com Complaining about complaints
Posted by on
I think this web site has shown us what people are made of. This is people's outlet to complain. Listen to all the people whining about their horrible problems like, "I didn't get greeted with a smile or a hello when I walked into Wal-Mart." I know what kind of people write complaints on this site because my family has owned a retail store for 25 years. Even after all these years it amazes me how high everyone's expectations always are. It's obvious that retail stores will never be able to meet people's expectations, which is why sites like this exist.

I have heard people complain because their merchandise took too long to get here. I've heard people complain because their merchandise came in too fast and they were not ready for it. The main thing I have learned is that consumers DO NOT LISTEN! We tell every customer the same thing when a sale is complete about returns, delivery, policies. But people always demand that we told them something different, or that we promised something totally different than what we tell every customer.

I have read many complaints on this site and it really upsets me how impossible our business has become. I hate going to work sometimes because I know I will get cussed out or yelled at or accused of something by a customer. We have so many people who show up to work every day and work so hard to make people happy and keep people satisfied, but I know they feel like they are trying their hardest for no reason. Customers are relentless many times and make employees feel so bad, usually for no reason other than to throw their weight around and show that they are in charge.

Please consider that businesses are made up of people just like you, who have good days and bad days. People who are doing their best to make sure you are taken care of. Also consider when you are complaining about policies and rules that, businesses had to create all of those policies and rules because of people who complain and try to take advantage of businesses.

That's my 3 cents!
     
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

tnchuck100 on 2008-01-15:
First, exactly what company do you work for?

Second, blaming my3cents.com is way off base. They are only a website. The people complaining is what you should be concerned about.

Many complaints here are from people who created their own problems. There are also many who have been done wrong by various companies.

If you observe long enough you will find the regular members pretty much point out the two types.

Much of what is complained about is the one-on-one customer service that big business is failing at so miserably.

Where do you fit in in the scheme of business?
tnchuck100 on 2008-01-15:
Just for the record, the poster has removed the my3cents.com reference.
tnchuck100 on 2008-01-15:
Just for the record, the poster has restored the my3cents.com reference.
Nohandle on 2008-01-15:
I gather you have been a family owned business for the past 25 years and have witnessed what others have. Your company probably provided a fair price and in addition quality products and service only to find your price undercut by the chains that move in. Your old customers wanted the same price they were quoted by the chains yet wanted you to give them the quality products and service they were accustomed to. No one can have them all.

The retail business has changed dramatically the past half dozen or so years. It's a fact. You are dealing with the public and I personally feel they have become rude beyond reason and demanding beyond reason as well. That's just my opinion from having overheard too many confrontations. My feelings are the majority of problems we have now were caused by the customer to begin with. We want the finest products at the lowest price and demand the stores cater to our every wish.

This is a consumer site where members come to voice their opinion on products and services and in turn pass on their experience so others can learn. Don't blame M3C or the members for the problems. You will find the majority of the complaints are not about the Mom and Pop stores, they are about the Big Boys who ran the others out of town and have no consideration whatsoever for the consumer. Those are the ones we members want to know about.
MRM on 2008-01-15:
Very well said, Nohandle. Most of these complaints are towards the big companies, not the small shops.
2inform on 2008-01-15:
It sounds like the poster needs a career change.

Although some consumers take advantage of businesses, businesses do likewise and usually take advantage of their consumers and employees. This forum helps educate the consumer decide where to shop. I am thankful for this. I know where not to go when I decide to purchase a new sofa. :)
Anonymous on 2008-01-15:
It would have been nice if the poster gave the name of their business, it's some place I'd just as soon avoid.
Slimjim on 2008-01-15:
There are many good people on this planet, and then there are also quite a few that suck. If you own or work for a business that caters to the public, you will run into both on a daily basis. Welcome to reality.
Anonymous on 2008-01-16:
There are also compliments on this site. I don't see any compliments in your post. Do you ever have good customers? How do you treat them?
tnchuck100 on 2008-01-17:
Has anyone else noticed? This afhsscott returns to the site but has nothing further to say about his/her post. With as many comments that have been posted does this person feel they can no longer justify their position?
bobo7806 on 2008-01-17:
I am totally with afhsscott on this. You read these things and a person gets upset with one Wal-Mart or Best Buy in one town and then they are ticked off at Wal-Mart or Best Buy in general and everyone is behind them! I couldn't imagine getting so upset over some of the stupid things I've read here. We are an impatient, never satisfied, always feel like we are getting screwed generation.
jktshff1 on 2008-01-17:
OP has some good points, said this before, ya got to take the bad with the good if you are in business. Ain't going to get rich working for someone else.
Great thing about this country is you can be anything you want and make as much as you want as long as you are willing to work and put up with all the bs.
Downside is you can also have DIPUTS written on your forehead and will never know it unless you look in a mirror.
There are too many people like that out there.
StraightShooter on 2008-02-01:
I wonder if there is a complaint on this website about his family's store?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Is Anyone Else Having This Problem?
Posted by on
Rating: 3/51
When getting to the bottom of the first page of reviews and when you want to advance a page it says "there are no more reviews in this category"?
this just started a week ago. I was hoping it was a glitch but it is lasting too long.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

CU on 2013-10-06:
This happens to me also, and has for some time, but only on one of my PCs.

I assumed it was an IE setting, but when I do a side-by-side comparison of settings, I can't see anything different.

So, I too would be interested in the answer to this.
BigAl on 2013-10-07:
That has never happened to me but my "back button" frequently does not work on this site but always works on other sites.
oldisgood on 2013-10-09:
I posted this on the 6th and finally, today I can finally advance the page and read the comments. I am glad I wasn't the only one.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Latest Reviews not available anymore?
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
Hello all,
I understand that My 3 Cents did a wonderful re-design on its website. I have no problem with that. However, I loved to check latest reviews at http://www. my3cents. com/latest_reviews. cgi which I bookmarked it. I loved to read latest reviews daily from glance.

That link is not available anymore. I would love to have that feature back if possible.

Thanks, THartmann9374
Resolution Update 04/28/2013:
Thanks, Susan, for responding and resolving it.
Company Response :
Hello,

Thanks for the feedback. We apologize for the confusion of the latest reviews page missing. After the redesign we combined the latest reviews logic onto the homepage, and added a "Show more reviews" button in place of the previous latest reviews link.

We can add a redirect to forward requests to the old url to the new homepage. Hopefully that will fix any broken bookmarks!

Thanks again for the feedback.

Regards,
Susan
     
Read 33 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

trmn8r on 2013-04-25:
You and I both.
Slimjim on 2013-04-25:
But aren't the latest reviews exactly what you see right from the home page now?
DebtorBasher on 2013-04-25:
I was going to ask the same question as Slim.
jktshff1 on 2013-04-25:
Where do the notifications show up?
DebtorBasher on 2013-04-25:
Hey JKT...how's it going? Got that BBQ ready?

I'm not sure what notifications you're talking about, but the new reviews are on the front page (Click on the My3Cents logo at the top of this page).
jktshff1 on 2013-04-26:
When your review or comment is voted helpful.BBQ is great
trmn8r on 2013-04-26:
{snif} the stars are gone along with the notifications. I never got to be a banker OR a 4-star general.
jktshff1 on 2013-04-26:
Not a very "old user" friendly site anymore.
clutzycook on 2013-04-26:
That's what I thought too. It's a nice, updated design, but I miss the old sense of community I felt here. I also miss the star rankings and the little thrill I would get when I had a new notification that someone had voted my comment or review helpful. I guess nothing is static, huh?
DebtorBasher on 2013-04-26:
Awwww, 8er, 8er, my 8er...you'll always be a star in my eyes!

*Hug*
Soft kitty, warm kitty
little ball of furrrrr
Happy kitty
Sleepy kitty
Purr, purr, purrrrrrr.....

Do you feel better now?
Soaring Consumer on 2013-04-26:
I greatly miss the community forums.
Alain on 2013-04-26:
Times change. The site is pretty sterile now. Nice to see everybody! Too bad they've taken the 'community' out of the site, but volume sells ads and that's what they want.
JAKFK on 2013-04-26:
You don't know what you have until its gone...
JAKFK on 2013-04-26:
Suggestion: What about creating a Community Forum, or restoring the old one, and only grant access to long term members or members that exceed a certain "comment count" per se? A reward for their loyalty and commitment to the site.

I think the Administrators are in collusion with the pharmaceutical and AMA (American Medical Association), and profiting from all the prescription medicine and shrink visits of former and current members going through withdrawal symptoms created by the absence of such daily spiritual treats as "Caption of the Day Contests", or spending hours each day trying to decipher if the picture they're looking at is either a colon or Basher's BBQ (50/50 call on that one), or the public shame and humiliation they now feel from being stripped of their badges of honor (stars) and left to aimlessly roam the internet in search of a place to belong and call home. The Community Forum was home for many of us. A place to kick off your shoes after work, unwind, chat with some old friends, and have a good laugh.
CrazyRedHead on 2013-04-26:
The latest reviews are listed on the front page. I do agree with you though, I don't like the new layout. I liked the notification that either you have someone who voted your comment helpful or that there is a response to review that was in your follow list.
Chaparrita on 2013-04-26:
Looks like the stars are gone. Good thing I forfeited mine before the site changed.
DebtorBasher on 2013-04-26:
I miss baking cakes for everyone!
THartmann9374 on 2013-04-26:
I will need to get used to latest reviews on the front page. All I need is to click on LOAD for more reviews.

One thing I liked about the new layout is that we can look at complaints of big companies on right side.
THartmann9374 on 2013-04-26:
I mean, to click on "Show More Reviews", not LOAD in my previous comment, LOL.
Chaparrita on 2013-04-26:
That's OK Basher. You can bake me a cake and send it to me.
JAKFK on 2013-04-26:
If Churro were president, this would've never happened. And that just makes me sad.
DebtorBasher on 2013-04-26:
What are you talking about JAKFK? Churro was a member and allowed this happened...I don't even what to think about what would have happened with him as the President!!!
Chaparrita on 2013-04-26:
If Churro were president, I'd move to Canada.
JAKFK on 2013-04-26:
This thread is the poor man's Community Forum.
Chaparrita on 2013-04-26:
This thread could use some Justice for all.
JAKFK on 2013-04-26:
Touché
ok4now on 2013-04-28:
What's going on here? First we lost the Community which was very popular and my personal favorite. I finally adjusted to this being a review site only. Now they went and screwed it up again. Can't get latest reviews, can't get most popular, can't click helpful advise and all the stars are gone. It took many members years to earn those stars and now they have simply vanished. Addy what are you possibly thinking, if it ain't broke don't fix it. You are alienating long time members who have contributed greatly to make this site what it is. You are now diminishing it and the ratings will suffer badly. Care to rethink this before its too late?
DebtorBasher on 2013-04-28:
Ok4Now, the latest reviews are right on the front page and when you scroll to the bottom, you can click to see more. There are a lot of adjustments going on behind the scenes and bugs they are working out.
Alain on 2013-04-28:
This post is the best one I've seen in a long time here!
DebtorBasher on 2013-04-28:
Thanks for the response Susan...
Jay on 2013-04-30:
What is the distinction between a non-member posting and a member with an account? Is the any benefit to creating an account? What does one miss by not having an account?
CrazyRedHead on 2013-05-05:
I really, really do not like the new site, period. You can't follow anything anymore, you don't know if what you just posted is even there, and there is no notification if there is a response to a letter you want to follow. It makes it not very worthwhile to even bother with the site. I've been with My3cents for many, many years and many different changes and this is by far the worst change to date.
JAKFK on 2013-05-09:
Jay> The distinction between a non-member posting and a member with an account is minimal. I think the only benefit, and a nice one at that, is being able to see your own past reviews and comments on one page. It makes searching and going back to them less time consuming. Other than that though...not much.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Why do I have to start over and over
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I have tried to write a review 3 times now, and each time, all of a sudden, I am back to square one.
I see no point in trying again as I can see nothing wrong with what I do.
I was writing a complaint about a travel company.
Didn't even get this far in writing it, sometimes not far at all.
What to do?
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

DebtorBasher on 2012-10-03:
I'm not sure why you are having so much trouble with your reviews. They are all reviewed by moderators or admin before being posted...so, as long as you are not violating any TOS, they should be posted. Try it again, and I will review it for you and let you know if there are any problems with it that would cause it to not getting posted.

Are your reviews at least getting to the point where it states it will be reviewed? I have not noticed any in the mod's queue for a travel company.
Slimjim on 2012-10-03:
I have no idea either. The poster indicates he/she got farther in this case before it was even done being typed and submitted. I've pushed probably well over 100 reviews alone through over the past few days, including my own, and the system seems to be working fine in general. It also worked in this case for the poster. Considering you have had success posting this bumbed, you should try and repost your letter now and see if you still have issues.
jonthethird on 2012-10-04:
I wish the notifications would start working again, or am I doing something wrong?
Administrator on 2012-10-04:
Hello. Sorry for the trouble! What company were your trying to write about? We can review our logs to see what might be causing the problem.

Regards,
My3cents Team
Ponie on 2012-10-05:
I've managed to have a review posted but what in the world happened to the 'old' M3C? Even though I very seldom participated, I miss the Community Forums. Also, Unless it's just for me, there's no way of getting to a members profile page. I sent an email to Admin asking about this but never received a response. Bummer! :)
Slimjim on 2012-10-05:
I can only speculate, but I think you are seeing a more permanent direction this site has moved to. The forums were nothing but a hang out, offering no enhancements to the site's purpose, but plenty of distractions. The site has as many reviews submitted now as ever, less all the baggage. I miss the old M3C too, but wouldn't have done a thing different if I maintain this site myself.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >