Neiman Marcus

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
16 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Neiman Marcus Sales Promotions
Posted by on
My situation involves a Neiman Marcus promotion.

In early 2009, I purchased $750.00 worth of non-sale merchandise from Neiman Marcus during a promotion.

According to the promotion, if you purchased $500.00 worth of merchandise you would get a gift card for $100.00 in 90 days. If you purchased $750.00 worth of merchandise the gift card was increased to $200.00 and so on.

When my belt arrived (one of the items which I purchased) it was damaged. I contacted Neiman Marcus and explained that I wanted to exchange the damaged belt for a new belt. But, I wanted to know if I would lose my gift card as a result of exchanging the gift card. I was told no.

Months later, I did not get my gift card, so I contacted Neiman Marcus.

I was told the exchange changed the date that I would receive the gift card.

When I was notified that I had gotten my gift card the amount was only $100.00. I contacted Neiman Marcus and they said they were sorry. It was an error. The gift card should have been $200.00. They would issue me a second gift card.

But, the second gift was never issued. I kept calling. And, each time I called the customer service people said they were sorry and they were sending my complaints to the executive offices. They said the executive office would take care of the gift card.

Finally, on June 29, 2009, I spoke with someone from the executive office. She said the problem with the gift card was because of the customer service people. She said that she would get the gift card issued to me immediately. And, if I didn't hear from her by 3:00 pm on June 30, 2009, to contact her

By July 7, 2009, I still hadn't heard from her, so I called. She was snotty and rude. She said that she couldn't do anything about my gift card being delayed. She said she didn't know when it would be issued. I told her that I was pretty frustrated (this was my 10th or 11th call about the gift card) and I didn't understand what was holding the gift card. She said she didn't like my tone and I told her that I didn't like Neiman Marcus offering promotions that they didn't honor.

She told me that she would get back to me when she knew something and the conversation was terminated. Later that day (July 7, 2009)) she called me with a gift card number. The amount was for $100.00.

On July 9, 2009, I tried to use the gift card and it did not work.

I called the customer service people and was put on hold for 35 minutes.

The first girl I spoke with said she didn't like my tone and told me to talk to her manager, Gerard Perez. Mr. Perez explained that my gift card had a zero balance on it. He didn't know why it had a zero balance on it, but he would have to send the card to the exeuctive offices to find out.

And I am right back to where I began. I strongly urge consumers not to be a patsy like me and fall for these phony promotions that Neiman Marcus offers.

The pleasant customer service people are there to give the impression that they are taking care of the problem. But nothing could be further from the truth. It is a smokescreen.

I have spent months trying to resolve this issue and finally realized that Neiman Marcus has (and had) no intention of resolving this situation.
     
Replies
Broken Glass in Iced Tea Swallowed
Posted by on
DALLAS, TEXAS -- On October 30, 2010 I had lunch in the Café at Neiman Marcus with two friends. After sipping my tea from a straw I bit down on something hard that was not ice. I spit the piece out and it was broken glass. After trying to get the attention of our waiter who continued to ignore us, my girlfriend got up and brought the café manager over who confirmed it was glass. He removed our tea glasses and we were brought new glasses of tea. After having more tea, I looked in my glass and saw another piece of glass at the bottom just as my other friend started coughing and gagging. Apparently she had just swallowed a piece of glass that had become logged in her throat. It took quite some time to get anyone to come back to our table and she took off to the ladies room to see if there was any more glass stuck in her throat. While she was away, I looked in my other friend’s tea and there was another piece of glass at the bottom of her tea. We finally got the manager to come back to the table, handed him the other 3 pieces and he once again confirmed what it was broken glass. We sat and sat waiting for someone to come and take a report about the incident.

Finally, someone from “customer service” arrived and took our names and statements. We requested to talk to the store manager as our friend that had swallowed the glass was still in pain and coughing. She was visiting from Germany and staying with my other friend. Another long wait and we got to speak with the store merchandise manager and another gentleman. The entire time we felt like we were treated like criminals. They told us we could go to a Care Now to get our friend checked out but when we finally found the facility, they refused to see her as they did not have the equipment to check out her throat. After playing telephone tag with Neiman’s we decided to take her to the nearest ER to have her checked as she was still in pain and coughing. Neiman’s said they couldn’t guarantee payment, however, we felt it was their responsibility to pay the bill. We spent several more hours at the ER where they did not see any more glass stuck in her throat but there was obvious damage to her throat from the other glass. Our friend from Germany did not have any insurance so my other friend has paid for her ER visit.

We filed a complaint with their insurance company for the bill but Liberty Mutual denied the claim saying there was no proof! The store manager refuses to talk to us, a letter to the President and CEO of Neiman’s has been ignored and calls to their legal department are not returned. Meanwhile, my friend is out at least $1,000 for their negligence. What to do now?
     
Replies
Negligence - A Private Club Claiming To Be A Retail Store
Posted by on
WHITE PLAINS, NEW YORK -- Although their internet site advertises that this is a public retail store like its other branches and the mall entrances to the store give the sameimpression, the shop is run in the fashion of a private club having NO SIGNS POSTED. It is infamous for letting customers walk in, then verbally abuse them and refuse to sell them anything, so that the legitimate customers who once bought here often prefers to buy the merchandise offered at the WP branch from a competitor. There are only two addresses offered by the firm to file LEGITIMATE complaints. One is the fashion buying office entitled THE CORPORATE OFFICE. The other is the office at the home base which arranges fasion shows and parties in the branch stores, entitled THE PUBLIC RELATIONS OFFICE. It is obvious that any LEGITIMATE complaint to one of these offices will have been sent to an office not equipped to deal with them - possibly given to an entry-level clerk who may or may not be told to enter them into a database which would certainly never be read by anyone in the firm capable of responding to them. I am a collector of Royal Crown Deby Dinnerware, for which Nieman-Marcus is one of the authorized dealers all selling the same things at the same price. On Wed May 12 about 3pm, I was looking at their in-shop display of Derby Panel Green, which is palaced in a public area of the sales floor. A gent in a suit who never identified his rank in the branch store, eg security vs. managerial et al, began a verbally-abusive tirad directed at us from across the sales floor. Other customers could hear what he was saying but could not understand it. He never said specifically that the display was closed to customers or that Nieman-Marcus White Plains was not actually selling the line despite displaying it on the sales floor. I asked him if they had any other patterns besides Derby Panel Green. He became calmer, walked nearer and said "no". I pointed out two others in the display - Darley Abbey and Gold Avesbury. He waited around "behaving as a nuisance" until we left, clearly indicating that this branch was FORMALLY REFUSING to sell me anything. I then picked out a pair of pajamas in the basement, to be bearded at the point of sale by an equally arrogant person who did identify himself as a salesman of men's furnishings (at least he explained his position in the shop). At the point of getting ready to pay, he refused to accept either cash or the BG card, as do all other branches of Nieman Marcus, and went into a rant about being irritated about having one customer on a slow day, whom he had to turn away as "formally refusing to sell merchandise" because the customer had not, a month or more ago, applied for that particular HSBC Mastercard on which is emblazoned the NM logo! In other words, customers planning to buy the merchandise which NM is selling ARE free to buy it from the competitors and often at the same price. What the class action suit might demand is that the shop FORMALLY advertise itself as a PRIVATE CLUB on both its internet website and its entrances from the mall, explaining that their practice is to FORMALLY REFUSE TO SELL those customers not recognized by their totally unsupervised sales staff as having at least a month before applied for that specific HSBC Mastercard for which they are looking. In other words, the internet postings and the mall entrances pretending that the White Plains Nieman-Marcus is operated as a retail store open to the public CONSTITUTES NEGLIGENCE FOR FALSE ADVERTISING.
     
Replies
Louis Vuitton Repairs
Posted by on
MCLEAN, VIRGINIA -- I had called NM about 3 months ago and asked to speak to someone at the LV accessories department, and a young woman answered, I asked her the guarantee on a LV bag, wallet and key chain I had purchased there 10 years ago, She told me they do repairs that were to be sent out and she would give me the price once I arrived at the store. Very cordial and nice over the phone.
Two days later I was in the area and thought I would drop of my LV to be sewn before the little tear got worse. I too was looked up and down, (I was dressed professionally for my job). And had to walk up to someone for assistance, This woman gave me a totally different story than the one I received over the phone. I walked in NM proud I was able to repair my LV that I care about and walked out with my head between my legs, I felt like I was about to cry. She was loud so I talked even lower to a whisper to get her to lower her volume, No she knew what I was trying to do and got louder. I finally just asked her to lower her voice, and she said this is the way I talk. I said that is not so I spoke with you over the phone and you were very pleasant. I said please, you are embarrassing me with your tone of voice. She ignored me and kept repeating herself as to why they would not repair my LV's. (because they were so old and the thread was hanging over an inch. And referred me to a shoe repair shop. I am afraid to visit and go window shop in that store anymore.
Not a happy customer, I will purchase and pay the extra tax when I am in CA. for a visit. When strangers ask where I got my LVs I tell them at the LV store in Tysons II, Do not go to Neiman Marcus. (Very rude and tacky)
I work in marketing and sales and Wow was I blown away! Go back to the basics and get more sales training!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
NM Has Not Got [the] Product as They Advertise
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Unreliable! I've been shopping NM for years...online & from catalogs. TERRIBLE. Website is never fully operational & in-sync with catalogs. I can't tell you how many times I've tried to order catalog items online & they are either out of product, product has not yet been released/delivered from vendor (so it's order ahead) or they're not even sure if they are going to get the product at all. I ordered a product over 3 months ago & I just got an email yesterday that said "sorry, we're not going to be getting your shoes in". Jewelry? Delay. Shoes? Who the heck knows if you'll get it. Walk in the store? If the way the sales people look at you is any indication, its questionable whether or not they're there to help you.

I've heard that fsession [has] a good collection and [delivers] orders very quickly with affordable price. I may try one time in this shop.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Online Purchase
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
IRVING, TEXAS -- I placed an online order at the Neiman Marcus Site for a $115.00 bottle of Jo Malone cologne. When I received the shipment and opened the box, there was a raw unboxed, unsealed, unpacked bottle in a folded plastic bag. It was sold and shipped without a factory sealed box, as if it was a tester not for resale.

This was intended to be given as a gift. If I went into a Walmart, Kmart, CVS or even to a street vendor selling fakes, I would be sold a fragrance in a factory sealed and boxed product. It's not like I ordered a basket from Cracker Barrel but at least their cheese logs and snausages are individually wrapped and packaged in boxes.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Customer service and so snobby from a Louis Vuitton sales person
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SHORT HILLS MALL, NEW JERSEY -- First I would like to start with that I have purchased a few bags from this store and I recently discovered a quality issue regarding one of my bags. I called ahead and asked what to do and was told to bring the bag in so they can take a look. So that is what I did. I was helped by a very pleasant young man, helpful and all but his partner looked at me ( I wasn't dressed to express) then whispered to the guy and said take the bag to the back to make sure its not fake while I am standing there and kept looking at me in a snobby way not friendly at all. The manager looked at the bag and it was cleared that it wasn't a fake... her words out loud were " so that we don't waist our time" to the manager. I felt insulted and when walking out there I was so upset about how she treated me.
One thing for sure is I will never buy a bag from there again.
Seriously she is only a sales person representing LV nothing more.
So not happy
     
Replies
What is happening to Neiman Marcus in King of Prussia?
Posted by on
KING OF PRUSSIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Who would expect a sales person at Neiman Marcus to be nasty in designer sportswear or anywhere in the store? I have shopped there faithfully since the store opened. Who would expect a sales person there to have the demeanor of someone greeting the mourners at a funeral home? I must say this person did look out of place, and she was the only sales person in the store wearing khaki colored pants, rather than a dark color.

My previous experience in that department was to be put in a room and when I needed another size there was no one to get it for me because the sales person was "in the back". This was completely the opposite!

This woman put me in an empty dressing room and counted the items she placed there very carefully. It seemed as if she could see every move I made to the point I began to wonder if I was on candid camera. It was freaky! The split second I took off an item, she was knocking at the door asking to remove it. I tried an item that was a bit tight, and without opening the door, she asked if I want another size! When I looked out, she was either was hovering at the door or was staring at something at her work station next to the room. There was no sign in the room saying it had surveillance, but it sure felt that way!

I made the grave mistake of referring to a color as a light orange. I was rudely corrected and told it was called "mango". Then she had the audacity to tell me that among the two tops I handed her one wasn't the size brought in! Finally it was resolved, when figured out she was confused.

What a nightmare! Of course, there was no floor manager to be found. Who needs that? I will shop at Nordstrom in the future.
     
Replies
Louis Vuitton in Neiman Marcus are snobs
Posted by on
MCLEAN, VIRGINIA -- I took my sister to the Louis Vuitton section in Neiman Marcus last month to make a purchase. I wasn't dressed up that day and the black salesman looked at me up and down. He gave me an attitude problem from the start, so I asked him if he could show me a bag.

He goes, what bag? I pointed out the bag to him.

He goes, well you’ll just have to wait then. (He wasn’t helping anyone)

She goes, what are you doing you can’t get that for me?

He goes, are you actually going to buy that or you just want to see it?

I flipped out. I said, you know what you just lost a customer. I don’t need to sit here and be treated like this. I’m better off going to the real LV store, next door, and I walked out.

The Chanel section they cater you from head to toe at Neimans. Really, really nice. I don’t care if I’m not dressed right, if I have money I want to spend there you better cater to ME. You need my commission. I don’t need you, and the majority of the employees at Neimans in Virginia act like you need them. I then proceeded next door to the Louis Vuitton store that's not affiliated with Neiman Marcus to tell them my story, and they told me they've heard a lot of complaints from other customers about the same thing.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Playing Words Game to Deny a Gift Card Promotion
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ONLINE, VIRGINIA -- What's on the website when I put the order.

Gift Card's value doubles when purchase includes at least one regular-priced Apparel item and one regular-priced item from either Shoes or Bags.

when I got the gift card it did not double its value and their saying is shoes has to be Man size or Woman size not toddler size.
whatever, Neiman Marcus always find ways to trick customers with hundreds of excuses. Neiman Marcus sucks!!!
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >