Otel.com

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
8 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
How I was scammed by an internet booking service
By -

My husband and I decided to go to Greece on vacation this year. We found www.otel.com in our guide book. I made the reservation through otel.com for the Athens Lotus Hotel, was confirmed immediately and my credit card was charged. By the way, this company also operates as or with metglobal, global group and booking.com.

When we arrived at the hotel, the young man working the desk said that we didn't have a reservation. He said he didn't recognize the company. He said that often, online booking companies gave this hotel's information to other booking companies who then sold the accommodations to consumers. The young man told us that otel.com never confirmed our reservation at the Athens Lotus.

We spent two hours in the lobby trying to offer suggestions to resolve the problem. The young man didn't really become "helpful" until I threatened to call the tourist police. At that point he phoned the manager (again) to get some assistance.

While we were trying to figure out what to do, we decided to email otel.com because it was the weekend and no one was answering the telephone there. Someone from otel.com phoned the Athens Lotus Hotel and arranged for us to have alternative accommodations. The Athens Lotus is a four star hotel, we were relocated to a three star hotel. I've found this information about the second hotel on countless web sites, but otel.com keeps insisting that we were relocated to a four star hotel. This is untrue. Since I was at both hotels, I'm quite sure I could tell the difference.

I began a dialogue with the customer service reps via telephone and the internet. Otel.com is now trying to pin the blame on the Athens Lotus Hotel, saying that they have dialogue as evidence that my reservation was confirmed by otel.com. After three emails and three telephone calls I was offered a measly $30 for my trouble.

I would strongly recommend that consumers stay away from otel.com, metglobal.com, metgroup.com and be verify that booking.com is not working with either of these companies before booking.

Resolution Update 08/09/2009:

I got my point across

     
Replies
Worse Experience Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Booked for 4 nights accommodation through otel.com. Credit card was charged immediately. When we arrived at the hotel everything was fine but my daughter became very ill. Due to medical emergency we had to leave our hotel after only 36 hour (so 2 nights). Hotel was very accommodating and compassionate and assured us that we would not be billed for the 2 nights but that we needed to get refund from otel.com. Contacted otel.com numerous times but they refuse to pay back the 2 nights accommodation even though the hotel assures me that they have not charged the last 2 nights. Otel.com is pocketing the $400 + themselves. Reporting them to Turkish consumer affair after having spoken to the Australian Consumer Affair.

     
Replies
Otel.com Took my Money and received NO service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We booked a room and paid in full at Sofitel Athens Airport through OTEL.COM via TRIVAGO to find it was a month later than I asked. When I tried to change the date even offering to pay any difference they stalled getting back until the date passed. Having to fly out that date I paid again the hotel directly. The hotel could not do anything for us because OTEL.com or whoever they are does not reimburse the hotel for the occupancy unless it happens. Since we left Athens I tried to Change the reservation name to a relative that was flying out and could use the reservation. Obviously they stalled again with out a response till the date passed.

SO THEY GOT TO KEEP MY MONEY.

Company Response 11/17/2014:

Thank you for alerting us regarding the problem you encountered regarding your booking through otel.com

We would like to express our deepest apologies if we made you feel disappointed with our service. If you kindly advise your booking ID, we are ready to check the case further to help and compensate this.

Please kindly send the details of this case to oguz.hasanusta@metglobal.com to enable us to check the issue in deep detail.

In addition, we would like you to be assured we will be at your disposal to solve the problem to regain your confidence.

Best Regards,
Oguz Hasanusta
Social Media & Complaint Management Specialist
otel.com

     
Replies
Terrible!! This Company Is a Scam.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I just experienced a similar incident regarding Otel.com

They sold nights for a hotel in Honolulu that showed sold out on every other web site.

They confirmed the dates and charged my card in full immediately after making the purchase. They sent

me an email voucher that I am supposed to present to the hotel upon arrival next week. The problem is

the hotel has no record of my reservation and truly is sold out and has been sold out for weeks.

I have contacted Otel.com and Tourico Holidays several times regarding this matter and all I'm getting is the run around. I've spoken to the reservations manager at the hotel we were supposed to be checking into and she is confused as to why Otel.com would charge me and issue a fraudulent voucher that would not have been honored. In the mean time, I have found another hotel to stay at and will be contacting my credit card issuer and filing a complaint. I'm thankful that I did some research to find out that we would have no room to check into before we actually got there. I will never use Otel.com in the future. It's unbelievable that this company conducts business in such an unscrupulous manner.

Company Response 10/14/2014:

Thank you for alerting us regarding the problem you encountered regarding your booking through otel.com

We would like to express our deepest apologies if we made you feel disappointed with our service. If you kindly advise your booking ID, we are ready to check the case further to help and compensate this.

Please kindly send the details of this case to oguz.hasanusta@metglobal.com to enable us to check the issue in deep detail.

In addition, we would like you to be assured we will be at your disposal to solve the problem to regain your confidence.

Best Regards,
Oguz Hasanusta
Social Media & Complaint Management Specialist
otel.com

     
Replies
Otel.com and subsidiary company metglobal.com will rip you off
By -

We booked a reservation through Otel.com for a hotel is spain. You need to give your credit card details. They then tell you that unfortunately there are no rooms available at this time. We then booked the same hotel with another provider and when we arrived at the hotel found our credit card was declined! We had to use money we had brought with us for our holiday and pay with our debit card for the room. We then checked our credit card account and found that Otel.com charged us full amount for a room that didn't exist. When we contacted them we were told it was a toll free number in the UK under a sister company METGLOBAL. COM. This is in fact a phone number in the Philippines that takes money out of your phone bill! We asked them when we could get the refund and they said 5-7 working days which we still have not received (20 days later). We told them we had no money with to enjoy our holiday and they said they would upgrade us to full board until the refund was settled. We thought this was a nice gesture however we have since found that the price of this was also deducted from our credit card at our expense!! We declined the offer of full board at the hotel as soon as we found out about this. To date OTEL. COM / METGLOBAL. COM have charged us for a room and full board which they never had, and also the cost of multiple NOT toll free numbers to the Philippines. We have sent multiple e mails which they have not responded to. These were sent to a girl called MACY in Istanbul, and MONICA CO in the Philippines. We have had to contact our solicitors who are looking into legal action. DO NOT USE OTEL. COM / METGLOBAL. COM

     
Replies
Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MONTANTA -- I was booked for the wrong dates. When Otel was contacted they said they couldn't do anything because of the Hotel policies. I got in touch of the hotel manager, who was very helpful especially for someone so busy, and she agreed to give me the right date at no cost. Otel still refused to allow it, even though it wouldn't cost them a dime.

Horrible customer service - actually closer to reality- No Customer Service At All!

     
Replies
I Had No Problem With My Booking
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

ISTANBUL -- I read some complaints about otel.com but I wanted to choose them because they offered me the cheapest price. If you pay with your credit card, there is nothing to afraid about the money and if you are afraid of the process you should call your hotel and check your reservation. I stayed at my hotel and everything was OK. will use again.

     
Replies
No full refund as told
By -

"If you cancel the reservation you get a full refund the say."
But only if your currency is Euro they "FORGET" to tell you!
There will be currency exchange rates and you always lose money.
You do not get full refund bee ware!

Company Response 10/11/2010:

Thank you for your post.

If I can kindly clarify that at the time of booking you will see the currency and the amount that you will be charged in. If you are not happy to proceed you may at this point not continue with the booking.

After submitting your booking it shows that you have accepted our terms and conditions which clearly mention under the heading REFUNDS;

'' Refunds will be processed in the currency charged. For example, if you do not reside in a € or $ participating country, when checking your credit card statement you must allow for currency exchange fluctuation which may occur. Otel.com can not be held responsible for changes in currency exchange rates.''

For example if we have charged EUR 55 then we will refund EUR 55 as long as the booking is cancelled within the cancellation period.

I do hope that this has helped to clarify the situation

Caroline
Customer Care Manager
caroline@otel.com

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >