Pampered Chef

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
43 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Pampered Chef Skillet $155 12" Outer Coating Peels Off -Co.Won't Replace
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
HOLLYWOOD (WORLDWIDE CO.), FLORIDA -- The currently $155.00 12" Pampered Chef Skillet I have had for several years is now peeling on the sides. The outer coating appears to be peeling away from the bottom edges all around the outside of the pan.

I was told it had a lifetime guarantee but unlike Coach, Kohls, and other quality companies that stand behind their product, Pampered Chef does not. I called customer service and was told it was "normal use", had to have the original receipt, would need to ship it back at my expense (willing to do) and if they didn't deem it was faulty then they would return the skillet as is to me. I have other skillets purchased for less money and used way more frequently (like from William Sanoma) that perform terrific and have not peeled from their exterior or any other displeasing aspects.

Pampered Chef used to have my support but now I will no longer be a customer of this company. Protect yourself from high claims and little back up as well as less than stated product quality.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
yoke on 01/20/2014:
Pampered Chef has gone down hill. I used to love the products and had several parties. But the products are not as good as they once were and they will do anything in their power to get out of replacing something that is defective. It is never their fault.
MaryAnn on 01/22/2014:
I find it to be way over-priced. Especially when it's Made in China. Really?
Close commentsAdd reply
Pampered Chef POOR QUALITY & Horrible return policy!!
Posted on
ADDISON, ILLINOIS -- Pampered Chef is the absolutely the worst company I have ever done business with!!! I bought a real expensive kitchen knife and used it once.

Washed & dried it by hand!! A month later went to use it again & looked closely & it had several rust spots on the blade.

Phoned the company & their reply was: Too bad it has been over the thirty days since you purchased it so YOU (meaning me) must pay for the shipping! JUNK PRODUCT considering the high cost I paid for it & very poor customer relations!!! AVOID THIS FLY-BY-NIGHT outfit!!!!
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 01/16/2012:
My sister-in-law sells Pampered Chef. I think their items are hit or miss. We have a lot of their products, and some have broken after just a few uses (manual can opener, water pitcher), and some products are amazing (like the stoneware). I hate that you can't put their knives, pots, or pans in the dishwasher. Good review
madconsumer on 01/16/2012:
I was never impressed with Pampered Chef items. nothing that could not be purchased at any fully equipped kitchen store.

very helpful review!!
Rob on 02/11/2012:
Don't know why they didn't let you get a new knife? PC has a 3-5 year warranty on most, if not all their Knives. So I think that the rep was just misinformed about letting you exchange.
csi1614636 on 05/07/2012:
Shop at Home Goods. You will get a better product for your money and it won't be half as expensive.
DebtorBasher on 05/07/2012:
If you are stuck with this knife and want to get rid of those rust marks...use a Mr. Clean Magic Eraser on it...it will take those spots right off. I use it on my knives all the time as soom as I see some spotting like that on them.
detestpamperedchef on 07/03/2012:
Pampered Chef has a really horrible return policy. If you don't have an order number or buy a product on eBay, the lifetime guarantee is void and they will do nothing for you.
Jae on 03/26/2014:
I bought the entire knife set as well and like a lot of you, I have a host of their stone wear products so I thought the knives would be worth the high cost. Since purchasing, they have rust spots on all of them, and the worst thing is that the tip of the small paring knife actually broke off when I was peeling an apple! How horrible is that, what if I had been giving this to a child and hadn't noticed? PC will not take them back and will only "replace" them. I don't want them replaced as I refuse to use them for fear of them breaking in my food. So I guess that was money wasted.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Warranty changed after purchase
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I have used Pampered Chef products for many years, continuing to purchase them, although they are more expensive than local stores, because I believed in their quality. However, I have found that the company does NOT stand behind their products, nor do the honor the warranty they sell you the product under.

I purchased the deep dish baker several years ago. I have used it approximately 10-15 times. Today it cracked in the middle after heating. I didn't panic, because I KNEW I had a lifetime warranty on all Pampered Chef products and since it was an expensive product, I contacted them immediatelly. Well, now it seems the warranty that was advertised by their representative (who no longer sells Pampered Chef) has changed from lifetime to 3 years. Who knew that was legal?

The same thing happened when I called about a plastic stir pitcher that melted in the dishwasher (although labeled dishwasher safe). I was told that my water must get hotter than the average dishwasher. Nothing else, we have washed has melted to date.

Anyway, I will NEVER again buy a Pampered Chef product or HOST a party since I no longer say that I have had a good experience.

However, the baking stone I purchased from local department store at a fraction of price and use daily is going strong after 10 year.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
madconsumer on 11/06/2012:
I was never impressed with Pampered Chef. I too have a couple of their stone cookewares, and the first one I ever purchased I received with chips broke off around the edges. their response, it is stoneware and that happens. on a brand new never been used item? I gave them another try, and the quality of the other items was not any better.

very helpful review, and voted as such!
olie on 11/07/2012:
Did you still have your original receipt? At the first party I attended, the PC Consultant suggested keeping the receipt in the silverware drawer. I just checked. I have PC receipts dated over 10 years ago, underneath my silverware.

Your original receipt will definitely back up your replacement claim. It is PROOF that the lifetime replacement agreement is still in effect for your deep dish baker.
Sheri on 08/12/2013:
No Pampered Chef Stoneware products have ever carried a lifetime warranty. The warranty on their stoneware is 3 years.
Suzanne on 06/02/2014:
Sheri is correct - stoneware had a 3-year warranty going way back. I was a consultant for about 7 years up into 2005, at which time some of the lifetime warranties on certain products were changed. There was no time however, when ALL products had a lifetime warranty, and stoneware never did. There were a lot of changes to the company and products I was not happy with and I lost my previous passion for sharing them. That said, I still love and regularly use all the stoneware I acquired before and while being a consultant. It is susceptible to damage in manufacturing and shipping, but when you get a solid piece and treat it well and with care, the cooking results are wonderful. Just my experience.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Warranty
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
Over the years I have purchased Pampered Chef products and have really enjoyed them. at the party I was told there was a lifetime guarantee on the products also. A couple of months ago one of my bar pans broke in half in the oven. I called the lady that was the representative at the party and she now tells me that it is only a three year warranty. Funny how the warranty changes after you purchase the product. She was nice enough to replace it this time but told me that when you cook on it you can't have frozen meat on it and you can put frozen pizzas on it and you have to have the pan full on it etc. Well this certainly isn't told at the party is it. I would never have purchased these very expensive products if I had of known all these things about them and then the warranty changes. I really like the products and if the truth had have been known would you really sell as many items at a party that you do. I have read the comments on the warranty of your products and maybe as a company you should realize that we are not lying when we tell you that we were told that it has a lifetime warranty and maybe there should be a paper in the box or stamped right on the box that you need your receipt and there is only a THREE YEAR warranty not LIFETIME.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Kay on 09/26/2013:
I also thought there was a lifetime warranty. One item I bought was the soap dispenser. Shortly after I bought it, the top began to stick, I have to manually pull it up to make it dispense soap. I called the company and was told to run hot water over it! It didn't help, by the way. No more Pampered Chef for me!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Broken Stoneware, Refused to Honor Guarantee
Posted by on
I have been a loyal Pampered Chef customer for 17 years and have spent hundreds, perhaps thousands on their products. Many times, when a consultant enters my home, they are "wowed" by how many Pampered Chef products I own. Last night, one of my large pizza stones cracked in half on my kitchen counter.

When I called the customer solution department, I was told that there is only a three year warranty on the stoneware. I was told by many consultants over the years that the stoneware has a lifetime guarantee. That if a piece of stoneware broke, you only had to contact the company, send in a piece of the broken dish, and Pampered Chef would replace the dish.

I am very disappointed in your new warranty. I will now take my business elsewhere.
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
pcdirector on 02/05/2010:
I'm sorry, but that is not a new policy that has always been the policy with the stoneware. The consultants have told you wrong in the past about it being lifetime. The only lifetime guarantees are on the knives and cookware.
Anonymous on 02/05/2010:
3 years is still generous for a piece of cookware. I don't know of another company that has that long. You said it cracked on the counter...was it from a hot oven to a cold counter or towel on the counter? I always set my pot holders on the oven rack for a couple minutes to warm them before I put them on the counter. That way my hot stone is not getting placed on a cold surface.

Also, is the cold stone going into a hot oven then into colder air/cold counter again? Too rapid of temperature changes can cause cracks and breaks in the stone.

I have several stone pieces and never had a problem. But, I figure that once it is out of warranty, with the amount of use my pieces get, if I do have troubles I have more than got my money out of them. I would just buy another.
Ytropious on 02/05/2010:
"I was told by many consultants over the years that the stoneware has a lifetime guarantee." Doesn't mean they're correct. They get compensated for how much you spend, most are inclined to lie about it.
Kaya on 07/29/2011:
Used to be a consultant for Pampered Chef - Stoneware has "always and still is" only a 3 Year Warranry Item!!! Check your catalog and you will see this....
RiffCatz on 02/11/2012:
Your consultant probably didn't go over the rules of stoneware when you bought it from them. There's things that you have to remember when using stoneware. Such as:

1. You have to place it directly on a cooling rack because that works the best. Otherwise it will crack from being put on a cold surface or stove.
2. You cannot place anything cold on it once it's hot because that will cause it to crack. The only way it'll ever crack is if you don't follow the instructions of using it properly. We love the stoneware mainly because it's nonstick so the more you use it then the better it gets. It has a 3 year warranty. PC will not cover it if it's a fault of your own such as if you place it in a drawer below a stove that also has heat go down in that drawer from the oven because PC will not cover that. If you don't properly wash it. You are only supposed to use hot water and the scraper it comes with it on the Stoneware.
JustSayNo2PC on 01/24/2013:
Also, for a lifetime guarantee, you need to have your receipt and order number. They have a VERY antiquated Oracle database that was supposed to have been updated last year (knowing their IT dept, I am 100% sure it was not completed on time) and it is hard for them to retrieve older orders. So ALWAYS keep your receipt as you will need the order number and date.
kimhugo on 03/25/2013:
Three of my Pampered Chef stoneware pieces have cracked. My deep-dish covered baker which I have had for over three years, but have use3 only 4 or 4 times, has cracked. I have followed manufactureres directions in preparing and cleaning it and all of my stoneware pieces, but still it has cracked. I expect more than three years from such an expensive and rarely used piece. I used to rave to friends about Pampered Chef stoneware. From now on, I will warn them against it.
amyeliz on 05/03/2013:
I have the 9x13 baking dish. It cracked two ways. I use it often and also thought it had a lifetime warranty until I asked a rep. On the bottom it tells you what year it was made mine dates back to 1993. I guess I can not complain, I used it 10 years. But the rep said they don't make that dish anymore. I looked at the catalog and on page 11 Letter M 13x9 rectangular baker! $40.00...not sure what she was looking at. Not sure I will spend that kind of money on something with a short warranty.
Tracy on 06/20/2013:
My pizza stone cracked while it had a homemade calzone on it IN THE OVEN. (nothing frozen, no extreme temp change) I had it more than 10 years but likely only used it 3-4 times a year. I am very disappointed that there's no lifetime warranty. I expected MORE than the return I'd get at Willams-Sonoma. I was mistaken...
Ruth on 06/28/2013:
I sold PC from 1999-2001. I have 18 pieces including the gingerbread set that I purchased during that time. Not a single one has cracked. I have followed the rules that RiffCatz referred to.. I say this not to say it was the posters fault it cracked, I have heard of many instances where something cracked and the person followed the guidelines. I just wanted to point out that the stoneware can last a long time. The area that IMO the poster erred is taking someones word for it. So you are not going to buy what is very good quality products from a company because you trusted their sales people. You might as well not buy Tupperware, Mary Kay, Tastefully Simple, Arbonne, or products from the many direct sell companies that sell the following products.: cosmetics, wellness products, home décor, kitchen products, jewelry, clothing, organic gardening supplies, spa products, scrapbooking supplies, rubber stamps, etc. I mean I have been misinformed by a ton of direct sellers - trying to get a sale. That's not to say that they are all dishonest. I know many direct sellers that would be horrified to hear if their downline or upline were dishonest. The problem is people, like this poster trusting sales or customer service people in general. Always make it a point to read the documentation from the company. If there is no documentation avoid the company. In customer service situations get it in writing, ALWAYS keep your paperwork, I still have my original receipts from 99-01 for my lifetime stuff. (I have other PC stuff) I am not connected to anyone at PC- haven't bought any pc stuff for 8 years. So I am saying this with no bias. I don't trust sales people or customer service people. I get what I need in writing, and I double check everything. It may be just a little extra work at the time. But in the last 2 months I have saved over $600 dollars on mistakes by sales and cs, because I had it in writing, kept the paperwork, and had double checked it. One receipt I kept for 5 years. Totally worth it. My advice for anyone in this predicament. don't cut your self off from quality by trusting the wrong people. Trust your self by being informed, reading what your signing and protecting yourself.
Theresa on 10/06/2013:
I had the large bar pan, I took mine from the oven in 3 pieces. I have loved it. Very sad it is gone. But loved it, will definitely purchase another one.
vicki on 02/18/2014:
I sold Pampered Chef many many years ago, back when any consultant could attend the "national" conference in Chicago, which I did and from the stage the executive directors told us that the stoneware had a lifetime guarantee. That came from the top of the line. They may have changed their policy and that's fine, but that is what it used to be. As a consultant I helped people send back stoneware that had broken or was cracked (only a small piece needed), along with their receipts and they received a brand new piece.
Close commentsAdd reply
Pampered Chef poison product
Posted by on
FLORIDA -- Pampered Chef sucks. Here is a trail of email concern and the not-so-wonderful replies:

ME: Hi, I ordered a 1 gallon beverage mixer-container from a representative at a party, and she moved out of state shortly after that and had never given me a receipt. I wish to return the container as I believe it is made of polycarbonate which has been linked to toxins released in liquids held in them.

PC: Thank you for contacting The Pampered Chef. We appreciate you bringing this information to our attention. We would like to assist you further by honoring our generous product guarantee. We have 1-year guarantee on our pitcher. However, let us assure you that Pampered Chef items that are designed to come into contact with food have been tested to FDA standards and are food-contact safe. We stand by the safety and quality of our products. Amee Zaveri Solution Center Representative

ME: Although the FDA had approved polycarbonate containers as food safe, there is increasing evidence that this is not so. On April 18, 2008, Canada
declared them as unsafe, and in both the US and Canada they have recalled
baby bottles made from polycarbonate. Therefore, I have also taken measures
to ensure the safety of my children by removing all items labeled with 7,
and contacting manufacturers who did not label their items to verify construction.

PC: Thank you for contacting The Pampered Chef regarding your experience with the Family-Size Quick-Stir® Pitcher. Our guarantee guidelines are thoroughly stated on the back of our sales receipt, and they are one of the many reasons why our customers repeatedly order from The Pampered Chef. Within one year of the original purchase, you may refund or exchange the item for any other item available for sale at the time of the original purchase, provided it has not been discontinued. Understandably, we have to set standards to our guidelines. We are sorry that we are unable to honor your request at this time. It appears that the Family-Size Quick-Stir® Pitcher is beyond our 1-year guarantee period, as the ship date of your order appears to be 04-APR-2006

ME: Thanks for your assistance. Regardless, what I needed to know is if the construction of the pitcher is Polycarbonate, so that I may remove it from my home. It is not labeled with any recycle code, nor any of the plastic codes like PP or PE. Could you let me know the construction? I could not find the item on your inventory online.

PC: We do not classify our products using the recycling code you have requested. Like our competitors, we do not disclose the composition of our products as we consider this to be confidential in nature. The Society of the Plastics Industry developed and uses this identification code to help sort products during the recycling process. Their public web site states that these identification codes do not provide guidance on the safe or intended use of a product and should not be used for this purpose. If you would like more information regarding the purpose of recycling codes, you can visit www.plasticsindustry.org.

ME:Sent: 23-Apr-2008 It is unfortunate that even though I have stated my concerns for the health of my family, your answers have been nothing short of evasive. As a mother, wife, sister, daughter, consumer, government employee, and educated citizen, you can be certain that due to your lack of cooperation, I will be posting your reply on every website I can find and destroying every Pampered Chef item in my cabinet. Hopefully I will not be invited to another party; I would have to bring your email with me to inform others.

PC: We understand your concerns and have addressed your inquiry to the best of our ability and knowledge. I too am a wife and mother of three and have complete faith that our products are safe as well as the information provided in the link below. I would suppose it would be a matter of whom to believe at this point. In the studies provided on the website below, it explains the concerns and misunderstandings there appears to be regarding this issue.Like our competitors, we do not disclose the composition of our products as we consider this to be confidential in nature. We stand by the safety and quality of our products.

Kim Hon
Solution Center Representative
The Pampered Chef, Ltd.
     
Read 17 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
madconsumer on 05/13/2008:
from what I understand, it is hot liquids that release the toxins you refer to. if I recall one study done recently, cold liquids in plastic containers are safe.
Anonymous on 05/13/2008:
You are statistically more likely to be struck by lightning than you are to be damaged by these items. There are so many more important things to worry about, if it bothers you that much, use it for a vase and move on.
Ponie on 05/13/2008:
Throw the d*m thing out!!
Anonymous on 05/13/2008:
thanks for posting this - I especially liked how the PC rep passively threatened you by saying she supposed it would be a matter of whom to believe at this point. If it were me, I'd want to speak to someone higher up and share these emails with them, wonder how they'd respond?
cherpep on 05/14/2008:
Passively threatened? I don't see anything threatening here. The rep simply does not have the authority to give the information the op is looking for. She is doing her job, and I think she did it calmly and respectfully. PC stands behind the safety of the products. If the op doesn't want to use it, they don't have to. This won't keep me from purchasing PC products in the future.
jenjenn on 05/14/2008:
I like how the poster indicates she wants a refund and then at the end was ASKING if this particular product was made from polycarbonate. She insinuated it was at the beginning, but turned it around at the end when she found out she surpassed the one year guarantee. I agree with cherpep - the PC rep handled it appropriately, with the amount of information she is allowed to release.
yoke on 05/14/2008:
Sounds like PC is hiding something. If PC cared about giving good customer service they would have accepted the item back, no questions asked, receipt or not. The OP has a concern for the safety of her family and PC doesn't seem to care. They can not prove it is a safe product.
I'm glad I have been boycotting PC for years. Their products are expensive and I don't feel as if they are of good quality.
Anonymous on 05/14/2008:
The OP is concerned that PC is lying about the jug's composition and it's health hazards. The OP intimates that he/she is 'a government employee'. Frankly, the jug is far less potentially harmful.
Ponie on 05/14/2008:
yoke, 'They can not prove it is a safe product.' However, the poster can't prove it's an *unsafe* product. She claims to be 'and(sic) educated citizen,' yet did she do any research as done by Dr. Who? Did she go to the site recommended by PC? I think not. Give it up, chiklit3. You're beating a dead horse.

Ghost--good one. Wasn't it R. Reagan who said the ten most feared words are 'I'm from the government and I'm here to help you?' Those words still hold true to this day.
Anonymous on 05/14/2008:
OK cherpep, maybe a passive threat wasn't the intention of the PC rep - after re-reading it, it sounds more like a dare when the OP advised the rep that they would post the emails out on the net that show the complete disregard to the OP's safety concerns and the PC rep responded with "I suppose it would be a matter of whom to believe at this point."
I'm with yoke - If I purchase a product and later become concerned about the safety of the product - no matter how long of a time period has passed, and I contact the company for more information, I expect to get that information, not the runaround

Slimjim on 05/14/2008:
It's a plastic pitcher for gawd's sake, and an over 1 year old one at that. Because the poster has some reasoning to deduct it may have an incredible remote chance of being unhealthy, regulating authorities have not labeled it as such. Therefore, Pampered Chef has no obligation to accept a returned based on such. If OP feels uncomfortable with it, that is certainly a prerogative. It is at this point time to just throw the thing out. Again, it is just a plastic pitcher (which btw, we have a few of these things and they are nice as pitchers go).
cherpep on 05/14/2008:
I agree with slim.
chiklit3 on 06/20/2008:
1. My concern in posting this for you was not so much about the product, but about the evasiveness of the company/rep. These emails were the result of 4 emails and actually were from two different reps.
2. I did not ask for my money back. Asking to return an item does not mean you want a refund. As I said, the rep moved out of state and I was not given a receipt. An exchange would have been acceptable, but the issue was COMPOSITION of product.
3. Did I go to the website directed to (www.plasticsindustry.org) and you suppose that is a website of honest information about plastics? Mostly it is about trade shows and links to other websites. Regardless, my going to that website does not indicate if I am educated or not, nor did it answer the question about the composition.
4. What do people store in these containers? Water? Probably not. I used them for my tea. Normally, tea is brewed (hot) and poured over ice. Even Kool-Aid has trouble dissolving in cold water, and my habit is to dissolve in a small amount of hot water first.
5. By indicating that I am a government employee was not intended to be threatening; however there will always be those who feel threatened by that. I have taken disability claims for the government for over 8 years (with a heart). I have seen 4 a year old child with a large brain tumor, and a 12 year old girl with ovarian cancer this year, among the hundreds of others (yes hundreds-I take 5-8 claims a day). I have also seen a very large increase in overall cancers. I have no answers. I have my best judgment and choices.
For those of you who will need my help when filing your own or a loved ones' claim for disability benefits and feel like the government is against you, get over yourself. No one likes a bad attitude. I do my job to help those in need, and I am good at it.
Thanks for reading! Stay well!
grandmomG on 08/04/2008:
I have used PC products for about 20 years. I have the first quick stir pitcher they came out with. They now have an improved version. I have used this pitcher since my kids were young and have had no ill effects from it. The poster is a government employee who works for the SS department as that is where disability claims go to be determined if the SS will give you a check and so called medical. They mention stories of the heartbreaking kind but fails to mention the ones that have to fight to get SS disability for health issues like pulmonary embolism aka blood clot in the lung. However as a "government employee" and "an educated person", I would think that they would have faith in the Government they work for. The FDA is a Government Agency that looks out for our health as well and have pulled drugs and other things out of the consumer market considered unsafe. PC has standards that meet or exceed the FDA regulations and do look out for the health and safety of people. It is a people oriented company in which the consultants personally use the products too. They are not trying to get me to buy something they don't use themselves. I have even been at shows where the consultant would tell individuals about products they don't care for and why. I have as much faith and maybe more in the safety of PC products as I do in any product I buy including the foods I buy and consume. There are health hazards greater in some of the foods you buy then in the products you prepare them in whether they come from PC or some department store.
Baxtersmom on 08/10/2008:
I would like to see how another company selling a similar product would reply.
I have not had any issues with the Pampered Chef. I own many of their products. If I have had issues they have been great in helping me fix them.
Starlord on 02/09/2010:
The ten most frightening words in the English language are: "I'm from the government and I'm here to help you." I saw nothing evasive about PC's answers. I know of no comapny that reveals what it's products are constructed of. That is proprietary information, and the reason for industrial espionage. It sounds like youprocess claims for SSDI. I got my leg busted up by a former marine, and had to fight the SSA for three years after the doctors who worked on my leg pronounced me to be totally disabled. Maybe you were the one who told me I should be able to go back to being a deputy sheriff, although in Arizona, to be a police officer, you must be able to run a mile and a half in thirteen minutes or less. I can't run a mile and a half in thirteen DAYS. I would also say that since the pitcher is over a year out of warranty, pitch it out if you are so concerned. I wish you luck, but remember the biblical admonition about motes and beams.
Ron Low on 07/04/2013:
New version is for HOT stuff too.

If the old one didn't have a problem, I wonder why they made a new one that expressly claims that it's good with hot liquids.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Misleading Sales Information
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- At a Christmas holiday event, I bought a couple of items from Pampered Chef. I received a receipt for $114.47. After receiving the merchandise, including a free item, I decided to return the items for a refund. I packaged everything in the original packaging and returned everything including the free item.

My credit card account was charged $116.64 and my refund was $98.29 even though the receipt clearly indicated that the shipping was only $5.25. After four back and forth emails, a final phone call reiterated the fact that (1) Pampered Chef would not refund any more money and (2) their representative had misled me into thinking that (i) the shipping was $5.25 and (ii) miscalculated my receipt (although the math is correct).

This outfit is breaking the law and probably making a nifty profit by both overcharging and under-refunding.

Never again...
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Cheap Products Made in China With Cheap Labor
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
Just about like any of these home party marketing schemes Pampered Chef comes in at the bottom of the pile for low quality, overpriced junk made in China. Little of it is actually made in the U. S.A.

I purchased a vegetable peeler recently. You can tell it is cheaply made by the feel. A better one can be had at Walmart for about 1/4th the price. All of the stoneware is overpriced and again can be purchased at Walmart for 1/2 or better. Stay away from Pampered Chef junk.

Premier Jewelry is another rip-off with junk jewelry made in China. The markup is tremendous with at least 4 levels of sales people getting a big chunk of the markup. Stay away from home party junk.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 05/14/2012:
I have a couple of ice cream scoops in different sizes made by Pampered Chef. I bought them online, not from a home party. They have "Made in China" labels on the bottom, and are stamped "Stainless".

I have had them for 7 years and they work great and are a pleasure to use. I have no idea about the labor used to make them, but I do know that China is a critical player in the world economy.
whythelongfaces on 05/14/2012:
Just because you do not like it doesn't mean others don't. And what does China's labor economy have to do with anything? The same Chinese junk can be found at the Walmart.

I happen to like both PC and PJ. I have several pieces of both, and a closet full of Partylite.
madconsumer on 05/15/2012:
I have several Pampered Chef items, and I am not impressed. the quality is not there.

very helpful review!!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Insensitive Pampered Chef Hostess
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BEL AIR MD, MARYLAND -- Recently a friend of mine hosted a Pampered Chef party and had asked me to attend and buy something from the catalog. While I didn't need anything I had planned on buying a product and attend her party. I am new to the area and thought it might be a good way to make friends outside of work.

Well at the time of the party my father had passed away and was unable to do either for my friend. She was totally sympathetic to what happened and I thought that the issue would have passed. Well it turns out my personal email was passed onto another PC consultant who emailed me and she was informed by my friend that I had changed my mind about ordering from the catalog. She said that although she didn't know the reason it was none of her business. However if I changed my mind and ordered $60 worth of things from her I could get a gift with purchase. (As though I would change my mind after that). I had never changed my mind, I had had every intention to make good on the promise but had to rush out of town to be with my family and couldn't make it back until after the party was over. That was a very insensitive comment to make by a Hostess.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
BigAl on 05/07/2012:
They stated they did not know the reason you were not ordering from the catalog. They merely informed you of the benefits of ordering. I see no reason why you would be offended. With that being said I have no problem with you posting your opinion.
madconsumer on 05/07/2012:
I was never impressed with papmered chef.

very helpful review!!
csi1614636 on 05/08/2012:
Gee Big Al, I guess you didn't read the part where I stated my father died. What should I have done, post pone the funeral so I could go make a purchase off of her catalog. (Rhetorical you don't need to answer that because you know what the correct answer is!)
Bigly on 07/20/2013:
I honestly don't see why you are offended. Something terrible happened so you couldn't make the party. As the consultant stated, she didn't know what had happened, she had just been informed that you'd changed your mind and like a good consultant she was informing you of a deal. For all she knew you thought they were too expensive. She was just doing her job.

I mean unless she was being a snarky idiot in her email (which you didn't say so I don't know) I don't really see why you are offended.

She didn't know your Dad died. It's unreasonable to expect her to treat you like you lost a loved one when she doesn't know. She's not a mind-reader, goodness gracious.
MDW on 07/31/2013:
From WI
My friend, S, hosted a PC showing. Consultant was not returning her emails or ph calls after having a problem with payments. Consultant did not answer my email, called 5 days after saying I wouldn't be getting my order, yet cashed my check that same day. Made an excuse to me saying there had been a tragedy in her family, but told another attendee something else. S. did not get treated v nicely by PC customer service either. When I called, I did not get the run-around. We will file complaints with the Dept of Ag, Trade and Consumer Protection, but not holding my breath.
July, 2013
Close commentsAdd reply
PAMPERED CHEF WASTES MY TIME!
Posted on
ST.LOUIS, MICHIGAN -- I won a kit from the Pampered Chef, then got screwed over big time. Nobody told me I had to pay a fee for not having shows after 3 months even though it's a "go at your own pace" type of job. LIARS and you have to submit at least $150 for it to count...want to know what your commission is off of $150? barely $80. BULL CRAP! They don't tell you that stuff when you sign up.

Every time I bought something, it broke, and when a customer bought something and it broke, I called and they asked how it broke, I said it was unknown because she put it in the dishwasher, and then the paint chipped off the stainless steal pan after one wash. they said she shouldn't put it in the dishwasher...OK then don't put DISH WASHER SAFE ON THE PAN!

So bottom line...don't work with them, and don't buy from them.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
redmx3racer on 01/12/2012:
$80 commission on only $150 in sales? That's over 50% commission.
I have a lot of Pamp-Chef stuff, and have never had any issues at all. Interesting, I always thought the stuff was over priced....now I know why.
momsey on 01/12/2012:
I got to say, $80 commission on $150 in sales is really good. Is it really that high???
trmn8r on 01/12/2012:
I'd like to know more details about how this program works, for example how the important details of being charged unless a show is given every 3 months were left out of the literature.

Also, what "submitting $150 and only getting $80 commission" are. On the surface, that commission sounds great, but maybe I'm not reading it right.

I can well understand the issue of your customers experiencing finish failure in the dishwasher causing major complaints, if the product is labelled "dishwasher safe". That's just wrong.
MonkeyHead on 01/12/2012:
The high commission sounds like it is an intro rate, designed to encourage newly signed up people. You'll find companies like Avon and Amway do the same things. Afterward, the commissions fall to a more realistic level.
JayByJay on 01/12/2012:
You get over 50% commission? LUCKY! Everyone else gets their easy to find before signing up 20% commission.
At Your Service on 01/13/2012:
I thought the same thing as everyone else. Why would one complain about such a high commission rate?
jktshff1 on 01/13/2012:
That's better than 50%! Mine range from 3-10%.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >