Princess - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
27 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Avoid Princess Cruises - They Will Change Your Cabin Without Notification
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- Avoid Princess Cruises. We booked cabins next to each other and they changed the cabins around when we were boarding without notifying us. I took the 12 day Mediterranean cruise from Barcelona to Venice with my family. We booked our cruise 7 months in advance to have cabins next to each other. When we boarded, they put me in a cabin far away from the others in our reservation. They said that they were overbooked and you aren’t guaranteed the cabin that you reserve.

They also nickel and dime you throughout the cruise. We were charged a $400 gratuity at the end of our cruise. It was a terrible experience. Avoid Princess.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
John Nicholson on 2013-09-04:
I can understand your frustration at the cabin assignments. Because they were overbooked, they couldn't care less about pleasing you, even tho someone messed up. As for the $400 gratuity, you must remember that this is not required and is something they like to tack on in the expectation that you will just pay it and shut up, regardless of the service you have received during the cruise. I never pay this fee and take care of those crew members who gave excellent service personally, in cash at the end of the cruise. Why would anyone reward everyone equally when all did not provide equal service. Just refuse to pay it if you are unhappy with them. Remember this for the next cruise you take.
azRider on 2013-09-04:
I think the travel docs you get from all cruises say they have the option to move your cabin assignments. I don't think its just Princess. I also think its normal for adding tips for larger parties that booked together. I'm pretty sure if you read your documents you'll see that.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Princess Offered Promotion to the Customer but Had Not Stand Behind Their Promise
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LOS ANGELOS, CALIFORNIA -- So often Princess offers promotions to promote sales of occupancy.
Discount prices are advertised by Cruses.com and many others contractors.

As soon the payment received by Princess they are in position to control the customer. No company is willing to confirm any deals by email. Customer has no chance other than trust the company that informed that the conversation is being recorded. After time passes Princess offered balcony for additional charge. Way to make money and get the sale. I call it Princess failed the customer. As everybody we are looking for the best deal. There is nothing wrong use a coupon or offered saving Is it?
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
At Your Service on 2012-11-20:
If I might be able to fill in some blanks.

This is where someone suggested they might be able to upgrade you to a balcony free; the offer never coming to fruition.

I would never take something not put in writing as a "guarantee".

Exactly who was the transaction made with?
trmn8r on 2012-11-20:
Yes, this sounds like a "free balcony upgrade" situation, since it was the only specific mentioned.

As AYS suggests, it needs to be in writing before payment. An offer to do it later isn't to be trusted as a guarantee.
boooo on 2012-11-21:
tickets had been purchased threw Princess captain gold club sales on line. We had been affirmed by sales that upgrade to balcony or mini suite will be done after 2 weeks and we had been told to call for confirmation. We did so but Princess asked for more time. But after many calls we been told that saleslady made a mistake. Is it our problem? specially many contractors still run this promotion plus offer a free bottle of wine and prices are down bellow what we had been charged. What is people opinion? Would you deal with Princess Cruises?
boooo on 2012-11-22:
Princess Cruises Promotion for balcony or mini suite supposed to be our guarantee.. The question is when it will be provided by Princess Cruises.
So far no respond from company who promised or used a trick on the customer just to make the sale of 2 cabins.
Thank you.
Ilia
boooo on 2012-11-24:
No respond from Princess Cruises affirms they care after the customer before you make a payment only.Princess Cruises shown ignorance to customer complain and promotion for stateroom upgrade it only for a reason to brig the customer . Sound as false verbal advertising they promise only done to attract and misled the customer. Shame Princess Cruises. We thought you can be trusted
boooo on 2012-11-26:
Princess Cruises does not respond to consumer concerns. Looks as they cannot handle so many unsatisfied customers Looks as their business going down the drain. Customers talk.
boooo on 2012-12-08:
We are very frustrated as Princess Cruises still refused to stand by their promotion upgrade to balcony or mini suite unless we pay additional fee.
As additional fee was not part of original promise to be able to sell fair for 2 cabins. Our complains to Princess cruises CEO have been deleted without any explanation for the reason to charge additional fare fee for promotion,except additional revenue for Princess Cruises. Advertising by the company to BBB to provide exceptional service to the customer is a fraud
As per review it is a common way by Princess Cruises to handle promotions to the customers.So far nobody stand behind to honer Princess Cruises
promise.We hope still there is time to stand behind the company that was trusted by us in the past. Any respond Princess.We are booked for Panama canal from LA on December 15/2012
Thank you for your attention
Ilia
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
The Grand Princess - Never again!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
We have just concluded our first experience of cruising with Princess cruises and, what a big disappointment. The staff on the floor were very pleasant but the corporate policies were bordering on outrageous. On the first day of our cruise, they had not reserved a table for our anniversary celebration and it took an hour and a half to find an alternative. On the second day of our cruise, we received a threatening phone call from the Customer Services Manager threatening to block out cruise card for our entire trip because we had challenged a tip for a drink we had had to fetch ourselves. The food was cold, even the pork giving concerns over health and safety. Everything was about money, money, money. Never again. Were're going with Fred Olsen next year.
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Grand Princess Rip Off
Posted by on
SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- On a 2 wk cruise to S Carrib recently the disruptions expected due to impending drydock were much worse than expected. Paint and varnish odors were apparent, deck railing being removed with torches, large areas of the ship unavailable to passengers, several floods, many electrical issues, hallways littered with construction debris, game room closed, casino closed last 3 nights, false alarm calls to cabins necessitating lifejacket/muster area visits...Corporate in a phone call says that they are offering no compensation. This following a letter and many phone calls. The only action we can take now is NOT to book with Princess ever again and to make sure that potential passengers are aware of the attitude of this company following a very bad decision.

By the way, their coffee-made from some sort of liquid- is HORRENDOUS, and always has been.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2011-04-16:
I looked around for 15 minutes to see what others are saying. Basically, frequent cruisers say to expect small things to go wrong and be fixed, and otherwise have a nice time.

From your description, it sounds like they got an early start on the most major makeover since this ship set sail - the 3 week drydock you mentioned, which began on April 11. Sounds like their opinion is that the inconveniences do not merit compensation.

It will be interesting to see if other cruisers complain - I didn't see any other complaints from the last few weeks.
Close commentsAdd reply
Birthday Cruise
Posted by on
CALIFORNIA -- I booked Princess Cruises for a Bermuda & Eastern Caribbean cruise from Brooklyn. I had been an RCCL only cruises guy the past 10 cruises but had trouble on the very nice Explorer Of The Seas. I won't go into it but it was never really resolved let me just say that. Anyway The Caribbean Princess is a big ship with a Yacht feel to me. From the moment I boarded, I was really not to say impressed because the centrum or Piazza on Princess is small and low 3 decks to RCCL's like 15 high atrium, rather I guess you would say comfortable and at home. I found my way to my cabin and was allowed in immediately. The dining rooms are one level, RCCL is at least two levels and very large majestic like spaces! So not really impressed. Now about impressed "THE FOOD" and I'm all about food it was wonderful! The Horizon is the equivalent of Windjammer on RCCL. Only it is larger as I can tell. It is offering a great selection of really as I say to coin a phrase CFF or "cared for food". Everything is fresh from the bread and rolls to the home-style meats and sauces. Pizza well better than I had in NY or Chicago (everything is great in Chicago though). I mean this is really their claim to fame the ship is all about great food. Oh it is a great ship. Really a brilliantly designed vessel because we really didn't move around a lot and there were some heavy rollers I'll tell you. I could point out that the outside carpet was rough on deck 15 or that the sofa in the Sky Walker was a bit worn and stained but overall the ship was very clean and nice with a real sense of class. They even sent me a birthday card via e-mail on my bd. They were low aggravation on the debarking and life jacked drill. Very orderly! I was pretty depressed when RCCL and I went our separate ways for a bit maybe longer. I was no longer angry with them because I had a soft landing here at Princess. I will say that they must repair the HVAC I was hot at times and that should not be. However the food and movies under the stars made up for it! My cabin was nice though no over head roof outside, looked straight up after exiting my sliders on deck 9. No privacy but the room was a mini suite, quite large and clean. The cabin attendant was wonderful and always at the ready to help if called on the phone. The TV programming was good not many repeats some good movies and that is different from RCCL. Both lines have good and bad points but the FOOD really blew away the competition here. This was my only Princess cruise until perhaps October.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2010-07-07:
I really liked cruising on Crown Princess myself, and would do it again. I was in a balcony stateroom with a private balcony, and yes the food was great.

lancer2 on 2010-07-08:
I made myself hungry talking about the Caribbean Princess! Especially the Pizza wow!
Close commentsAdd reply
Beware of Travel Protection, all Carnival Lines
Posted by on
Below is the content of a letter sent to the President, VP Sales, and VP Marketing. They flatly refused to consider my situation. This is just a warning of what to expect from them. Since they are owned by Carnival, I would expect other Carnival properties to be the same. Carnival owns: Carnival, Holland America, Cunard, Yachts Seabourn, Costa, P&O, Ocean Village, Adia, and Iberocruises.

My wife and I became semi retired from our business in 2007. We have always enjoyed traveling and have visited about forty plus countries. Up to this time we have used other travel mechanisms. In 2007, friends invited us to join them on a cruise via Princess to the Amazon in Brazil. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and have since then, taken regular cruises. We have been averaging about three trips per year, usually to more unusual destinations. All of our cruises have been on Princess. All cruises have been booked with the cruise line travel department. We have been loyal customers, having achieved your Platinum level in 2008. We are healthy and enjoy extensive travel when time and resources permit.
On March 31, 2009 we signed up for a trip to the Holy Land, departing Rome on May 8th. On April 8th, I suffered a serious injury to my eye (detached and severely torn retina), which prevented me from travel. I contacted Delta Airlines and they immediately said they would provide us with a voucher for the full amount which could be redeemed for up to one year, no restrictions. The only requirement was a letter from my physician stating the circumstances. When I contacted Princess, they informed me that I could obtain only a fifty percent refund based on the departure date because we had not purchased travel insurance. I responded that I have not seen the need for such insurance because of our good health and lifestyle. I pointed out our ongoing loyalty to Princess and to frequent travels. In fact, your marketing department contacted me, asking permission to quote some of my comments about our Baltic cruise. My request to Customer Services was to no avail. It was quite a disappointment that Princess was not as considerate as Delta.
I have no legal dispute with Princess. I am aware of your insurance offering. However, given our past relationship and usage of Princess, I feel some additional consideration should be provided. Think about it. If your course of action would be like Delta’s, feelings would be different. We definitely would travel during 2009 on another Princess trip. Princess would be ahead almost $3,000 and we would be happy and loyal customers! Given the Princess Customer Service Department's response, that is now not the case.
We would like to have the situation handled in a manner similar to Delta’s. Their handling of the matter just makes good customer relations sense. It is a win-win situation for both parties. As a businessman, I like those kinds of outcomes.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2009-09-28:
So you wanted the consideration of those who buy insurance without buying insurance? Delta didn't do anything they normally do. The ticket is valid for 1 year from issue date for a future flight (even if you didn't use it because you didn't want to). It sounds like all they did was waive the change fee (if that, you'll see when you try and rebook the ticket.)

Princess is not Delta and is not required to be "considerate". They are a business and their goal is to make money. Now you know why you should buy insurance even if you are in good health.
jktshff1 on 2009-09-28:
Why would you expect to be an exception to the rules? Apparently, they have done a good job taking care of you in the past. You don't have a leg to stand on. At "retirement age" or any age, anything can happen...that what insurance is for. Buying insurance is making a bet. They are betting something is going to happen, you are betting it ain't.
Eloise on 2009-09-28:
Why would you spend all that money on a trip and not purchase travel insurance? You hedged that there wouldn't be any problems, but there were. You gambled and lost. Should every other 'platimum level member' be able to do the same thing? As a business man I'm sure you can see that every successful business must have consistent rules.
Anonymous on 2009-09-28:
If I had not seen the need for car insurance since I am a safe driver and never needed it before, I Would have been responsible for an accident I had a few years ago. Instead, lo and behold, my insurance paid because I BOUGHT it JUST IN CASE.

OP, while I am sorry you got injured, and sorry you missed your trip, I feel no sympathy for you in regards to the refund policy. Anytime you book through a travel agency, you are offered insurance. You CHOSE to decline. You do not get to have the benefit of a service you declined simply because it turned out you needed it after all. That is why it is called INSURANCE. It is a MAYBE policy JUST IN CASE the unthinkable happens.
jktshff1 on 2009-09-28:
Lady, Eloise....+10
Anonymous on 2009-09-28:
Thanks jk. I thought that was kind of common sense lol.
Mrs. V on 2009-09-28:
I'm very sorry about your injury. Missing a cruise is never any fun.

But, no cruise line, anywhere, will refund your money (or give a voucer) for a missed/delayed cruise *without* insurance.

That is what insurance is for. You really can't expect a cruise line to 'bend the rules' for you even if you were planing on another cruise with them.

Please take this as a learning experance and always buy insurance for any travel you do.

Travel insurance also covers you if you have an accident while traveling. It covers medivac and hospital. Also covers doctors and dentists.

It covers delays with flights and missing suitcases, too.

It is VERY worth it.
Close commentsAdd reply
Beware of Princess Air
Posted by on
Beware of Princess Cruises. Once they get your money you are on your own. They couldn't care less whether you ever make the cruise ship. We had booked a 28 day cruise on the Tahitian Princess departing from Papeete Tahiti on Dec. 19, 2008 and arriving in Ft. Lauderdale on Jan. 14, 2009. Due to weather, our NW flight from Detroit to LA was delayed 2 ½ hours and arrived after our connecting flight to Papeete had departed. We called Princess and they were absolutely no help. We were told that we were responsible for making our own arrangements to catch the ship. We flew to Tahiti the next morning arriving 12 ½ hours after the Tahitian Princess had sailed for Moorea and ½ hour before she departed for Bora Bora. There were no seats available on commercial flights to Bora Bora, the last port we could possibly catch the ship before it sailed for South America. If we were on our own, we would have had to abandon our dream cruise and forfeit the $19,000 + we already had invested. Princess could have cared less as they already had our money and their Princess Gold Travel Insurance does not cover this as a trip cancellation. Fortunately for us there were 11 other Princess clients (2.0% of the total 640 booked passengers) who also found themselves in the same predicament.

We were able to join together and charter an Air Tahiti at $1115 each to fly the 13 of us to Bora Bora in time to catch the ship. When we returned home we filed a claim for our $2600 hotel, meal and additional air travel expenses with Princess Gold Travel Insurance. We were only reimbursed $500 each per their trip delay policy which merely represented a refund of our insurance premium. We appealed to Alan Buckeley, CEO of Princess.

In their response letters Princess basically claims no responsibility for anything even though they made the transportation arrangements. It is buyer beware when dealing with Princess Cruises.
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2009-03-26:
You're responsible for your own travel arrangements. You have to take into consideration delays at the airport. Weather delays happen, planes break down, you could get stuck in traffic, etc. You should have flown a day and a half to two days before the cruise
jktshff1 on 2009-03-26:
Yep yaya, this has nothing to do with Princess, but with your own travel arrangements.
"We were told that we were responsible for making our own arrangements to catch the ship." How hard is that to understand. I commend Princess for returning you the monies they did.
















madconsumer on 2009-03-26:
as I understand it, the cruise line has in writting, they are not responsible to get you to the ship. most people arrive the day before or several days before to avoid what you went through.

the cruise line has little to do with your issue, by noit arriving on time. regardless of weather issues or not.
Anonymous on 2009-03-26:
True, Madc..we are driving from Va Beach to Ft Lauderdale **2** days early to catch our cruise, and yes, it's on Princess.
Ben There on 2009-03-26:
I would never fly into a port city the day of a sailing for this very reason. What would you suggest they do? Delay the ship for a day causing all the people who did manage to make it on time to miss return fligths home? Spend 15K to charter the flight themselves because of a snow storm 10,000 miles away? Luckily your insurance covered some of the costs... Consider this a lesson learned.
StrandedinParadise on 2009-03-27:
Thanks for your comments. This is exactly my point. It is too risky to trust Princess Air to book your flights for you. The 13 of us learned this lesson the hard way. Hopefuly those reading this posting and your comments will avoid making this mistake.
Anonymous on 2009-03-27:
If I had spent that kind of money, you can bet your booty that I would have arrived the day BEFORE I needed to be there. I would much prefer a relaxed night in a hotel than what you went through.
Anonymous on 2009-03-27:
Can we say 'booty' here?
Anonymous on 2009-03-27:
Can we say anything here?
Anonymous on 2009-03-27:
Shshhhhh...yaya. Be vewy vewy quiet. They're wistening.
Anonymous on 2009-03-27:
lillian marie on 2009-09-01:
You really need to read all of the small print in the cruise line travel insurance. Most will not pay for the travel to the next port when you miss a flight or the flight is late. We always get to the port the night before we embark on the cruise and spend the night in a hotel because several years ago our flight was late and we almost missed a cruise.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Contracted Norovirus on 4th Day Royal Princess Quarantined for the Rest of the Week.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PORT EVERGLADES, FLORIDA -- It took three weeks for a call from customer relations. I asked and did not receive a refund. If they are not held monetarily responsible what incentive do they have to disinfect their ships?
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Ersatz lemonade
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- It was recently revealed that certain products advertising themselves as '100% juice" were in fact only watered down versions containing 10 to 35 % juice. Princess cruise lines seems to have done them one step better (or worse) by serving "lemonade" which contains ZERO percent juice!
Shouldn't unsuspecting passengers be notified that what they have been told is lemonade is really some sort of, possibly unhealthy, lemonoid chemical cocktail?
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2012-06-16:
A lot of restaurants that serve Coke products serve Minute Maid lemonade, which has so juice in it. I really don't see how this is a valid complaint towards Princess Cruise lines. At the grocery store, a lot of brands of juices actually contain very little juice, or is made up of a juice blend.
Steve-n-NorCal on 2012-06-16:
I can't stand cruises. stuck on a ship with hundreds of boring tourists isn't my idea of a relaxing vacation....
lexophiliac on 2012-06-16:
Ship happens.
That is a question perhaps better addressed by Princess Cruise Lines.
trmn8r on 2012-06-16:
I've never thought of the nutritional value of food on cruise ships - I assumed it was all bad for you. Interesting complaint.
Starlord on 2012-06-17:
I read an article recently about the juice content of various dinks sold commercially. Very few lemonade-style drinks contain any juice. I never figured out why my lemonade contained no lemon, but the dishwashing liquid has real lemon juice. Makes no sense to me, either.
Beanie randy on 2013-09-04:
I also hate cruises, Being stuck on ship in the middle of the ocean. No thanks!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Bed bugs and crappy food
Posted by on
Our cruise departed San Juan going to 12 islands in 14 days.

We noticed bites on out legs the first night...the steward said he'd change the sheets. That did not help, and after talking to adjacent rooms, they all were experiening the same problem.

Our cabin was directly above a dance/bar. Since the ship was full, we were not able to move to another cabin. Princess refused to move at the start ot the 2nd week.

The food was very poor. SO we paid extra to dine at the restaurants...they are very good...just more expensive.

Becareful and ask questions as to rooms above or below you. And ask to have your room disenfected prior to unpacking!!! The bites lasted for weeks after the cruise.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Obsfucation on 2010-09-13:
Disinfecting does nothing to bedbugs, and the scary reality is that you probably brought them home with you. You would be well served to google all the information that you can about them and see if you can head off this problem at the pass.

Like you, my brother went on a cruise (last April) and was exposed to bedbugs. He has had to move out of his house for six weeks while it is treated, and all carpeting, drapery and furniture went into a dumpster.

The problem is epidemic in the U.S. right now, and everyone would do well in learning how to avoid bringing one (that's all it takes) home.
Anonymous on 2010-09-13:
So true.
Six weeks? Wow!
Obsfucation on 2010-09-13:
Yeah, and don't even ask what it costs
Anonymous on 2010-09-13:
Great advice, Obs.

If the bites lasted for weeks after the OP got home, I'd be shocked if they don't have an infestation.

Hopefully the OP contacted Princess directly about this as well.
Anonymous on 2010-09-13:
Are the bites gone now?
Venice09 on 2010-09-13:
I don't think the location of the room mattered or that the dance/bar had anything to do with it. Are you sure the bites are from bed bugs? Did you see any bugs? I think you should have gone to a doctor to confirm the source of the bites and then contacted Princess directly if the bites were indeed from bed bugs. You should check your home, too.
jerseygurl on 2010-12-26:
How gross! I am booked on a princess cruise in a few months snd now I feel like cancelling! what should I do? I don't want to cancel, but we have no insurance! I hope it's not too late to get to get it! does any one have any help?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >