Preview Review

Next Review

Public Storage Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Tamika, Myrna, Rachelle, Derek, Cofill Are Unethical Liars. This Is A Horrible Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BERKELEY, CALIFORNIA -- This company is engaged in unethical practices as they lied and kept sending invoices yet failed to ever send any notices or email or phone messages that there was an auction. The company improperly raised the storage fees and my father who was a disabled veteran had many of his possessions there for over 20 years. He was in the hospital and passed away. The company called to workout something on Tuesday November 15, 2016 and when we replied they never responded.

They send an email on Wednesday morning November 16, 2016 stating that there was an upcoming auction but failed to provide any date, time, etc. Then an hour later their customer service email that the auction had already taken place. This company owes us $1,000's of dollars as the items sold have high value along with many personal items. The company is full of thieves that take advantage of disabled army veterans on their death beds at the VA.

Replies
Advertisement
Unauthorized ACH Withdrawal From My Checking Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN JOSE, CALIFORNIA -- First I want to explain that I do not rent from Public Storage, I have never rented from Public Storage, and I do not have any rental agreement with Public Storage. I AM NOT THEIR CUSTOMER! Somehow Public Storage made an unauthorized ACH withdrawal for $216 from my checking account in May 2016. I did NOT WRITE A CHECK FOR $216 to Public Storage. I filed a fraud report with my bank and they are investigating. So far they tell me that Public Storage had my bank account number and the bank's routing number, and using these numbers Public Storage was able to do a fraudulent withdrawal.

My phone calls and emails to Public Storage customer support have elicited no help at all in this matter. I looked in my files, which I have kept for over 15 years, and found that eleven years ago I sent a check to Public Storage to pay a bill ONE TIME for an acquaintance who had a Public Storage rental unit and a contract with them. (Acquaintance was low on funds, I paid for him) I did not have a rental unit or any contract with Public Storage; I never did, and never will.

It is important to note that eleven years ago my check went to Public Storage directly, not to the person with the rental unit, therefore only Public Storage had my checking account number and routing number. Public Storage kept a copy of my check for ELEVEN (11) years, then in May 2016 used my account number from my old check to withdraw $216 from my checking account. I do not rent from Public Storage, I never have, I have no contract or agreement with them, I do not owe them any money, yet they took $216 from me.

Public Storage should give me an immediate refund, and fire the manager-accountant who performed this fraudulent ACH withdrawal. So far I filed a fraud report with my bank, a police report, and complaints with the Federal Trade Commission and the Consumer Protection Division of the State Attorney General's Office. Still awaiting a resolution.

Replies
Unethical Business Practice!! SCAM!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- I have been a customer with Public Storage (Belleview in Denver) since 2003 (11 years!!!). But, over the last few years, I have been noticing increases in monthly rent without prior notice. Just this past year, December 2013, I received a call from the manager telling me that our things would be auctioned off. I was confused because we pay our monthly bills using the automatic autopay on publicstorage.com, so I called him and he ignored me and even hung up. I called back and was directed to the voicemail box. So, I had to resort to threats. I told him that if our things are auctioned, I will contact a lawyer to sue them.

A few months later, our storage was broken into. Because we paid extra for insurance, they told us that they would do an investigation, but a year later and we have not heard back about that "investigation". Our tires were slashed multiples times here. Recently, the manager called me and told us that our payment was late. So, I did a manual pay online. The next day, we were locked out of our storage and the manager made my dad pay $220 in cash to enter and did not even give him a receipt ( my dad does not speak English).

My dad called me, so I called the manager and told him that we have already paid and even gave him the confirmation number. He ignored this and refused to return the money. I went onto my online account and there were documents online that my dad has paid the $220 in cash. The manager once again hung up on me and was very rude. We have thought about moving storage on multiple occasion, but this location is the most convenient. However, it is not worth the trouble and I will be moving out soon. It is unethical business practice and the people are RUDE when it comes to customer service.

Replies
Horrible Facility, Bad Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TINTON FALLS, NEW JERSEY -- The reason I am writing you is to relate a recent incident involving Public Storage in Shrewsbury. I have been helping my friend, a single woman, who has stored her household items there between moves. After helping her move into the facility, we noticed that the ceiling in the unit seemed to have sustained water damage. We reported this to a rather uncaring maintenance person who was the only one available at the time.

Several days later, the ceiling collapsed on my friend's household items causing some damage and getting her understandably upset. She hired a moving company to remove her things (at great expense with new storage) and I offered to meet the movers at Public Storage to see if I could work something out. The somewhat hostile regional manager (Jeff)who happened to be there informed me that they were not responsible. I asked him if he had another unit so we would not have to incur the cost of moving to a new expensive storage facility.

He showed me a unit right next to the damaged one that had the same ceiling issue and already had water on the floor. When this was pointed out to him, he shrugged and walked away. When I said I was going to call corporate he informed me that I could do so but the complaint would come right back to him. How convenient.

My friend spent $1000 to move to a new (and much sturdier) facility and has incurred more monthly rental fees at the more expensive facility as well. I finally got a hold of a VP at Public (Jim ) and he informed us that he would refund the money for the 5 months of storage rental fees (we only used a few weeks during which the collapse occurred) but would not do anything about the moving fees or increased rent at the new facility. Very disappointing. Horrible facility and really bad customer service.

Replies
Advertisement
Stay Away Rate Increases Public Storage Rude Corporate People!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- Do not rent from these folks. I rented from them for years and they keep raising rent. I got into a fight with corporate greedy people. Do not get sick nor end up in hospital. They want your stuff to auction off and late fees every kind fees, even a fee to pay the bill on telephone. They raise rent in cold months so you're stuck in the cold. From 218$ to 280$, the corp. people suck. They don't care and doesn't return calls. Stay away. You will be sorry with this company.

Horrible people, worse than the people in Bombay. Greedy money hungry people. Ruthless corporate greed. Hope they go bankrupt. Hope the economy tanks and nobody rents with these rude people. Long term customer. Just find any place to rent but Public Storage Rental. You may really be sorry. I'm giving my stuff away to not give nothing to Public Storage. Greedy money hungry rude people. What we experienced, stay away! You have been warned... Thanks!

Replies
Account Management
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

PINEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I previously posted a review under the same title on 9/06/14. I was able to get in contact with the district manage by going to his boss. He called me right away and promised to take care of the problem. My credit card would be credited with the $71 overcharge. That was done but then was re-charged. Huh? It turns out Public Storage paid my next month's payment (the $71) in advance.

When it came time for the auto charge the early payment was applied and I have a $3 credit towards the next month's bill. So, bottom line, it was fixed the way I was told but the problem was fixed. That is what matters. And my stuff wasn't auctioned off as threatened. I have to give Public Storage credit for (eventually) fixing the problem. Better late than never.

Replies
Do not rent from Public Storage, or leave if you already do.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I would like to give a word of warning to any that are considering renting storage space from Public Storage. As a company, they will probably try to draw you in to renting with them using some offer that seems pretty reasonable at the start. Then, every 6 months to a year down the line, they'll bump up the rate, citing market rate as the reason. I will note that their idea of market rate is not based on the competition in the area, but on what they feel like they can get away with charging.

Public Storage claims to give 30 days written notice of increases of the charge and any fees, but I have only ever received notification by email very shortly before that increased charge was due. On top of this, if you do not pay the increased amount by the 6th of the month, they will lock you out of the area where your items are stored until you are up to current, including any increases to charges or late fees that they have made in this manner. In short, you have lost access to any of your items past this point unless you pay their increased charges.

I first started storing items in a 10' x 15' unit with Public Storage in February 2009, with an initial rate of $96.90 from their advertising. What their advertising did not mention is that the $96.90 was listed in their system as a discounted rate, but with a higher rate already in their system.

Since this time, I have had my rates increased progressively over the years I've been with them to a current rate of $161.00 per month, and a late fee that increased from the one listed in the contract of $20.40 to the current late fee of $32.20. The only notification of increases I've ever received from them on the increases to rental rate have been by email, and no notifications of an increase to the late fees until they've come up.

It is possible that this lack of notifications is because of some break in their system. Perhaps there is a flaw that doesn't update the mail address for notifications, even if you update it in their system. If so, this is still a problem. I've called a few times on their corporate line just to make sure my information was current. It is, but this has made no difference in receiving any sort of notifications.

To give you a better idea of just how much of an increase this is, I have had my rates on the rental go up by over 66 percent since 2009. This is 66 percent increase over 5 years. The late fees have apparently also increased since 2009, though in this case, the increase is a little over 58 percent. All told, I'm paying two thirds more than when I started this thing, all because Public Storage felt they could get away with charging it.

When I checked other companies in the same area, the rate for the same size storage unit is currently between about $90.00 to $130.00. None of them came close to what Public Storage claims is market rate. Public Storage claims that market rate is somewhere around $178.00 in that area, even though they list a lower rate for new customers.

Public Storage figures they can increase the rate each year, as they figure most people will just pay the extra rather than dealing with the hassle of moving their stuff back out. And for those that can't pay the increases, well, Public Storage has some hefty lien handling and sale fees that they add on as well, taking those and the additional rent and late fees they'll also charge on the items that can't be recovered until they get paid. Those fees come out of the proceeds they get by selling whatever is in that storage unit.

If for some reason the sale doesn't make their total of fees, Public Storage will still charge you the additional amounts, too. What this means: If you are late in paying, and you are unable to catch back up, YOU WILL LOSE YOUR ITEMS, and you will be charged more for the privilege of letting them sell off the contents of your storage unit for them to collect on those inflated fees.

Short form of this, stay well away from Public Storage. They are a greedy company out to gouge you for as much money as they feel they can get out of you, with a particular Target painted on long term customers. If you've been with Public Storage for years, they figure you will pay whatever they insist is the rate rather than moving. If you must use a storage place, do not use Public Storage. Stay far clear of this company for your own good. Tell your friends to stay away. Tell companies to stay away. Share this message on social media, in your email lists, on your corporate newsletter.

Let Public Storage know that they can not treat customers like this in the only way that they will listen to, by reducing their profits. Take away their paycheck, because they certainly haven't earned it. Don't rent with them. If you are already renting with them, find a way to stop using storage, or go to another storage company. It will be worth it. Stay with them, and you'll find yourself wondering why you didn't listen.

Replies
Deceptive Business Practices and Horrible Dispute Resolution System
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDMONDS, WASHINGTON -- I strongly caution anybody considering using this company, at this location (Hywy 99 in Edmonds) or anywhere else. The on-site facility managers (at least at this location) are pleasant enough, but they do not give accurate information about the financial end of things and/or are not themselves supplied with up-to-date information, so that you may easily end up with substantial unanticipated expenses, and good luck trying to get anybody at their billing or collections offices to handle the situation.

Last November, I took over a unit from a family member who had allowed it it to become seriously delinquent. I was told how much was owing on it, and assured that if it was cleaned out by the end of the month, there would be no further charges on it. In fact, I was told that if it was cleaned out by the 6th of the following month, all that would be owed was a proration on December's rent.

I paid the balance and cleaned it out by the end of the month (the 29th, actually). I went in to the office to let the on-site manager know it was now vacant and unlocked. I asked him if there was anything that needed to be signed to confirm that, and he assured me, not once but three times, that everything was complete and there would be no further charges. On the same day, I also emailed the contact email address from the company's website, again confirming that I had vacated as of the end of November.

In early December, I received a bill for December rent. I called the local office and left a detailed message confirming I had vacated at the end of November; I asked for a call-back if there was any question about it. I assumed that perhaps the December billing had gone out before the November 29th vacancy had been recorded, and when I didn't hear anything back, nor receive any follow-up billing, I assumed it had been taken care of.

Then in January, I received a call from a collection agency, saying the December bill had been assigned to collections. From there, it has been an ongoing hassle. The first live person I was able to reach said I had been charged because of a "slow" vacating. But she couldn't explain how vacating completely in November could result in December charges. The next person I spoke with said that the unit was a "pay at the end of the month" unit, so the very substantial amount I had paid earlier in the month had not included the charges for November.

Of course, this is directly opposite to what I was told by the on-site unit manager when I came in to pay: He assured me several times that the $800+ in charges I was paying covered everything through the end of November, including all delinquencies, and he even waived a part of one of the late charges, and assured me that if I vacated by the end of that month, there would be no further charges.

So either he lied or the collections office is lying, or one or both are incompetent, but so far I've spend almost two hours on the phone trying to get this resolved, with absolutely zero progress and a likely serious hit to my excellent credit score. The collections office number isn't answered by live operators, and invites you to call customer service for "immediate assistance."

After spending 15 minutes explaining the situation to customer service, she said she couldn't do anything about it, and offered to transfer me to the collections office, which, of course, still had no live operators. After leaving a message, I did get a prompt call back, but another 15 minutes of explanation was met with the bizarre story that what I had paid in November, supposedly all charges through the end of the month, didn't include the November rent, and I'd have to talk to the District Manager. Calling the number she gave me got me a staff directory that did not include the name she gave me.

After calling back three times and choosing three random names from the directory I finally got a live person who said he was in a "different department" and promised to email the district manager to call me, but claimed not to have his email address and was going to have to get it from somebody else. One run-around after another. If you need storage, be aware you are taking major chances with your wallet, your credit score and your schedule by doing business with Public Storage. My advice: Don't do it.

Replies
Advertisement
Unethical Practices by Public Storage
By -

CALIFORNIA -- Upon going to a public storage facility to set up storage for my household belongings I was somewhat taken back by their ethical practices or lack thereof. When initially meeting the site manager he showed me the facilities and the sizes which was OK. However, he took me to what seemed to be the worst storage unit in his facility. It was old and musty and smelled of mold. He seemed pretty unhappy when I asked him if he had any other units for rent.

After finding a unit which fit my needs and didn't smell of must we began to fill out the paperwork. To my surprise the first month was only 1 dollar. Being that moved in at the end of the month he prorated the current month and only charged me 1 dollar for the second month. However, he had done the same and stated to me that Insurance was Mandatory as well as having to purchase their over priced locks which they have for sale. I reviewed the contract and asked him specifically about the requirements for moving out. He simply stated that I just needed to give him a 48 hours notice prior to vacating the unit.

After a few months of using the unit I move out on the 12th of the month ensuring that I give the manager his 48 hours. I showed him it was clean and ready for the next tenant. He takes me to his front counter, gathers some information and done. I ask him about a refund since I am only using the unit for half a month and that they prorated my first month moving in so they should prorate me for moving out.

Of course he says he cannot give me a refund and that if I had informed them on the 1st of the month they would have prorated my rent for that month and given me a refund. Well that didn't sit well with me considering that he specifically told me that all he required was a 48 hour notice in order to move out.

I was furious that I was losing out on the hard earned money I had worked for just so that they can keep it. So I called customer service and informed them of what had happened and they referenced the contract which I had signed that I will contact the public storage on the 1st of the month if I plan on terminating service so they can prorate my payment required for that month and that failure to do so is a forfeiture the left over amount.

I believe that Public Storage managers need be tested for ethics as well as properly informing their clients of the move in and out procedures. To me what this manager had done was very shady and unethical and probably occurs to other consumers as well. Also, if they can prorate the rent for my moving in to a storage unit then why can they not prorate me for moving out? Seems like a crime to me.

Replies
Unauthorized Withdrawals - A "Mafia" Organization: Public Storage Inc.
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- The following is the verbatim version of my video clip on YouTube I'd posted and placed a link yesterday. Several years ago I started to rent from Public Storage Inc. Shoreline, WA. Along with my household, family heirlooms, my birth certificate, my art and art supplies, keys to my home, my address, my signature, my social security number, the title to my car, private medical documents, practically my life.

I put everything into storage to focus on my health. My bills were paid as initially arranged by the 10th of each month. On a few occasion I was late. I always paid all of the late and lien fees, even when they caused them. I was too sick to rebuttal w/ a large company like that. This time I am determined to "defend"€ myself. I hope w/ this video clip to reach others out there who either had the same or similar experiences w/ Public Storage Inc. and united our complaints lead to an investigation of Public Storage Inc.'€™s punitive, mafia or camorra like business practices and someone levies heavy fines against them in the thousands upon thousands of dollars.

Here is my last experience w/ Public Storage Inc.: On September 1st I noticed at my bank that my negative balance was caused by Public Storage Inc.'€™s UNAUTHORIZED withdrawal of funds -of an already paid unit for the month of August 2009- I almost got a nervous breakdown. On August 27 they took amounts $254 & $267, causing not only 2 fees of $ 35 for each amount, but subsequently additional fees like for charges for 5 Lattes, now each at ~$40, and the fees of other places I drank or ate. The bank's assistant manager called the PS's national telephone contact number on my behalf because I was too distressed.

A female voice told us apologetically that there was a computer glitch in their system that caused the withdrawals of numerous credit cards and I have to contact the District Manager ** to get the charges reversed. We immediately called that # she gave us and left a message urging the amount to be immediately reversed. I called the following days on several occasions w/o being able to reach the District manager in person.

5 days later I received a call from District Manager **. He offered no apology, additional explanation or proper customer service. Instead I was receiving conflicting answers -no he was attacking me verbally! I began to inform District Manager ** that I incurred additional fees to the ones Public Storage Inc. had caused but he interrupted and accused me of having made the payment online myself. I told him that since <5 yrs I make my payments on the 10th latest on a regular basis.

He then attempted to explain "cookies" to me, insisting that "€œcookies"€ (!) in my computer are responsible for the payment!! Was this a joke? His attitude and demeanor stuck me as rude, and extremely un-professional. I stated to District Manager ** that if no valid explanation as well as a reversal of the amount they unauthorized took and the fees they'™d caused could be provided then I would be contacting his Superiors. He laughed.

I added I would also talk to the Seattle Police Department and my Banks Fraud department. District Manager ** then said, "€œMaybe if you paid your bills on time, then you would not have this problem."€ Instantly I felt humiliated, disrespected and embarrassed at his utterly ridiculous and offensive comment. I tried to hold back the tears that began to form... when I stated to District Manager ** that he was to never comment to a customer of their timely payment in that fashion. He then offered no apology again, and repeated the offensive comment for the second time!

Adding the possibility of my property being auctioned off. Above all, District Manager ** does not have any insight into my personal or financial stability. I have NEVER been so embarrassed and mortified by an individual that works for a business in which I am paying for services.

The next weeks I spend making calls to contact numbers published or given to me by the national telephone contact # 1-800-688-8057. Many #s were consistently incorrect and then all I got were various additional #s and very limited voice-mail menus. There's no way to reach a person, #s had changed, names I was given were not in the Company'™s directory, that specific office I was trying to reach had now moved to Oregon etc. At one point I started to leave my complain and contact at every phone# I was directed to.

On September 25 @ 9:52 I received a call from a female voice @ Public Storage Inc. that they will return $ 254 back into my account. My questions in regards to the fees they caused were not only ignored but she just hung up the phone on me. On September 28 2009 Public Storage Inc. returned $ 254. I was left w/ not only the fees to pay at my Bank, Starbucks, and OliveYou but ironically accrued additional fees for the storage units I am renting from Public Storage Inc.

Time was of the essence here, because the rent is due latest by the 10th of each month to avoid late charges, lien fees etc. Instead Public Storage Inc. handled this matter in particular w/ extreme time delay, no responsiveness and thus using their punitive practices to their benefit, while trying to bury the fact of unauthorized and untimely charges they initiated and being able to do so when de facto w/ the CORRECT option of "œone time payment" (which I regularly used) they should have never be able to do.

On October 8th The Fraud Department of Chase Bank informed me as long I am still customer of Public Storages Inc. they cannot investigate it as fraud. Go figure! Seattle Police stated I am watching too much CSI and they would not check or compare IP-addresses of who instigated payments and since my debit card was used to pay my storage unit, it is more of harassment than crime. They suggested going to small claims court instead.
. Something is very wrong here! Since over one month I am drowning in fees I didn't cause, surviving almost penniless and now @ the risk losing everything I have, while having wasted valuable time focusing mainly on Public Storages Inc. to get this last matter resolved the right way. I was hoping that once my treatment is completed successfully I would reunite w/ my belongings. They are all what I've left from a healthy and happy life.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Public Storage Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.6 out of 5, based on 54 ratings and
94 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Public Storage
P.O. Box 25050
Glendale, CA 91221-5050
1-800-567-0759 (ph)
www.publicstorage.com
Compare Moving/Relocation Companies