Public Storage - Page 2

Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.7 out of 5, based on 52 ratings and
92 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Taking Responsibility
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 2/51

WARREN, MICHIGAN -- I am a STRONG believer in paying your bills. No free ride. I have an issue with trying to do this and still getting screwed. First month ...gave my credit card information to set up auto pay at the local office. Credit card was breached. Had to cancel card. Next couple of months, took check to the office myself.

This is Michigan and we had a horrible winter this year so I didn't go there every month to put things in my still half empty unit (half empty because after we shoveled our way to the unit and the door was frozen shut) so I needed to set up auto pay because no one ever answers the phone in the office. When I do try to go to the office, they are often not in the office to accept my check. I followed the directions of an unfriendly associate who answered the phone when I called the 800 number and thought great....I'm set. Well...no. I get a call today (5/7/14) stating that something went wrong with the auto payment. Not my card... sounds like a system problem since I was then able to go online and make my payment with that same card. They couldn't call me yesterday?, the day before? or even last week?

I get the call on the 7th of the month with a big GOTCHA late fee. Of course I had to pay it because they "can't do anything for me" and I need to keep my property there .... for now. It is for this reason that this company counts on you taking it in the rear but I will NEVER, 100% EVER, use this company again. When I am out, I'm done. I'm just blathering here online because I am pissed and this is all I can do right now but I know a lot of people who I will gladly give my opinion to as well.

     
Replies
Totally Inflexible - Pray You Never Have Money Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURKE, VIRGINIA -- I've been dealing with a severe illness and frequent unemployment for several years. When I lost my apartment about 5 years ago, I put all my belongings in storage.

During that time, Public Storage has repeatedly raised my rates (to amounts far above what they advertise), but with the help of family and friends, I have been able to keep my things until recently.

In the past couple of months, I began to try to sell off all but the most important items. Unfortunately, the effort didn't go as well as I'd hoped, and I found myself behind in my payments with some things still in storage and no way to pay.

At this point, about 35 days overdue, I got a relative to agree to help me out with about $450 and take my stuff out of the unit on about the 10th of the month. My rent was $220/mo, and of course I expected a couple of late fees. So, I expected about $220 + $70 for rent and probably $80 in late fees. Less than $400.

They demanded $600 to release my stuff. There would be absolutely no negotiation. I explained to several levels of managers and customer service people that there was almost nothing of monetary value, but only personal stuff, and offered to show them. They refused.

I pointed out that they could have the unit right now, in the middle of their so-called busy season, rather than letting it sit not collecting any rent until the auction date. They refused.

I asked about going to the auction to try to buy it back, since no one in their right mind would have offered more than $100 for it. They told me I wouldn't be allowed to bid.

After calling the attorney general's office about this - they changed their story to there being a minimum bid of the amount owed. They told me a couple of other things about the auction process that will have me talking to the AG again, but I don't want to let the cat out of the bag here.

Well, that's my story. Maybe I'm being whiny, and for the most part they have the legal right to do so. But they seem to be willing to completely screw me at a more human level, even if it means costing them hundreds of dollars in lost rent, auction costs, and finally disposing of the crap that no one is going to buy.

Do you want to do business with a company with that attitude?

PS - (After a week of unbelievable stress and anguish, I found someone willing to help me with the money. Now I have all the photo albums and other stuff with personal meaning - but they still have a unit full of crap to sit unrented until it goes to auction. I'm damn sure not just giving them the keys back after this.)

     
Replies
Not Secure, Not Safe, Totally No Responsible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- Have been renting a storage unit from them for 2.5 years. Rent has increased by 25% during that time. Also purchased insurance through Willis, the company they promote when you sign up with them.

It had been four months since visited the unit and as soon as we walked in we noticed boxes ripped open and clothes missing. We immediately reported it to the front desk and called the Miami PD. While the officer was filling out the report she pointed out a gap in the wall between our unit and the one next door where you could force your arm through!. All the stolen items were within and arms length of that opening and it was clear that this was how the items were removed?. When we brought this up with management we were told that 1. All the units are built this way, 2. That the units are exactly as they were when Public Storage bought the building 8 years ago. 3. We are (of course) the first ones to have ever had this problem!

Willis, the insurance company, immediately denied any claim as "the lock is intact and there is no visible evidence of forcible entry". Of course neither Public Storage or Willis wants to answer as to how the property was ever certified and accepted for insurance when, according to Public Storage "every unit is like this and they have been like this since we bought the property 8 years ago".

Bottom line is that all Public Storage will offer is a canned "we are terribly sorry for your loss, if in fact there was one, but we bear no responsibility!. Maybe we can cut a little off your rent going forward."

Public Storage policy is clearly that your neighbors can steal from you and Public Storage, and their insurance company, bear no responsibility. There are far better, far more professional companies out there! Find one before you make the same mistake we did. We had over $3000 of clothing stolen and Public Storage has absolutely no interest, I would not be surprised if it was an inside job as surely the employees knew about the gap and from the number of similar theft complaints that I have read it seems to be quite a racket that they have going.

     
Replies
Rip off and rat infested
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- The prices are too high and at the time of moving in my things they informed me that I should move out before the 6th of the month or I will be charge, which sounds great at the time, now it was time for me to move out my things in which I did on the 5th of the month. I went to the clerk to let her know that everything was out of the unit, she told me that I have to pay a fee for the 5 days that I use the unit. I took out all my things and there were so many rat poop I was sick to my stomach. I had the worst experience with Public Storage.

     
Replies
Rip Off and Not Professional
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

JAMAICA, NEW YORK -- Never again will I ever use Public Storage or tell anyone to use Public Storage. They are a rip off and the property managers are oblivious and have no respect. They speak to you as if you are stupid and have no common sense.

I've beenn a customer of Public Storage since April 2 2012 and every month I have a problem with them. If you don't pay your bill on the first of the month, after the 6th they lock you out of your unit and they tell you that you have to make the payment before you can go in your unit. It clearly states that your unit is month to month and after the 6th is considered late and you will be charged a late fee, not that you won't be able to use your unit.

Due to Hurricane Sandy, I lost my car and have been without lights for 2 weeks and no heat, so I was late with my payment. I called Public Storage to ask them if I can make the payment for October because that's what I can afford at the moment. They told me no, I had to make the full payment for October and November because it's the 1st of the month. I explained my situation to the manager and he told me he just works there and is only doing his job.

I called customer service and the lady whom I spoke with was even more belligerent than the property manager. I finally got the district manager number and called him. He showed some compassion and I was only able to pay for October. Now, I called to pay my November bill it's the same problem all over I called the property manager he said if I can't make my payments on the first I should just move out, if I don't like what he's saying.

Very disrespectful and unprofessional.

     
Replies
Impressive Customer Service
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- Today while waiting to purchase boxes at the public storage on Village Drive in Virginia Beach, I witnessed a woman being down right rude, crude and utterly despicable. I have never seen an adult act this way. I have to tip my hat off to the manager on duty because she tried her best to help this woman. The manager tried to break down her account and explain to her why she owed what she owed and the woman LOST IT.

The manager even tried to go over her lease with the woman but she just wasn't listening and kept being crude. It got to the point that I had to step in and tell the woman that the person you are yelling at doesn't make the rules. The woman was so angry she stormed out and left. What was so crazy when leaving the parking lot she hit the key pad on her way out and smashed her car. I have never seen anything like that before IN MY LIFE. I know have a new found respect for individuals in customer service because some people are unbelievable. In my opinion you should treat people how you want to be treated. That saying that the customer is always right is so WRONG!

     
Replies
Are these practices legal????
By -

WEST HAVEN, CONNECTICUT -- If they verbally agree to something...can they renig??

This is long, so please pardon me. Thanks!!!

Hi.
I was searching for complaints on Public Storage and ran across my3cents.com.

I'm in a dilemma with Public Storage in West Haven, CT. In March, 2006, I became homeless after my landlord did not pay her mortgage and the bank foreclosed. The bank wanted the house empty and, I was forced to place my belongings in storage. I chose public storage because of a $1.00 special they had.

When I obtained my unit, I also applied for the 3 month stay special. I was forced to stay in a hotel, that literally took all my savings. A friend found out and told me I could stay with him. But by this time, I was all out of money and had to start over trying to save, knowing I had a storage bill.

My first month prorated bill in April was $147. I paid that, but then in May, it jumped up to $211, the 2nd month. I paid it. I paid June, July and August bills of $211, sometimes $235 (late fees after the 8th).

Recently I fell behind on the payments.
I was late for my September payment. After the 8th day, they attached a late fee that made it $235. After the 15th day, they attached another $75. I called and told them I didn't have the money. That took me into October.
Late September, my part time job folded, and I had no income.

So now, I couldn't pay October bill. But I had asked the manager to bear with me. By the 3rd week of October, I found a job. But I had to wait to get paid. The storage manager agreed verbally, that I can make payments little by little until I bring the bill down. By my figurations, I thought that by the time I get paid, I would owe, about $700.

I get direct deposit, and my funds are placed every 16 and 5th of the month.
My first paycheck was in the bank on the November 5th. On the 5th, I immediately submitted $500 to Public Storage, online payment. My bill showed that I owed $741. That would bring me late, but current with November.
On November 10th I received a letter stating that they were going to auction my unit on November 14th. I called and told them I made their payment and it went through online, it was not declined.

They stated that my bank informed them that they could not release the $500, and because they did not get the check, they were going to auction the unit.

I called my bank, and they told me that because it was a new account, certain restrictions were place on ATM and online debits for my protection. I explained to public storage the restrictions and told them that I can give them money everyday until the bill was paid. They agreed that I make weekly arrangements to pay a certain amount each week.

I kept those arrangements, took funds out of my bank everyday, and paid them the money on the day it was due. I had to make 3 payments in two weeks. The last week, Thanksgiving week, my final payment was $210. I was short $6.00. On November 28th, the day before my final payment, I informed them, and they told me that I will be charged an additional $75 if I didn't pay the $6.
By this time, I was literally crying, but arguing the reasoning behind that.... for only $6.00.

The clerk offered to put in the $6.00 if I promised to pay her back.
On November 29th, I submitted my final payment of $204 ($6.00 was put in by the clerk), to a clerk, whom I did not know of. He stamped my bill as "Paid in full".

I requested to vacate. They told me that in order to not owe another bill, I would have to vacate by November 30th, the following day. I told them, impossible, I would not have any funds until December 5th. I gave them all I had.
On the same night I paid the bill in full, I borrowed the money to get a big truck from Uhaul, paid a driver and another guy to help me move. We went to Public Storage.

I keyed in my access code, and it stated, "access denied".
But I didn't give up. The gate was open, and the guys had the idea to get my things and bring them to the gate to load the truck.
I went to my storage unit, and it had a lock on it.
Now I had no way to get my things, before the deadline, and I paid money for a truck and help. $150.
The following day, I went to Public Storage, paid the clerk her $6 and explained that I had come there the night before with a truck to get my things, but, there was a lock and I could not get them. She explained that she would have felt uncomfortable if she left my unit opened. I told her that I spent a lot of money on a truck I could not even use, and now I had no money for another truck or help.

I told her that now, the only way for me to get my things out is to use my Blazer. But that would take a while. I have 6 rooms of furniture!!
She told me that under the circumstances, she would work with me. I promised her that I will move my things out day by day, after work.

From December 1st through December 9th, I have been moving my things day by day with my Blazer. When I got paid on the 5th, I had to pay back, the person I borrowed the money to get the truck, and that left me with only $64. So, I still don't have the money for a truck.

Today, December 10th, @6AM, I went to Public Storage and took another load.
Seems like it will take only about 4 more loads before I'm all moved out.

At 2PM, I went back to Public Storage to get another load, and my access was refused.
Now they are telling me that it's past the 8th, and before I can get anything else, I have to pay them $86.

Is there anything I can do? I won't have any more money until the 16th, and it seems that they are putting me deeper and deeper in the hole.

I can't wait to stop dealing with Public Storage. I just want them out of my life!!!

     
Replies
Info from a Public Storage property manager
By -

I've read some of these reviews, and all I can say is that these people should have paid attention when the agreement was explained to them.

Here are some facts:

-If your things were auctioned, its because no payment was made in 60, 90, 45, etc days depending on your states laws. I make calls just about EVERY DAY to try to get people in to pay their bill to keep them from getting a late fee. It is not my fault if these people don't answer the phone or return my calls.

-If you put a check in the night drop on the last day of the month, and we don't get it until the next morning, you're still going to be charged a 30 day fee.

-They do raise rates every year by a dollar or two. A letter is sent 30 days or more to the address that we have on file. Did you move? Well, its in the agreement that we need to know if you change your address.

-Our locks are NOT overpriced. Where else can you get a disk lock for $11.99? Ace Hardware, $16.99. Home Depot, $15.99. Walmart, $13.99. Yes, I've looked.

-Insurance is required. People get mad at us if something were to happen, and blame us if their insurance is canceled. If you go 45 days late, your insurance cancels. You will have to reinstate it, on top of everything else. We can't force you to get it, but if you decline it, its totally on you if there is a fire or break in.

-It's also in the agreement that we can ask for a key if there is maintenance that needs to be done on a unit. It is not personal, and no one wants to go through your stuff. Are you going to scream and holler and threaten to call the media if your apartment complex needs to get into your place to do some work?

-You were told how much the rent is after your pro rate. Just because you were charged something cheap for your second month doesn't mean that is the rate. It was explained to you. Its the dollar/admin fee/ lock and insurance for the first month, and a pro rated amount for the second, with a full payment due your third month.

-It is also explained that we do not give refunds. The only way you would get a refund would be if you paid for say 6 months, but moved out after 3. You will not be refunded the current month, but will be refunded any months after the current one. The only way to have a discount in the month that you vacate is to let us know when you make that month's payment the date you intend to leave.

-Your rent is due on the first. It doesn't matter when you moved in. That's how you get the pro rate for the second month.

I can't believe some of the garbage I've read in some of these reviews. Public storage is not out to screw anyone. All you have to do is pay attention when the agreement is explained, and ask questions if you have any.

     
Replies
Public Storage
-

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- OK
I got a postcard in the mail about my storage rate increase 6-5-10.
Called 6-7 got the run around about rate increase = they will not give me corporate phone number or address.

Tells me going rate for 10x30 is 215.00
Told her I signed a contract supposed to get 5% discount for a year and thought locked in for a year.

I called corporate office by looking on manta.com
Public Storage
701 Western Ave Ste 200
Glendale, CA 91201-2349
Public, NYSE: PSA
Phone: (818) 244-8080
Website: Activate Links
Corporate office told me to talk to customer service - told her I already did.

Talking to customer service again.
Waiting......

OK same run around.
Told them to put down customer is not happy
But I have local District Managers name and number - 713-621-9466 Alan Lussier
So anyone else not happy about rate increase, lack of notice and them not honoring 5% discount for 1 year and any other reasons.
Please contact them.
Thanks.
AmiTuoFo

6-8-10
Read contract:
It says continue monthly rental I can receive 5% discount up to 12 months.
Not getting it with this rate change.
Rate change says 30 days notice.
Was not given 30 days notice - aka notice - postcard I received 6-5-10.
This is not legally binding since it was not 30 days notice and should not effect a rate change until August. Not as they say July 1st.

6-8-10
Calling local district manager - Alan Lussier extension 12 - using cell phone does not input 12 only 2.
Transferring call if wait through extensions rings and gives and invalid extension and return to main menu for valid extension.

Divisonal office 972-591-2676 Connie - nice lady - took my information will have Lussier call me.

So waiting again.

6-8-10 Got a prompt call back from Alan Lassier nice guy, told him everything, he will hold my same rate until July - since I only received the postcard on the 5th of this month and he is checking into my 5% discount and needs the paperwork.

6-9-10
NOTE TO PUBLIC STORAGE
It's just kind of stupid raise rates then people move out and then too many open spaces unoccupied so you give discounts again.
Why not keep the same customers who pay on time at the same rate?

     
Replies
Don't Rent From Public Storage In Longmont Colorado
By -

LONGMONT, COLORADO -- I rented from public storage in Longmont co. I am very disappointed in there service and attitude that I dealt with at this location.

I found them online and thought “hey what a deal $1 for the first months rent that’s great.” So I made the call to hold a unit for me. They called back that day to conform my arrangement to hold the unit for me. What great customer service they have I thought to myself. They called to set up a time for me to look at the unit before I signed for it, and to make sure I knew that I will need to have one lock for the unit. Duh. So we set up the time for 2:00pm on a Friday afternoon. On that Friday I got another call from a different person from the same store to make sure that I was going to be able to make it to the appointment. When I got to Public Storage the informed me that I have to pay a one time administration fee of $22. what? I asked. It said nothing of that online.

We’re not required to tell you about that online. That’s B.S. I didn’t care that much about that $22 I knew that the one month for $1 was to good to be true in the first place. But then they told me that I have to have insurance on the unit to rent it. And it’s only $8 dollars a month and only covers up to $1000. That’s a scam.

I have insurance and I don’t need yours at all. I told the lady that was there.
Well you have to have our insurance to rent here and if indeed you have insurance than you can have your insurance fax us proof and then we will return your eight dollar plus tax. The lady told me.

I told her that I know for a fact that my insurance covers my stuff no matter where it is all I have to do is tell them where it is and they will cover it. Your $1000 dollars doesn’t even cover my CDs in storage. I don’t need your insurance nor will I sign it just to appease you.

She told me that she will get written up if she doesn’t get both signature on the sheet. I told her to have a nice day and that I will be rent somewhere else then. She didn’t like that so she than told me that I don’t have to sign for the insurance. Just initial it stating that you are declining the insurance.
So I did. I also wrote on the line that I am declining insurance though public storage.

I had my insurance fax them proof that my stuff in there storage unit was covered. When I went in the next day to pull some stuff out and put other stuff in the storage unit I was asked by a different older lady if I had two locks on my unit. I told her no there is only one on the unit that is all that I was told to have.

She asked if the other lady had told me that I had to have two locks on the unit. I again told her no I was only told to have one. The lady replied that you must have two on the unit at all times and we have the best locks you can buy for $15.99.

I told her that I will put another lock on the unit but I’ll run out to Wal-Mart to get it. She than told me that Wal-Mart’s locks aren’t as good as our locks. Ours have seven pins and Wal-Mart has only four or five pins. Ours can't be picked and if there drilled it takes five minutes to drill through the lock and with Wal-Mart’s locks it only takes three minutes.

Wow a whole two minutes quicker. I’m not buying Wal-Mart brand its “Brinks” not a crappy Wally-world brand lock. I told her She replied with. Well Wal-Mart didn’t give you a storage unit for $1 for the first month like we did.

That may be true but Wal-Mart did have a hidden administration fee of $22 either or even try to scam me with some insurance plan. By the way did you get the fax from my insurance company stating that my unit is covered?

Oh you’re that Guy she replied. WTF is that supposed to mean. Because I read contracts before I sign them that I a P.O.S. I thought to myself. So after she was finish with her pushy car salesmen act I finished with my storage unit ran to Wally-World bought another lock and put it on the unit.

Not three days later one of the ladies called me saying that the is an $8.20 fee for holding the unit that I failed to pay when I was there the first day to start renting the unit.

Another hidden fee. I’m not going to pay this because I know its from the insurance that I didn’t take because I have insurance. it hasn’t even been two weeks yet and I’m pulling everything out of the unit in just three more days. I’m sure there going to love me after that.

DON’T RENT A STORAGE UNIT FROM PUBLIC STORAGE IN LONGMONT CO.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >