Preview Review

Next Review

Public Storage Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Great Service after break-ins PLUS manager Monte busted BOTH guys
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- At location #24103 my unit was broken into 2x after we got a new manager. He was quick to inform, very sympathetic and apologetic, had a good handle on making the next attempt harder, at PS' expense, and because of being really vigilant after hours he was able to get police there before the 1st guy finished his 2nd attempt, and again, in time to nail the 2nd guy red-handed. Not only that, but he's always cheerful, polite and professional.

Replies
Advertisement
Very Personal, Friendly and Courteous Service. I Thank You.
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star-
Rating: 4/51

ANAHEIM, CALIFORNIA -- She is (Debra) a keen asset to your business. As I am sure you are already aware. Once again I transition my belongings into your facilities. I appreciate the level of competence that I am greeted with, as well as the fluent flow of the language of the land. We see the level of many companies and services degrading for sometime now. It's good to know that I am received at Public Storage with the same friendly, knowledgeable service that keeps me a loyal patron. Thank you, once again.

Replies
Public Storage - Bait 'N Switch
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FLORENCE, SOUTH CAROLINA -- 1st month FREE.. then, after 5 months, Public Storage increased their rates from $44 to $51 for my 8 x 10. Really??? I realize companies need to raise rates, but that's $84/year from ONE person. I moved my stuff out my house to keep people from stealing things while I'm away, and I still get RIPPED off by the trusting name of "Public Storage." I want a breakdown of WHY so much?

Replies
Great Service From Adriana & Jocelyn
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

VAN NUYS, CALIFORNIA -- On November 27, 2013 I went to Public Storage Location 26311 in Van Nuys on Balboa Blvd to complete paperwork for the rental of a unit. I was helped by Adriana & Jocelyn. Both young ladies were very helpful and kind. Public Storage is fortunate to have both young ladies as part of the Public Storage team.

Replies
Advertisement
Longtime Customer Very Satisfied
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

WEYMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS -- Property manager John ** has been an excellent customer service representative. He has always been pleasant, helpful, made me feel safe. Answered my concerns with good information. I am very comfortable having my property in this facility.

Replies
Fast! Efficient! Easy, Clean System & Property
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

REVERE, MASSACHUSETTS -- Great experience renting storage container. Very clean building & property. Quick, efficient, check out w/ very professional, knowledgeable salesperson Michelle! I would suggest you rent online as you can save a little $$. Also containers on the top floors are cheaper & can be just as accessible as bottom floors.

Replies
Great Had a New Employee Jeff and I Was His First Rental He Did Great
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

NEPTUNE, NEW JERSEY -- I have to move and went there for a unit. Jeff was the gentleman that helped me. He was terrific, very helpful and explained all to me. I will always rent units from here and let everyone that needs storage to go there as well. Good job, Jeff!

Replies
Public Storage
-

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- OK. I got a postcard in the mail about my storage rate increase 6-5-10. Called 6-7 got the run around about rate increase = they will not give me corporate phone number or address. Tells me going rate for 10x30 is 215.00. Told her I signed a contract supposed to get 5% discount for a year and thought locked in for a year.

I called corporate office by looking on manta.com. Public Storage 701 Western Ave Ste 200. Glendale, CA 91201-2349. Public, NYSE: PSA. Phone: (818) 244-8080. Website: Activate Links. Corporate office told me to talk to customer service - told her I already did. Talking to customer service again. Waiting... OK same run around. Told them to put down customer is not happy. But I have local District Managers name and number - 713-621-9466 **. So anyone else not happy about rate increase, lack of notice and them not honoring. 5% discount for 1 year and any other reasons. Please contact them. Thanks. **.

6-8-10. Read contract: It says continue monthly rental I can receive 5% discount up to 12 months. Not getting it with this rate change. Rate change says 30 days notice. Was not given 30 days notice - aka notice - postcard I received 6-5-10. This is not legally binding since it was not 30 days notice and should not effect a rate change until August. Not as they say July 1st.

6-8-10. Calling local district manager - ** extension 12 - using cell phone does not input 12 only 2. Transferring call if wait through extensions rings and gives and invalid extension and return to main menu for valid extension. Divisional office 972-591-2676 ** - nice lady - took my information will have ** call me. So waiting again.

6-8-10 Got a prompt call back from ** nice guy, told him everything, he will hold my same rate until July - since I only received the postcard on the 5th of this month and he is checking into my 5% discount and needs the paperwork. 6-9-10. NOTE TO PUBLIC STORAGE. It's just kind of stupid raise rates then people move out and then too many open spaces unoccupied so you give discounts again. Why not keep the same customers who pay on time at the same rate?

Replies
Advertisement
Totally Inflexible - Pray You Never Have Money Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BURKE, VIRGINIA -- I've been dealing with a severe illness and frequent unemployment for several years. When I lost my apartment about 5 years ago, I put all my belongings in storage. During that time, Public Storage has repeatedly raised my rates (to amounts far above what they advertise), but with the help of family and friends, I have been able to keep my things until recently. In the past couple of months, I began to try to sell off all but the most important items. Unfortunately, the effort didn't go as well as I'd hoped, and I found myself behind in my payments with some things still in storage and no way to pay.

At this point, about 35 days overdue, I got a relative to agree to help me out with about $450 and take my stuff out of the unit on about the 10th of the month. My rent was $220/mo, and of course I expected a couple of late fees. So, I expected about $220 + $70 for rent and probably $80 in late fees. Less than $400. They demanded $600 to release my stuff. There would be absolutely no negotiation. I explained to several levels of managers and customer service people that there was almost nothing of monetary value, but only personal stuff, and offered to show them. They refused.

I pointed out that they could have the unit right now, in the middle of their so-called busy season, rather than letting it sit not collecting any rent until the auction date. They refused. I asked about going to the auction to try to buy it back, since no one in their right mind would have offered more than $100 for it. They told me I wouldn't be allowed to bid.

After calling the attorney general's office about this - they changed their story to there being a minimum bid of the amount owed. They told me a couple of other things about the auction process that will have me talking to the AG again, but I don't want to let the cat out of the bag here. Well, that's my story. Maybe I'm being whiny, and for the most part they have the legal right to do so. But they seem to be willing to completely screw me at a more human level, even if it means costing them hundreds of dollars in lost rent, auction costs, and finally disposing of the crap that no one is going to buy. Do you want to do business with a company with that attitude?

PS - (After a week of unbelievable stress and anguish, I found someone willing to help me with the money. Now I have all the photo albums and other stuff with personal meaning - but they still have a unit full of crap to sit unrented until it goes to auction. I'm damn sure not just giving them the keys back after this.)

Replies
Not Secure, Not Safe, Totally No Responsible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- Have been renting a storage unit from them for 2.5 years. Rent has increased by 25% during that time. Also purchased insurance through Willis, the company they promote when you sign up with them. It had been four months since visited the unit and as soon as we walked in we noticed boxes ripped open and clothes missing. We immediately reported it to the front desk and called the Miami PD. While the officer was filling out the report she pointed out a gap in the wall between our unit and the one next door where you could force your arm through!

All the stolen items were within an arm's length of that opening and it was clear that this was how the items were removed? When we brought this up with management we were told that 1) All the units are built this way, 2) That the units are exactly as they were when Public Storage bought the building 8 years ago, 3) We are (of course) the first ones to have ever had this problem!

Willis, the insurance company, immediately denied any claim as "the lock is intact and there is no visible evidence of forcible entry". Of course neither Public Storage or Willis wants to answer as to how the property was ever certified and accepted for insurance when, according to Public Storage "every unit is like this and they have been like this since we bought the property 8 years ago." Bottom line is that all Public Storage will offer is a canned "we are terribly sorry for your loss, if in fact there was one, but we bear no responsibility! Maybe we can cut a little off your rent going forward."

Public Storage policy is clearly that your neighbors can steal from you and Public Storage, and their insurance company, bear no responsibility. There are far better, far more professional companies out there! Find one before you make the same mistake we did. We had over $3000 of clothing stolen and Public Storage has absolutely no interest. I would not be surprised if it was an inside job as surely the employees knew about the gap and from the number of similar theft complaints that I have read it seems to be quite a racket that they have going.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Public Storage Rating:
Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.6 out of 5, based on 53 ratings and
93 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Public Storage
P.O. Box 25050
Glendale, CA 91221-5050
1-800-567-0759 (ph)
www.publicstorage.com
Compare Moving/Relocation Companies