Red Lobster - Page 4

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 54 ratings and
129 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Who's in the Kitchen???
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SPRING, TEXAS -- I, just this past Friday night(7-6-12) went to the Red Lobster on 1960 w ....just west of I-45 in Houston Tx...where I ordered Red Lobster, shrimp scampi and sea scallops...along w/ a baked tater....NO cheese on the tater AND NO rice on my plate.......well...the 1st TIME my plate came out...even before the waiter set it down on the table....I saw CHEESE on my tater....I protested...and away that plate went....by the time it appeared again...I was hungry(good reason to eat...I thought!!!!)....

I ate the lobster(it was a bit tough)....then....I SAW IT.....RICE....ON MY PLATE!!!!!....There went my appetite.....Now...we have ALL seen those commercials...where some dude says he is the "culinary guru" of the kitchen and is there to see that we ALL get quality food.....I would like to KNOW where he/she was last Friday nite...around 8:30 pm.....I later ate at Denny's restaurant.....my opinion....Red Lobster is resting/relying on its past reputation......sorry....as in ANY service oriented business....EVERYDAY AND EVERY CUSTOMER is WHAT YOUR business needs to focus on...... and IF your kitchen staff does NOT comprehend ENGLISH....well...maybe you should consider employing people THAT DO!!!!!!!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2012-07-09:
I seem to recall that they refer to themselves as "grillmasters" or some such nonsense. Didn't fool me.

I stopped eating at Red Lobster about 22 years ago, and it didn't have much of a reputation then. Some things never change.
ok4now on 2012-07-09:
You went on a Friday night and they were probably really busy. The kitchen was a mad house trying to keep up with all the orders. Yes you gave specific instructions on how you wanted your food served and they screwed up. This could happen at any restaurant. This is also why I don't dine out on a Friday or Saturday night. You have extended wait times and the food is rushed in the kitchen.

I prefer to go during the week when it is slower but never on a Monday. The problem with Monday is you stand a good chance of being served the less fresh food left over from the weekend. This is especially important if you're ordering seafood. This rule of thumb does not apply to all restaurants but it's something to consider.
frak on 2012-07-10:
Any restaurant that can't get "NO cheese on the tater AND NO rice on my plate" right ANY day of the week is simply a bad restaurant. Most restaurants can handle something as simple as that on Fridays AND Saturdays - or they wouldn't be busy on those days.
Comfortably_Numb on 2012-07-10:
what frak said.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
WHAT A CRAPPY MEAL
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ERIE BLVD., NEW YORK -- After attending a show in Syracuse, my family decided to go to the Erie Blvd. Red Lobster for lunch. we ordered the "broiled seafood platter" and some kind of lobster/shrimp linguine. The food was absolutely disgusting. It looked like leftovers microwaved from yesterday's specials. To go to a popular chain like this and receive that kind of food was just terrible. Not only was it terrible, but we spent almost 80.00 on lunch. The service was also terrible. The waitress didnot know if she was coming or going. Either she was still under the influence from the night before or she was hitting the crack pipe in the back room. we will never go there again. I don't even want a free coupon. I just want someone else to read this so they don't eat there.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2012-04-25:
Yes, Red Lobster is a chain. That is part of the problem. Many of these chains have a lot of "entrees" that are prepared partially in the microwave. I'd have no interest at all in patronizing a Red Lobster.

Helpful review, but the cost of the meal is only relevant if the number in your family is known. If you have a large family, that may be less than $10 per person.
Fiddle T D on 2012-04-25:
An 80.00 tab is a lot to pay if you weren't happy. I wouldn't have hesitated sending the dish back if it wasn't prepared to my liking. Coming here complaining after the fact is a little pointless if you didn't speak up and say something.
Anonymous on 2012-04-25:
Yup, sounds about right. I will never step foot in a Red Lobster again. I'd rather eat frozen fish sticks and crab from can.
trmn8r on 2012-04-25:
FiddleTD - if you reread the complaint, you will see that one objective mentioned is to keep others from going and being served slop. I agree that complaining on the spot is a great course of action, but there is something to be said for the fact that serving up a poop-poop platter is something that shouldn't happen in the first place.
Starlord on 2012-04-25:
Gallagher once spoke of getting bad food in a restaurant. He said if you complain, they give you a coupon for more of what you didn't like in the first place. Go, Gallagher!!
Mike in FL on 2012-04-26:
This is an issue that should have been brought to the attention of management right away. Bad food and poor service need to be pointed out ASAP. However, I do think it was over the line to cast aspersions on the waitress like that. It would have sufficient to say that you weren't impressed with her performance.
ticia232 on 2012-04-26:
I agree Mike. Also even just say that waitress was out of it, to make those assumptions about her is completely wrong.
seriously? on 2012-04-27:
Over the line is an understatement. That's just petty.

Makes me glad I moved out. Yeah I used to live there... I say "Skinny Atlas" like you're supposed to and my water sounds more like "wa-dur".


sure I miss things from there like snow, beak and skiff, wegmans, having 4 seasons... but not so much the people.
Close commentsAdd reply
Lobsterfest..This Darden Chain Restaurant Almost Got It Right
Posted by on
Decided to give them a try after watching their mouth watering "Lobsterfest" commercials. Went on a Sunday night and was promptly seated in a booth. Ordered the seafood special appetizer for $10.95. Consisted up 4 small stuffed mushrooms with crab meat, 4 bacon wrapped scallops and clam strips. They got this right...served hot in under 10 minutes. Ordered the house Caesar salad, also good with fresh romaine and a generous amount of really good Caesar dressing. Now the $30.00 dollar "Lobster Lovers Dream" dinner arrives. Both my wife and I ordered this. ($60.00) It consisted of a 4 oz cold water tail, a 5 oz rock lobster tail and pasta with shrimp in an Alfredo sauce. The 4 oz tail and shrimp with pasta was excellent. The 5 oz rock tail was tough and chewy. This ruined the meal. The waitress explained that the rock tails are not as sweet and tender because they come from warm water. This can be identified by the spots on the tail. Why didn't she explain this when we ordered?

Conclusion: We had a decent meal but it was not worth the $85.00 check. We tipped the waitress well. Next time we'll skip the lobster because it's not worth the money and order something else.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2012-04-02:
This is precisely why I don't eat at chain restaurants anymore. One big mistake like that ruins a meal. All the "excellents" go directly out the window and I'm left feeling I wasted my money.

Red Lobster for seafood? Ironically, that isn't a good idea as you discovered. I know someone who goes there for salads and is happy, but that is all they order.

If I'm going to lay down serious cash for a meal, I go to an independent restaurant with a chef, not a "grill master". That's just my .02, after being where you were many times.

On this note, a lot of good restaurants these days have expanded their appetizer menus, and you can order say 2-3 intricately prepared appetizers of 4-star quality for the price of an entree and make it a meal.
lexophiliac on 2012-04-02:
"Why didn't she explain this when we ordered?"

Did you question the waitress about the rock tail when you ordered?
trmn8r on 2012-04-02:
Lexo's keen eye picked up a key detail, which I hope was on the menu. This was a rock lobster tail. They are tougher by their nature.

This reminds me of the only time in my life I had "australian rock lobster," about 30 years ago. It was tough and to my palate unacceptable. Guess where I got it? Yep, Red Lobster, and that is the last time I can remember being there. I don't know if mine was cooked wrong or that is how they always are, but I made a note to not order rock lobster again.
GenuineNerd on 2012-04-02:
I do love the cheddar bay biscuits, although I rarely eat at Red Lobster.
Anonymous on 2012-04-02:
I've eaten at Red Lobster once. Haven't been back since. If I want good seafood, I go back to San Diego and go to Anthony's Fish Grotto. Best food EVER!
ok4now on 2012-04-03:
lexophiliac: Good point. When ordering off of the menu they don't specify what type of tail it is, they only show a picture. I questioned the waitress before ordering and was told you get a 4 oz and a 5 oz tail. No mention was made of the type. After it was served only then did the waitress say that the rock tails are not tender. I won't make this mistake again.

Trmn8r: I have to agree. All the "excellents" go out the window and I'm left feeling that I wasted my money. That's exactly how I feel. I took a chance on a chain (Darden restaurant) and only enjoyed half the meal, but paid full price. Thanks for reminding me.
jktshff1 on 2012-04-03:
good review
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lousy service and even worse food.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WAYNE, NEW JERSEY -- I went to the Red Lobster on Rte. 46 East in Wayne, NJ last night at 4 P.M. I had asked for a gin and tonic, the server brought me a martini. I had ordered the surf and turf dinner. I had asked for the steak to be medium, it was overdone and I couldn't cut it at all. The lobster was also overcooked. I had to ask for melted butter to go with the lobster, never got it.

The waiter was horribly slow. It was 4, it was only my daughter and I in the place. I shouldn't have to wait almost 15 minutes for the server to take my money to pay. I don't ever think I am ever going to back to Red Lobster at all.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2012-02-29:
I've had trouble at off hours in restaurants - I think they must be doing prep work or something because they aren't visible helping other customers.

I gave up on Red Lobster back around 1990, and am very happy with that decision.
Close commentsAdd reply
Terrible service
Posted by on
HAMBURG, NEW YORK -- We dined at Red Lobster on McKinley Ave. last night. The service was especially slow considering we were seated at the table at 6:30 and didn't even receive biscuits and salad until after 7:00. My potato wasn't done and the meat was raw, which is disappointing considering the wait time. I was so angry and anxious to leave I forgot to use the coupon. I remembered however, didn't want to have the waitress take the $4.00 off because that would take even longer. It was ridiculously cold there. Like eating in the refrigerator! Horrible experience to put it mildly. As it was we didn't get out of there until 8:00 pm. Complained to manager but he was as worthless as the waitress. Witnessed people coming in after us and having their salads and biscuits before we did. Manager just offered a lame apology. Totally unacceptable!!!!
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2011-06-30:
I'm sorry this happened to you, and I sympathize with your expectations being shattered after the long wait.

After a few years of frequenting chain restaurants, I found that my expectations far exceeded those of the establishments' management.

So, I pretty much stopped going to them. It cuts way back on the disappointment, and by going to slightly more expensive places less often it is more special and the experience is consistently enjoyable.
ejack053824 on 2011-06-30:
Red Lobster has great bathrooms though.
oldisgood on 2011-07-01:
I have a rule. 5 minutes in a restaurant and no service -I am out the door.
stardancer on 2011-07-05:
Am shocked. Red Lobster has always been the best fast food & service I ever had. Since 1970, I only go here with my most special friends to have a "great" nite. I've rarely had a bad experience there, if I did they more than made up for it.

Things have changed a lot in the last 5 years everywhere. But, no matter where I traveled
Red Lobster was consistent.

I hope it was just a very off night, although'a wait was always expected, we'd go to the bar to have a frozen drink while we waited.

If I did not like the food, it was taken back & relaced immediately. Many times they took it off the check. I hope it has not changed to this. It's been at 3 years since I've been to one. But RL has always been my go to safe place.

Call and tell the manager,I did a few times. They were very gracious & even gave me a free dinner whenever I came back. .

Good Luck, give them a call & nicely explain what you went through. Hopefully you will be pleased.
Anonymous on 2011-07-05:
Great review, very helpful, I'm shocked as well, considering I've usually have had good service from them.
madconsumer on 2011-07-05:
I too found thuis review very helpful and a well written concise review.
Close commentsAdd reply
First Impressions Last
Posted by on
DICKSON CITY, PENNSYLVANIA -- This was our first time to Red Lobster. My husband and I have 4 children between the two of us. Two are in college and so we have become quite frugal in some ways. Looking for coupons before going to a restaurant to be cost effective. For Valentines weekend Red Lobster was running a special of dinner for two $29.99 which included a two salads, two entrees, either an appetizer or a dessert. We chose the dessert. The food was generous in portion, and very tasty. Since it was Valentines weekend my husband and I chose to be alone instead of having our children join us. We were interrupted by 3 different waiters at least 9 times during the course of our meal. It became disruptive after the 4th time.
We were wrapping up our dinner with our dessert and 2 decaf coffees. We also had a $4.00 off two entree dinner coupon in the hopes of saving some more money. We were Very disappointed to see that Red Lobster charges $2.20 for a 8oz cup of coffee EACH!. Honestly if it were dinner for two and dessert it should have been complimentary to throw in 2 cups of coffee. Overall the food was good. However, we did not appreciate the condescending attitude the waitress gave us when we questioned how much the coffee was because it was not listed on the menu of how much the coffee would be.
     
Read 12 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2011-02-13:
What were the waiters interupting you for? Were they just doing their job, and asking if you needed anything and if everything was OK?

As for the coffee prices, sounds like have to recoup some money, for offering the special Valentine's day meal prices.

momsey on 2011-02-13:
I think this is the first Red Lobster complaint that wasn't complaining about the food.

I'm not a coffee drinker - how much is a cup of coffee normally in a restaurant?
trmn8r on 2011-02-13:
I'm impressed that you were impressed by the food at Red Lobster. Kudos to the team at this location for crafting something deemed to be appetizing.

They can't give away everything. You can bet that they are well aware that a beverage is not included in that package. Were beverages included during the entrees? My guess is "no". They give with one hand and take with the other - it is just marketing. As far as the atmosphere, my first and last impression of RL is that it is a bit raucous. Not necessarily a place for romance.
Ytropious on 2011-02-13:
Coffee is not complimentary, I'm not sure why you're complaining about that. You could have asked for the cost before ordering it but you didn't.
trmn8r on 2011-02-13:
They didn't accept that $4 coupon, did they? Another thing that is standard is to not combine offers. I'd be shocked if they gave you another $4 off of a Valentine's dinner for two special.
drugdoc121 on 2011-02-13:
+10 Ytrop
Venice09 on 2011-02-14:
Look at it this way. If they took the $4.00 coupon for the Valentines Day special, then the coffee was free.. well, almost. Were there free refills? That might explain the high price.
fast327 on 2011-02-14:
My wife and I ate at the Red Lobster yesterday and enjoyed their usual fine fare. Our waitress came by at least four times while we ate(not including the time bringing the check) to ask how every thing was. All we did was say yes or nod our heads. We didn't consider this an interruption. It was much better than being ignored.
madconsumer on 2011-02-14:
great review.

very helpful.
clutzycook on 2011-02-14:
And if you had had a problem, they would have been nowhere to be found. Just chalk it up to a little overeager customer service. And if you had ordered soda, they would have charged for that too, so why should coffee be any different?
Anonymous on 2011-02-14:
Very few restaurants include beverages, except for ice water. If their food wasn't horrible I would probably eat there.
Anonymous on 2011-02-14:
$2.20 seems to be around the average price anymore - here it's anywhere from $2-$3 - I think restaurants are factoring in the fact that most customers have a refill or two and the price of coffee has gone way up.
Close commentsAdd reply
Salty!!!
Posted by on
CALGARY, ALBERTA CANADA, CALIFORNIA -- We went for Dinner last night at the 36th Street Location (I don't think it matters on location)We had Calimari, escargo, and Stuffed Mushrooms. The Calamari looked like someone had been snacking on it (not many)and the others where grossly Salty !!! I had a shrimp combo dish with a baked potatoe, the baked potatoe was probably made way before it got my my plate! and the reheated pasta dish, dried out pasta was trying to be disguised by their horriable salty alfedo sauce, oh and the baked potatoe only comes with a glob of sour cream (WT) Terriable !!! I will Never ever eat there AGAIN any of the it's such CRAP ! We could have bought a whole bag of shrimp and used REAL Garlic and a lobster and crab legs for 8 people at the price we paid for that GARBAGE ! Lesson Learned ! Never Again !!!
     
Read 38 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
madconsumer on 2011-01-15:
does not sound like the quality we used to get from Red Lobster.

very helpful.
Anonymous on 2011-01-15:
"We could have..." Why didn't you? I would never eat there unless someone else was paying for it.
Anonymous on 2011-01-15:
I have never been a fan of Red Lobster since the early 80's (first time). Their food seemed manufactured (well, it is a chain) and I don't like to waste my money on food like that. hothead13, I'm with you on making better food at home. But, if someone suggested this place, I would quickly suggest somewhere else, lol. I would even offer to make dinner at home!
Anonymous on 2011-01-15:
I have been to RL a few times I like the complementary cheddar bay biscuits other than that the food ain't all that.
trmn8r on 2011-01-15:
singsing -> that is about the last time I was there, and the impression must have also been a negative one since I have not thought of returning. Recently a RL cook told me very negative things about the quality of the fish *before* it is cooked.
ok4now on 2011-01-16:
Sounds like another glowing review about this highly criticized Darden Restaurant Chain. Their food quality, not the prices have sunk to a new low. I have given this chain restaurant several chances at different locations and they always seem to screw something up. They fail to offer high-end seafood but their prices do not reflect this. "Good enough" are the rubbery & dried out small portions served. It seems like they couldn't care less about complaints. So what if they loose a few customers, they'll make it up in volume with others. Vote with your wallet like I have and refuse to return.
Anonymous on 2011-01-16:
trm, I believe it--about the "seafood/fish" before it is cooked. It is amazing how they've stayed in business for so long with such inferior food. I have to surmise that many people do not know what good seafood is.
Venice09 on 2011-01-16:
I would be one of the people who does not know what good seafood is. But I know enough to know when something is bad. I haven't been to Red Lobster in ages, so I guess I wasn't very impressed the last time I was there. The only thing I remember is that it was expensive. I, too, wonder how they stay in business if the food is that bad.
FlitteringFirefly on 2011-01-16:
I live on the Mississippi coast and have never understood why their location here is thriving. I can go to any local restaurant and get fresh caught seafood that was swimming that morning.
Anonymous on 2011-01-16:
Venice, as long as you know when something is bad then you're doing great. I think people like it because it's drowning in butter and sauce and they can't taste the actual seafood. I'm with flittering. Get the real deal!
Venice09 on 2011-01-16:
Sing, you're right. It's the sauce and butter that trick people into thinking the seafood is good. I don't like sauce and butter which is probably why I don't care for Red Lobster. I like my seafood grilled, broiled or baked and not fried or smothered in sauce.
trmn8r on 2011-01-16:
That's how I like it Venice, and I think you're right. Without sauce there is no place to hide shortcomings in the meat.
Skye on 2011-01-16:
I don't eat fish or any seafood, but maybe everything was salty, because it came from the sea, which is salty, and then prepared with more salt.

Sounds very unappetizing. I've never been to Red Lobster, and never will, just cause I don't eat fish.
Starlord on 2011-01-16:
Skye, it is a misconception that fish from the sea are salty. If you are adrift at sea in a survival situation, you have two sources of fresh water, a tarp to catch rain or condensation, and eating raw fish. Fish are an excellent source of fresh water. If you say, "Eewww, nasty," you wouldn't say it if you had ever been in the situation. The saltiness at RL is due to poor preparation by someone who thinks they are a chef, but don't near qualify for the title.
Skye on 2011-01-16:
Thanks Starlord. I did not know that. I'm voting your comment very helpful!
Starlord on 2011-01-16:
You are most welcome, Skye. Thank goodness for the Boy Scouts and the survival trainer from what would later become Grissom AFB. We had a survival campout with just what a pilot has (minus firearms.) After a week, I was the only scout who actually gained weight. ROFL
Skye on 2011-01-16:
Now that's a funny story!
ok4now on 2011-01-16:
Venice: Allow me to give you an example of very good seafood, it may change your mind. The "best" is subjective but an excellent choice would be McCormick & Schmick's. They put R.L. to shame. Their menus are printed daily featuring a "fresh list" from reputable seafood purveyors. Not the frozen crap with heavy sodium & sauces R.L. pushes. Example: Fresh Alaskan Halibut, Northwest Salmon, Hawaiian Mahi Mahi to name a few. They also offer aged steaks, poultry, entree salads, pastas & more. Your palate will be well satisfied with the culinary delight offered by this superb restaurant. Checkout their website for further information.
Venice09 on 2011-01-17:
I've never heard of McCormick & Schmick's. I see there is one in Manhattan, so I'll ask my daughter if she's been there. Maybe I can check it out the next time I visit her. I love seafood and the menu does look enticing. Thanks, ok4now!
Anonymous on 2011-01-18:
ok4now--Funny, my favorite restaurant in Portland, OR is Jakes Famous Crawfish. It is owned by McCormick & Schmick's! The restaurant has been there forever and is full of character and the seafood is the best ever. Every time I go home, that is the first place I head for. The seafood here in Singapore is marginal--except for the Chili Crab. I don't trust where most of it is caught and I won't eat farmed fish. The flavor is disgusting, not to mention the chemical diet they are fed.
ok4now on 2011-01-19:
singsing: Good info. I am not familiar with Jakes but I'm sure it's good if McCormick & Schmidt own it. Harrah's Casino in A.C. now have this restaurant. I have eaten there several times and the food is awesome!! On my last visit I ordered a bowl of there homemade crab soup & two Australian cold water lobster tails. OMG was it good. Sweet succulent lobster meat that melts in your mouth, not the tough no flavor tails that R.L. pushes. Are you listening Venice? You really need to experience this fine dining seafood restaurant. P.S. It's not owned by the Darden Restaurant chain. Maybe that's why it's so good!! LOL.
Anonymous on 2011-01-19:
ok4now, the bouillabaise is excellent too! (The menu's are very similar, except we have local NW seafood on ours (and also Alaskan King Crab, yum!). I, like you, enjoy good food. There is no reason to go out if I'm not going to have something special that I don't make at home.
ok4now on 2011-01-19:
singsing: You're making me hungry..stop it!! The NW does have the advantage to offer the Alaskan King Crab, another one of my favorites. Here's an idea. Let's get together with Venice and all three of us go out for a slamming dinner at McCormick & Schmidts. Great minds think alike and so do our palates!! What a night that would be.
Anonymous on 2011-01-19:
Sounds good to me!
Venice09 on 2011-01-19:
I'm in!.. just let me know the time and place.
Anonymous on 2011-01-19:
I'll be back in March!
DebtorBasher on 2011-01-19:
Is that a threat, Sing? LOL!
Anonymous on 2011-01-19:
It could be to some people!
ok4now on 2011-01-20:
Venice: You're booked and in. The Hummer stretch limo will pick you and your daughter up Saturday night at 6:00pm sharp. The restaurant has reserved a private table and specially ordered the lobster & king crab legs. I took the liberty of ordering a bottle of 1996 Dom Perignon. Wasn't sure about the appetizer. Would you prefer the lollipop lamb chops or the oysters rockefeller. Let me know. My palate is salivating. LMAO!!!
Venice09 on 2011-01-20:
Sounds perfect! We'll be ready and waiting with blazing appetites, I've never had oysters so maybe I'll get adventurous and try them. Although the lamb does sound tempting. Ooooo.. and wine, too!
Anonymous on 2011-01-20:
Venice, you must try oysters, they are quite the treat.
Venice09 on 2011-01-20:
Oysters scare me. Mussels, too. but I think I'm ready to try them.
ok4now on 2011-01-20:
Venice: Oysters probably scare you because they do look very unappetizing sitting there raw & slimy in the shell. Maybe it's a guy thing. Oysters Rockefeller is a gourmet delight. The raw oyster is served on the half shell on a bed of rock salt. It is then mixed with spinach, olive oil and various spices. Then it's topped with Parmesan cheese and bacon bits upon request. After that it's fully cooked (no slime) and served bubbling hot with the cheese melted through. It is soooo good. At least try it. And NO you can't get this at Red Lobster, they would only screw it up. LOL.
trmn8r on 2011-01-21:
Oysters Rockefeller, yes! ok4now is right on the button Venice. My mom turned me on to raw oysters, at our local fireman's fair when we were kids. I didn't have O-R until many years later. Great stuff! I had some raw oysters up on Prince Edward Island a few years ago that were to die for. And no, you would never oysters in any form at Red Lobster, IMO.

Mussels are alright - haven't had them in years. They look scarier than oysters to me, but I can see how the oyster slime might turn people off. I make oyster stuffing on Thanksgiving.
Venice09 on 2011-01-21:
Whenever my family ordered out for pizza when I was a kid, my father always got an order of mussels. Creepy stuff.

Yes, it's the oyster slime that turns me off, but Oysters Rockefeller does sound good. Apparently it's made with ingredients that I like. And it's cooked! Now I'm curious. Oyster stuffing seems like a good way to try it for the first time. I must get my daughter to join me for a good seafood meal. We are the seafood lovers of the family. I've always been afraid to even walk by the seafood section of the supermarket (fish with heads!), but she has taught me to be less intimidated. She actually cooks seafood, something I never learned to do.

My son once ate octopus at a Chinese buffet. I could never be that brave.
disgustedserver on 2011-03-27:
For one, the baked potatoes are baked every 30 minutes or so... so I highly doubt yours was a day old. And secondly, you have other options for the baked potato than just a "glob of sour cream". You probably only requested that. If you wanted more than that, you should have requested it.
gypsy30 on 2012-10-24:
I had a horrible experience there this month...they didn't want to compensate me for the very salty dish they brought me and it could have been hot food at that!I like many ppl. work hard for my money and I don't get to eat out very often,and the manager and waitress....RUDE.And I requested that our order be fixed....they didn't want to be bothered it seemed.VERY DISAPPOINTING!

gypsy30 on 2012-10-24:
To disgusted server,we as customers want good,fresh,hot food....after all we pay for that and good service.We also work hard for our money.[not saying your not a good server,we just want what we pay for].
Close commentsAdd reply
They Still Can't Get It Right
Posted by on
LANSDALE, PENNSYLVANIA -- It's been awhile since we visited this Darden chain restaurant. The last dining experience was regretful but we decided to give them another chance. Started out real good. We were seated in a booth in under 10 minutes. Promptly ordered the stuffed mushroom appetizer with crab & lobster for $8.95. Excellent. Had a tough time with their dated dinner menu. Limited variety and nothing really of interest. Lobster Fest offers a much better variety. I played it safe with a skewer of shrimp, 4 scallops & chicken for $16.95. Decent but not great. My wife ordered the peppercorn sirloin & lobster tail with a side of pasta for $19.95. The steak (ordered medium rare) was like shoe leather, the lobster was under cooked & the pasta was dry with no sauce, butter or flavoring. Sent it back. The manager came to our table and apologized. The kitchen then recooked the order & it was as bad as the first time. The dinner was removed from the check. That's not the point. Went out for a nice meal and they failed miserably. My wife's dinner was horrible. They had 2 chances to get it right & couldn't. We're done with Red Lobster.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2011-01-02:
Nothing worse than enjoying your meal when your dining partner cannot. Not OK, ever. Good review.
trmn8r on 2011-01-02:
"The steak was like shoe leather, the lobster was under cooked & the pasta was dry with no sauce" "The kitchen then recooked the order & it was as bad as the first time."

That *is* a miserable experience. NOW you know never to go back. I haven't been to RL in 25 years, and have no intent to go and see if the menu has changed (:
Nohandle on 2011-01-02:
I'm trying to look on the bright side here. Your stuffed mushroom appetizer was excellent? The last time I ate at a Red Lobster my stuffed mushrooms were still frozen in middle.
Ytropious on 2011-01-02:
Did you order the steak well done? Of course it's going to be shoe leather! As for the menu being "dated"....I don't understand how certain meal choices can be "dated". That's just an odd comment all around. And the pasta being dry? It's a side of pasta, usually buttered noodles or something. They don't come with sauce.
ok4now on 2011-01-03:
Ytropious: The point of this review was giving Red Lobster a 2nd chance after a bad experience with them in the past. To address your points. The steak was ordered medium rare Twice, still shoe leather. Dated menu. They covered the basics well but did not offer anything special. Example: They get it right with the Lobster Fest offered a couple of times a year. Unique combination's not normally offered. Dry pasta served. NO butter, sauce or any flavoring, just dry starchy pasta. Nobody eats it that way. This all adds up to a horrible dinner which seems to be what the Darden restaurant chain is offering its customers. Thanks for your comments.
disgustedserver on 2011-03-27:
@ok4now: For one... Lobsterfest is only offered once a year, but they always have a promotion running whether it is Endless Shrimp or the Surf & Turf event. Another point I'd like to make is that the linguini isn't normally a side they offer. They have it as an option on the computer system to appease their customers, not the menu. It ALWAYS comes with butter in it, because that's how it is prepared. If the customer wants additional sauces, they have to pay for it. Red Lobster isn't a food bank... you have to pay for what you eat. Lastly, I'd like to add that after a customer complains about how their food was prepared and recooked... the cooks are required to take a temperature of the food before sending it back out to the table.
Close commentsAdd reply
Substandard Food & Service
Posted by on
YOUNGSTOWN, OHIO -- This has to be one of the worst Red Lobster locations that my wife and I have encountered in over 26 years. When we first walked in, we proceeded to the Carryout section because we were staying at a nearby hotel and decided to just take our food back and enjoy it at the hotel. No such luck! First of all, we were greeted by the most unprofessional and unfriendly staff person (older woman with glasses and short red curly hair). As this wasn't already a turnoff, she intentionally wrote the order incorrectly, despite the fact we explained it to her twice. When the order was ready, the above person assured us that everything we ordered was in the takeout bag. Yeah. Right. After we got to the hotel room and started removing the items from the bag, we realized that our stuffed mushrooms with crab and shrimp were not included in the order due to her inability and meanness to focus on our order. The King Crabs were dry, lack of moisture, precracked in the back and when cracked opened, the crab meat was falling apart and some pieces even fell on the hotel carpet. THESE CRABS WERE OLD AND STALE. There also was no salad dressing included. This is totally unacceptable for the exorbitant prices charged by Red Lobster. WE ARE NOT PATRONIZING RED LOBSTER EVER AGAIN DUE TO THIS INFERIOR TYPE OF FOOD AND SERVICE THAT WAS PROVIDED BY THIS YOUNGSTOWN, OHIO LOCATION. WE MEAN RED LOBSTER ENTIRELY. We had written a letter certified return receipt to the Red Lobster Headquarters over 3 weeks ago, to no avail. We sent the letter to the attention of: MS KIM LOPDRUP, PRESIDENT - DARNDEN RESTAURANTS, INC. - 5900 LAKE ELLENOR DRIVE - ORLAND, FL 32809-4634. Since Red Lobster has yet to acknowledge our complaint, it is a direct indication that customers who keep Red Lobster's business flowing, especially in light of the present recession, are not given top priority and are perceived as nothing more than a mere nuisance for expressing their dissatisfaction at the type of sub-par service and food that had to be endured. with that said and done, we will be relaying this dismal experience to all our family members, entire church congregation, friends, neighbors, students, active senior citizen groups, students, etc. NOT TO PATRONIZE RED LOBSTER EVER GAIN. RED LOBSTER IS NOT THE ONLY GAME IN TOWN.
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
goduke on 2010-08-12:
You are absolutely correct that Red Lobster should have gotten your order correct and that the food should be up to their standards (such as Red Lobster standards are).

I would only take exception with an assertion that this staff member did it on purpose. It could be that she was just inept and not paying attention. Doesn't make it right by any means, it just means that she's not a bad person.
Skye on 2010-08-12:
This was a good review. I was thinking that may be, the staff member, may have been a little hard of hearing, therefore, that is what could have caused the order to be incorrect. I also do not think she would do that on purpose. What would she have to gain, other than having her manager reprimand her, for causing you such an inconvenience.
Weedwhacked on 2010-08-12:
How do you know it was intentionally written to give you a wrong order?
leet60 on 2010-08-12:
I am sorry the OP had these issues. But it still baffles me, that anyone would order take out from any restaurant (fast food or not) and not look at the order before they walk out the door to make sure it is correct. Yes, I am the guy in the drive through in front of you that won't leave the window until I check my bag.

As for the seafood, I don't do seafood, but I can't imagine much of what Red Lobster serves is actually freshly caught.
jktshff1 on 2010-08-12:
What is your congregation going to do on Friday's now? LOL!
Seafood in Ohio is like BBQ in Wisconsin, neither are going to be worth a darn.
Starlord on 2010-08-12:
People who state that they will never eat at a restaurant again because of one bad experience tickle the daylights out of me. There is no evidence that the person wrote your order incorrectly on purpose. Why assume evil intent when ineptitude is a more likely reason? I am sure you are so well thought of that hundreds of people will forego RL due to your say-so. I went to RL one time and was underwhelmed, but that was in Little Rock, AR. When I can afford it, I may try it again. To boycott an entire chain because of one bad experience, which you could have mitigated, is just silly. BTW, using all those caps does not help your case.
Anonymous on 2010-08-12:
I thought church going folk were more forgiving than this?
clutzycook on 2010-08-12:
don't worry leet, I'm THAT girl, too :). It's the result of one too many drive through monkeys not being able to count to dos when giving me my fry orders.
Anonymous on 2010-08-13:
Mean older women with short red curly hair and glasses are a turn off?
Yeah, you're probably right.
Ytropious on 2010-08-13:
What gets me is, the OP didn't even bother contacting the LOCATION where it happened, oh no, they have to run up the corporate ladder. I don't know how many RL locations exist in the US, but they honestly don't care about one person not getting their stuffed mushrooms at a single location. People need to learn to stay at the location level and not cry up the ladder for I don't even know what. What do you want from corporate?
Close commentsAdd reply
More Money Less FOOD
Posted by on
SPRINGDALE, OHIO -- I recently ordered a carry out of the Ultimate meal Feast which cost me approximatley 25.00 Someone else picked it up for me., I have had this meal many times when I sat in and felt like for 25.00 I should have had more than 3 crab legs..I proceed to ask to speak to a manager which I was on hold for 6minutes before the manager at the springdale location in Cincinnati Ohio came to the phone..after talking to him he informed me that they base your portion on weight 8oz. only. Well first off I feel for 25.00 dollars it should be more than that but I was OK with that..What upset me was the fact that as a manager he couldn't care less if I ever came back or not.. My argument with him was OK I know you didn't create that policy but if I'm a customer displeased with that meal and threatening to never return..A GOOD MANAGER WOULD HAVE SAID..I TELL YOU WHAT HOW ABOUT I GIVE YOU A COMPLIMENTARY APPETIZER WHEN YOU COME IN AGAIN SO THAT I DON'T LOOSE YOUR BUSINESS..ARE THERE ANY MANAGERS THAT CARE THAT MUCH ANYMORE???

Just because of his actions I will not return there and will share with all my friends and co workers not to return as well..NOW WAS THAT WORTH LOSING CUSTOMERS FOR..HE COULD HAVE SAVED THAT REVENUE FOR THAT LOCATION BY JUST TAKING A MOMENT AND SHOWED CONCERN, INSTEAD HE CHOSE TO HANG UP THE PHONE AND BASICALLY SAY..TO BAD!!!!!! WHERE OH WHERE HAS CUSTOMER SERVICE WENT..IT DOESN'T EXSIST!!!!!!!
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
leet60 on 2010-07-24:
The customer is always right, except when he's wrong.
Alain on 2010-07-24:
Um, Yep.
Anonymous on 2010-07-24:
When you buy premium seafood like lobster and Crab legs your going to pay a premium price.
FlShopper on 2010-07-24:
Does that mean you're not going to eat at that particular RL anymore oor are you going to boycott all of them because you weren't offered a freebie?
leet60 on 2010-07-24:
"Someone else picked it up for me." missed this the first time, makes me wonder if someone was feasting on crab legs on the way home ?
Venice09 on 2010-07-25:
How many crab legs did you get when you ate in? Is it possible that the person who picked it up for you did actually eat some?

I don't think you are being that unreasonable. I think the manager could have shown a little more concern for your disappointment instead of just explaining the portion size. I'm curious though, was there anything he could have said to make you feel better, or was compensation the only thing you were looking for?
RestaurantGuy on 2010-07-25:
Everything is done by weight in restaurants when it comes to portions. Just because you do not agree with the portion sizes does not mean you get something for free (so that I don't lose your business) People like this cost a restaurant more due to any little thing they will complain about to get something free.
Customeralwaysright on 2013-01-13:
Going to RL for the first time again in years because I always thought you can't really do seafood cheap...thanks for the input about the ultimate feast, it made me change my mind.
d meadows on 2013-11-25:
3 legs is fantastic! You get 1/2 lb. Those were probably big legs with a claw. Would you have complained more or less if you had received a cluster of 5 skinny legs. Each still weighs 1/2 lb?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >