Preview Review

Next Review

Resort Equity Marketing Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
It worked for me
By -

WINTER PARK, FLORIDA -- After ready a complaint I couldn't believe what I read. For starters if that person would have kept in contact they would have received results. I was afraid to pay upfront but took the risk. I owned a timeshare in New Smyrna Beach and thought yeah right you can sell that. well guess what they did to my surprise within 65 days I was rid of it, not saying it was a bad place but money wise I could have stayed elsewhere. Now I don't own and made a good, very good profit. As in anything you try to sell keep abreast of what you are doing and you get results, **.

Replies
Advertisement
Scam In The Working
By -

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FLORIDA -- All I can say is "crap" I am feeling like I stepped in it. I was called by REM to rent my timeshare for me for a fee of $ 899.00. I was told I would have plenty of "bids" on my timeshare to choose from within 30 days my timeshare would be rented out no problems. I was even told I could get my $ refunded to me no questions asked. Well it has been over 30 days no offers, no answers on the telephone, no returned messages. No one will talk to me. Now what am I supposed to do to get my money back? Does anyone know the steps to take now? It's not like I can afford to lose this much money especially to a scam. I am so stupid for not researching this ahead of time. Now what?

Replies
Don't Get Scammed Too
By -

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FLORIDA -- We really needed to sell our time share due to financial difficulties. We received a call from REM and they had a great sales pitch and said we'd get a $1000 shopping spree if it didn't sell in 180 days. They wanted $800 for their fee but when I said I couldn't afford that they lowered it to $299 so I said yes. After they charged my credit card I never heard another word from them.

When I called to at least get some kind of proof that they marketed our property they said they couldn't do that. I never received any offers, nor did I get the $1000 shopping spree. This is a SCAM. All they want is money from you, whatever they can get. They offer no proof of anything they do for you. DON'T GET SCAMMED TOO!

Replies
Avoid!
By -

FLORIDA -- We had a financial difficulty in paying our bills last summer and were trying to find a way out of our time share. Conveniently enough the Resort Equity Marketing company called us wanting to help us sell our time share and vacations. The sales representative very confidently assured me that most properties sell within 30-90 days but if by chance none of them sold or leased, they were going to pay us back by giving us a $1000 shopping spree because they were so confident it would sell before then. So we had nothing to loose.

I called after every 90 days that we didn't hear anything and they "generously" extended my contract without charging me anything. I was spoken to so disrespectfully that most times I had to hang up to get the steam from coming out of my ears. Since it had been 7 months and I never even got an offer on a vacation or the renting of the time share I finally got the shopping spree which comes to find out that if you want to use it, you end up paying almost $400 in s/h fees to get your "free" gifts.

That is not compensation. They refuse to provide me with any traffic information as to how any people they are even marketing my property to. Now because I am so upset with the results they have terminated my contract all together and are no longer even "marketing" it and so I am out $1099. AVOID because they make hasty claims the cannot fulfill.

Replies
Advertisement
Do Your Research - It Has Saved Me $799
By -

A seller representative from Resort Equity Marketing (REM) has contact my husband and I several times offering to rent our two rooms deluxe village at a Liki Tiki. He said that the village is in a “hot spot” and that they have pre-qualified clients interested in pay from $2,600 - $2,800 FOR A WEEK. I thought that this is a too good to be true offer, so I start doing my research.

All the info about REM I found on the web is negative, many people has been scammed by them. So I was afraid to loose my money. I asked them to write a letter explaining what they said about to refund my $799.00 if they don't rent the village in 90 days and they reject. All the posts in this forum and many other sites reviewing REM has been very helpful to decide not to pay for that “service”. Thank you to all of you. Regards.

Replies
Resort Equity Marketing
By -

ALBANY, NEW YORK -- I spoke with a representative at Resort Equity Marketing about 3 months ago to help sell my timeshare that I owned at Summer Bay Resort. At first I thought they were a scam because the whole idea of going to conventions and trade shows sounded to good to be true. However, I got suckered in to giving up $1299.00 for this company Resort Equity Marketing to sell my time share. Well I have finally received an offer after 3 months, which also was within their guarantees they promised me.

I received an offer for $23,500 and I took it right away so I'm just waiting on my check to come in the mail now. I just wanted to inform people who think it is to good to be true for you to sell or rent your timeshares, but I am your witness keep pushing forward until you hear the best offer like I did. Thanks again Resort Equity Marketing.

Replies
Resort Equity Marketing - SCAM SCAM SCAM
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Stay away from this company and please do your homework before giving any timeshare marketing company your money! You need to read the Better Business Bureau of Central Florida's report on these guys. We signed up with REM 1/05 to sell our timeshare condominium. This was over the phone and the sales pitch and guarantee seemed reasonable. However, in thinking it over and doing some additional research (BBB of Central Florida, etc.), we discovered that this was not the upstanding company that we were led to believe. Given the fact that we were told we had 7 days to cancel the contract, we figured we had an out without any issues.

Only one problem, we were not given a contact number to reach this company by the phone sales person. Only told that our contract would arrive in a few days and that we had time to cancel once we received it. Attempting to reach these people at numbers listed on the Better Business Bureau's website were futile. We received our contract on the 8th day after we had agreed to sign up with them over the phone. How convenient?! We were now past the contractual 7 day limit for cancelling!!!!

We have attempted to cancel with them via phone, mail, etc. and asked for a refund since that time, but they say they cannot do that because they have already started marketing our timeshare. Yet, when we have asked for proof of the services they are providing, they cannot provide us any. The only thing that has been done is that our condo is listed on their website (along with hundreds of others). No other marketing has been done, contrary to what they led us to believe (i.e., conventions, other sales literature, etc.).

To test their marketing and follow through on potential sales offers they are supposed to notify us of, we have put several offers out on the online system for our own condo. Used relatives' names/contact information (with their permission of course). We wanted to see what action, if any, they would take in notifying us of offers. That was approximately 5 weeks ago, and we have not received the 1st notice that anyone is interested in purchasing our timeshare. So what are they doing for the $685.00 we foolishly paid these con-artists?!?

And, oh by the way, the guarantee they offer of 2 round trip airline tickets if they don't sell your timeshare in 6 months??? Well, that's a scam too. In order to get those tickets, you need to purchase a 7-night stay at one of the resorts they are somehow affiliated with before they will send you the airline tickets. What an operation? Is the Attorney General of the state of Florida aware of any of this? We are attempting, though our credit card company, to get our money refunded. Not sure what will come of this, but we have to try. Stay away from Resort Equity Marketing or whatever new company name they choose to do business under in the near future!!!!!

Company Response 05/19/2009:

Resort Equity Marketing is a FOR SALE BY OWNER company. We are responsible for marketing and advertising the availability of your unused timeshare unit or points.
We do have an unsatisfactory rating with the BBB, however we are in the company of WalMart and many actual vacation property resorts. We have done business with over 48,000 clients of which we have 131 complaints. Although we are making efforts everyday to improve this rating we do not feel this speaks for our services.
We of course strive to accomplish the goal of successfully finding our clients a buyer or renter for their unit, however if this does not happen within our guarantee period we offered (at the time) 2 roundtrip airline tickets. This is simply a courtesy gift and not intended to replace the service we will continue to provide if the property had not yet rented/sold. Please understand we are not affiliated with the company these tickets are issued by.
At any point in time, so long as the account was kept active by the client, they may have viewed their personal listing on our website. We also have a customer service department more than happy to help any questions our clients may have.
In addition, we do have a 14 day cancellation policy from the original sign up date. If the contract was received on the 8th day there is still enough time to make the cancellation.

We do apologize for any inconvenience.

Replies
Time Share Sales
By -

TORRANCE, CALIFORNIA -- This company took my money and I never heard back from them. It's been a year. I never received an offer. Don't waste your money! I also never received the free airline tickets they promise you if they don't sell! It's all hot air!

Replies
Advertisement
Not Happy With REM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH ADAMS, MASSACHUSETTS -- I signed up with REM on 5/27/2009. I sent the $395. The last time I spoke to a live person was 5/11/2010. I called today 4/6/2013 and left a message. I wonder if the "contract" I received was legal or not? Anyway, I went to try to find the web site and was unable to find it. I would like to now cancel my contract.

Replies
Resort Equity Marketing Scam! Beware False Salespeople
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- About a month ago my husband and I signed up with Resort Equity Marketing. We received a call from a ** who's claimed he would sell out Bonnet Creek timeshare. He gave us an astronomical quote of more than 40,000 for it if we agreed to pay 1,499. The arrangement was that it would be sold guaranteed within 6 months but was supposedly going to be sold in 3. Neither happened. It was a scam. We tried to get our money back but it was too late. BEWARE THIS SCAM AND PLEASE STAY AWAY!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Resort Equity Marketing Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Resort Equity Marketing
801 W State Road 436 # 2101
Altamonte Springs, FL 32714-3053
407-682-3142 (ph)
Compare Real Estate Companies