Preview Review

Next Review

Resort Equity Marketing Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Resort Equity Marketing
By -

ALBANY, NEW YORK -- I spoke with a representative at Resort Equity Marketing about 3 months ago to help sell my timeshare that I owned at Summer Bay Resort. At first I thought they were a scam because the whole idea of going to conventions and trade shows sounded to good to be true. However, I got suckered in to giving up $1299.00 for this company Resort Equity Marketing to sell my time share. Well I have finally received an offer after 3 months, which also was within their guarantees they promised me.

I received an offer for $23,500 and I took it right away so I'm just waiting on my check to come in the mail now. I just wanted to inform people who think it is to good to be true for you to sell or rent your timeshares, but I am your witness keep pushing forward until you hear the best offer like I did. Thanks again Resort Equity Marketing.

Replies
Advertisement
Resort Equity Marketing - SCAM SCAM SCAM
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Stay away from this company and please do your homework before giving any timeshare marketing company your money! You need to read the Better Business Bureau of Central Florida's report on these guys. We signed up with REM 1/05 to sell our timeshare condominium. This was over the phone and the sales pitch and guarantee seemed reasonable. However, in thinking it over and doing some additional research (BBB of Central Florida, etc.), we discovered that this was not the upstanding company that we were led to believe. Given the fact that we were told we had 7 days to cancel the contract, we figured we had an out without any issues.

Only one problem, we were not given a contact number to reach this company by the phone sales person. Only told that our contract would arrive in a few days and that we had time to cancel once we received it. Attempting to reach these people at numbers listed on the Better Business Bureau's website were futile. We received our contract on the 8th day after we had agreed to sign up with them over the phone. How convenient?! We were now past the contractual 7 day limit for cancelling!!!!

We have attempted to cancel with them via phone, mail, etc. and asked for a refund since that time, but they say they cannot do that because they have already started marketing our timeshare. Yet, when we have asked for proof of the services they are providing, they cannot provide us any. The only thing that has been done is that our condo is listed on their website (along with hundreds of others). No other marketing has been done, contrary to what they led us to believe (i.e., conventions, other sales literature, etc.).

To test their marketing and follow through on potential sales offers they are supposed to notify us of, we have put several offers out on the online system for our own condo. Used relatives' names/contact information (with their permission of course). We wanted to see what action, if any, they would take in notifying us of offers. That was approximately 5 weeks ago, and we have not received the 1st notice that anyone is interested in purchasing our timeshare. So what are they doing for the $685.00 we foolishly paid these con-artists?!?

And, oh by the way, the guarantee they offer of 2 round trip airline tickets if they don't sell your timeshare in 6 months??? Well, that's a scam too. In order to get those tickets, you need to purchase a 7-night stay at one of the resorts they are somehow affiliated with before they will send you the airline tickets. What an operation? Is the Attorney General of the state of Florida aware of any of this? We are attempting, though our credit card company, to get our money refunded. Not sure what will come of this, but we have to try. Stay away from Resort Equity Marketing or whatever new company name they choose to do business under in the near future!!!!!

Company Response 05/19/2009:

Resort Equity Marketing is a FOR SALE BY OWNER company. We are responsible for marketing and advertising the availability of your unused timeshare unit or points.
We do have an unsatisfactory rating with the BBB, however we are in the company of WalMart and many actual vacation property resorts. We have done business with over 48,000 clients of which we have 131 complaints. Although we are making efforts everyday to improve this rating we do not feel this speaks for our services.
We of course strive to accomplish the goal of successfully finding our clients a buyer or renter for their unit, however if this does not happen within our guarantee period we offered (at the time) 2 roundtrip airline tickets. This is simply a courtesy gift and not intended to replace the service we will continue to provide if the property had not yet rented/sold. Please understand we are not affiliated with the company these tickets are issued by.
At any point in time, so long as the account was kept active by the client, they may have viewed their personal listing on our website. We also have a customer service department more than happy to help any questions our clients may have.
In addition, we do have a 14 day cancellation policy from the original sign up date. If the contract was received on the 8th day there is still enough time to make the cancellation.

We do apologize for any inconvenience.

Replies
Not Happy With REM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH ADAMS, MASSACHUSETTS -- I signed up with REM on 5/27/2009. I sent the $395. The last time I spoke to a live person was 5/11/2010. I called today 4/6/2013 and left a message. I wonder if the "contract" I received was legal or not? Anyway, I went to try to find the web site and was unable to find it. I would like to now cancel my contract.

Replies
Resort Equity Marketing Scam! Beware False Salespeople
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- About a month ago my husband and I signed up with Resort Equity Marketing. We received a call from a ** who's claimed he would sell out Bonnet Creek timeshare. He gave us an astronomical quote of more than 40,000 for it if we agreed to pay 1,499. The arrangement was that it would be sold guaranteed within 6 months but was supposedly going to be sold in 3. Neither happened. It was a scam. We tried to get our money back but it was too late. BEWARE THIS SCAM AND PLEASE STAY AWAY!

Replies
Advertisement
Confused
By -

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FLORIDA -- I'm rather confused by all these negative postings pertaining to REM. I received a call about six months ago, paid my 1300 advertisement fee and they started sending my offers to my doorstep. I had my timeshare off my hands in 67 days!

Replies
Timeshare Owner Actually Sells Property!!
By -

YARDLEY, PENNSYLVANIA -- I would like to give everyone my three cents and say that I have successfully sold my timeshare with the help of Resort Equity Marketing. I signed up with REM about 3-4 months ago and paid them $1295 so I can get my property marketed. My TS was in Hawaii and I paid $41,000 for it two years ago and I sold it for $72,900. I almost doubled my money. I would highly suggest REM to anyone that wants to sell their timeshare! Best Regards, **.

Replies
Resort Equity Marketing
By -

WESTON, FLORIDA -- Resort Equity Marketing sold my timeshare and I was paid more than I expected in less than 45 days. Great job, professional service. They don't deserve all the negative comments posted on this site.

Replies
"Sounded Too Good To Be True"
By -

GEORGIA -- I was contacted this evening by the aforesaid company. Quoted what I thought were incredible prices for timeshares. I was gullible enough to purchase and now want to sell or rent. I was quoted $1,797.00 and questioned why I would have to pay upfront to sell property-when I would not do that with my home? The representative told me it was for marketing and advertising fees. I told her I would need to read about her company on the internet and I am so glad I did!!

Replies
Advertisement
Timeshare Experience
By -

I've been working with Resort Equity Marketing and so far it's been a very positive experience. Does anyone else have a positive experience?

Replies
Scam to the Bone!!
By -

ALTAMONTE SPRINGS, FLORIDA -- This review concerns a marketing institution that deals in the marketing of time shares. In @ May of 2003 My wife and I received a phone call from Resort Equity Marketing out of Altamonte Springs, Florida. At the time, my wife and I were discussing selling our time share at Westgate Smokey Mountain Resort In Gattlinburg TN. When we received this call from REM we were told that for @865.00 they would market our time share for us. ** who was in the employ of REM told us that an average turn around time for a sale was around 30 days. She also told us that we would receive phone calls from potential buyers.

As of today, we have not yet received one call. Not to mention that we found out that it was our responsibility to update our contract @ every 4 months. What kind of a company takes money to market a product and then relies on its customer to update their own contract. If we don't update the contract our time share sits in limbo (not being listed) until we reinstate it.

It has been almost three years without so much as a phone call from REM or a potential buyer. We ask for our marketing data and they cannot provide it. We have reduced a $16-$20,000 property to about $9500.00 dollars. I did call Westgate and confirmed the price of what their time shares are selling for, and according to that price, we are underselling by A $10,000.

I know that our property is a very hot seller, so all that I can come up with is that REM is only a listing agent. That's funny, because we never heard that verbiage over the phone. All that I can say is that were taken buy a company that is more concerned about taking your money and not at all concerned about your welfare. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM. The Central Florida BBB should really take a look at the operations of REM and protect the innocent that fall into their trap.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Resort Equity Marketing Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
28 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Resort Equity Marketing
801 W State Road 436 # 2101
Altamonte Springs, FL 32714-3053
407-682-3142 (ph)
Compare Real Estate Companies