RK Chevrolet

Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
2.8 out of 5, based on 4 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Fool me once but never twice
Posted by on
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- In 2007 February I was about to have my son and my boyfriend, now husband and I spoke of getting a bigger vehicle being that I had already had a daughter and I was driving a Carolla at the time.

In February I went to RK Chevrolet of Virginia (I love Chevy) Beach with all intentions to buy a SUV and believing I would not get scammed. I was young and not very smart about my purchase of the 2007 Trailblazer looking over the sale contract now but back to what's recently happening...

The 2007 Trailblazer was a lease and coming to the end of my lease agreement a bunch has been going on. What I thought the bank told me in regards to what to do at the end of my lease all last year isn't what they are saying this year and my lease ends in a month so I found myself in a pickle. I have to pay $9300 (rounded up) by February 9th. Where am I going to get that money only who knows but, luckily I had money coming in and I figured how to pay it off granted if I was extended by the bank. After thinking about everything I decided that instead of paying all that money at once I should look into refinancing a new vehicle and RK was the first place I thought of, so I called my old dealer giving him the details of all and to set me up with something good. I went out there and was shown some cars and I had to go back to work so I said call me when all is good and I will be back.

The next day I get called and he said he can finance me for a used car in-house, I said why don't you just buy my car and sell it back to me, I do want to keep it and he said he could, he just thought I didn't want my car anymore (2007 with 61000 miles, interior is still impecable as well as the exterior), I said this was not the case I would love to keep it since nothing is wrong with it.

I went in and was taken by him to the used section and met with this lady who came back with a monthly payment of $375, I said I am not looking for a high payment anymore (I was paying $461 monthly for the Trailblazer), she asked what was I looking for, I said under $300, she said I need to work with her and how about $365, I said I may do $350 (not thinking at the time), she said she will check with her boss and let me know if that can work. Now everyone I was planning to put $5000 down; plus before I got there I had blue booked my vehicle which came to $11000 trade(rounded up) and $13000 personal sale so I figured they would sell it back to me for maybe $12500 give or take because the payoff is $9300 and they would need ot make a profit. Not the case.

She came back stating $361 monthly, I asked her how much will the car be sold back to me for and she said she need to check with her boss because he's currently drafting the paper and let me know, I said OK. I calculated the $361 and it is like purchasing a new car and I know that if I knew the sale price and minus the $5000 deposit then my payments will not be that much. Well she came back and claim that he is working on getting me a better deal by seeing other banks to finance me, I said OK and how much are you guys selling the car back to me? She said that she didn't get to check but she will and be right back, I told her I'll be in my car. A while later the dealer that sold me my SUV came back and said that it is best to go with them and once I have the money to come in and finance with them.

I WILL NOT!! Thank you very much!! and they just lost a good customer. I have decided to cancel my trip to my mom and take all my money and payoff the car and be done with car payments. I really do which they didn't try to jip me.
     
Replies
Worst organization in Virginia.
Posted by on
I have had a lot of problems with the payments an being booted by this company. I had set up for them to take payment out of my account an twice they forgot to do it and booted my truck. I called wrote up here and even removed my comment after they fixed it. Well my payments are due on the 15th of every month I called Rk the to let them know I will be making two payment on 4 days later. At that point I was 20 late and I would be paying on the 24th day. So I never got to being 30 days late. I told them my mother was in sentara heart hospital and she had a vad put in her chest. She just came to leave with me and she has lost her medial benefits from her job. She is now disabled and doesn't have any income at all and we are waiting for the disabilty to come threw. When I talked to the guy at RK he got my file and didn't even realize I was late. But I thought I was doing the right thing and letting them know what was going on. I said please don't boot the truck I have to get my mom to doctor if needed. Just in case you don't no what a vad is, its a machine that acts as a heart and it has a tube that come out the side of your body and to a machine. Well on the day before I promised to make payment they booted my truck. I can't say I am surprised. RK must deal with the worst people out there because know matter what you do they treat you like do do. Why would you boot me the day before I promised to pay, please boot me on that day if I didn't pay but why the day before. I will tell you why, because they don't care nothing about the consumers they just are here to make all the money they can. RK I said before I only had bad credit because when I was at war a place sold my wife a lemon and then refused to fix it and then took me to court and garnished my money. Rk you are worse than that company, I can understand if I didn't call, I can understand if I do this all the time I can understand if it was past 30 days but nope none of that. I had to step up and be a son for my mother, I had to buy her medicine with my truck payment, I tried to work it out with you but hey that's fine, I now see the kind of company you are. I don't wish none of this on you cause I am not this type of person. But I now understand were you stand with the consumer, you are just about the money. So I will hold up my part and send you the two payments tomorrow and then continue to be there for my mothers needs. Thank you for nothing. This Regent College Student, Iraq war vet says thank you.
     
Replies
RK Chevrolet - poor customer service
Posted by on
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- First of all, the reason I am writing this is because I could not find a number or email for a general manager for RK Chevrolet. Sure, I could have called the local location and gotten the information but I don't want to deal with anyone there anymore. On Dec. 11 my husband and I went in to RK Chevrolet and traded in our impala for dodge caravan. We were very pleased when we walked out of there that day with the service and with our purchase...and that's where the happiness ends. Once they had our money we just fell off their grid...at least that's what it feels like. First, our salesman was supposed to contact us regarding an estimate on having an extra key made. My husband was out and about 2 weeks later and decided to stop in ask about is, since we were never called. Sure enough, he had the info, just hadn't gotten around to calling us with it. While my husband was there (and this was about the 23rd of dec.) he was informed that there was a hold up on the payoff for the impala we traded in because they needed some insurance information. Something a simple phone call would have fixed. My husband gave him the info and reminded him (as they had been told when we traded it in!) that the payment on the impala was due the 27th of dec...a mere 3 days later. Sure, sure..we were told...it'll be taken care of. We received a call on Jan 6th that informed us that the payment on the impala was now 9 days late. What?? So we called rk and was told to call a gal in financing to see what the hold up was (not our job but we did.) We had to leave a message. We hadn't heard anything by the next morning so I went down there in person the next day. Our salesman was there and his first question was "well, didn't he call so and so yesterday?" Again, NOT our job, but I told him yes, we left a message, it is now 10:30 in the morning and we haven't heard anything and we need this fixed today! He made a phone call. Turns out, she tried to send the info the day before but there was over a $200 difference in what the payoff was that day and was put on paper almost a month before and she had to have someone else authorize the extra. Once again, a simple phone call that didn't get made. So he said go ahead and do it and assured me it would be put through that day. Well, we were called once again today on the impala and told it has not been taken care of. We called and was told the check was cut and sent yesterday. We have never had a late payment on the impala and now thanks to rk we do. That is our CREDIT they are messing with! It has been 1 MONTH since we gave them that car and it is just now getting paid off? And as far as I know, only because we had to stay on them about it. That is ridiculous! This was the first car we had bought from rk and it will be our last. We had previously gotten our cars from beach ford, where they know what customer service is all about. Not only did beach ford call us a week later, with each car, to simply ask if we were still happy with our purchase (definitely not something rk did) they bent over backwards fixing a mechanical problem on one of the cars just after we got it, at no cost to us, and with a free rental while it got fixed. We went to rk because beach ford only had a couple mini vans and they weren't quite what we were looking for. Oh, and beach ford sent us a coupon for a free oil change as an apology for not being able to provide us with what we were looking for in a car! How awesome is that?
     
Replies
Customer Service
Posted by on
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I purchased this truck on 10/25/09 a Sunday. I was not given the truck until Thursday 29, 2009. I was told the truck was just turned on on the 28th and they had some paperwork they needed to complete and that they was doing a check of the truck because since they RK is a big dealership they complete more checks than others. I was then told in the middle of the week they had finished checking and inspecting the truck and a ball joint was replaced on the truck and it would be ready soon they just had to clean it. I had returned to the dealership during the week to sign new paperwork because the original paperwork had the wrong year of the truck on it. The dealer also put new tires on the back of the truck after we found the problem with the year of the truck. I picked up the truck on Thursday evening after I was called and told everything was complete. While driving the truck on the interstate I felt a pull every now and then on the wheel. I thought this was because the truck needed a wheel alignment. I did not check the oil or wiper fluid on the truck because I was sure that they were changed or topped of already. I returned to the dealer on Friday to drop off another 250.00 towards my down payment and to let my little brother look at some cars. Being sure that RK checked and top off all my fluids and changed the ball joint on the truck I drove it to Philadelphia, pa on 11/8/09 to a football game. On my ride back the check gages light blinked on one time. I didn't think anything of this because it went right off. On 11/13 and 11/14 the light blinked on again. I decided to then check online to see why that light might be coming on. I found info online that said it could be lack of oil pressure and that I should check the oil. I thought it couldn't be that because it was just serviced at RK. I checked the trucks oil and found none to be on the dip stick. I moved the truck and got under it to check for leaks and found none so I then checked the dip stick again and it was dry. I then took the truck to Jiffy Lube and told them I wanted to see them change the oil because I believe there was no oil in it. The Jiffy Lube tech checked it in front of me and nothing was on the dip stick again. Before leaving Jiffy Lube the tech showed me a busted ball joint on the truck how grease was coming out of it. These was the ball joint I was told by RK they fixed. I have been driving my family around in a unsafe truck for weeks. I am unsure what kind of damage the engine has received from the lack of oil in it. This truck has a large number of miles and needs to be maintained well. I am hopeful that RK can do something to repair this truck and my trust in them. I had gone on there word the entire time an have been disappointed by the lack customer care that was given to me and my family.


Update 11/16/09
First I want to thank Mr Kline for his response. I was indeed contacted by Mr. John today and have set up a meeting with him soon. I must say any company that will take the time to not only listen to a customer but agrees to make it right is a place I want to do business with. I have never seen an organization except for the military to respond and address a problem so quickly, I look forward to working with RK in fixing some concerns I have.

Secondly I would like to comment on the person who wrote how they did not understand after I checked the truck and seen no oil why I drove to Jiffy Lube. Well Jiffy Lube is not even a mile from my house and I also needed someone else to verify there was no oil in it. I did not want anyone to think I was making the story up about the oil so I went to a repair shop for documentation. I want to believe the good in people , so if you going to say they did wrong you should be ready to prove it.I could have been doing something wrong with checking the trucks oil so I wanted that second set of eyes to be sure.

I will continue to update.

Update 12/2/09
I wanted to update everyone on the status of my truck. I am pleased to say that RK did everything possible to make me happy about the condition of the truck. It was taken back to the shop and put threw several tests to ensure the truck engine was in good condition. I am even more pleased to add that they also gave me a new warranty on the truck just in case a problem arose that they had missed. I am not sure you can have it any better than that. I am so pleased with the outcome I will be taking my mom there to purchase a new car from them before the holidays. You can be at rest when buying a car from RK because they will go out there way to make sure you are well taken care of. I will be back to purchase my next truck. I HOPE YOU WILL JOIN ME.
     
Replies
StarStarStarStarStar
Stay Away
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51 - Consumer improved rating by 4 stars
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I purchased a 2013 Ford Focus on 3/21/2015 from RK Chevrolet in Virginia Beach with financing through SNAAC. I was approved, talked to the bank, and singed the contract. Now they are saying they contract is not valid and want the car back. The reason is because I do not have a license. They sold me the car knowing I did not have a license. The only mention of a license in the contract is that the intended driver is to have one. I am not the intended driver and that is my wife. As the insurance is in her name and I am just a secondary driver on the insurance. I made a down payment and again had to speak to SNAAC on the phone prior to driving off the lot with the car. All paper is signed and legal. I have a layer ready to take over this matter if we cannot get it resolved.
Company Response 03/27/2015:
Dear Ryan, I just saw your posting. I have left you two messages this morning, as I am following up our conversation from last night. I would like to help you and need to discuss this with you. I stand ready to resolve your concerns. Please call me at 431-6594. I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, John Malaspina Chief Operations Officer
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Worst Car Buying Experience Ever!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA --  12/8/2013 Joke of a dealership, they have no idea what they are doing. I bought a car here and explain over and over again to register the vehicle in another state besides Virginia. Paid sales tax for another state and somehow my car was still registered in Virginia. What a mess they have made for me to deal with! Not to mention my salesman left to get food in the middle of the sale. Three weeks later they're still trying to figure out how to register my car in another state. Go anywhere else! In fact I join yelp just to write this review.
Company Response 03/26/2014:
Dear Kwpwedding2014,
I am glad that I could help you and your husband with your concerns.
Please feel free to call me anytime on my direct dial number, 431-6507. I welcome your call and am glad to assist!
Cheers,
Tom Kline
Controller
     
Replies
Outstanding!
Posted on
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- We bought a Camaro for my wife two or three months ago, and were really pleased with everybody. I was getting jealous of her Camaro, so I knew I had to get one, too. They knew what we were looking for and that I didn't like getting pressured. They basically let me walk the lot and find the one that I wanted. The entire staff stayed there with us until midnight, when it was done and I could drive home in the new car. Arsenio was excellent. We are a military family, both of us are in the military, so he knew that we didn't have an unlimited income for the cars. It was outstanding!
     
Replies
Severe Disappointment
Posted by on
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I’m sorry to say that RK Chevrolet service has continued to disappoint me time and time again. I stopped taking my car there for oil changes two years ago, because if your like me you don’t have 6 to 8 hours to get your oil changed.

I recently had what could be called a near miss with this horrible service department, the person helping me was named Don and that is as far as I will go with that part of this complaint. The front of my Chevy Tahoe had been making really bad grinding sounds for about two days. I called to make a drop off appointment and was happy to find out that I had purchased the extended warranty on my vehicle. My wife dropped it off that day and RK had it for 7 days. Upon dropping the car off RK (Don) was informed that I needed this vehicle to take a road trip the following Thursday.

When I called the following Thursday to see if my car was ready I was informed that repairs had been made but they were unable to resolve the loud clunking and grinding sound coming from the front tires. I specifically asked if the car was OK TO DRIVE to my destination. There reply was "the car is fine to drive just don’t put it into 4 wheel drive and we will finish the repairs upon your return."

Three quarters of the way or about 200 miles to my mother-in-laws the ABS light came on followed by a loud grinding that just continued to grow louder. I called RK (Don) and asked him if this was OK or a danger as I now have my 10 month old daughter and wife in the car. I was told again, "Not to worry, your car is safe to drive and we will take care of that when you get back."

At this point let me cut to the chase, I am now sitting here at my mother -in-laws writing this complaint after my front right wheel almost fell off last night. I have taken it into another Chevrolet dealership and in one hour (not the seven days RK took) I was told that I could have had a catastrophic failure and not only lost my front tires but my wife and daughter also.

This is criminal behavior as far as I am concerned and this will be the last time I ever take my car into or buy from RK Chevrolet. I would consider some sort of legal action but I too serve in the Military and have neither the time or money for a lawsuit.

BEWARE OF THIS DEALERSHIP AND THERE SERVICE DEPARTMENT, THEY ARE UNSAFE AND MISLEADING!!!
     
Replies
FYI on RK Chevrolet
Posted by on
VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I purchased a 2007 Impala and without putting my feelings into this review I would just like to make a few statements for the public. I am also making sure, by word of mouth, that everyone I deal with on a daily basis knows how RK Chevrolet deals with its customers. I went in on a Saturday and was looking for an Impala. Finally the car I was looking for was found in another state. I was told that it would be a couple of days but I should have it by Tuesday, well Tuesday comes and goes, I call until finally on Friday they say they are going to pick up the vehicle. WOW it should have been here last Tuesday and you are just now going to pick it up!!! They tell me that I can come and pick it up on Saturday, I call Saturday morning and they tell me that it isn't ready that I have to wait until Sunday possibly Monday, by this time I am a bit upset and tell them that I am on my way and that my vehicle should be ready when I arrive. I get there and there are scratches on the trunk of my BRAND NEW vehicle. I tell them that it should be fixed so they say for me to bring it in next week. Now in my line of work I can not just take off at any time to take a BRAND NEW vehicle in to be serviced!!!!! So I speak with my salesman and also I mention the noise that the air conditioner is making, in my BRAND NEW vehicle. The next week comes and my salesperson comes and gets my vehicle to take to the dealership to be fixed, both the air conditioner and the paint on the trunk. While he has it, it is repainted and he says that he hears nothing in the air conditioner. (that is awesome that the salesperson did this by the way) Upon receiving my vehicle I see that my 4 year old daughter could have done a better touch up job and the air conditioner is not fixed. They tell me that I have to bring it back up there between this and that time on this and that day. Again my work does not permit me to take any old time off and who would have thought that getting a brand new vehicle that I would have to return so often to the dealership to get it fixed and another thing is, I either have to wait there or they will give me a ride back to work, no rental car or anything. So right now I am sitting here with a BRAND NEW 2007 Impala with a badly painted trunk and an air conditioner that makes noise. I call the "Customer service" guy and he says "well, what do you want me to do about it." I tell him I want the 2007 Impala that I just paid for to not have any problems with it. It's amazing once the car is off the lot how you are treated by those within the company. so just FYI anyone that buys anything from RK Chevrolet, please look two, three and four times at your vehicle before you sign anything, there is nothing more annoying then having to take a BRAND NEW vehicle back to the dealership several times after purchase to fix something that should not have been there in the first place.
     
Replies
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Buying a Vehicle
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
VINELAN -- I work for RK Chevrolet thought it took a while before I was able to be approved for a vehicle in the end I was able to purchase a 2008 Kia Sportage great miles nice running car. Only problem I had was the time promised the vehicle would be fixed for the recalls took a week longer than promised. Overall I'm pleased.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >