Preview Review

Next Review

Rooms To Go Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Business Transaction
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- The person who sold us the furniture out of Rooms To Go was horrible. Poor bedside manners. From there we scheduled a pick up two days after purchase. Picked up furniture, one of the pieces was damaged. Called customer service, they did an exchange for the following week. Two guys came to deliver one child's armoire and upon bringing it in (with a dolly) they still managed to scratch it up and leave some kind of oil stains on it.

Now why wouldn't they leave it in packaging brand new, bring it into the house then unpackage it? Listen, two guys, a dolly and one mid size 900.00 dollar piece of furniture, a birthday present for a ten-yr-old, and the job couldn't get done. Sad or pathetic. I feel both for my situation involving the business. This company spends so much money advertising to make profit off of us customers. I believe Rooms To Go should spend more time and money investigating the sorry people they hire to deliver professional dependable reliable service. Because right now they are picking and choosing who gets quality service. Pissed off in Texas.

Company Response 01/07/2016:

Sorry to hear about your experience. Would you be able to send us the details along with your order info to Tellus@Roomstogo.com?

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Quality Furniture and Rooms to Go's Indifference to the Problem
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- We purchased 2 sofa sets from Rooms To Go on 12/26/2015. These sets were delivered in January 2016. We also paid for their ForceField protection for both sofa + a delivery charge of $300. Both sets have hardly been used. We sat on the Umber/Jamestown sofa just a couple of times when we noticed that one cushion of the sofa tended to cave in whenever we sat. In fact, this problem had gotten so bad that when sitting down you could feel your tailbone hit the frame. We have avoided using the sofa and have been using just the loveseat (it is still firm and plush).

We have been complaining and talking to customer service representatives for the past 3 months requesting that they replace the sofa! First they sent a service tech who told us that the cushions are not removable so he would label it as a manufacturing defect and recommend that the sofa be replaced (he took pictures of the sofa too). We waited for a week but then called in only to be told that they had not heard back from the service tech. After repeated calls to RTG we were told that this was considered "normal wear and tear" and that they could not do anything about it.

We tried talking to them again. This time another representative asked us to send an e-mail with additional pictures. As expected we did not hear back from them. We called again and this time a different representative asked us to send her another e-mail describing the problem with pictures and that another service tech would come in and give a second opinion on either the 2nd or 5th of September. We called back on September 1st only to be told that they had not heard back from the service department.

We called again on September 7th and were told the service tech would come by on the 10th. The same service tech guy showed up on the 10th and was surprised that they had asked him to come out to the same place again in spite of his asking them to replace the sofa. He took more pictures of the sofa before leaving. We called Rooms To Go again on September 21st only to be told that they had not heard back from him.

We received a call from RTG on September 22nd saying that this was "normal wear and tear" and that she could not do anything about it. We asked to speak to a manager or a supervisor and were refused. 3 months of talking to representatives and we got nowhere! We regret having purchased furniture from RTG. The experience has been bad and the customer care representatives are the worst. RTG should honor their warranty and replace the sofa! The company doesn't care for its customers and their customer representatives are a real nightmare to deal with. Plus poor quality furniture. Will never buy anything from them ever again.

Replies
Peeling Chair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- Bought "bonded" leather chair Feb. 2012. Only use 3 months a year in a winter home in south Texas. In 2015 the chair started to peel in the seems. In January 2016 it is peeling so bad that it comes off on your clothes. It looks 30 years old. We have leather and fake leather that it over 20 years that looks new. Went to local store of Rooms To Go and complained. They called customer service and were asked to send them photos. Sent on 1/8/2016. Customer service called on 1/10/2016 and said they would call back in 2 business days. No call for a week.

1/15/2016 - Went back to local store and got 4 managers' names. They would call customer service and demand to call me. They called me on 1/18/2016 and said couldn't find photos but would call back soon. "We are very busy and can't tell you when we can take care of you." Rude and obnoxious. Now I am convinced Rooms To Go have done this to thousands of other customers. Looked online and read hundreds of the same complaints. Can't believe there is no CLASS ACTION FILED YET.

Replies
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHATTANOOGA, GEORGIA -- I will never shop at Rooms To Go again. I have seen more people's furniture tear up within 2 years. My mom saw our exact set in someone's yard to go to the dump. Thousands of dollars down the drain. We have had our set for like 3 years and take care of it, even used their conditioning that we purchased to prevent cracking. Their offer to me was for me to spend even more money with them and then give us 550.00 credit if we buy the set which would be thousands. Wow. #roomstogo. #roomstogostinks. #wrcbTV needs to let others be aware. #furniture. Rooms To Go Furniture Store - Chattanooga.

Replies
Advertisement
No Refund or Property Damage Reimbursement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Bought $8100 in furniture. Paid cash - BIG MISTAKE. Delivered wrong items on 6/11/16 and on re-schedule visit 6/25/16 damaged ceiling and wall of my NEW home. Filed a complaint and no response after calling them repeatedly for a month. Also due to exchanging items was supposed to get a refund. Got one check in mail and the other was to be a debit card credit back to me. As of today 7/21/16 NOTHING. Won't call me back. Won't resolve my issue. I have reported to Better Business Bureau and 5 On Your Side. I will never go there or recommend them. I have spread the word and will continue to do so until I get my refund and money for damage.

Replies
Sofa Cushions Peeling
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a faux leather sectional almost 3 years ago. I purchased several other pieces that day totaling about $5000. I did purchase the warranty as well. After a year and a half the sofa started getting big cracks in it in a couple of the seat cushions. I immediately called and I did speak to a nice young man. He gave me the details of what I needed to do, which is... send an e mail to this address with some photos. He then informed me I would not hear back for at least a week.

To my surprise, he called back an hour later and told me, they did not have that sofa anymore but they would give me a 600 dollar credit and pick this one up after I picked out another and had it delivered. I was disappointed because I really liked the sofa I had and truly thought it was just one of those things and had a defect. So I went about finding another and it was on sale for 900 dollars. Now I know this isn't by far their most expensive sofa but it IS fake leather, which in my mind was more durable and less likely to fade or crease as I have seen real leather do.

The saleswoman informed me it was some kind of state of the art leather blend because I was really curious about it and she assured me it was a great product. So I selected the NEW sofa which apparently was also this same leather blend but another style and I thought manufacturer. After the credit, with tax and delivery and what have you I still ended up paying 500 dollars. So I get the sofa delivered, they pick up the old one and I am very happy as the new one looks even better than on the website. So now a year has passed and guess what? It starts with one crack and then another and then suddenly the whole sofa is peeling like a bad sunburn!!!

Now about me. I'm a little on the heavy side but the cushions are not broken down or the arms. the sofa sectional has a chaise lounge on the end. None of it is peeling. The ottoman gets the most wear and tear with bare feet and being sat on by me or my teenage son, who is very thin, and it doesn't have any issues. I don't smoke or eat on it or have ANY pets. We are very clean. Seems to me if the whole sectional were made of the same material as the ottoman and the chaise, there would be no problem.

So I have submitted the e mail on this one as well as the photos but this time I was told it would be three weeks to hear as they only had ONE person that works this department. Well it has been over three weeks and I have sent a follow up e mail and have had NO response. I googled "peeling sofas from RTG" and was SHOCKED at the number, so I KNOW the problem is not specific to me but it's their manufacturer. As far s I am concerned they can take my sofa part and cover it with the same material as the ottoman and bring it back to me and make me happy.

Replies
Terrible...Just Terrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- Day 1: Paid for my order in full. Apparently the chair to my dining room table, you know the ones on display, have been discontinued. The salesman places an order without my knowledge for different chairs. Day 2: Realized that the order was wrong. I contacted the store. The manager said that I had to come across town to the store. He could not correct the mistakes over the phone. When I arrive at the store I realize, not only are the chairs wrong, the sofa is wrong as well. The manager then proceeds to blame me for not knowing the skew numbers (as the receipt only is a description, not a photo).

He is also rude, and tells me I must pay another $150 for the "discontinued chairs". In frustration, I pull out my credit card to pay, and I am then told I have to pay from home because he cannot take my payment for 30-45 more minutes. He said he would call me within the hour and let me know when to make my payment. 3 hours pass...no call. I call the store..."Andy is at lunch" so I speak with another manager...Beth. She is very rude and not helpful. An hour later Andy calls me, and I make my additional payment.

Day 4: My order arrives. I have my niece there to accept. I assume everything is okay by the pictures she has sent me. Within minutes of the delivery truck driver leaving my house, I receive a phone call from customer service. They want to know how my delivery went. I explain that I am not there. The woman on the phone says..."Well who is? I need to talk them." When I tell her I am not giving her my niece's number, she said "You need to contact us in the next 24 hours" then hangs up. THIS WAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD! I spent almost $3,000 and was treated horribly. I will never purchase anything from this store again!

Replies
Rooms To Go Warranty Is a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HALLANDALE BEACH, FLORIDA -- Bought 6k worth of furniture from them with the stain warranty. Salesman at the showroom assured me that any stains would be covered and if they could not remove them, they would replace the furniture. After three years there was a bit of dirt staining the arms from people resting their arms there on a couple of the pieces, and 2 spots on the back which might be spaghetti stains I'm not sure. I called them, they sent out a technician who took pictures and said I would be called back.

No call after a week, I call back to follow up and the customer service said that the couch was "dirty all over" which is simply not true and that they would not be able to remove the stain. How do they know if they did not even try, and they don't even know what type of stain it is? What gets me the most is that they did not even try to remove it with their basic product. They just "assume" they can't remove it. When I mentioned that over the phone they say that "I would not be happy with the result unless the whole furniture was cleaned the same way".

Who are they to tell me what I would be happy with? That is the worst excuse for denying someone service that I have ever heard. Looking at their website it's clear that they are able to reject your claim based on solely their discretion and that almost any type of stain except a basic food or drink stain is not covered. Without a way to test what made the stain, they can deny your warranty almost every time. So basically, it's a huge scam. No wonder Rooms To Go is being sued in Florida for 5 millions dollars over their protection plan.

Company Response 08/10/2016:

This sounds like a nightmare. Are you able to send us the details as well as your order info to Tellus@Roomstogo.com?

Replies
Advertisement
Cheap Furniture
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- We bought a living room set less than a year ago from Rooms To Go. The furniture is of cheap quality. Staples coming out, cushions busting at the seams. We paid for Scotchgard. And furniture is clearly not scotches guarded. They came to "fix" it several times. And the furniture is still falling apart. They will not replace the furniture, but want to keep sending techs out to try and repair it. They also want to send out yet another set of replacement cushions. DO NOT BUY FURNITURE FROM THERE. They have very cheap quality furniture. Very disappointed. I still have my furniture from Big Lots since 2009. Furniture is still standing strong.

Replies
I Did Not Have a Pleasant Experience and I Am Not Happy With the Couch.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONCORD, NORTH CAROLINA -- We were not treated very nicely by a salesperson in the showroom because we had our children with us. I had come back to look at the 3-piece large sectional in blue several times. It looked really edgy and comfy. We ended up ordering it and when it was delivered, the men knocked over and broke a couple of one of a kind pieces of pottery. We never received the proper fitting cushions for the couch. One side of the couch end cushions juts out the wrong way. We have had the couch less than a year and it is sunken, misshapen, and uncomfortable. I wish I could send it back! What a waste of $2500. :(

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Rooms To Go Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 96 ratings and
169 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Rooms To Go
11540 Hwy. 92 East
Seffner, FL 33584
813-623-5400 (ph)
813-620-1717 (fax)
www.roomstogo.com
Compare Furniture Stores