Preview Review

Next Review

Rooms To Go Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Business Transaction
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- The person who sold us the furniture out of Rooms To Go was horrible. Poor bedside manners. From there we scheduled a pick up two days after purchase. Picked up furniture, one of the pieces was damaged. Called customer service, they did an exchange for the following week. Two guys came to deliver one child's armoire and upon bringing it in (with a dolly) they still managed to scratch it up and leave some kind of oil stains on it.

Now why wouldn't they leave it in packaging brand new, bring it into the house then unpackage it? Listen, two guys, a dolly and one mid size 900.00 dollar piece of furniture, a birthday present for a ten-yr-old, and the job couldn't get done. Sad or pathetic. I feel both for my situation involving the business. This company spends so much money advertising to make profit off of us customers. I believe Rooms To Go should spend more time and money investigating the sorry people they hire to deliver professional dependable reliable service. Because right now they are picking and choosing who gets quality service. Pissed off in Texas.

Company Response 01/07/2016:

Sorry to hear about your experience. Would you be able to send us the details along with your order info to Tellus@Roomstogo.com?

Replies
Advertisement
Peeling Chair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- Bought "bonded" leather chair Feb. 2012. Only use 3 months a year in a winter home in south Texas. In 2015 the chair started to peel in the seems. In January 2016 it is peeling so bad that it comes off on your clothes. It looks 30 years old. We have leather and fake leather that it over 20 years that looks new. Went to local store of Rooms To Go and complained. They called customer service and were asked to send them photos. Sent on 1/8/2016. Customer service called on 1/10/2016 and said they would call back in 2 business days. No call for a week.

1/15/2016 - Went back to local store and got 4 managers' names. They would call customer service and demand to call me. They called me on 1/18/2016 and said couldn't find photos but would call back soon. "We are very busy and can't tell you when we can take care of you." Rude and obnoxious. Now I am convinced Rooms To Go have done this to thousands of other customers. Looked online and read hundreds of the same complaints. Can't believe there is no CLASS ACTION FILED YET.

Replies
I will NEVER buy from them again. Horrible delivery experience.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I wish I could give a 0 or even a negative stars for my experience with their delivery service. First of all, let me make it clear that my experience at the store was not bad at all. The sales representative informed me well on all available options and was professional in interaction. It's their delivery service that was BEYOND AWFUL.

Short story: All in all, a horrible experience with the delivery and customer care service. There is a big communication gap between sales and delivery. Store manager tells me that delivery is done through an independent contracting company. The customer care service doesn't care about your problems. They just want to avoid the responsibility. Save yourself some time, money and headache and buy furniture somewhere else.

Long story: I ordered a reclining sofa from them for a specific reason. I was going to get a shoulder surgery done and needed to sleep in reclining position for several days after surgery. While placing my order on a Tuesday, one week before the surgery, I made sure that the sales representative was aware about this requirement. I was promised that if I ordered on the same day, I WILL get it over the weekend or on Monday. I was also told that I will get a call the next day with a confirmed delivery date.

I did not receive any call until Friday. I called the store and they had estimated delivery on my order 10 days after I placed it. I had to talk to a couple of people before getting that corrected and the delivery was scheduled to be on Monday. Had I not called them, I would not have received the sofa in time that was promised.

Monday morning I had to stop by work and I missed the delivery guy by 5 minutes. I had also left a note on the door with my phone number. I received a call on my phone when the driver was already waiting at my place. Why would you not call people 10 minutes before you are on the way to their place? I called the number back and it turns out to be their corporate office number in FL. I asked for delivery assistance and call gets transferred to customer care service. I had to do this 3 times. 15-20 minutes of wait each time and I finally get hold of a real person.

After explaining the situation, the lady puts me on hold to talk to 'dispatch manager'. On return, she explains to me that the driver is gone now and it has been 1 hour since he left my place. Of course it has been 1 hour, I have been on the phone trying to get hold of someone this whole time.

Delivery service is extremely inflexible. To deliver items in Raleigh, they need to get it from their warehouse in Charlotte, which is understandable. But if you miss the delivery, your order is locked and you will not be able to re-schedule the delivery until 2-3 business days. Then it will take 5-7 more days to get it delivered. So if you miss your driver by 5 minutes, you lose 10 days in delivery.

Apparently, if delivery is missed in Raleigh, items GO BACK to Charlotte... WTF?? Who came up with this system? Raleigh (and Triangle area in general) has so many customers. I don't see why they cannot have a local storage in such situations and re-deliver it the next day.

I called store to cancel my order as any delivery after Monday was not acceptable. Store manager wanted to try the dispatch manager again to see if it can be re-scheduled today again. This was at 11 AM. I was asked to wait for a call. I finally received a call after 3:30 PM only to tell me that they cannot deliver it today. If the decision was made not to redeliver it today, why was I not notified earlier. I could use that time to make alternate arrangements.

At the end of all the drama, I ended up canceling the order and losing shipping and force field protection money (together about $120). I bet they can sell that sofa to someone else and charge them $60 again for the same protection treatment. From what I read in several other reviews, the "Force Field" protection is another big scam and warranties/treatments under this protection are at "RTG's discretion". Most of the steps in their delivery process don't make logical sense and nobody seems to care about it.

Replies
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHATTANOOGA, GEORGIA -- I will never shop at Rooms To Go again. I have seen more people's furniture tear up within 2 years. My mom saw our exact set in someone's yard to go to the dump. Thousands of dollars down the drain. We have had our set for like 3 years and take care of it, even used their conditioning that we purchased to prevent cracking. Their offer to me was for me to spend even more money with them and then give us 550.00 credit if we buy the set which would be thousands. Wow. #roomstogo. #roomstogostinks. #wrcbTV needs to let others be aware. #furniture. Rooms To Go Furniture Store - Chattanooga.

Replies
Advertisement
No Refund or Property Damage Reimbursement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Bought $8100 in furniture. Paid cash - BIG MISTAKE. Delivered wrong items on 6/11/16 and on re-schedule visit 6/25/16 damaged ceiling and wall of my NEW home. Filed a complaint and no response after calling them repeatedly for a month. Also due to exchanging items was supposed to get a refund. Got one check in mail and the other was to be a debit card credit back to me. As of today 7/21/16 NOTHING. Won't call me back. Won't resolve my issue. I have reported to Better Business Bureau and 5 On Your Side. I will never go there or recommend them. I have spread the word and will continue to do so until I get my refund and money for damage.

Replies
Rooms To Go Warranty Is a Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HALLANDALE BEACH, FLORIDA -- Bought 6k worth of furniture from them with the stain warranty. Salesman at the showroom assured me that any stains would be covered and if they could not remove them, they would replace the furniture. After three years there was a bit of dirt staining the arms from people resting their arms there on a couple of the pieces, and 2 spots on the back which might be spaghetti stains I'm not sure. I called them, they sent out a technician who took pictures and said I would be called back.

No call after a week, I call back to follow up and the customer service said that the couch was "dirty all over" which is simply not true and that they would not be able to remove the stain. How do they know if they did not even try, and they don't even know what type of stain it is? What gets me the most is that they did not even try to remove it with their basic product. They just "assume" they can't remove it. When I mentioned that over the phone they say that "I would not be happy with the result unless the whole furniture was cleaned the same way".

Who are they to tell me what I would be happy with? That is the worst excuse for denying someone service that I have ever heard. Looking at their website it's clear that they are able to reject your claim based on solely their discretion and that almost any type of stain except a basic food or drink stain is not covered. Without a way to test what made the stain, they can deny your warranty almost every time. So basically, it's a huge scam. No wonder Rooms To Go is being sued in Florida for 5 millions dollars over their protection plan.

Company Response 08/10/2016:

This sounds like a nightmare. Are you able to send us the details as well as your order info to Tellus@Roomstogo.com?

Replies
Sofa Cushions Peeling
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a faux leather sectional almost 3 years ago. I purchased several other pieces that day totaling about $5000. I did purchase the warranty as well. After a year and a half the sofa started getting big cracks in it in a couple of the seat cushions. I immediately called and I did speak to a nice young man. He gave me the details of what I needed to do, which is... send an e mail to this address with some photos. He then informed me I would not hear back for at least a week.

To my surprise, he called back an hour later and told me, they did not have that sofa anymore but they would give me a 600 dollar credit and pick this one up after I picked out another and had it delivered. I was disappointed because I really liked the sofa I had and truly thought it was just one of those things and had a defect. So I went about finding another and it was on sale for 900 dollars. Now I know this isn't by far their most expensive sofa but it IS fake leather, which in my mind was more durable and less likely to fade or crease as I have seen real leather do.

The saleswoman informed me it was some kind of state of the art leather blend because I was really curious about it and she assured me it was a great product. So I selected the NEW sofa which apparently was also this same leather blend but another style and I thought manufacturer. After the credit, with tax and delivery and what have you I still ended up paying 500 dollars. So I get the sofa delivered, they pick up the old one and I am very happy as the new one looks even better than on the website. So now a year has passed and guess what? It starts with one crack and then another and then suddenly the whole sofa is peeling like a bad sunburn!!!

Now about me. I'm a little on the heavy side but the cushions are not broken down or the arms. the sofa sectional has a chaise lounge on the end. None of it is peeling. The ottoman gets the most wear and tear with bare feet and being sat on by me or my teenage son, who is very thin, and it doesn't have any issues. I don't smoke or eat on it or have ANY pets. We are very clean. Seems to me if the whole sectional were made of the same material as the ottoman and the chaise, there would be no problem.

So I have submitted the e mail on this one as well as the photos but this time I was told it would be three weeks to hear as they only had ONE person that works this department. Well it has been over three weeks and I have sent a follow up e mail and have had NO response. I googled "peeling sofas from RTG" and was SHOCKED at the number, so I KNOW the problem is not specific to me but it's their manufacturer. As far s I am concerned they can take my sofa part and cover it with the same material as the ottoman and bring it back to me and make me happy.

Replies
Cheap Furniture
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- We bought a living room set less than a year ago from Rooms To Go. The furniture is of cheap quality. Staples coming out, cushions busting at the seams. We paid for Scotchgard. And furniture is clearly not scotches guarded. They came to "fix" it several times. And the furniture is still falling apart. They will not replace the furniture, but want to keep sending techs out to try and repair it. They also want to send out yet another set of replacement cushions. DO NOT BUY FURNITURE FROM THERE. They have very cheap quality furniture. Very disappointed. I still have my furniture from Big Lots since 2009. Furniture is still standing strong.

Replies
Advertisement
I Did Not Have a Pleasant Experience and I Am Not Happy With the Couch.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONCORD, NORTH CAROLINA -- We were not treated very nicely by a salesperson in the showroom because we had our children with us. I had come back to look at the 3-piece large sectional in blue several times. It looked really edgy and comfy. We ended up ordering it and when it was delivered, the men knocked over and broke a couple of one of a kind pieces of pottery. We never received the proper fitting cushions for the couch. One side of the couch end cushions juts out the wrong way. We have had the couch less than a year and it is sunken, misshapen, and uncomfortable. I wish I could send it back! What a waste of $2500. :(

Replies
Customer Care Does NOT Care.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Customer service is terrible. My fault was I was unaware of the 48 hours "buyer remorse" return policy. This is not buyer's remorse. I would still purchase the ottoman if it was an accurate color. I purchased a furniture set a year and a half ago, unable to afford the ottoman. I believed they had stopped selling the set so I was thrilled when I saw it online, not aware of the slight color variation. I received the ottoman on a Thursday and I work weekends. When did I have time to sort out the discrepancy?

Now I'm stuck with an ottoman that doesn't match and customer service who didn't even try to fix the situation. All I got was lousy sorry with no attempt to resolve the issue. An exchange maybe for the right color? Nope. Will definitely not recommend Rooms To Go to anyone. Especially online purchases.

Company Response 08/10/2016:

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We were able to see your other posts and have responded.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Rooms To Go Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 91 ratings and
164 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Rooms To Go
11540 Hwy. 92 East
Seffner, FL 33584
813-623-5400 (ph)
813-620-1717 (fax)
www.roomstogo.com
Compare Furniture Stores