Ruby Tuesday, Inc. - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.2 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
66 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Very Upset
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
NORTHCHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- The server's was good. We ask for a bake potato with our food the potato was so cold that it couldn't even melt the butter and was brown and hard on the inside. We have had this happen to us more than once when the restaurant was in north the food was good the ribs was good and the potato was always fresh. Seeing pour a drink out of a dirty glass, put into a clean glass and use the same little star for decoration on the clean glass. If I was an inspector, I would taken the a, of your door and replace it with e.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2012-07-30:
Ruby Tuesday does cook a lot of stuff in microwave ovens. For example, a $13 pasta dish has precooked pasta that is put into the meikee to heat it up before it is plopped on your plate. Yuck. I stopped eating there a few years ago.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Too Many Things Went Wrong
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
MT. LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- Regarding experience at Ruby Tuesday Mt. Laurel, NJ 15 June 8:30 PM

Needed table for five or six at approximately 8:00 pm. Restaurant was empty. There was a ten minute wait anyway. Hostesses did their best but while seating two of us in the back of restaurant we asked that they look out for rest of party. Apparently they did not as our family walked by themselves throughout restaurant to find us. Table was not set. Server, very sweet may have been new - not sure. One guest a vegetarian asked for a former menu item, namely, quesedella avacodo - server said that it was not on menu anymore. She said what she was trained to say.

I asked for manager. Manager came, was polite and helpful. I explained that an avacodo quesedella could easily be made in the kitchen. The restaurant had all ingredients on hand and could have imitated the quesedella easily. If quesedella's are served just trade off the meat for avacodo. Manager said that could not be done. Manager made other verbal suggestions, very nicely. Customer ordered two appetizers instead of meal. Server brought out two huge plates that could not be set down together for guests. Re-arranging needed to be done. Took most of appetizers home. Service from kitchen was slow. Other food as expected. If tip was added to bill I as host did not see it. So I may have double tipped at 20% not sure. There were five of us. Sorry that I didn't take copy of bill. Not such a great experience.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
unhappy999 on 2012-06-16:
If the restaurant was empty, it shouldn't have taken too long for the rest of your party to locate you. I would not go into a chain type restaurant and ask for something that was not on the menu. The server was trying to tell you nicely that it was not available since it was not on the menu and you decided to ask the manager about it. As far as having to rearrange what was on the table, it happens, I don't see why that is a complaint. As far as the tip, you could have asked if it was added in if you weren't sure. It wasn't their fault you decided to take the appetizers home. If service was slow, you could have said something while you were there. Maybe I'm missing something but I don't see where this was a really bad night out.
jktshff1 on 2012-06-16:
I don't understand.
trmn8r on 2012-06-16:
I used to frequent RT. It was the case that occasionally a table would not be set, especially at the time you arrived - 8pm. If they got busy, they simply couldn't keep up with both cleaning and resetting tables.

I don't see why the restaurant should be *expected* to make an item not on the menu, but asking is perfectly fine. I'm sure the guest was disappointed to not be able to get it.

It doesn't sound like you checked to see if a tip was added, so I don't see a basis for a complaint about that.

I had several atypical meals at RT, and I do not darken their door anymore.
ok4now on 2012-06-18:
Bottom line: This is still a chain joint with poor management that does not care. No special menu for you. The servers are no help. They feel "entitled" working this demeaning job so make sure to leave a BIG tip. Now did you learn your lesson? Don't expect great service and food from a chain joint. Spend your hard earned money where it is appreciated. Give your business to the local establishments that want repeat customers.
Close commentsAdd reply
Sad Service
Posted by on
INDIANA -- We went to the Ruby Tuesdays on I 465 off of 38th St in Indianapolis today. We were the only people in the restaurant until people filtered in. We ordered drinks and proceeded to scope out the fare. We ordered our drinks and waited for the wait staff to take our order. And then we waited and waited until my partner decided on the salad bar and Ruby's minis. We had waited about ten minutes and ken got up and raked the salad bar. That takes a while for him because we like your salad bar. He took a few bites, we with our drinks and wondering why it happened that after 20 minutes our order was not taken and all of the people around us were being served and our order wasn't taken. If you are against same sex couples of thirty years let me know. We've eaten at this restaurant several times. If you've changed your policy to exclude gay people please let us know. We'll never darken your doorstoop again.
     
Read 15 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2011-11-14:
What happened when you spoke to management, about them forgetting about you, and taking your orders?

Management cannot attempt to correct, what they are not made aware of. I would have been annoyed also, but I would have asked to speak to the manager.
clutzycook on 2011-11-14:
Are you sure it had to do with the fact that you were a same-sex couple? Were you wearing t-shirts or tattoos that alluded to the fact that you were partners and not just two guys out for lunch? Perhaps it had to do with all the other people who filtered in?
Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
I highly doubt it had anything to do with being a same-sex couple. I go out to dinner with my friends, we're same sex, we're gay (not dating) and we still get treated well most everywhere we go. When its bad, it has nothing to do with our sexual orientation. Sounds like this has more to do with terrible service. Did you ask to speak to the manager?
swimjim on 2011-11-14:
The wife and I have had this experience before, usually because we seem to come in when nobody's paying attention, or we sit in a section that isn't covered by any waiter in-particular. I never just sit there and fume, I get up and seek service or leave if I don't get it.
Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
How would they know you were a gay couple?
Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
Were you guys holding hands or something?
swimjim on 2011-11-14:
sitting on the same side of the booth might be a giveaway. . . .
madconsumer on 2011-11-14:
WOW!! what an ordeal. sure sounds like to me you two were singled out and discrimanted against.
DebtorBasher on 2011-11-14:
It shouldn't matter if they WERE holding hands (straight couples hold hands in restaurants), wearing T-Shirts (Straight couples wear T-shirts), had tattoos (Straight couples have tattoos), sitting in the booth together (Straight couples sit in booths together), finished each other's statements (Straight couples finish each other's sentences)so, why can't a gay couple? ...They were customers who were ignored while others who came in after them got service.
It wouldn't even matter if they stood up on a table and announced it to the world that they are a gay couple.
DebtorBasher on 2011-11-14:
One question though, were the other people being served by YOUR server or by other servers? I ask because servers are assigned to certain tables and though they may have been taking care of their customers and not know how long you were waiting, or they may not be allowed to take care of another server's tables.
Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
I still say its a case of really really really bad service.
Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
My bf and I got ignored at the Spaghetti Factory once. We flagged down another waitress who happily waited on us. Towards the end of the meal, the waiter who originally was supossed to wait on us came over to apologize. He was busy serving a large party. I didn't once take it personally
Old Timer on 2011-11-14:
Best answers John!

(by the way Ruby Tuesdays in Park City Ut is not very good and their service is even worse)
trmn8r on 2011-11-14:
Wow, what an arduous and painful ordeal, and not unlike some of my own Ruby Tuesday experiences. But I'm not gay. What makes you think your experience has anything to do with being gay?

In all the bad experiences I had at mid-level restaurant chains like Ruby Tuesday, it never occurred to me that the problem could be that I'm heterosexual.
yoke on 2011-11-15:
This has happened to us at Ruby Tuesdays also, and we are straight. We got seated by the Hostess and the place was pretty empty. We waited and waited to be acknowledged. Never did. We decided to leave and as we were leaving the same person who just seated us about 20 minutes earlier said have a nice evening. At that point we told her we were ignored by the staff and were going someplace else to eat. Have never gone back to a Ruby Tuesdays since.
Close commentsAdd reply
Horrible Service
Posted by on
FISHKILL, NEW YORK -- Visited this particular location and was initially satisfied with the server and accommodations. The problem arose when our food came and the meat which was ordered well done was totally pink inside. The manager came over and took a look and agreed that it was in his words "really pink"... He handled it and the food was done over. But while waiting we hadn't got napkins or silverware after asking once but the second request for those was granted. After eating I requested a desert to go, it was added to our bill and the bill was taken care of while we waited for the desert. We ended up waiting 35 minutes on the desert (cupcakes) but were told twice oh they'll be right out and twice asked "oh they didn't bring them out yet". The last approach to us by the sever she asked if we were "all set" I then made a hand gesture showing her 'still no cupcakes'.. So bottoms line the overall experience was certainly not a good one. I love Ruby Tuesday but this one has made Applebees look really enticing. And for me that's saying a lot.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 2011-10-14:
I frequented midlevel restaurants weekly for several years, including RT, Applebees, TRH, Outback, TGIF, Olive Garden.

I came to dislike them all, because the food prep was very uneven and sometimes downright incompetent. The worst of the bunch in my area was AB's and RT. Now that you mention it, AB also put RT to shame which is odd b/c RT definitely has more complicated entrees and higher prices.

The trick, in my opinion, is to kick this trash to the corner and eat at better restaurants less often. My expectations I could find one of these chain places that was consistently good were dashed, and believe me I tried.
Close commentsAdd reply
What a Crock
Posted by on
MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA -- We arrived about 330 PM on a Thursday. There was not a soul in the place when we walked in. My wife walked back to the bar and here was a waitress standing in the kitchen door with a drink in her hand. My wife asked if we should sit ourselves the employee responded "I'm off let me find you someone" Another employee came out and sat us at the bar. When we told them we didn't want to sit in that area they told us "it was the only section open" WTF!!!! there was apparently a manager and a cook in the kitchen who were very loud and vulgar again we asked to be moved the server rolled her eyes and moved us over by the bathrooms (which were nasty) it took forever to get our food then it was cold the waitress came by once to fill up my water we never saw the manager except when he was cursing at the cook in the kitchen next time we will go to some place else
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Skye on 2011-10-11:
I would have left. The way they keep the bathrooms is a reflection of how they keep the kitchen.

Thanks for warning others.
MDSasquatch on 2011-10-12:
The LAST time I went to a Ruby Tuesday, my wife and I were walked past numerous tables and seated in the table closest to the bathrooms as well. I told the waitress that I didn't want to smell p*** and s*** while I was eating and we left. There are far too many choices and I refuse to eat anywhere that treat me that way.

From your post, I see things have not changed. Good Riddance.
oldisgood on 2011-10-12:
I, too, when the Hostess tries to seat us near the bathrooms, statethatwe won't sit there. They always find another area. In my old age I have learned to "talk" with my wallet. When I was younger I sat wherever they sat me but as I aged I realized that I didn't have to. I never wanted to be confrontational but soon learned the "squeeky wheel" gets greased. I won't' sit by the bathroom, the kitchen, or the smoking area. If no table is available I either wait for a new table or leave.
PepperElf on 2011-10-12:
then again if no other sections are available where would you sit? I mean .... you can't kick the other customers out after all.


and I hope the fact that the waitress was off the clock isn't really part of this complaint. I mean she did find you someone who was still working. I'd hate to see someone try punishing her for not being a servant while she's not being paid for it.
oldisgood on 2011-10-12:
/As I said, I would leave or wait for the next available table in an area in which I want to sit.. No food is worth sitting at a table or an area you are uncomfortable with. Plenty of restaurants available.
PepperElf on 2011-10-12:
I went to a place like that a few weeks ago.

The restaurant was CLEARLY understaffed so they only had a couple of sections open. The remaining sections did not open until the top of the hour when oncoming employees showed up.

Still some people were FURIOUS that they weren't being seated. I mean it wasn't rocket science - two servers working their tails off in the sections they were already manning, yet people thought they'd be able to handle more tables? And get served right away too?

And o boy, when three of the employees started talking - one clearly giving out instructions to the other two, omg the employees were "chatting instead of working!!!! eleventy!!!"

seriously, people were making those comments in front of me.


although I didn't mind when they got in a huff and left... cos it meant a shorter wait for me, and I didn't have to listen to them whine. although I did let one woman go ahead of me cos she had little kids and my stomach has more patience than a child's does.
Close commentsAdd reply
Poor manager response
Posted by on
EDINBURGH, INDIANA -- I love to use restaurant coupons and we often make our restaurant decision based on what coupons we have and when they are due to expire. This week we made a special mid week trip to our local Ruby Tuesday restaurant solely because I had a $10 off coupon that was expiring that night. As a long time vegetarian I love their salad bar and especially like the Veggie Trio with salad bar. My husband was ordering a salmon dinner and with appetizer our bill was definitely going to exceed $45. When our attentive waitress saw our coupon she noted that it would only work on certain entrees, none of which were vegetarian. When I asked to speak to the manager to explain that I hadn't eaten chicken or fish for over 15 years and wasn't going to start now I fully expected him to approve my veggie choice. He was matter of fact and said sorry there was nothing he could do. At this point I felt we had no choice but to get up and go to another restaurant. They lost out on a loyal customer and certainly the revenue from our dinner that night. Seems short sighted to me. I can understand our waitress being unable to make the call but the manager???
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
MissLeopard83 on 2011-07-23:
Could it be that the manager was just following the rules handed down by corporate or his franchise manager? Managers may be able to approve somethings, but not all. The fact that you are a vegetarian is something I can empathize with since I was one for 3 years, but it doesn't change the fact that the coupon could not be used on vegetarian dishes. If you are still wanting an explanation, why not contact corporate and request it?

http://www.rubytuesday.com/feedback
MauiAl49 on 2011-07-23:
Why, oh why do people think that the manager of a chain location has the power to over ride corporate policy just for them? If they break the policy for you, then they have to do the same for anyone else who asks, or risk being accused and possibly sued for discrimination of some kind.
trmn8r on 2011-07-23:
If you were asking the server to make an exception, you were also asking the manager to make an exception, correct?

When the manager said "I'm sorry, I can't make an exception," I would have been disappointed I couldn't take advantage of a discount I assumed I was entitled to, but was not. I would not have left though.

Were there restrictions printed on the coupon?

As Miss Leopard suggests, RT has a feedback area on the website. I have used it and it works.
khtom on 2012-05-28:
The restrictions are printed directly on the coupons. It reads "chicken,seafood,steak,pasta, rib and burger entrees only". And it is UP to $10 off. Being that the Veggie Trio is only like $9.99 or $10.99 you wouldn't have saved much anyway. That's where they get you on their nice little coupons. If people would open their eyes and READ the DETAILS on the coupon, you wouldn't come into the restaurant with preconceived notions. The majority of the time, if the manager tells you they can not do anything about the coupon, they really can not do anything. Think about it, would YOU risk YOUR job to take a few bucks off someones ticket? As a waitress, I see this all the time. It doesn't mean we are being ugly to you, its just the rules and the rules are printed right there on the coupon. When we put your coupon code in the computer, it does the math for us, we have no control.
Close commentsAdd reply
Bad Manager
Posted by on
LUMBERTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- We went to the Ruby Tuesday on 5th St. in Lumberton, N.C. We had coupons 2 for twenty dollars. We had used these coupons many times before. The waitress took our order, all four of us had the ribeyes. My aunts steak was overcooked and her steak looked nothing at all like ours. She sent it back to the kitchen and they brought her another one that was better. Things would have been OK except my mom caught the manager giving my aunt a dirty look! How unprofessional!!! Then we were told we could not use our coupons. No worries, we will not be going back to a Ruby Tuesdays anywhere and neither will our families.

Look out Longhorn Steakhouse we'll be seeing you!
     
Read 22 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
yoke on 2011-04-17:
Why were you not allowed to use the coupons? I do not like Ruby Tuesdays. They are overpriced and the service is awful.
momsey on 2011-04-17:
Did they give you a reason for not being allowed to use the coupons?

Longhorn is awesome, I would pick them over Ruby Tuesday any day.
Ytropious on 2011-04-17:
You had 2 coupons for 2 dollars? Does that mean you were looking for a 40 dollar discount off your meal? What was the coupon actually for? Was it for 2 to dine for 20? Is there a limit of one coupon per table? Is there a limit on what can be ordered for the coupon? Too many variables here.
Skye on 2011-04-17:
What was their reason for not accepting your coupons?

trmn8r on 2011-04-17:
Ruby Tuesday's went "upscale" a couple of years ago. What I mean by that is that they put higher priced items on the menu. Same poor food preparation.

The only thing my RT had going for it was the servers were attractive and wore low cut blouses. A mixed blessing, because while titillating I found it very unprofessional. The food was a decent quality, and some quite tasty. Unfortunately, the horrendously poor preparation and inability of management to diagnose and fix problems caused me to dump the broads and RT over the side.
Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Agreeing with others that more info pertaining to "why" the coupons were refused would be greatly appreciated.
Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Sounds like retribution to me. I too would avoid them in the future.

Good review!
Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Very good review. The focal point of this complaint was on the managers attitude than the coupons in question.
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
Are you saying the manager didn't accept the coupons to get even with you for sending the food back? Did you present the coupons at the time you placed the orders. Were your meals the ones included in the two for twenty promotion? What was the reason given for not accepting the coupons.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
My Interpetation is that they had 2 - 2 for $20 coupons for a party of for and they probably would only let them use 1 per table. It sounds like there was a limit of one per table, but the OP got away with using 2 before and RT put an end to it. I don't go to RT often put they will cook you a rare burger. Many places won't anymore. They are OK with me.
yoke on 2011-04-18:
The op's complaint is that the coupons were not honored, did not say how many they tried to use. They should have been allowed to use one of the coupons.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I also get these coupons in the mail all the time. 2 meals for 20 dollars, but if you read it, it tells you it can only be used on certain menu items. For some reason, I don't think that the ribeye steak was included in the coupon.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I just found my ruby Tuesday coupon. It says purchase 2 entrees from the seafood, steaks & chicken, ribs & platters, or pasta categories for $20. RIGHT underneath it, it says "not valid with steak combinations, RIB EYE, shellfish trio, full racks of ribs, "create your own" platters, daily specials, other coupon or holiday offers. So theres why it wasn't accepted.
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
That's what I thought, Prince. Thanks for confirming.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I also would love to know how they knew the manager was giving them a dirty look. What I don't understand, is this is a rather large coupon they send you in the mail, and the font is pretty large. Unless the OP was just totally ignorant and didn't bother looking at the coupon at all.
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I didn't understand the part about the dirty look either, but I thought it best not to mention it. There could have been a million reasons for the expression on the manager's face at any given moment.
jktshff1 on 2011-04-18:
Good info Prince
CrazyRedHead on 2011-04-18:
I went to Ruby Tuesday with my family about a month back and used the same coupons. I had two of them and was able to use them both even though they are one per customer. My two girls and myself used the one and my husband and three boys used the other. We had the best server who spoke with her manager and was able to use both.

There are a lot of restrictions if you use the coupons. You can't get most items on the menu, which includes most of the steaks on the menu. There are to many restrictions to list here or I would be all day. I ordered the steak and shrimp and the steak was medium rare and dry. I didn't like it and probably won't ever order it again. There isn't enough info as to why the coupons weren't excepted.

I don't like Longhorn Steak house. I went there once and the steak had no taste. The lights were dim and when I asked the server why he said so as not to see how the steaks looked on the plate. My preference is Medium rare and it was so I couldn't see the blood on the plate. It was pretty dim in there. I prefer Logan's steakhouse. I just hate all the peanut shells on the floor. It takes all I have not to bring a broom and start sweeping and the steaks don't look like they escaped off of the kid's menu.

I read my RT coupon to my husband before going in there so we had an idea of what to expect, but since our order was complicated we waited until the server came over, and she was awesome! I did commend her performance to the manager.
Ytropious on 2011-04-18:
Good info price, sounds like the OP did not read the coupon beforehand OR let the server know they had the coupons before ordering. That's a recipe for disaster since I'm sure the server could have told the OP before ordering that their ribeyes were not included and they could only use one.
Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
As far as using 2 coupons, I wouldn't see the issue, as long as there were 4 people, just split the check into 2. No biggie, its the same as if those people just sat at different tables. I'm sure the main reason they weren't accepted is because Ribeyes were clearly excluded since ribeyes are pretty expensive to begin with.
Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I agree, Prince.
erikr715 on 2011-05-27:
As a former employee of Ruby Tuesday, I can tell you that one of the reasons your food is bad is because nearly EVERYTHING on their menu is prepared, at least in part, in the MICROWAVE!!! I went to find a job after having been a Hotel Chef for years, and was AMAZED at the simplicity, and apathy for the taste and complexity of the food. It is considered to be that same type of food found at Applebee’s and Chili’s, but this is ridiculous!! I guess you get what you pay for!!
Close commentsAdd reply
RAW CHICKEN, UNDERCOOKED BURGERS, ROUTE 9 NORTH, HOWELL, NJ
Posted by on
HOWELL, NEW JERSEY --
After several visits to the Howell, NJ locations we have had many issues with undercooked meats. We request our burgers to be well done. They have come out mid-rare to medium on several occasions. The last time we got a burger there several months ago, it was sent back to the kitchen 2 times for being undercooked, (requested well done with no onions or mayo, it came out rare the first time, condiments correct. Second time came out medium with mayo and onions. I am allergic to onions). After this, the manager came out and made sure we got a well done burger at no cost to us. It was WELL done and dry. The cook pressed it down good to make sure it had no juice or color. I am a professional chef and this was disgraceful. We vowed to no longer get burgers at Ruby Tuesdays. Also the salad bar on several occasions had bad items. I told a worker about it and wasn’t changed. I tasted one of everything first before loading it up on my plate since then. Bad carrots, eggs, cheese, bacon and edamames....also wet wilted salad with hot plates.

On 11/20/10 because we like their watermelon mojitos and holiday sangria we returned with hesitation. My husband ordered a chicken sandwich which after eating 1/4 of it I noticed it was raw. I tasted it before I saw it was raw and got sick for two days with diareah. We had a coupon for buy one get one free ($10). The manager on duty who did not identify herself, came over and offered him something else to eat. At this point his and my appetite were gone but ordered pasta anyway. The only thing we were offered was the chicken sandwich for free. We were charged tax on this and the bill said customer didn’t like. They tried covering up the fact on record that it was undercooked/raw. Manager didn’t comp the bill as they should have given we explained about our prior experiences with undercooked meats there. The cooks at Ruby Tuesday’s need to be professionally trained or fired. I am sure we are not the only ones who experience undercooked meats at this location. The only thing we will ever go there for now is the drinks. Even then the bartenders are especially great with their attitudes. Each time we got a watermelon mojito it was made different and had ingredients forgotten or barely any liquor. Be Wary of this location.













     
Read 19 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ytropious on 2010-11-30:
"I am a professional chef and this was disgraceful."

I don't know any chefs who will eat well done meat. It takes all the flavor and texture out of the meat. A little pink isn't hurting anyone. I understand you have a right to order things the way you want it but then you got upset when the well done was TOO well done. Well done = tough and gross. You of all folks would know that I assume.
Anonymous on 2010-11-30:
Y, I agree. Well done is not the way to go. With burgers, though, I think you want it with no pink--unless you know the source of the meat. I also know that pressing down a burger pretty much ruins it. Oh, well, each to their own.
trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
singsing -> *you* will want to eat it with no pink. It is a misconception that a burger can't be cooked medium rare safely.

I can also not imagine a chef eating anything well done, but everyone is different.

I gave up on RT for similar reasons. I have had raw chicken there, as well as very poorly cooked burgers. Comping does not help if they don't improve. Nobody wants to waste an extra hour waiting for their food to be recooked 2-3 times.

MDSasquatch on 2010-11-30:
In my youth, I worked at a place called Roy Rogers. We had one customer that always ordered a well-done burger. We cooked all the life/flavor/juice out of his burger every time.

He never complained, I guess that is how he liked them.
momsey on 2010-11-30:
My father in law orders all his meat very well done. It looks completely unappetizing to me, but to each his own. But, he's never complained about a well done burger being dry. That's what happens when it's cooked well done.

MDS, loved Roy Rogers! They still have them at some rest stops, but that's about the only place you can find them.
Anonymous on 2010-11-30:
Roy Rogers!! Those were the days. Best burgers on the planet! Now they are Hardees and they're gross.
trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
The 5 guys chain cooks its burgers to death, and yet they are are juicier than a medium rare burger. Must be very fatty beef, or infused with something. I had one, and while it was juicy it still had no taste. You can't make caviar out of a fish.
momsey on 2010-11-30:
The Roy Rogers near us turned into Wendy's (other than the aforementioned rest stops.)
MDSasquatch on 2010-11-30:
This is only 20 minutes from my house:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Roys_Westminster_MD.JPG
leet60 on 2010-11-30:
"After several visits to the Howell, NJ locations we have had many issues with undercooked meats. "

My only question, is why do you keep going back?
trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
leet60 -> I have been in this situation myself, I have to admit. If the staff is friendly, the place is clean and comfortable, and the food is tasty when prepared right, it makes you hope it will always be that way.

After giving up on several chains, my fuse is much shorter than it used to be. Now I shoot for a 9/10 ratio of good/total visits. If it gets down to 7/10, I am outta there.
Venice09 on 2010-11-30:
I loved Roy Rogers because all the burgers were served plain and you could top it with whatever you wanted from the condiment bar. That way there were no mistakes. The chicken was good, too. I was sorry to see Roy Rogers leave the area.
trmn8r on 2010-11-30:
I was surprised to see all the Roy Rogers comments. I don't think I have ever been in one, so I didn't know what I was missing.

Never shopped on Black Friday, never had a RR burger. I feel as though my life's regrets are all flashing before my eyes.
PepperElf on 2010-12-01:
there's a RR on the throughway here. I dunno where the others are. they're OK, though the fish burgers are not worth getting.

and they have giant mugs to support the USO
momsey on 2010-12-01:
The fixin's bar is the best! And the roast beef sandwiches were my favorite when I was a kid.

trmn8r, you poor sheltered thing! :o)
trmn8r on 2010-12-01:
Fixin's bar! Dang, that sounds right special (:
Venice09 on 2010-12-01:
Ooo.. I forgot about the roast beef sandwiches. They were good, too.
Anonymous on 2010-12-01:
I worked at RR in 1986, and ate there a couple of years ago in PA. They still have good food, for fast food :)
trmn8r on 2010-12-01:
I listened to the hype about Sonic, and was disappointed. I listened to the hype about 5 Guys, and was disappointed. Now I'm all hopped up on the thought of trying Roy Rogers. Will I be disappointed? Will I find one within 100 miles? Tune in later to find out...
Close commentsAdd reply
Misleading Menu
Posted by on
LITHIA SPRINGS, GEORGIA -- My boyfriend and I came from church on 5/16/10 and we decided to go to Ruby Tuesdays on Thorton Rd. in Lithia Springs GA. Our waitress was slow as Christmas. She gives us this menu that says Sweetheart Dinner for 2 19.99per person. Well under that it states what all comes with the 19.99 special,"one appetizer, two entrees, and one dessert. We jumped on that. The bill comes and its 53 dollars. We ask and we are told that each meal is 19.99 and the dessert and appetizer is free. We scratch our heads because that's not what the menu advertise. Manager insisted on telling us that our dessert and a[[etizers were free. We said if its per person the we both should get dessert and appetizers. He argued with us for 10 minutes trying to explain the senslessness of this menu. I ask you the question am I wrong or do I have the rite to be pissed for false advertisement on their menus. And back to oour waitress the manager had to bring us refills on our teas so that should explain how great our service was. I will not eat there ever again and that makes me mad cause I love their salad bar(lol)!!!!
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ytropious on 2010-05-18:
Yeah really, you say yourself 19.99 per person, meaning 40 dollars for 2 people. Your check came to 53, meaning there are likely drinks and tax involved as well. I see nothing wrong here...
Anonymous on 2010-05-18:
I don't see where the confusion is here. The menu clearly said $19.99 per person, one appetizer, two entrees, one dessert. Sounds pretty clear to me
Venice09 on 2010-05-18:
I think the OP is questioning why they only received one dessert and one appetizer, and not one per entree since they paid for two entrees. If I'm right, I think this review could be worded better to make it clearer. When you think about it, $20 for an entree at Ruby Tuesdays is a lot. Isn't it? $20 could probably buy an appetizer, entree and dessert for one person at Ruby Tuesdays or a similar restaurant . I'm not familiar with Ruby Tuesdays prices, so I'm not really sure.

If the OP's complaint is that they should have received two appetizers and two desserts for $20 per person, then she should have questioned it before ordering, not when it came time to pay the bill.
Anonymous on 2010-05-18:
Agreed, Jkt. The menu clearly stated what was included.
Crown Jules on 2010-05-19:
I wonder if the OP expected each person to receive one appetizer, two entrees and one dessert? I think the point of it being called a Sweetheart Dinner for 2 is that it's supposed to be romantic for you to share the appetizer and dessert. And who cares if the manager refilled your tea instead of your server? Maybe she got caught up doing something else with another customer. I'll bet if your tea hadn't been refilled you would have been complaining about that.
FlShopper on 2010-05-20:
"I ask you the question am I wrong or do I have the rite to be pissed for false advertisement on their menus."

Sorry, but you are wrong. You misunderstood how the special deal worked. Hopefully, the meal itself was good.
Venice09 on 2010-05-20:
Ponie, I actually read the review a few times. I think at first the OP thought the special included two entrees because despite the menu stating that the price was $19.99 per person, it also says that the special comes with one appetizer, two entrees and one dessert. If that is the actual wording on the menu, I can understand the confusion. I think when the OP was charged $19.99 per person, she argued that if she was paying for two entrees there should be two desserts and two appetizers. I see the point she's trying to make, however, something like this should be settled before ordering if there is any doubt.
Andrea on 2013-11-11:
2 words "per person" clear up the whole mess.
Close commentsAdd reply
Wednesday May 13th Ruby Tuesday's in Johnson City, New York
Posted by on
JOHNSON CITY, NEW YORK -- My wife and I go out to eat on a regular basis. I have never walked away from any establishment without leaving a tip until yesterday. First off, there we're not many people dining yesterday. We started with drinks (mine, Sam Adams summer ale draft, wife's - mango mohito) After about 15 minutes our server came over with water and said the bar was busy. Really!! He said we could start our order. My wife ordered crab cakes, I ordered Asian shrimp and salmon. After another 10 minutes the server came back to inform my wife they were out of crab cakes. So, she ordered what I had Asian Shrimp and Salmon. Then about 5 minutes later our drinks were brought to us. Soon after our meals arrived. The server placed them in front of us and walked away. I sat there looking at both plates and neither one had shrimp. I told my wife I would call him over once I saw him. I eat relatively fast but my wife eats slow enough for the two of us. Unfortunately, we never saw the server again until after my wife was done with her plate. By now, I just mentioned neither of us had any shrimp on our plates and I believe for the 13.99 price it was supposed to come with shrimp. The server looked at me and said, I'm sorry about that, would you like desert. I just sat there for a few seconds looking at my wife. I finally made eye contact and said, well, could we just have one piece of cheesecake to split between the two of us. He said sure and walked away. Over 10 minutes later, he comes back to inform us they were out of cheesecake. What in the world is happening here? Who in the world is in charge. Especially in today's economic downturn, I'm positive your eating establishments have felt the pinch. This is probably the worst eating experience we've had in more than 20 years. I have never before walked out without leaving a tip until yesterday and that burns me to the core. Someone should have made some sort of concession and this note would not be written. Instead, they charged us the full 13.99. Someone should investigate what's taking place and you should do it pronto.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 2009-05-14:
It's not your server's fault that they were out of crab cakes or cheesecake. I hate when people short the waitstaff on tips just because of the food. They are not the ones who cook it
Ponie on 2009-05-14:
'...in today's economic downturn, I'm positive your eating establishments have felt the pinch.' I'm sure they have and perhaps some of them have cut back on product inventory. If it isn't sold, it's tossed out. Although I think customers should be told in advance that an item isn't available.

I agree littleyaya. If a restaurant doesn't have certain food items, surely the server is not responsible.
BokiBean on 2009-05-14:
Nonetheless, if the shrimp didn't come and it was supposed to..the server should have made that right. Shrimp and Salmon should have shrimp on the plate.. If they're out, they tell you, if they don't tell you and send out half of what you ordered..they make it up to you.

I would have asked for the manager. Waiters are just the start of the food chain in a restaurant.
moneybags on 2009-05-15:
Duh, and you didn't ask for the manager even once, did you?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >