[X]
Feedburner count

Ruby Tuesday, Inc. - Page 2

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
65 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Too Many Drug Users
Posted by Y.TERRENCE on 05/19/2012
I was employed by Ruby Tuesday in Orlando, Fl for over a year. I hated working there. 80% of the workers were either on cocaine or weed. My advice, if you are applying at a company that doesn't drug test, move on. I've found in my experience that working for a company that doesn't test is not healthy.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2012-05-21:
Since Ruby Tuesday is a franchise operation it's possible the corporate office is unaware of any problems at this location. Let them know what you think (I wouldn't word it as any more than being suspicions since if it turns out someone is wrongfully accused they might get annoyed about it): http://www.rubytuesday.com/feedback/
Posted by gloucester va on 2012-11-13:
I was deeply disappointed in our food on veterans day.I took my husband to gloucester ruby tuesday....The lobster was cooked too fast shell was burned crisp meat inside was on mush side...my cocon ut shrimp add on burnt...steak you could only chew the juice out you ended up with a clump of meat you could not swallow or digest....mashed potatoe and brocolli were up to standard ...need to do away with garlic bread hard as a rock ...this is the third try of undercook or below grade level quality of food. To pay$42.00 for a meal and leave not satisfied doesnt work for me,,,,too remind myself I took a picture of burnt lobster and asparagus i was charged an extra $1 for ...remind myself no more
Close commentsAdd reply


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Very Poor Service, and the Worse Meal I Have Ever Received at a Ruby Tuesday
Posted by Bubsiewilk on 03/19/2012
Food awful. Waiter Jon of Orange Blossom Trail in Orlando, never refilled our drinks. The salad bar old, not fresh. A party of three and 1.5 hours later, we finally received our bill. Worse Ruby Tuesday I ever ate at.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2012-03-19:
I've had some truly awful meals at Ruby Tuesday, and some delicious ones at the same location.

I finally decided these two do not "average out", and terrible experiences like yours are not worth the risk and aggravation. I tossed RT into the trash heap of chain restaurants and never looked back.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-03-19:
The Ruby Tuesdays near me shut down couple years ago. I enjoyed the food there, they had one of the best burgers I have tried.
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-03-19:
Yes, Wally, that was my favorite. I believe it was called the Alpine Swiss Burger with mushrooms.

Unfortunately, I received one carbon-black on one occasion, and when allegedly recooked to medium rare as I originally requested, it came out raw. Then the manager lied to me as to why this all happened.

The thing about most of these chains is they have some tasty items on the menu, but if prepared improperly or the service or cleanliness goes downhill, all heck can break loose.
Posted by ok4now on 2012-03-20:
When you visit a chain restaurant this is the chance you take.
Close commentsAdd reply

Rancid Burgers!
Posted by Valkyrieinflight on 01/09/2012
MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA -- My Open Letter To Ruby Tuesdays: I was shocked by what was the WORSE experience I have ever had anywhere, let alone Ruby Tuesdays at Eastchase Loop, Montgomery Alabama. I have eaten at your restaurants for years in various cities I have lived. I had come to rely on the consistency of the food and service quality that made anywhere I am feel "like home". Today the order was not taken correctly, took long despite that it was not crowded, I had to ask for refill on my drink despite the server seeing it was empty for about 15 minutes. But the worse part is that after all this I was served meat that was RANCID!! I threw up before I left and have been sick ever since. I got home, threw up again and slept all day. I am so upset I cannot even express my anger and disappointment. My sister was with me and when I told her my burger was not good she smelled hers and backed away. I was very hungry when I arrived and by the time the food got to us I tried to eat it but less than halfway through I realized it was not me - the meat really was bad. My sister ordered the Minis and had not gotten to the meat part because its mostly bread on those but when she smelled mine, she lifted the bun on hers, took one sniff and put it down! It was disgusting. The texture was spongy, as if frozen and then improperly defrosted. It was not pink but I think that was not due to being cooked. It felt like the color was due to it being not fresh. The question it raises for me is about food handling at your restaurants. Is your meat frozen until ready to be cooked? Is it handled safely? Clearly the answer has to be NO judging from our experience and both of us having the same problem. This was at approx noon, it is now almost 11pm and its just now that I feel well enough to even write to you. The server and asst. mgr offered me another dish...as if I could even think of eating another bite in your restaurant. She said "I don't want you to leave hungry".... Trust me, leaving hungry was not possible. I have not been able to eat since that. I was even too sick to go to Pri-Med, which I considered because I thought I was food poisoned. Just writing to you is like reliving that horrible ordeal and sickens me to recall the odor and taste of the burger. We were not charged for our meals - thank you for not charging us for food poisoning! But I swear by all I hold dear that I will never eat at any Ruby Tuesdays again and will warn my friends and family about what happened to us today and the indications that the food handling at Ruby's needs to be looked into...A former Ruby Tuesdays customer
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2012-01-09:
If you had nothing but wonderful experiences at all other Ruby Tuesday's, then why would you swear them off completely? As opposed to simply not visiting this particular establishment again? I've had McDonald's put onions and pickles on my burger before, even after I had asked them not to. But that doesn't mean that I stopped going to "ALL" McDonald's across the country? That would be unfair to hold all other franchises accountable for the mistake of only one.

Good review for THAT location! But I won't be boycotting all the others across the country.
Posted by Venice09 on 2012-01-09:
First let me say that there is absolutely no excuse for this whatsoever. But I have to ask. If it smelled that bad, how did you manage to eat any of it at all? I realize you were hungry, but I honestly don't understand how you were able to get past the smell. It's making me sick just thinking about it.
Close commentsAdd reply

Sad Service
Posted by Paulthedelislave69 on 11/14/2011
INDIANA -- We went to the Ruby Tuesdays on I 465 off of 38th St in Indianapolis today. We were the only people in the restaurant until people filtered in. We ordered drinks and proceeded to scope out the fare. We ordered our drinks and waited for the wait staff to take our order. And then we waited and waited until my partner decided on the salad bar and Ruby's minis. We had waited about ten minutes and ken got up and raked the salad bar. That takes a while for him because we like your salad bar. He took a few bites, we with our drinks and wondering why it happened that after 20 minutes our order was not taken and all of the people around us were being served and our order wasn't taken. If you are against same sex couples of thirty years let me know. We've eaten at this restaurant several times. If you've changed your policy to exclude gay people please let us know. We'll never darken your doorstoop again.
     
Read 15 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Skye on 2011-11-14:
What happened when you spoke to management, about them forgetting about you, and taking your orders?

Management cannot attempt to correct, what they are not made aware of. I would have been annoyed also, but I would have asked to speak to the manager.
Posted by clutzycook on 2011-11-14:
Are you sure it had to do with the fact that you were a same-sex couple? Were you wearing t-shirts or tattoos that eluded to the fact that you were partners and not just two guys out for lunch? Perhaps it had to do with all the other people who filtered in?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
I highly doubt it had anything to do with being a same-sex couple. I go out to dinner with my friends, we're same sex, we're gay (not dating) and we still get treated well most everywhere we go. When its bad, it has nothing to do with our sexual orientation. Sounds like this has more to do with terrible service. Did you ask to speak to the manager?
Posted by swimjim on 2011-11-14:
The wife and I have had this experience before, usually because we seem to come in when nobody's paying attention, or we sit in a section that isn't covered by any waiter in-particular. I never just sit there and fume, I get up and seek service or leave if I don't get it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
How would they know you were a gay couple?
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
Were you guys holding hands or something?
Posted by swimjim on 2011-11-14:
sitting on the same side of the booth might be a giveaway. . . .
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-11-14:
WOW!! what an ordeal. sure sounds like to me you two were singled out and discrimanted against.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-11-14:
It shouldn't matter if they WERE holding hands (straight couples hold hands in resturants), wearing T-Shirts (Straight couples wear T-shirts), had tattoos (Straight couples have tattoos), sitting in the booth together (Straight couples sit in booths together), finished each other's statements (Straight couples finish each other's sentences)so, why can't a gay couple? ...They were customers who were ignored while others who came in after them got service.
It wouldn't even matter if they stood up on a table and announced it to the world that they are a gay couple.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2011-11-14:
One question though, were the other people being served by YOUR server or by other servers? I ask because servers are assigned to certain tables and though they may have been taking care of their customers and not know how long you were waiting, or they may not be allowed to take care of another server's tables.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
I still say its a case of really really really bad service.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-11-14:
My bf and I got ignored at the Spaghetti Factory once. We flagged down another waitress who happily waited on us. Towards the end of the meal, the waiter who originally was supossed to wait on us came over to apologize. He was busy serving a large party. I didn't once take it personally
Posted by Old Timer on 2011-11-14:
Best answers John!

(by the way Ruby Tuesdays in Park City Ut is not very good and their service is even worse)
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-11-14:
Wow, what an arduous and painful ordeal, and not unlike some of my own Ruby Tuesday experiences. But I'm not gay. What makes you think your experience has anything to do with being gay?

In all the bad experiences I had at mid-level restaurant chains like Ruby Tuesday, it never occurred to me that the problem could be that I'm heterosexual.
Posted by yoke on 2011-11-15:
This has happened to us at Ruby Tuesdays also, and we are straight. We got seated by the hostess and the place was pretty empty. We waited and waited to be acknowledged. Never did. We decided to leave and as we were leaving the same person who just seated us about 20 minutes earlier said have a nice evening. At that point we told her we were ignored by the staff and were going someplace else to eat. Have never gone back to a Ruby Tuesdays since.
Close commentsAdd reply


Horrible Service
Posted by Lcoleman3930157 on 10/13/2011
FISHKILL, NEW YORK -- Visited this particular location and was initially satisfied with the server and accommodations. The problem arose when our food came and the meat which was ordered well done was totally pink inside. The manager came over and took a look and agreed that it was in his words "really pink"... He handled it and the food was done over. But while waiting we hadn't got napkins or silverware after asking once but the second request for those was granted. After eating I requested a desert to go, it was added to our bill and the bill was taken care of while we waited for the desert. We ended up waiting 35 minutes on the desert (cupcakes) but were told twice oh they'll be right out and twice asked "oh they didn't bring them out yet". The last approach to us by the sever she asked if we were "all set" I then made a hand gesture showing her 'still no cupcakes'.. So bottoms line the overall experience was certainly not a good one. I love Ruby Tuesday but this one has made Applebees look really enticing. And for me that's saying a lot.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2011-10-14:
I frequented midlevel restaurants weekly for several years, including RT, Applebees, TRH, Outback, TGIF, Olive Garden.

I came to dislike them all, because the food prep was very uneven and sometimes downright incompetent. The worst of the bunch in my area was AB's and RT. Now that you mention it, AB also put RT to shame which is odd b/c RT definitely has more complicated entrees and higher prices.

The trick, in my opinion, is to kick this trash to the corner and eat at better restaurants less often. My expectations I could find one of these chain places that was consistently good were dashed, and believe me I tried.
Close commentsAdd reply

What a Crock
Posted by Biggabroni527 on 10/11/2011
MONTGOMERY, ALABAMA -- We arrived about 330 PM on a Thursday. There was not a soul in the place when we walked in. My wife walked back to the bar and here was a waitress standing in the kitchen door with a drink in her hand. My wife asked if we should sit ourselves the employee responded "I'm off let me find you some one" Another employee came out and sat us at the bar. When we told them we didn't want to sit in that area they told us "it was the only section open" WTF!!!! there was apparently a manager and a cook in the kitchen who were very loud and vulgar again we asked to be moved the server rolled her eyes and moved us over by the bathrooms (which were nasty) it took forever to get our food then it was cold the waitress came by once to fill up my water we never saw the manager except when he was cursing at the cook in the kitchen next time we will go to some place else
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Skye on 2011-10-11:
I would have left. The way they keep the bathrooms is a reflection of how they keep the kitchen.

Thanks for warning others.
Posted by MDSasquatch on 2011-10-12:
The LAST time I went to a Ruby Tuesday, my wife and I were walked past numerous tables and seated in the table closest to the bathrooms as well. I told the waitress that I didn't want to smell p*** and s*** while I was eating and we left. There are far too many choices and I refuse to eat anywhere that treat me that way.

From your post, I see things have not changed. Good Riddance.
Posted by oldisgood on 2011-10-12:
I, too, when the hostess tries to seat us near the bathrooms, statethatwe won't sit there. They always find another area. In my old age I have learned to "talk" with my wallet. When I was younger I sat whereever they sat me but as I aged I realized that I didn't have to. I never wanted to be confrontational but soon learned the "squeeky wheel" gets greased. I wont' sit by the bathroom, the kitchen, or the smoking area. If no table is available I either wait for a new table or leave.
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-10-12:
then again if no other sections are available where would you sit? i mean .... you can't kick the other customers out after all.


and i hope the fact that the waitress was off the clock isn't really part of this complaint. I mean she did find you someone who was still working. I'd hate to see someone try punishing her for not being a servant while she's not being paid for it.
Posted by oldisgood on 2011-10-12:
/As I said, I would leave or wait for the next available table in an area in which I want to sit.. No food is worth sitting at a table or an area you are uncomfortable with. Plenty of restaurants available.
Posted by PepperElf on 2011-10-12:
I went to a place like that a few weeks ago.

The restaurant was CLEARLY understaffed so they only had a couple of sections open. The remaining sections did not open until the top of the hour when oncoming employees showed up.

Still some people were FURIOUS that they weren't being seated. I mean it wasn't rocket science - two servers working their tails off in the sections they were already manning, yet people thought they'd be able to handle more tables? And get served right away too?

And o boy, when three of the employees started talking - one clearly giving out instructions to the other two, omg the employees were "chatting instead of working!!!! eleventy!!!"

seriously, people were making those comments in front of me.


although I didn't mind when they got in a huff and left... cos it meant a shorter wait for me, and i didn't have to listen to them whine. although i did let one woman go ahead of me cos she had little kids and my stomach has more patience than a child's does.
Close commentsAdd reply

Eating at Ruby Tuesday's may kill you if you have any health issues.
Posted by Crookstonamy on 09/05/2011
My husband and I ate at Ruby Tuesday's last night and both of us ended up sick. I believe there to be MSGs in their food from the reaction I got and having that same reaction to MSG previously. My steak was undercooked also.

I am on dialysis and had I eaten my entire meal, I may have died. I feel with the health concerns with MSG alone, add on any health concerns most people face, this restaraunt chain should be forced to change it's practice of food preservation.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2011-09-05:
If your steak was undercooked, the manager on duty should have promptly taken care of that. Meat doneness is always a potential issue.

RT has an impressive looking FAQ that includes a guide to allergans and MSG. People sensitive to MSG are given menu suggestions on pages 14-15:
http://www.rubytuesday.com/assets/menu/pdf/informational/allergen.pdf
Posted by madconsumer on 2011-09-05:
that sounds horrible! did you ask if they use msg? i have heard many places using it, and it causes serious issues to many. i have also seen many places with a sign saying "no msg used here".

it may be a best practice in the future to ask if they use msg or not.

very helpful review.
Posted by Skye on 2011-09-05:
People are responsible for their own health issues. How is Ruby Tuesday's to know someone is on dialysis?

OP, you know what you can and cannot have, and it's up to you to ask how food is prepared. Sorry this happened, but they did nothing wrong.


Posted by GreenstarYT on 2011-09-05:
A lot of places probably use MSG. Unless they specifically say "we don't use MSG" then you kind of have to assume they do.
Posted by Starlord on 2011-09-06:
If you have food sensitivity issues, it is your responsibility to know what to watch for and ask before just chowing down. My wife is highly allergic to shellfish, and questions every dish at Chinese buffets to make sure she does not ingest shrimp. Telling the restaurants to remove shrimp from their menu is ridiculous. Idiots are trying to remove peanut butter from the school lunch program because 1-3% of kids MIGHT be allergic to peanuts. Peanut butter is a healthful, nutritious food that is easily digestible for the vast majority of the population, as well as being a good meat substitute. You own your helath problems, not Ruby Tuesday's. I wonder how your steak was undercooked, medium when you wanted well done? This is not a health issue, but a preference one. I happen to like my steak rare, and I believe it is a healthful method of preparation. I hate to see a beautiful cut of meat cremated. Saying a steak is undercooked without specifying how is inadequate.
Posted by BEJ on 2011-09-06:
It is your responsibility. You should have informed the server of your alleriges and asked if they prepare the food with an ingredient that your are allergic to.
Posted by robridingbike on 2012-05-17:
If u are on dialysis ( my sig. other is...m,w,f) You would know u cant have salt (go leg cramps) or any other seasonings. So, u should have said NO salt plz
Posted by scform2391832 on 2012-07-01:
That is the most ridiculous thing I have ever heard. Not only do most restaurants but Ruby Tuesday does offer an allergy menu for guests who are sensitive to different methods of preperation. It's crazy to ridicule a company who obviously has tons of success and years of experience in this field. How could anyone know all of your health problems. Get in touch with the real world people.
Close commentsAdd reply

Terribal food and service
Posted by Connie22004 on 08/24/2011
EXTON, PENNSYLVANIA -- We ordered one Ruby's classic burger and one American cheese burger for medium rare. We waited for almost 30 minutes, and asked the waitress for our food. Finally, the food came, one was uncooked, inside of the meat was still cold, blood was coming out of the burger; the other one was over cooked, it was more than even very well done. We had to go back for work, so, had no time to deal with this problem. It is hard to think going back the Ruby Tuesday.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by GreenstarYT on 2011-08-24:
I can see why you're upset about the food, but what was bad about the service specifically? Did she at least keep your drinks filled? How did you order the burgers to be cooked?
Posted by At Your Service on 2011-08-24:
I'm surprised they offer any type of ground beef under medium well. Regulations require a certain level of cooking to prevent Salmonella.
Posted by GreenstarYT on 2011-08-24:
I believe that is why most menus have a disclaimer about consuming undercooked meat, shellfish, and eggs.
Posted by shayen on 2011-08-25:
My last visit to Ruby Tuesdays, both myself and my friend ordered well done cheeseburgers and they were served burnt on the outside and raw, cold and bleeding on the inside. I haven't been back since.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-08-25:
I have a reply to shayen. Once I got a burger ordered medium rare burnt on the outside and raw on the inside, just like you.

After the manager came out and LIED to me that the grill was "malfunctioning," the server did some investigation, and found a frying pan on a burner. Turns out they shut the grill down early, and the idiot cook had no clue how to cook in the frying pan (I cook med rare burgers that way twice a week).

And THAT was my last visit to Ruby Tuesdays, just like you.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-08-25:
At Your Service - it is within health code to cook burgers medium rare. I have had discussions with kitchen managers, and they have cited state health regs that I have read that tell how it is to be done. It is a *combination* of time and temperature, not just a number like 160 or whatever.

A good restaurant has cooks that can cook properly. Many chains don't cook under med well probably because they are afraid that their cooks will kill someone, or perhaps the quality of their beef isn't so good. I would not want a med rare burger at McD's for a variety of reasons.
Posted by Nohandle on 2011-08-25:
Anyone remember the days a menu would clearly state if beef was ordered *well done* it would be dry? I suppose that would be to forewarn customers it would be without juice, dry as a bone and probably tough.

There will be a wait for made to order items but 30 minutes seems excessive for a lunch time hamburger. Unless someone has never worked he doesn't understand many are on a timed schedule and have to get back to work and they also have travel time involved. Perhaps that's why the fast food places do so nicely during the noon rush.

It's really strange both burgers were ordered at the same time, at the same degree of wellness and one comes out virtually raw and the other very well done. Someone royally messed up in the kitchen.
Close commentsAdd reply


Poor manager response
Posted by Coupon queen on 07/22/2011
EDINBURGH, INDIANA -- I love to use restaurant coupons and we often make our restaurant decision based on what coupons we have and when they are due to expire. This week we made a special mid week trip to our local Ruby Tuesday restaurant solely because I had a $10 off coupon that was expiring that night. As a long time vegetarian I love their salad bar and especially like the Veggie Trio with salad bar. My husband was ordering a salmon dinner and with appetizer our bill was definitely going to exceed $45. When our attentive waitress saw our coupon she noted that it would only work on certain entrees, none of which were vegetarian. When I asked to speak to the manager to explain that I hadn't eaten chicken or fish for over 15 years and wasn't going to start now I fully expected him to approve my veggie choice. He was matter of fact and said sorry there was nothing he could do. At this point I felt we had no choice but to get up and go to another restaurant. They lost out on a loyal customer and certainly the revenue from our dinner that night. Seems short sighted to me. I can understand our waitress being unable to make the call but the manager???
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by MissLeopard83 on 2011-07-23:
Could it be that the manager was just following the rules handed down by corporate or his franchise manager? Managers may be able to approve somethings, but not all. The fact that you are a vegetarian is something I can empathize with since I was one for 3 years, but it doesn't change the fact that the coupon could not be used on vegetarian dishes. If you are still wanting an explanation, why not contact corporate and request it?

http://www.rubytuesday.com/feedback
Posted by MauiAl49 on 2011-07-23:
Why, oh why do people think that the manager of a chain location has the power to over ride corporate policy just for them? If they break the policy for you, then they have to do the same for anyone else who asks, or risk being accused and possibly sued for discrimination of some kind.
Posted by trmn8r on 2011-07-23:
If you were asking the server to make an exception, you were also asking the manager to make an exception, correct?

When the manager said "I'm sorry, I can't make an exception," I would have been disappointed I couldn't take advantage of a discount I assumed I was entitled to, but was not. I would not have left though.

Were there restrictions printed on the coupon?

As Miss Leopard suggests, RT has a feedback area on the website. I have used it and it works.
Posted by khtom on 2012-05-28:
The restrictions are printed directly on the coupons. It reads "chicken,seafood,steak,pasta, rib and burger entrees only". And it is UP to $10 off. Being that the Veggie Trio is only like $9.99 or $10.99 you wouldnt have saved much anyways. Thats where they get you on their nice little coupons. If people would open their eyes and READ the DETAILS on the coupon, you wouldn't come into the restaurant with preconceived notions. The majority of the time, if the manager tells you they can not do anything about the coupon, they really can not do anything. Think about it, would YOU risk YOUR job to take a few bucks off someones ticket? As a waitress, I see this all the time. It doesnt mean we are being ugly to you, its just the rules and the rules are printed right there on the coupon. When we put your coupon code in the computer, it does the math for us, we have no control.
Close commentsAdd reply

Bad Manager
Posted by Love bucket on 04/17/2011
LUMBERTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- We went to the Ruby Tuesday on 5th St. in Lumberton, N.C. We had coupons 2 for twenty dollars. We had used these coupons many times before. The waitress took our order, all four of us had the ribeyes. My aunts steak was overcooked and her steak looked nothing at all like ours. She sent it back to the kitchen and they brought her another one that was better. Things would have been ok except my mom caught the manager giving my aunt a dirty look! How unprofessional!!! Then we were told we could not use our coupons. No worries, we will not be going back to a Ruby Tuesdays anywhere and neither will our families.

Look out Longhorn Steakhouse we'll be seeing you!
     
Read 22 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by yoke on 2011-04-17:
Why were you not allowed to use the coupons? I do not like Ruby Tuesdays. They are overpriced and the service is awful.
Posted by momsey on 2011-04-17:
Did they give you a reason for not being allowed to use the coupons?

Longhorn is awesome, I would pick them over Ruby Tuesday any day.
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-04-17:
You had 2 coupons for 2 dollars? Does that mean you were looking for a 40 dollar discount off your meal? What was the coupon actually for? Was it for 2 to dine for 20? Is there a limit of one coupon per table? Is there a limit on what can be ordered for the coupon? Too many variables here.
Posted by Skye on 2011-04-17:
What was their reason for not accepting your coupons?

Posted by trmn8r on 2011-04-17:
Ruby Tuesday's went "upscale" a couple of years ago. What I mean by that is that they put higher priced items on the menu. Same poor food preparation.

The only thing my RT had going for it was the servers were attractive and wore low cut blouses. A mixed blessing, because while titillating I found it very unprofessional. The food was a decent quality, and some quite tasty. Unfortunately, the horrendously poor preparation and inability of management to diagnose and fix problems caused me to dump the broads and RT over the side.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Agreeing with others that more info pertaining to "why" the coupons were refused would be greatly appreciated.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Sounds like retribution to me. I too would avoid them in the future.

Good review!
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-17:
Very good review. The focal point of this complaint was on the managers attitude than the coupons in question.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
Are you saying the manager didn't accept the coupons to get even with you for sending the food back? Did you present the coupons at the time you placed the orders. Were your meals the ones included in the two for twenty promotion? What was the reason given for not accepting the coupons.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
My Interpetation is that they had 2 - 2 for $20 coupons for a party of for and they probably would only let them use 1 per table. It sounds like there was a limit of one per table, but the OP got away with using 2 before and RT put an end to it. I don't go to RT often put they will cook you a rare burger. Many places won't anymore. They are ok with me.
Posted by yoke on 2011-04-18:
The op's complaint is that the coupons were not honored, did not say how many they tried to use. They should have been allowed to use one of the coupons.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I also get these coupons in the mail all the time. 2 meals for 20 dollars, but if you read it, it tells you it can only be used on certain menu items. For some reason, I dont think that the ribeye steak was included in the coupon.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I just found my ruby tuesday coupon. It says purchase 2 entrees from the seafood, steaks & chicken, ribs & platters, or pasta categories for $20. RIGHT underneath it, it says "not valid with steak combinations, RIB EYE, shellfish trio, full racks of ribs, "create your own" platters, daily specials, other coupon or holiday offers. So theres why it wasn't accepted.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
That's what I thought, Prince. Thanks for confirming.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
I also would love to know how they knew the manager was giving them a dirty look. What i dont understand, is this is a rather large coupon they send you in the mail, and the font is pretty large. Unless the OP was just totally ignorant and didnt bother looking at the coupon at all.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I didn't understand the part about the dirty look either, but I thought it best not to mention it. There could have been a million reasons for the expression on the manager's face at any given moment.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2011-04-18:
Good info Prince
Posted by CrazyRedHead on 2011-04-18:
I went to Ruby Tuesday with my family about a month back and used the same coupons. I had two of them and was able to use them both even though they are one per customer. My two girls and myself used the one and my husband and three boys used the other. We had the best server who spoke with her manager and was able to use both.

There are a lot of restrictions if you use the coupons. You can't get most items on the menu, which includes most of the steaks on the menu. There are to many restrictions to list here or I would be all day. I ordered the steak and shrimp and the steak was medium rare and dry. I didn't like it and probably won't ever order it again. There isn't enough info as to why the coupons weren't excepted.

I don't like Longhorn Steak house. I went there once and the steak had no taste. The lights were dim and when I asked the server why he said so as not to see how the steaks looked on the plate. My preference is Medium rare and it was so I couldn't see the blood on the plate. It was pretty dim in there. I prefer Logan's steakhouse. I just hate all the peanut shells on the floor. It takes all I have not to bring a broom and start sweeping and the steaks don't look like they escaped off of the kid's menu.

I read my RT coupon to my husband before going in there so we had an idea of what to expect, but since our order was complicated we waited until the server came over, and she was awesome! I did commend her performance to the manager.
Posted by Ytropious on 2011-04-18:
Good info price, sounds like the OP did not read the coupon before hand OR let the server know they had the coupons before ordering. That's a recipe for disaster since I'm sure the server could have told the OP before ordering that their ribeyes were not included and they could only use one.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-04-18:
As far as using 2 coupons, I wouldnt see the issue, as long as there were 4 people, just split the check into 2. No biggie, its the same as if those people just sat at different tables. Im sure the main reason they werent accepted is because Ribeyes were clearly excluded since ribeyes are pretty expensive to begin with.
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-04-18:
I agree, Prince.
Posted by erikr715 on 2011-05-27:
As a former employee of Ruby Tuesday, I can tell you that one of the reasons your food is bad is because nearly EVERYTHING on their menu is prepared, at least in part, in the MICROWAVE!!! I went to find a job after having been a Hotel Chef for years, and was AMAZED at the simplicity, and apathy for the taste and complexity of the food. It is considered to be that same type of food found at Applebee’s and Chili’s, but this is ridiculous!! I guess you get what you pay for!!
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >