Preview Review

Next Review

Skype Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Skype Operated by Thieves and Liars/Website Not Secure/No Customer Support
By -

I have been a Skype customer since 2008. Originally purchased credit, then switched to unlimited monthly plan. The call quality was often poor, but the price was cheap. Figured you get what you pay for. Recently, some of my credit went missing. Tried to find somewhere on their site to contact them and find out where my money went, but found no way to do so. I had to search google, and finally found a post on yahoo answers by another frustrated person that had the same problem. Had to go to a third party site to find out how to contact them (the site is only partially encrypted and is not secure).

They had billed me for an SMS to a number I never heard of. I didn't even know what an SMS was, and certainly never sent one. I consider this a fraudulent charge by Skype. Asked for return of my missing money which was only a dime, but it was MY dime and the remainder of my credit.

After spending far too much of my time responding to the obfuscating emails informing me of everything except how to get my money back, they told me that they were refusing to return the monies they were holding. It was 64 cents, but it was MY 64 cents, they didn't work for it.

They lied by billing for a service that was never rendered (fraud) to get part of my money and flat-out stole the remainder by refusing to return any of it. I am forever finished with Skype. Perhaps they think that people will not bother with a missing dime here or 50 cents there. I however, have principles and am ethically minded. I have canceled my account.

After reading from the multitude of complaints about Skype stealing other people's money, I took the precautions of calling my credit card company to cancel card used for Skype purchase and had them re-issue with a new account number. Also made sure to log in to Paypal account where original monies were transferred from and canceled billing agreement to ensure that they did not steal more money from me, as has happened to countless others. You can't be overly careful when dealing with these criminals. Beware, chances are good it is only a matter of time before they get around to you as well.

Replies
Advertisement
Skype Fraud
By -

UNKNOWN -- Skype was great when it was free. I made the mistake of investing in the company. I paid an annual rate up front just this month on January 6, 2008. All was well and good, I averaged about 240 minutes a day on what they described should be included in the premium annual rate.

On January 22, 2008 I started getting a per charge fee. I learned - they don't have a CUSTOMER SERVICE PHONE# or LIVE ASSISTANCE. I had to send a support email. On January 23, 2008 I paid an additional fee to give them an opportunity to resolve the billing issue. I got a response stating the problem had been resolved and asking me to email back if I had any additional problems.

The problem was not resolved and I email daily for 2 days with no response when I found a support forum. Now the moderators refuse to say if they are SKYPE employees or SKYPE volunteers. These folks allegedly have some pull with Skype and have an official looking logo as a MODERATOR. This allows the public to believe they can get answers.

Now this billing problem is system wide. There are a growing number of complaints daily. The moderators dodge all the questions and ask the same clarifying questions over and over, in the forums and many times it appears as if they are intentionally inciting PAYING CUSTOMERS. This got me angry. I hate being treated like I'm stupid by some pretentious ass and this makes me want to fight back not only for the fraud committed on my contract, but the fraud they are committing against folks who are being overbilled (in some cases by hundreds) and for the poor folks who just don't have the money for alternative phone services.

So this UK based firm is blatantly using fraud collecting American dollars, promising a service, and not only failing to honor their end of the contract, but in some cases where folks made the mistake of trusting them by enrolling in the "auto-refill program" for prepaid premium calls - they are being billed for calls under the all inclusive plan. Also note, if you buy credits and don't use it all in 6 months, they steal the money and fail to provide the service. I've experienced a lot of subterfuge, lies, and unprofessionalism.

My prediction is that SKYPE crossed a line and this will go class action, especially since they were bought out by eBay/PayPal. There's a lot of bad blood in the on-line community and PayPal was already sued for stealing funds from business owners collecting payments through that system. This is just a further demonstration of the same lack of customer service and fraud that PayPal got slammed for a few years back. Same people - same illegal activities. You think they'd learn.

Replies
Skype Charging Me for Subscription That They Cancelled
By -

I somewhat recently had a notice from Skype in Dec. 2009, that my credit card was rejected due to expiration. Bear in mind that I was on auto-pay every three months. The message said that "your credit card has been denied due to expiration and your service will be terminated. This was fine with me because that I had accrued bonus credits for every three month purchase that I had made in the past. So I figured that before I give Skype my new credit card expiration date, I would use up my accrued credits and then buy another three months of the "unlimited U.S. and Canada" calling plan.

Here is the catch… I used the few dollars worth of credit that I had coming to me and no longer needed to make long distance calls. Since I no longer needed to make long distance calls, I would wait until someone out of state wanted to talk with me before I committed to another three months with Skype. My mother called me Jan. 30, 2010. I told my mother that I now would purchase Skype for a three month contract. She told me to use her credit card for the purchase since it would be cheaper for me to call her using Skype.

I then purchased a three month contract with Skype starting 01/30/10. Skype then sent me two e-mails saying thank you for your purchase of Skype in December of 2009. (This is the time the auto-pay was originally denied due to expiration of the credit card which resulted in expiration of unlimited calling.) Another e-mail was sent simultaneously that said, "thank you for your purchase of three months of Skype starting 01/30/2010. So, to sum up, Skype charged me for the time that my credit card was refused and I could no longer make unlimited U.S. and Canada calls back in Dec. 2009 and re-charged me again in Jan 2010.

So, in effect, I was charged $7.95 for 30 days of no-service, and another $8.20 for the new service starting Jan 30th, 2010. Customer service gave me credit for the five dollars and change and said they could not fix the problem because there is no invoice for December. Since I have an "unlimited calling plan" to U.S. and Canada, what good does five dollars worth of world-wide calling do me?

Bottom line is that Skype has no customer service that you can call. They have many customers. If you don't like their service, "screw you!!!" and they are not located in the U.S. so have fun using them! Caution, be very careful giving your credit card number to Skype. They will not be accountable for any charges that you deem as inappropriate. The company has grown so large that they do not care about any one individual. The only recourse you have is to air your complaints to U.S. citizens on multiple forums!!! Everything else falls on deaf ears.

Replies
Another Complaint About Horrible Customer Support!!!
By -

SKYPE CUSTOMER SUPPORT IS LACKING -- APPARENTLY ON MULTIPLE ISSUES FROM THE LOOKS OF THINGS!! Skype provides wonderful products and services, in general; however, they advertise that they provide vouchers for additional products and services (when one signs up for Skype Pro) but they do NOT deliver.

In my experience, and apparently in the experiences of many others, Skype sends an email that indicates that it contains information which will allow one to redeem these vouchers using a unique code. I have seen enough to know that I was far from alone in concluding that the code cannot be found in the email, nor in all the myriad places that customer support sends one to find them.

Now, perhaps this is just seen as good sport by the friendly folks at Skype -- perhaps their version of what we in the southern US call a snipe hunt. For me, however, it created an enormous waste of time. The customer support I got was from emails or forum postings or whatever exchanged between a various support persons and various users. When I tried to send a customer support request via their customer support email system, I was provided a "Continue" button to click on and got a list of help suggestions.

As a result, I'm doubting that the two emails I wrote went anywhere. Now, I will grant that the invoice I received when I made the purchase of Skype Pro service indicated that the cost of the vouchers was $0; however, if the folks in Luxembourg are thinking that should be an indication they are worthless they need to educate themselves a bit about business transactions in other cultures.

In my experience, a listing of a voucher on an invoice that is indicated as costing $0 simply means the voucher is being given free of charge. If they mean something different, they should simply explain it as such and not waste people's time sending them on a snipe hunt. I had not paid much attention to the email with the voucher information when I first received it. It was only after I had gotten pretty excited about the service and had purchased some additional products from Skype and was thinking of ways I might use it with my business -- that I noticed my account kept showing I had earned vouchers.

As a result I started looking for these vouchers and how to redeem them. I just do not know, now. I know I am small potatoes, but this has left a bad taste in my mouth! I am not liking these folks quite as much as I used to.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraudulent Activity on Account
By -

I have been a user of Skype and purchaser of their subscription services since 2008. I noticed that on October 15th, I was charged for a new subscription to Pakistan for $12.99. I subsequently changed my password on my account, removed my credit card and cancelled both my valid subscription and the fraudulent one. I contacted their customer service and asked them to remove the charge but they refused. I spoke to a ** at first and then escalated to a supervisor named **. Both advised me to contact my credit card company and told me they could not issue a refund to me even though I have never had an issue with my account before.

I have checked some of my credit card statements and do not see any other unauthorized charges. I advised them it was their program or website that was hacked but they still refuse to give me a refund. I even offered to let them close my account early (I still have until January 2012 for unlimited calls in the US and Canada) if they would simply refund the money owed to me, and still they refused. I don't even know anyone in Pakistan and whoever hacked my account used $2.00 of the $12.99 subscription.

Replies
Skype Customer Service Is a Joke
By -

I've used Skype off and on for years. Recently, I decided to go all out and get all their features and subscriptions. Their online menus suck. They advertise many things you can do in Skype, like "pick up your voicemails from anywhere in the world," but they tell you nothing about how to do it. I tried contacting customer support. This in itself was a joke. After a long search, I finally found the link to email Skype with my question/s. They did get back to me fairly quickly, but the answers I got had little or nothing to do with the problem stated.

Skype has a lot of really cool features and could be a very useful service, but they need to actually read the customer questions and send meaningful responses, as well as improve their online menus. I'd be willing to pay a bit more to help make this happen, but for now I'm not sure if I can deal with all the frustration.

Replies
Horrible Customer Support!
By -

Skype is a great program that allows people to talk from their computer using the internet ANYWHERE in the world. It's amazing… until you use their paid services. Ironic, since this is how they make money. But yeah, every now and then the company will "block" your account. This is annoying, but what's more annoying is that there is no REAL person there to unblock it. You get these "bot" messages saying that your account will be reinstated shortly and it never is. Then you submit a new request and it seriously takes weeks to months for the problem to get solved.

I would pay double or triple the price just to have real customer support. I really would. The thing is they would probably get so many more customers and more money if they fixed these problems quickly rather than taking weeks to months and for all the customers they just straight up lose too. All that being said, in between customer support issues, it is a great service. If they can just fix that, they will thrive and I will continue to use them. Otherwise, I will probably stop once I come back from overseas.

Replies
Skype Price Jacking - Scam, Beware
By -

SKYPE -- SKYPE IS TOTAL SCAM BEWARE: PRICE HIJACKING, ILLEGALLY CHARGING AMOUNTS, WRONG BILLING... BEWARE OF SKYPE SCAM. I have been using Skype often for making pc to landline calls. I was very happy with quality of service. I used to charge 10 $ every time. Never cared to check account thinking every thing would be okay. But off late when I saw even for 5 minutes local north American call over 0.25 $ or more is deducted, or 2 minutes were charged as 0.11$ without any mathematical basis.

I got suspicious and started tracing last one month account, I found total random charges with wrong amount, hijacked price with no mathematical basis (time multiplied by rate/minute). In many instances per minute charges were 0.10 $ or even higher to the fancy of Skype management (FYI published price is 0.021$ per minute).

I immediately tried to contact them , but there was no phone or emails. Only solution was to send them mail by online form. Fortunate enough to get reply after 4 days which was not an answer to my complaint, rather they just send me a link to check FAQ (Misleading practice).

I was irritated with their response. Again I sent them email specifying issue of price jacking and over charging. Till today in last 2 weeks there is no second response from them. Now I feel (confirm) Skype cheat customers with random charges, with jacked prices/minute.They never respond to complaint or resolve anything. Price we eventually pay is much higher than local reliable services or phone cards.

Replies
Advertisement
No Satisfaction for Erroneous Loss of Service
By -

Because of an unspecified "technical glitch" my 12 month renewal fee was not applied properly to my online number and my phone service was cut off on September 21 in the middle of the busiest time for my seasonal ghost tour business. I was not notified in any way (except, of course that I continue to be billed, and to pay, for voicemail and call forwarding for the deactivated number) and I lost thousands of dollars worth of business when my customers couldn't reach me for a month.

Once I was told about the problem (by a friend who was trying to make reservations and called my cell number), I got the number reactivated and the erroneous applied funds refunded, but got no satisfaction on my losses or explanation of why I wasn't notified. I am furious and will continue to post negative comments in every possible venue until something is done.

Replies
Worst Customer Service or Any Company
By -

Ugh. Skype's customer service is the worst of any company I've ever done business with. And if someone is about to chirp "free service," just hold on one second. I pay between $300 and $500 a month to run business telephony through Skype Manager. Maybe the product should work?

Don't even bother with their live chat. It's just poorly trained Filipinos selecting canned responses from a list. Most of the time they aren't even listening to you. Can I speak to a manager? Nope. After you waste an hour or two (because their response time is so slow and they are so stupid) on the chat they want to shuffle you over to their email "support."

Email support is the same crummy waste of time extended over days or weeks. I almost forgot that a save button is grayed out and not functioning until I get an email response from Skype a week later instructing that does nothing to solve the problem. I could go on forever about the problems with Skype Manager. If the company had any sense they'd take opinions of heavy Skype users into account or at least offer semi-intelligent customer support. Hopefully Google or someone else will develop a platform not so riddled with bugs, and I'll be able to get away from Skype forever.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Skype Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
38 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Skype
22/24 Boulevard Royal
L-2449 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
+352-26-20-15-82 (ph)
+352-26-27-05-88 (fax)
www.skype.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services