Preview Review

Next Review

Skype Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Skype Charging Me for Subscription That They Cancelled
By -

I somewhat recently had a notice from Skype in Dec. 2009, that my credit card was rejected due to expiration. Bear in mind that I was on auto-pay every three months. The message said that "your credit card has been denied due to expiration and your service will be terminated. This was fine with me because that I had accrued bonus credits for every three month purchase that I had made in the past. So I figured that before I give Skype my new credit card expiration date, I would use up my accrued credits and then buy another three months of the "unlimited U.S. and Canada" calling plan.

Here is the catch… I used the few dollars worth of credit that I had coming to me and no longer needed to make long distance calls. Since I no longer needed to make long distance calls, I would wait until someone out of state wanted to talk with me before I committed to another three months with Skype. My mother called me Jan. 30, 2010. I told my mother that I now would purchase Skype for a three month contract. She told me to use her credit card for the purchase since it would be cheaper for me to call her using Skype.

I then purchased a three month contract with Skype starting 01/30/10. Skype then sent me two e-mails saying thank you for your purchase of Skype in December of 2009. (This is the time the auto-pay was originally denied due to expiration of the credit card which resulted in expiration of unlimited calling.) Another e-mail was sent simultaneously that said, "thank you for your purchase of three months of Skype starting 01/30/2010. So, to sum up, Skype charged me for the time that my credit card was refused and I could no longer make unlimited U.S. and Canada calls back in Dec. 2009 and re-charged me again in Jan 2010.

So, in effect, I was charged $7.95 for 30 days of no-service, and another $8.20 for the new service starting Jan 30th, 2010. Customer service gave me credit for the five dollars and change and said they could not fix the problem because there is no invoice for December. Since I have an "unlimited calling plan" to U.S. and Canada, what good does five dollars worth of world-wide calling do me?

Bottom line is that Skype has no customer service that you can call. They have many customers. If you don't like their service, "screw you!!!" and they are not located in the U.S. so have fun using them! Caution, be very careful giving your credit card number to Skype. They will not be accountable for any charges that you deem as inappropriate. The company has grown so large that they do not care about any one individual. The only recourse you have is to air your complaints to U.S. citizens on multiple forums!!! Everything else falls on deaf ears.

Replies
Advertisement
Another Complaint About Horrible Customer Support!!!
By -

SKYPE CUSTOMER SUPPORT IS LACKING -- APPARENTLY ON MULTIPLE ISSUES FROM THE LOOKS OF THINGS!! Skype provides wonderful products and services, in general; however, they advertise that they provide vouchers for additional products and services (when one signs up for Skype Pro) but they do NOT deliver.

In my experience, and apparently in the experiences of many others, Skype sends an email that indicates that it contains information which will allow one to redeem these vouchers using a unique code. I have seen enough to know that I was far from alone in concluding that the code cannot be found in the email, nor in all the myriad places that customer support sends one to find them.

Now, perhaps this is just seen as good sport by the friendly folks at Skype -- perhaps their version of what we in the southern US call a snipe hunt. For me, however, it created an enormous waste of time. The customer support I got was from emails or forum postings or whatever exchanged between a various support persons and various users. When I tried to send a customer support request via their customer support email system, I was provided a "Continue" button to click on and got a list of help suggestions.

As a result, I'm doubting that the two emails I wrote went anywhere. Now, I will grant that the invoice I received when I made the purchase of Skype Pro service indicated that the cost of the vouchers was $0; however, if the folks in Luxembourg are thinking that should be an indication they are worthless they need to educate themselves a bit about business transactions in other cultures.

In my experience, a listing of a voucher on an invoice that is indicated as costing $0 simply means the voucher is being given free of charge. If they mean something different, they should simply explain it as such and not waste people's time sending them on a snipe hunt. I had not paid much attention to the email with the voucher information when I first received it. It was only after I had gotten pretty excited about the service and had purchased some additional products from Skype and was thinking of ways I might use it with my business -- that I noticed my account kept showing I had earned vouchers.

As a result I started looking for these vouchers and how to redeem them. I just do not know, now. I know I am small potatoes, but this has left a bad taste in my mouth! I am not liking these folks quite as much as I used to.

Replies
Non-Renewal of Subscription
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have has Unlimited European subscription for several years with automatic renewal. Yesterday I found that my service no longer works. Apparently the card on my account had expired and so as the renewal payment did not go through my service was ended without any warning or notification of a problem.

I contacted Customer Service - haha - and was told to add the subscription to my account again and that my telephone number would be renewed as it was already part of my package. Last year I paid £33 - this year it cost £58 and the number was NOT included. The system wanted me to pay about another £35 to renew the number as well!

I contacted Skype again and was told there was nothing they could do. Skype numbers are no longer included in the Subscription and because mine had lapsed it cannot be renewed and I have to pay for both services. An increase of over 100% in a year. A formal complaint by email got an initial standard reply that had nothing to do with my complaint and the second reply was basically 'tough luck'.

I have cancelled the subscription renewal and will transfer the number to another provider. What can anyone do about the mighty Microsoft organisation? Well, I can certainly publish this story on as many sites as I can to warn others. I think this is just a way to get people onto the new more expensive packages.

Replies
Skype Is Useless Waste of Much Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INTERNET -- I eagerly downloaded and installed Skype with the need for videoconferencing. I am having all the problems I see others have. The operation of this App appears to be designed for programmers and hackers, as although I have used Mac OS since its inception, this is truly the worst implementation of a non-intuitive interface for a well-hyped App I have seen.

The reports are true. Download, install, be instantly lost and confused. Go to their "help" site forums, and blogs and find that there is no help there. Try googling or searching their site for customer service contact and discover there is no contact available. Try posting questions to the help boards and find the system will not even accept your post of a question or comment effectively cutting you off from any support whatsoever. Skype is a useless waste of time. Colloquially speaking, I fully agree: SKYPE SUCKS.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraudulent Activity on Account
By -

I have been a user of Skype and purchaser of their subscription services since 2008. I noticed that on October 15th, I was charged for a new subscription to Pakistan for $12.99. I subsequently changed my password on my account, removed my credit card and cancelled both my valid subscription and the fraudulent one. I contacted their customer service and asked them to remove the charge but they refused. I spoke to a ** at first and then escalated to a supervisor named **. Both advised me to contact my credit card company and told me they could not issue a refund to me even though I have never had an issue with my account before.

I have checked some of my credit card statements and do not see any other unauthorized charges. I advised them it was their program or website that was hacked but they still refuse to give me a refund. I even offered to let them close my account early (I still have until January 2012 for unlimited calls in the US and Canada) if they would simply refund the money owed to me, and still they refused. I don't even know anyone in Pakistan and whoever hacked my account used $2.00 of the $12.99 subscription.

Replies
Skype Customer Service Is a Joke
By -

I've used Skype off and on for years. Recently, I decided to go all out and get all their features and subscriptions. Their online menus suck. They advertise many things you can do in Skype, like "pick up your voicemails from anywhere in the world," but they tell you nothing about how to do it. I tried contacting customer support. This in itself was a joke. After a long search, I finally found the link to email Skype with my question/s. They did get back to me fairly quickly, but the answers I got had little or nothing to do with the problem stated.

Skype has a lot of really cool features and could be a very useful service, but they need to actually read the customer questions and send meaningful responses, as well as improve their online menus. I'd be willing to pay a bit more to help make this happen, but for now I'm not sure if I can deal with all the frustration.

Replies
Horrible Customer Support!
By -

Skype is a great program that allows people to talk from their computer using the internet ANYWHERE in the world. It's amazing… until you use their paid services. Ironic, since this is how they make money. But yeah, every now and then the company will "block" your account. This is annoying, but what's more annoying is that there is no REAL person there to unblock it. You get these "bot" messages saying that your account will be reinstated shortly and it never is. Then you submit a new request and it seriously takes weeks to months for the problem to get solved.

I would pay double or triple the price just to have real customer support. I really would. The thing is they would probably get so many more customers and more money if they fixed these problems quickly rather than taking weeks to months and for all the customers they just straight up lose too. All that being said, in between customer support issues, it is a great service. If they can just fix that, they will thrive and I will continue to use them. Otherwise, I will probably stop once I come back from overseas.

Replies
Skype Price Jacking - Scam, Beware
By -

SKYPE -- SKYPE IS TOTAL SCAM BEWARE: PRICE HIJACKING, ILLEGALLY CHARGING AMOUNTS, WRONG BILLING... BEWARE OF SKYPE SCAM. I have been using Skype often for making pc to landline calls. I was very happy with quality of service. I used to charge 10 $ every time. Never cared to check account thinking every thing would be okay. But off late when I saw even for 5 minutes local north American call over 0.25 $ or more is deducted, or 2 minutes were charged as 0.11$ without any mathematical basis.

I got suspicious and started tracing last one month account, I found total random charges with wrong amount, hijacked price with no mathematical basis (time multiplied by rate/minute). In many instances per minute charges were 0.10 $ or even higher to the fancy of Skype management (FYI published price is 0.021$ per minute).

I immediately tried to contact them , but there was no phone or emails. Only solution was to send them mail by online form. Fortunate enough to get reply after 4 days which was not an answer to my complaint, rather they just send me a link to check FAQ (Misleading practice).

I was irritated with their response. Again I sent them email specifying issue of price jacking and over charging. Till today in last 2 weeks there is no second response from them. Now I feel (confirm) Skype cheat customers with random charges, with jacked prices/minute.They never respond to complaint or resolve anything. Price we eventually pay is much higher than local reliable services or phone cards.

Replies
Advertisement
No Satisfaction for Erroneous Loss of Service
By -

Because of an unspecified "technical glitch" my 12 month renewal fee was not applied properly to my online number and my phone service was cut off on September 21 in the middle of the busiest time for my seasonal ghost tour business. I was not notified in any way (except, of course that I continue to be billed, and to pay, for voicemail and call forwarding for the deactivated number) and I lost thousands of dollars worth of business when my customers couldn't reach me for a month.

Once I was told about the problem (by a friend who was trying to make reservations and called my cell number), I got the number reactivated and the erroneous applied funds refunded, but got no satisfaction on my losses or explanation of why I wasn't notified. I am furious and will continue to post negative comments in every possible venue until something is done.

Replies
Worst Customer Service or Any Company
By -

Ugh. Skype's customer service is the worst of any company I've ever done business with. And if someone is about to chirp "free service," just hold on one second. I pay between $300 and $500 a month to run business telephony through Skype Manager. Maybe the product should work?

Don't even bother with their live chat. It's just poorly trained Filipinos selecting canned responses from a list. Most of the time they aren't even listening to you. Can I speak to a manager? Nope. After you waste an hour or two (because their response time is so slow and they are so stupid) on the chat they want to shuffle you over to their email "support."

Email support is the same crummy waste of time extended over days or weeks. I almost forgot that a save button is grayed out and not functioning until I get an email response from Skype a week later instructing that does nothing to solve the problem. I could go on forever about the problems with Skype Manager. If the company had any sense they'd take opinions of heavy Skype users into account or at least offer semi-intelligent customer support. Hopefully Google or someone else will develop a platform not so riddled with bugs, and I'll be able to get away from Skype forever.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Skype Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 13 ratings and
38 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Skype
22/24 Boulevard Royal
L-2449 Luxembourg, Luxembourg
+352-26-20-15-82 (ph)
+352-26-27-05-88 (fax)
www.skype.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services