Preview Review

Next Review

Spirit Airlines Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Flying Vouchers Are as Good as Dung
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIRAMAR, FLORIDA -- I have traveled internationally for business and pleasure for the last 20 years extensively and I have to confess, Spirit Airlines is perhaps the worst airline I have ever flown with or had dealings with. My disappointment initially started when I booked a flight for my husband and myself to Costa Rica. Your website is both frustrating and time consuming for your consumer. Every single thing the customer may want to do, for example, sit with their husband on a flight is all at an extra charge! We persisted and finally had a booking. Booking reference ** and departed on March 24, 2013 and returned to San Jose to fly home to Orlando on March 29, 2013.

On arrival at our gate for our departing flight - Flight 756, departing at 12.30 PM, we settled in for a wait before boarding. Over the intercom came the repeated message, that Spirit Airlines were seeking passengers to step off the flight in return for a "€œFREE ROUND TRIP TICKET TO ANYWHERE SPIRIT FLIES" in return for taking the 1 am flight to Orlando later that night.

Initially we ignored the message, but after the 9-10th request we went to the desk to inquire if the offer was really as good as it sounded and were reassured that not only would we receive a voucher for a free flight, but a hotel room close to the airport, meal voucher and transportation to and from the airport. We were also assured that our suitcases would be available. After much discussed with the Spirit Airlines staff we decided to avail of the offer which was our mistake. We were issued the vouchers and guided to collect our luggage! Well we would have collected our luggage except it was not available! But in great '€œSpirit'€ fashion your ground crew did not care!

"€œOh well Ms **, sorry about that." We were now faced with 10-hour wait and NO personal items. A cab fare and $150 later spent at Walmart we finally had what we needed to spend the waiting time comfortably before our return to the airport for the 1 am flight. It would take too long to explain to you the ridiculous screening undertaken by Spirit before boarding the flight, not TSA, not security, but Spirit Airlines and from what we could see the main purpose of the exercise was to ensure passengers had no drinks or food so they would be forced to spend more money with the your airline on board.

I am surprised at this stage you don'€™t charge for water or using the restroom but sure this day us coming and fast!
Once home we called Spirit to make our "€œfree round trip booking to anywhere that Spirit flies"€ only to be told that the dates we wanted to fly were black out dates! Imagine our surprise when we heard this as this had not been part of any discussion or information provided by ANY Spirit staff member in San Jose. We waited a few weeks and called again to meet our booking deadline, and spoke with Customer Service on 5-20-13 for over 1 hour and 30 minutes to try to get a schedule a flight to use our '€œfree voucher'.

I provided the customer service representative with over 9 different options as far in the future as February 2014 to try to find dates that we could fly. After almost an hour he finally found some dates (not the dates we wanted to fly) and we secured the times. When it came to the final booking your Customer Service representative advised we would have to pay $468.00 for the booking! I inquired "Why do we have to pay this amount? we were advised it was a "FREE ROUND TRIP TICKET TO ANYWHERE SPIRIT FLIES."

Your customer service representative went on to advise me that the fare was $73.00 per person and the remaining fees we had to pay were taxes! Free round trip flight.. seriously! There is NOTHING free about Spirit and we should have known better than to have trusted you or any of your employees of this airline.

Poor Customer Service, Unsafe Planes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We had a round trip ticket with Spirit Airlines to Las Vegas departing from Denver May 9, 2013, returning May 12, 2013. We arrived at DIA at 9:30 am. Our flight was to leave at 11:50 am. We boarded the plane 40 minutes late, made it out to the runway and were told we were returning to the gate for an issue with the hydraulics. We were told this would take about 2-3 hours to repair. Our depart time was changed to 2 pm. At 2, we were told it was now 3 pm. At 3, we were told it was now 4 pm. Finally around 5 pm, we boarded the plane. Just an aside, the flight attendants were very rude.

The woman next to me was told “you need to put your bag under the seat”. She was Asian and didn't understand English very well. When she asked for clarification, she was told “you need to put your bag under the seat now!!” This woman just spent 5 hours sitting in the airport waiting for a flight. I think a "please" was in order not a barking command. We again made it out to the runway and were told we had to return to the gate as there was an issue with the braking system. Passengers became very upset (not unruly or out of line) at this point and Spirit had the DIA police waiting at the gate when we returned. The supervisor came over the intercom.

Several of the passengers could not hear and he was asked to speak up, he told us “this is as loud as it gets folks”. He was non-apologetic as were all of the Spirit employees. They were actually intimidating toward us, telling us to be quiet and not cause trouble. The employees consistently had the attitude that the passengers were out of line . We were not offered food, drink or anything in the 12 hours we spent at the airport. My companion and I had serious reservations about the safety of the plane and decided to cancel our flight and book another.

We were given our refund and assured that our bags would be taken off the plane and would arrive at carousel 5.
When we and several other passengers that had cancelled their flights were waiting for our bags, a Spirit employee came up and informed us that our bags were on the way to Las Vegas and wouldn't be back until 11:45 the next morning. Many of us live hours away from the airport and could not go home and come back the next morning. When we asked about hotel vouchers, we were told no vouchers would be issued. The employees were extremely arrogant and indifferent toward our complaints, treating us as if we were in the wrong.

We were hesitant to book another flight as our bags would be headed back to Denver. When we were still in the airport trying to figure out what to do, we noticed the Spirit airlines ticketing had a line of people. It turns out the flight went out again and came back to the gate for a mechanical problem. The flight was finally cancelled. We did get our luggage back that evening. Then we felt safe booking another flight but by that time the seats were full as they were taken by other passengers from the Spirit flight.

We booked our own hotel room as it was 10 pm by the time we left the airport. We saw another passenger at the hotel. He said Spirit did get him on a flight out in the am with Frontier however, would not give him a hotel voucher. The Frontier employee was very sympathetic and gave him a hotel voucher. Now that is customer service. When we called Spirit the next morning, we were told we would be issued a 50$ voucher to fly with Spirit again but they could do nothing more for us.

I am a nurse at Children's Hospital and a single mom. It is very rare for me to get time away to go somewhere for R&R. I had been looking forward to this trip for 2 mos. Thanks to Spirit Airlines, my rare 4-day weekend away was ruined. The arrogance and indifference displayed by the Spirit employees was appalling. I have never, in my 48 years, experienced such poor customer service.

First and Last Time!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FT LAUDERDALE, TEXAS -- I would like to let it be known about my first trip with Spirit Airlines. I am a very dissatisfied customer and never been treated so rudely and as if I'€™m incapable of following rules well. On my trip to Ft Lauderdale, FL I wanted to save some money so I decided to fly with Spirit Airlines. I purchased my ticket through which I have used before but this time was not aware baggage was not included. I did my research to find out after paying $232.00 for a round trip ticket that it would be an additional fee for baggage. That was a little disturbing due to it was not brought to my attention and I had the impression baggage fees was included.

Needless to say I end up paying $70.00 for my luggage to ride round trip which is ridiculous. That's not all; I was on time for my flight that was departing to Ft Lauderdale. I received my boarding pass and went to check my bag and then I get to security. The security checked everything and just because I had skin lotion in my bag that was an ounce bigger than the 3 ounces that they allow I had to make a choice to throw it away or put it in my luggage.

I was not going to throw anything away my hard money paid for; I decided to put it in my luggage. That means I had to get out the security line I waited in for 30-45min to go to the customer service line to call for my luggage that took another 10-15 min for them to bring back up. Once I received my luggage I had to start all over again which was making me later and later. I reached customer service representative finally to check my luggage again that I waited in line another 15-20 min for and to find out my plane left. Then the customer service advised me due to me missing my flight I would have to pay an additional $70.00 to reschedule my flight.

At that point I was livid but still remained calm and paid the fee of $70 just to enjoy my trip to Ft Lauderdale, FL. I do say I enjoyed my trip and then I had to return back to Dallas, TX! My flight was supposed to leave out on a Saturday morning and do I remind you I was on time again at least 2 hrs ahead of schedule.

I received my boarding pass and check my bag, the customer service representative advised me due to my luggage being 51 lbs I had to pay an additional $25 to another customer service representative in a whole different line. Which mean I was waiting again all together a little over an hour which I was still calm and charged it on my card so I can get home and to never use this company again. In the process guess what??? I miss my flight again and the representative told me that she can reschedule me due to I was already there when the plane was departing and there will be no additional fee.

Now that really top the cake, so you mean to tell me I came out of pocket $70 to reschedule my first flight when I was already at the freaking airport? The customer service rescheduled and I went ahead and checked my bag so I don'€™t have to deal with any more lines when I returned. I returned that night to catch my flight and this time I made sure I was 4 hrs early. I sat by my gate the whole time and the boarding time came up and when I looked at the screen the destination was changed.

I ask an attendant what was going and these are her exact words "€œDallas was boarded at another gate and I announced it on the intercom and if you was listening you would have known that!"€ I walked away to go speak with a supervisor which I had to wait another 45-60 mins to get assistance. I tried to explain my situation and at this point I am livid and entirely fed up. I ask "When is the next flight and am I able to leave ASAP due to my bag was already in Dallas?" The supervisor told me that was nothing she can do, the soonest available flight was on Monday. Do I remind you this is Saturday and I have 'NO'€ clothes.

I advised her that was not acceptable and I will need to be accommodated for my needs. She said €œShe cannot offer me anything but to reschedule for Monday; she will not refund me and will not provide a hotel room. I have a choice to take the flight Monday or nothing at all!€ That'€™s when I snapped, she was very rude and I thought you supposed to do your best to satisfy your customers. I myself am a Supervisor and I would at least advise the customer to allow me to see what I can do to assist you and not there is anything I can do. I was unable to bring to her attention on the rude attendant because after that she walked away.

There was an attendant that was standing there and I wish I would have taken her name down cause she tried her best to assist me and put me on standby for Sunday morning and submitted a request for my refund I had ask the supervisor for. I have never flown with any other airlines and received this horrible service before and I will make it my purpose to bring this to everyone that I know attention. They will never get my money again and I will make sure I let everyone know mainly after seeing 15-20 customers pissed off at the airlines for whatever reason.

Thanks for listening. They will never get my money again.

Trip From HELL
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OHIO -- Spirit Airlines has got to be one of the worst airline ever. First we get on the plane in Detroit and my husband sits in his seat. There is duct tape holding up the tray table and a sign duct taped to the table saying "do not sit in this seat." We talk to the stewardess and she tells us "don't worry about it you can sit there." Then they come over the speaker and say the flight has been overbooked and they need three people to get off the plane. So we sit while they try to get people off and on the plane. Then they say "We have a light out on the wing and can not fly in the dark without it."

So they are going to the hanger to get another light and it will be at least an hour before we can take off. So we sit on the plane and wait. An hour and a half later and the come back and tell us that some people will be missing their next flight and that they must get off the plane and still we sit. I ask the flight attendant if I could have a drink of water she says "yes but it will cost you 3 dollars." ARE YOU KIDDING ME? We have been stuck on this plane at the gate for two hours and they are going to charge you for WATER. OK so we finally get up in the air and land in Fort Lauderdale. We are to change flights and hope we are on our way to St Thomas.

We board the next plane and you would not believe this but once again my husband's tray table is taped and a sign says "do not sit in this seat." Well we say nothing because we already know the answer. It was a very sad flight. All I kept thinking was if they can't fix the tray table how are they fixing the engines? You would think that would be the end of it right? Well no because we had to get home on the same airlines. So we get to the airport and find out that the other airlines are cancelling their flights due to the wind. OK so Spirit Airline make you go in this little room and wait to see if they are going to cancel or not. So we sit and sit.

So two hours later they finally tell us that the flight was cancelled and that we need to rebook on another flight. So we stand in line and when we get up to the front to rebook they tell us the soonest they can get us out would be THE NEXT SUNDAY maybe. Are you kidding? They tell us we could go to the small plane airline and pay two hundred dollars each to fly to Puerto Rico and then get on a Spirit Airline plane from there. OK so if we do that when would we get out of Puerto Rico. She says "well we may be able to get you out next Saturday or Sunday". This is no joke. So here we go going from airline to airline trying to get a flight out of St. Thomas.

We get a flight out on American Airline leaving on Wednesday for $1100.00. Then it back to Spirit to get our money back for the flight they could not provide. They gave us back $420.00 but they could not put it on my credit card because we had paid for it through a travel agent. We would have to get the money from them. I ask "What about the money I paid for my bags?" They say "Well that goes back to the travel agent also." I say "but that was on MY CARD." I am told that's their policy "sorry".

So my out of pocket for my three extra days that Spirit Airlines made me eat was $1300.00. That includes the hotel we had to get and the food we had to buy. I'm just glad we had the money in our account to pay. Could you imagine this happening and you were down to your last twenty dollars? So if you value your life and you money do not ever fly Spirit Airlines!

After over 100,000 miles I found the worst airlines ever...Spirit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HURRICANE, UTAH -- I am writing to you and anyone else that will listen regarding Spirit Air. First of all, I booked a flight to go visit my grandson after saving for months. I am disabled, due a terrible car accident so I don't get to travel much anymore. For years before I was in the accident, which destroyed my new Volvo but saved my life, I travelled constantly, working for FEMA and other organizations helping survivors of disasters. Several days before my flight I broke my foot and 3 toes and was told by Spirit that in order to change my flight it would cost me $110 or I just had to forfeit the ticket.

I made the mistake of buying another ticket from them for August 28th and have not healed enough to walk, in fact, I just found out that I will need several operations to fix the problem. Not only will Spirit not let me change the date of the ticket, they have told me, once again I can forfeit or pay another $110. I have waited to see my grandson for over 2 years. The Worst Part is they signed me up for their $59 program that I didn't want. I called them immediately and had them cancel. They told me they cancelled and that I would refund the money to my account immediately and it would show up in 5 to 7 days.

I called 8 days later and they then said it would be 10 days. I called at 12 days and they said 15 days. I called again and asked for the refund. I spoke to them again on day 15, 20 and 23 and have been given the same run around. Everyone I talk to tells me to wait just a few more days, in fact, on day 20, the individual I talked to told me it would take 15 days, so I counted the days with him and showed him we were at day 20. It has now been 24 days and no refund. I have not been allowed to talk to any supervisor or manager. I have been searching for any information on Spirit management and found your site.

I have given up on getting any exchanges for the tickets to see my grandson, however, I will not give up on the $59.95 which was Spirit's error, which they admitted and which they told me that they refunded to me immediately. It is bad enough that I missed my grandson, cannot walk, will need several surgeries and have paid for 2 tickets that were wasted - rules can be adjusted for true emergencies if there is even an ounce of compassion - but to not refund the $59.95 and continue to lie to me about it is flat out mean, cruel and dishonest.

That $59.95 has kept me from buying prescriptions, going to the doctor and getting food. But Spirit doesn't care about anything but their bottom line, no matter whom they have to cheat or how they have to do it. I feel they owe me the money for one of my tickets back at the very least, and definitely the $59.95 they charged me in error. According to every person I have talked to since August 3rd when I tried to change my ticket and asked for the $59.95 fee they charged me back, the fee has been refunded and there is "no possibility" that it could have been a mistake on Spirit's part nor could it have gone to someone else's account.

There are no "managers or supervisors" to talk to and I am out of money, food and gas. I spent about 1/3 of a month's income on this trip and it's sad enough that I am in too much pain and I can't use the ticket and they won't let me move it to next month. I helped raised my grandson and I am afraid that even if I don't see him before these operations I may not be able to see him again. You figure the odds - 5 operations - the chances are high that something could go wrong.

So, regardless of how bloodthirsty Spirit air is about giving a person who got hurt in an accident - so they have nearly $200 of my money for that (that seems to be how they make their money - sell seats and then make it impossible to change them in an emergency - they still haven't paid back my $59.95 and I am still getting the runaround. I have $10 in the bank and can't pay for medicine, food or gas because there is not enough money because that Spirit still has my refund, which I have been told that was processes August 3rd and would be in my account by August 8th - August 10th at the latest.

If there is anyone who can help me with this in any way I can't tell you how much I would appreciate it. It is bad enough that these people do this to others who can afford it and don't really care that much. For them to do this to people like me who have had a serious accident, had to postpone being with the only family I have and depend on every penny to get by is not only shameful but illegal. Please help me! Once this is settled, I will never fly Spirit again.

So far they have over $250 of my money, none of which has been able to to be used because I have not been allowed to talk to a manager, none of their front line people have any authority or care about anything but Spirit's rules and a paycheck and Spirit takes your money without authority and they lie about refunding it. I used to teach customer service and corporate change from the top down for many major companies and government agencies. At least at that time they were willing to try. Spirit Air is the worst company I have ever come across in over 25 years. I never thought I'd be in this position. Please, please help me if you can. Thanks for letting me vent.

Fooled AGAIN
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Needing to be in NJ for my granddaughter's highschool graduation June 13, I booked a flight with Spirit Airlines on April 9, after joining their $9 airfare program at a cost of an $59. I supposedly received the lowest fare for the flight I chose. The very next day, I was sent an email offering "graduation specials", flights for $19. Of course, my exact flight was listed. I was informed that I would have to purchase the tickets and wait until 7 days before the flight to cancel the original tickets I bought.. OK. I continued to receive discount and specials advertising the exact date and flight that I had already purchased. What a slap in the face.

After sending an email to Spirit Consumer services, a response was sent, stating some corporate gobbly gook! 7 days before my scheduled flight I called to cancel my flight, was directed to India, where, when I asked to speak with someone I could understand, was told "I can understand you". Really? After speaking with a CSR who informed me that since I was a member of the $9 fare club, I could not apply any other promotion to flight! WHAT? "I will let you speak with a supervisor" the polite voice stated. On hold again. The supervisor informed me that the tickets, and the $9 fare club were non-refundable. Hmmm. OK suck it up the saying goes.

The flight from Myrtle Beach to Atlantic City was uneventful. The return flight, however was a different story. I was at the AC airport at 5 am 6/19 (for a 6:50 am flight) Along with about 200 other Spirit passengers. We were corralled in a red rope "pen" where we waited, not moving for maybe 10-15 minutes, adding customers, watching the chaos, chatting with other passengers. At some point a Spirit employee - director of traffic asked for a show of hands for Myrtle Beach fliers. Are we in kindergarten? "OK" she said. Lifting the stretchy red rope "Go under the rope and follow me".

Dutifully we followed her, to stand in wait for another 10 minutes while she ran around like a crazy, disorganized woman. We should have been on the plane by this time. Hadn't even checked in. I, as well as the people around us were informed that the flight was overbooked and we should go to the gate telling them that we did not have a seat. Oh, that's right, I did not PURCHASE my seat when I booked my flight. The people in front of me had bought their tickets 2 weeks before at a cost of $38.50!!! The gentleman behind me said the same. Neither were members of the $9 fare club by the way. The humiliation still doesn't end. More chaos at the gate.

My name was called and I was assigned a seat. I took a deep breath and went to my seat, which, did you guess it? was already occupied. I tried to maintain my composure, making a joke about sitting on someone's lap. Now I am standing at the front of the plane, waiting for my next direction. The people before me, and behind me were already seated. The "gatekeeper" then came in calling a man's name. No one answered. Still I stand, with the entire plane watching me, knowing we should have already been in the air. The gatekeeper returned, saying she had made a mistake, and although the 1st name was the same, the last name was **, not **.

Mr ** got off of the plane and I was assigned to his seat. Embarrassment, humiliation, exhaustion. This is how Spirit treats its customers. As I stated in previous correspondence with Spirit, When I read that Spirit has filed for bankruptcy, I will nod in understanding.

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FT. LAUDERDALE/LATROBE, FLORIDA -- I would like to begin by saying that prior to adding all the new routes, Spirit actually didn't suck. However, it seems to me that their route to plane ratio is off….by A LOT. I am forced to fly Spirit due to my family situation. My mother has stage 7 Alzheimer's and my father is her caregiver. They can't drive to Pittsburgh to pick me up from the airport so I have to fly into Latrobe, which means I have to fly Spirit. However, I would like to warn any potential new Spirit customers as to what they can now come to expect from this airline.

I have flown on Spirit the 4 times this year and with all four flights, I have been delayed and there has been a SEVERE lack of communication on the part of Spirit as to why/how. Spirit has had inaccurate information posted at the airport, with the desk people and also on their automated phone system. My most recent flight was on the 20th of April, returning the 23rd.

Every single flight Spirit had at Ft. Lauderdale airport was delayed INDEFINITELY (they actually switched gates once – changed the flight departure time thrice AND even threatened cancelling once) and the best excuse Spirit could come up with was that the planes just hadn't arrived yet. I AM NOT KIDDING. Apparently, when Spirit offered the flights and posted the times online, they actually didn't check how long it takes their planes to get from point A to point B. Then, adding insult to injury, they gave a lousy $7 food voucher as compensation. YOU CAN'T BUY A SANDWICH AT AN AIRPORT FOR SEVEN DOLLARS IN 2012.

As I mentioned, all other flights were delayed as well, due to aircraft just not being there! After waiting 5 hours, we finally boarded the plane, and again the only reason given was ‘well the plane is coming from South America'. That's awesome but I'm pretty sure they should have been able to plan for that, seeing as they make the schedule. On the return flight things got even more fun! I phoned Spirit to ensure my flight was still as scheduled and the automated system told me (over and over and over) that the flight was CANCELLED! It told me to hold on for a customer service representative.

When said representative answered he informed me that there was a 15-minute delay only. Interesting. Then I phoned the actual airport and the man at the Spirit counter told me there was NO DELAY AT ALL. I asked him to double check and he returned telling me it would be over an hour delay. I ended up going to airport at scheduled time JUST IN CASE. Now, I realize that there was a freak snowstorm on this particular day (which is the only reason I phoned Spirit upon waking up) however, that was not the reason given for my delay. In fact, I asked if it had anything to do with the weather and was told no.

This is not the way a business should be able to act and remain in business. I have never, ever witnessed a business that relies on its customers yet cares so little about them. It is disgusting. Now, I am currently waiting on my aunts to arrive and unfortunately they made their reservations with Spirit prior to my issues with the airline. Guess what!? THEY ARE DELAYED WITHOUT CAUSE! Wow – what a surprise!!! Spirit needs to understand that they will cease to exist if they don't cater to the people who buy tickets. Pretty simple logic but, obviously, Spirit doesn't have intelligent people at the helm.

Spirit needs to up their customer service in a big way and begin to offer free tickets as compensation when a flight is delayed, you know, like other airlines. Nobody wants to be delayed, however, the sting is dramatically reduced if a free trip is offered and the airline has another chance to change the first (or in my case) most recent impression(s). I will fly with them until my mother passes, but I promise that it will be the final time I fly with Spirit unless things change drastically. So, please – the extra $80-$100 you may save by choosing Spirit probably won't be worth it when your flight is delayed, without reason, without compensation and without a care.

Take Your Money Elsewhere or You Will Be Sorry!
By -

FT. LAUDERDALE, FLORIDA -- I arrived at the airport at 4:30 AM because my flight was leaving at 6 AM on the dot. I saw a large crowd of people waiting in various lines and should have known there would be a problem. I proceeded to the kiosk to check in since I was NOT checking in any bags and only had a my purse and suitcase that fits in the overhead bin of the plane. I saw that they were charging $38 for checked bags and entered 0 since again, I knew I could bring my bag on the plane. I printed the boarding pass and headed to security when the woman stopped me and told me I had to PAY for my bag even if I was NOT checking it!

At first she tried to tell me it would not fit. Having flown just recently over Thanksgiving I knew this was a lie, and I overhead her then speak to another agent in Spanish that I would have to pay. They assumed that I did not understand what they were saying but stupidity comes in all colors because her small mind would never guess that I speak several languages FLUENTLY. Never mind the fact that other airlines only charge to check bags but not Spirit who will get as much money as they can out of you.

Since I already had my boarding pass I proceeded to the "full service" line with other frustrated passengers. This line was NOT moving and I saw the other 2 lines go ahead of me with no employees offering the help us in the "full service" line which was really no service. I went back to the kiosk to attempt to pay for my bag and was charged $40 when originally it was $38. To my surprise after I paid $40 the machine refused to print out my receipt!!! I had no proof of paying! Back to the line I go! 45 minutes had already passed and at this time they were calling for all passengers bound for NY (which was me).

So I went to the service agent along with a few others. He then proceeded to tell me that I had not paid for my bag. I told him I did and that the machine would not print out a receipt. He told me to go the fast bag line (which I was just standing in) while pointing to the self service line! Well which one is it? He pointed to one line while simultaneously saying to go to another! I then got back in line to the line that he pointed to. Then someone made an announcement that if you had a boarding pass to go to the fast bag line! I had already been in that line twice!!! Now I switch BACK to that line!

While waiting in that line I see an employee ushering people in a separate line and overhear him saying that line was not NY bound passengers! He never made an announcement so then I go to that line! Over an hour has passed at this point. I finally get to see an agent told her I paid $40 for the bag and the receipt would not print out. She printed a receipt and told me to go through the security to gate L-9. I was so frazzled at this point after going through security. I'm rushing to get to the gate.

When I get to gate I realized I have been so stressed out by Spirit airlines and their circus act of check in process that I had misplaced not only my receipt, my boarding pass, AND my driver license! The agent at the gate asked for my information, printed me another boarding pass since I could not locate mine. Another agent handed me my pass then had the nerve to tell me I never paid for my bag!!!

"Jerome", who had stopped me from boarding before, "Jerome" who pointed to one line while telling me to go to another, "Jerome" who now thinks that somehow I snuck past the agent without paying $40 for my bag, was now trying to stop me AGAIN at the gate while the plane was fully boarded. The other agent told me to board anyway. Does "Jerome" want to call my bank to verify the charges? At this point it was around 5:55 am and the plane was scheduled for 6. I had spent all that time going in circles in their check in zoo with no agents there directing people where to go or what to do.

Once the plane got off the ground. I was going to request water on the plane. No, never mind that since Spirit charges for anything and everything. I had not eaten nor had anything to drink and was certainly not going give them another dime for water.

Fortunately, or unfortunately I should say my DL now needs to be replaced because of that nightmare of Spirit. Incompetence at its best I know I will be sticking to American Airlines from now on. It was not a deal as I will have to pay an extra $80 for bags. Now my trip will cost more money than had I used American, Usair, or any other major airline. Total ripoff and not worth the headache.

Free Vouchers For Compensation Is More Like Punishment!
By -

FLORIDA -- I was vacationing with my family in Orlando, Florida from Tuesday, November 29 to Sunday, December 4, 2011. On Friday, December 2, I received a voicemail from Spirit airlines. It was hard to understand because the woman had a very thick Indian accent, but from what I could understand from the message, she said that our flight has been downgraded for December 4th and I needed to call them to be accommodated.

So I call back (while I'm in Disney World) and she says the flight from Orlando to Atlantic City has been cancelled due to mechanical issues. So I ask why they can't get another plane by Sunday, since it is Friday afternoon. She said they were unable to do that and I would have 3 options in order to get home. OPTION #1 - Fly out Monday, December 5th at our original time 10:44 am-12:57 pm. OPTION #2- Fly to Ft. Lauderdale at 8:50 am, arrival time 9:50 am. Then depart Ft. Lauderdale at 3:15 pm and arrive in Atlantic City at 5:35 pm. That's SIX HOURS of doing nothing!

OPTION #3- Drive to Ft. Lauderdale and take the flight there later that day. I had NO choice but to choose Option#2 since I had to be at work Monday morning and Ft. Lauderdale was a 4 hour drive from Orlando! I asked how would I be compensated for the inconvenience because my mother suffers from Multiple Sclerosis and is in a wheelchair and she said we would each receive a $500 voucher for a future round trip flight.

I would need to call back to get the voucher number so I called the next day (Saturday) and the man would not give me the numbers! After arguing with him for several minutes that I was entitled to it, he eventually gave them to me and said that I had 2 months to book a flight because after that, the vouchers would expire. So I ask him what date would they expire and he tells me December 31, 2011! Ummm… that's not 2 months!

Fast forward Sunday, December 4th. We arrive at the airport and check in by 6:45 am. As we sat at our gate waiting to board the place, I looked over at the next gate and to my SHOCK, my original flight to Atlantic City was flying out ON TIME! So I immediately approach the woman behind the Spirit counter and ask if that was a mistake and she said NO! So explained that the plane was changed from a bigger plane to a smaller plane, therefore people had to be bumped off the flight! The flight was cancelled and downgraded.

So I ask, how do they determine who gets bumped off? She says they do it by when you book your reservation. I booked my reservation in early September and the plane was empty so that was a LIE! So I call the customer service number and I get a man with a very thick Indian accent and I ask him why I was bumped off the place. He could not provide an explanation so I told him to transfer me to a manager. The manager, David ** with an even THICKER Indian accent tells me that he has in his computer that I agreed to be bumped off the flight!!

I ask him why the hell I would agree to that, especially when I have my mother in a wheelchair!! No explanation again! I told him I was NEVER given the option of being on the smaller plane! I told him to play the conversation from Friday, since they claim they record it and he said he was unable to do that!!

And from my observations from our Ft. Lauderdale flight, there was only 1 other family that was also flying back to Atlantic City which was 2 older grandparents with their young grandchild. So they couldn't find room for 6 people on the new flight?? WORST AIRLINE EVER!! And I will NOT be using the vouchers because it is NOT worth the aggravation and wasted time! You really to do get what you pay for!!

Spirit Airline Employees Are Thieves
By -

During my last travel to Peru I broke some ribs swimming at the beach in Lima and wasn't supposed to lift anything over 10 lbs. As my wife and I arrived at the airport in Lima to return home via SPIRIT AIRLINES January 16, 2009 we had a friend assisting us with our luggage and the security of SPIRIT allowed him to assist us inside the secured area until it was time to check in our luggage. All of a sudden we were confronted by many (SPIRIT) Security officers which acted very aggressive about our assistance.

At the initial confrontation we were yelled at by them while a ticket handler reach across the scales and grabbed my black carry on suit case as security attempted to distract me. They made our friend leave and I was forced to load our suitcases on the scales without any assistance. Due to their weight policy our luggage weight had to be balanced. While I was having to adjust the weight in the suit cases I asked the ticket girl for my carry on, she denied taking it but I saw her take it during the confrontation by security. Her supervisor came and supposedly reviewed video footage and claimed that their employees did not take the suit case.

We were also advised that if we did not make it to catch our flight in time we would miss the plane and would have to purchase other tickets to fly back to US. But I was in so much pain having to load our regular suit cases on the scales because they made my friend leave the secured area and refused to provide us with assistance. I tried to complain to SPIRIT employees at Ft Lauderdale when we arrived there but we were told to file our complaint at Hartfield-Jackson so we did.

I also sent a letter to SPIRIT AIRLINES explaining the incident and their response was they were sorry about my lost luggage and suggested that my homeowners insurance would cover the lost items in the suit case. My response is that I'm not a homeowner and if I were it wasn't homeowners insurance employees that stole my suitcase. Please use caution when traveling to and from Lima via SPIRIT AIRLINES. I DOUBT THAT I'm the only one that this has happened to. But their employees stole my carry on suitcase in front of me and they still haven't offered to resolve this issue.

I have been given a wild goose chase by the FAA and even the FBI won't get involved because the matter occurred abroad (outside US territory). I can't even successfully get assistance from the Peruvian Consulate in Atlanta. I will travel back to Lima next week via DELTA AIRLINES because the reason that I had chosen to use SPIRIT was because DELTA was constantly misplacing our luggage and had offended in 2007 and SPIRIT had cheaper rates. I suggest flying Delta to Lima. At least you'll eventually get your luggage. Delta might misplace your luggage and you'll at least get it back. That is more than I can say about SPIRIT. They stole my suitcase in front of me and are still calling me a liar.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Spirit Airlines Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 108 ratings and
430 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Spirit Airlines
30588 Automation Dr.
Clinton Township, MI 40835
800-772-7117 (ph)
Compare Airline Companies