Stratosphere Hotel

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
3 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Stratosphere Las Vegas Hotel Hell on Earth
Posted by on
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- My 4th Goal in life is to Bash the Stratosphere hotel for at least 2yrs, Their location is horrible. It's far from the strip and they give you a view of the mountain which isn't anything like having a strip view. Their customer service is a 0 because it is the worst I have ever experienced. Their check-in representative Anwar is rude. I believe the managers, Kheli and Sarah, got their Hospitality/Hotel Management degree, if they have one, from D. F.N. S (Don't F-ing Know Sh*t) University. Here is how I came to that conclusion. We got to the hotel around 1:30pm to check in. The young lady at the desk said "Check-in isn't until around 3, but we can get you started so all you have to do is come back and get your keys at 3pm". Then we asked if there is early check-in. She said, "we do offer that but the room isn't ready yet". So we said OK and checked our bags at the bell desk. We gambled and ate at the Roxy Diner and around 3:23 we went to pick up our keys. Anwar greeted us and I told him I was there to pick up my keys. He looked up my info and said my room wasn't ready. I asked what do you mean it's not ready. He said housekeeping hadn't cleaned the room yet. I asked him when the room would be ready and he told me he doesn't know. So I asked him if he could call housekeeping and find out what time or an estimate of what time my room would be ready. He had the nerve to tell me he isn't housekeeping, which pissed me off. How dare he insult my intelligence. I knew he was not housekeeping. I was just asking if he could call housekeeping so I would know when my room would be ready. I wasn't asking for anything that was beyond his ability. I had just gotten off a 6hr flight. At this point, I was livid. So I asked to speak to a manager. The manager Kheli comes and she has an attitude like I interrupted her from watching Desperate Housewives or something. I explained to her that I understood the room wasn't ready, but I was asking them to call housekeeping and find out when it would be. She then tried to give me a room on a lower floor. I said no I want the room on the higher floor. I said please, just find out when the room will be ready. She also found this hard to do. At this point, I walked away because I was at a new level of lividness. I was ready to leave the Stratosphere. My friend stayed and talked to them. They told her that check in of 3 pm was for normal rooms not suites. It is very interesting that since we decided to get a suite and give their hotel more money than other guest, we had to wait. They finally decided to call housekeeping. They told us our room would be ready in a half a hour. So around 4:23, more than a half hour later, we returned. Imagine our reaction when the young lady at the desk said that our room still wasn't ready. After seeing our reaction, she said she would check with housekeeping to see if the room was in fact ready. It's funny how she offered to check with housekeeping so easily. She came back about 8 - 10 minutes later to tell us the room still wasn't ready. I was done. I asked for the corporate number because we were leaving. This was ridiculous. On their website, they state "Soak up the excitement of Sin City at the Stratosphere Las Vegas Hotel & Casino, where you'll get the VIP treatment, plus a whole lot more." What excitement? What V. I.P treatment? Is that why the hotel was on the brick of bankruptcy like 2 or 3 years ago? She said hold on let me get the manager's card. She came back 4 minutes later and said our room was available, interesting. She said our room will be 42015. I asked what happened to 41715. She said it wasn't ready and that the rooms are the same so we took it. So we finally got to the room and it smelled like the toilet had over flowed onto the carpet. We called housekeeping and they sprayed the room. But at this point, it's like what the hell. After a 6hr flight and 4 1/2 hours of waiting to get into a room, we get a smelly room. At this point, we had already spoken to Tim the director of customer excellence. He offered to comp our resort fee which was $7.50 per day so that would have been $45. Please, that is like an hour and quarter pay for me, they wasted an hour and a half my vacation. On top of that, they gave me a headache with their stupidity and rudeness. So I asked Tim for an upgrade. He said we would have to speak to Sarah, the hotel manager. My friend then asked Tim if Sarah would help us or was she going to waste our time, because we already wasted most of our day. He said she is the manager and will work with us. When Sarah called she offered to have our room changed because of the smell but she told us there would not be a room available until the next day. What happened to 41715? We then asked about an upgrade for our trouble. She said there wasn't an upgrade from the room we had. At that point, we knew it was time to leave. We asked about the cancellation policy and Sarah said that would be fine we would just pay for the one night. We asked if we wanted to leave today, could we get our money back. She said we would need to check out now. Then we said we would need more time than that to find another hotel. She then said she would give us 15 minutes. We said well it is only fitting that you give us an hour and a half because we gave you an hour and a half of our time. Sarah proceeded to say she would give us a hour because she needed the room for another guest. Sarah then said word for word "Am going to need you to get out" with a tone that said get the F out. We all sat their quietly for like 5 sec in a breath shock like WHAT! That was the final straw. So we finished our search for another hotel, packed our bags, called Tim and left him a message saying we were leaving and that I would be calling their corporate office. So now we're at our new hotel and I get a text from my card showing a charge for $1147.89 by Stratosphere. I left the hotel and they are still finding ways to piss me off. I called them to ask why they charged my card when the check in lady said that nothing was going to be charged to my card. Sarah called me back to say they removed the hold on my card. I informed her that I left my camera charger and batteries at the hotel and she said she would send someone to get it and hold it for me because the room was still empty, interesting. And the stress didn't stop there, when I went to get my charger they couldn't figure out where they put it. So after a hour of waiting, after I had call and said I was on my way I had to make another trip to the Stratosphere the next day to get it. Now I am trying to get the shuttle money we paid to get there and compensation for the stress and hell they put us through, reminding me that there is truly hell on earth.

     
Read 19 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

dan gordon on 2010-05-05:
its quite a novel you write but its extremely common in the hotel business. I do tours for a living and what you went through is sometimes the reality of large hotels. Stratosphere is on the strip but what used to be the 'heart' of the strip has moved quite aways the other direction.
goduke on 2010-05-05:
All of this over having to wait a bit of extra time for a hotel room? Really? I frequently go to Vegas. It' always a long flight from the east coast. I frequently get there early in the day before rooms are available. I check my luggage, go have some fun, and come back later. It's a vacation! Relax. There's plenty to do.

And, let's be honest, we're talkinga bout the Start here. It is one of the cheapest, if not the cheapest, properties on the strip. The suite probably cost you $150 a night. You're not going to get Caesar's Palace service at the Stratosphere.
Weedwhacked on 2010-05-05:
Did you think the Stratosphere was on the strip?
goduke on 2010-05-05:
It technically is on the strip, just on the far north end of Las Vegas Blvd. And they actually do have rooms which look out over the strip. Costs a bit more than the mountain view. I'm kind of odd, though. In the mornings in LV I kind of enjoy seeing the sun hit the mountains.
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
Goduke, I don't think that's odd, I think that's nice :)
Ben There on 2010-05-05:
The Stratosphere is on the strip, it is just much farther north past the other cheap Strip hotels like Circus Circus and the Riviera. If you ever search for Las Vegas strip hotels, the Stratosphere can be had for $20-$30 a night during the week.
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
I have frequented Las Vegas on a few occasions, and the one endearing lesson with it, and all walks of life, is that you get exactly what you pay for. Stratosphere is on the very edge of the strip. It is NOT one of the premiere hotels that you can expect be waited on hand and foot. Do yourself a favor next time and research a little bit. Take the time to read the traveler's reviews on Travelocity, Expedia, etc...you'll find that they say it's an average place to stay for the money. Many even noting the dinginess of the joint. Some actually like it. That's for you to decide. But too often, people get this preconceived notion that when they check into ANY hotel in Vegas that they're going to get the Ocean's 11 treatment. Sorry, that's just movie and fantasy bulls***. Yes, it's a travesty that your room wasn't ready, no where even near the time frame it was supposed to be, to that we'll agree. But you had a hint of condescending attitude in your Moby Dick novel, stating that they only offered you 1&1/4 of "your" pay as compensation. I was with you at the beginning of your story, but when you started copping the attitude that you were entitled and better than the average person, you lost me. Arguably, you were tired from your flight, but a smile and a warm personality will get you a lot farther in life.
Ben There on 2010-05-05:
Last time I was in Vegas my room at Caesars was not ready till 5pm, so I checked my bags and went and did something else... This can happy at almost any Vegas hotel... Also, the lines tend to be horrendous if you want to check in at 3pm.
goduke on 2010-05-05:
I guess you just have to wonder if it's worth all of the negative energy. By the time you've barked at the desk a few times, got yourself wound up, re-packed, found another hotel, unpacked, and missed several rounds of drinks, you've built up such a well of emotion that you're going to re-visit it all through the trip. Better to just deal with it, have a big girl drink, and find a way to spend some additional time. I'd vote for going on the skyjump.
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
Leonna you write one heck of a review. This write-up is just awesome. I laughed, I cried, I sighed and wrinkled my forehead. You're my kind of people. Don't take crap from no one!
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
Stew, I often wonder if some mornings you awake to the rest of the world with the sole intention of going out on a trek to find the largest possible stick with which to stir the pot of controversy. If for no other reason than to get a rise out of the M3C community.
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
J4A, It get's a rise out of the my3cents community because I praise a review? A very clever and well written review that details a very valid complaint. Really? That's interesting.

Now I don't know about all that but I can tell ya one thing I don't do though is attempt to marginalize a member's comments by assigning a motive to that comment. I figure people just post their opinions or what's on their mind and leave it at that.
goduke on 2010-05-05:
Come on folks, let's not fight.

Again.
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
Do I need to throw a life preserver in the deep waters of insanity that you no longer seem able to tread?
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
goduke> Stew and I merely exchange friendly banter. Nothing more, nothing less. If either one of us were truly offended by the other, we wouldn't respond at all. (:
Anonymous on 2010-05-05:
J4A, If loving this review is wrong then I don't want to be right.
Leonna on 2010-05-06:
LOL you guys are too funny, @stew thx, and for everyone else, we had no issue with the hotel we re-booked our room with, got there, check in, no wait, no issue for the whole stay (6 nights). Also the wait wouldn't have been a big deal if they had just did their job and get house keeping to clean the room. I am pissed because they didn't want to do their job, the same job that they are getting paid for. As a customer I expect something of you because of your job title if you can't do that, then your services are of no used to me. Same thing when I went to get my charger, no one wanted to follow their job description. Bottom line
jktshff1 on 2010-05-06:
Great review.
Jim on 2013-03-28:
The hotel is this way like most so called resorts because the management treats there employees like slaves. If you want to find hell on earth, go to work for just about any hotel or resort chain and you will understand what I am talking about. P.S. none have health care so expect to get very ill after your lovely stay, enjoy the bed bugs as well.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Guests Are Not Important Here
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- Let me start out by saying that many of these "Problems" are probably due to my being spoiled by hotels across the country that seem to want guests to come back and stay with them again. I got the distinct impression that the folks at the Stratosphere Hotel in Las Vegas really doesn't care if guests are not comfortable and never come back. Many of you reading this may think that I expected too much, and maybe I did.

My problems began before we left home and I discovered that the hotel will not guarantee a non-smoking room. My vacation "package" was done through AAA and I made sure to tell the lady at AAA that I needed a non-smoking room. After I received my packet in the mail I discovered that the hotel will make a room assignment only at the point of check-in and if a non-smoking room is not available, a smoking one is assigned. Having been diagnosed with emphysema several years ago, that would be a real problem for me. AAA told me that standard practice in Las Vegas was for hotels not to guarantee non-smoking rooms during the reservation process. We considered cancelling the trip but decided to go anyway and take our chances. All of the anxiety was for naught anyway because we were assigned a non-smoking room upon our check-in. Thank goodness because we had to walk all the way through the casino to get to the registration desk and the smoke in there was so thick you could almost cut it with a knife.

I was very disappointed to learn that there was no coffee maker or coffee in the room, nor was there a safe or refrigerator.
We found a dirty washcloth hanging in the bathroom and no soap at all. There WERE however, pubic hairs in the tub.
The next morning at 7 AM a noise that sounded like a freight train came from the hallway. I went out to see what it was and there was someone with a really big vacuum cleaning the carpet. An hour later (at 8 AM) sirens went off and the loudspeakers announced that it was a "security test". I really doubt that they need to do those loud things so early in the morning.

There was an escalator to the second floor where there was a McDonald's but that escalator was out of service the entire time we were there. That was just as well because it is a terrible McDonalds with slow, rude employees.

I think the single biggest problem I had was that they allow smoking EVERYWHERE! Even in the elevators. If you are a smoker you will love it here but the bottom line is that I definitely do not recommend the Stratosphere Hotel in Las Vegas.
     
Read 22 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2012-05-13:
I think anyone traveling to Las Vegas, NV should really think about where they are going. It's nickname is Sin City, and it caters to people's vices. One of which happens to be smoking. If you're not into drinking & smoking, then perhaps a small Native American casino would better suit you. But if you're into partying, loud music, drinking, and LOTS of smoking...Vegas is the place to go. Just don't act surprised when you get there. I hope the rest of your trip was more to your liking though. Thanks for stopping by and submitting a review.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-13:
I really hope that your next hotel stay does not result in a fire or bomb threat at 8:00AM.

It is Vegas. Loud, rude, and smoky. Even Native American casinos allow smoking.
Anonymous on 2012-05-13:
Not our local Native American Casinos. At least not anymore. They used to 15-20 years ago when they first opened.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-13:
The Immokalee (sp) Casino in Florida does. Also the Cherokee NC one does. I thought they all did.
trmn8r on 2012-05-13:
From your complaint, I'm not sure you would have had a materially different experience at another hotel. Half the complaint is about smoking, and unfortunately Las Vegas is not as progressive as the rest of the country when it comes to just saying "no" to cancerators.
Churro on 2012-05-14:
FYI, most Marriott branded hotels are 100% non-smoking.

It seems totally bizarre to me in 2012 there are still hotels that allow smoking in the guest rooms. Travelers need to boycot any hotel that allows smoking until they get the message. That's how I roll.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-14:
In my opinion, travelers should understand that half the world smokes and the other half doesn't, and that neither side can call the shots. I do not smoke, but then, I choose either to not go in places that allow it, or if I do, not to complain about it. I know that I can not always have everything my way, nor should I. I wish more people understood this.
Churro on 2012-05-14:
Less than 20% of Americans smoke. Eh, the 80% that doesn't smoke indeed can call the shots when it comes to smoking if they choose to do so. And they should.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-14:
Then the 20% of the population are sure riching up the tobacco companies. Regardless, people have a choice to go in or not. I don't waste time complaining about stupid things like not getting my way. I learned as a kid the world does not revolve around me.
Churro on 2012-05-14:
It may be stupid to you but it's not stupid to me or obviously the OP or a lot of other people. This is not about the world revolving around any one person. This is about the free market accommodating their customer base which when it comes to non-smokers is over 80% of the customer base. Either by consumer choice or legislation within 10 years there will be no smoking in any hotel rooms. I would prefer it to be by consumer choice and act accordingly.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-14:
Maybe stupid is a strong word. Perhaps I should have said needless. I just see no reason to complain about something I have complete control over.
Churro on 2012-05-14:
How is it needless to complain? How else are businesses going to know when they fail a customer? How is it wrong to avoid dimwitted hotels that allow smoking and encourage other non-smokers to do the same? That seems far more powerful than passively taking or refusing what's offered.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-14:
What about the customers who smoke? Do they not count? Is their money less valuable? Their feelings of disappointment? Yes, the public is catering to the non-smoker. There are no less valid cases of cancer or smoke related illness today than there were in the 70's and 80's when smoking was allowed everywhere.

Like I said. if I do not want to smell smoke, I stay out of casinos or bars. I do not go there then complain about it. If I do not like it, I can leave. I do not have to complain to management about the big bad smoker. I do not make then choose which customer to cater to. I can accept it is not all about me. I accept that smokers have the same rights that I have. The right to come, and go.
Churro on 2012-05-14:
Why should a non-smoker give a fiddler's fart about a smoker. Hotel's that allow smoking are gross. The rooms stink and depending on which scientific study you choose to believe are unhealthy. There's no reason a non-smoker should be subjected to some body else's bad choices and there is no reason why a non-smoking customer should refrain from letting a hotel owner know the reason they are avoiding the hotel. In fact any wise hotel owner would want to know this.
jktshff1 on 2012-05-14:
Churro, you are making sense to me again. Staying away from smoking business is no different than staying away from posted (weapon banning) places.
Just one question, what are they going to tax to make up the losses?
* All States’ Average: $1.46 per pack
* federal tax rate for cigarettes on April 1, 2009 $1.01 per pack.
I am an ex smoker.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-14:
People have the choice to go or not go to a smoking allowed business is my point. But just like women who sue to go to men's clubs, and parents who sue to get their girls on a boy's team etc, there will always be those who can not stand that there is something that excludes them.

Like I said, I personally can accept that something in this world may not be for me. If I do not like who or what goes on somewhere, I do not go there. I do not have to take away someone's enjoyment of something simply because I do not agree with it. That hotel or park or restaurant or whatever is not the only one in the world to choose from.
CowboyFan on 2012-05-14:
I don't smoke, but think businesses should have a choice whether to allow it or not. As DIRM74 said, Las Vegas is sin city. Why is the OP going there, unless they are willing to put up with what happens there. Its like going to Bulgaria and complaining the toilets in the stores are not up to American standards. When in Greece, do as the Greeks do.

Also, from the casino stand point, they are not going to make anyone leave the gambling room to smoke, when the customer can sit right there and lose money continuously.

Finally, in Florida there are a lot of public service announcements about how quickly one who stops smoking can start to recover from the effects of smoking. If it is true for the smoker, then logically, sucking up a little second hand smoke while on vacation is not going to leave a long term effect on you (most of the studies on second hand smoke are people who were exposed for years in contained environments).
SteveWiginowski on 2012-05-14:
While a casino may think about going completely smokeless, the point of a casino is to try to get as many people as they can to come in. If they don't allow smoking, smokers most likely won't stay/play at that casino.

Having a smokeless casino where guests have to go outside to smoke is the opposite effect that they want. They don't want people to step away from the games and take a break.
ToddFord on 2012-05-14:
Thanks for giving the Stratosphere a try. You are right in saying that we shouldn't have had the “security test” on the loudspeakers that early in the morning. We are addressing that issue with the proper departments and we apologize for that occurring. We are glad that you received the room you booked—that's something that we strive to do. Given the complexities of our business, we can't always (but usually do) accommodate that request. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review. It gives us things to work on that will help make Stratosphere a better place to stay in the future.
whythelongfaces on 2012-05-14:
A security test at 8 am is not unreasonable. What if it was a real emergency that early? People going to throw a fit cause your fire interrupted their smoke induced drunken sleep?
Southern Gentleman on 2012-06-03:
whythelongfaces, how dumb is that? I guess you are saying that if it is possible for a fire to occur at 3 AM, the alarm system must be tested at 3 AM. Your comments on this review have been generally disparaging and not at all helpful. Hope your day goes better.
raven2010 on 2012-06-03:
I suspect this was the OP's first trip to Vegas and he was not not aware that smoking there is much like it was in the 70's everywhere else.

I think the complaint about the dirty room is very valid. The security test could have been done at a less disruptive time also!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Blood Stains on Comforter & Mattress Pad
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEVADA -- I made a reservation for a spa room, checked early evening,& did not go directly to room.

The morning of 2-24-13 I discovered the blood while looking for bedbugs, I had read a recent review online complaining of bedbugs.

I reported this incident to the front desk & two housekeeping personnel responded. They donned blue rubber gloves & put the linen that I had been sleeping on in red bio hazard bags. The head of security arrived at approx.11am to take my statement.

I was then given a complimentary guest ticket, valued at $50.00 to dine at Mcalls restaurant, At this point I had no appetite. I failed to mention that my mattress was disinfected by housekeeping staff, she used a spray bottle with blue liquid in it. The male housekeeping staff personnel arrived with a cleaning woman & they both cleaned the entire room in front of my partner, the entire day was gone at this point. I am a senior citizen & have traveled a good part of the world and have never encountered anything near this type of deplorable customer service.

The housekeeping staff said that it was obvious that the linens had not been changed after the last person or persons checked out. I have presented to my doctor & have taken a battery of blood tests. The doctor said that I have done the right thing by being screened for diseases that she knows were not present before this exposure.

The hotel did nothing to aid in my mental state, I even reached out to the Vice President on two separate occasions to no avail!!!

I will stay clear of this hotel, as their customers are obviously not their main concern. I recommend that all health conscious people to stay far from this hotel.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

jktshff1 on 2013-03-01:
I usually check the room when I enter.
Where was the blood?
Old Timer on 2013-03-01:
"Where was the blood?", "I discovered the blood while looking for bedbugs".

We are in Vegas a lot as we have a 2nd place there. The locals won't go near the Stratosphere Hotel to gamble, eat or see the attractions. It is considered the local dump. It is good to see that they did respond in force to their mistake. Will give them a bonus point for that but little else.
trmn8r on 2013-03-01:
It sounds like they did about all they could to respond to this situation, after the fact. It's a good warning for others.

There are some very negative reviews online of this place. Yours adds to that tally.
leet60 on 2013-03-01:
Perhaps I am a bit squeamish. This statement "I had read a recent review online complaining of bedbugs. " caught my attention. Had I read a review of this problem, I would have cancelled the reservation and looked elsewhere for loding.

Obsfucation on 2013-03-01:
I'm a little confused. Presumably you checked for bedbugs BEFORE you slept in the bed, right? That being the case, it sounds like they responded pretty well to a terrible situation. If you didn't sleep in the bed, how were you exposed to anything?
I would have expected the progression to be A. Checked In, B. Checked the bed, C. Found bloodstains and D. Checked out. Inconvenient to be sure, but not life altering.
CrazyRedHead on 2013-03-01:
I don't know if it's just me, but I always check the bed 'before' I get in, regardless of how tired I am, and the same goes for the room. I've heard of how hard they are (bed bugs)to get rid off and I wouldn't want to see them or evidence of them after sleeping there, and the same goes for any blood or bodily fluids in the room. I've been meaning to get a black light the next time just for curiosities sake.
Jeff on 2013-03-01:
None of the comments above actually do anything to HELP the poster. Obviously they found blood in the room.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >