Subway

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 44 ratings and
215 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Being skinny has its price!
Posted on
As I sat inside the lobby of our local Subway this afternoon eating lunch, I happened to look down at the napkin and tray liner. Both items list the amount of calories and fat contained in each of their "Fresh Fit" sub sandwiches. They have eight sandwiches listed. I usually alternate between two or three of them in order to change things up, and to keep my taste buds from being stuck in a rut.

The basis of my complaint began when I then looked at the $5 footlong special that Subway is infamous for in their commercials, ads, and jingles. Only two out of the eight subs on the Fresh Fit menu are also $5 footlong specials. The other six healthy subs range from $5.75 to $7.00! The majority of the $5 footlong specials are also the ones that are considerably higher in calories and fat content. The other subs include: Meatball, Pizza Sub, Cold Cut, Spicy Italian, and the BLT.

So it makes me wonder why in the world a company that pretends to care about their customer's health, by gearing all their advertising towards a healthy lifestyle, would make the fattening and unhealthy foods cheaper than the healthy food that is good for you?

Fear not...they are not alone in this finger pointing criticism. Notice all the other fast food establishments, i.e. McDonald's, Wendy's, Burger King, Taco Bell, etc...all have their $.99 value menu boards chalked full of heart cloggers. But I can excuse those other restaurants from this complaint, because they never came across as trying to be the poster child for healthy eating. But that is exactly what Subway tries to portray. So if they want to promote "Eat Fresh" and lose weight, ala Jared, then they should make the $5 footlong specials coincide with the Fresh Fit menu items. That only stands to reason. By not doing so, that only leads me to believe that they are no different than any other company out there...they're just in it to make a buck, the best way they know how. You want to talk about taking the "Subway Challenge"...here's my challenge for Subway...make all your Fresh Fit subs $5 footlongs! There's a challenge for ya'!

Your wallet is at the forefront of their mind, and your health is just an afterthought. Don't let any amount of cheap ads, catchy jingles, or weight loss spokesperson try and convince you otherwise.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Service Prejudice
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
CRESCENT COTY, CALIFORNIA -- On June 8, 2014, my wife of 21 years, Sonya, and I had ridden our motorcycle to Grants Pass, Oregon to have dinner with some friends before I went in for a liver cancer tumor removal surgery the following week in SF. Because of dietary needs we usually carry our food and/or stop at Subway Sandwiches establishments when traveling because their advertisements and nutrient charts encourage health conscience persons, and/or, persons with health conditions, to patronize their establishments. On our return trip, June 9,2014 at approximately 3:30 p.m. we stopped for a needed meal at a Subway in Crescent City, CA. Sonya went in to order sandwiches while I removed cold weather gear from the old Harley Davidson motorcycle, which we parked directly in front of the store. I laid our coats etc in our booth, took a bite of my sandwich, and then headed for the restroom with an urgent (diabetic) need to urinate.When I got down the hall there was a handwritten note on the door "out of order" and get key from counter person. No one was at the counter so I said hello excuse me loudly until the young man came out of the back. I told him I had a medical condition and needed to use a restroom whereas he told me the restroom is out of order. I asked if I could use whatever facility he used because I am diabetic and I'm not going to stand here and [snip] my pants. I told him by law they have to have a restroom or post it where the customers can see before they make their purchase. He said "I only work here"! I told him "You ought to take some initiative". He said "I'm calling the cops", I said "call the cops you little twerp". I was wetting my pants some and went outside around the corner and finished. When I returned Sonya was out by the bike. I said what are you doing out here. She said he kicked us out. I asked her did he tell you to leave and she said no. I said he did not tell me to leave either and we bought sandwiches. I got my hand sanitizer off the bike and we went back in and sat down and started eating our sandwiches. This was when Sonya told me of the initial attitude she had received from a female counter person when she first started the ordering process. It did seem that they did not really want our business and treated us like we were trash. I am 62 and a 30+yr CA State Park WKR I employee (retired), and my wife Sonya has been a small business owner for 21+yrs. As we were eating our sandwiches a Crescent City PD officer came in and talked with the kid at the counter (Jason ). I Placed my CDL and CCWP (though I was not carrying my firearm) on the table. He came over to get our story. After, he went back over and talked to the kid again he came back and said the kid wants us to leave and they reserve the right to refuse service to anyone. Mr Jason , the counter person was very reluctant to give us his name. The officer told him we have the right to know the name of the person that was having us removed. The officer gave us Jason (removed) name and we left. As we were getting our coats and helmets on, another CCPD car arrived. What a waste of obviously much needed local resources. We rode to the beach to finish eating our sandwiches and let my pants dry completely. After arriving home I called Subways Corporate office and they said there is nothing they can do because the stores are independently owned. I called and talked to the manager of the 3 Crescent City Subways, Glinda . She apologized for the employees behavior and stated that she had directed them to call her under such circumstances because she is just two minutes away. She also stated that she had told them, prior to our incident, that if someone was in dire need of the restroom, to warn them of a damp floor and let them use it. She said it was a leaky sink. For this reason I maintain the counter persons mean humiliating demeanor was because we were motorcyclists, and/or he was not allowing use of the facilities to eliminate the need to clean the restroom. The cause of restroom closure was indeed a leaky sink, which was confirmed by the owner, Karen who called me a while after I discussed the incident via phone with manager Glinda . I asked owner Karen to please send me a letter outlining a resolve that would appease my wife and I. Considering a discriminating attitude against motorcyclists, humiliating a person with a documented history of serious debilitating medical conditions that must be kept under control, and considering the embarrassment of wetting myself, and considering the embarrassment of being legitimate responsible law abiding citizens evicted from a very visible business with law enforcement presence, the letter we received from owner, Karen , certainly did not appease either Sonya or myself. These acts (with exception of the CCPD officers) were all carried out in a most definite mean spirited manner. Even an untrained, non-prejudiced employee would know right from wrong in these circumstances. No business has the right to degrade and humiliate a person in such a manner. As per paragraph 2 of owner Karen s' June 13,2014 letter of apology, ongoing staff training obviously is not a forceful enough motivational tool and they "certainly dropped the ball the day you (we) were in the Crescent City store". I, Larry Kirtley, and Sonya Kirtley, demand an immediate (by August 15, 2014) agreeable resolve of this matter or we will be forced to seek the maximum award through small claims court to resolve any and all damages and/or claims incurred in the incident at a Crescent City Subway, owned by Karen , on June 9, 2014.
We swear, under penalty of perjury, that the statements and claims contained herein, are true and correct to the best of our recollection. Gift certificates will be returned.

___________ &____________ Larry Kirtley Sonya Kirtley
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Big Hot Pastrami is a Big NOT
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SENECA, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Really looked forward to trying this sub. I love pastrami. The pics showed a nicely sliced sandwich. Looked great, but what we got looked more like the cut off fat and waste scraps that the butcher usually throws out. There were no slices to it. It was hard to eat for have to pull out the fat and non chewable waste in each bite. There didn't seem to be hardly any quality meat to it. Has Subway got so greedy that they are buying scraps from butcher shops and passing them off as food? You got me on this one but for now on I'm going elsewhere
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Discriminatory Practices
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
FAIRVIEW ROAD/ELLENWOOD, GEORGIA -- Ellenwood, GA Subway - Kroger Shopping Center/Fairview Road

On Monday May 7, 2012 at 11:45 AM I visited the Subway Sandwich Shop with the intent to order two sandwiches. The attendant was very rude, first of all. I asked for the sandwich special of the day, which was turkey and ham. I ordered 2 six inch turkey and ham specials on flat bread. He informed me that they did not have flat bread. I then ordered the Italian herbs and cheese bread.

He started making the sandwiches. He put the meat and cheese on the sandwich, at that time another customer entered the store and proceeded to the line. The attendant immediately stopped fixing my sandwich and greeted the man and asked him what he would have. The white male customer asked "what is the special for today. He completed his sandwich and rung him up, then came back to ask me what else I wanted on my sandwich.

I asked him if he could explain his technique, as to why he stopped fixing my sandwich and completed the man's order behind me. He told me that his manager told him "in his language" to complete his order first. At that point another man came from the back and told me that he knew the gentlemen, and he told him to go ahead and fix his sandwich. I asked why, they did not have a reasonable explanation. He then asked me in a very rude disposition, "Do you want the sandwich or not" I told him that under those circumstances I choose not to spend my money at his business. He then loudly said to me, while waving his hands in the air, and being very irate. "No Come", No Come Back!!! I said "excuse me, you don't have to worry about me revisiting your business and spending my money here." He then waved his hand in a sweeping manner and yelled, "Get Out, and don't come back here"
I then exited the door, to avoid any further confrontation and humiliation.

It is extremely unprofessional, and humiliating to be treated this way in a reputable establishment. I have never experienced such rudeness, and to be told not to come back to an establishment because of questioning discriminatory practices.

Subway is known for a reputation with kind and professional service. I regularly visit the Subway locations and has always been treated with professionalism. I along with my co-worker 360 plus, employees visit Subway almost every day for lunch. The staff there are always courteous, quick, clean, and professional. (Moreland Avenue - next to Aldi and CVS)

I have never in my life been put out of an establishment. when I chose not to buy the sandwich, after he chose to disregard me as a paying customer, by stopping in the middle of my order, and servicing the white male customer, which came in after me. Then, after checking him out, with the same gloves, he proceeded to complete my sandwich.

This type of practice is no longer acceptable in the US, and there must be some type of corrective action taken when an establishment chooses to attempt to keep it alive.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Service, Scams and Lies, Many Disappointments
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Every time our family goes to Subway, we would always have problems with the service or the food, whether it was burnt bread, the complete opposite of what we ordered, bad employee tempers, or even SCAMS.

A while back when we went, they tried pestering us to eat the burnt bread since they "spent so much time and put so much effort into it." We would politely ask for a new one, because there was no way that we would pay for burnt food. The employee serving us got mad and started to raise his voice. He claims that he was very busy that there was a long line behind us, but when I looked back, there was no one in that line except for us... He started to yell louder and louder and we had to go out of the store since he looked like he was about to throw punches.

Another time was when we wanted to order everything EXCEPT for the spicy toppings, since we weren't used to it. They said okay, and started to put EVERYTHING on it, including the spicy toppings, and made a big fuss over it.

One time, we were short on cash, and we didn't really have enough money. The employee didn't tell us the price, since he didn't type it into the cashier machine yet. All he said was that our order costs more than $18, and we only had $15. He said that "it's alright. We'll just take the money. Thank you, good-bye." It was strange that he would be nice and give us $3 off. We were in a rush and we thought we were lucky, that is, until we got home. We recalculated and it turns out that the meal was supposed to cost under $13, a price that we could afford. The amount of money that we lost, the $2 or so, did not matter much, but the employee lied to us about the price.

A few days ago, on Saturday, May 4, 2013, we were once again in a rush since it was near closing time. The food was expensive in Baltimore, and we weren't used to being there. We went in Subway and they ran out of basically everything. We still took our orders, and the employees were somewhat nice. They just didn't understand us and did the subs their own way. There was nothing left for me to order, except for teriyaki, and when it came out of the oven, they asked what toppings I would like. I said that I wanted "everything EXCEPT spicy," and they interrupted me and ignored me by talking with the other employees. When they were finished talking to each other, all they put on the sub was tomatoes that were not ripened as I had hoped.

They also asked me about any dressing I liked. Whenever I wanted to ask them nicely about adding more of the toppings, they would act like they were not paying attention, being too busy making my sub. I did not lose my temper or mind unlike some of the previous employees; I am very patient. Anyway, they already stored all the dressings away so I asked what kind of dressing they had.

Once again, they did NOT even reply, and they started to put a variety of dressings on my sub. When they were done, I asked what dressings they were, because I was pretty sure I didn't order any dressings on my sub yet. They said it was "Teriyaki Dressing" and that it was actually called "Sweet Onion Dressing." I wanted to complain that I didn't ask them to put sweet onion dressing on my food, since I did not like sweet onions at all, or even sweet onions on teriyaki. My parents told me that it was fine and how I should not complain. I decided not to complain, since the employee was very happy and smiling. After I paid for my sub, I started to eat it and it tasted very awful. It was sweet, but it tasted weird. I started to feel sick and my parents tried it and they hated it as well. That night, we had major stomachache and we felt very sick.

I don't know how the management could be so poor in the customer service and the food. I do not plan ongoing to Subway anymore. I have been very patient all this time, but the service amnd food did not improve, but instead, it is getting worse every-time we visit.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rude Manager Sets Precedent for Rude Employees
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DEERFIELD BEACH, FLORIDA -- On December 29, 2012, I visited one of your establishments at 50 SE 20th Avenue in Deerfield Beach, Florida, at approximately 3:10 P.M. I ordered a double chicken salad. Once I sat down, I discovered the chicken had been warmed up, which melted the cheese, and there was too much salad dressing for my liking. So, I approached the cash register where I told the gentleman the issues and that the salad would have to be remade.

He didn't even address me and turned immediately to the girl next to him making subs and told her the situation. She then told the girl who made the salad at which point I heard, “She didn't tell me she didn't want the chicken warmed up.” My first question to you is, why do I need to tell her? Shouldn't she be asking the customer their preference in the first place?

The manager of this location, whose name I cannot reveal, as he would not divulge this information, so for all intents and purposes, he will be named “Bob”, heard the commotion and asked what the issue was, addressing me in a very unfavorable manner. He completely dismissed the issue at hand and simply stated, “This is a Subway policy and the chicken has to leave our hands to the customer hot”. How this pertains to having the salad remade, I'm not quite sure.

Bob then turned away and continued making incoming customers' subs. After a few minutes of being ignored, I spoke up and asked the cashier if they were planning on remaking the salad or to just ignore me, their customer, all day. Bob began a shouting match with me, telling me that he told me to wait while they served other customers and said to me, “You're a rude person and I don't deal with rude people. I told you to wait, so why don't you go home and get some training on how to be nice.” This was quite hurtful and disappointing to hear.

As someone who worked in the service industry for more than a decade, I'm sure you know as well as I that you never talk to a customer or client like that, even if they are in the wrong. His job was to defuse the situation and fix the issue. All he had to say to calm the situation down was, “Sorry about that. We'll get your salad remade once we clear up this line of other customers.” It would have been that simple, but he continued to belittle me and behave condescendingly in front of the other patrons by first offering me a refund and then refusing to give me a refund stating that he does not “take commands from rude people or give refunds to rude people”. Bob got so frustrated that he threw out my salad and even told me leave.

He then ignored me, even after I asked, “Are you giving me a refund or are you remaking my salad?” He said NOTHING and continued to cash out other customers UNTIL he found out my boyfriend was recording the situation on his smartphone, a video I would be more than happy to share if you would like a copy. Only THEN did he give me back my money and even said, “Thank you”.

I am completely shocked at the way this manager handled the situation. When a customer comes to you with a problem, regardless of their demeanor or attitude, your job as a manager and a leader is to be objective and to help the customer. I am told by this manager that I need training to be less rude, so after hearing (and potentially viewing) what transpired, what, in your opinion, would this manager need? I am absolutely disgusted with this situation; I have never been spoken to like that, thrown out of a restaurant, and embarrasssed like this. This was completely the wrong way to deal with a customer.

If someone has an issue with a product you are offering, does this entitle them to speak to a customer like this? I can only imagine the repercussion this had on the customers around us as well as his staff. Every other customer in the restaurant was looking at us with their jaws dropped. If this is the poor attitude Bob portrays on how he handles this type of situation, his employees will only learn this destructive behaviour. If you are looking to hire motivated people, as your website states, you definitely have a manager working at this location who is motivated to lose customers, which is no way for a leader to act.

I've always been satisfied with the service and food at Subway, but after this interaction, please be assured that I will be retracting my future patronage from any Subway restaurants, as this experience has understandably turned me off. After weeks of contact with head office, I finally heard back from the district manager who sent me a one-line email stating that he was sorry and welcomed me back at any time. This less-than-acceptable reply prompted me to email him back and ask for a better resolution and he never answered both emails I sent him. I finally had head office contact the owner who supposedly said the employee was laid off for a week and retrained and that I was invited back for a free meal. Being from Canada, I can't imagine how I would take advantage of this offer, but the owner and head office never answered me on that either. That's some award-winning customer service!
     
Replies
Another Employee and His View
Posted by on
ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- This is going to be another long one, written by another Subway employee who agrees with the previous review. However, I will be mending the previous review just a bit and adding my own complaints against the customers.

1. Know what you're ordering. There are several signs up and available for the customer's education at the beginning of the line at every Subway. I say "every Subway" because every Subway is exactly the same, aside from minor differences. Y'know those panels that show are menu and the order they are in? The same in California as they are here in Missouri (except for the opitional one). Anyway, the prime example in this complain is cheese. At my location there are five cheese. White American, Provolone, Pepperjack, Shredded Monterey Cheddar and Mozzarela. We do not have Swiss, and all of our cheeses are white. There is also a sign, conveniently blocking the cheeses that shows what kind we have. Do not say "the white cheese", or "provel" (Provolone and Provel are different, believe me. Provel was created in St. Louis.)

2. Lists. Holy crap, don't bring in a list of sandwiches in the middle of a lunch or dinner rush. That's completely rude to the people working and the other customers behind you. If I have to make you nine footlongs, and there are nine people behind you with one footlong order a piece, then it's taking me twice as long to get the customers out of the store and get on with the rest of my job. If you need that many sandwiches, call in early. We will be more than happy to make the sandwiches during a slow time that while we're getting swamped.

3. Call-ins. Like I said above, call in during slow times. Y'know, not lunch or dinner time, and give me your order. We don't mind, really. However, don't expect us to answer the phone when we have a line to the door and write down your entire order, try to make it around the other employees, and have it ready in ten minutes - it's not going to happen.

4. Keep your kids in line! We are employees of Subway, most of which get paid minimum wage and don't want to babysit! I literally had a mother watch her children tear apart the soda area, and throw straws at me. I refused her service, had a complain filed against me, lied about, and she was given free stuff. I was a given a free write-up. Thanks!

5. Don't get mad at me for anything out of my control. The commercials and advertisements clearly state that "Premium and Double-stacked Subs are not included in the $5 Footlongs", yet people still get mad when I tell them (at the meat section) that they are excluded. My fault? Not at all. Blame Subway. It's not as if I'm waiting until they pay in order to tell them this information. I tell them before they order the sandwich, so hold your anger in or you will be treated like you're stupid - I promise.

6. We do things according to Subway standards or else we get fired. True, each employee has their own little thing they do (for me, I put more than six olives on every sandwich). Why? Because most of us understand and know that customers want things a little different. If you expect me to put a handful of green peppers on your sandwich, I'm not going to. Only six are supposed to be on a footlong. If you request more, I will put more on there. Coupons! Believe it, or not, but Subway puts coupons out and doesn't tell the franchise owners. I'm a manager, I know this. We have coupons on the computer, but most of the time we have to wing it and do price-overrides or corrections. It may take a little longer, but I promise you, we are doing everything in our power to provide the best service possible.

7. Don't come in after close. Ugh! If we close at the nine, then that's it. Don't come in and expect to be treated nicely or even served. I have turned down customers for coming in late. The hours are clearly posted and we have a GIANT neon light in our window proclaiming are open status. Also, don't get mad at us if the door is long. Knocking will not get you anywhere. Oh! And if we do open the door when you knock because it's locked don't ask if we're open - it's pretty obvious.

8. Last, don't lie. We keep track of any messed-up orders and know when people are due for a sandwich (which is rare because Subway mandates that no free food should be given out under any circumstances regardless of severity and that the custom must contact the owner in order to receive a coupon which can then be redeemed at the same store of service). I had a guy come in about a month ago, order four footlong feasts and try to get them free. One of my employees called me and I was forced to come up and explain to the guy that I was the only male manager on duty on Saturday between the hours of 8 A.M. and 4 P.M. (he tried to tell me he called in about it at noon, when we don't answer the phone, and talked to a male manager - me). He asked me if I was calling him a liar and I said yes. I gave him the corporate complaint hotline number and never received a complaint from him.

The point is, nobody wants to work at Subway, and we are in fact human beings. I understand it is frustrating to be treated poorly, but really... we also feel the same way. We don't like being treated like trash, the same as you. So, get over it, come in, order and leave so that we can do our jobs.
     
Replies
Ripoff Of Money
Posted by on
First of all, let me tell you a little about me! I'm a Over-the-Road Truckdriver I don't make a lot of money and have to live on a budget while on the road. That is why I used to eat at Subway! I don't anymore, and let me tell you why! I stopped at the Subway in the Pilot Truck-Stop in Clear Lake Ia. on 07/07/2010 at 8:00 pm and ordered a Foot Long Tunafish on White with Extra cheese, Price was 5.99. I gave the clerk a 20.00 dollar bill to which the clerk gave me change for a 10.00 dollar bill (4.01). When I called the clerk on his mistake, he said I only gave him a Ten (10.00). A argument ensued the bottom line is he gave me the managers phone number, who I called immediately and left a message! The Manager called me back the next day and said that indeed the clerk had made a mistake and when counting out the register they found my Ten (10.00) dollars. She said she would send me my Ten (10.00) dollars, so I gave her my address.

After two weeks I called her back and told her I hadn't received my money yet! She said she would resend the money, it is now 09/10/2010 and have yet to receive my money. This is why I will never eat at Subway ever again!!!!!
     
Replies
A few tips to get you thru your service...
Posted by on
I have been a Subway employee for over a year now. I am prior service military and very good at what I do. I have regular customers that come in to my store everyday and enjoy their sandwich but I must say all these complaints I am reading make me laugh. Some of you speak about the employees like weare dogs. I am not saying that everyone is perfect but this is a shame.

1.When you come in to the store I am required to greet you within 3 seconds. This is not an option for me. So when I take the time to say Welcome to Subway or hey how are you. Be respectful and say hello. Don't just come up to the counter and say I WANT A... I was taught manners and I am sure that at some point you have run across them as well.

2. Your homegirl can wait five seconds for you to order a sub. I had a lady one time tell me "excuse me I'm talking" when I asked her what kind of cheese she wanted on her sub. I didn't come to your car and ask you what you wanted, you came in to me and stepped up to my line. I had a no cell phone sign on my line. Corporate made me take it down. But when it was still up some of you would read it to your friend on the phone. This is a made to order sandwich. I need your full attention. When you ask me for something on your sub paying half attention and I put it on there don't scream at me because you asked for it. And if I were to pull out my phone while making your sub you might get offended because I am not doing my job properly.

3. If you speak to me like I'm a dog, my customer service will lack at some point. I don't come to your work and be completely rude to you and ask for you to take it. I'm human and I expect to be treated with respect. Everyone has a bad day. I'll try and make it better if you don't treat me like gum stuck to your shoe.

4. If you want extra veggies... ASK! It is free of charge. Subway says I am to put 6 olives on your footlong. If you ask for more I can put more. It is much easier for me to put more on than it is for me to take it off. This stands for dressing as well. Without throwing away product I cannot take it off. Ask and you shall receive.

5. Bashing employees... Believe it or not what we do is based on what our higher power tells us to do. We are not incompetent. However when a manager is standing over my shoulder I am not willing to lose my job. Just as you are to your job. My job pays my bills.

6. During tax season when we do our special buy one get one don't ask me why we are out of bread. We are able to bake 24 pieces of bread at a time. Do the math. When I have a line hanging out my door it is impossible for me to keep bread flowing. And if I bake before the day youll complain it is hard. Come on now. The person who designed this is a guy sitting at a desk somewhere who has never made a sub in his life. Don't get mad at me for trying to carry out his wishes.

7. Everyone has something that is not so great about their job. We are not all in food but I had plenty of complaints about the military as well. Be civil to me and I shall be civil to you.

8. Please read the menu before asking me where the $5.00 subs are. They are right in front of you. The don't tell me what my menu says. Turkey is not a 5 dollar sub no matter how many times you tell me it is. If you read the menu while making your selection this saves you and I the argument at the register when you tell me No turkey is 5.00. I then have to go back to the sign and show you.

I love a lot of my customers but I have had some really unreasonable requests in my time. My job is not what keeps me coming back to work. It is the people that I share a bond with. I do not enjoy the behind the scenes work of scrubbing on my hands and knees because Subway says our stores are to be immaculate at all times. I have customers that tell me how clean my store is. They see how hard my coworkers and I try to keep up. I have customers tell me all the timehow clean my store is. You just have to find the right one and stick with it. We will take care of you if you take care of us!!!
     
Replies
Disgusting behavior and service
Posted by on
BARRIE -- My staff and I spend (or rather spent after this) hundreds of dollars a month at Subway. At its peak, we were spending $150 a week. We're not casual consumers. My office is right above the Subway. It's convenient.

Every day I would order the same thing, steak and cheese on Parmesan. Three times I ordered a "six inch". Each time the bread was stale. The third time, I'd had enough. The so-called "artist" had made a flat, stale, squishy, soggy mess and thrown it in a bag. Disgusted, I brought it back into the store and asked for a replacement. I told them I would be back, as I was running very late.

When I returned, the "manager" (in title only) was there to greet me. She proceeded to bash me, say there was nothing wrong with the ooze that was leaking all over her counter. She started bashing me for "hurting the feelings" of these so-called "artists" who were standing behind her primping themselves and acting like Cinderella's step sisters.

She then proceeded to literally throw my money back at me and said they would not make another sandwich. I then left.

This is where I made a dumb mistake. I called Subway to complain. They filled me full of empty promises, promised a response within three days, etc.

I went back that night, in my uniform, as I was now very hungry. There was a lineup of people ahead of me, so I just stood there quietly. This old lady working there saw me standing there and proceeded to bash me, to humiliate me, to practically yell at me, insult me then told me anyone who called head office wasn't welcome back at their store and told me that if I wanted a sub, that I'd have to "shut up, don't give us any trouble, take your food and leave". That, regrettably, is a direct quote.

I left, feeling disgraced for wanting a decent, edible sandwich.

Now, before I go on, let's remember that these so-called "sandwich artists" are posting on this site, telling us how to behave, how to order, how to conduct our personal lives, how to park, what we will or won't say, how we will read, etc.

We know, then, that obviously they're discontent. They're not happy with their jobs. They defend their horrible actions by blaming their moods on their customers. So it's not hard to envision what I'm typing here, bearing in mind the crabby, minimum wage puppets on the other side of the counter.

Anyway, I was promised a call. Well, as I have an office in the same building I know the landlord very well. I called him. He gave me the owner's cell phone number. I called a couple of times and got to have a pleasant monologue with the voicemail. That's as far as it ever got.

A month goes by. I contact Subway and told them I'd had no response, no contact of any sort and no resolution to the problem. A very pleasant lady said I'd hear back in three days. Never happened.

So, I gave up. For months I didn't go back to that store, watching the staff change over half a dozen times in that period. In that period, my assistant would go down and get me a sub. What can I say, it's convenient.

No problems to speak of. The crappy food syndrome had somehow been remedied, much to my satisfaction. Today I decided to go myself, as my assistant had the day off. It was completely uneventful. The same manager as before was there, walking out of the back as I paid the young, very friendly lady who was serving me.

"all is well" I thought. OK, who was I kidding. One of my staff went down for lunch after I did. He comes back up and says "the manager stopped me. She recognized me from working here. She told me to tell you that you're not welcome back because of an incident that happened several months ago".

I have a serious problem with this. Several, actually. First, my employee should never have been brought into this. Second, she had every opportunity to tell me directly, as she was standing right there as I paid. She sure seemed content to take my money. Third, punitive measures should not be imposed against a regular customer that was treated rudely, with disrespect, denegrated in front of numerous patrons and yet STILL desired to do business with them.

They have 72 hours to come up with a resolution, or this goes to the press. Fortunately I spend a ton of money in advertising with the press, so I have no worries about them listening to me.

This is a time of recession. Terrible food and terrible service, no matter what price point, should not be rewarded. The consumer should not be punished. The business should be punished. Recessions weed out terrible companies with terrible service. Bad press exposure can escalate this.

When I read these so-called "artists" moaning and groaning about how hard done by they are, I think about how much harder done by they would be if we just stopped doing business with them. No business, no money, no job.

This is what they deserve. The public is speaking. The reviews are clear. If you don't learn from history, you're doomed to repeat it. Subways rating on this site is tanking. We, as consumers need to stand up and say "we're not rewarding your absolutely crap sandwiches and even worse service anymore.

By the way, Quiznos, as I found out after this incident, absolutely spanks your product silly.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >