Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
20 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
303 Peachtree Center Avenue
Atlanta, GA 30303
1-877-930-8971 (ph)
Compare Banks
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Suntrust Steals and Lies
By -

CHESTER MD -- To Whom it may concern: Suntrust Bank has now over the course of just 30 days STOLEN over 828.00 of my monies from "€œoverdraft"€ fees. They (Suntrust) have charged my family an atrocious amount of money for 1-3 hours.. YES HOURS of shortage in my account. Some of these transactions were processed at the same time!!! Suntrust ALSO puts in largest amount charged in so they can receive their "€œoverdraft" fees for the numerous small charges increasing the amount of monies the consumer (me and my family) have to pay. I had an overdraft protection loan which they CANCELLED even though I was never late or overdue on a payment to the loan.

I'm sorry I'€™m not a Rockefeller. Now being that I am a retired police officer on disability from an injury sustained on duty, receiving only a pittance of retirement each month. I am not able to find employment due to the state of the economy, partly due to our banking systems (SUNTRUST). I am struggling to play catch up for this 828.00 in fees. Last year Suntrust received 2400.00 in "€œoverdraft" fees from me. I have pleaded with them to stop cashing and clearing automatic payments to my creditors if the funds were not available. But no - they (Suntrust) wants their 35.00 payments on a 3.30 ATM charge for a little gas to pick my daughter up from school.

Can I also point out that 828.00 is half - HALF of my monthly income and I have a daughter to provide for. Am I ALONE to be responsible for getting Suntrust out of its debt to the government??? ARE YOU??? Why should the consumer be charged these ridiculous fee€™s to bail out these banking systems. Why is it always the little people that suffer??? I say put these THIEVES out of business. They will get the idea if everyone leaves. I now have 30 people who are going to switch - just my friends and family alone. See, there is something to be said about loyalty.

The charges I incurred on 3/22/10 $360.00 and 4/8/10 $288.00 were processed within minutes of the funds being available. Some of the 35.00 fees I am being charged for are still PENDING!!!!!!! Now I have bills that will not get paid, groceries that will not get bought and more "€œoverdraft"€ fees to come because of the overdraft fee€™s, all so some corporate executive can take a million dollar vacation and bonus on my dime. I have tried talking to Suntrust. I have tried reasoning, negotiating, they are unwilling to assist me in any way. The largest dollar amount goes in first and it doesn'€™t matter that a charge and deposit went in at the same time. I'M SCREWED.

This is illegal. What IS the interest for less than 1 hour on a $2 charge???? To the honest and respectable senators and politician please assist us, your people, your consumers. To the consumers, please leave Suntrust. Thieves.

4.5 Billion In Bailout... Still Not Help Those Who Need It
By -

Back in May of 2008 I was injured on the job. I was on an approved Short Term Disability when my supervisor demanded to return to work regardless of illness. Upon failing to do so I was wrongfully terminated. With the help of my doctors, we filed the claim to the state and were awarded disability, at the cost of my employer.

In December of 2008, we had exhausted every avenue of money. We fell behind on our mortgage account with SunTrust Mortgage. We love our home. We want to raise our family here. I requested several times to help us modify our loan. I was told by your company “We do not make enough money to stay in our home.” Even though my husband's income is over 100,000 per year.

Upon winning my case, I began to receive my disability checks. Being on disability is less than 50% of what my income was while I was working. I again requested a loan modification. I was told in order to stop foreclosure we must pay the attorney fees. We therefore immediately sent the $3,000 you requested for payment of attorney fees. The first option your company tried was a repayment plan. Seeing as our over all income has dropped by 30-40%. We could not afford a repayment plan.

I requested a loan modification in hopes of SunTrust Mortgage understanding our unique situation. I am still disabled, we have an infant and we are still under a financial hardship. I have called your company everyday since being told we do qualify for a loan modification. I have spoken with ** and everyone else in that department multiple times to find out the status of the loan modification. We finally heard back last week in respect to the loan modification. To my surprise, our payments did NOT go down. In fact they have INCREASED! I was expecting a drop in loan payments, considering the drop in interest rates.

** (Loan Modification Specialist) told us "Well you guys can afford it!!!!” ** informed me our interest rate will be 7%. I asked why our interest rate can not be reduce she said "It's clear you can afford the higher payment." Is this not a repayment plan? I pleaded with ** to reduce the interest rate to 5%. The difference in payment is over 1,000/month. I expressed our current income and situation, this still leaves us living paycheck to paycheck. In the event something were to happen to either of our incomes **'s responded by stating "Well then we will have to start the process all over again."

Pardon the sarcasm... but the first time we went though this YOU WOULD NOT HELP US!! Your company on the other hand, has received more than 4.8 BILLION in bail out money. The whole point in our request for a loan modification with Suntrust Mortgage was to work together in a payment plan allowing us to stay in our home. Instead it has resulted with an increase to our monthly finances at a time when our payments truly need to be reduced. Given the current rates is approximately 4-5% a loan modification process resulting in a 7% interest rate really seems to be taking advantage of our situation.

Is this how you help your customers? By denying them the lowest rate possible? Is this doing what is best for your client instead of your profit? Is this what President Obama had in mind when he gave you money? Honestly, my husband is working as hard as he can. We want to keep our home. We want to raise our family here. However, we can not believe you and your company are willing to keep us under a financial hardship for the sake of your profits! And this is your answer of help? “You can afford it!”

Beware of Suntrust Mortgage
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- If you ever fall on hard times or have a financial hardship, Suntrust is unwilling to work with you at all! I was going through a divorce and fell behind on my mortgage (by about 2 months). I almost immediately started getting letters regarding foreclosure proceedings from them. I called them to do a loan modification or try to work out some sort of payment arrangement. They said there was nothing they could do. As a result to save my home, and to have some stability for me and my daughter, I filed Chp 13 bankruptcy (in May 2008) in order to stay in the house.

I'm having so much trouble to this day getting discharged from the bankruptcy because they keep saying I owe them more money (anything from arrears to late fees or whatever). I have a 1st and 2nd mortgage with them. Suntrust claims somewhere in 2010 or so my mortgage payment(s) went up. Instead of them notifying the trustee (since that's who they're receiving payment from) of the increase at the time, they said nothing. Once it came up about my case getting discharged or near completion, they proceeded to bring up all the money they claim I owe from the years prior. I was infuriated!

As a result of this, they claimed there was a problem with the 2nd mortgage. I finally got that cleared up (which took months), now they're saying there's an issue with the 1st mortgage. The Chp 13 plan is supposed to last 5 years, but I'm entering 6 years now thanks to Suntrust. What adds salt to a already painful wound is I always paid them on time prior to my divorce situation. They don't consider anything about your circumstances or your previous good paying history. They're greedy and just want more money! DO NOT deal with Suntrust Mortgage! Never shall I recommend them to anyone and will do my best to refinance when I can.

Don't Trust Suntrust - Never Finance Anything With Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- I financed a truck with Suntrust in 2009 and was laid off from my job not long after that. After exhausting all my savings, retirement and all other monies I could come up with, I found myself unable to make my payments. After trying several times over a two-month period I worked out a re-payment plan with them. I was one day late on my first re-payment because a check I was expecting did not arrive in the mail on time. The next day my check came in and I call Suntrust to let them know that I was on the way to a branch to make a payment, they informed me that my truck was already up for re-possession and no way to stop it.

I proceeded to take my truck to a local Suntrust branch and turn it in to them. I know that people should make their payments but in some cases it's unavoidable. After the truck was gone I quickly had to close a business I was trying to start. Since then, the truck was sold and as you might expect they billed me for the deficiency, over $9000.00. If I had that kind of money I would have made my payments. Not long after that they hired a slime ball attorney to harass us and now trying to get a judgment so they can garnish my bank accounts.

I think they are the lowest of the low to take what little I have left when I can barely feed my family. They have never tried to work out a settlement with me, it's all or we will destroy you financially. If they succeed in a bank garnishment we will lose our home. After three years of financial hardship it would take anyone a long time to recover, now a lawsuit will destroy us financially. THANKS SUNTRUST!!!!!!!!! Moral of the story: DON'T EVER FINANCE ANYTHING THROUGH SUNTRUST.

Suntrust Mortgage Loan Modification - FRUSTRATING CIRCUS
By -

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- I bought the condo in December 2008. I got the $7500.00 tax credit for being a first time homebuyer. Since I bought in 2008, I have to pay the tax credit back to the government. However, people who bought homes in 2009 don't have to pay their tax credit back. Unfair!

May 1, 2010, I received a letter from my employer stating they were sending our jobs to India and we were getting laid off June 30, 2010. I immediately called SunTrust to see what my options were if I lose my income. I am single so that was my only income. I ak for a loan modification. SunTrust told me they couldn't help me because I was current on my loan. I am thinking this is wrong. One would think they would want to work with me if I was a good customer and current on my loan. I told them I had excellent credit and I didn't want to ruin it. I told them I was willing to work with them if they could give me a modification and losing my income should qualify me.

They said they couldn't help me unless I was 2 months delinquent on my loan. They told me to send proof I was getting laid off. I faxed the letter 3 times and emailed it once and they kept claiming they never received it. It takes 3-4 weeks to get in their system. REALLY!!! 5/10, 5/17 Twice, 5/19, 5/28, 6/7 called 3 times - there were other times I forgot to record because I was getting frustrated.

June 30, 2010 I got laid off. I called SunTrust again and told them I was officially laid off. I lost my only income. I ask if I could get a loan modification. They gave me the same BS answer. They couldn't help me because I was current on my loan. I told them I didn't want to ruin my credit and I was getting to the point I wouldn't be able to afford it anymore. They ask for copies of the layoff letter and monthly bill info. I sent it to them and of course they claimed 3 times they never received it.

Finally, after several weeks they got my layoff letter. But they said they still couldn't help me because I was current. They said even if I was 2 months delinquent on my payments they still couldn't guarantee a loan modification. So I decided to stop paying my mortgage. I finally got their attention. Nov. 15,2010, I received a letter from ** stating if I pay $200.00 in Dec, Jan and Feb I might be considered for a loan modification. And if I had questions to call her at the number on the letter. I had questions so I called and left a message on **'s voicemail - no response back.

I waited 2 days still no response. I called and left 8-9 messages on **'s voicemail telling her I had questions about the letter she sent and would she PLEASE call me back. These are the dates I called her: 11/22 left message ** - no response, 11/23 left message for ** - no response, 11/26 left message for ** - no response, 11/30 left message for ** - no response, 12/1 left message for ** - no response. 12/2 called ** one last time. Got voicemail.

By this time it was tooo late to abide by the demands in the letter she sent. So I called the 800 number talked to **. She still was no help. So I told her I was going to put my home up for short sale. ** said "OK, I'll send you the paperwork" like she was excited I was losing my home. She didn't even try to talk me out of it or work with me. She said I had 90 days to sell it then I could do a "deed in lieu of foreclosure". 12/10 called ** again still no answer I just hung up. To this day she hasn't responded to any of my phone messages.

I figured I had til March to complete a short sell but today 2-13-2011 I checked my credit report and SunTrust has on my credit report that they already have a foreclosure in progress. SHOCK! No email, no letter, no phone call to tell me they were going ahead with a foreclosure. I ask ** if I was going to be liable for the difference in the loan a short sale. She said she didn't know it was up to FHA. A person can't seem to get a straight answer from anyone at SunTrust. I sold all my furniture. I have no health insurance. I am losing my home.

The government really needs to crack down on these mortgage companies and force them to work with people who are willing to work with them. People like me are losing their homes when they don't need to be. Mortgage company are forcing people to ruin their credit in order to get a loan modification, I felt losing my job could have qualified me from the start with no questions.

Where is the government? What is happening to our economy? Good job Obama!!! My job went to India - you were supposed to stop outsourcing to other countries. The mortgage companies are forcing people to ruin their credit and lose their homes and you do NOTHING! I was a good person with a good job, good credit and owned a home. Now I am jobless, bad credit and homeless. GOVERNMENT... DO SOMETHING for God's sake before this country ends in a severe depression!

I HAVE NO FAITH IN THE GOVERNMENT ANYMORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Good job..... OBAMA!! Step in and force these banks to work with the hard working, tax paying citizens of THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA!!!

Suntrust Auto Loan Department A Joke
By -

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- I have had an auto loan with Suntrust, who I also bank with. I have to say my banking experience has been great but the auto loan has been a nightmare. After a year of pristine payment history, we hit a rough spot and needed to make a payment arrangement. We were granted a pass on our next payment which would be applied to the end of our loan. We thought all was well until we started to get collection calls saying our payment was past due. We explained several times that we had an arrangement and jumped through hoop after hoop to ensure the payment arrangement was recorded and processed, each time being assured it was taken care of.

This went on for three months which in the mean time we incurred late fees on this payment that was "late", and late fees on subsequent months because when we would pay the following month, they applied it to the previous month due to their records still showing us as behind. It took months to get this all rectified and I am not so sure that it hasn't hurt my credit rating. It was a nightmare. We were lied to by representatives on the phone who said they were taking a payment by phone and didn't do anything, leaving us without a clue that no payment was made until we got collection calls.

I've processed payments on line that don't go through despite the fact that they appear to, and I don't know it until the next month when I get a late fee and show that I owe two months. I'm at a point where I'm ready to let the car go back in order not to have to deal with this company. They make it difficult to make payments and the representatives lie and deceive you just to get you off the phone. I would not recommend using Suntrust for any loan services!

Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RICHMOND, VIRGINIA -- Absolutely horrible customer service if you're not an account holder. I am NOT an account holder at SunTrust, but went by the branch at 1801 W. Broad Street Richmond VA 23220 to cash a check drawn on a SunTrust business checking account. After presenting my endorsed check and ID and speaking with two different tellers via CCTV in the drive-through lane, I was told that I must come inside to cash the check, even though there were no cars/customers in either drive through line except for me.

Treat someone like a criminal and you can be sure they will never do business with you. I absolutely hate this bank and will never, ever have a mortgage, checking, savings or car loan with SunTrust.

Suntrust - Stealing Money From Accounts
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 2/51

DULUTH, GEORGIA -- Suntrust is guilty of 'transaction ordering', meaning the bank is moving transactions to cause an overdraft condition and charge $36 for every debit that they can get away with. Suntrust is relying on ignorant and lazy customers who do not care about $36 and customers who are not watching their accounts closely and even if you are watching the account you can see the bank move the transactions and then ROB YOU! What else needs to be said? All banks and credit unions are guilty of this crime. We have to put an end to it!

DO NOT ACCEPT OVERDRAFT PROTECTION! The banks make it sound as if they are doing us a favor - "you have opt in to overdraft protection or you won't get it". This is an offer to steal our money!

Sun Trust Ripoff
By -

When I got a mortgage with SunTrust they opened an account in my name and deposited $100 in it. Some months ago they started charging me a fee every month for the account, even though I have never used it. In order to avoid a situation where I would end up owing them money, I called to ask them to close the account. It had only a $2 balance at this point. I was told I would either have to go to the Suntrust office in person (during office hours when I work thus requiring me to take time off from work) or to send a letter asking to close the account. However, if I sent a letter I would be charged another fee.

After having to insist on talking to a supervisor, I was told they would change the type of account to one that does not charge a fee and that I could send a letter to close the account. However, the fee to be charged would then be the total balance of the account. After all the hassle of dealing with this I did not care if they charged me $2, but I felt this whole system was rather a deceptive one and should be stopped. What if I hadn't noticed this until I got into a negative balance with them? This would hurt my credit record, not to mention giving them endless fee income.

When you first get the account it looks like a benefit, but you end up paying them and potentially falling in debt to them due to the fees they charge. This deceptive practice by SunTrust - whereby they open accounts when a person gets a mortgage and then charge monthly fees to that account - needs to be stopped. At least the fees they charge should never be allowed to be greater than the amount of the account they originally open.

In addition, SunTrust should be required to provide better information to consumers on this deceptive practice. I know it won't happen but the best solution would be to fine them and require them to reimburse the fees to everyone they have done this to.

Outraged!!! Banks Are Making Profits Off Consumers
By -

CONYERS, GEORGIA -- This bank is awful when it comes to overdraft fees. When I checked my account I noticed it was going to overdraw due to the lacking of $40. I went and deposited the money around 6 P.M. Of course the next day I had a substantial amount of overdraft fees. Things that had been accounted for was no longer covered. When I notified them they said that they pay the largest amount first as with any bank. My response was this is my money and whatever I have coming out take it out at the time that I pay it. The representative said it does not work that way and there was nothing she could do. I spoke to the manager and got the same response.

I have direct deposit at this bank and my paycheck was due to go in the following Friday. I was charged an extra $35 for extended overdraft fees. Mind you all the other things I had been paid so on that day they decided to put everything through that particular day. The manager said I was too late in depositing the $40 and you need to deposit by 12 noon. First of all people work and this is unrealistic to get your banking done by 12 noon. I was outraged and got nowhere with them. They got my paycheck for $274 dollars for $40 dollars.

I am now taking my money out and doing away with a bank. I still need the bank to pay bills as most bills have gone over to paying by bank account but once I get paid I'm withdrawing everything out except the bill money. Come on I thought that's what debit was for and we did away with check writing because they took too long to clear. I am very upset with this matter at this bank and all banks across the board. The government need to step in and help the consumers from this type of behavior.

Top of Page | Next Page >