LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- We arrived at the motel. The outside of building was dirty, the lobby carpet run down and a really bad odor in the air. The room was on the 3rd floor. On the way up, there were terrible odors in the hall. We reaced the room and opened door and wanted to run! The beds were rumpled, desk drawer broken and sitting on top of desk, no towels or washcloths, sunglasses from someone was left on the counter, the bathroom was dirty (commode not even flushed), there was mold and a terrible smell in the refrigerator.
It was hard to see what was outside because the windows probably had original fingerprints from installation! We never set our stuff down. We went back to the lobby for a refund because we couldn't stay there! When we told the desk person about it she stated maybe the room hadn't been prepared for check-in....check-in time is 3pm, this occurred at 6:30 pm. When we left a fly even got out in front of us! He couldn't take it! A real dump!
ANDERSON, INDIANA -- Went to Anderson, Indiana for an overnight getaway. Have previously stayed at this motel and checked in about 11 am. Was given a room, dropped our bags in room and left to eat lunch. I recently had surgery and wasn't feeling well. We decided to return home and asked manager to cancel our rooms since we hadn't used them. Told him I was ill and had to leave and he stated that we only had 10 minutes after we checked in to cancel the room.
After some discussion he refused to do anything about refunding our money and we left. Rest assured I will never stay in a Super 8 in the future. Guess he was more interested in keeping our money than helping. Super 8 isn't so super after all.
MOUNTAIN HOME, ARKANSAS -- When I checked in, it took a little while for the clerk to come to the desk to help me. I checked in for 4 nights. I paid him and
then he wouldn't give me my change. He said he would give it back after I checked out because I might steal his towels. Upon entering the building to go to my room, the building overwhelmed me with cigarette smoke smell. When entering the room, I found blood on one of the pillows. I pulled back the covers and there was blood on two of the pillows and on the top sheet. The bathroom was dirty as well. This was the most disgusting room I have ever been in.
MARIANNA, FLORIDA -- I recently stayed at the Super 8 Motel in Marianna, Florida. It was by far the worst motel experience in my life. The room was filthy with bugs EVERYWHERE.
When I advised the owner, she offered to move me to the room next door. If one room has an insect infestation, the room next door won`t be any different.
The owner's husband claimed they had never had a complaint as long as they had been there. Find that one hard to believe. Then he starts screaming at me, the customer. As his wife tried to get him to shut up and leave the room. She begged me not to contact anyone.
I would have gone elsewhere but I had pre-arranged an overnight delivery to the motel. Do NOT stay there, my entire body has very itchy insect bites.
I am so concerned that I will not take my clothes or luggage into my house without first washing everything in hot water.
DURANT, MISSISSIPPI -- I am a contract emergency physician and therefore often work nights up to 36 hour shifts then 12 hours later work more in another town. Many hotels let me check in at 7:00 am and out at 3:00 pm to get to my next shift. I checked into Super 8 this morning after working a 36 hour shift and explained to the clerk that I need to sleep until about 3 so she said she would work it out. Exhausted I fell asleep then was awakened by room service knocking on the door then opening it. In a sleepy daze I said I don't need room service. Later the phone started ringing. The manager said I must leave now or come down to the office and check back in so I did that and went back to bed then room service is knocking on the door again now it 2:00 pm I just worked 36 hours had 3 hours sleep and must now get up bathe eat drive to another town go to the hospital an start another 24 hours of taking care of strokes heart attacks . From now on will only stay in a hotel that relaxes the 11:00 check out time. It's not a 9:00 to 5:00 world for the people who help you at night. Not just medical, but truckers, convenience store workers, police firemen etc. Today many people work at night and need sleep in the daytime
GROVE CITY, PENNSYLVANIA -- I booked this hotel online and will not do this again, or ever stay at a Super 8 again. When you stay there, they are not friendly, breakfast is terrible, the room is not that clean and the towels are not clean. We had people next door slamming doors all night. When we called the desk, they said they could not do anything about it. When we were leaving to come back to Canada,the desk clerk said she doesn't give proof of payment because I booked online. I have been going down there for a while and never had any problems with any hotel I have stayed in. I will never stay at any Super 8 Motel wherever I go again. The coffee maker was so dirty you could not see through the glass.
NIAGARA FALLS, NEW YORK -- They double booked us, then said that we would have to pay for the extra room, even though their clerk made the mistake! The manager said he would give us a "break" if we would accept a lesser room ( no Jacuzzi) for the same price as the better room. Manager demanded a credit card, even though we paid cash up front. Spent nearly 2 hours on the phone with corporate, trying to resolve the problem. Got that taken care of. That night, the people upstairs had a loud argument. We asked the manager to please ask them to keep it down. No such luck ! They spent the next several nights running back and forth until 2 or 3 am. Management did nothing about it. Called corporate when we got home. They said that we "could've stayed somewhere else" Well thank you for the good advice! I think I will stay "somewhere else"! They ( David and Patty ) promised us a $100 refund for the shoddy service Here it is, October, and still no check? No one there seems to care very much about happy customers. Fortunately, other motels and hotels do. Make your own life easier, and avoid Super 8 at all costs. You'll be glad you did.
FRANKFORT, INDIANA -- On 6/13 we made a reservation through Priceline for a room for 2 nights (6/29-7/1) in Frankfort, IN. This room was refundable until noon on 6/28. I have a copy of the reeipt which confirms. Priceline charged our credit card $145.64.
On 6/25 we called to cancel reservation and were given a cancellation # and told needed to do nothing else.
Last week we noticed that our room had not been refunded, so we called hotel. At first we were told we needed to have cancelled in 7 days. Then when we had proof of cancellation policy, we were told he didn't understand, he couldn't do anything, ask Priceline. Each time we talked with same rude worker, who we think is manager. He is very difficult to understand and work with. He would not tell us his name. He kept asking why we cancelled. He was very uncooperative and unprofessional.
We called Priceline, who said they would refund our money, but needed to confirm with the Frankfort Super 8. We have had 3 different customer service workers from Priceline call this man. He evades them and says we called too late, etc. Then when the last Priceline worker called. The Super 8 worker said we never called to cancel. (We have a cancellation #!)
So Priceline dropped our cause.
We are trying to get someone higher up in Super 8/Wyndham to help us, but are having difficulty getting a response.
NOBLESVILLE, INDIANA -- My family stayed at the Super 8 Motel in Noblesville.
On the first day of our stay, the door handle broke and we could not get into our room. Somehow the staff were able to open the door, but asked that we stay in our room with the door open until the maintenance man came to repair it. After an hour I went to the front desk and asked if they had a time frame about his arrival. The desk clerk said that he still was not responding to her calls and that as soon as a new room was cleaned we would be moved. This was fine and they had a room within minutes. Next we found that the pool was not open because the pump had stopped working and again we were waiting for the maintenance man. He never showed up that day and we were leaving the next morning. The maintenance man did show up the morning we were leaving and it was a 5 min. repair. But by then it was too late to swim as we had to pack up and leave.
I was totally disappointed because I had a granddaughter that had her heart set on swimming while on our weekend stay.
My biggest complaint is: if this man is on call and doesn't respond why does he still have a job there!!!!!
If there was a reason for his not being able to come is one thing, but to completely ignore the calls is another. And I heard this from the desk clerk herself that he was ignoring his call.
UNACCEPTABLE to me..
11610 WEST DODGE, OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- We stayed at the Super 8 motel on 11610 West Dodge Road in Omaha, Ne. When we arrived they put us in 4 different rooms before we had one that had hot water. Very frustrating. When we came back to our room the next evening a broken light had not been fixed, the empty shampoo bottle still on the tub, dirty washcloth on the sink, floors had not been cleaned. The fire alarms went off, only to find that there was someone upstairs smoking pot and burning incense to kill the smell. They should have been asked to lease. When we went down the next morning for breakfast, the lounge was filthy. Spilled cereal all over the counter, waffle batter all over the counter, and the floor was filthy. We have always stayed at this motel because it is handy for the places we need to go, but not any more. We should have gotten our room for free after all we went through.