Tiger Direct

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
37 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Tiger Direct's bogus Multiple UPS Tracking Number scam
By -

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- On May 12th, I placed an order with TigerDirect.com for a refurbished printer, a refurbished MP3 player, A Micro SD card with adapter and a cable (USB) for the printer.

I received shipping notification the next day, with a total of three Tracking Numbers for UPS. Although it seemed a bit odd to me that Tiger Direct would ship two separate 1 lb boxes for a small MP3 player, 6-foot printer cable and Micro SD card with adapter.

Now comes the part where things really get interesting. On May 18th, I receive one large box, obviously containing the refurbished printer. I question the UPS Delivery man very closely, telling him I am expecting *multiple* boxes: one large and two small. The UPS man tells me there is only ONE package on the truck for me -- that he is certain of this. I ask again if he is quite sure there are no smaller boxes that might have been overlooked and he assures me that this is the only package for me that he has received. He requests that I sign, which I do, thinking that perhaps the other items I'd ordered might have shipped separately and would arrive the next day, or may have been packed in with the printer.

The first thing I do, before opening the printer box is to check the Shipped Order email -- and am quite astonished to find ONE tracking number has been applied to the ENTIRE order. I open the printer box and check everything very carefully. Contents are the printer, cartridges, phone cord and AC adapter, manual, software installation CD and packing materials. The other three items ordered which, with shipping, come to a total of about $50 US are nowhere to be found.

I immediately contact Tiger Direct via telephone and speak with a tech named Lazaro who tells me "UPS probably has the rest of your order, or there has been some sort of mix up". He sounds very nice, very helpful and tells me he is contacting "the Department which handles these things." I ask him how long it will be before the problem is resolved, as I need the cable in order to test or use the printer. He assures me that the matter will be investigated and I will be contacted "in three to five days".

I or my partner take turns watching for the UPS truck, which never arrives. I let a full week go by and contact Lazaro at his extension. His attitude with me is now quite different. He takes a cavalier tone and tells me "UPS says they delivered your entire order." I tell him that I am not a liar and furthermore, that this does not appear to be the fault of UPS. I become less than friendly with him and inform him that I am sitting here with a printer that I am unable to use without the cable I paid for and never received. The player and SD card were meant to be a gift for a friend's birthday -- which occurred five days ago. Lazaro informs me he will "expedite" the process and is contacting the department "that handles these things." I ask Lazaro if I might speak directly with someone in the department and am informed that "no one in the department speaks directly with the public."

I tell Lazaro that I want an ETA for when I will be hearing back from TigerDirect and when my other merchandise will be received. He tells me he will call me back or I will be contacted in email. I ask him when I might expect that call or email. He tells me on Thursday or Friday, at the latest. I received neither. It is now early Monday morning (Memorial Day) and I sent complaint information to Tiger Direct when I sensed that Lazaro was being less than honest with me. I forwarded the Shipping email I'd received on May 13th and pointed out that two of the three tracking numbers not only indicated that some items had never left the warehouse, but somewhat mysteriously the tracking number associated with the printer would indicate (by weight) that one of the missing items would be the printer.
If I were a dishonest person, I'd tell them my printer had never been shipped -- the UPS tracking numbers indicate that "Billing nformation had been received from the Shipper but what was associated with the tracking numbers never left Tiger Direct's warehouse.

I point this out clearly in my letter of complaint and sent a politely insulting letter inferring that I have received the entire shipment and am a liar and a thief. I send this letter back with comments requesting that someone with intelligence and logic actually track two of the three Tracking numbers, which *still* (now May 31st) indicate the remainder of my shipment is sitting in a warehouse. $50 may not seem like a lot of money, but when I order and a business takes my money, I expect them to ship my order rather than giving me a run-around. To date, I've received nothing but an auto-answer to the last email I sent.

The next step I'm taking is to contact the Florida BBB, who has had many complaints about Tiger Direct. And so, I urge the person who ordered two laptops and only received one to retrieve the original Order Shipment email and take a good look at the tracking numbers. This is Tiger Direct either being utterly inept or running a deliberate scam on consumers.

The UPS information is clear proof that it was not UPS who dropped the ball. One way or another, I will either get all of the merchandise I paid for, or Tiger Direct will refund the balance of money owed to me. They have lied to me, cast doubt on my character, ignored my request to review and resolve the obvious problem caused by claiming to have shipped under three different tracking numbers while using only one and applying it to the entire order and failed to deliver on any of their "promises".

In any case, I used to think positively of Tiger Direct, but now cannot recommend this company to *anyone* and, once this problem is resolved, will never order from them again. It is not such a bargain when you are ripped off for $50 or even $5.00, let alone hundreds of dollars. This company needs to be taken to task. I have kept my original "Shipped Order" email and downloaded all that data pertaining to the tracking numbers. Had I known what sort of questionable practices Tiger Direct was known for, I would have refused delivery of the printer and demanded my entire order be fulfilled before signing off on *anything*.

     
Replies
TigerDirect-First Purchase, Never Again!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I'm sorry, but have not had a very good buying experience on my first purchase from Tigerdirect. I placed an online order for a digital clock on 8/4 was processed on 8/7 and shipped on 8/14, I know sometimes there is a lag in processing but 10 days after the order was placed. When the item arrived (8/20) 1. Was packed in a plastic shipping bag with no bubble pack around the item. 2. The digital read out was not working correctly (might be due to damaged box, so obviously banged around during shipping). I reported this to Tigerdirect that evening, had to wait till end of week for rma #. Took some time off of work to send the faulty item back on 8/26 and the vendor received it on 9/3.

I just sent an email to Tigerdirect asking when they will ship my exchanged item. They did not give me an eta, at that point I requested a cancellation and credit back on my visa card this morning. Have not received any reply back, it is currently a month since I placed the order and the transaction has not been completed yet. So this little order which Amazon, Newegg and Rakuten would take care of in a matter of a week or two (ie: shipping and deal with a return).

They also ship the exchange with a return shipping label so you just put the faulty unit in the box and place the label on it and ship. Tigerdirect, you have to wait for an RMA#, ship it back. Then wait till they receive, then they ship the exchange. Amazon, Newegg and Rakuten have nothing to worry about in regards to Tigerdirect as a competitor. Speed of service is poor and customer service responds but really does nothing. Oh well live and learn, never again will I deal with this mom and pop shop.

Resolution Update 09/07/2013:

Update: TigerDirect has just responded to my request to cancel the return/exchange and credit back to my visa card.

Company Response 09/09/2013:

We are terribly sorry for the bad experience at our retail stores and would like to make this right for you. Please contact us at customersatisfaction@help.tigerdirect.com at your earliest convenience and we'll make sure you're satisfied with our service. Once again we do apologize for this experience.

     
Replies
Worst company - screwed a $10,000 customer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- Purchased 20 desktop machines in the last 3 years from Tigerdirect. We gave over 10 references to other companies about their machines and in total gave them over $10,000 of business.

I called today for the first time regarding 2 of my machines purchased 13 months ago together on the same order simply did not turn on because of some faulty equipment. We are a small company so calling tech support in the middle of your work day is not easy unless its urgent. After 40 minutes on the phone with the support staff, I was transferred to David[snip], the supervisor. Simply put he said nothing personal but we can't help you since you are calling 20 days after the warranty expired. I've been a customer for over 4 years now and always always purchased all my machines from them without promotions or coupons. I felt really hurt that companies like this exist where they would give a crap about customers. I told him I will pay you money if that's what you need, because that's all you care about, and David specifically said "No, its not about the money".... at the end of the conversation, he told me the amount needed to charge and I told myself, it's always about the money for these crooked companies.

I told the supervisor that I will go out of my way to let the world know about this service and needless to say I regret purchasing every single piece of equipment from your company. I hope this complaint gets read by millions of people and hope this company goes under real soon.

Please email David [snip]@supportmypc.com or call him at 1-800-204-0319 ext[snip]

There is one unwritten rule in businesses, do not mess with die hard customers who will go out of their way for you and out of their way to not be with you.

     
Replies
Tigerdirect is selling refurbished/used laptops as new!!!
By -

After spending $36,000 at Tigerdirect, giving them chance after chance, this time they really did it! I purchased 5 top of the line laptops this year alone. The last order before this one, a Toshiba at a cost of almost $2000. The laptop was a different model than I ordered, and came with a broken wireless network adapter. I am a computer engineer at the highest level so fortunately, I can diagnose my own problems. I also paid for a warranty that I never received, and after calling, they removed it from my invoice. My evidence is in my credit card statements.

The other day was my birth day and awaited delivery of the top configured Toshiba Qosmio (the 505-880 model) with a total price of $2100. the box came beat up, and when opened it was not wrapped like Toshiba typically does. I turned it on, and no setup or anything. I went to the log, and saw that Windows was already registered and had been getting regular updates for a year, and there were many boot failures dating back all the way to a year. I contacted Tigerdirect and they hung up on me 3 times, and gave me a UPS return label to an address no longer in existence. The one manager Bernard, told me to never call back again, that I was not a Ph. D. in computer science, which I am, and they weren't going to give me my money back nor would they let me speak to the sales manager, Tony(in charge of all other managers). After all the money I spent with them, I had never been so disrespected. I will be taking them to court in spite of if they refund my credit card. I contacted Microsoft and Toshiba, both in shock. They are a complete fraudulent company. Date of purchase 6/11/2010

     
Replies
Beware!!!
By -

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- On December 13, 2005 I ordered a Western Digital hard drive for a total of $98.98. I paid using my PayPal account, and had them use my credit card.

The hard drive was a Christmas present for my father. On December 17 I checked the status of the hard drive online, not having received any email about it shipping. The status was that it was backordered.

I called the 800 number given on the Tiger Direct Web site and waited in queue for 25 minutes before reaching someone. I was informed that the hard drive was expected at the end of the month. I cancelled the order and was told my money would be refunded immediately. (BTW, I got a Seagate hard drive from New Egg in time for Xmas. Love them.)

In the flurry before Christmas, I didn't pay attention to the refund from Tiger Direct. After New Year's I turned my attention back to the every day nitty gritty. Like prying my money out of Tiger Direct.

I called on Jan 3 to inquire about my refund. When you call the 800 number you reach their automated voice system. They never provide an option to speak to a real person. I experimented in trying to reach someone and found that if I say the words "talk to someone" you get put in queue. That day I was in queue for 20 minutes, then disconnected. I called back and hung in for 25 minutes to get to someone.

I was informed that my money was refunded on December 27 to PayPal. I had checked my PayPal account prior to my calling Tiger Direct, nothing there. I've used PayPal for years and they've always performed transactions in almost real time. But I decided to call PayPal and check.

I call PayPal, and was told nothing was received from Tiger Direct. They give me another number to call at Tiger, but it reaches the same voice system. This time I decide to use the ordering something option and see if I could get a real person sooner and take it from there.

Well, I did but I ended up on the phone for another 45 minutes between being in queue and being transferred - before reaching someone who was supposed to help me. What a rude jerk. This is still all on Jan 3.

The guy tells me that my money was refunded, but since I'm complaining they'd start the refund process again. I questioned that strategy and tried to get a supervisor. I was told speaking to a supervisor wasn't possible and that this was the way it worked.

Basically that I was a jerk and my money (supposedly already refunded) would be refunded in 24 hours. I asked for a direct phone number to call back if I didn't get the money. He gave me a number and an extension.

I then went onto PayPal and filed a dispute for this transaction. I have filed a dispute with the credit card company, and I have filed a complaint with the FL BBB (which Tiger does not belong to.) And I'm posting complaints to forums like this.

I have given them a couple of days, and checked PayPal today, Jan 9, 2006. No money. I called Tiger Direct again and tried the extension Mr Jerk had given me. Guess what, it didn't work. What a surprise!

I called the 800 number and got through to Cinnamon in less than 15 minutes! Woohoo!

Cinnamon told me that she would start the refund process and send the request to the one person who handles PayPal transactions. The refund would take 3 to 5 days. I questioned her about the process supposedly already started on Jan 3, and why that didn't work out; and for that matter why the supposed refund of Dec 27 didn't work. Cinnamon didn't know and had no record of my other calls.

According to Cinnamon, the way the process works is that they refund the money to PayPal and PayPal is then responsible to let me know they have it. Aaah, yeah. I know that. My problem is that the money is not getting to PayPal. It's been almost a month now. Well, Cinnamon didn't want me to speak because obviously I didn't understand how the process worked.

I think I do. I think that Tiger Direct, just like Overstock.com, just likes to get money - they don't like to provide the product or give you your money back.

So it'll be interesting to see what happens as a result of all disputes and complaints I've filed. And I'll keep calling Tiger Direct, just to see what they come up with next.

PS. Don't buy from them.

** update 1/10/2006 *****
I have been informed by PayPal that my money has been refunded. So, it took a little over 3 weeks to get a refund that should've happened within days. On top of the delay is the sheer frustration of dealing with Tiger Direct customer service. If I put a dollar amount to the hours spent on them, I squandered more than the original hard drive cost.

     
Replies
Total Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Tigerdirect sells items that does not have in stock. And they mailed me any item they want, it is up to their opinion of what I need and what I don't need. 10 Years ago this company was fine and now after this company moved overseas. It became a scammer and cheater and fraud.

They even refused to cancel my order even if they did not ship it yet. I sent them 7 emails in 5 days requesting cancellation but I got no respond, I contacted PayPal and in 3 ways call with PayPal and Tiger Direct, I requested cancellation and money back, but nothing happened. Bunch of liars, jerks. Stay away, it is nothing but a headache.

     
Replies
Bad Customer Service!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EL PASO, TEXAS -- I ordered and paid for a battery for my son's laptop on 6/17/13 from Tiger Direct and the tech clerk check availability and it was in stock and I would have it in a few days. I returned to the store 2 weeks later to find out status of my order(sales order# 575006) and was told it was on backorder and there was no ETA?? At that time the tech clerk said I could not cancel order or request my money back.

I went back again three weeks later and was told the vendor never received TigerDirect order and my battery would ship overnight and of course charge TigerDirect. On 7/27/13 when the battery finally arrived I pick it up and come to find out the battery did not function?? Again 2 days later back to TigerDirect and they had to order which up to today there is no...ETA.. Again I spoke to the tech clerk who explained there was nothing he could do!! I spoke to woman tech clerk would tried to help but explained she was no familiar with the department? I spoke to one of the store manager who started out not so nice but I explained to him I was the customer and deserved to be treated with respect. My son is leaving for college and doesn't have the battery for his laptop. Very upset about the whole situation. I hope this gives you an insight of the way TigerDirect does their business. I will never a single thing from this company ever again!!

Company Response 08/14/2013:

I apologize for the inconvenience. Please email me at care@help.tigerdirect.com with your name and phone number, and a copy of this post. I will be happy to try to resolve this for you.

     
Replies
Bait and Switch
By -

INTERNET -- TigerDirect.com order #P3766695. I ordered an Asus Open Box laptop and discovered the item was "not available" several days later. When I called to get an update, I was informed the laptop would no longer be available and I would have to order another brand. Is this a Bait And Switch or what? Needing a laptop, I authorized an upgrade to a more expensive and different brand only to be called a few days later and told I would have to answer a series of security questions. When I replied to the questions, I was informed that I had failed to provide the "correct" answers. This is a bunch of B--- S--- since I KNOW to the day, how long I have lived at my present address. I KNOW the year and make of my pickup truck since I owned, drove and registered it for 12 years. To my knowledge, I also had never heard of the people I was supposed to have known as presented by the interviewer! TigerDirect.com's "System" is flawed. It does not provide what what they advertise, is subject to incorrect security protocols and has yet to satisfy potential long term customer. I will look elsewhere for my future computer and accessories orders.

     
Replies
Tiger Direct Really Gone Downhill
By -

MIAMI, FL -- My husband and I bought a computer and a warranty that included in home repair from Tiger Direct. During the warranty period, the hard drive went bad. We called Tiger Direct and they referred us to Bankers Warranty Group for repair. Bankers Warranty Group referred us to Capital Computer Service for repair. They gave us a phone number for Capital that is non-functioning. After many weeks of calling both Tiger Direct and Bankers Warranty Group, we still don't have our computer repaired. People from both entities repeadedly told us they would call us back and didn't. We are now forced to have the computer fixed on our own. All that money down the drain. Tiger Direct used to be a reputable company. Now they sell bad computers and warranty services that they cannot provide. I used to recommend them to friends... now I say stay away from this company.

     
Replies
Bad Service
By -

I recently purchased a hard drive from theses people and it was defective. Purchased 11-16-09 received about 1 week later I left for vacation and when I returned and installed the drive within 3 weeks the windows detected bad clusters, the drive was bad. I called the drive manufacture and they suggested I call the place I purchased it from because or I will have to pay for shipping and special packing material to return it for a warranty replacement. So I called Tigerdirectt and they said: Its been past 30 days so we can't help you, all we can do is refer you to the manufacture (Western Digital) When I explained about the shipping and packaging cost they said we can't do anything about that, I asked to speak to a supervisor and was told the supervisor can't help you with that issue either. So I said I want to speak to them about their policy and was again told they can’t help you with that issue, so I said I want to talk to a supervisor and they asked for what reason? I said to file a complaint and they again said they can’t help you with that. I said in other words you are not going to let me talk to a supervisor are you and she said (Khadiga Ext 5367) “They can't help you with that issue” I again said “can I speak to a supervisor yes or no” and again was told they can't help you with that issue! So I guess the answer is NO. I was told to email or write a letter to them “go to our website and click on contact us then support, I did and what do you know there’s no option for filing a complaint, I guess complaints are not of any importance to this company… I even looked up the corporate office number and was lucky I found it 305-415-2200 and called and asked the operator for the email of a person to file a complaint and was told to hold on and was rudely transferred to a computerized voice mail. I left a message will see if anyone calls back my guess is probably not. I will never buy anything from these people ever again and I will let all my friends know how bad there service is…..

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >