Preview Review

Next Review

United Healthcare Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
WORST Experience, Most Incompetent Staff Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARKET PLACE, FLORIDA -- WORST, WORST, WORST experience ever! Here's my experience... (Personal information has been changed for my privacy). 2012 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare Golden Rule. March 2015 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare MarketPlace. - March 2015 - Marketplace plan was started, and month 1 paid. ID **. March 31, 2015 - Marketplace plan was terminated without communication to either Suzy or Stewart. March 2015 - No payment made to United Healthcare Golden Rule.

May 2015 - Suzy realized she never received an insurance card from the MarketPlace and could not log in to their website. May 2015 - Stewart (Insurance Agent) and I ("Suzy Anne " (female)) called United Healthcare MarketPlace regarding plan established in March. Response was that the plan never went through, and a new application was filled out over the phone. New application used the wrong name (Anne as the first name, as the surname, no mention of Suzy) and indicated insured was a male. Suzy paid $713.72 to cover the balance from April and May. ID **.

May 2015 - United Healthcare mailed Suzy 2 letters regarding outstanding balance of $38.62 and a period of 10 days to pay the balance. Suzy was out of the country and did not receive either letter. No communication was made via email or telephone to either Suzy or Stewart regarding payment issue or coverage termination. July 20, 2015 - Physician office calls Suzy regarding insurance had been terminated. ID **.

July 20, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart call United Healthcare, call was disconnected. Suzy called United Healthcare back and spoke with a customer service. She was advised her insurance had been terminated for lack of payment. Bank statements indicate a check for $224.11 was mailed to United Healthcare each month, yet according to the United Healthcare representative, none of those payments were attributed to Suzy 's account. According to the bank, they were all cashed. Suzy was advised to send an email and explain the situation. An email was sent (to uhcexchange@uhc.com) and Stewart was carbon copied.

July 21, 2015 - Email from United Healthcare was received by Stewart that read "We will make the exception to reinstate without lapse with the additional $38.62 and the June payment of $262.73 for a total of $301.35. The insured can call and pay with a cc payment today or they can send a payment to us to be received by the close of business on 7/23/15, after that date we will not be able to reinstate without lapse."

July 21, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare, paid $301.35 and was advised her account would be reinstated. This reinstated her Golden Rule account from 2012 (ID **), not her most recent MarketPlace account. Suzy was transferred to the MarketPlace, however after speaking with someone and waiting on hold for more than 30 minutes, the call was disconnected. Prior to being disconnected, Suzy was advised that she paid $713.72 in May, and her account had been terminated at the end of May.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was advised that her account (ID **) had been terminated in March. The representative advised a new application would need to be filled out. They found Suzy's name was written as Anne and she was identified as a Male. The call was disconnected before the application could be completed.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was informed that there was nothing she could do as her insurance had been terminated. Call transferred to Tier 2, who sent a request to United Healthcare Case Management to reinstate insured. Suzy was advised the process could take 1 - 2 months. No record of May's payment or Golden Rule account was found. July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Golden Rule to confirm insurance coverage secured the day before (July 21, 2015). Her ID (**) could not be found in the system.

July 24, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart called United Healthcare MarketPlace to discuss coverage. Their system did not reflect calls from earlier in the week, nor did it correct the name "Suzy Anne" and "Anne." Service representative Lance advised call would be elevated to someone that could problem solve and worked on odd situations; United Healthcare MarketPlace should be in touch with Suzy in 5 - 7 business days with a resolution.

July 28, 2015 - Case management called and left a voice mail. Name (first name only) was not understandable. Did not leave a case number. Call was to informed me they had my case and would be working on it. July 27, 2015 at 6:20pm. Called number left on the voice mail (877-887-0441), no notes regarding case management, case manager or case number. Called number that called me (**), call was disconnected.

July 31, 2015 - The MarketPlace called to inform me my application has been updated. Marketplace has updated my application. Sent the application and a request for reinstatement to the UHC. Have to work with UHC to get reinstated. Has no information about payments, old policy ID number. At this point I have to work with the plan (aka UHC). Name and sex have been corrected. No idea who at UHC I need to talk with. Advised her that my policy got messed up because the Golden Rule and MarketPlace systems didn't catch the error in my application.

She asked why not, and I said it was because the systems don't communicate and neither do the people. She said I would need to work with the insurance plan. I asked who that was and she said the plan. After asking for clarification again, she said it was UHC. I asked which department at UHC I would need to talk with since if I called then and said, I need to talk with the Plan, they would think I sprouted a second head. She said she didn't know, she wasn't part of their company and doesn't know their departments. She doesn't communicate with them.

July 31, 2015 - United Healthcare called. Received a file from the MarketPlace on 7/15 showing termination should have been 3/31. As of today, UHC has not received anything from the Marketplace. If the Marketplace sent something, it will take about 30 days to process. July 31, 2015 - A letter from Golden Rule and check came in the mail today. The letter states that I am paid through July 31, 2015 and in fact overpaid by $224.11. The check is for $224.11.

Here are the issues: This payment was made through the website that we set up access to while on the phone with the Marketplace in May 2015. This payment was applied to my old Golden Rule account from 2012. I was dropped from the Golden Rule account in May for non-payment. The Marketplace won't show record of this payment. I also received a letter from the Marketplace that says I am eligible to re-enroll in January. This is the first communication I have received from the Marketplace.

March 2015 through current - Suzy never received any communication, a new card or an invoice from United Healthcare Marketplace. March 2015 through recent - United Healthcare Golden Rule has been charging Suzy for an old plan, collecting payments and not attributing them to her account.

Sent them: Bank payments for United Healthcare Golden Rule. May payment for United Healthcare MarketPlace
American Express payment for $301.35 for United Healthcare Golden Rule, made July 21, 2015. Total paid to United Healthcare 2015. Jan: $224.11. Feb: $224.11. March:. April: $224.11. May: $224.11 and $713.72. June: $224.11. July: $224.11 and $301.35. Total: $2,359.73. Marketplace premium: $356.56. Owed to United Healthcare for = $-35.85.

Replies
Advertisement
United Healthcare Falsifying Patient Medical Records to Deny Medical Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TENNESSEE -- My father needed to have a CT scan per his doctor to make sure that his cancer (has been cancer free since 2000) had not come back. His claim was denied by United Healthcare. The reason stated was "You have cancer in your nose and throat area. You have neck pain. You have a sore throat and pain in the roof of your mouth. Your provider suspects spread of "cancer" to your brain. Your provider asked for a CT scan of your head/brain with and without a dye called contrast."

The letter goes on to explain what a CT scan is and what a MRI is and then states that "cannot be done for medical reasons and you have a brain function problem such as mental confusion, change in vision, slurred speech or a new severe headache."

My father receives this notification and is devastated!!! First of all, he went the doctor with throat and pain in the roof of his mouth. He NEVER complained of headaches, mental confusion, change in vision or slurred speech. He contacted his doctor and the head nurse called back and apologized over and over again since the information that was sent to him was a LIE!!! She confirmed that no one in the doctor's office provided that information to United Healthcare. It appears that someone that works at United Healthcare falsely added this information/LIES to his records so that the medical services requested would be denied.

I am sure this is not the first time that this has happened to customers of United Healthcare. Please do not use United Healthcare for your medical needs because they falsify medical records so they do not have to approved medical services or items. How many others has this happened to? Who can help with this type of fraud?

Replies
UHC Loaded My Med Files With Hoaxes and Impersonated Me.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- United Healthcare mailed me five provider appeal requests I never made. I got four in November 2014 and the last one dated December 5, 2014. First one gave the name of a company and said I made a complaint against this place and said they sent a decision explanation and since it was a duplicate, I couldn't appeal it. What complaint and what duplicate complaint? I've never made one. I faxed UHC in November 2014 and informed them that I did not make a report and for them to correct it. Ignoring tactics they use. They sent me four more of the same.

They were dated November 4, 7, 17 and 25, 2014. UHC indicated they put them in my patient ID files. The last one was December 4, 2014 and dated with an individual's name as provider appeal request I never made. I faxed provider complaint on a horrible P.T. records content that UHC had paid for and last phone contact about that was October 27, 2014. Last fax regarding that was November 2, 2014. I never heard back on the issue about P.T. session.

I got harassed by UHC with nut job fake reports instead, gee I wonder why. Also November 3rd and 4th, I got two phone messages to call UHC about another made up nonexistent report. Saw bad scene, I was done with UHC. No more phone contact and I looked for another insurance. I would have had to have made a report and received a letter back on an appealed decision in a specific time frame long before the P.OT.. complaint to have even exist, which it was not.

They have NO phone connection or faxes or letters on fake reports. I got 2 answer machine calls on December 5 and 8, 2014, from service coordinator UHC, phony, prank sounding message telling me to call her about my requesting multiple therapy times. I never did! I stopped all calls. October 27, 2014 was the last and only sent a few faxes November 2014 for UHC to take reports I did not make out of my files. And I did not of course, pursue initial complaint.

I left UHC in December 2014. They also apparently sent me to physical therapy two other times , pulling a stunt of having my significant medical condition completely left out and had my other med files hoaxed with as medical conditions magically deleted. My only opinion is all of the above. I have all of my medical records however. I've been trying to get all the fake files out and straighten the records out through other places, but not able to yet. I have not gotten five fake file reports I never even made. I do not have anything to do with UHC!

Replies
Ten Months of Waiting and UnitedHealthcare Have Still Not Paid for My Son's CAT Scan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- I have already written to the CEO of UnitedHealthcare so I will be brief. This company has been stupendously inept. Here is a summary of their excuses for not paying...

  1. Not our patient - Laughably easy to disprove this one.
  2. Automatic rejection - If a payment is resubmitted after being rejected once it will automatically be rejected again.
  3. Patient has other coverage - So wish that were true. Unfortunately for me it isn't.
  4. Wrong hospital - I was there, I know which hospital I visited.
  5. Payment already made - An outright lie.
  6. Service provider is acting illegally - Audacious accusation and refuted by the provider.
  7. Service not covered - Standby excuse when all others have failed and the customer has not given up.

Each correction to their process takes an entire billing cycle - hence 10 months have elapsed with still no resolution. The hospital has lost patience and started debt collection proceedings against me. UHC assured me they would expedite a "Cease to Bill" letter - I have had to ask twice and still no letter after more than 2 weeks. I have noted everything so next I will be taking my evidence to the Ombudsman.

Replies
Advertisement
Claim Disputes
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, NEVADA -- I was hospitalized in May of 2015. I first went to urgent care and was transported from that facility, by ambulance, to the emergency room. I was diagnosed with pneumonia, sepsis and was in renal and respiratory failure when I arrived. I was intubated and put on a ventilator and spent 8 days in ICU. The policy I had, had a $5000 deductible and a $6250 out of pocket maximum. I have satisfied the out of pocket max but I am still having problems getting UHC to pay the physician claims.

On my first appeal, they responded that they had not received the H&P and other medical records to support the claim. I responded with another letter and included all the clinical notes from each day in ICU. I then received a response with another denial saying that they could not find a claim for this appeal. The provider listed on the second denial was my new insurance carrier which was not effective until 11/1/15 and was never mentioned in any of my letters. The letter also stated that I had exhausted my limited appeals.

I responded with a third letter, highlighting all the information and I insisted that a supervisor look through all the documents and respond back to me by phone. I am giving them one week to respond and then I will go the state regulators. I have all the documentation and I am sure in the end they will have to pay the claim. I have never experienced such incompetency and poor customer service in my entire life.

Replies
What a nightmare.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARYLAND -- To start off, I've had terrible experiences with United Healthcare since I started their coverage a few years ago. It's come to a head recently after a coordination of benefits issue meant that they paid a hospital bill for my husband and then retracted the payment from the hospital. TWICE. Now the hospital, of course, is coming after us for the 6,000+ bill.

I have called and emailed countless times over the past 2 months. I've sent emails. I managed to get direct lines to 2 different people and have been leaving voicemail after voicemail, which has been ignored. I've sent the paperwork and letter from the other insurance company verifying the coverage dates and confirming that United is responsible for the bill. Nothing. And the hospital is threatening to sue us now b/c it has gone on for so long.

Finally, today, I left a nasty review on their FB page. I didn't really have much hope for this other than maybe warning others to try to find different health insurance. Not 10 minutes after I left the review, a member of their social media team contacted me. He got all of the information on the problem and filed an escalated ticket to get it handled quickly. AND he called the hospital and they've placed a 30-day hold on the account, with no collection activities, to give United time to deal with the coordination issue. So, what can I say? Um, the rest of United is TERRIBLE but their social media department is great, so far anyway.

Replies
No Resolution to Problem/no Way to Contact Supervisor
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- When I contacted UHC on October 2nd to get a letter saying that my daughter would no longer be covered as a dependent on my account, I was told she would not be covered after October 31st and a letter would be sent stating this. When the letter did not arrive after a week, I called back at 8 am on October 9th and was told that there was a note in the file that they would not send the letter until after October 31st. My daughter needed the letter in order to enroll in the insurance plan at her new employer. The last day to enroll in her new insurance plan is October 31st. I asked repeatedly to speak with a supervisor and each time the cs representative argued with me.

I was eventually put on hold and then told there was no one available. I asked to have a supervisor call me and was told they had 24 to 48 business hours to call back and someone would call by October 14th. I asked if that meant by 8 am on the 14th and was told that would be the earliest anyone would call. I pointed out that that was not within the 24 to 48 hours mentioned. I went to the website in the hope of finding a different way to contact anyone at the company. There is no email or other phone number for customer service.

I called back and spoke to one more unhelpful person and asked to take the survey at the end. I left a message at the end of the survey. I do not expect to be called back. There is no way to resolve an issue with this company. They have a one-star rating - much too high!

Replies
United Healthcare Hearing Aid Plan Is A Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KINGSTON, NEW YORK -- The company says they cover hearing aids. They say in their contract they will give you $1000 per ear over a 3 year period. The problem is that they will not approve any hearing aid purchase over $1000 dollars per ear and won't let you pay the difference out of your pocket. They only allow your Dr. to bill you $1000 per ear and cannot charge you amount over that.

They try to force you to buy hearing aids from Hi-Health innovations, that is a subsidiary of UHC (A SCAM). The hearing aids are cheap, ($800-900) per ear and will not work for me. The FDA has a cease and desist against this company for wrong practices. They also try to force you to get other very cheap hearing aids that will not work for me.

My audiologist has gotten burned many time by UHC and is even an in-network Dr for UHC. My Dr has not one good thing to say about the company. Most companies don't offer hearing coverage, but if they say they do, then they should and not mislead you or force you to buy what they want you to wear. I think it time to shop around for better insurance. I hope a lawyer looks over their contract and makes them change the wording in their contract.

Replies
Advertisement
The Great Divider
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KATY, TEXAS -- I have had insurance through most major carriers in my 40 years of working and some were good and some left a little to be desired, but United Health Care is undoubtedly the worst insurance company on the market. As with other stories here, they lie, they misrepresent and they deny coverage for coverage they say they in fact do allow for.

I am changing after the first of the year and will never use or recommend this insurance to anybody. My wife is going blind and she needs a medication for her eye (which Aetna when we had them had no problem approving) that UHC will not cover after lying to us and her doctor and saying, "Sure we cover that." It is $200 a week and a medicine she will have to use for a couple of years before she can get a cornea transplant something else they don't cover. All I can say is buyer beware when dealing with these crooks.

Replies
First Paid the Providers, Then Took Money Back and Told My Husband to Pay Over $20,000
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNESOTA -- In May of this year my husband received a notification from United Healthcare that he owed doctors and hospitals over $20,000 for the period between 08/14 and 04/15. On close inspection it turned out that they first paid the claims, and then TOOK THE MONEY BACK from the providers. Several phone calls to the (rather ironically called) "Customer Care" representatives resulted in empty promises of return phone calls and no resolution. The employees were clueless. My husband sent a letter to the CEO, no response. Then it transpired that allegedly the bills were not paid because my husband allegedly has Medicare part B (which he does not).

Further, this is not a supplemental insurance: he pays FULL PREMIUMS for his insurance, so what does it have to do with Medicare? Anyway, after a letter to United Healthcare documenting lack of Medicare part B and another to their appeal department, no responses and no resolution, and the bills keep on coming... This is a totally evil company, they cheat everyone: their shareholders (by backdating stock options), their employees (by refusing to pay overtime), the providers (their new tactic is to take back payments for service as alleged "overpayments") and policy holders, by refusing to pay the claims. And why do they get away with it?

If you look at their political contributions, they contributed to the campaigns of every house and senate member, and their lobbying expenses are over $1 billion. And they have AARP endorsement, so if you are a member, please lobby AARP (as I will) to drop their endorsement of this company. The only way to deal with them is to change to another insurance company. All of them are bad, but this one is particularly nasty.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United Healthcare Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 49 ratings and
96 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United Healthcare
P.O. Box 1459
Minneapolis, MN 55440-1459
866-633-2446 (ph)
www.uhc.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies