Preview Review

Next Review

United Healthcare Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
WORST Experience, Most Incompetent Staff Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARKET PLACE, FLORIDA -- WORST, WORST, WORST experience ever! Here's my experience... (Personal information has been changed for my privacy). 2012 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare Golden Rule. March 2015 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare MarketPlace. - March 2015 - Marketplace plan was started, and month 1 paid. ID **. March 31, 2015 - Marketplace plan was terminated without communication to either Suzy or Stewart. March 2015 - No payment made to United Healthcare Golden Rule.

May 2015 - Suzy realized she never received an insurance card from the MarketPlace and could not log in to their website. May 2015 - Stewart (Insurance Agent) and I ("Suzy Anne " (female)) called United Healthcare MarketPlace regarding plan established in March. Response was that the plan never went through, and a new application was filled out over the phone. New application used the wrong name (Anne as the first name, as the surname, no mention of Suzy) and indicated insured was a male. Suzy paid $713.72 to cover the balance from April and May. ID **.

May 2015 - United Healthcare mailed Suzy 2 letters regarding outstanding balance of $38.62 and a period of 10 days to pay the balance. Suzy was out of the country and did not receive either letter. No communication was made via email or telephone to either Suzy or Stewart regarding payment issue or coverage termination. July 20, 2015 - Physician office calls Suzy regarding insurance had been terminated. ID **.

July 20, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart call United Healthcare, call was disconnected. Suzy called United Healthcare back and spoke with a customer service. She was advised her insurance had been terminated for lack of payment. Bank statements indicate a check for $224.11 was mailed to United Healthcare each month, yet according to the United Healthcare representative, none of those payments were attributed to Suzy 's account. According to the bank, they were all cashed. Suzy was advised to send an email and explain the situation. An email was sent (to uhcexchange@uhc.com) and Stewart was carbon copied.

July 21, 2015 - Email from United Healthcare was received by Stewart that read "We will make the exception to reinstate without lapse with the additional $38.62 and the June payment of $262.73 for a total of $301.35. The insured can call and pay with a cc payment today or they can send a payment to us to be received by the close of business on 7/23/15, after that date we will not be able to reinstate without lapse."

July 21, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare, paid $301.35 and was advised her account would be reinstated. This reinstated her Golden Rule account from 2012 (ID **), not her most recent MarketPlace account. Suzy was transferred to the MarketPlace, however after speaking with someone and waiting on hold for more than 30 minutes, the call was disconnected. Prior to being disconnected, Suzy was advised that she paid $713.72 in May, and her account had been terminated at the end of May.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was advised that her account (ID **) had been terminated in March. The representative advised a new application would need to be filled out. They found Suzy's name was written as Anne and she was identified as a Male. The call was disconnected before the application could be completed.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was informed that there was nothing she could do as her insurance had been terminated. Call transferred to Tier 2, who sent a request to United Healthcare Case Management to reinstate insured. Suzy was advised the process could take 1 - 2 months. No record of May's payment or Golden Rule account was found. July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Golden Rule to confirm insurance coverage secured the day before (July 21, 2015). Her ID (**) could not be found in the system.

July 24, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart called United Healthcare MarketPlace to discuss coverage. Their system did not reflect calls from earlier in the week, nor did it correct the name "Suzy Anne" and "Anne." Service representative Lance advised call would be elevated to someone that could problem solve and worked on odd situations; United Healthcare MarketPlace should be in touch with Suzy in 5 - 7 business days with a resolution.

July 28, 2015 - Case management called and left a voice mail. Name (first name only) was not understandable. Did not leave a case number. Call was to informed me they had my case and would be working on it. July 27, 2015 at 6:20pm. Called number left on the voice mail (877-887-0441), no notes regarding case management, case manager or case number. Called number that called me (**), call was disconnected.

July 31, 2015 - The MarketPlace called to inform me my application has been updated. Marketplace has updated my application. Sent the application and a request for reinstatement to the UHC. Have to work with UHC to get reinstated. Has no information about payments, old policy ID number. At this point I have to work with the plan (aka UHC). Name and sex have been corrected. No idea who at UHC I need to talk with. Advised her that my policy got messed up because the Golden Rule and MarketPlace systems didn't catch the error in my application.

She asked why not, and I said it was because the systems don't communicate and neither do the people. She said I would need to work with the insurance plan. I asked who that was and she said the plan. After asking for clarification again, she said it was UHC. I asked which department at UHC I would need to talk with since if I called then and said, I need to talk with the Plan, they would think I sprouted a second head. She said she didn't know, she wasn't part of their company and doesn't know their departments. She doesn't communicate with them.

July 31, 2015 - United Healthcare called. Received a file from the MarketPlace on 7/15 showing termination should have been 3/31. As of today, UHC has not received anything from the Marketplace. If the Marketplace sent something, it will take about 30 days to process. July 31, 2015 - A letter from Golden Rule and check came in the mail today. The letter states that I am paid through July 31, 2015 and in fact overpaid by $224.11. The check is for $224.11.

Here are the issues: This payment was made through the website that we set up access to while on the phone with the Marketplace in May 2015. This payment was applied to my old Golden Rule account from 2012. I was dropped from the Golden Rule account in May for non-payment. The Marketplace won't show record of this payment. I also received a letter from the Marketplace that says I am eligible to re-enroll in January. This is the first communication I have received from the Marketplace.

March 2015 through current - Suzy never received any communication, a new card or an invoice from United Healthcare Marketplace. March 2015 through recent - United Healthcare Golden Rule has been charging Suzy for an old plan, collecting payments and not attributing them to her account.

Sent them: Bank payments for United Healthcare Golden Rule. May payment for United Healthcare MarketPlace
American Express payment for $301.35 for United Healthcare Golden Rule, made July 21, 2015. Total paid to United Healthcare 2015. Jan: $224.11. Feb: $224.11. March:. April: $224.11. May: $224.11 and $713.72. June: $224.11. July: $224.11 and $301.35. Total: $2,359.73. Marketplace premium: $356.56. Owed to United Healthcare for = $-35.85.

Replies
Advertisement
Can't believe it
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I am so surprised to see bad reviews! I had this insurance in 2014 through my husband's employer and ended up needing a hysterectomy in December 2014. My husband's employer had already decided to switch insurance companies in Jan 2015, so I was in a time crunch.

I went on Dec 8th for pre-op evaluation, and my surgery was scheduled for Dec 18th. Unfortunately I found on from the hospital on Dec 17th that the insurance had not yet approved the surgery, because pre-approval had just been submitted by the doctor's office that morning, the day before my surgery.

I called the insurance company in tears to get this surgery done, as I was in pain, and I was told she would do everything possible to get it taken care of. I also stupidly disclosed that we would be changing insurance companies in a couple weeks and I didn't know what the coverage would be and I had already met my out-of-pocket annual maximum - a perfect reason for them to delay approval to not have to cover.

Imagine my surprise to get a call at almost 8:30 pm (well after closing time) to tell me it was all taken care of, I could have my surgery the next morning. Surgery was done, bills were paid, no problems. A few months later the anesthesiologist was billing me, saying my insurance didn't pay them. I looked at the EOBs, which said I owed them $0 due to network discounts, so I called and told the provider this. They said OK, no problem.

A few months later (after my coverage ended) I got a call from the anesthesiologist again saying I owe, and that they are not in network with my insurance. I called UMR and they got on 3-way call with me and the provider and told them they are in network. The anesthesiologist office said "I don't care. We are billing it."

True to their word they sent me to a collection agency. I told them what happened (Note this was almost a year later, long after coverage was terminated with this plan). I called UMR and they send documentation to the provider showing their in-network status with a copy of the contract. The collection agency continued to call and I continued to explain to them and they told me to call the provider, which I did, and they said they would look into it, which they didn't.

Fast forward to today, March 2016, 15 months after my procedure and the termination of my UMR plan - the collection agency said I need to send EOBs to show I don't owe the balance by the end of the day or my credit is going to take the hit. I called UMR with no ID, no active plan, and no benefit to them whatsoever and spoke with Natalie, a super sweet woman who looked up all EOBs for anesthesia (as they did not bill under their business name, but under a provider whose name the provider couldn't tell me), and she faxed the EOB immediately and waited on the phone to make sure I got it. I faxed it to the collection agency; game over - I win.

UMR reps were always understanding, helpful, accommodating and expedient. I know they say people are more likely to leave a bad review than a good one, but I believe this company definitely deserves credit for the assistance they provided me, and continue to provide long after my coverage was ended. I would recommend them to anyone looking for good customer service.

Replies
Patient Received No Help With Incorrect Coding and Billing Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- This letter will be copied and placed on the webpages of all companies. My story begins almost a year ago. My husband (a Duke Internal Medicine patient) was scheduled for a follow-up colonoscopy after having multiple polyps found the year before. In the course of the year, my insurance changed and we secured Marketplace insurance with United Health Care. This was premium insurance, very expensive monthly premiums and a $250.00 deductible.

The provider's office did a referral, and here is where the water goes murky. Duke, at the time did not take the type of UNC insurance (compass platinum), so an appointment was made via the providers office with UNC healthcare. My husband called UHC prior to the visit to make sure the paperwork was in order and was told "the procedure was a covered 100%". He had the procedure, and received a bill. Part of the bill was covered but 2900.00 was not. Upon investigation per UNC, the referral was for a screening, not diagnostic and needed a new number.

The provider office said the referral did not need a number and would look into it. UHC said the referral was not correct as well. After multiple phone calls with all three groups and a lot of finger-pointing between companies, the bill was turned over to collections, and UNC will not return phone calls.

A customer service representative from Duke has also looked into the situation and told us today, everyone is blaming someone else. Here is the sad thing, all these companies advertise "patients first, patient centered care" etc. The patient should not be responsible for making sure referrals have a correct number, should not be responsible for making sure codes are correct. He did due diligence to make sure prior to the procedure that it was covered.

The final disservice and disrespect to the patient is making them jump through hoops to find out no one is accountable but him. $2900.00 may not be a lot to some, but it is a lot to us. Add the monthly expense of the insurance premiums, for what should be covered and this is shameful.

Replies
Denial of Shingles Vaccine
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNESOTA -- I have received yet another denial letter from UHC in response to my BBB complaint. They basically rehashed their denial stating it was just an "estimate" and referred me to the "Why Costs May Vary" section. I would understand if they gave me a different amount for my Out of Pocket expense (say $100 & that in actuality it turned out to be $150), but they told me it was 100% covered for a 57 yr. old & that my Out of Pocket amount would be $0.

Had they told me it was only a covered benefit for adults 60 yrs. of age or older or that it would have been 100% covered if I went to the pharmacy to get the shingles vaccine, I would have waited the 3 yrs. (now 2 yrs.) to get the vaccine or gone to my pharmacy where it would have truly been 100% been covered. They gave me the wrong information & will not accept responsibility for their mistake. I was never given the external review from someone outside of UHC even though I had asked for an external review 4 times.

They have basically given me the runaround for 16 months in the hopes that I will give up. They hide behind jargon and twist it to their advantage. Any average person being told "Good Job on Preventive Care" & that the shingles vaccine is 100% covered with $0 Out of Pocket expense would assume that it is a covered benefit. Why would you think otherwise? They are exhibiting "bad faith" all around.

After all this, wouldn't it be a sign of integrity and responsibility just to pay the $210 instead of spending probably hundreds of man hours and dollars to continue to deny the claim. Every correspondence ends with "Your satisfaction is important to us." That is so very far from the truth. If that was true, they would have paid this claim long ago & not ruin my credit by having the claim go to a collection agency.

Replies
Advertisement
What a nightmare.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARYLAND -- To start off, I've had terrible experiences with United Healthcare since I started their coverage a few years ago. It's come to a head recently after a coordination of benefits issue meant that they paid a hospital bill for my husband and then retracted the payment from the hospital. TWICE. Now the hospital, of course, is coming after us for the 6,000+ bill.

I have called and emailed countless times over the past 2 months. I've sent emails. I managed to get direct lines to 2 different people and have been leaving voicemail after voicemail, which has been ignored. I've sent the paperwork and letter from the other insurance company verifying the coverage dates and confirming that United is responsible for the bill. Nothing. And the hospital is threatening to sue us now b/c it has gone on for so long.

Finally, today, I left a nasty review on their FB page. I didn't really have much hope for this other than maybe warning others to try to find different health insurance. Not 10 minutes after I left the review, a member of their social media team contacted me. He got all of the information on the problem and filed an escalated ticket to get it handled quickly. AND he called the hospital and they've placed a 30-day hold on the account, with no collection activities, to give United time to deal with the coordination issue. So, what can I say? Um, the rest of United is TERRIBLE but their social media department is great, so far anyway.

Replies
Ten Months of Waiting and UnitedHealthcare Have Still Not Paid for My Son's CAT Scan
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENNSYLVANIA -- I have already written to the CEO of UnitedHealthcare so I will be brief. This company has been stupendously inept. Here is a summary of their excuses for not paying...

  1. Not our patient - Laughably easy to disprove this one.
  2. Automatic rejection - If a payment is resubmitted after being rejected once it will automatically be rejected again.
  3. Patient has other coverage - So wish that were true. Unfortunately for me it isn't.
  4. Wrong hospital - I was there, I know which hospital I visited.
  5. Payment already made - An outright lie.
  6. Service provider is acting illegally - Audacious accusation and refuted by the provider.
  7. Service not covered - Standby excuse when all others have failed and the customer has not given up.

Each correction to their process takes an entire billing cycle - hence 10 months have elapsed with still no resolution. The hospital has lost patience and started debt collection proceedings against me. UHC assured me they would expedite a "Cease to Bill" letter - I have had to ask twice and still no letter after more than 2 weeks. I have noted everything so next I will be taking my evidence to the Ombudsman.

Replies
United Healthcare Hearing Aid Plan Is A Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KINGSTON, NEW YORK -- The company says they cover hearing aids. They say in their contract they will give you $1000 per ear over a 3 year period. The problem is that they will not approve any hearing aid purchase over $1000 dollars per ear and won't let you pay the difference out of your pocket. They only allow your Dr. to bill you $1000 per ear and cannot charge you amount over that.

They try to force you to buy hearing aids from Hi-Health innovations, that is a subsidiary of UHC (A SCAM). The hearing aids are cheap, ($800-900) per ear and will not work for me. The FDA has a cease and desist against this company for wrong practices. They also try to force you to get other very cheap hearing aids that will not work for me.

My audiologist has gotten burned many time by UHC and is even an in-network Dr for UHC. My Dr has not one good thing to say about the company. Most companies don't offer hearing coverage, but if they say they do, then they should and not mislead you or force you to buy what they want you to wear. I think it time to shop around for better insurance. I hope a lawyer looks over their contract and makes them change the wording in their contract.

Replies
Bogus Balance Due on Account
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

USA, MARYLAND -- Coverage ended 2/28/15 with $0 premium balance due. May 2016 got premium balance due $60.52. Able to still go into UHC account to print payments made from 2014 - 2015 time of coverage. Found they changed payment amounts. Still had emailed payment confirmations also. Had to get CC statements to prove amounts. Called UHC. Talked to Jessica to tell her I am waiting for CC statements since I went paperless and it is almost 1 1/2 year later. Please note my account. "No problem" she said.

Next day Mark calls from UHC asking for payment. WTH!!! Both times I feel they pretended to note my acct. I spoke with James 7/18 to say I have proof payment made but amount changed. He informed me I can only and repeat only send my proof via email or fax! No mailing. WTH again.

I'm lost in words since I had reported them when we had them for making coverage a nightmare. State Attorney's Office short staffed and because I was no longer with UHC they could not investigate them. Bull. So I am hearing others having the same issues with not paying for script, need preauthorizations again & again. Saying they did not have payment when did. Now how many are getting premium balance due over a year later???

Replies
Advertisement
Insurance Mislead Me on Available Providers, Cost Me Thousands of Dollars
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I started work with a new company that uses UHC. I live outside of their main area in the Northeast and when I used their website to look up providers I found none in the area. When I contacted them about this they told me the same thing. I cancelled the coverage and went on the very expensive COBRA plan available due to my old job. My HR department eventually gets to me and after further research finds that a different third-party website shows that I do have providers in my area.

It is unacceptable that their website does not work properly and that their staff is unable to provide the information I need to make my insurance choices. Their misinformation has cost me thousands of dollars, countless hours, and a fair amount of stress all while I've been trying to deal with a serious recent medical issue. If UHC is this terrible at providing simple information, I worry about relying on it for any serious medical issue.

Replies
HORRIBLE INSURANCE COVERAGE AND COMPANY
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I signed up for the $400/month bronze plan with prescription savings plan... once I signed up for that plan, I then found out it doesn't cover mail order prescriptions, or most prescriptions in general. I called for assistance and basically was told, "sorry we can't do anything..." I basically was lied to or tricked prior to signing up for this plan, and now each time I call it's basically "too bad for you". Also, while applying it asked for my pcp, so I put their name in. Have been seeing this specialist for years now. They put some random doctor as my pcp. Never heard of him.
Was told I cannot change it to a specialist, has to be pcp.

So now I guess I have to go see some random doctor. I don't know to get prior authorization for some of my medications. Which makes no sense, because in the end the health insurance is basically paying for a random doctor when I have my own. I can't wait 'til next open enrollment so I can cancel! I am in the healthcare field, and I make sure I tell everyone about my problems with United Health.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United Healthcare Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 57 ratings and
104 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United Healthcare
P.O. Box 1459
Minneapolis, MN 55440-1459
866-633-2446 (ph)
www.uhc.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies