Vitacost

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
51 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Vitacost.com is HIGHLY Disorganized
Posted by on
Vitacost has NUMEROUS issues that affect the consumers on a number of levels.
I have been a customer for years and because of my busy lifestyle and the low prices on their products, they always seemed the convenient choice for my vitamin purchases. I also have to admit that I have paid quite a heavy price for their low prices in the form of extreme aggravation, lost time and money and I am ceasing my business for them due to this last situation.
They have an awful policy of charging your credit card twice within a 24 -36 hour period.
What that does is freezes your account with that amount of money for five business days.
It will affect your checks and charges coming in if you are counting on the money that they blocked for five days - TWICE.
I've had this problem with them before and forgot about this policy when I ordered this last time around.

Vitacost has a terrible phone service, at least once or twice a week their phone lines go completely down .

When you are one of the lucky ones to get though you are stuck on hold no less than 15 to 20 minutes and the voice of this shrill woman at high octaves comes on every 60 seconds and states in a most annoying Robin Leach esque voice "never wait on hold again" and proceeds to tell you that your place in line will be held with a call back number and when it is your turn, Vitacost will call you back.
Guess what ? They NEVER call you back.
I've tried this service four times like an idiot and all four times - NEVER got a call back.
The only other alternative is to wait on hold with that horrible voice they have chosen for their system.
800-739-2601

This time around they have caused me six overdraft fees as a result of charging my card twice.
My account is upside down and after calling four days in a row ( Mon - Thurs )and getting the run around, I am still nowhere except highly distressed.
My orders through the years have always been in the hundreds of dollars range, some closer to a thousand dollars and they have caused issues with my parents, my grandmother, and two colleagues...what are the odds ?
They screw up way too many times, they abuse your credit card in return they do nothing to make it right, other than just sending you in circles.

I highly suggest a company J&J Health Foods, their prices compete with Vitacost, and they deliver.
Vitacost needs to be investigated for their policies, not to mention their crapshoot service, with them, it's the luck of the draw.
If you are going to order from Vitacost.com, order at your own risk!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 11/19/2009:
Save yourself the headache and go to a local vitamin store.
sexybaby on 12/01/2009:
Yeah, they're scum, the way they treat their customers that have been with them for YEARS... it's a shame cause their prices are excellent. Sorry about what happened to you. Don't stress though, easier said than done, they're not worth your health :( xx
goduke on 12/01/2009:
Ick. Thanks for the heads up about these guys.
Aus_T on 12/10/2009:
Yep.. I've had similar experiences with them!
Try Iherb
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Delivery Time is Horrible/Horrific Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- As a long time customer who has been very happy with Vitacost's service in the past, I felt compelled to post this review after a recent horrific experience with the company. By the way, this is the first official negative review I have posted about a company in years so it takes a lot for me to be so angry that I will do this.

Last week, I placed an order on 1/22 for an OTC sinus remedy in the morning. Because I was anxious to receive the product, I paid $7.58 for ground shipping because in the past, doing so caused the product to reach me in two days since I live in Virginia.

I was very upset to receive an email on 1/24 that the product had just been shipped and that it wouldn't arrive until 1/28. According to Vitacost records, it was shipped on 1/23 but I suspect that because it didn't arrive at the UPS facility until late that day, it was not shipped until 1/24.

I was also angry because another supplement I ordered from another vendor in North Carolina that Vitacost does not carry arrived on 1/28. I had placed it on 1/26 with free shipping. The vendor's prices are lower than any other outfit that carries the same product.

So I contacted customer service with my complaint about delayed shipping and kept receiving boiler plate responses. I asked twice for a priority customer service callback to no avail.

During one phone call, I asked to speak to a supervisor and after a period of silence, I gave up. I later read in other reviews that this is common practice in not allowing customers to speak to supervisors.

The emails I sent were an exercise in extreme futility. When I sent a 2nd one, I asked that a supervisor respond. When it was clear one hadn't, I sent another one and again made my request and someone did respond with another typical boiler plate response.

When this person offered me a 5% discount on future purchases, I asked that the shipping charge be waived. I won't repeat what I thought of this person's offer but let's just say it wasn't positive. I never heard back from the company.

As a result of my horrific experience, I decided to post a complaint on my3cents because Vitacost needs to know that providing inferior service is not acceptable. I also wanted customers who were considering doing business with this company to hear about my experience.

After reading posts from VitaCat, a representative of the company who seemed sincere about resolving customer service issues, I decided to email her before posting this complaint. When she didn't respond, I decided to post it.

Needless to say, when my OTC remedy runs out, I will be looking for a new vendor who carries the product at a reasonable price and doesn't gouge for shipping.

     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
dem8899 on 01/29/2013:
As an FYI, VitaCat finally responded to the email I sent yesterday. Unfortunately, she has said nothing to change my mind about the situation.
VitaCat on 02/14/2013:
We sincerely appreciate your long term customer loyalty. I am very sorry that you had a negative experience that upset you to a point that you felt it best to reach outside of the company and warn others. I am the same person, VitaCat, and I have not received the email to which you refer. We do have a rigorous spam system that your email very well could have been lost in, and I apologize for that. I am happy to look over this and work with you to resolve it with your 100% satisfaction.

If the order was to be shipped with expedited shipping methods and it was input by 1PM, EST between Monday and Friday – it should have shipped the same day. Otherwise, it should ship the following business day. If this standard operating procedure is not carried out in that manner, it is our policy to refund the shipping costs. I would be more than glad to take your order information and refund that if this is the case.

To hear that our customers were not able to reach a supervisor when necessary is disheartening. I am sincerely sorry that even one of our customers feel this way. This isn’t our normal business practice and it is honestly the first that I have heard of it. I will definitely share that with the upper management within the Customer Contact Center. Please email me again at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com with the subject line reading “My3cents.com post reply to Catherine Corey” and I will pull that from spam this evening and reply.

Thank you in advance for allowing me to assist you.

Catherine Corey
Customer Communications Specialist
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Aariz on 07/30/2013:
I completely agree with the post. I have burned my fingers twice with Vitacost and they even refuse to make full refund. Swanson and iherb at least care for their customers. One of the orders I made with Swanson was returned from the customs here, but they resent it inside three days. That what's I call service. And iHerb, I have always received my orders inside five days, and I live in Asia. Never asked to wait for 60 days like Vitacost. The COST of shopping at Vitacost is really high!!!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Never Again!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Today was the LAST time I'll order anything from Vitacost! I live in Panama and orders from the US are shipped to my mail forwarding company in Florida. The Vitacost form would not accept my complete mailing address, so my order of almost $300 will NOT reach me. They only give you 15 minutes to cancel an order and by the time I was delayed with their "Chat" and then on hold trying to call them, the 15 minutes had long past. See a copy of the chat from their idiot "representative."

2:38:00 PM : Dottie: Initial Question/Comment: I just placed this order about 10 minutes ago. I have been trying to add "PMB PMA - 60" to my shipping address but your form never adds it. "PMB PMA - 60" is vital to my shipping address. I will NOT receive my order without it. If I do not receive my order due to your error, I will have my credit card company refund my money.

2:38:20 PM : System: Lavon I. has joined this session!

2:38:20 PM : System: Connected with Lavon I.. Your Reference Number for this chat is 41591.

2:38:20 PM : System: Thanks for getting in touch. I'm researching the answer to your question right now. Stay tuned--I'll have a response for you in a moment.

2:39:00 PM : Lavon I.: You are not able to add products to an order unless you cancel the order and redo it.

2:39:14 PM : Lavon I.: You only have 15 minutes to be able to do that though

2:39:39 PM : Dottie: Grrrrrr - I am NOT trying to add a product, simply to have your form reflect my complete mailing address!

2:40:45 PM : Lavon I.: Sorry miss understood.

2:41:05 PM : Lavon I.: Is there an order number for me to be able to look at please.

2:42:47 PM : Dottie: I gave the order number when I signed up for this "chat" - 15765748

2:44:18 PM : Lavon I.: Thank you one moment please.

2:45:23 PM : Lavon I.: I do apologize but I an mot able to pull this order up right now. It will take at least 1 hour for it to download to us in order to see it.
     
Add reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Horrible First Experience With Company
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
I was excited to learn about the company from hearing an ad on the radio. I wish now I had reviewed on the Internet what bad experiences others were having before making my very large order. I purchased about 30 items. Got an email a day or so after saying one item of the many was being shipped separately and I'd get an email when the rest of the items shipped. I got another email and was very excited to learn a day or so thereafter that the rest of the order allegedly had shipped. I received a box marked 2 of 2 which was poorly wrapped and prepared for shipping. Inside was a packing list indicating all remaining items were included in the shipment except the initial item sent previously (still not received by this time) and so I started counting the items sent to me to discover I was missing 18 items (not including the item allegedly previously shipped and the item listed as being on back-order).

I called customer service and held on a while and when I got someone live and told her the situation, she said to hold on so she could transfer me to customer service (curious as that is where I was supposed to be in the first place) and she then "transferred" my call to another period of waiting instead of a live customer support person. After waiting a while, I was directed to leave my phone number so they could call me back. Now I was getting really upset.

I logged on and clicked "chat" and got someone on the line. She wanted me to itemize the 18 items missing. I started doing so (it took awhile) and she looked into it and after a while advised that the first box containing these items had never left the warehouse and she would have it reshipped. Now I am finding all these negative reviews online and am really sorry I didn't do more investigation prior to making my order. We'll see how it turns out ...
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 03/30/2012:
There's a lot of companies in the online vitamin industry. It looks like you'll be switching to one of Vitacost's competitors.
VitaCat on 04/09/2012:
Hi there lorrelle. I would be glad to assist you right now. Please email me your order number to customerservicevc@vitacost.com. Thanks so much for your prompt message!

Catherine C
Social Media CSR
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
A Series of Problems With Initial Vitacost.com Order
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
FLORIDA, FLORIDA -- We recently placed an order for two bottle of Vitacost 16.9 oz. Fish Oil, and two bottles of Vitacost 16.9 oz. Cod Liver Oil. We had a surprising number of issues on this single order. In specific:

1. Shipping was relaiTVely slow.

2. The cod liver was out of stock (no indication of that when we placed the order) and it was shipped separately about two weeks after the fish oil was shipped to us.

3. When the package with the fish oil arrived, we discovered that both bottles were leaking, and there was a strong rancid oil smell.

4. When the package with the cod liver oil arrived, one of the bottles wasn't included in the package, even though the packing slip indicated that both bottles were shipped.

5. When we called Vitacost about the defective fish oil, their customer service told us to discard the shipment, and that they'd immediately issue a credit to our credit card. Weeks later, that credit has never been issued. We've called and emailed Vitacost multiple times about their failure to issue a credit. Their customer service staff has told us any number of times that the credit has been issued on a particular date, we don't receive it, call back, and are given entirely different information.

6. When we called Vitacost about the missing bottle of cod liver oil, again, they claimed to have issued a credit for the missing item, and we have yet to receive the credit. Again, the information that has been provided by their customer service department does not align at all to what my credit card company tells me re the alleged issuance of a credit.

7. We've now called/emailed eight times and still haven't been issued the credits that Vitacost.com promised to issue.

Overall, Vitacost customer service staff aren't hard to reach, but after a whole handful of problems on a single small order, and apparently poor follow through on issuing credits, this has been arguably the worst online vendor of natural supplements that we've ever ordered from.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 02/04/2012:
If I used cod liver oil (I use a generic multivitamin and leave it at that), I'd probably pick up the generic product at our grocery store pharmacy for about $3 per 100 count. Thanks for sharing your experience with Vitacost. It will save people from going through the problems you've had with them.
VitaCat on 02/15/2012:
Hi there, msrw. I am sorry that you experienced the damaged items as well as the lack of assistance. I would personally like to resolve this issue for you as soon as possible. Please send me an email with the order number and the items still not resolved. Once I receive that I can quickly remedy this situation. Although we do have issues arise, we strive to do our best at resolving them. Thank you in advance for allowing us another opportunity to make this right for you.

Catherine C
Social Media CSR
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Close commentsAdd reply
Beware of Vitacost shipping
Posted by on
BOCA RATON, FLORIDA -- I have been a customer of Vitacost for well over 2 years. When I place my orders I order with the expectation that an order will be shipped within 24hrs as indicated on their site. however, they neglect to inform the customer that shipping carrier choice is their option. The majority of health & beauty sites that I have dealt with, automatically ship via UPS unless faster shipping is chosen. I recently ordered $156 of product. The site specified that 2 of them would not be available until a week later which was fine. Everything else would be shipped within 24hrs, I paid for shipping twice for 2 orders. Vitacost shipped the first order UPS & put a tracking # on the site. They included one of the items that wasn't supposed to be available until the later date which was not right. I received the box in 4days. I realized on delivery that the 2nd box would include vitamins that I desperately needed which was 16oz and should have been included in the first box and shipped UPS since it was 1-lb weight. Vitacost specifies that items under 1 lb are shipped using a postal svc company "Mail Innovations" so my order should not have shipped with them. No tracking info. was provided on the site for the 2nd box! after calling customer svc, I found out Vitacost chose to send the 2nd box by postal mail with no expected delivery date &Cust svc could not provide a delivery time frame. I was unable to track the pkg using the tracking # given by customer svc & unable to reach anyone at their carrier, Mail Innovations. This is the 2nd time Vitacost has done this with my order. I'm still waiting for my order. On an order placed in July '09, Vitacost chose to send by postal mail, the same carrier. I was again unable to track the order, I had to leave on vacation, and the package never arrived. I was however able to have my credit card credited. I am annoyed and thoroughly disgusted with the shipping policies, the lack of helpful knowledge of the customer service reps, and the inaccessibility of a viable outlet for complaints and resolutions. Shows how this company cares about customers. It is not worth the hassle to shop here. There isn't even an email address other than within the site to their customer service. Oh, I happened to locate an email address from another disgruntled customer's review. I wish I had read resellerratngs.com before I chose to shop here & stress myself. Do yourself a favor & check them out before ordering.
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
slclemens on 01/13/2012:
I agree, Vitacost is terrible on their shipping and customer service. Their attitude is they don't care and if they lose the package they will charge you the full cost of your order.
njm on 01/14/2012:
I ordered a product from Vitacost and paid extra for faster shipping (priority). It did not arrive on the expected delivery date. When it did arrive it was just loose in a plastic bag, no wrapping or anything. This is not the first time this has happened. Vitacost used to ship in boxes. Their service has gone downhill. When I've ordered from I-Herb, everything has always arrived well packed and in a timely manner. Do yourself a favor and don't order from Vitacost.
RepeatVitacostBuyer on 03/27/2012:
I have been buying from Vitacost for a number of years. Have always been very happy. However, just received my last order and the packaging is strange. Cardboard box, no Vitacost insignia, appears to have been repackaged. Items inside seem like they had oil (?) spilled on them and were wiped off. Items were "thrown" inside a white garbage bag before being placed in box. I have NEVER received a Vitacost order packaged like this.

I'm left to wonder if they were repackaged by Vitacost before mailing or if there was a mishap at UPS or USPS (package went through both) and someone repackaged my items in a new box. I can tell the items were initially in a different box.
Herb Kaplan on 06/29/2012:
Twice I ordered a product and since I live in the Bahamas I paid for UPS worldwide shipping, and twice they sent it DHL Global mail, a form of EMS. I think they are making their money on their shipping with this bait and switch tactic. Their customer service people are on another planet, when you try to talk to them
jaime on 07/03/2012:
I recently placed an order with Vitacost, one of the things was a bottle of jojoba oil. it exploded all over everything. I was told they would refund the bottle but nothing else. the box was literally dripping in oil. I would never walk into a grocery store and buy packages covered in oil, yet they seemed to think it was no problem. horrible customer service and shipping!
Peter on 12/10/2012:
Wish I had read these reviews before placing an order that never arrived. When I contacted Vitacost after 16 days of waiting, I was told that my order had been returned "no reason given" and Vitacost would credit me 1/2 the invoice total and an additional 20% restocking fee (for an order never rec'd). I called to complain and was told they'd credit the full amount...I'm still waiting..$75!!
Michelle on 04/23/2013:
Poor customer service! You are absolutely correct they could careless. I ordered on Saturday morning with 2 day air shipping. I assumed it would ship Monday morning, since I paid extra. No! It shipped late Monday night! So instead of receiving the package Tuesday, I will receive it Wednesday. Contacted customer service. "Sorry, ma'am. The next time order it 1 day air" Seems wrong to me. If I am paying extra fora service, I would think the company would uphold their end of the deal and try to mail the package in a timely manner. If not at least refund the difference which was less than $10. Really? They make (made) a ton of $$ off my family and they couldn't refund less than. $10 because they sat on my order for the entire day. No thank you Vitacost! Thankful there are tons of other choices!
Trish on 10/16/2013:
I've been ordering from Vitacost for many years and have never had any problems with their shipping or customer service. I'm sorry to hear others have had.
Arlene on 12/09/2013:
Trish.. you have just been lucky. I included myself in the same boat.. until my orders started going missing/ never arriving, after weeks of waiting . The customer service reps I dealt with, were totally unsympathetic/ unsatisfactory.. and the company does not track their missing orders or offer easy/ full refunds... or guarantee delivery of orders. I have now been charged hundreds of dollars, for orders that stalled in tracking and then disappeared. There are many similar customer complaints to mine.. posted all over the internet.. and I read that the company has lost it's BBB accreditation due to customer service / lost order related issues. I plan to start credit card chargeback process..as the company has taken my money but failed to deliver my orders. I have read hundreds of complaints online, as to this company.. regarding their lost orders.. and poor customer service. I only wish I had taken the time to research online more.. before I trusted and placed such large orders with Vitacost.
Close commentsAdd reply
Not Trustworthy
Posted by on
BOYNTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- Vitacost.com

Vitacost.com
2055 High Ridge Rd.
Boynton Beach, FL 33426

I have made many purchases with vitacost.com over the past few years. Their products are good and their service is usually good. If you e-mail them about their products and want additional info, then they are very prompt in replying. If you have a problem with them, then forget about e-mailing them. they only want to hear from you if you have something good to say. That is OK, as I could live with that because I enjoyed their products.

Now, here is what I cannot live with. Back in early January this year I placed some orders and at the end of one of my orders was a statement that read.."do you want free shipping on your next order?" I clicked on that site and it was a gimmick and I saw nothing that I was interested in, so, I clicked off that site and back to vitacost.com. I did not join any club or give this site any of my personal info or my debit card number. On 1-30-07, I saw that $14.95 had been charged to my debit card by a company named "shopping essentials plus" Since I had never heard of them, I called my bank and my bank rep called shopping essentials and they told my rep that they got my personal info and debit card number from "vitacost.com". This was a real shock to me. We cancelled my membership with them and several days later they credited my $14.95 back to my account.

I e-mailed vitacost.com and told them about this incident and told them I did not appreciate them giving out my personal info and card number to anyone, and if this is what they were doing, I would never order from them again. They did not reply. I have since e-mailed them two more times and they still have not replied to any of my three e-mails. My 2nd and 3rd e-mails I told them if they do not reply, then that pretty well proves they did give out my personal info. Also told them I would file complaints against them if they did not reply. Still no replies. I have now filed complaints with the Better Business Bureau and the Florida attorney General's Office.

I just do not understand a company that I have given a lot of my supplement business to would do this. The really hard thing is that they will not even reply to my e-mails.

The reason for this e-mail is to warn as many people as I can. Be very careful before you give this company any of your personal info or card numbers. If there were a mix up or Vitacost really did not pass this info on to shopping essentials, then would you not think they would have certainly have responded to my e-mails?

I know that I can no longer trust vitacost.com, and will NEVER buy anything from this company again, and just want everyone to know about them.

John S.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 02/18/2007:
This seems to be happening a lot now. I believe it is a side-effect of the no-call laws. Companies are finding creative ways to sign people up. By creative, I mean dishonest, for the most part.
sexybaby on 12/01/2009:
>>>

GOOD JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!! Something/someone has to wake them up on the way they're treating customers. Maybe warning bells will go off, in their tiny little minds, of the way they are treating people, although, they "should" already know this, and they'll wake up before its too late and they end up losing long time customers along with newbies that will steer clear of them. Oh well, their loss.
Jan on 11/11/2012:
I have been using Vitacost for supplements for about a year and have found them to be reliable and in most cases their products are less expensive even with added shipping. I make it my business to research supplements before I order and understand what the product they offer has in it as labeled.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
A Complete Hassle to Deal With.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ONLINE, FLORIDA -- If I could give negative stars, I would. Their prices and customer service have always been incredible, but I've noticed in the last 6-9 months, they have gone completely downhill. I live in Canada and they started advertising "No surprise tax bill at your door" in their Canada shipping ads. I thought this was too good to be true -- and it was. After my delivery, I emailed them to clarify and their response was:
"We guarantee duty free shipping, however, actual tax may differ from duty. I apologize for any inconvenience."

If that's the case, they really need to stop calling it No surprise tax bill at your door and replace it with no surprise duty bill at your door. I think this is false advertising, however, seeing that 99% of the time I am paying duty when ordering from a US merchant, I'm not surprised when these additional costs do come up upon delivery -- in fact, I expect it.

However, what upset me the most is that in my last two orders, I received the shipment in 2 boxes and they pasted the same total invoice to both boxes -- meaning I paid double the duties/taxes. After it happened the first time, I emailed them and they were quick to refund the duplicate charge, but they could not guarantee it wouldn't happen again. Of course, a mere 2 months later, it happened again on my next shipment and once again, I had to go through the whole process all over again. They claimed they put a refund through on my credit card, but that was nearly a month ago and I called my credit card company who said nothing has gone through yet.

Honestly, it's just not worth the hassle...unfortunately, stay away :( Amazon doesn't deliver most supplements/vitamins to Canadian customers, so I find luckyvitamin.com to be a great alternative if you're in Canada ordering from the US.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Catherine At Vitacost.com on 09/03/2013:
I'm sorry to hear that you had this negative experience. It is possible your order was placed prior to us implementing this No Surprise Tax advertisement and that is the reason you've experienced further fees. Please accept my utmost sincere apologies for this inconvenice. Please email me directly with the details of the order(s) and the further fees incurred and I will get back to you as soon as possible! My email is Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com.

Catherine C
Customer Communications Specialist
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Misleading promos. Bait and switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I just called your customer service line and explained that I was very unhappy with the way Vitacost uses their promo codes as bait but rarely honors them. I became familiar with Vitacost through a promo for $10 off your first order. I familiarized myself with your website and loaded my cart. Upon checkout the system would not take the promo code. I called the customer service line for help only to be told that the coupon could not be combined with any other promo and since the items I chose were on promo, the coupon wouldn't work. They spoke matter-of-fact and they were not sympathetic to the issue and the fact I wasted my time. Nowhere on the coupon did it say that it could not be combined with any other promo. Even though I made that clear to the customer service rep, they did not honor the coupon. At that point I started receiving emails with promos.

A few months later I attempted to use a promo. Again, it wouldn't take it even though I had received the email only 1 day before. Apparently I was 2 hours late. Again, another bait without honoring the promo. You should give your customers a reasonable amount of time to use the promos you advertise to avoid frustration on our end.

Today I tried to take advantage of your BOGO offer on Vitacost products. The banner clearly states in large print "Buy one get one 50% off on Vitacost brand products". So I loaded my cart with two coconut oils and attempted to check out with the promo. It didn't work. I called the customer service line and was told that item was excluded. I'm very frustrated and feel that Vitacost baits us with misleading emails and refuses to honor what they represent to the customer. As I was speaking to the customer service supervisor I noticed the fine print at the very bottom in very small letters "exclusions may apply". Again, a very underhanded way to promote your products. I told the css that I wanted the promo honored for the Vitacost product I chose because after three poor experiences with your promos I was feeling mislead and I wanted them to honor the promo as it was represented. She checked with her manager who denied my request even though I made it clear they would lose my business.

It's unbelievable that this is how your manager handled this situation after I expressed willingness to be loyal to your business if only I was shown an act of good faith and extended a reasonable offer considering I've been jerked around so much.

Vitacost needs a good lesson in customer appreciation and circumstantial exceptions to the hard and fast rule.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Susan on 08/07/2013:
This is not bait and switch - it is the consumer's responsibility to read the terms and conditions and abide by the promo rules.
Catherine at Vitacost on 09/03/2013:
I'm so sorry to hear that you had a negative experience. I am more than happy to share this with the folks that create and execute the promotional offers. In the meantime, if we need to discuess further, please email me directly at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com. Thanks in advance for letting me help!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
What I Can Only Describe as Deliberately Underhand
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
LEXINGTON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I ordered some supplements via Vitacost 26/11/12.

They shipped the box with the 'wrong' order value on the dispatch details, meaning I was charged import duty, where there shouldn't have been any. To reiterate, the value they put on the label outside was not what I paid (invoice), and didn't even match their own pick ticket sheet inside the box.

I did not accept the package as the purchase was specifically calculated not to trigger my countries (UK) import duties. ie under £15. I explained the issue and was told via email, that I would be given a refund if I sent a scan of the charge. I picked up the package and paid the duty. I then sent the scans, and customer support (surprise surprise) refused my promised refund and denied any responsibility.

Customer service is terrible if you have a problem. Whether you're an international or domestic customer, there are better options. My next try will be with Swanson, considerably cheaper and you often get buy 1 get 1 free on many of the same products.

One final thought, If they can lie as easily as they did, their customers truly mean nothing to them.

Hope this helps
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
VitaCat on 01/09/2013:
I am so sincerely sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with your most recent order despite there being no fault of your own. I am more than happy to take a look at the scan you’ve sent us and issue a refund for that amount. Please email me directly at Catherine.Corey@Vitacost.com at your earliest convenience. I am looking forward to resolving this to your complete satisfaction as soon as possible.

Catherine Corey
Social Media Marketing
Vitacost.com
1-800-793-2601
Ariz on 07/30/2013:
I completely agree with the post. I have burned my fingers twice with Vitacost and they even refuse to make full refund. Swanson and iherb at least care for their customers. One of the orders I made with Swanson was returned from the customs here, but they resent it inside three days. That what's I call service. And iHerb, I have always received my orders inside five days, and I live in Asia. Never asked to wait for 60 days like Vitacost. The COST of shopping at Vitacost is really high!!!
Becca on 08/20/2013:
Vitacost CS philosophy: BECOME A MASTER AT SAYING, I AM SORRY, AND LEAVE IT AT THAT. The conversation customers have w/Vitacost begins and ends with one, big, apology, and nothing more.
missy1462 on 09/10/2013:
To say the least, I am shocked at the reviews I have been reading about Vitacost. I have been a very satisfied customer fro many, many years and have never once had a problem with a single order. I also never felt that $4.99 shipping was a bad price to pay, no matter the size of your order. They are probably about the cheapest place I purchase from for shipping costs.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >