Preview Review

Next Review

Yodle Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Damaging to My Practices Advertising Program
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I hired Yodel after long and careful consideration and after 5-6 months of dismal performance and a lot of $ out of pocket canceled the service. My big problem is: Yodle was negligent in taking down my site and damaged my practice by redirecting anyone searching my keywords to their dead site with a dysfunctional phone #. I kept calling Yodle, who are very nice on the phone BTW, but totally incompetent at performing basic operations on my account critical to my practice. Like cancellation! Yodle now after 4 calls and 3+ months still have not taken down the links and site. Not only was this service very poor in performance, dealing with them is like VD.

Yodle is the gift that keeps on giving, making you pay months after you terminate them. They are good at promising and very poor on follow up. Not just one individual, but at multiple echelons of the organization. I asked the last manager to personally call me when he could confirm the site was down and he said no, he would send an email. He refused to give me POC at the legal department as well. Nice huh? Yodle might work for some businesses but is definitely not for a professional service company of any kind based on my experience.

Company Response 02/18/2016:

Hi Kyle,

I work in the corporate communications group here at Yodle and am very sorry to hear you did not have a good experience with us. We strive to provide the highest quality of service and I'm disappointed to hear you did not have this same experience. Please know, we take this feedback very seriously and I work directly with senior management to try and help escalate issues. If you are still having issues with billing and having your website torn down, could you please reach out to me? I'd like to look into this further with the team. I can be reached at gina.balistreri@yodle.com or 646-768-3690. Thank you!

Replies
Advertisement
Fraud!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BESSEMER, ALABAMA -- I received not one lead for the service that I paid for. They charged me 299.00 per month for six months and I did not receive any increased phone calls or business for it. They refused to cancel this service because of the contract. I went to the bank to dispute the charge - nothing happened so I canceled the card and Yodle were somehow ending up with the new card number and I dispute the charge again and canceled the new card and they end up with the new one every time, until they received every cent of the six months that I signed up for. I received nothing for this huge payment to this company. Please Be Aware!

Company Response 03/28/2016:

I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback and am very sorry to hear you had a negative experience with Yodle. If you are still having issues with billing, please feel free to reach out to me and I will help you get the issue resolved. You can reach me at 646-768-3690 or gina.balistreri@yodle.com. Thanks,GB.

Replies
Their Salesmen Are Good, but Don't Fall for It!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I signed up for Yodle with the promise of I would be so busy I would need to hire more people to cover all the leads I was going to get. I was told to give them 2 months and if I was not satisfied I could cancel. I was also told it was a 6 month contract but he convinced me they would let me out of contract if it was not producing.

At month beginning of the 4th month I called in and requested to cancel due to NO LEADS. I was convinced (by a supervisor) they just needed a little more time and they dropped the price from 199.99 to 174.99 a month. At the end of 4th month I called again to cancel due to NO LEADS and was told I could not cancel. I had to give them the full 6 months of payments. After I screamed a lot they reduced the monthly price to 149.99.

So they have had 4 full months for my business & also my husband's business, and I am on the 1st page of Google for search terms. No one would type in. Neither of us had a lead. I was lied to by the salesman and they do not really care if you sign the contract. Do not expect any results.

Company Response 02/18/2016:

Hi Gwen,

I work in the Corporate Communications Department here at Yodle and am very disappointed to hear you felt there was a disconnect between the services you received and the expectations we set during your sales call. I appreciate you taking the time to flag this for us as we take this type of feedback very seriously. We truly care about the success of our customers and would like to look into this further. Please contact me at gina.balistreri@yodle.com or 646-768-3690 so that I can learn more about your experience and bring this issue to the attention of the appropriate departments internally. Thank you.

Replies
Yodle Sales Rep Lies, CS Rep Won't Cancel Account and Hangs Up on Me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INTERNET, OREGON -- Yodle damaged my business with their lies. Don't let the same happen to you! Yodle advertising has negative ROI for me. The template website they built is very poor. When I told them that it failed to reflect my business no changes were made. They still published new site with very misleading information. The services we offer aren't included but some new ones we don't offer are!

I'm not sure their SEO and directory listings are any good. They all go to this template website that fails to even reflect our core services. It's really disappointing! Now I will have to assign a staff member to spend a day fixing all of our directory listings back to the websites and phone numbers under our control.

During our 5 months Yodle has netted us 2 calls from telemarketers trying to sell us more advertising. No sales calls, period. Yodle promised considerable results but really didn't come through. Yodle promised a dedicated account manager. When I called to cancel my account they would not do it. When I asked for my dedicated manager they were not available. I would rate this service ZERO stars but that option is not available.

Company Response 02/18/2016:

Hi Eric,

I just read your review and am very sorry to hear you didn't have more success with our services. I'm particularly disappointed to hear that you felt there was any disconnect between the services you were provided and the expectations set during the sales process. Please know this is not the kind of experience we hope for our 50,000+ customers. While I understand you did not have the same experience, many of our customers have had great success with our SEO program and you can see some of their success stories here: www.yodle.com/success-stories. I appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback, and if you are still having issues with your account website and directory listings please reach out to me directly so I can understand what happened and we can resolve this as soon as possible. You can reach me at 646-768-3690 or gina.balistreri@yodle.com. Thank you!

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible, Never Give Them 15 Minutes or Your $250 Per Month
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- The cost is $250 per month, 6 months minimum. $500 to get out of the contract. Use the money to work with Yelp, MailChimp, and hire a web developer. It's not worth it. I am 73 days into my contract with Yodle. I was told by a Yodle representative I had to manually change my contract status to month-to-month following the initial 6-month term. I called to confirm this. They cancelled my account and lost all of my contacts. I was able to reinstate my login but still have no contacts after 15 days. I called and threatened to cancel my contract but still no contacts. If I were paying $50 or even $100, perhaps this would be an acceptable technical problem.

They allegedly granted me a free month of service as a consolation. I have not seen this come through. For a tech company, their service is not standing up to their promises. And the time I have had to put in to get this resolved far exceeds any potential value. They have 3 months to correct this but so far I am not hopeful. I will likely pay the $500 to get out of the contract. Vote with your dollar right? It's too bad. I was excited about it and it could be such a good opportunity. Make sure to check what they post about you on Yelp and other sites!! This takes some time to maintain.

Company Response 01/05/2016:

Hi, Justine: I responded more thoroughly on a separate review but I want to reassure you that you can absolutely reach out to me. As I mentioned, if these issues have not already been addressed, I'd like to learn more so I can try to help. Again, we appreciate you providing us this feedback and please know we take it very seriously and it will be passed along to the appropriate channels. Please contact me directly at Jessica.mcginn@yodle.com or 646-753-6362 so I can help look into these issues. Thank you for your time, JM.

Replies
Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I too signed up for a six-month membership to have my web advertising all under one roof. I still haven't taken the set-up call because I can see it's just a prelude to getting ripped off even worse. Luckily, I gave them a checking account number for a personal account - not my business account. I'll probably have to close that account before they strip it clean. Wish I never heard of them - I just want them to go away. From what I've read here, it's not going to be that easy. Maybe when they see there's no money in that account they'll lose interest. I really, really don't want them screwing up my existing advertising with their nonsense.

Company Response 12/15/2015:

Hi, George: I believe I responded to you in more detail on a different review site but I just want to reinforce that you can absolutely reach out to me. I would like to look into these issues further and make sure we are able to find a resolution. As I mentioned previously, we handle online marketing for 50,000+ local businesses nationwide and we have a very real interest in our customer's success. Please contact me at jessica.mcginn@yodle.com or directly at 646-753-6362. Thank you, Jessica McGinn.

Replies
High Pressure Sales Pitch
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Spent an hour listening to a high-pressure sales pitch from their representative. She quoted me a fee of $1,300/month with no real guarantee of success. And the $1,300/month rate is for the "silver" membership. If you want "gold" or "platinum" it is considerably more. So it's like the airlines. Top service pays top price, all others ride coach. I told the sales representative that I would gladly pay for results, but not for a prediction of results. That was about the end of the sales pitch.

Company Response 11/17/2015:

Hi, James: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your Yodle sales call. I'm sorry to hear that we won't have the opportunity to work with you. Based on our research, local businesses would have to pay at least twice as much money and purchase multiple point solutions to get something similar to Marketing Essentials, our primary product. While we recognize that each business is different and the services a business offers can have a significant impact on the amount of leads received, we are competitively priced and can deliver strong value for our more than 50,000+ clients across multiple industries and services areas, check out some of these success stories here: http://www.yodle.com/success-stories. This is an unfortunate circumstance but I appreciate you taking time to give us this feedback. Please feel free to reach me at jessica.mcginn@yodle.com or 646-753-6362 if you would like to discuss this further. Thank you again.

Replies
Refund of fees
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

The company, Yodle, has agreed to refund my money. I'm satisfied with their response.

Replies
Advertisement
Don't Be Suckered by Yodle Doing Your Advertising Math
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

LINCOLN, ILLINOIS -- Yodle has taken my cleaning business to the next level... down. An all-out online ad campaign for my cleaning business did include its own new website ($500.+) and top billing for an online presence (over $1200 monthly). I was approached originally by Yodle who took me step-by-step, doing the math, to show how they could garner me young business huge revenues and take us to a new level. They asked how many customer contacts I'm able to "sell". Because my percentage was high they shot me figures on all the new contacts they could bring to me and, together, my profits would multiply like crazy.

Now, well into our third month, and over $4,000 new advertising indebtedness on my credit card, I have seen about a (-)70% return on this investment. Basically, here's some of the real math: a couple of small cleaning jobs, about a handful of useful contacts, finding dropped calls from their answering service, several calls from out of region (probably due to reusing old 800 numbers, which can happen), after the first couple of weeks it's been a continual drop-off in calls, and now, they'd like me to emphasis and advertise a different niche in my services. Frankly, seeing other posts about Yodle, I'm concerned about added costs they may want to stick me with.

During this same period, with only a few personal contacts, I've sold 3/4 new accounts. I'll be fair and repost in a month or so if things change. For now, the math doesn't add up. I guess my fault for expecting it would be as they implied, poor economy, and corporate competition can all play a part. Just disappointed. I'll have to work like a dog to get to break-even just to pay the Yodle bill. Be aware, do your own math, and only proceed with great caution. This has been the most expensive math class I've ever attended. At this point, I'll never do it again.

Replies
Rip Off Plain and Simple
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- This company is people that seem to know everything about web advertising. This if far from the truth. Long story short, $3500.00 in and two recording phone calls. I own a small pest control business in Tennessee. I have been in business for over 20 years. As many others, I ran my own Google AdWords account. What I do best, is sales. I thought the same thing as many others, pay someone else to run my website at a reasonable cost and it would be more than worth it to be in front of more customers resulting in more revenue.

BAD decision, period. If you want to run your business into the ground quickly, be dumb enough to as they say "Put all your eggs in one basket". What a bad idea. Stay Away from this company, and never let anyone have all of the control over any part of your business.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Yodle Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
29 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Yodle
OSRV
50 W.23rd St
New York, NY 10010
877-276-5104 (ph)
www.yodle.com
Compare Miscellaneous Companies