Preview Review

Next Review

Yodle Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Very Damaging to My Practices Advertising Program
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I hired Yodel after long and careful consideration and after 5-6 months of dismal performance and a lot of $ out of pocket canceled the service. My big problem is: Yodle was negligent in taking down my site and damaged my practice by redirecting anyone searching my keywords to their dead site with a dysfunctional phone #. I kept calling Yodle, who are very nice on the phone BTW, but totally incompetent at performing basic operations on my account critical to my practice. Like cancellation! Yodle now after 4 calls and 3+ months still have not taken down the links and site. Not only was this service very poor in performance, dealing with them is like VD.

Yodle is the gift that keeps on giving, making you pay months after you terminate them. They are good at promising and very poor on follow up. Not just one individual, but at multiple echelons of the organization. I asked the last manager to personally call me when he could confirm the site was down and he said no, he would send an email. He refused to give me POC at the legal department as well. Nice huh? Yodle might work for some businesses but is definitely not for a professional service company of any kind based on my experience.

Replies
Advertisement
Stay Away!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Had to sign up for three months with payment up front. Scheduled a time for my staff to learn how to use the service. Scheduled an hour and blocked off patients for the scheduled time. Yodle never called in. I did not realize that they would continue charging my card each month. When I called to cancel, I was told that a bill cycle began today and because I did not call 24 hours earlier I would have to pay $1,500 to get out of the contract. Very misleading! Google Ads are much cheaper and do not require money up front.

Company Response 05/13/2015:

Hello - I'm the PR Manager at Yodle and just read your review. I'm so sorry about the missed appointment. If you contact me at syvenna.siebert@yodle.com with your business name and more details, I will look into this. We definitely want to make sure that it doesn't happen to anyone else. I'm sorry also to hear that there was a miscommunication around your contract – I can look into this as well.

Best,
Syvenna Siebert, PR Manager

Replies
Trying to Cancel Yodle, Getting the Runaround
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK -- On March 2nd I was contacted by Erin regarding internet services. After much badgering, I signed up and gave her my credit card #. Early the next morning I emailed her to cancel my purchase (March 3rd). She did not respond so I called the company's customer service #, and emailed customer service to have my credit card be refunded the funds ($998).

I received an email saying that a 'customer service representative would call me back'. I emailed them back, telling them that was not necessary. They should just refund my money since I changed my mind. On March 5th, I emailed them again asking about my refund. I received a call from Sonny who told me he would take care of it. Then he proceeded to tell me how much Yodle had already invested in 'my success'. I asked him again to process the refund. He continued to filibuster. I had to hang up on him because he would not confirm he was going to process the refund.

Later that evening I received an email from Sonny telling me they had to 'review' my refund at high management. It seems to me they are trying to run out the clock and hope I will tire of trying to get my money back. Both contacts with this company have been negative. The people, Erin, and Sonny do not listen when you tell them something, and Erin is very high pressure. Sonny will agree and agree about the refund, but not process it, refusing to confirm he will refund the money. I received no services from Yodle. I cancelled within hours of the agreement. Their refusal to issue a proper refund, and the delays and endless excuses are not tolerable. I want my money back.

Company Response 05/13/2015:

Hi phil145 – I just read your review and wanted to make sure that everything had been taken care of with your account. If you're not satisfied, you can contact me at syvenna.siebert@yodle.com or 646-770-8974 and I will look into what happened.

Thanks,
Syvenna Siebert, PR Manager

Replies
Terrible, Never Give Them 15 Minutes or Your $250 Per Month
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- The cost is $250 per month, 6 months minimum. $500 to get out of the contract. Use the money to work with Yelp, MailChimp, and hire a web developer. It's not worth it. I am 73 days into my contract with Yodle. I was told by a Yodle representative I had to manually change my contract status to month-to-month following the initial 6-month term. I called to confirm this. They cancelled my account and lost all of my contacts. I was able to reinstate my login but still have no contacts after 15 days. I called and threatened to cancel my contract but still no contacts. If I were paying $50 or even $100, perhaps this would be an acceptable technical problem.

They allegedly granted me a free month of service as a consolation. I have not seen this come through. For a tech company, their service is not standing up to their promises. And the time I have had to put in to get this resolved far exceeds any potential value. They have 3 months to correct this but so far I am not hopeful. I will likely pay the $500 to get out of the contract. Vote with your dollar right? It's too bad. I was excited about it and it could be such a good opportunity. Make sure to check what they post about you on Yelp and other sites!! This takes some time to maintain.

Company Response 01/05/2016:

Hi, Justine: I responded more thoroughly on a separate review but I want to reassure you that you can absolutely reach out to me. As I mentioned, if these issues have not already been addressed, I'd like to learn more so I can try to help. Again, we appreciate you providing us this feedback and please know we take it very seriously and it will be passed along to the appropriate channels. Please contact me directly at Jessica.mcginn@yodle.com or 646-753-6362 so I can help look into these issues. Thank you for your time, JM.

Replies
Advertisement
Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I too signed up for a six-month membership to have my web advertising all under one roof. I still haven't taken the set-up call because I can see it's just a prelude to getting ripped off even worse. Luckily, I gave them a checking account number for a personal account - not my business account. I'll probably have to close that account before they strip it clean. Wish I never heard of them - I just want them to go away. From what I've read here, it's not going to be that easy. Maybe when they see there's no money in that account they'll lose interest. I really, really don't want them screwing up my existing advertising with their nonsense.

Company Response 12/15/2015:

Hi, George: I believe I responded to you in more detail on a different review site but I just want to reinforce that you can absolutely reach out to me. I would like to look into these issues further and make sure we are able to find a resolution. As I mentioned previously, we handle online marketing for 50,000+ local businesses nationwide and we have a very real interest in our customer's success. Please contact me at jessica.mcginn@yodle.com or directly at 646-753-6362. Thank you, Jessica McGinn.

Replies
Refund of fees
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

The company, Yodle, has agreed to refund my money. I'm satisfied with their response.

Replies
High Pressure Sales Pitch
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Spent an hour listening to a high-pressure sales pitch from their representative. She quoted me a fee of $1,300/month with no real guarantee of success. And the $1,300/month rate is for the "silver" membership. If you want "gold" or "platinum" it is considerably more. So it's like the airlines. Top service pays top price, all others ride coach. I told the sales representative that I would gladly pay for results, but not for a prediction of results. That was about the end of the sales pitch.

Company Response 11/17/2015:

Hi, James: Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your Yodle sales call. I'm sorry to hear that we won't have the opportunity to work with you. Based on our research, local businesses would have to pay at least twice as much money and purchase multiple point solutions to get something similar to Marketing Essentials, our primary product. While we recognize that each business is different and the services a business offers can have a significant impact on the amount of leads received, we are competitively priced and can deliver strong value for our more than 50,000+ clients across multiple industries and services areas, check out some of these success stories here: http://www.yodle.com/success-stories. This is an unfortunate circumstance but I appreciate you taking time to give us this feedback. Please feel free to reach me at jessica.mcginn@yodle.com or 646-753-6362 if you would like to discuss this further. Thank you again.

Replies
Don't Be Suckered by Yodle Doing Your Advertising Math
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

LINCOLN, ILLINOIS -- Yodle has taken my cleaning business to the next level... down. An all-out online ad campaign for my cleaning business did include its own new website ($500.+) and top billing for an online presence (over $1200 monthly). I was approached originally by Yodle who took me step-by-step, doing the math, to show how they could garner me young business huge revenues and take us to a new level. They asked how many customer contacts I'm able to "sell". Because my percentage was high they shot me figures on all the new contacts they could bring to me and, together, my profits would multiply like crazy.

Now, well into our third month, and over $4,000 new advertising indebtedness on my credit card, I have seen about a (-)70% return on this investment. Basically, here's some of the real math: a couple of small cleaning jobs, about a handful of useful contacts, finding dropped calls from their answering service, several calls from out of region (probably due to reusing old 800 numbers, which can happen), after the first couple of weeks it's been a continual drop-off in calls, and now, they'd like me to emphasis and advertise a different niche in my services. Frankly, seeing other posts about Yodle, I'm concerned about added costs they may want to stick me with.

During this same period, with only a few personal contacts, I've sold 3/4 new accounts. I'll be fair and repost in a month or so if things change. For now, the math doesn't add up. I guess my fault for expecting it would be as they implied, poor economy, and corporate competition can all play a part. Just disappointed. I'll have to work like a dog to get to break-even just to pay the Yodle bill. Be aware, do your own math, and only proceed with great caution. This has been the most expensive math class I've ever attended. At this point, I'll never do it again.

Replies
Advertisement
Rip Off Plain and Simple
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH CAROLINA -- This company is people that seem to know everything about web advertising. This if far from the truth. Long story short, $3500.00 in and two recording phone calls. I own a small pest control business in Tennessee. I have been in business for over 20 years. As many others, I ran my own Google AdWords account. What I do best, is sales. I thought the same thing as many others, pay someone else to run my website at a reasonable cost and it would be more than worth it to be in front of more customers resulting in more revenue.

BAD decision, period. If you want to run your business into the ground quickly, be dumb enough to as they say "Put all your eggs in one basket". What a bad idea. Stay Away from this company, and never let anyone have all of the control over any part of your business.

Replies
Complete Scam - Bait & Switch
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- Complete FRAUD. The salesperson will tell you anything to get you to sign up and pay them. As soon I paid, they demonstrated nothing but utter incompetence. I paid $3K and when it became obvious their scheme was a bait & switch, I requested to cancel via phone, email & letter and they refused, saying that I paid and they would not refund anything. I literally feel like they have stolen my money.

They did not provide even 1 valid lead in months - all I got was tons of wrong numbers all day and people looking for different services than my company offers. Let me repeat, not even 1 lead from someone looking for the service my company provides. RUN, don't walk from these frauds and thieves or sign up at your own peril.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Yodle Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 17 ratings and
26 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Yodle
OSRV
50 W.23rd St
New York, NY 10010
877-276-5104 (ph)
www.yodle.com
Compare Miscellaneous Companies