[X]

Zipcar

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
3 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Zipcar is deceptive and doesn't care about their customers
Posted by Angelina03 on 08/01/2008
NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Zipcar in nyc is disgusting. I've been a member for a year and from the very first rental the cars are filthy with dirt and animal hair all over and smell. they tell you to clean the car and fax the receipt so that is what I did then they closed my account and said that I was complaining too much and expecting too much wanting clean cars. Almost all of the rentals had mechanical problems and they do not care that I had my kids in the car either the office on 32nd st and bdway in nyc told me if I was not happy that their cars aren't safe they would terminate my membership which they did. after they reopened my acct Joel Johnson said don't fax anymore receipts or we will close your acct again. the other manager I dealt with was Jessica O from the nyc office, a real rude person. I also dealt with Joel Johnson who seemed more helpful but then just started avoiding me instead of helping their members they penalize their members for cleaning the cars and wanted a sfe car for their family. They never tried to accommodate me for all of the car breakdowns and dirty cars. I tried to do the right thing like they say to call in the problem and they said I was complaining too much they closed my acct again because I called customer service to reset my password when I couldn't log in. I contacted Jessica and she said too bad she also told me that if my son has asthma not to put him in the car. In nyc the gas cards are always missing they want me to pay for gas but tell me I can't fax the receipts. I contacted peter from the corporate office trying to resolve the issue and he said he is keeping the account closed. He is director of member services in massachussetts. His number is 617-995-4224 if you need to contact him. He made sure he backed Jessica up so now I am taking them to court for all of the harassment they have put me through, aside from closing my account and not saying a word until I tried to login and saw that my account was terminated. zipcar doesn't want to deal with their customer complaints and fix the problems instead they rather get rid of them. Now they need to pay for treating a valuable customer like total crap. Just remember the names that I posted and how they are quick to penalize and not help.

     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by dan gordon on 2008-08-01:
you most likely are such a neat person you should really own your car. A rental type vehicle will never meet your high standards of excellence. I use Zipcar and its fine, but I don't expect perfection. Its not like avis or hertz where they have a garage to wash the car after each use. I think I'd bar you as well.
Posted by Angelina03 on 2008-08-03:
it's not perfection that i expect it is getting a service that i am promised and pay for when i joined. If they say they clean their cars then keep them clean. Their customer service sucks and they disrespected my son for having asthma. It's not about being neat it is about being clean and i see by reading blogs on line that a lot people feel the same way as i do. If you like a dirty car that smells and has damage then so be it. Zippy don't have to be hertz you a paying for a service and should get at the minimum a decent car that is safe, aside from good customer service and a company admitting when they are wrong. Don't be so quick to defend them cause if you could agree with them then you have issues as well. Sorry you expect less then respect but i don't, not when i am paying for it. Before you sign up they advertise all the good things and don't even get near serving their purpose. Enjoy driving in filth as for me I will continue being clean. Take care and god bless!!!
Posted by jimworcs on 2009-07-04:
Take a moment to re-read you complaint and ask yourself how you think others might perceive it. Sounds to me like three separate people reviewed your complaints and found them to be unfounded. They responded by stating that as you didn't seem to like the service they offered, they would stop the service. It was reinstated at your request, and the same thing continued. What is the point of a lawsuit... you don't like their service and they don't like your custom. Why don;t you guys just call it quits and move on? What is the point of litigation?... unless of course, you are a nutjob
Posted by BokiBean on 2009-07-04:
If you were complaining "too much", and your complaints were valid, why are you complaining about them closing your account? Seems like you would be glad to move on..
Posted by lefty on 2012-02-20:
Well I can see ZIPCAR does Axel in one common thing across the board in any state and that's DISSATISFYING ALOT OF PEOPLE, I CAN SAY THEY'VE SUCKED ME IN TOO.
THANK GOD I DON'T COMPLAIN ALOT ABOUT THE TYPICAL STUFF YOU HAVE TO PUT UP WITH WHEN RENTING A CAR,ANYONES CARS,SCRATCHES AND DINGS,SOME LADYS HAIR(not much)BUT I AGREE with you!ZIPCAR TOUTS THIS SQUEAKY CLEAN,GREEN,COLLEGE RUN,HIP ,IMAGE , IN
DC,IT'S MORE LIKE HIGH SCHOOLERS ARE RUNNING IT,I ZIP FROM A AFFINIA HOTEL RUN PLACE CALLED THE LIASON,IT HAS "CLUB" MUSIC PLAYING IN IT'S RESTROOMS,MOST OF THE STAFF ARE QUASEY-GAY TYPES,no ones OVER 28,it's seems,yet they let they're staff Park IN ZIPCAR SPACES,YOU AND I KNOW THEY'RE POLICY ON LATE RETURNS,$50.00 bucks!!!!! SO GETTING DOWN IN A PARKING GARAGE AND FINDING NO SPACE,BECAUSE VALETS HAVE PARKED THEY'RE CARS THERE IS INCOMPREHENSIBLE TO ME, YET THEY DON'T WANT TO ADDRESS IT,SO,I NOTICED ANOTHER ZIPSTER PARKED HIS CAR IN THE TRAVEL LANE,(IT WAS THERE FOR 12HOURS,CAUSE I RENTED @ 10am,AND IT WAS STILL THERE TEN PM,ZIPCAR WAS SENT THE PICTURES THEY DON'T CARE,! SO I'M SAYING TO YOU OR ANYONE THAT USES THEM TAKE LOTS OF PICS OF THE CAR BEFORE and AFTER YOUR ZIP,PROTECT YOURSELF !!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Customer Service Sucks
Posted by Garysantos on 04/19/2014
NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- With regard to rollovers of credits if you have a $75 plan or higher, did you know that if your reservation goes beyond into the day the credit expires, Zipcar will not consider by default that your reservation was made the day prior to the day of credit expiration? So, in my case, the credit was expiring on the 13th, my reservation went into the 13th, 1 AM. Hence, I was not able to use my credit even if the great bulk of my use was on the 12th.

My complaint is:

(1) The lack of disclosure of the use of credits with regard to the expiration date. Zipcar only says "If Beethoven had been a Zipcar member (yeah, we know that's not possible) and he chose a plan with rollover, he wouldn't have to worry about using up all his driving credits during the month."

(2) Customer Service strongly implied that it was my fault for not knowing this undisclosed provision of the use of credits.

I asked to speak to someone who had better sense. Instead of passing me over to another person, she said, "I confirmed that I was correct but we are giving you credit for one more month for $75."

I commented that she is making me feel that it was still my fault to which she said that she did not say that. She simply said that she confirmed that she was correct in interpreting the use of credits - that the use should not go into the day the credit expires. The call could have been better handled. Zipcar appears to have neglected training their front office.

If there were a competitor of Zipcar in my area, I would open an account with the competitor. Zipcar's policies are undisclosed and unfair in application. One has to get angry and complain and have the good sense to appeal. There are comments on the internet on the need to complaint, e.g. the car was damaged after it was returned in tact but the person was charged $750 for unreported damages (NYTimes, January 2011, Steven [snip]). This complaint process appears to be part of their business model given the accompanying lack of disclosure.
     
Add reply

Zipped Off
Posted by Gownlife on 05/16/2011
160 N. WABASH -- BE CAREFUL ....BE CAREFUL......BE CAREFUL!!

I always write reviews to get a bad experience off my chest, but this time it is primarily as a warning to fellow readers and secondly for my own therapeutic needs.

I have been a Zip Car member for several years.

On May 4th I rented a car. There was a warning light that said the tire needed air now. I dropped a friend at the post office and went to a gas station immediately. I tried to fill with air, but before I even got the hose near the air valve it broke off. I called Zip Car reported the damage and they acted like I didn't know how to put air in a tire. I convinced them that this tire needed replacement and it would never fill with air. They asked me to change the tire, but I didn't feel comfortable doing it. They sent for roadside assistance. I ran back to the post office (6.5 blocks) to give my friend cab fare or my bus card, but he was gone. I went back to the gas station and waited for another hour and half before someone arrived to change the tire. The gas station I was at is in front of a housing project. Not the most dangerous of projects, but not a place I want to spend time. I was approached by someone to change my tire and he was persistent but I was able to convince him help was on the way. The help finally came and the tire was changed and I dropped the car back at its home.

The next day I get an email from Zip Car telling me they are researching my case and that they would make a final determination.

I was emailed back today and told I owe $726.35.

Why I say 'be careful' is because Zip Car treats any incident that happens on your reservation as your fault or your responsibility. They cited that had I done their six step preliminary check of the car I would have not taken the car and not be charged. My feeling is I still would have tried to fill the tire with air. I mean, how difficult is that?

I have read other reviews and the reviews stated that when damage was called in ....Zip Car charged those that called in the damage. So why call it in? Why be honest? In my case, I was stranded, but why should someone call in a broken latch ...only to get a bill?

Zip Car should charge a little more per hour as insurance to cover wear and tear on their vehicle which does happen in a fast paced urban environment

Zip Car is a great idea in theory, but not in practice
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2011-05-16:
Sounds like they hit you for the roadside call, a new tire and maybe a new rim. Ouch!

I see what you mean, but I'm usually of the opinion that honesty is the best policy.

This... stinks. Are they claiming that you hit something, and it damaged the tire valve?
Posted by Venice09 on 2011-05-16:
My daughter and her husband use Zipcar often. I'll pass this information along so at least they'll be aware of the possibilities.
Posted by Anonymous on 2011-05-17:
My daughter used zipcar in Boston but, luckily, she never ran into any problems. That bill seems exorbitant if it's just for a tire. You could buy an entire set of tires for less than that. Thanks for giving people the heads up.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >