Preview Review

Next Review

AARP Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Professional Thieves
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

USA -- I am ashamed to say I have been an AARP member for 13 years. Actually it's 18 years, but just one more thing they have trouble keeping track of. All these years, warning bells have been going off, but I pushed them aside, because they are AARP, the organization helping seniors and fighting for their rights and supporting them. Huh!

Every year they send a renewal notice. I would check my records, see that my membership had years on it, throw the notice away, and grumble. This year they sent the renewal and I paid it. The new card came exp. March 2026. When I put it in my wallet, I pulled out my old card exp. March 2025. I had over four years left. So why did they send me a renewal? AGAIN? Why did they take my $12 without saying a word? Suddenly it was all clear to me.

AARP sends renewal notices to everyone, every year, because, like me, many will just pay. OMG! The amount of money they are stealing from seniors is immense. BTW, I was set up for auto renewal when I expired in 2025, so they have absolutely no reason to tell me I need to renew. Well, they have one reason: line their pockets with more of my money.

This unsavory marketing practice is not the only thing that has become clear to me. I realized that over the last 18 years, AARP had done nothing for me. Zero! Their discounts are minuscule and I always saved much more by finding my own discounts on travel. I went on their site to get help with a resume and was shocked at how much they were going to charge me. I got excellent free help somewhere else. I throw their magazine away because it has no substance. It is filled with ads targeting seniors. So why am I paying them to be a member? I get better discounts through my credit card company and my auto club. And neither one of them try to get me to pay a membership every year that has already been paid.

When I called to get my $12 back, and complain about their practices, both Brittany and Allison told me they had neither a last name or employee number, which was of course a lie. They didn't want anything coming back to bite them. A few minutes later I called again to cancel my membership entirely and Roxanne volunteered her employee number, saying all AARP employees had them.

AARP has been the largest source of misinformation this country has had over the last 60 years. I fell for it, but finally had my eyes opened. Millions are still buying into it. I realize that is a choice. But AARP's practices are, I think, criminal. Who can investigate them and force them to clean up their act?

Replies
AARP - Carnival Gift Card - $100.00
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I purchased a Carnival Cruise Gift Card on 1/22/2020 in the amount of $90.00 from AARP Rewards. Money was taken from my checking account on 1/22/2020. On 2/17/2020 I got on ship "Elation" & handed both gifts cards that I had purchased through AARP Rewards. One worked & the other didn't (CARD # ** - PIN **). I was advised by Carnival Guest Services that the card didn't have any money on it!!! I called AARP Rewards spoke with Christy & was provided Reference # ** for my concern.

While I was at the Carnival Guest Services Christy advised me that she could send another gift card to see if that one would work. She did - but she sent the exact same card that didn't have any money on it. Wasn't happy since I was standing at Guest Services on my phone & didn't appreciate her lack of concern. She wanted to argue & me telling me the money was on the card but the Carnival representative got on the phone with her & told her that both cards HAD NO BALANCE on them. I immediately asked for my membership to be terminated & the $12.00 was credited back to my account on 2/18/2020. But I was told that it would be 3-5 days until the $90.00 would be credited back to my account.

When I returned to the states on 2/22/2020 - I called AARP to follow-up on my $90.00 refund - but was told by Pilar that it would take 3-5 day business days before issuance of refund. I asked to speak with a supervisor & was transferred to Michelle in Florida. I was then advised by Michelle that on the 5th business day, which was 2/25/2020 my money would be back in my account.

On 2/25/2020 - I checked bank & still no refund of $ 90.00 from AARP. I called AARP once again & spoke with a lady that I couldn't understand her & when I asked for her name - we got disconnected. I called back & asked to speak with a supervisor. I was again transferred. The lady I spoke to was Sherika but she told me that she wasn't a supervisor but would try to help me with my concern. She told me that my case was closed out because both my cards worked, per the notes that she was reading.

I immediately advised her that wasn't correct - & asked to speak with a supervisor & was transferred to back to Michelle from Florida, same lady that I spoke with on 2/24/2020. She told me that AARP has 3-5 business days to refund my money & today was the 5th day & the day wasn't over yet & hopefully I would get my money by the end of today. I advised her of what Sherika told me but she told me that there were no notes to reflect what she told me & didn't understand why I was told this. By this time I was pissed because this isn't want I was told to begin with.

I was told on 2/17/2020 that my money would be sent back to my account within 3-5 business cards & as of 2/25/2020 - my $90.00 had not been refunded to my account. I have called AARP on 2/17; 2/22; 2/24; 2/25; 2/26 & 2/27 with no results of when my money will be sent back to me. AARP can take money out of my account for a Carnival Gift Card the day of purchase, but it takes this long to get my money back and at not one time can anybody explain to me why this happened.

On 2/26/2020 I called AARP & spoke with Alexas & she told me that my original reference # ** wasn't in the system any longer & she would have to escalate my complaint to another department. She gave me another reference # 126617750 & stated that I should either receive a email or phone call before 3/2/2020 concerning my refund of $ 90.00. I did receive a email from JoAnne asking me to call her at 1-888-687-2277, which I did but no one knew of JoAnne & didn't know why I was calling them.

I have a Carnival Gift Card that was purchased through AARP rewards on 1/22/2020 for $90.00 that I wasn't able to use on my vacation because there was no money on the card that AARP sent to me via email. This is FRAUD. I have e-mail the CEO of AARP, per Stella at AARP (JoAnne Jenkins - twice) but nothing has been received concerning my issues or my refund.

I have contacted my bank & have started the process of paperwork to show that FRAUD was committed by AARP & hope to get my money back. Maybe I will get a response from your organization but wanted to file a complaint against AARP to bring out the lack of concern & failure to refund money to someone for services and/or goods not received. As well as my dissatisfaction that I have experienced with AARP. If you want to call me my number is ** - to discuss this complaint - I look forward to hearing from you. Sincerely, Stacey **

Replies
This Insurance Company Is Very Evil
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- In the beginning of 2014 AARP cut off one of my main drugs called GLYBURIDE for diabetes and said they were not paying for it anymore and were substituting a less expensive drug they said called Glyburide. The new drug ended up almost killing me causing over 21 side effects over the first weekend I started taking it. I was inches away from death. I called them and the customer service department told me twice that this Glyburide was too expensive and that is why they changed drugs. It turned out that was a lie. I can get this drug at WalMart three months for only $39.00.

I talked to my doctor and we came up with a plan to appeal this decision for them to get me back on the Glyburide and she wrote up 4 different times the appeal paperwork. They came up with a decision within one day and that was too quick. Come to find out my doctor as well found out when she called them that they never read any of the appeal paperwork.

When she started asking questions about the drug as well as other questions they stalled and knew hardly anything. The pharmacy told me drug companies often do this because of cost of the drug. I said what if people get sick and he said drug and insurance companies do this all the time and to get used to it and that there was nothing that could be done about this company and that they had had trouble with them in the past.

My doctor called me later in the week and told me that almost all her patients had problems with AARP UnitedHealthcare and that that was the worst Medicare Insurance companies she has ever had to deal with because they cut and deny almost everyone on tons of drugs.

I know I am not the only one that had this happen to me. It is not the cost if Walmart could still get the Glyburide to me for a low price. So, the doctor gave me a prescription immediately for the old drug Glyburide and I took it to Walmart and had it filled and am still doing that today and will still have to do this because of AARP's greediness and poor and shotty customer service as well as a horrible appellate division that can care less about the elderly and the sick. It is about $$$ only to them. They're greedy jerks that have no conscience.

It is not my fault I am diabetic and have been in two car wrecks causing my medical problems. I feel that AARP thinks that all diabetics cause their own demise and medical problems and that is not the case at all. Please never ever, never ever ever ever, never ever get this insurance company.

I know of at least 25 people at Church since last year that have switched insurance companies because of what happened to me as well as similar stuff that happened to them in 2014 the same year per my story. Of course my doctor said they never read any of their appeal paperwork either. She also said of all the insurance companies in Oregon AARP is the worst one to deal with to get stuff approved because they don't care about the elderly whatsoever.

I would not recommend this insurance company to anyone not even someone that is one of my worst enemies in the entire world. I hate your GUTS a million times over AARP UnitedHealthcare or whatever one of the over 50 names that you have. I do not care how much money or the trillions you have because of your ** greediness.You suck big green boogers coming out of your nose. What you did to me and the 25 people at my Church did not have to ever, ever happen. You are horrible AARP UnitedHealthcare.

Replies
Coverage Gap Exceptions
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

HOT SPRINGS, ARKANSAS -- I am in the coverage gap (donut hole) with my medicine costs. I found that not all drug expenditures count toward the $5100.00 that puts me into the catastrophic stage where my copays are much less. There appears to be organizations that help relieve me of some costs that United doesn't pay and is not responsible for. Here is their explanation:

"Payments made for your drugs by any of the following programs or organizations: "Extra Help" from Medicare; Medicare's Coverage Gap Discount Program; Indian Health Service; AIDS drug assistance programs; most charities; and most State Pharmaceutical Assistance Programs (SPAPs). These payments fall under a column titled "Other Payments" and do not count toward the $5100.00 threshold." If the drug companies are paid by either me, United or these organizations, why don't they count toward my threshold? When I called United Customer Service, no one could answer my concern nor had they ever had the question before. Another way Ins Cos get away with bilking the public?

Replies
Advertisement
No Discount on AARP Car Rentals, 25% Higher
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALA CYNWYD, PENNSYLVANIA -- AARP has a travel division and offers DISCOUNTS? to members. I wanted to rent a car for a visit to Florida. AARP offers members to visit a vendor they say has a SPECIAL? relationship with its members. On this site car rentals had, on average, 25% higher quotes, than if the members were to visit the individual car rental companies and book directly. WHAT GIVES AARP? Why rip off the mostly older, fixed income, members. Do you lend your BRAND? to vendors for a PRICE? and let them just have their way with the MEMBERS???? Shame on you, no integrity. I wanted a discount on my car rental, not a $25% MARK-UP!!!

Replies
Renewal
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PALMDALE, CALIFORNIA -- I have been an AARP customer for the past 10 years. Had automatic renewal all 10 years. Every year they send me a notice that they're going to debit my account. This year they did not. They debited it on the 1st and I don't get paid until the 3rd and they told me when I called them that they will not refund the NSF fee. They do not do that on automatic renewals. So now my dog and I are out $35.

I'm a disabled veteran. I make $1,400 a month on Social Security and I told them all this and they don't care. They won't refund the NSF fee. They knew because I've called in every year and told them wait until the 3rd and they always did and this year I called in and that lady couldn't care less. I do not understand. Good customer service get you nothing at this company. I've never been able to use their card anywhere. Every time I pull it out or we don't take AARP so what the hell are they good for. Please people do not use these people. They will take your money and do nothing for you.

Replies
AARP Roadside Assistance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- Today my husband needed a jump on his truck after having lunch and so he called AARP Roadside Assistance. This was at approximately 12:30 p.m. About an hour later no one had showed up so a stranger offered to give him a jump. He went straight to the Toyota Dealer to have his truck checked out and purchased a new battery.

At approximately 3:45 p.m. he received a call from a service driver who called to tell him he was on his way to jump his truck. My husband told him that was 3.5 hours ago and that a total stranger had jumped his truck 2.5 hours ago and thanks for nothing. We have had this service and been paying premiums since 2007 and this is the first time we have TRIED to use the service. So lesson learned... DO NO BUY AARP ROADSIDE ASSISTANCE!!!! THEY DO NOT SHOW UP!!!!

Replies
Special Deals for Members at Noon Everyday
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

A "Daily Deal" is posted every day and becomes available at noon. But as soon as it becomes available, It says "All Items are already in Carts". So you wait and wait and wait and still can't add one to your cart. How can that be? How can they already be in carts when the contest hasn't even opened up? This is such a scam. They've changed it. I use to be able to click and continue clicking and usually got one. Can't do that now. How is that Fair? AARP has gone downhill since I joined years ago. How SAD! R ** Vancouver WA. 98664

Replies
Advertisement
I Donated to Annual Fund and They Ask for More Money About 3 Times Each Month
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I have been donating money to the AARP foundation annually and have requested several times to be reminded ONCE (1 time) each year and no more. Still, they continue to send me donation requests an average of about 3 times per month (36 times per year!).

Also, around September 1, 2017, I received an AARP 2018 calendar along with a request to the 2018 annual fund and I made a donation of $102. About a month later I was upset to receive a letter from AARP stating I had not yet responded! How Rude and Unprofessional!

I had to respond with proof that I had made my donation to correct THEIR mistake! My likelihood of donating to the 2019 annual fund as well as renewing my membership in 2019 is decreasing with each additional donation request received. AARP needs to get its act together.

Replies
Do Not Sign Up for AARP Roadside Assistance!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO -- I have a major complaint about the AARP roadside assistance. I paid for my tow and was to be reimbursed. My plan says under 100 miles. The tow was 40 miles. I paid $198 to the AARP representative on the phone. I was only reimbursed $120. I called and the person I spoke with said that is all I will get back. I am very disappointed in this service and have asked to cancel. I do not recommend this service at all.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

AARP Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 53 ratings and
84 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
AARP
601 E Street, NW
Washington DC 20049
1-888-687-2277 (ph)
www.aarp.org
Compare Auto Insurance Companies