Home BudgetingWarranty Services

Choice Home Warranty Review

, Editor | Updated November 19, 2018

Choice Home Warranty is a home warranty company offering economically priced coverage plans, but it has a checkered past. The company is only recently beginning to gain a reputation for trustworthiness and dependability. While we recommend you read the fine print in your Choice Home Warranty contract and be aware of their history, Choice Home Warranty coverage might be right for you if you’re looking for complete coverage and cheap service fees.

We maintain strict standards of editorial integrity when writing our guides & reviews to help you make decisions with confidence. To help support our site, some of the products we highlight are from our partners and we may receive compensation when you visit their sites.

Choice Home Warranty Plans, Coverage and Cost

What are the plans offered by Choice Home Warranty?

There are just two Choice Home Warranty plans: The Basic Plan ($33.33 a month or $370 a year) and the Total Plan ($40 a month or $450 a year). Because the Basic Plan does not include air conditioning systems, refrigerators, washers, and dryers, all known for pricey repairs, most people choose the Total Plan.

Choice Home Warranty is not currently available in Washington or California.

What is covered by Choice Home Warranty

Basic Plan Total Plan
Cost $33.33 a month ($370 a year $40 a month ($450 a year)
Covers
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Whirlpool bathtubs
  • Ovens/ranges/stoves
  • Cooktops
  • Dishwashers
  • Built-in microwaves
  • Garbage disposals
  • Garage door openers
  • Ceiling and exhaust fans
Does not include: air conditioning, refrigerators, washers, and dryers
  • Air conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Whirlpool bathtubs
  • Refrigerators
  • Ovens/ranges/stoves
  • Cooktops
  • Dishwashers
  • Built-in microwaves
  • Garbage disposals
  • Clothes washers
  • Clothes dryers
  • Garage door openers
  • Ceiling and exhaust fans

For either plan you can pay more for optional add-ons. These include:

  • Pools and spas
  • Central vacuums
  • Second refrigerators
  • Well pumps
  • Sump pumps
  • Septic systems
  • Limited roof leaks
  • Stand-alone freezers

How much does Choice Home Warranty cost?

Choice Home Warranty costs range from approximately $33 a month to $40 a month. That’s $350 a year for the Basic Plan and $450 a year for the Total Plan.

Choice Home Warranty offers no legitimate options for customizability, unlike its competitor, American Home Shield. The only chance to alter the predetermined plans is if you opt to tack on additional optional coverage. Choice Home Warranty’s service fee, however, at $60, is one of the cheapest you’ll find.

Note: If your house is more than 5,000 square feet, your rates will go up to $670 a year on the Basic plan and $750 a year on the Total Plan.

If you are looking for more customizable plans, American Home Shield might be a better option for you. Furthermore, at a B rating from BBB over Choice Home Warranty’s C rating, American Home Shield is considered a more trustworthy option. However, if you read the fine print of a Choice Home Warranty contract and understand its claims, and if you are looking for cheaper service fees, Choice Home Warranty might be the right choice for you.

Our Review: The Deep Dive

Consumers have criticized Choice Home Warranty as being deceptive and taking advantage of loopholes in contracts. This is not underheard of in the home warranties industry, but the state of New Jersey even fined Choice Home Warranty $800,000 for deceptive advertising practices. Therefore, it’s best that you read the fine print of your contract before signing up.

Choice Home Warranty does not cover damage from pre-existing conditions. So if you are looking for Choice Home Warranty to fix a lot that’s currently wrong with your home before you enter under their coverage, think again. The Choice Home Warranty appliance replacement protocol also receives a lot of flak. They sometimes offer cash in lieu of a repair if they feel an item cannot be easily replaced, but that doesn’t mean the cash will be a completely fair reimbursement.

Customer service is available throughout the day, and you can submit a service request at any time. Keep in mind that this only means Choice Home Warranty will receive your request, not that your problem will be fixed, as many contractors work a regular 9 to 5 schedule and will not be available at odd hours of the day or on weekends. The Choice Home Warranty phone number for the Service Department is (888) 373-7924. When you file a claim, your assigned team of representatives will give you an estimated completion date.

Choice Home Warranty does not require a home inspection, as some other companies do.

Choice Home Warranty cancellation requests must be submitted in writing. All cancellations incur a $50 administrative fee. Consumers are entitled to a prorated refund of their contract cost. The minimum contract length is 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty has a C rating from the Better Business Bureau and is not BBB accredited. BBB has reprimanded Choice Home Warranty in the past for offering inappropriate financial incentives to consumers who left positive reviews.

Tip: If you go with the Total Plan and are able to afford the yearly payment, you will save $30 a year when compared monthly payments.

Like other companies in the industry, Choice Home Warranty has a 30-day waiting period between you signing up and the contract going into effect.

Conclusion

Benefits:

Choice Home Warranty has just about the lowest service call fees around, at $60.

Drawbacks:

Deceptive advertising has earned Choice Home Warranty a bad name. Loopholes often allow the company to either not replace your appliances and systems or offer you a petty cash reimbursement rather than a full repair.

Bottom Line:

If you’re looking for a cheap home warranty company to help protect your home, consider Choice Home Warranty. But be aware of their past and know what you are getting into.

Consumer Reviews

Posted on 07/17/2019

HENDERSON, NEVADA -- I had a pipe burst in the attic of my house. Time sensitive issue. Best they could do was an appointment in 2 days. I contracted the repair out privately. Job done. Later, I found I could have called to get prior authorization for my own contractor. Easier said than done. No company wants to spend 30 minutes on hold and then get the request denied.

I retroactively appealed the decision, and they gave me a run around. First, they tried to deny the claim (exclusions), then they said absolutely need prior authorization for out of their network. After much arguing, they offered to pay me $100 toward the $562 dollar repair. This is for a good customer, with two contracts. Likely I would have gotten squat without that. So: Many exclusions, then they try to low ball the repair or replacement. They do not provide emergency service. Contractors hate them. I hate them. Slow or no service. Lots of bad ratings, well deserved. Steer clear, and watch out for the sales pitch.

Posted on 07/13/2019

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Stay far away from Choice Home warranty. My husband warned me that they are a rip-off but I chose to stay with them anyway. So after some time went by my air conditioning went out. The technician they sent out said it was a bad coil that they just go out sometimes. I asked him if there was any reason and he said no. They simply break. So then I had a Home Depot carrier representative come out and look and he said the same thing. Well Choice warranty said they would not cover it because there were some leaves in the outside unit of the air conditioner. They said that meant I was not maintaining it properly.

After reading other reviews I see that they just get out of paying on most claims by claiming there's rust or it's dirty and not maintained. So then after many many calls they offered me a "good faith" amount of $375. (The unit is going to cost me $4,000 plus dollars.) Now they will not even pay me that because I have stopped paying them monthly, even though the warranty was paid in full and still in effect when the occurrence happened and the claim was denied. Beware. ☹️

Posted on 06/18/2019

EDISON, NEW YORK -- The first Home Warranty company I was with covered everything but Freon. Before it expired I had a sales guy contact me from Choice Home Warranty. He told me if I did three years he would add on another 6 months free. He also told me I would not pay for my first service fee. The first service call was for AC Unit. Had to pay $45 for that call but I was ok with that after telling them I was told I would not have to pay for the first service fee.

The 2nd claim only had two was for water backing up outside. The main two things I talked about before going with this company was freon and the pump. I had an issue with those two things with the other company and the only thing they did not cover was the freon. Choice Home Warranty said they cover the pump and freon so I was very happy to switch. I ended up paying over 2k dollars for the pump because of an issue that happen before I purchased the house. So those two things were my main concern when I was talking to the salesperson.

Now that I need service they sent a no-name company that looked inside and did not remove the water inside and said, "Your pump may need replacing." When I was with the other company I knew I needed to replace it because they removed the water and made sure it was a bad pump. I had to go with Roto-Rooter but I knew what the issue was when I called them because of the other company with the Home Warranty I had checked it. They would have covered it if it wasn't an issue that happen before I moved in. Choice Home Warranty I wish I could cancel now but I a stuck with them. American Home Shield is the better choice even with the higher service fee.

Posted on 05/31/2019

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- In December 2018 I placed a call to CHW regarding one of my furnaces not working. They sent out a "Technician" who said the air handler needed a new circuit board. He spent several hours installing it but the breaker kept tripping so he couldn't get it to work. After several hours on the phone and tinkering with the other working unit to try to figure out how it was wired, he just left - walked off the job leaving the HVAC dismantled with no further word. I called CHW and complained. They sent a second "Technician." This guy said the first guy installed the wrong part and he would have to order additional parts to get it working. He also spent several hours trying to figure out why the breaker kept tripping.

Several days later, the second HVAC unit stopped working. We now had NO heat in the middle of Christmas week! I was forced to call an emergency local repair service since it was after hours on a holiday weekend and my CHW "Technician" was not available. The Emergency repair guy came in first thing in the morning and immediately realized that the wiring on the second unit had been messed with by one of the CHW guys while they were trying to figure out how to fix the first unit. He simply reconnected the loose wire and got the second unit working again in less than 10 minutes.

After several weeks of calling the second CHW guy to get on Tuesday morning. Tuesday comes and he doesn't show up or call. I finally got a hold of him on Wednesday and he tells me he was no longer servicing my area and that was it. He also abandoned the job - leaving us hanging. At this point, I was through with the CHW people and called back the guy who quickly fixed the second unit. He came in and right away noticed that the two CHW guys had installed the wrong circuit board and that it was too big and was shorting out against the metal frame of the HVAC.

He installed the correct part and had it working within an hour. We went 6 weeks without heat and the correct fix took an hour! After all this CHW was so generous to refund me the $35 service call for the first guy - that's it! I paid over $250 out of pocket for the REAL service guy to fix both problems the first two CHW Techs CAUSED! All I got from CHW was a sorry and a $35 credit.

Fast forward to last man update on parts to fix the first unit, he finally said the parts were expected the following week. He promised me he would make my repair his top priority (because we had now been without heat in the main living area for 5+ weeks), and that he would be there first this month, April 2019.

The upstairs Air conditioner in the same house stops working. I decide to try CHW again but insist they not send either of the two companies that came in December. 24 hours go by and they are unable to find a service company to come do the work so they ask me if I want to find my own and go through their reimbursement process. I agreed and contacted my own HVAC repair company. The Technician shows up promptly and finds that the capacitor has shorted out against the top grate on the outside condenser unit. In looking into it, he discovered that the last time the unit was serviced (BY CHW) the wrong sized capacitor was installed (sound familiar?) The capacitor was too tall which is why it eventually shorted out against the metal grate.

He made a few repairs to try to get the unit up and running only to find that the short had completely fried the whole HVAC unit AND even shorted out the outside breaker box! After a long call with my Service Technician, me and the CHW authorization team, it was determined that the entire HVAC system needed to be replaced. They shared all the costs and parts needed to replace the unit. I authorized the repairs which were completed the next day. I then got a call from CHW telling me that because the capacitor was too large, the damage was not covered by my policy and therefore they would not authorize reimbursement for the repairs.

When I reminded them that it was THEIR previous technician who installed the wrong capacitor they said they had no record of ever installing a capacitor in the past. CHW makes big promises but contracts completely inept service people who have no idea what they are doing and install wrong parts just to get something working without regard for the problems this causes later on. They hide behind clauses in their contract to deny claims and then take no responsibility for the damage their own technicians cause due to poor workmanship.

This company is an opportunistic fraud masquerading as a home warranty provider. They would be better named "BAD CHOICE HOME WARRANTY." I canceled my agreement (prepaid on two separate homes) and have requested a refund of the remaining unused portion. We will see what kind of excuse they give me for not refunding my balance. Needless to say I would strongly advise against ever considering this company for a home warranty policy.

Posted on 03/23/2019

CORPUS CHRISTI, TEXAS -- When I purchased a Choice Home Warranty, I specifically asked the salesman several questions about replacing non working items. The previous warranty that I had, replaced premium appliances with builder grade, so I was looking for a better policy. The salesman assured me that non working items were replaced like for like, unless I requested differently. The control panel went out on my KitchenAid double oven. The repairman came out and told me that Choice would get in touch with me.

I received an email with the subject "Great News from CHW, We are Replacing your System". The body said "Great News! We have received the diagnosis on your claim. It is more cost effective to replace your Oven Stove Cooktop than to repair it." and to click on the link to start the replacement process. When I did, it told me to call my representative who told me they would give me $599.

The replacement would cost over $3000, so, yes, that would be more cost effective for them. He kept referring to F16, which states that HWA reserves the right to offer cash back in lieu of repair or replacement in the amount of HWA's actual cost (which at times may be less than retail) to repair or replace any covered system, component or appliance. When I read F16, I assumed that offer meant I had the choice to accept or reject it, yet he told me it was all they could do for me. I asked for the figures they used to come up with that number and he said "We don't provide that information."

The representative then said he would up the payment to $700 since I had been with them for a while. I said I did not feel that was fair. I said I needed to talk to someone first, and I would get back with him. He called the next day and asked what address I wanted the check sent to. I told him I still needed to talk to someone and I would call him back. He told me I would not received any more, it was the only offer. I asked what my options were and was told the $700 was it and was more than generous and more than they should offer. I felt I had no other choice than to accept the offer, at which point he told me it would take about 30 days to get that out.

Posted on 02/11/2019

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I canceled the service I had with another company due to all the hidden exclusion they have under their contract. I went online and start researching for home warranties. I found Choice and I contact them. I told the salesperson the reason I was leaving the previous provider and he assured me that Choice never do that. He talked to me on getting a 5 year plan with "peace of mind" that everything on my home was covered. After 2 years at not using them at all I have a problem my AC unit, the evaporator coil. The THX valve was leaking refrigerant and the evaporator coil needs to be replaced as well. First they denied my claim because they don't cover the THX valve and argue that the coil was damaged because of that and they don't cover secondary damage.

The AC technician come back to my home, we called them and he explained that one thing doesn't have nothing to do with the other and the evaporator coil needs to be replaced due to rust on the coils that will lead to more leaks. Choice service department expend 40 minutes over the phone with the technician getting all kind of technical information and told me that they will transfer all the info to the claim department. Now the claim department says they will not cover the coil because there is a clause that they no cover any damage due to rust. They promised not tricky exclusions, but as soon as you need them they open a big list of exclusions. I want to cancel the service and they told me they reimburse only $40 even if I have 3 more year of paid contract.

Posted on 12/21/2018

NEW JERSEY -- We have paid $1392 over the past 2 years ($720 & $672) and have received absolutely the worst service - claims denied and rude customer service. The first call we made for service was for our pool (for which we paid extra for coverage). The service provider came (he was wonderful) and told us that he needed to be sure Choice Home Warranty would cover the pump because he had had trouble with them in the past.

Sure enough, they told him they wouldn't cover the cost of the pump because it was a "pre-existing condition". When you use that mentality - what would be covered, unless it was a brand new installation?? The pump was a little over 3 yrs old and had been working perfectly and died on us just 1 month after the original warranty expired. The repairman said (and he told the Choice Home Warranty agent) that he had never seen such well-maintained equipment!

When I told Choice I wanted to cancel the policy, they said they would give me $100 towards the repair. I had to pay the $60 plus the balance of the repair. We didn't cancel because we thought we were going to have to get the pump fixed and didn't know where else to go. OUR MISTAKE. Because the home is only 4 yrs old, we have never made another claim, until a few months ago and 2 yrs of premiums later. One of our ceiling fans wouldn't turn on. We called Choice on 10/23/19 to make a claim.

Several days later we got a call from their technician for an appt on 10/29. The 29th came and went and no one showed up. When I called Choice they said the provider has said they had come several days before and were waiting for a part. This was not true, since we sat here all day waiting and no one showed up. The agent at Choice said they would find another technician since that one was apparently unreliable and "questionable" because they had submitted a claim.

On 10/30 we got another email saying someone would come on 11/1. The tech showed up (it turned out to be the original company) and he took the fan apart and said he had to order a part for the fan. He said he had to wait to see if Choice would cover the cost of repair. After about a week, we called Choice several times and them said they had to check with the tech to get more information - we heard nothing for several days. Since I got no response from Choice, I called the repair company and got no answer at all. On 11/6 I called Choice again to see what was happening with the claim and they put me on hold to check on the status.

Finally the agent came back on the line and said she got no answer with the repair company and they would place a new order with another company and I would not be charged for the 2nd service call. I got a new email from Choice telling me I could get my own repairman and Choice would give us $100 to have the fan repaired. I then called Choice and I told them I couldn't imagine finding another company to come out and repair the fan (including service call) for $100, and reminded them we had already paid the $60 to the first repairman. I said I wanted to cancel the policy and was told I needed to speak to the next level agent, Tasha. She said she didn't understand why we wanted to cancel the policy since they were willing to give us $100 towards the fan repair.

I explained that we had already paid $60 and $100 wouldn't cover the cost of repair, including the service call fee. She said I was being unreasonable and she got, what I consider to be very rude and indignant. I just didn't want to argue with her any longer so my husband took over the call. She assured him that they would take care of this and get someone out to fix the fan, that we should keep the policy and she would make sure by the end of day, she would call us back with an appointment to repair the fan.

The NEXT DAY, I checked the progress online and saw that the claim was "Closed". At 2:39 p.m. I got an email saying the original people were scheduled to come and fix the fan. Several days later, and still not hearing from the repair man, I called them and they had no record of the claim. Checking online again - it still said claim was "closed"!

I again called Choice and they said they would send us $120 to cover the $60 we had paid and $60 towards repair of the fan. We called the original salesman to cancel the policy and said how very disappointed we were with the service. He told us to wait until we received the $120 check and then cancel. We were told from Choice customer service that we would receive around $280 refund on the balance of our policy - it expires Sept 2019. We called to cancel the policy today and were told we would receive a refund of $82. This included the cancellation fee and the $120 that they returned for the repair of the fan (which has never been done)! We've again contacted the original salesman but we have yet to hear back from him!!! Be wise and find another company!!

Posted on 11/28/2018

WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- I bought a 5yr plan with a 6th yr. included 7.03.15. I paid $2375 upfront. It is now 11.27.18. I have made 4 claims over this time period. The pool pump, it was denied because the part (it was leaking- needs to be replaced) wasn't covered. My hot water tank, I rec'd this message "It has been determined that the cause of failure is a leaking water heater tank in need of replacement. Please refer to your terms and conditions section D number 6 “Excluded”; CHW is not responsible for main, holding or storage tanks." That pretty much is what a hot water TANK is! My washing machine, died also not covered.

The latest my refrigerator a mechanism in the door broke, this was their response - "It has been determined that the water dispenser is not working properly, and the door needs to be replaced in order to correct this failure. Please refer to your terms and conditions section D number 3 “Excluded”; CHW is not responsible for doors, door seals, handles, gaskets and hinges."

I called tonight to cancel the rest of my contract because I am paying more than what has been covered. I was told I had a prorated amount and that the refund would be adjusted accordingly. I understand that, then any claims paid would also be deducted. That I don't understand. Meaning I was covered but they will also deduct any claim they have paid while processing my refund at the current higher rate! I told her I don't understand the logic in that! She said it is part of the policy, look at section L article 4.

Just to let you know how hard it really is to study and read this, which I did try to do, even highlighted, made notes, and called on items before I signed, section F Limitations has 19, section D coverage and excluded has 16! I know there were a lot of negative reviews, but I truly thought this was a good deal and American Home Shield which I had before always turns down first then you fight for your rights and they usually paid but it was getting so expensive. Unfortunately, I learned this lesson the hard way. :(

Posted on 11/27/2018

MARYLAND -- Paid for total plan upfront. After 36 days, awoke to an error code on our DW. The error code indicated that it was clogged in some respect. Paid 75 for a guy to come out and tell me it was clogged, in some respect. Choice denied the claim, stating that it was a preexisting condition. My neighbors also, A/C denied, pre-existing. The Onus seems to be on you, the fool that paid this company anything, to prove that it was not pre-existing. Good luck with the BBB, Choice is already in the hot seat there. Deal with these "Wolf of Wall Street” WANNABES and you will get nothing more than a legal bill.

Posted on 11/11/2018

NEW JERSEY -- I filled out an online request for a quote but after reading numerous bad reviews I decided against dealing with them. I explained this politely when they called me on the phone but they continued to call me every day to try to get my business and offered me special deals. Now I get almost daily e-mails from them and they must have sold my address because I am getting tons of e-mail trying to sell me warranties, mortgages and many other things that I do not need or want. Just today I had 15 e-mails and it is impossible to unsubscribe since the links do not work. Do not deal with this company. They are desperate for your money and will bug you to death. They are a scam.

Advertiser Disclosure:

The information we provide and the analysis we share is always free. So, how do we survive? We get compensated by our partners, which may sometimes influence the products or services we review and the order in which they appear. Our suggestions and guidance are unbiased and are based only on our thorough research.