Preview Review

Next Review

Choice Home Warranty

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 147 ratings and
164 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Choice Home Warranty
1090 King Georges Post Rd
Edison, NJ 08837
1-888-531-5403 (ph)
www.choicehomewarranty.com
Compare Warranty Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Dryer Repair. Disastrous. Buyer Beware
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Our dryer between 5 & 6 years old stopped heating. Dryer ran perfectly just didn't heat. Dryer was in our master closet had never has a service call on it. Looked like new. We called Choice home warranty 12/25/2017. They sent a man out on 12/27/2017. He came from bowling property maintenance LLC. East Sparta Ohio. He did not know how to get into dryer so looking on my husband phone he started. He literally tore our dryer apart.

My husband was in the room with him when he broke an electrical clip off control panel wire harness. He stated he would take back to shop and fix. Finding he couldn't fix. He took other parts from dryer with him. Then called back and stated he would not be back. He sent a report to choice lying about the condition of our dryer. Stated the screws was missing, parts missing, dryer issue was not normal wear and tear. All lies.

In turn choice called and stated they would not pay to fix. When I looked the company up where the man came from his co. Description was lawn mowing, mulch, leaf removal, mulching, tree pruning, the list goes on. Outdoor things none of which are appliance repair. Choice sent him here... he walked in our home... tore our dryer up. I feel like we been robbed. Choice advertisements sound good but beware. They don't do what the advertisement says. I also don't think they know who or what they are sending into our homes. Beware.

Replies
Advertisement
Claim On A/C Not Covered When It Is 116 Outside
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Choice has denied our A/C claim based on their allegation that the unit was not kept properly cleaned and over-taxed the compressor - but THEIR company they sent out 8 weeks ago cleaned the unit and we paid for that to be done 8 weeks ago. We also have only owned the house 2 years and had a realtor's warranty company clean the a/c units in 2017. So we have taken care of our mechanicals. We are now entering Week 2 of NO A/C in our upstairs. Bear in mind, it's 115 degrees here in Phoenix so our upstairs is about 90 degrees. After we were told that with the age of our smaller (upstairs zone) unit, we should invest in a warranty, we chose Choice Home Warranty.

Last May, our bigger unit needed servicing so Choice sent Company A to fix it and we paid extra to have that company to do a full clean & service of both units. When our upstairs unit quit working two weeks ago, we called Choice and it took them 3 days to get Company B out here; who said the compressor was dead so we need a whole new unit. Choice took 3 days to evaluate the claim, demanded photos of the unit, then denied the claim based on their allegation that we had not kept it well-serviced (their company did the service in May).

So I tapped on the APPEAL button and gave the copies of the check and invoice proving that we had cleaned it just 8 weeks ago. Glad we don't have little ones or elders in the house. We are sleeping on the floor of the den where it's cool, but if our downstairs unit falters, we are toast. Literally. SO DISAPPOINTED IN CHOICE HOME WARRANTY.

Replies
Will Lie to Not Cover a Claim and Then Not Refund You the Full Amount!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- I just moved into a new house in June of 2017 and purchased a home warranty through Choice Home Warranty for peace of mind, even though everything checked out with the home inspection (I had to provide a copy of the report to Choice Home Warranty). At first, I was satisfied with the service; however, I had only had small, minor claims (e.g., broken shower arm, broken garage door opener) up until this month.

My grievance is with a claim for a broken furnace. Given that I know your Choice Home Warranty is very particular about making sure equipment is serviced, I scheduled an appointment with an HVAC company (Horizon Services) to perform a furnace tune-up.

On October 6, 2017, the Horizon technician examined the unit and discovered a crack in the heat exchange. The technician requested a second technician to come immediately to verify the crack. I was told that the Heil furnace, installed in 2000 by the previous homeowner, was now inoperable. I immediately called Choice Home Warranty to make a claim.

On October 10, 2017, their representative contractor, MW Service Company, came to inspect the unit. The technician, Rich, asked if I had paperwork from the company that identified the crack. I provided it to him and he stated, “I'll take their word for it this time because it's a Heil furnace. If they get older than 10 years old, they are junk.” The technician never actually examined the heat exchange.

On October 17, 2017, I received a message stating that I should call Choice Home Warranty regarding my claim. I spoke to a Senior Claims Specialist named Jessica. Verbatim, she stated, “The reason the heat exchanger cracked is poor or improper or incomplete insulation. Wait. That doesn't make sense. Let me check on that.” Jessica intended to put me on hold, but accidentally hung up. I immediately called back and reached Denise who told me she would transfer me to Jessica, but she didn't.

Next, I spoke to another Senior Claims Specialist named Elizabeth. She told me that Jessica was trying to contact the authorization department to check on the status of the claim. Elizabeth told me that “the reason for the crack was that the heat exchanger was not combusting properly due to surface rust” and that per the policy, issues involving rust are not covered. So, you can image my surprise that Choice Home Warranty is refusing to cover the unit due to rust in the heat exchange when your technician never looked at the heat exchange! The “surface rust” excuse is clearly a lie.

When I explained this to Elizabeth, I was told that I could pay to have an additional technician through Choice Home Warranty come out to “re-examine” the furnace and assess for rust. At this point, I asked to speak with a supervisor and was transferred to Greg. He stated that he could have another technician from a different company come out at no cost to determine the cause of the crack.

I decided not to have a second Choice Home Warranty affiliate company come out to examine the unit again. The employees showed the true colors of Choice Home Warranty by providing a fake excuse to get out of paying for an expensive replacement. This is not a company that I can support. I will not provide Choice Home Warranty with any more of my money so that they can go on ripping people off.

I sent a signed letter to Choice Home Warranty to cancel the policy as the contract states that it must be cancelled "in writing," and received an email stating that I had to call them to cancel the policy. So, after waiting on hold for 20 minutes I was told that even though I paid for 3.5 years coverage and only used 5 months of that, I would not be fully refunded for the unused portion... that I would only receive less than half of what I was owed. Choice Home Warranty is a scam and should be ashamed of the service it is providing.

Replies
Can Not Repair AC ; Denies Claim Based on Their Need to Save ; Does Not Look at Issues
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

IRVING, TEXAS -- Cooling failed on July 17, called this warranty company and requested immediate assistance. Said that its' not an emergency even though AC was working and with 100 degrees outside. Had no response for 2 days and on 19th they scheduled someone and finally had a person from one of their affiliated service companies came on 19th and said that the Compressor was grounded. Called the warranty company for updates on this but had no response from either the companies till 7/23 - All the while my central AC unit (heat pump ) was broken and had to buy a portable AC just to breathe and live.

On 7/23, they sent their response - They did not denied my claim, saying that the compressor was grounded due to overheating but due to debris lying nearby which occupied just 1/30th of the total space. Not sure as to why the temperatures of 110 degrees did not come into the cause of overheating but it's their way of saying that the 'Compressor failed because the insulation failed due to being overheated by the debris lying around'. A truly bad company that will do anything to avoid a claim.

BTW, trying to reach their customer service or claim representatives or claim specialists is a nightmare. It took me 1hr to 3hrs to reach their customer service reps (as only they can see the updates on the claims) and since Friday (July 20th) had no luck at all. At the moment it has been 2 hrs since I am on the line listening to the great music and their self-propelled claims that they are the best company. Used this company a few times last year - for issues with small repairs and replaceable parts this company is good. THAT'S IT.

This company does not repair anything. All this company does is take your money and send people within the first week if you are lucky and if the repair is a small part that can be taken care of by the provider sent, then they are good. Otherwise a completely hopeless company. This company is only good for small appliance repair and for bugging people to renew their warranty. That's it. Period. Cannot do anything apart from that.

Replies
Advertisement
Complete Rip Off Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RED OAK, TEXAS -- Filed claim in May 2018. Policy in effect for over 3 yrs. No other claims. Could not get through on phone lines, after pick up, phone lines at company lots of static while on hold. After several tries, filed online. Finally get a person to respond who stated they were not covered. I told them it was the diverters or something inside which are covered.

After a few days I cancelled as they were not going to honor claim. Got a call from supervisor who stated she was going to cover the claim as we had been with them a long time. The most they would pay was 500 dollars. We told her we already had the job done and it cost us 1300 dollars. I sent the proof for the claim and was told it would be 30 days. That came and went, no check.

6 wks later I emailed them again regarding the status of the check. Stated they cancelled the check as I was not current in payments. Informed them the policy was in effect and paid up when claim made. Requested appeal of decision. A case manager called and said I would have to pay 75 plus dollars to bring me up to date on payments. It is now 7-14-18. Then they would release the check. She said the only reason they were going to pay the 500 dollars was because I agreed to continue the contract. Told her that I never agreed to such a thing.

She put me on hold and then came back and said, "Well there will be no check. Your account is deleted now and we cannot issue you a check and will not". I informed her just before in the same conversation, we were told we would have to pay 75 dollars and continue the policy to get the check and now it is just gone.

Dishonest company and a waste of your money. All the warranty companies are scams and with little recourse when they take your money. We had been with another warranty company (AHS) for over 25 yrs, which is just as bad before we were promised better service with Choice. Do not let it be your Choice. Complete waste of money.

Replies
Choice Home Warranty Is a Complete Rip-Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- Do your homework before doing business with Choice Home Warranty. DON'T GET RIPPED OFF! They are NOT a member of the BBB for a reason. Even if they were a member their business practices are so disreputable they could not maintain their membership. They have been prosecuted by the Attorney General Consumer Affair division of States that found them guilty of various kinds of dishonest business practices. Their advertisements are also false and misleading.

For example, they promise to cover the repair or replacement of your appliances, but here is my experience: After needing to wait on the phone for around an hour each time I call, they offered to replace a $1200 cooktop for $150 and an $800 dishwasher for $175. And that is after you put the $65 per claim to diagnose the issue. The replacement cost they offer wouldn't even cover the cost of manufacturing.

I was also denied a claim for an A/C unit that went bad. They claimed it was bad from an improper install for a leak where it had been welded. They cover wear and tear, but not "improper install". I asked them if it was improperly welded then why would it have worked without leaking for an entire year? Sounds like wear and tear to me. They said I was free to get a second opinion on my own dime and that they would "consider it". Instead, I am filing a claim with my Attorney General's office.

I'm complaining to Google, Bing, Yahoo, and Facebook about their deceptive and misleading claims in advertising and untrustworthy business practices, because frankly their PPC advertising accounts should be suspended so they can't use these platforms to scam more people. And remember on Facebook they can delete your comments from their site, but they can't delete comments on their ads.

Do yourself a favor, look elsewhere. Don't allow get duped into taking your realtor's recommendation just because Choice Home Warranty is giving them a kickback. As a buyer make sure you specify a different home warranty in the RE contract. Choice Home Warranty the home warranty company you are looking for.

Replies
Awful Company-Run!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TEXAS -- Horrible company, stay away! I switched from One Guard to Choice because it was much cheaper—HUGE mistake! I am switching back to One Guard. Choice is a dirty company and I don't know how they are even still in business. They find some way to weasel out of paying any claims. We had One Guard for years and never had trouble with them—and they paid for a new oven, washer, A/C, etc. I wish I would have never left them. We had A/C issues after we switched to Choice, but Choice would not pay anything for it because they said we could not prove we had done annual maintenance to the unit.

On the other hand, One Guard repaired the SAME unit in the past (for a different issue), they never said a word about the fact that we didn't do annual maintenance. Our water heater went out after we switched to Choice and Choice refused to pay for a replacement because it had rust on it. I finally got fed up with Choice and decided to cancel and switch back to One Guard. Even the cancellation process demonstrated how far superior One Guard is to Choice.

I spent about 30 minutes on hold—a common occurrence at that company—and then had to argue with a guy on the phone for about 10 minutes after that to get them to cancel my policy. When the representative finally gave up on trying to get me to stay, he told me they would only give me back about half the money I should have been refunded because of fees and the cost of any services they did to our house! Which, I assume, must have simply been the cost of sending people out to tell us that they can't do anything for us—UNREAL!

When I canceled my One Guard policy (once again, big mistake), I simply sent them an email telling them what day the cancellation would be effective. They promptly sent me an email back confirming the cancellation and told me they were sorry I was leaving. Done. No hassle, no waiting on the phone for a half hour, no arguments, and they refunded ALL my prorated money back with no hassle. Choice may be the cheapest, but you would be better off with no home warranty company at all. Spend the extra money and go with One Guard.

Replies
Choice Home Warranty Defrauds Customers With Bogus Warranty
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Choice denied my claim to fix my HVAC unit. Damper for downstairs zone is not opening and needs a new circuit board. They sent a tech out to my house who informed me what the problem was, told me that it would cost $3600 to fix, took $45 service fee even though services were not performed, told me that Choice would likely deny because they "never pay for expensive repairs even though it states that parts are covered" and then told me Choice would be calling me with a claim decision shortly and left.

Choice never called me. I did find an email stating that they are denying my claim because the duct work in my system had been "modified and they do not cover modification". I have lived in this house since it was built in 2018, NOTHING in this house has ever been modified. I called them, and they told me that a claim counselor would be in contact with me within 5 days.

It's August in Texas with temps over 100. Since my experience I have read countless reviews of similar things happening to their customers. Choice defrauds their customers by collecting a monthly payment or bulk year payment for a warranty that they never intend to repair anything. It is false advertising, fraud and theft. I hope and pray that something is done to this company for what they are doing to their customers. Don't sign up for this "warranty". They never intend to fix anything!

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Warranty Co.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHESAPEAKE VA -- Oct 2017 Purchased a 3 yr contract paid in advance. A few months after called for service to change a light switch. I received an email that night stating a service provider would arrive the next day between 11-3pm. Took off work and one showed up. Called the electrician and when he finally answered he said he didn't have me on his roster. Called CHW and that took over an hour to get through. Issue was fixed. Just to make a point, this was a ON/Off switch. I called again for another claim and again no one showed up.

In total 4 days I took off work and the provider never showed up. I decided I cancel. The person I talked to was hostile from the word hello. In the end they said the total refund was less than 1 year. They incurred $318 for sending out the electrician administrative fees etc. With only 9 months with the company I was expecting 2 yrs refunded back to me, instead it is less than 1 years. DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. HORRIBLE SERVICE.

Replies
Extremely Bad Experience With Them
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDISON, TEXAS -- My air conditioner compressor was not working. After their technician came the first time, he replaced the compressor. The unit worked for a day and when the technician came again, he said it is normal wear and tear for a 11 year old unit.

After waiting for 12 days in Texas heat to contact the case manager, I spoke to her and her reasons were as follows: Locked and open winding which is not correct since the compressor is working but not circulating Freon. The normal life of a compressor is 14 years and since mine stopped working in 11 years so it not normal wear and tear. She had no other reasons and when I tried to get more specific answer I was told by her that she is not a technician.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >