Home BudgetingWarranty Services

Choice Home Warranty Review

, Editor | Updated November 19, 2018

Choice Home Warranty is a home warranty company offering economically priced coverage plans, but it has a checkered past. The company is only recently beginning to gain a reputation for trustworthiness and dependability. While we recommend you read the fine print in your Choice Home Warranty contract and be aware of their history, Choice Home Warranty coverage might be right for you if you’re looking for complete coverage and cheap service fees.

We maintain strict standards of editorial integrity when writing our guides & reviews to help you make decisions with confidence. To help support our site, some of the products we highlight are from our partners and we may receive compensation when you visit their sites.

Choice Home Warranty Plans, Coverage and Cost

What are the plans offered by Choice Home Warranty?

There are just two Choice Home Warranty plans: The Basic Plan ($33.33 a month or $370 a year) and the Total Plan ($40 a month or $450 a year). Because the Basic Plan does not include air conditioning systems, refrigerators, washers, and dryers, all known for pricey repairs, most people choose the Total Plan.

Choice Home Warranty is not currently available in Washington or California.

What is covered by Choice Home Warranty

Basic Plan Total Plan
Cost $33.33 a month ($370 a year $40 a month ($450 a year)
Covers
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Whirlpool bathtubs
  • Ovens/ranges/stoves
  • Cooktops
  • Dishwashers
  • Built-in microwaves
  • Garbage disposals
  • Garage door openers
  • Ceiling and exhaust fans
Does not include: air conditioning, refrigerators, washers, and dryers
  • Air conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Whirlpool bathtubs
  • Refrigerators
  • Ovens/ranges/stoves
  • Cooktops
  • Dishwashers
  • Built-in microwaves
  • Garbage disposals
  • Clothes washers
  • Clothes dryers
  • Garage door openers
  • Ceiling and exhaust fans

For either plan you can pay more for optional add-ons. These include:

  • Pools and spas
  • Central vacuums
  • Second refrigerators
  • Well pumps
  • Sump pumps
  • Septic systems
  • Limited roof leaks
  • Stand-alone freezers

How much does Choice Home Warranty cost?

Choice Home Warranty costs range from approximately $33 a month to $40 a month. That’s $350 a year for the Basic Plan and $450 a year for the Total Plan.

Choice Home Warranty offers no legitimate options for customizability, unlike its competitor, American Home Shield. The only chance to alter the predetermined plans is if you opt to tack on additional optional coverage. Choice Home Warranty’s service fee, however, at $60, is one of the cheapest you’ll find.

Note: If your house is more than 5,000 square feet, your rates will go up to $670 a year on the Basic plan and $750 a year on the Total Plan.

If you are looking for more customizable plans, American Home Shield might be a better option for you. Furthermore, at a B rating from BBB over Choice Home Warranty’s C rating, American Home Shield is considered a more trustworthy option. However, if you read the fine print of a Choice Home Warranty contract and understand its claims, and if you are looking for cheaper service fees, Choice Home Warranty might be the right choice for you.

Our Review: The Deep Dive

Consumers have criticized Choice Home Warranty as being deceptive and taking advantage of loopholes in contracts. This is not underheard of in the home warranties industry, but the state of New Jersey even fined Choice Home Warranty $800,000 for deceptive advertising practices. Therefore, it’s best that you read the fine print of your contract before signing up.

Choice Home Warranty does not cover damage from pre-existing conditions. So if you are looking for Choice Home Warranty to fix a lot that’s currently wrong with your home before you enter under their coverage, think again. The Choice Home Warranty appliance replacement protocol also receives a lot of flak. They sometimes offer cash in lieu of a repair if they feel an item cannot be easily replaced, but that doesn’t mean the cash will be a completely fair reimbursement.

Customer service is available throughout the day, and you can submit a service request at any time. Keep in mind that this only means Choice Home Warranty will receive your request, not that your problem will be fixed, as many contractors work a regular 9 to 5 schedule and will not be available at odd hours of the day or on weekends. The Choice Home Warranty phone number for the Service Department is (888) 373-7924. When you file a claim, your assigned team of representatives will give you an estimated completion date.

Choice Home Warranty does not require a home inspection, as some other companies do.

Choice Home Warranty cancellation requests must be submitted in writing. All cancellations incur a $50 administrative fee. Consumers are entitled to a prorated refund of their contract cost. The minimum contract length is 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty has a C rating from the Better Business Bureau and is not BBB accredited. BBB has reprimanded Choice Home Warranty in the past for offering inappropriate financial incentives to consumers who left positive reviews.

Tip: If you go with the Total Plan and are able to afford the yearly payment, you will save $30 a year when compared monthly payments.

Like other companies in the industry, Choice Home Warranty has a 30-day waiting period between you signing up and the contract going into effect.

Conclusion

Benefits:

Choice Home Warranty has just about the lowest service call fees around, at $60.

Drawbacks:

Deceptive advertising has earned Choice Home Warranty a bad name. Loopholes often allow the company to either not replace your appliances and systems or offer you a petty cash reimbursement rather than a full repair.

Bottom Line:

If you’re looking for a cheap home warranty company to help protect your home, consider Choice Home Warranty. But be aware of their past and know what you are getting into.

Consumer Reviews

Posted on 02/11/2019

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I canceled the service I had with another company due to all the hidden exclusion they have under their contract. I went online and start researching for home warranties. I found Choice and I contact them. I told the salesperson the reason I was leaving the previous provider and he assured me that Choice never do that. He talked to me on getting a 5 year plan with "peace of mind" that everything on my home was covered. After 2 years at not using them at all I have a problem my AC unit, the evaporator coil. The THX valve was leaking refrigerant and the evaporator coil needs to be replaced as well. First they denied my claim because they don't cover the THX valve and argue that the coil was damaged because of that and they don't cover secondary damage.

The AC technician come back to my home, we called them and he explained that one thing doesn't have nothing to do with the other and the evaporator coil needs to be replaced due to rust on the coils that will lead to more leaks. Choice service department expend 40 minutes over the phone with the technician getting all kind of technical information and told me that they will transfer all the info to the claim department. Now the claim department says they will not cover the coil because there is a clause that they no cover any damage due to rust. They promised not tricky exclusions, but as soon as you need them they open a big list of exclusions. I want to cancel the service and they told me they reimburse only $40 even if I have 3 more year of paid contract.

Posted on 12/21/2018

NEW JERSEY -- We have paid $1392 over the past 2 years ($720 & $672) and have received absolutely the worst service - claims denied and rude customer service. The first call we made for service was for our pool (for which we paid extra for coverage). The service provider came (he was wonderful) and told us that he needed to be sure Choice Home Warranty would cover the pump because he had had trouble with them in the past.

Sure enough, they told him they wouldn't cover the cost of the pump because it was a "pre-existing condition". When you use that mentality - what would be covered, unless it was a brand new installation?? The pump was a little over 3 yrs old and had been working perfectly and died on us just 1 month after the original warranty expired. The repairman said (and he told the Choice Home Warranty agent) that he had never seen such well-maintained equipment!

When I told Choice I wanted to cancel the policy, they said they would give me $100 towards the repair. I had to pay the $60 plus the balance of the repair. We didn't cancel because we thought we were going to have to get the pump fixed and didn't know where else to go. OUR MISTAKE. Because the home is only 4 yrs old, we have never made another claim, until a few months ago and 2 yrs of premiums later. One of our ceiling fans wouldn't turn on. We called Choice on 10/23/19 to make a claim.

Several days later we got a call from their technician for an appt on 10/29. The 29th came and went and no one showed up. When I called Choice they said the provider has said they had come several days before and were waiting for a part. This was not true, since we sat here all day waiting and no one showed up. The agent at Choice said they would find another technician since that one was apparently unreliable and "questionable" because they had submitted a claim.

On 10/30 we got another email saying someone would come on 11/1. The tech showed up (it turned out to be the original company) and he took the fan apart and said he had to order a part for the fan. He said he had to wait to see if Choice would cover the cost of repair. After about a week, we called Choice several times and them said they had to check with the tech to get more information - we heard nothing for several days. Since I got no response from Choice, I called the repair company and got no answer at all. On 11/6 I called Choice again to see what was happening with the claim and they put me on hold to check on the status.

Finally the agent came back on the line and said she got no answer with the repair company and they would place a new order with another company and I would not be charged for the 2nd service call. I got a new email from Choice telling me I could get my own repairman and Choice would give us $100 to have the fan repaired. I then called Choice and I told them I couldn't imagine finding another company to come out and repair the fan (including service call) for $100, and reminded them we had already paid the $60 to the first repairman. I said I wanted to cancel the policy and was told I needed to speak to the next level agent, Tasha. She said she didn't understand why we wanted to cancel the policy since they were willing to give us $100 towards the fan repair.

I explained that we had already paid $60 and $100 wouldn't cover the cost of repair, including the service call fee. She said I was being unreasonable and she got, what I consider to be very rude and indignant. I just didn't want to argue with her any longer so my husband took over the call. She assured him that they would take care of this and get someone out to fix the fan, that we should keep the policy and she would make sure by the end of day, she would call us back with an appointment to repair the fan.

The NEXT DAY, I checked the progress online and saw that the claim was "Closed". At 2:39 p.m. I got an email saying the original people were scheduled to come and fix the fan. Several days later, and still not hearing from the repair man, I called them and they had no record of the claim. Checking online again - it still said claim was "closed"!

I again called Choice and they said they would send us $120 to cover the $60 we had paid and $60 towards repair of the fan. We called the original salesman to cancel the policy and said how very disappointed we were with the service. He told us to wait until we received the $120 check and then cancel. We were told from Choice customer service that we would receive around $280 refund on the balance of our policy - it expires Sept 2019. We called to cancel the policy today and were told we would receive a refund of $82. This included the cancellation fee and the $120 that they returned for the repair of the fan (which has never been done)! We've again contacted the original salesman but we have yet to hear back from him!!! Be wise and find another company!!

Posted on 11/28/2018

WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- I bought a 5yr plan with a 6th yr. included 7.03.15. I paid $2375 upfront. It is now 11.27.18. I have made 4 claims over this time period. The pool pump, it was denied because the part (it was leaking- needs to be replaced) wasn't covered. My hot water tank, I rec'd this message "It has been determined that the cause of failure is a leaking water heater tank in need of replacement. Please refer to your terms and conditions section D number 6 “Excluded”; CHW is not responsible for main, holding or storage tanks." That pretty much is what a hot water TANK is! My washing machine, died also not covered.

The latest my refrigerator a mechanism in the door broke, this was their response - "It has been determined that the water dispenser is not working properly, and the door needs to be replaced in order to correct this failure. Please refer to your terms and conditions section D number 3 “Excluded”; CHW is not responsible for doors, door seals, handles, gaskets and hinges."

I called tonight to cancel the rest of my contract because I am paying more than what has been covered. I was told I had a prorated amount and that the refund would be adjusted accordingly. I understand that, then any claims paid would also be deducted. That I don't understand. Meaning I was covered but they will also deduct any claim they have paid while processing my refund at the current higher rate! I told her I don't understand the logic in that! She said it is part of the policy, look at section L article 4.

Just to let you know how hard it really is to study and read this, which I did try to do, even highlighted, made notes, and called on items before I signed, section F Limitations has 19, section D coverage and excluded has 16! I know there were a lot of negative reviews, but I truly thought this was a good deal and American Home Shield which I had before always turns down first then you fight for your rights and they usually paid but it was getting so expensive. Unfortunately, I learned this lesson the hard way. :(

Posted on 11/27/2018

MARYLAND -- Paid for total plan upfront. After 36 days, awoke to an error code on our DW. The error code indicated that it was clogged in some respect. Paid 75 for a guy to come out and tell me it was clogged, in some respect. Choice denied the claim, stating that it was a preexisting condition. My neighbors also, A/C denied, pre-existing. The Onus seems to be on you, the fool that paid this company anything, to prove that it was not pre-existing. Good luck with the BBB, Choice is already in the hot seat there. Deal with these "Wolf of Wall Street” WANNABES and you will get nothing more than a legal bill.

Posted on 11/11/2018

NEW JERSEY -- I filled out an online request for a quote but after reading numerous bad reviews I decided against dealing with them. I explained this politely when they called me on the phone but they continued to call me every day to try to get my business and offered me special deals. Now I get almost daily e-mails from them and they must have sold my address because I am getting tons of e-mail trying to sell me warranties, mortgages and many other things that I do not need or want. Just today I had 15 e-mails and it is impossible to unsubscribe since the links do not work. Do not deal with this company. They are desperate for your money and will bug you to death. They are a scam.

Posted on 10/23/2018

FAIRFAX, WEST VIRGINIA -- Had Alex one of the service managers yelling and screaming at me over the phone and calling me retarded and stupid and saying I have no right as customer to ask for higher up and then called me a cracker. Very racist and discrimination company. I'll be looking for another home warranty company after this.

Posted on 09/27/2018

GREER, SOUTH CAROLINA -- Was contacted in Spring 2018 by high pressure sales guy. I finally signed up (stupidly). Then read tons of awful reviews. Immediately sent an email to salesman's direct email to cancel (no ability to reach anyone by phone). Thought it would be cancelled, but fine print contract says, "Cancellations must be in writing within 30 days (USPS) - with $50 'administrative fee'." That's $10 more than 1st month's fee! Assumed (stupidly) that it would be cancelled, but discovered 4 months later, I was still being charged $40 per month. No way to reach "Cancellation Dept." by phone. First attempts, was on hold for over an hour each. Then tried several attempts with their "Why wait on phone? We'll hold your place in line & call you back" option. No callbacks ever came - even days later.

Called credit card & put a block on further charges. Then received letter from Choice saying even though I had blocked charges, they would continue to accrue. Bullying. This is scary: Went on their site to write a bad review. In the middle of writing, a call came in from Choice! They were monitoring while I wrote! Wanted to know why I wanted to cancel. I said, "Because there are thousands of horrible online reviews!" Woman told me there were 250 bad reviews out of 2.5 million customers. That's on the "Choice site." Independent review sites have 1,000s! She cancelled my contract, but all $40 fees not refunded. $120-$160. Read all review sites on this sham New Jersey-based company. Absolute horror stories. Stay away from these crooks!

Posted on 09/12/2018

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Buyer beware. This company will take your money and never approve any claim. I put in a claim for a AC unit that broke. The AC unit is less than 7 years old. They told me I had to get a pressure test for $250 dollars only to deny the claim even after proof of regular maintenance checks on the unit. This was the final straw, my previous claims were denied as well and one time I had to videotape the problem because the company they sent out to diagnose the problem walked around and talked after taking my $60.

So I canceled the warranty via email and they still charge me and debited my account. I then called and finally received my refund for the debited amount only to have them take the fee for the warranty out of my account again last month. Trust me, you do not want to get a warranty with this company.

Posted on 08/30/2018

CONNECTICUT -- My microwave was not warming food when it was turned on. It was built into the cabinet tightly so there was no way for me to take it out because I am not really a handy person. I bought my house in Dec 2017 and everything was working out fine. I took the warranty just out of the abundance of caution. They told me that I should get a technician of my choice to look at it and they will reimburse me. I got a technician that came to my house and inspected the microwave. He told me some switches were broken just by inspecting it and I placed him on the phone with CHOICE Home Warranty.

After getting the information from the technician, they told me I will hear from them in the mail. Most technicians don't like dealing with CHOICE so he made me aware that I will have to pay out of my pocket and get reimbursed by CHOICE. The guy charged me $127 for less than 5 minutes in my home. Later I got an email from CHOICE that they are not going to my microwave because it is not mounted on top of the oven. So I am stuck with a broken microwave, paid $127 out and a lot of back and forth with Choice. At the end of it, I think it is not worth it. Stay away from this company. THEY ARE A FRAUD.

Posted on 08/30/2018

Don't bother believing that the policy will cover a water heater. Our unit developed a leak not caused by rust (it's 8 years old) nor did the technician note any buildup within the tank. Our claim was denied because Choice Warranty 'is not responsible for holding or storage tanks'. Investigating this further I found that they also do not cover the pressure safety valve, tankless water heaters, or drain pans and lines. That is literally all there is to a water heater. So do not believe that water heaters are a covered appliance under Choice Warranty's home warranty.

Advertiser Disclosure:

The information we provide and the analysis we share is always free. So, how do we survive? We get compensated by our partners, which may sometimes influence the products or services we review and the order in which they appear. Our suggestions and guidance are unbiased and are based only on our thorough research.