Home BudgetingWarranty Services

Choice Home Warranty Review

, Editor | Updated November 19, 2018

Choice Home Warranty is a home warranty company offering economically priced coverage plans, but it has a checkered past. The company is only recently beginning to gain a reputation for trustworthiness and dependability. While we recommend you read the fine print in your Choice Home Warranty contract and be aware of their history, Choice Home Warranty coverage might be right for you if you’re looking for complete coverage and cheap service fees.

We maintain strict standards of editorial integrity when writing our guides & reviews to help you make decisions with confidence. To help support our site, some of the products we highlight are from our partners and we may receive compensation when you visit their sites.

Choice Home Warranty Plans, Coverage and Cost

What are the plans offered by Choice Home Warranty?

There are just two Choice Home Warranty plans: The Basic Plan ($33.33 a month or $370 a year) and the Total Plan ($40 a month or $450 a year). Because the Basic Plan does not include air conditioning systems, refrigerators, washers, and dryers, all known for pricey repairs, most people choose the Total Plan.

Choice Home Warranty is not currently available in Washington or California.

What is covered by Choice Home Warranty

Basic Plan Total Plan
Cost $33.33 a month ($370 a year $40 a month ($450 a year)
Covers
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Whirlpool bathtubs
  • Ovens/ranges/stoves
  • Cooktops
  • Dishwashers
  • Built-in microwaves
  • Garbage disposals
  • Garage door openers
  • Ceiling and exhaust fans
Does not include: air conditioning, refrigerators, washers, and dryers
  • Air conditioning
  • Heating
  • Electrical
  • Plumbing
  • Water heater
  • Ductwork
  • Whirlpool bathtubs
  • Refrigerators
  • Ovens/ranges/stoves
  • Cooktops
  • Dishwashers
  • Built-in microwaves
  • Garbage disposals
  • Clothes washers
  • Clothes dryers
  • Garage door openers
  • Ceiling and exhaust fans

For either plan you can pay more for optional add-ons. These include:

  • Pools and spas
  • Central vacuums
  • Second refrigerators
  • Well pumps
  • Sump pumps
  • Septic systems
  • Limited roof leaks
  • Stand-alone freezers

How much does Choice Home Warranty cost?

Choice Home Warranty costs range from approximately $33 a month to $40 a month. That’s $350 a year for the Basic Plan and $450 a year for the Total Plan.

Choice Home Warranty offers no legitimate options for customizability, unlike its competitor, American Home Shield. The only chance to alter the predetermined plans is if you opt to tack on additional optional coverage. Choice Home Warranty’s service fee, however, at $60, is one of the cheapest you’ll find.

Note: If your house is more than 5,000 square feet, your rates will go up to $670 a year on the Basic plan and $750 a year on the Total Plan.

If you are looking for more customizable plans, American Home Shield might be a better option for you. Furthermore, at a B rating from BBB over Choice Home Warranty’s C rating, American Home Shield is considered a more trustworthy option. However, if you read the fine print of a Choice Home Warranty contract and understand its claims, and if you are looking for cheaper service fees, Choice Home Warranty might be the right choice for you.

Our Review: The Deep Dive

Consumers have criticized Choice Home Warranty as being deceptive and taking advantage of loopholes in contracts. This is not underheard of in the home warranties industry, but the state of New Jersey even fined Choice Home Warranty $800,000 for deceptive advertising practices. Therefore, it’s best that you read the fine print of your contract before signing up.

Choice Home Warranty does not cover damage from pre-existing conditions. So if you are looking for Choice Home Warranty to fix a lot that’s currently wrong with your home before you enter under their coverage, think again. The Choice Home Warranty appliance replacement protocol also receives a lot of flak. They sometimes offer cash in lieu of a repair if they feel an item cannot be easily replaced, but that doesn’t mean the cash will be a completely fair reimbursement.

Customer service is available throughout the day, and you can submit a service request at any time. Keep in mind that this only means Choice Home Warranty will receive your request, not that your problem will be fixed, as many contractors work a regular 9 to 5 schedule and will not be available at odd hours of the day or on weekends. The Choice Home Warranty phone number for the Service Department is (888) 373-7924. When you file a claim, your assigned team of representatives will give you an estimated completion date.

Choice Home Warranty does not require a home inspection, as some other companies do.

Choice Home Warranty cancellation requests must be submitted in writing. All cancellations incur a $50 administrative fee. Consumers are entitled to a prorated refund of their contract cost. The minimum contract length is 12 months.

Choice Home Warranty has a C rating from the Better Business Bureau and is not BBB accredited. BBB has reprimanded Choice Home Warranty in the past for offering inappropriate financial incentives to consumers who left positive reviews.

Tip: If you go with the Total Plan and are able to afford the yearly payment, you will save $30 a year when compared monthly payments.

Like other companies in the industry, Choice Home Warranty has a 30-day waiting period between you signing up and the contract going into effect.

Conclusion

Benefits:

Choice Home Warranty has just about the lowest service call fees around, at $60.

Drawbacks:

Deceptive advertising has earned Choice Home Warranty a bad name. Loopholes often allow the company to either not replace your appliances and systems or offer you a petty cash reimbursement rather than a full repair.

Bottom Line:

If you’re looking for a cheap home warranty company to help protect your home, consider Choice Home Warranty. But be aware of their past and know what you are getting into.

Consumer Reviews

Posted on 09/01/2020

NEW JERSEY -- The first call I made to Choice was for a garbage disposal. I paid the gentleman $60 and my disposal was replaced. It didn't last a year. When I called again CHW couldn't find a repairman so I called the previous repairman. He refused to work with Choice. The second repairman they sent took my $60 and never returned or called, though I was assured he would get in touch. It's been a month. The fridge repairmen came with some tools in a bucket. Nothing to test the viability of my appliance. They decided it was the door seal and proceeded to use my hairdryer to make it fit better.

When I called CHW they said they would send someone else. The same company responded and I called them and canceled. No sense paying "two guys and a bucket" $60 to show up and contrive a repair. I will be canceling this plan. BE AFRAID, BE VERY AFRAID! I'm canceling.

Posted on 08/08/2020

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- One years ago, I entered into a contract with Choice Home Warranty. On 84/2020. I call them b/c my toilet had backup. Three days later one of their Technician show up at my resident High off some type of illegal drugs. I refused to allow this man into my home. I immediately contacted Choice Home Warranty company with my concerns. The person on the phone stated, "I'm sorry about your experience but we just sub-contract these claims out to whoever pick it up. We have no idea who they send out." This was horrifying to me because this company didn't do any back ground checks on these sub.

I also asked them to cancel my contract and refund my money to me. The lady stated, "I can't refund your money but I will connect you with customers support." After holding the line for 30mins no one responded. For Three days now, I been trying resolved my problem. But, they do not Answer or they just keep transferring you to nowhere.

Choice Home Warranty is just like rest of these FAKE PROMISING COMPANY!!! After getting your hard earned money, they do not stand behind what was told to the customers has being excellent service!!! Then to make matters worse today 8/8/2020. I was told, "We don't have any Technician to service you but you can hire someone and then put in a claim to be reimbursed." This is unbelievable, as well as unprofessional. I will never do any business with this company again and I want my money refunded to me.

Posted on 07/02/2020

NEW JERSEY -- Home Choice Warranty turn out to be a useless company and also very, very rude when I call to cancel. Advice to homeowners: this isn't the first home warranty company I tried and same as car repair warranty companies, they take your money but when it's time for a genuine claim they find the needle in the haystack to not get anything. And a little gem: when you call and press on the sales option less than 10 seconds to get a reply but you can ask to be transfer to cancellations I was holding for an hour and a half.

Posted on 03/24/2020

BROOKSVILLE, FLORIDA -- We became unhappy with AC claim not being properly taken care of. We went through resolution steps which proved we were right in what we stated the Home Warranty company did not take care of properly. At that time we decided to not renew our contract. When the contract expired they charged our credit card as if we had renewed. Because we didn't respond to their request to renew, they say they can continue to charge us - even though our initial contract was not automatic payment on credit card, it was a one time payment. We feel this was very deceptive. This is not a dependable company.

Posted on 01/11/2020

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I purchased a Choice Home Warranty as part of a new home purchase, and was sold quite an extensive list of supposed features and abilities by the very skillful salesman. I was looking for low cost, and I did my homework on available plans and decided on Choice because it had the least worst ratings out of the competition. I paid upfront for three years coverage, and received an extra six month "free". I have submitted zero claims under this plan in the five months I have had it.

On a Thursday afternoon, my water heater decided to end its useful life and leaked its contents all over my floor. I contacted Choice for the first time and received okay service in logging the claim, by someone completely devoid of emotions. When I received the email confirmation of the claim, it wasn't described as I described it, and was factually incorrect. This was a Thursday, so it is normal and acceptable to expect something to be scheduled for the following business day. No.

I later received another email and an automated robot voice message that the claim was assigned to a local "Home Repair" provider (shall remain nameless to protect the innocent), and the appointment was scheduled for Saturday between 7 and 11am. I was not happy, and decided to try to call the provider to see if the appointment could be moved up to Friday. All attempts to contact the provider at the number provided by Choice in the messages failed - On Saturday morning, halfway through the 7-11am appointment window, I finally got in touch with the person's brother who runs another home repair service in another area and he relayed a message to have his brother call me.

The owner of the business finally called me at 10:30am and said he had no record of the appointment or of my claim. So I called Choice back, and the vapid customer service person said there was nothing he could do except resend the request out for another service provider to pick up but not to expect anything until Monday or later at this point. (Wow, really?) At this point I started asking around locally for a reputable person who could help me with this water heater replacement - I would rather pay someone out of pocket than endure this classic horror story everyone has heard a million times before.

Somehow, the previously assigned company dispatched one of his people to my home ASAP to take a look. I paid the person $65 to have him (very honestly by the way) tell me that Choice probably wasn't going to cover the replacement because of the age of the water heater, and he let me in on a bunch of "secrets" about how the home warranty companies try to weasel out of paying claims. He said if he was to replace the water heater outside of the warranty service he would charge me $1,000 which would include the unit itself, but it would not include any closet reconfig needed (which I didn't expect anyway). I thanked him and he said he would submit the claim to Choice but he had my hopes very low that it would be approved.

Meanwhile, Choice actually did send the request back out and another service provider accepted it and scheduled something for Monday, then called me 15 minutes later to try to reschedule for Tuesday (6 days without hot water, in the winter, in a full house of people and pets... not acceptable.) I told the person to cancel the request.

I contacted Choice to cancel the request and to cancel my contract, and the minute they heard me say "Cancel my Contract" they put me on "forever hold". Choice offers a callback feature also, so after 30 minutes on hold I elected this option, and 4 hours later am still waiting for a callback, which is not likely to come in this lifetime.

I have since contacted Choice in writing both via email and have a letter ready to go out Certified Mail on Monday to instruct them to cancel and pro-rate refund my contract, per Paragraph L of the contract. I also am sending a copy of my letter to the TX Real Estate Commission, which 'sponsors' this company to do business in TX just to cover my bases.

I had high hopes, but amazingly and quickly those were stomped on by Choice Home Warranty. No, under no circumstances would I ever recommend Choice Home Warranty in any situation. Save money for home repairs which will come, and you will feel better about the repair - because even with a warranty company, you will be paying for the repair, and they will make the experience awful for you.

Posted on 12/26/2019

PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- Most stressful experience with any Home Warranty company. They are probably the cheapest, however they don't have a proper network to support your need. They have a few contractors, however they hardly can resolve any issues. Their techs don't show on time, and they don't care about the customer and their time. Please stay away from this company.

Posted on 10/10/2019

NEW JERSEY -- Stay away from this company. Not only does it cover nearly nothing that breaks, its service people are not the best in the city, to put it mildly. Everything that has broken in my house except the thermostat has been on the 'exceptions' list. Now when I want to cancel, they say that I agreed to renew my contract. I have been dissatisfied for months but I cannot cancel because they say that I renewed my contract. My documents state that it expired in February of 2019 and they say that it expires in February of 2020. I have been on the phone with them for an hour; every time the supervisor answers (it is very hard to understand their rapid fire speech) she hangs up and I have to start again.

Posted on 10/07/2019

PORT RICHEY, FLORIDA -- I have had Choice Home Warranty for about six months now that I had a claim or a problem until today. Something happened to the election in my home on Friday evening about 9:00 PM. I called Choice warranty performing it would submit the claim and get back to me in a little while. They did not do so. The next day I got an email from them saying that a technician will be there Monday afternoon between three and eight. I had no electricity in half my home and no air-conditioning Friday night, all day Saturday, Saturday night, Sunday, Sunday night is now almost 1 o'clock in the morning on Monday. It is 86° in my home down from 89 where it was today. My family and I are sweltering and I have to wait for tomorrow 3 o'clock for technician.

Posted on 07/17/2019

HENDERSON, NEVADA -- I had a pipe burst in the attic of my house. Time sensitive issue. Best they could do was an appointment in 2 days. I contracted the repair out privately. Job done. Later, I found I could have called to get prior authorization for my own contractor. Easier said than done. No company wants to spend 30 minutes on hold and then get the request denied.

I retroactively appealed the decision, and they gave me a run around. First, they tried to deny the claim (exclusions), then they said absolutely need prior authorization for out of their network. After much arguing, they offered to pay me $100 toward the $562 dollar repair. This is for a good customer, with two contracts. Likely I would have gotten squat without that. So: Many exclusions, then they try to low ball the repair or replacement. They do not provide emergency service. Contractors hate them. I hate them. Slow or no service. Lots of bad ratings, well deserved. Steer clear, and watch out for the sales pitch.

Posted on 07/13/2019

EDISON, NEW JERSEY -- Stay far away from Choice Home warranty. My husband warned me that they are a rip-off but I chose to stay with them anyway. So after some time went by my air conditioning went out. The technician they sent out said it was a bad coil that they just go out sometimes. I asked him if there was any reason and he said no. They simply break. So then I had a Home Depot carrier representative come out and look and he said the same thing. Well Choice warranty said they would not cover it because there were some leaves in the outside unit of the air conditioner. They said that meant I was not maintaining it properly.

After reading other reviews I see that they just get out of paying on most claims by claiming there's rust or it's dirty and not maintained. So then after many many calls they offered me a "good faith" amount of $375. (The unit is going to cost me $4,000 plus dollars.) Now they will not even pay me that because I have stopped paying them monthly, even though the warranty was paid in full and still in effect when the occurrence happened and the claim was denied. Beware. ☹️

Advertiser Disclosure:

The information we provide and the analysis we share is always free. So, how do we survive? We get compensated by our partners, which may sometimes influence the products or services we review and the order in which they appear. Our suggestions and guidance are unbiased and are based only on our thorough research.