Preview Review

Next Review

College Works Painting

Star Star Star Star Half star
4.4 out of 5, based on 106 ratings and
114 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
College Works Painting
1682 Langley Ave.
Irvine, CA 92614
888-450-9675 (ph)
www.collegeworks.com
info@collegeworks.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Impressive House Painting
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- We were impressed with the entire process! From nailing down the contract, to choosing the paint color and through the completion of the job. The attention to detail was amazing and the communication I received on a daily basis made this a lot less stressful than other jobs I've hired for.

Company Response 07/25/2018:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Communication is key and we are glad to hear the representative you were working with was very communicative with you. Please let us know if we can assist on any future projects you may have.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Advertisement
It Was A Varied Experience: Super Friendly Contact Person, But Lots Of Extraneous Noise And Many Delays
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

SONOMA, CALIFORNIA -- I had a nice initial contact with Hiromu **, who was the salesperson and coordinator for College Works Painting jobs in Sonoma this summer. However, once I'd signed the contract I was surprised by how many further calls and visits were necessary to get the painting job underway. And when the job was nearing its scheduled time, I had calls and contacts from Hiro asking questions I thought we'd already settled as well as asking if I'd be willing to delay my project (I'd given a 2 week window over a month in advance, and he was having trouble getting crews to finish projects in time to do mine during that window).

I said, “No, sorry, but I really did need the job done by my move-in date.” I was told not to worry. However, the day I arrived with the movers and their van was the day the painters were just beginning to spray the paint on the house, and they had to stop their work in order for the moving company to move me in. Not a satisfying situation for anyone, to say the least. That said, there was a silver lining to this story, as the painters were about to paint over minimally-prepared siding, having not done the crack-filling and caulking I'd been promised.

I was able to alert the crew's boss the next morning, and they were directed to do the preparation needed before painting. In the end, the paint job was well done, and I was very happy with it at its completion. Hiro is a friendly, kind-hearted and well-meaning college student who had a tough job to manage this summer. He was conscientious and wanted to satisfy his customers' needs.

He went out of his way to help them out (for example, he helped me as I trimmed back some plants from the area to be painted). I'm sure he learned quite a lot about time management, project management and people/team management during this summer with College Works. I wish him very well in all his future endeavors.

Company Response 09/10/2018:

We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused. This is not the kind of first impression we want to leave you with. Please contact our corporate office at 888 450 9675 to further address the concerns you have mentioned.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Paint Interior Walls of Our House
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MADISON, WISCONSIN -- We had the interior walls of our house cleaned and repainted by a College Works Painting crew managed by Jack **. He made an initial proposal after touring our house. He and his crew came on the agreed day. They carefully cleaned the walls and repaired some dings and small holes. They matched the existing paint color accurately. The painters worked carefully and did not spill or splash. They paid excellent attention to detail. Jack checked repeatedly with us to be sure we approved of the work. The finished product is exactly what we desired. They cleaned up thoroughly. We are very pleased with the result.

Company Response 09/10/2018:

Your feedback is greatly appreciated! We are thrilled to hear about your experience with this particular representative. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Exterior House Painting
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN -- Connor ** and his team from College Works Painting did an outstanding job painting the entire stucco exterior and trim of my Tudor style home. Connor did a great job presenting his bid and laying out exactly how his team would go about completing the job. The bid was fair and I chose to move forward with the project.

Connor kept me constantly informed on when he and his team would be coming and going (due to weather delays). They were always very polite and did a great job of cleaning up every night before they left. He and his team went the extra mile to help me out with a couple of additional things I asked them to do for me free of charge as well. I have received nothing but positive feedback from my neighbors on what a great job they did and how wonderful my house now looks. I would definitely recommend College Works Painting to anyone.

Company Response 09/10/2018:

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are thrilled to hear about the experience you had while working with this specific representative. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Advertisement
Very Positive Experience: Stained Decks and Freshly Painted Bathroom!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

HASLETT, MICHIGAN -- We were very happy with the job that was done by the College Works Painting crew this summer. The manager, AnDrew **, was very attentive to our project and our needs, from start to finish. The planning and commitment to the job began in early Spring, the work was completed within one week as anticipated in the middle of the summer, and a followup visit occurred to tidy up any last minute details.

We were very happy with the results. Several nicely stained decks and a freshly painted bathroom. On another note, AnDrew ** was very knowledgeable and helpful in choosing the colors and types of stain/paint being used. He displayed a tasteful eye for design from which we truly benefited.

Company Response 09/10/2018:

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear about the experience you had while working with this specific representative. Please let us know if we can assist on any future projects you may have.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Amber **, Project Manager for College Works Painting
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

RED BLUFF, CALIFORNIA -- In the Spring and Summer of 2018, Amber ** had the opportunity to work as a project manager for College Works Painting in our area. Amber came to our home in April to give us a bid to do the two-story shop building on our property. She was very thorough in putting together a fair bid, realizing that the job would require extra time for prep work. We signed the contract and work began around the first part of July and was completed around mid-July, to our satisfaction.

What stood out to me about Amber is her strong work ethic, stick-to-it positive attitude, her ability to manage workers well, and desire for customer satisfaction. Amber has a great future ahead of her, both with College Works Painting and with any company she will work for — even her own if she so desires.

Company Response 07/30/2018:

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review! We are happy to hear about the experience you had working with this particular representative. Please let us know if we can assist you on any future projects.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
This Crew Painted the Interior of an Entire House in 5 Days.
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

GRAHAM, WASHINGTON -- I found Amanda ** and her crew on a Facebook page, advertising in a town close to ours. We communicated briefly messaging on FB and very quickly Amanda fit us in to her busy schedule to inspect our house and give us a quote. Time was an issue for us, but she managed to work us in to her schedule. Her crew arrived Monday AM and finished Friday for the entire house. Prep work was thorough and painting skills were excellent. Attitude and conduct of Amanda and her crew were fabulous. I would hire them again in a heartbeat. The best paint crew I have had the pleasure to use. Thanks!

Company Response 07/25/2018:

Thank you for this positive review! We are glad to hear about your experience working with this particular representative. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Painting Job Turned Out Great
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

I would recommend College Works, specifically if managed by Chad **. I have a century-old house which I had waited too long to repaint, and I only wanted CW to paint the top third of the house, which I couldn't reach myself (trying to save money). What I liked best about Chad was that he was easy to work with, listened, and quickly made right any issues that came up, even to the point of taking care of the work himself. He cared about doing a good job and satisfying the customer. In the end, the colors were beautiful and the work was done well.

Company Response 07/17/2018:

Thank you for your positive feedback! We are glad to hear about the experience you had working with our company. Please let us know if we can assist on any future projects you may have.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Advertisement
They Took My Deposit Then Disappeared
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINSTON-SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- They took my $1,697 deposit over two months ago and I haven't seen or heard from them since. They missed the appointment to pick paint colors in early May. I found out they had fired the guy who sold me the project. I finally called the guys boss (Riley **) and left 3 messages. He never got in touch with me so I wrote them and told them to cancel the project. They said someone would get back to me. That was last month and of course I haven't heard anything.

I painted houses in college and really like the kid who sold me the project. I wanted to give him a shot like I got. I regret that now. Once they had my money everything changed and now they have just disappeared. Save yourself the hassle and don't do business with these guys.

Resolution Update 06/19/2018:

Update: Posted a similar review on other websites then wrote the Evacuative Officer and told him my story. Jeff Gunhus called within hours and said; 1) I would get a full refund, He would use this as a “teaching moment” for his organization and 3) He would make a $500 donation to the homeless men's shelter in Winston Salem for my trouble.

We were on the phone for less than a minute. I received my refund in the mail today. I'm glad the situation was resolved. Thank you Jeff for making it happen.

Company Response 06/25/2018:

We apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused, our records indicate your deposit was returned to you on 06/18. Please let us know if you have not received it.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Review
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- Everyone who I've talked to with the company has been very polite and friendly. Clay was helpful when it came to resolving some issues. He took the time to listen to our concerns and come up with a good resolution.

Company Response 09/18/2018:

Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear about the experience you had with us. Please let us know if we can assist on any future projects.

Regards,

College Works Painting

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >