Preview Review

Next Review

United Healthcare Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
"Network" Providers Not Available
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TREASURE COAST, FLORIDA -- As some may or may not be aware United Healthcare terminated 70% of the "Network" providers from their panels. Of course as an insured with UHC notification of this action was not given until after "Open Enrollment" ended thereby locking me in another year with UHC, had this information been available before "Open Enrollment" ended I would not be with UHC anymore however UHC carefully navigated the timing of the terminations of the network physicians so as not to become know till it was too late.

My experience began January 21, 2014 my doctor had ordered "fasting" blood work, I called the lab the day before just to be sure I knew where I was going and confirm the hours, of course there was nothing more than a recording providing the address, directions and hours they are open and informing me there would be no live person to speak to at this location (I should have known right then there was a problem). I arrived at the address provided yet there was no sign, no indication a lab was there upon checking with neighboring properties I was told the lab had closed "months ago".

While standing right there I called UHC and after 25 minutes of checking of course I was told the lab was right there. I mailed them a picture of the empty office and then was provided another location to go to have my fasting blood work done without even an apology, I arrive at the next location provide to me by UHC and again the lab had closed months ago, went through the same scenario with UHC and they sent me to a 3rd location where a lab should have been and yes, believe it or not that location had also closed (Lab Corp was now the ONLY network lab for UHC they did not have to be convenient as we have no other choice.)

The fourth location was the charm. I arrived at the fourth location went to the reception desk to sign in on the sign in sheet for everyone that came in to see I had been there (so much for privacy) and was then told by the receptionist I would need to provide my credit card for them to copy and keep on file for any charges to be put on my credit card if not paid by UHC.

Now understand probably 80% of the time a charge is denied or not paid correctly and they would just put through the charge to my credit card leaving me to fight the battle with UHC and that being the least of the problems leaving your credit card on file for any "authorized" or maybe not even authorized person to use. NOT! I will not leave my credit card with anyone for an in case scenario. It is now 12:30 PM and I am still fasting, the room is spinning and I am feeling very light headed and still no blood work done because without my credit card there will be no blood work done.

I finally left went down the street to our community hospital and had the blood work done and did not provide my credit card to be kept on file and we all know UHC is not going to pay them and I am screwed because UHC only allows Lab Corp as a "network" Lab... what other choice did I have? 3 Locations I was provided to go to by UHC turned out to no longer exist and the fourth wanted to keep a copy of my credit card just in case!

No, the nightmare does not end there! I have been under treatment and had a Mohs surgery (for Basal Cell CA) done April 2013 had a couple of complications so January 2014 I was still under care for skin cancers or lesions that left go can become cancer. In December there was another lesion on my back this time I did not know UHC was terminating 70% of the network providers as of January 1, 2014 and my doctor was one of them. I had an appointment the beginning of January so I mentioned it to the doctor his response was "this doesn't look good" so the biopsy was done immediately, it came back a week later.

Melanoma, and surgery needed to be done. It was schedule to be done Feb but 3 days before the surgery UHC canceled the surgery and called to tell me to find someone in "Network." I am distressed as I already am under treatment for Basal Cell and I must go elsewhere but I moved forward as my doctor said I must get this taken care of. I go to the UHC website, put in my zip code and lo and behold, 51 doctors come up but that was not to be so true.

10 of the doctors are listed as many as 5 times with different addresses, 4 of them are more than an hour each way to get to but none had an available appointment until March 26th and it could not be with a doctor it was with a nurse and she would decide when and if I needed an appointment with the doctor (I am not taking the treatment or non treatment of my Melanoma to a nurse!) No wonder they advertise on TV constantly any quality competent physician does not need to advertise on TV for patients! They want to bill my insurance the same amount for a nurse as a physician they are not on the same level as an MD, sorry!

After much back and forth with UHC they found me an appointment with another doctor, I waited patiently for my appointment day, arrived with all my records in hand anxious to finally be seeing a doctor and moving forward with the treatment for the melanoma... NO that did not happen! Though United Healthcare made the appointment and insist this physician was in "network" his office insisted he did not accept my UHC even after speaking with UHC on the phone at length I was left with no treating physician and a melanoma on my back that can be spreading or even moving to other organs and no "Network" physician to see and treat me!

I spent more than 3 hours on the phone again yesterday with UHC and still do not have an appointment for what can be a deadly form of cancer, I am 58 years old there is no excuse, no justification for this to be happening. United Healthcare decided to terminated 70% of the "Network" providers because the fewer providers, the fewer appointments, the fewer appointments, the fewer procedures or surgeries can be done and guess what that all converts to... United Healthcare pays less money and makes larger profits without regard for the health and welfare of those of us locked into UHC until 2015!! This should be criminal.

Replies
Can't believe it
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- I am so surprised to see bad reviews! I had this insurance in 2014 through my husband's employer and ended up needing a hysterectomy in December 2014. My husband's employer had already decided to switch insurance companies in Jan 2015, so I was in a time crunch.

I went on Dec 8th for pre-op evaluation, and my surgery was scheduled for Dec 18th. Unfortunately I found on from the hospital on Dec 17th that the insurance had not yet approved the surgery, because pre-approval had just been submitted by the doctor's office that morning, the day before my surgery.

I called the insurance company in tears to get this surgery done, as I was in pain, and I was told she would do everything possible to get it taken care of. I also stupidly disclosed that we would be changing insurance companies in a couple weeks and I didn't know what the coverage would be and I had already met my out-of-pocket annual maximum - a perfect reason for them to delay approval to not have to cover.

Imagine my surprise to get a call at almost 8:30 pm (well after closing time) to tell me it was all taken care of, I could have my surgery the next morning. Surgery was done, bills were paid, no problems. A few months later the anesthesiologist was billing me, saying my insurance didn't pay them. I looked at the EOBs, which said I owed them $0 due to network discounts, so I called and told the provider this. They said OK, no problem.

A few months later (after my coverage ended) I got a call from the anesthesiologist again saying I owe, and that they are not in network with my insurance. I called UMR and they got on 3-way call with me and the provider and told them they are in network. The anesthesiologist office said "I don't care. We are billing it."

True to their word they sent me to a collection agency. I told them what happened (Note this was almost a year later, long after coverage was terminated with this plan). I called UMR and they send documentation to the provider showing their in-network status with a copy of the contract. The collection agency continued to call and I continued to explain to them and they told me to call the provider, which I did, and they said they would look into it, which they didn't.

Fast forward to today, March 2016, 15 months after my procedure and the termination of my UMR plan - the collection agency said I need to send EOBs to show I don't owe the balance by the end of the day or my credit is going to take the hit. I called UMR with no ID, no active plan, and no benefit to them whatsoever and spoke with Natalie, a super sweet woman who looked up all EOBs for anesthesia (as they did not bill under their business name, but under a provider whose name the provider couldn't tell me), and she faxed the EOB immediately and waited on the phone to make sure I got it. I faxed it to the collection agency; game over - I win.

UMR reps were always understanding, helpful, accommodating and expedient. I know they say people are more likely to leave a bad review than a good one, but I believe this company definitely deserves credit for the assistance they provided me, and continue to provide long after my coverage was ended. I would recommend them to anyone looking for good customer service.

Replies
WORST Experience, Most Incompetent Staff Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARKET PLACE, FLORIDA -- WORST, WORST, WORST experience ever! Here's my experience... (Personal information has been changed for my privacy). 2012 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare Golden Rule. March 2015 - Signed up for individual insurance for "Suzy " (female) with United Healthcare MarketPlace. - March 2015 - Marketplace plan was started, and month 1 paid. ID **. March 31, 2015 - Marketplace plan was terminated without communication to either Suzy or Stewart. March 2015 - No payment made to United Healthcare Golden Rule.

May 2015 - Suzy realized she never received an insurance card from the MarketPlace and could not log in to their website. May 2015 - Stewart (Insurance Agent) and I ("Suzy Anne " (female)) called United Healthcare MarketPlace regarding plan established in March. Response was that the plan never went through, and a new application was filled out over the phone. New application used the wrong name (Anne as the first name, as the surname, no mention of Suzy) and indicated insured was a male. Suzy paid $713.72 to cover the balance from April and May. ID **.

May 2015 - United Healthcare mailed Suzy 2 letters regarding outstanding balance of $38.62 and a period of 10 days to pay the balance. Suzy was out of the country and did not receive either letter. No communication was made via email or telephone to either Suzy or Stewart regarding payment issue or coverage termination. July 20, 2015 - Physician office calls Suzy regarding insurance had been terminated. ID **.

July 20, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart call United Healthcare, call was disconnected. Suzy called United Healthcare back and spoke with a customer service. She was advised her insurance had been terminated for lack of payment. Bank statements indicate a check for $224.11 was mailed to United Healthcare each month, yet according to the United Healthcare representative, none of those payments were attributed to Suzy 's account. According to the bank, they were all cashed. Suzy was advised to send an email and explain the situation. An email was sent (to uhcexchange@uhc.com) and Stewart was carbon copied.

July 21, 2015 - Email from United Healthcare was received by Stewart that read "We will make the exception to reinstate without lapse with the additional $38.62 and the June payment of $262.73 for a total of $301.35. The insured can call and pay with a cc payment today or they can send a payment to us to be received by the close of business on 7/23/15, after that date we will not be able to reinstate without lapse."

July 21, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare, paid $301.35 and was advised her account would be reinstated. This reinstated her Golden Rule account from 2012 (ID **), not her most recent MarketPlace account. Suzy was transferred to the MarketPlace, however after speaking with someone and waiting on hold for more than 30 minutes, the call was disconnected. Prior to being disconnected, Suzy was advised that she paid $713.72 in May, and her account had been terminated at the end of May.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was advised that her account (ID **) had been terminated in March. The representative advised a new application would need to be filled out. They found Suzy's name was written as Anne and she was identified as a Male. The call was disconnected before the application could be completed.

July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Marketplace to get reinstated. She was informed that there was nothing she could do as her insurance had been terminated. Call transferred to Tier 2, who sent a request to United Healthcare Case Management to reinstate insured. Suzy was advised the process could take 1 - 2 months. No record of May's payment or Golden Rule account was found. July 22, 2015 - Suzy called United Healthcare Golden Rule to confirm insurance coverage secured the day before (July 21, 2015). Her ID (**) could not be found in the system.

July 24, 2015 - Suzy and Stewart called United Healthcare MarketPlace to discuss coverage. Their system did not reflect calls from earlier in the week, nor did it correct the name "Suzy Anne" and "Anne." Service representative Lance advised call would be elevated to someone that could problem solve and worked on odd situations; United Healthcare MarketPlace should be in touch with Suzy in 5 - 7 business days with a resolution.

July 28, 2015 - Case management called and left a voice mail. Name (first name only) was not understandable. Did not leave a case number. Call was to informed me they had my case and would be working on it. July 27, 2015 at 6:20pm. Called number left on the voice mail (877-887-0441), no notes regarding case management, case manager or case number. Called number that called me (**), call was disconnected.

July 31, 2015 - The MarketPlace called to inform me my application has been updated. Marketplace has updated my application. Sent the application and a request for reinstatement to the UHC. Have to work with UHC to get reinstated. Has no information about payments, old policy ID number. At this point I have to work with the plan (aka UHC). Name and sex have been corrected. No idea who at UHC I need to talk with. Advised her that my policy got messed up because the Golden Rule and MarketPlace systems didn't catch the error in my application.

She asked why not, and I said it was because the systems don't communicate and neither do the people. She said I would need to work with the insurance plan. I asked who that was and she said the plan. After asking for clarification again, she said it was UHC. I asked which department at UHC I would need to talk with since if I called then and said, I need to talk with the Plan, they would think I sprouted a second head. She said she didn't know, she wasn't part of their company and doesn't know their departments. She doesn't communicate with them.

July 31, 2015 - United Healthcare called. Received a file from the MarketPlace on 7/15 showing termination should have been 3/31. As of today, UHC has not received anything from the Marketplace. If the Marketplace sent something, it will take about 30 days to process. July 31, 2015 - A letter from Golden Rule and check came in the mail today. The letter states that I am paid through July 31, 2015 and in fact overpaid by $224.11. The check is for $224.11.

Here are the issues: This payment was made through the website that we set up access to while on the phone with the Marketplace in May 2015. This payment was applied to my old Golden Rule account from 2012. I was dropped from the Golden Rule account in May for non-payment. The Marketplace won't show record of this payment. I also received a letter from the Marketplace that says I am eligible to re-enroll in January. This is the first communication I have received from the Marketplace.

March 2015 through current - Suzy never received any communication, a new card or an invoice from United Healthcare Marketplace. March 2015 through recent - United Healthcare Golden Rule has been charging Suzy for an old plan, collecting payments and not attributing them to her account.

Sent them: Bank payments for United Healthcare Golden Rule. May payment for United Healthcare MarketPlace
American Express payment for $301.35 for United Healthcare Golden Rule, made July 21, 2015. Total paid to United Healthcare 2015. Jan: $224.11. Feb: $224.11. March:. April: $224.11. May: $224.11 and $713.72. June: $224.11. July: $224.11 and $301.35. Total: $2,359.73. Marketplace premium: $356.56. Owed to United Healthcare for = $-35.85.

Replies
Horrible Benefits!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

For as long as both Hubby and I have had full time jobs with benefits, we have almost always elected to use my husband's benefits for medical and dental insurance (mainly because I liked their medical insurance more than mine). We would reevaluate this every November when our respective employers' open enrollment period would begin. It's a system that has worked well for us as the coverage has almost always been comparable between our two workplaces.

Last November, when my job's open enrollment was announced, I asked my husband if he had heard anything from his job about OE. He hadn't so I held off on making any changes until close to the end of my enrollment period when I asked him again about it. He said that they had told him that they wouldn't have any information for a few more weeks but as far as he knew, there hadn't been any talk that year about changing providers (it had been a concern in past years as Blue Cross was trying to jack up the prices as usual).

Assuming that things were going to be status quo, I made no changes to my employee benefits aside from adding ** to my list of dependents for life insurance and vision insurance (I always carried the vision since his job didn't have any at the time). Two weeks after my job's OE period ended, my husband called me at work to tell me that his job was switching both the Medical and Dental benefits to UnitedHealthcare.

Since they had ** footed around and waited until the second week in December to make this announcement, we were SOL. Fortunately all of our physicians were in-network, so that didn't have to change. As far as dental insurance was concerned, I didn't really have any problem with whatever they offered since we had never used the dental benefits no matter who carried them. We just had it as a "just in case."

This spring, we found out that ** has cavities. A lot of them. And they're going to require a lot of work beyond the usual fillings (long story, not going into that). Anyway, we got an estimate from the dentist and I noticed that what was actually listed as the patient's responsibility (about $900 out of the nearly $5K total bill) was much less than what they had told me would be my portion (they told me over the phone that I would be responsible for about $3200 of this bill).

I looked at the benefits sheet for our dental insurance and I saw the line that said "Annual Benefit Maximum" was only $1000. I called UnitedHealthcare (their people are very polite, I'll give them that) and they confirmed that they will only pay about $1000 per year per person. What good is that when you're looking at work like this? It was bad enough that I had to search high and low for a pediatric dentist that was "in network" because the insurance would pay nothing for an out of network dentist, but now the most they'll pay is $1000?

I thought maybe this was par for the course for all dental insurances (they want prevention and early intervention rather than waiting until something like this happens, I'm sure), but then I looked over the benefits that my employer's dental insurance provided (MetLife), their annual max was $3000! There's plenty of blame to go around here. We shouldn't have waited so long to take ** to the dentist. But I blame my husband's job for waiting so long to let their workers know that their benefits would be changing (had we known that they were switching providers, I would have gotten on my insurance even before I knew the specifics).

I blame the HR lady for convincing my husband to take the lower dental insurance that pays nothing for out of network (I wanted the better paying one that would have paid almost same for out of network as in network) even though that wouldn't have helped the benefit max (same for both plans). And I blame UnitedHealthcare for giving us such useless dental insurance for almost the same cost as I would have paid for the better coverage through my employer!

Replies
Advertisement
Refusing to pay for claims
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I am currently covered under my husband's employment, health plan, and I am also retired and have Medicare part “A” only. United Healthcare refuses to pay for my doctor bills because they say I am covered through any other plan, when, in fact, I only have Part “A” on my Medicare plan. I tried appealing, and I tried calling them to tell them that I only have Part “A'” not part “B" but they don't care.

Replies
Fraudulent Company Terrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DAVIDSON, NORTH CAROLINA -- I needed to get Physical Therapy done and I called a Facility close to me that confirmed that they are in network for my insurance. I also checked and confirmed that they were in network for UMR/UnitedHealthcare website. In addition, I also called Grand Rounds (3rd Party that helps with insurance questions for my employer) and they also confirmed that this facility was in network. Once the claim was filed they told me that I went to an out of network provider. I checked online and my facility still shows as in network.

If they are out of network then UMR/UNC is committing a fraud by telling its customers to go to an in network provider and then processing the claim as an out of network provider. Other than this situation, I've had some sort of an issue with every claim that was filed. United HealthCare used to be good but when UMR took over I've had all these issues and if my employer gives me a choice I would never sign up for them again. I'll be definitely giving this feedback to my employer as well and hope that they can offer the employees better options in the future. Attached is a screenshot showing that my facility is in network.

Replies
Complete Incompetence
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My prescription required pre authorization for the new year. My doctor's office was very quick to react with appropriate documentation. Unfortunately United Healthcare was very incompetent. Making multiple calls (more than 4) and being put on hold for an average of at least 12 minutes per call I finally asked the person ** to pull up the pre-authorization approval and verify that it was correctly submitted. It was then determined that United Healthcare had completely messed it up. They had corrected the verbiage of the message but had "forgot" to change the unit of measure.

I was then told to call back in 2 hours because the department that handled pre-authorizations was not open. It was I, as a consumer, asked that they open the pre-authorization to verify that it it was correctly filled out before one of the 5 representatives I talked to finally opened the document and discovered that my script had not been filled in 4 days due to their own incompetence.

My career has been in analysis and problem resolution and the most basic, first step process is to review the document that is causing the problem. Yet, none of the representatives even though about doing this until I, the customer, recommended that they do this. Even after they finally see what they messed up it will take 3 hours for them to correct it. Sadly, before I made the request for them to open the pre-authorization form all of the representatives were submitting a request for review which would have taken anywhere from 2 to 7 days.

I have already been without the prescribed medication for 4 days. I was looking at potentially another 7 days without medication. It is fortunate that this was not a life threatening medication and in need of quick resolution by such an inept company. I am appalled at such ineptness and disgusted with this service. I now have to drive in an ice storm to pick up a script that is 4 days late due to the incompetence of this company.

Replies
Out of Pocket Expense
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SALT LAKE CITY, UTAH -- My doctor requested an MRI authorization from United Healthcare. United Healthcare denied the procedure. BUT, they paid the vendor when they submitted their bill. When I called United Healthcare about the authorization and if I could pay for the procedure myself. I was told by 2 customer service reps that I could submit the bill and I would be compensated. NOT!!

After 2 months of discussion with various customer service reps (every time I called, I had to give all the particulars of the situation as they could not find the info in their system). Each call took about 60 minutes. At this point, I was told that United Healthcare did not make payments to members but had to pay the vendor. When I asked to speak to a supervisor on one of the calls, I had to ask 4 times and get nasty before they transferred me to a supervisor. I was told I could file a grievance and claim.

I received a letter from United Healthcare that they would "discuss" my displeasure with their customer service dept. LOTS GOOD THAT DID I AM SURE. I was told that even though United Healthcare paperwork said the grievance and claim process took 60 days. A customer service supervisor said it wasn't 60 days BUT 60 BUSINESS DAYS. Quite a difference. We have just asked United Healthcare how we would be compensated for emergency services out of country. I was told that I could submit a claim to United Healthcare and they would pay me.

REALLY - United Healthcare wouldn't compensate me for a procedure in the United States and I am to believe they would compensate me out of country??? I would not recommend United Healthcare to anyone and plan to select another medical provider during the current enrollment period.

Replies
Advertisement
Fractured back a 15 bussiness day wait for surgery
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PEORIA, ARIZONA -- Hurt my back 5 weeks ago. Got the MRI and results last week. Have a fractured vertebrae. Have not been able to work for the last month because it's so painful. My doctor's office just told me it would take 3 weeks for pre authorization to have a kyphoplasty to correct it. If I lose my job or my ability to use my legs due to this hold up, I will sue the hell out of UHC, be assured of that.

Replies
Denial of Prescriptions
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

My daughter has seizures, and the original medicine she was prescribed (which UHC covered) caused bad side effects. She would turn into a different person for the first couple hours after taking her medicine. She was almost manic! As the medicine wore off each day she became depressed and mopey. Her school work was also suffering, and the teachers were asking us if there was a problem. She had previously been a good student and all the teachers loved having her in the class. This was at a low dose of the medicine, as the doctors were ramping her up to the normal dose for a child her size.

After discussing with the neurologist, he then prescribed a new medicine. The new medicine was the same as the old, except it was time release. With the new medicine she has gone back to her old self, and doesn't experience wild mood swings. Unfortunately, UHC will not cover the time release medicine. Because the time release medicine contains the same ingredients as the cheaper first medicine, they will only cover that medicine. We have appealed, with doctors and teachers writing letters to describe the side effects of the first medicine. None of this matters to UHC.

We will continue to pay the $650/month for the time release version. We are lucky enough to be able to afford this. However, I feel for those in the same situation who are being denied and can't afford it. We probably would take her off the medicine completely and risk further seizures if it meant going back to the first medicine. Prior to this happening, UHC denied my cholesterol medication. This medication had previously been allowed by Humana before my company switched providers. My specialist told me I was better taking an over the counter version instead of the medication UHC would cover.

However, he recommended I continue to take the non allowed medication. I did continue to take this medication until we had the issue with my daughter not being covered. At that point paying the monthly amounts for both was not an option, so I have discontinued the cholesterol medication. UHC has a well-earned reputation for not covering medical necessities. They offer lower premiums to companies, and then make up the profits by not covering items the doctors feel are important.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

United Healthcare Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 106 ratings and
153 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
United Healthcare
P.O. Box 1459
Minneapolis, MN 55440-1459
866-633-2446 (ph)
www.uhc.com
Compare Health Insurance Companies