Preview Review

Next Review

XM Satellite Radio Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Beware Music Lovers, Don't Do It.
By -

Beware music lovers of XM Radio. Don't Get sucked in because it's almost impossible to get out or cancel your agreement. First of all it's great that they let you try it out when you buy or lease a new vehicle. But if you continue the service with them be sure to read the fine print in the owners package of information. It states that the service will automatically continue unless you call them to say you want to cancel.

What I'm saying is that you get a bill in the mail to renew your plan. You don't want to renew the plan so you toss the renewal application in the trash and everything is OK, right? WRONG. You have to call them or they will continue to charge your credit card. Now in the case where you have changed card companies closing one account and opening a new account they can't automatically charge you. However, they turn it over to their collections people and start to hound you.

If you ask them why they would charge you if you didn't renew your service they will tell you that they don't want to interrupt other customers service who forget and are paying late. They say this keeps XM from having to charge those late customers a reactivation fee in case there account is canceled. So in other words you are subsidizing the late paying customers by tossing that renewal in the recycle bin.

But wait, there's more. I drove a leased vehicle that had to be returned to the lease company by the end of December 2010. But last summer they sent me a special deal... 5 months for $20.00. I got sucked in and took the deal. But having prior knowledge of this company, I called in November and told the customer service representative that I no longer wanted to continue the service. Also I would be turning the vehicle in at the end of December anyway so why would I keep the service.

The representative told me there was no problem and that I didn't need to call them anyway because the special promotions was not subject to automatic renewals. OK fine, but I called and was sure I would not be charged. WRONG! In November, they started charging me which I didn't realize till after Xmas. Recently I have called my card company to protest the charges and also XM to cancel again (calling customer service can also be interesting, don't expect it to be quick and easy).

It's a shame that this is the only choice for music and news lovers. Remember that the two satellite companies merged, you don't have a choice. If you get sucked in because of a weak moment it's like making a deal with the devil. I can't see how these people can avoid a class action suit some day as they are desperately ripping people off to stay alive instead of providing great service and growing the business. I don't usually bother to write something like this, but I think I thought it might help someone else before they get into trouble. Good Luck!

Replies
Billed and Billed Again
By -

I had XM Radio in my Honda Ridgeline for about 4 years. I decided I could use the money for other things, so I decided to discontinue my service. I called and cancelled the XM in my vehicle. They said fine, they would and I thought that would be the end of it. That month I got my CC statement and there was a charge of $163.65 for 1 year subscription to XM. I called and said I did not authorize any charges and I had cancelled XM the month previous. The XM CS person told me since I had agreed to pay for XM with my CC previously that meant I "automatically" agreed to auto-renew with my CC in the future.

I told them I no longer wanted XM and to cancel my account and to refund my money. I was transferred to the service cancellation dept., where they offered me a $77 a year deal and, being an idiot, I agreed to it. But, I told them I wanted to get the refund on my CC, I no longer wanted them to charge my CC, and wanted to get a paper invoice for the $77 a year deal. They said that would not be a problem and they would take care of it. When I got my next CC statement, I say they credited my account on June 15 of '09, the $163.65, but then applied a charge of $66.60 to my account 2 days later.

In the mean time I got a bill of $88 and some change for the $77 plus royalty fee in the mail. I called them and asked about the $66.60, was told it was for a year of XM (even though that wasn't even the right amount), and I told them I got a paper invoice for the year subscription... and that I was not paying the paper invoice until I got a refund for the $66.60 that showed up on my CC... which was an unauthorized charge to boot.

From June of '09 through Oct. of '09, I fought with them to get my refund. I called them at a least a dozen times and literally spent hours on the phone with them...all to no avail...they just would not refund the money. I kept being told the refund would be processed in 72 hours or that it was "in suspension" and they couldn't process it. I got a different story every time I called them. To make matters worse, they sent the paper invoice amount to collections and I started getting hounded by collection company calls.

Finally in Oct. of '09 I disputed the charge with my CC company and I got my money back. Once I got confirmation from my CC company I was going to be getting my money back, I called XM and told them, in no uncertain terms, that I wanted my account cancelled and never to be contacted by XM again. About a month later I got a check from XM for $66.60 and then, two days later, I got a notice from a collection agency, saying I owed XM $66.60!!! I took the check I got from XM and paid the collection agency. Little did they know I paid them with their own money! Haha!

I thought that was the end of it... but no... in Feb. of 11 I started getting bills from XM saying I had signed up for auto renewal and I owed them $40 for 3 months of XM. I called and tried to get it straightened out, but they contend I never cancelled my account, I had XM all the way through until Jan of '11, and I owed them for 3 months of service.

I tried to work something out with them, but they refused to budge on it, so I told them they could stick the $40 where the sun don't shine... because I cancelled my account over a year and 1/2 ago... and there was no way on God's green Earth they were getting a ** penny out of me for something I never received. Well, just recently I got another bill from a collection agency. I have to figure out how to dispute this... I'd rather pay a lawyer a $1000 then give XM one more GD red cent of my money!!!

Replies
Unable to Cancel XM Sirius Radio Subscription
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- With a major difference, my experience is very similar to that of "con380" posted on 9/2/2010 on this site. Contrary to what con380 was told, that even phone calls to cancel your account does not work. At this point it is not obvious to me what will. Here is my situation in capsule - considering the new economic realities, my XM Satellite Radio yearly subscription was on the list of things to cancel. My renewal date was 12/06/2010 - Fees of approximately $160 are collected in advance/charged to your credit card.

On 10/04/2010 I called XM at 877-967-4672 and talked to **, one of their representatives. Explained to him why I was calling and asked him to do two things for me: (1) To remove my credit card # from their database (had been set up for automatic updates); and, (2) to cancel my account immediately. I told him I did not plan to renew my subscription for the foreseeable future due to economic hardship. He was polite and complied with my requests. We ended the call by giving me confirmation # for the cancellation (which I still have in my records).

As expected, early in December 2010 my XM Radio service became unavailable. Surprisingly, on January 24, 2011, I received an email from XM Radio stating I had till February 2011 to take care of the balance in my account (fees for an additional year of subscription). I immediately called XM customer service again at 877-967-4672 and this time was connected to **. I explained the content of their email and the reason for my surprise. I gave her my cancellation confirmation number from the previous conversation in November 2010. She could not find the number.

I explained that as far as I was concerned my account had been closed. If not, would she please close it now? Cherry gave confirmation # for the cancellation and our conversation ended. I was happy that the matter was finally taken care off. Much to my surprise, on the evening of 01/28/2011, I got a call from XM radio (**, ** this time) wanting to know when I would take care of the balance in my account.

I expressed my surprise and asked I could review the background with him. He said, did I mind if our conversation was recorded -- so that he could play it back for his managers - he suggested that the reason for my out of ordinary experience was that I had not gone through the right channels for the cancellation. I agreed and proceeded to review the background - albeit that I was getting very angry having to spend so much time with this simple request.

Kris said for me to stay online while he had his manager listen to the recording of our conversation. Then the manager will come on the line to resolve the issue. Five to ten minutes later another representative came on to ask me if I was ready to settle my balance! Does anyone to know how to cancel an XM radio account? I am mad as hell and will do all that I can punish XM Radio for treating me this way.

Replies
Bait and Switch and Incompetent Customer Service
By -

I received a teaser offer in the mail to rejoin XM at the "incredible rate" of 5 months for $20. Not a bad offer, so I stupidly got on the phone for the 45 minutes it took to re-initiate service (It took this long to cancel, so not sure why I thought it would be any better on start-up.).

The representative, "Brynn **" informed me of a new $3.50 "royalty fee" on top of the $20. I wasn't happy about the "new fees" but went ahead anyway. What appears on my CC a few weeks later was for $35+ to which I just logged a dispute with my credit card company for the difference between what appeared on my card and what I was quoted by the XM representative. I thought the matter was closed.

XM sends me an invoice, and several invoices thereafter, for this difference of $14 and some odd dollars! Not wanting to have another 45 minute conversation, I sent them a note from their "customer care" portal and the thread of ridiculous conversations got me nowhere near solving the problem. And now they have terminated my service BEFORE the 5 months that I had originally paid for has even lapsed!! How do you get decent service from this company without spending 45 minutes on the phone??

I've posted this saga here http://www.my3cents.com/showReview.cgi?id=84289 and will post it in other consumer forums so that others like me aren't lured into this ridiculous mess. Reviewers Note: They actually responded thru this email (below) and it appears to be the first time my issue has actually be reviewed. Looks promising but I am skeptical... Will update this review with the outcome.

XM on 8/5:

"Dear Mr. **,
Thank you for contacting XM. We apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are glad to assist you. In response to your email, we reviewed your account and record indicates that the last payment we received from you was last April 30, 2010 in the amount of $23.05. We made an adjustment on your account and to compensate the inconvenience caused, we already waived the balance on your account in the amount of $42.47.

Your service will continue until January 29, 2011 and rest assured that you have a zero balance on your account. If we can be of further assistance, please feel free to send an additional email or you may contact a Listener Care Representative directly at 1-800-XM RADIO (800-967-2346).
Thank you, Aldrin".

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Company Ever!
By -

I had been a customer of XM Satellite radio for approximately 2 yrs. When my subscription expired at the end of June I wasn't aware it had expired until I was not able to get a signal & called to have the signal resent. I called them 2 different days attempting to get a signal with no luck. On the 3rd day I was told that my subscription had expired at the end of June (this call was placed on the 21st of July) & through the double talk & broken English, I was able to decipher that I now owed them $20.75 for the time they allowed my service to run over before they decided to interrupt my service.

The operator attempted to get me to renew my subscription for 3 months for around $45.00. I told her that I had been on a yearly plan & asked how much that was. I have paid approximately $180.00 a year for the past 2 yrs. & was not expecting to hear that my grand total would now be $309.55. I told her not to charge anything to my account at this time as I wanted to confer with my wife to see how much she had originally paid for the service. She stated that my card would not be charged & gave me a reference number & we disconnected.

Upon speaking to my wife, she stated that it should not have been that much & that she would call them & see what she could accomplish. After attempting to haggle with them over the price, she concluded that our lives would not be negatively affected by canceling the subscription, which I wholeheartedly supported. I found out a few days later that XM had charged my credit/debit card for the $20.75 that I told the operator not to charge but that they had further charged the $309.55 for the one year subscription that we clearly stated we had no interest in.

I understand that there may have been a bit of a language barrier between myself & XM's operators, but when a customer states "I want to go ahead & cancel my account, I do not authorize any further transactions on my credit card" & they charge it anyway, that is just plain illegal. The other 3 cents I have about this situation is against our judicial system who fails to protect its people from corporate predators like XM. If an individual had taken my credit card information & charged $309.55 they would be prosecuted for Credit Card abuse in Texas.

Since XM has corporate lawyers that can run the prosecutors in circles for God knows how long, the judicial system writes it off as a civil matter, because they are either simply too lazy or too afraid to go after the corporations. I was a police officer for 9 yrs. & have built & testified & worked with prosecutors on cases like this, so I do have some "behind the scenes" knowledge about what goes on behind the closed doors of the Judicial System.

Replies
XM Radio Billing Scam
By -

Please read if you are about to cancel your XM Satellite Radio subscription. I don't know you, but I can tell you what will happen next. You will log into your online account to cancel the service, and find out that you MUST call an XM Radio representative to cancel a subscription. You will call the 800 number, and give your name, address, and account number to the first customer service representative, who will put you on hold for twenty minutes.

The second customer service representative will ask you for the same info you already provided, and ask you WHY you are canceling. You will answer, and be put on hold for another 30 minutes. The next customer service representative will ask you for the same info you already provided, and then ask why you are canceling, and then ask if there is something they can do to keep your business. When you answer no, you wish to cancel, you will be put on hold for another twenty minutes. At this time, the phone will disconnect.You will then repeat steps 2 through 4, get disconnected again, throw your arms up in the air in disgust and call it a day.

One month later, your credit card will be billed again, and you will repeat steps 2 through 4 again. This time you will be smarter (or so you think) that the representative, and you will tell the first one who answers that you are not going to wait, that you want to cancel your subscription immediately. You will be put on hold for another twenty minutes. When the next person answers, they will try to come up with a payment plan that will meet your needs. You will decline and demand a cancellation. They will tell you they are cancelling your account and that you will receive a cancellation confirmation email.

The confirmation email never arrives. One month later, you will be billed again. You make one final telephone call to XM Radio and repeat all steps above. Angry, you resort to ranting on a message board in hopes that somebody will be able to wave a magic wand and make the whole mess go away. When the XM fairy does not show up with the magic wand, you will be forced to cancel the credit card associated with the XM Radio account. Of course, this is the one credit card you have the most credit history with, and your credit score goes down the drain.

Replies
Deplorable Customer Service Rep
By -

Each time you call to cancel they've got another pitch. I liked the Blue Collar Radio and thought for $4.99 a month I'd take it. One renewal left me agreeing a "home radio"... but with no speakers when it arrived? I complained and they sent me a docking station but my speakers didn't work with it. I hated the auto bill, called and the representative removed my account info. Thought the account would cancel after the promo period and it did not. I received an invoice I thought was marketing materials. I finally answered a call to say, "Stop calling me. I'm not purchasing another promo." I was met with you owe $31.22.

Pressed the option for billing. Told the representative I didn't agree to a renewal in fact when I called last time I specifically told the representative I did not want an auto renewal. I was met with "we're an auto renewal company"... WTF!! I asked for a supervisor and my call was transferred to "Katie". 1st class **!!! I can't believe this "Katie" is the last line of customer communication or any for that matter. Katie assured me there was nothing that could be done. Not even if the president of the company was standing right there with her.

I asked "Katie" for her manager and was told, "No. Go to the website and write us." I told "Katie" she could pull my last call where the representative from the Philippines assured me there was no auto renewal/bill. Katie informed me only a court subpoena could get the call pulled which is located at "corporate". Katie then proceeded to tell me again, "No" to a manager request, "No" to a call back from a manager then said "We're just going around in circles. Is there anything else I can help you with? If not we're done." Before she could disconnect me I said, "I'll call back and get someone else."

I got transferred to Mike when I called back. Not the warmest fella but he got down to business. I explained my experience with Katie and what was explained to me when I renewed the service. He read the notes on my account. BAM!!! He resolved the issue. Oh FYI, when they place your radio on "inactive" or "deactivate" it doesn't mean the account is closed. Who'd know that?

Sell me a "portable home radio" with no speakers. Don't mention it doesn't have speakers. Ugghhh. Worst of all "Katie". In this economy I don't want to wish anyone to lose their job, however Katie should lose her job - utterly useless, rude, unyielding, and unbending. My company notwithstanding, its people like Katie that we don't want on our front lines representing the firm. We all have work to do...

Replies
My Story
By -

Like most people I signed up online and I took a two-year subscription. Never read the details, just wanted to get the receiver up and going. And of course they took my Credit Card info for a two year lump sum payment. Two years pass and I start to get phone calls telling me to call them because my Credit Card cannot be processed (got a new card and number during that two years). Thinking I really did not want to subscribe anymore I just ignored the calls by using call display and not picking up the voice messages. The few messages I would actually listen to became threatening; like sending me to a Collections Company.

So I finally did some research and found out that I had accepted a third year subscription that I was obliged to say NO to before a certain date. I didn't do what most others on this site did, which was try to call and cancel. As it turns out that wouldn't have helped anyway; not from the runaround that people were describing. Anyway they DID send it to a collections agency which started to call daily and badger and bully me.

So I called the Collections agency and asked them what was up. They said I owed XM about $175 or so for the additional one-year service. So I told them that the LAW required the Collections agency to provide me, in writing, the contract that I signed as proof I owed, AND the contract that they signed with XM that gave them the authority to collect. They countered that it was a verbal agreement that I entered into which makes no sense to me at all because verbal agreements are NOT binding. Don't know if they wear bluffing. Interestingly enough they have not called now for almost 8 months and counting. Just FYI if that helps anyone.

Replies
Advertisement
Bait and Switch
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I will never in the future do business with XM Satellite Radio or the SIRIUS Corporation for any product. XM Satellite Radio is trying to steal my money and their customer service can't or won't resolve the problem. They are very good a letting someone else deal with the problem by dropping my calls. My 2010 Prius has a Satellite Radio & Navigation System. On December 2, 2009, before the trial period of the Satellite Radio expired I logged onto the XM Satellite Radio website and signed up for 3 years of traffic data service for $91.96.

In January I noticed that I was no longer getting traffic data on my navigation system. My wife and I are very busy so it was not until February 8, 2010 that my wife called XM Satellite customer service. We eventually got through to Jeffery (confirmation # **) who said he fixed the problem, extended our 3 years to April 9, 2013 and gave my wife step by step instructions to get the system working again in my car. But still no service. I called tech support 2 days later. He found Jeffery's work in the computer, fixed an error and 20 minutes later my car has traffic data.

The only problem was when I got my credit card bill. On Feb. 8, the day we talked to Jeffery, my original $91.96 payment was refunded. On Feb 10, the day the techie actually turned on the service, I was charged $253.79. I called XM Satellite customer service 4 times. The first time the computer hung up before I got a person. The next 3 calls ended with “I need to transfer you”. After 10-30 minutes on hold their system hung up on me. I have disputed the charges with my credit card company but it will be up to 60 days before I get a response. To add insult to injury, the data Sirius provides is a small subset of what my I-phone receives as part of the AT&T basic data plan.

Replies
XM Radio the Worst 3 Days of Hell
By -

My wife recently got a new Honda and it came with a FREE 3 months trail of XM. I called to get the service and after thinking I had set up the account the nightmare began. I had to call back several time the first day of service because the radio was not getting the service. I was on US95 in a wide open area and it still never worked. Customer service was terrible. But it gets worse. After many calls over the next 2 days with no help and spending more time with XM than my family I decided to cancel the free trail service. Then I found out they had put me in for a year of service with prem and started to charge me but they didn't give me any service at all.

I was transferred 3 times to try to cancel service and the customer service people were nothing but rude. The 3rd person was nice except she really tried to just keep adding a 1 yr of service for 109 for the prem package. But I had to explain over and over I wanted nothing to do with XM after just 3 days. It was like trying to leave a cult. A consumer should be able simply call and cancel service after they verify their info, not be forced to be harassed to keep something they don't want. I am send complaints to Honda to let them know what is going on and to the Better Business Bureau for a company charging for services they didn't render.

I was told Sirius bought XM but the XM rep's and service is nothing like Sirius. I never had an issue with Sirius or their service. So even though they may be the same company I wouldn't ever think about XM again. I would rather rip the radio out of my Honda pilot and put a little Sirius receiver in. I haven't talked to Sirius about this issue but I hope these customer service rep's are not working from them. It was a nightmare and in the end after many times on hold I have been told I will receive a refund of the charges they took out for my Free service. So far not here yet.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

XM Satellite Radio Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
120 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
XM Satellite Radio
1500 Eckington Place NE
Washington, DC 20002-2194
866-962-2557 (ph)
202-380-4500 (fax)
www.xmradio.com
Compare Entertainment Companies