Preview Review

Next Review

24 Hour Fitness Memberships Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Deceptive Promotion
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- For all of you out there with memberships at 24hourFitness, beware. In 2008, 24hourFitness (in Round Rock) ran a promotion that if you prepaid 2 years at typical rate, you would receive 3rd year free, and then lock in a lifetime rate of $49 per year, so long as you paid yearly fee on time. Now, 24hourFitness is reneging on this agreement. My yearly rate has tripled this year. Many consumer protection websites are recording the complaints of angry 24hourFitness clients with this same promotional fee structure.

I contacted the 24hourFitness billing department - they were completely unhelpful and denied that anyone had locked in lifetime discounted rates. They claimed to right to change their fee structure at will. They refused to admit that there was a "spirit of good faith" in the contract. Those of you with promotional membership fee structures at 24hourFitness should review your contracts carefully. I will not be renewing my contract with this dishonest corporation.

Replies
Advertisement
Will Not Transfer Lifetime Membership From California to Arizona
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARIZONA -- Signed up for a membership in 1990, lifetime family membership in California. I continued to pay my dues each and every month regardless if I went or not. I moved to AZ Sept. 2014 and notified them of the move, went to their Gilbert facility. 24 Hour Fitness sold out to LA Fitness here in AZ and did not notify me. I try to go back to the gym after being on medical and found out that I cannot go so I called 24 Hour Fitness. Was told by the representative that my membership should have been transferred, went into LA Fitness and was told that was not true.

I was told that since my membership was bought in California that I was not eligible for the AZ transfer even though I had notified them that I live in Arizona. This transfer was 5 months ago while I was on medical, they continued to take the payments out of my account, not notifying me of the sell to LA Fitness and now they will not let me go to LA Fitness. I called 24 Hour Fitness once again, was again told that they did not transfer my lifetime membership to Arizona but I could still go in California. Why would I want to do that - what part of living in Arizona did they not understand?

They will only return this month's dues and cancelled my membership. I sent an email to their Corporate and one week later still have not heard from them. They are liars and cheats. Do not go to these people - after being a member for 27 years, they WILL NOT WORK WITH YOU! They should be sued for FRAUD.

Replies
Horrible Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I've had a membership with 24 hour membership for 10 years. On October 2015 my car driver side window was shattered and broken into. After that I no longer felt safe, and did not return to that gym. Called corporate office to complain. I was told that they would waive my membership fees for two months and that someone would call me regarding my complaint.

It's January 2016 and no one has the common courtesy to call with any concerns. No one cares about what happens on their property. No security. No cameras. We're on our own. It's very obvious that they were trying to shut me up by waiving two months fees. That doesn't even cover the expense of replacing my window and/or the cleanup of the mess.

Replies
Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This is my first review/complaint on a company. I am extremely disappointed and annoyed by their lack of customer service. This company have the worst customer service ever. I called on Friday, December 11th to cancel my membership. I spoke to a gentleman whom confirmed everything was fine. Never got the cancellation email and they charged me for the month of December. When I called to complain, guess what? They don't have a record of my call on that day.

Now that have the phone record on my phone, I need to bring it to a 24 Hour Fitness location so they can confirm I really called and only then I'll be refunded. Not only this guy didn't do his job but I have to go out my way to be refunded. It's ridiculous... It wasn't the first time I called for a matter and they didn't provide any service. If they want to keep customers around, they really need to reconsider how they treat their customers.

Replies
Advertisement
24 Hour Fitness- Not a great place to work.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PAPILLION, NEBRASKA -- I was hired by 24 Hour Fitness to be the Membership Manager for the Tara Plaza location in Papillion, NE. At first I was overwhelmed by the information I was supposed to retain but figured it was a new job and it was just a step I had to overcome. Another few weeks past and I started picking up on the business but still found it to be difficult and not worth the amount of money I was being paid. I finally took a stand and quit when my job of selling memberships to customers, just became down right ridiculous. Part of their marketing scheme is giving out free passes to try to get people in the gym, and eventually signing those people up.

The problem with this was that there was so many different types of passes coming through the door from all different types of people, I couldn't sign anyone up. Everyone just wanted to use their pass. There was passes on the 24 Hour Fitness website you could download, there was passes we were handing out in the gym, there was passes the company was emailing to customers that we didn't even know about! At the same time, my boss was calling and emailing people to come in and get a free pass, and then not honoring this pass when the customers walked through the door.

We were also given the responsibility of trying to decide whether or not a person has been in the gym before with a pass, and if so charging them this time. I see over 200 different people a day walk through that door and I am supposed to remember? A whole other issue was deciding whether to charge an individual who walks through the door that isn't a member. There is no set guidelines as to who is supposed to be charged and who is supposed to be let in for free. It was basically my discretion as to who to charge and who not to. So obviously you can see this turned into an even bigger issue.

I was told by my boss to charge people even if they came in with a pass that he told them to come receive. How does that work? Made me look like a huge idiot. My recommendation to the company is to do away with the free passes for good. This will make the membership staff's job a TON easier. If you aren't a member of the gym then you have to pay simple as that. If you are here for the holidays, you pay a flat rate for the amount of time you will be using the gym. If you are coming for one day, you pay 15.00 dollars or buy a membership no questions asked.

If this business would just put their foot down and charge all of the holiday traffic that comes through the door instead of just letting them work out for free, I think they would make more money. At the end of the day people don't need gym memberships, they want them. 90% of my sales were to people who already had their mind made up before they walked through the door. So making a 100 calls and sending 100 emails a day isn't going to make someone buy a membership. All that is accomplishing is harassment. All in all, being the Membership Manager for 24 Hour Fitness was the worst, low paying, hardest and near impossible job I've ever experienced.

Replies
Harassing Phone Calls
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- I have received numerous calls from 24 Hour Fitness gym for the past 2 weeks. I received 9 calls (5 within 2 days) just in the 1st week after missing my $20 monthly dues. I have asked the collection company to remove my phone number from their call list and I expressed my frustration and the feeling of being harassed over $20. IT'S 20 dollars?! Are you kidding me?

They continued to call even after I had asked them not to call me. For the second time, I requested 24 Hour Fitness collections not to call me. They still are calling me at least once a day. So, now for the 3rd time, I have asked them not to call me. We will see if their harassment continues. This is ridiculous and poor business practice. Based on 24 HOURS FITNESS's relentless harassment, I will be taking my business elsewhere.

Replies
Trying to Be Charged for a Service I Did Not Receive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- I signed up, total was going to be $80 and put a down payment of $40. They told me that the rest of the money would be due 2 weeks from the signing up date. I canceled after a week and before I canceled, I asked many times if the gym would make any charges to the account since it was not my card and they said no unless I decide to start the membership again (meaning I would have to go in, type my pin number, cell number and scan my index finger).

Never did they told me about a 5 day refundable day cancellation or being charged the rest of the money after 2 weeks even if I decided to cancel. Now they keep calling me about the money and I do not wish to pay $40 of a service I did not receive. I restrained the gym form making any further transactions but will this get me in trouble later on? I hate 24 hr fitness they should have been clear with me in the first place. DO NOT RECOMMEND IT.

(By the way I never argued about getting my down payment back, my argument with them was about trying to be charged of a 40 dollar service I did not receive or told me they were going to make charges for. If they would have simply told me the week that I canceled my membership they had to forcefully make that payment, I would have stayed until the end of the month make my money worth it but they told me that no charges were going to be made and now they're trying to get the rest of the money 2 months after I canceled).

Replies
1 Year Membership Gone to Waste
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BEAVERTON, OREGON -- My friend gave me a one year premium membership at a Super Sport 24 Hour Fitness. She paid for the membership in full through her employer and later decided that she was unable to use it so she gave it to me. I was able to use the premium membership for only two months because I relocated for employment to a small town in Idaho. Unfortunately, there is not a 24 Hour Fitness in the vicinity of where I moved.

I called the manager at the Tanasbourne 24 Hour facility in Oregon and she basically said there was nothing they can do for me. The manager said it was because my membership was a gift and that my account shows a zero balance. My membership does not expire until March 2013! I asked the manager if I could place the account on hold or transfer it back to my friend who originally purchased it and she said they could not. I then asked if I had any other options available to save my 1 year membership and she simply said no.

I called the 24 Hour Fitness corporate offices and spoke with a customer service representative who also offered no solutions. I insisted that I speak with a supervisor or manager and the service representative placed a request for them to call me back. It has been 4 weeks (a wasted month) and I have not received a call back from any corporate personnel at 24 Hour Fitness. My phone number and my email have not been changed. If I call again I am worried that I will be put through the same routine with no results, but I will give it another attempt.

I do not recommend 24 Hour Fitness because that they do not care about their members at all. Obviously, they made money from my friend's upfront purchase and did not own up to their promise or responsibility. What a shame that 24 Hour Fitness has gotten away with this type of business transaction.

Replies
Advertisement
Liars, Manipulators, Cheats, No Customer Service!!!
By -

I have gone through their humiliating harassment EVERY SINGLE YEAR of my membership since it became 24 Hour Fitness. Many years ago when they called themselves Family Fitness, I signed a membership contract which included 5 other 'family' members at one flat rate of $96.00 a year. That was a great deal back then. Within a couple of years, they changed over to 24 Hour Fitness and my contract was 'grandfathered' in, so the terms stayed the same. But shortly thereafter, there were renewal issues EVERY SINGLE YEAR which require me to write, call, and speak to foreigners who don't understand what I'm saying, or play dumb.

Each year they bill me except that people are missing from my account. I'm guessing it's in hopes that I will give up the great deal I have and pay their newer expensive and elaborate prices for a new contract, or get so frustrated that I will just give up my membership deal with them altogether. Each year they come up with a new scheme or flat out say that they accidentally closed those memberships and then make me jump through hoops in order to reinstate them, even though they have my full payment in their bank.

This year they unilaterally cancelled all but myself and 1 family member. I asked what happened to the rest of my money that I paid last year, and they just said it will be applied to future payment for the 2 remaining memberships. You see, they are trying every trick in the book to complicate my renewal in order to make me give up, so that they can cancel this wonderful deal of a contract.

I have gone through the same 'games' with them every year, in spite of the fact they guarantee they have corrected the problem and insist that everything will be fine in the future. That's a lie! And they refuse to let me speak to their supervisor or give me any names or phone numbers to reach anyone other than their (Nonexistent) customer service. It is disgusting how they treat long loyal customers like dirt, apparently due to their greed. They leave you with no recourse or no options if you don't like their lack of service. There's no way to reach anyone else. What a sham 24 Hour Fitness has become.

Replies
Unprofessional, awful customer service
By -

I have been a 24 Hour Fitness member since 2000. I got a deal with them back then with prepaid of 3 yrs. of membership, and $99 annual due thereafter. I haven't been really working out for the past couple of years and using their facility maybe once in a blue moon. I went in to work out couple weeks ago and was informed that my membership was terminated due to missing payment. The only way they can activate my membership is to provide proof of payment. My annual due date is 6/22/09, which is 7 months ago and I can't remember how I paid it and not to mention tracking my proof of payment.

Basically, 24 Hour Fitness staff told me it's my problem, not their problem and nothing they can do about it. I went work out 8/31/09 (I put a comment on my Facebook and that's how I remember my last workout date), and no one told me that they didn't receive my due in June. Apparently, 24 Hour Fitness does have a 90 day grace period, so if someone would have told me I missed my payment when I last worked out on 8/31/09, I would have paid $99 and stayed on my membership (though I believe I made the payment but somehow didn't go through, as I have been paying for the last 10 years).

All 24 Hour Fitness staff said "Sorry about that, again nothing we can do". I called the Club and membership services, all I got was run-around and "nothing we can do" & "you can negotiate a new contract with us". One membership service representative did tell me that he saw a note about payment on my account, but the company never got through it. He needed to check with Support Team and would get back to me. Of course, I never hear back from 24 Hr. Fitness. I called again, and 24 Hr. Fitness acted like nothing had happened and never heard my situation.

I am completely pissed at the way they treat loyal customer. There's always a solution to something. 24 Hour Fitness just simply doesn't care, they are after $, not care about you as a customer, not care about your health (They pretend they do when they try to persuade you to sign the Personal Training sessions). I see it as they try to screw me out of the sweet deal I got 10 yrs. ago. I have no faith in this company and completely disappointed about how they treat consumers. DON"T GO TO 24 Hour Fitness, unprofessional, unethical, disgusting customer services.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

24 Hour Fitness Memberships Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 9 ratings and
29 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
24 Hour Fitness
P.O.Box 2409
Carlsbad, CA 92018
800-432-6348 (ph)
760-931-1315 (fax)
www.24hourfitness.com
Product/Services
Compare Health/Fitness Companies