Preview Review

Next Review

Allstate Insurance Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Roadside Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

US WIDE, TEXAS -- On 17 Nov 15 I requested road service due to running out of gas. After 30 minutes of being transferred from department to department, with the accompanied computer wait of "We will be with you shortly," starting with a message that said "All our agents are helping other customers, we will be with you in ** minutes." This continued for nearly an hour. When an agent finally answered, he was curt, impolite, and very unwilling to arrange the service I needed. A Good Samaritan motorist stopped, took me to a fueling station, and returned me to my vehicle. Just last week, Allstate had the gall to send me a letter denying my claim due to lack of receipts.

I did not receive any service, had not filed a claim and had cancelled my membership on 17 Jan 16. Allstate still debited my checking account on 19 Jan 16 for discounted membership dues. I called again to customer service to demand a refund of that debit but was denied that credit although they terminated coverage on 17 Jan 16.

If you think that Allstate is "like a good neighbor",... You live in a neighborhood most would choose to avoid. Get AAA, they may cost a couple of dollars more per year, but at least they respond and send help when you need it. I had AAA for about 10 years without complaint and was provided the excellent service they advertised. I am sorry I fell for a few dollars less to find out about how badly Allstate Motor Club really treats its customers.

Replies
Advertisement
Allstate Insurance, BAD Experience. They Hire Incompetent Adjusters. Is This on Purpose to Avoid Paying the Claims?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I was driving my car about 2 weeks ago when an SUV hit me from behind. Fortunately both drivers were fine, so I decided against calling the police. Big mistake! I filed a claim with Allstate who is the insurer of the person that hit me so I can get my car repaired. I got an estimate myself from a body shop in Boca Raton where I live, car repair shop that is approved by most insurance, including state Allstate.

There are 3 damages on the back of my car, bumper scratched, a metal ornament damaged and a dent in the trunk. Powerline Auto Body Inc. estimate $1485.70 - 3-5 days rental car - $30/day + tax. I drive an Audi 4D sedan which is in perfect condition. I was asked by the Allstate agent to go to one of their adjusters, at King Automotive Group in Coconut Creek.

I went today for my appointment, thinking that it is a simple procedure. Mr. **, field adjuster for Allstate inspected my car and gave me an estimate. It was much lower than the estimate I got from the other shop. Estimate - $653.30 Comparing the 2 estimates, I realized that the dent in the trunk, the main damage from the accident was left out. Arguing with car adjuster Mr. **, I was told that he did not include the dent in the estimate, because it is unlikely that it is part of this accident and I need to prove this!!!

Apparently the owner of the car did not claim any damage on her car, so... that means that this damage was not part of this accident. Great reasoning! So, to summarize, I have a damaged car because a quite large SUV hit me from behind, all the damage is in the back of my car and I do need to prove it? Prove what? I think my car is enough proof! After that I called Allstate, I asked for a manager that was not eager to talk to me either. After multiple requests Mr. **, sent me back to the same adjuster.

I really do not see the purpose revisiting the same person. The big question is does Allstate work with incompetent adjusters because they do not want to pay the correct amount for the claims? I was really expected for Allstate to do something about my complaint because I did make the claim with them and not send me back to the same person. And after all arguing... what do I get back? "Appointment: Tuesday, 10/21/2014 03:40 PM Status: Closed Created: 10/17/2014 Type: Drive-In Location: (Sf) King Collision Center D/I 4950 NORTH STATE RD 7 COCONUT CREEK FL, 33073"

Very, Very upset with Allstate insurance. How will I get compensated for my time and hardship? I had to cancel my next appointment because I was so upset of both incompetence and the way I was being treated; I felt insulted. Not fair for me or my client that I needed to cancel the appointment.

Replies
Very Bad Company To Have Bus.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I had an accident with an Allstate policy holder that admitted fault and was willing to pay out of pocket but could not come up with the money to pay for the damages. So I filed a claim with his insurance company Allstate. They talked to him and talked to me and accepted liability and the next day decided to change their mind on the liability decision. Keep in mind that their driver admitted fault and they already accepted liability.

They scheduled an inspection of my truck and the inspector said it was not impact damage when clearly it was and also he said, it was 5 minutes before he said it wasn't. They wrote a estimate for $360 and some change. There is no shop that can fix the damage to my truck for this amount. They reassigned my claim to another adjuster that I told them I do not want him to contact me by phone or email.

Also in the past about 3 or 4 years ago I had another incident with Allstate where another insured backed into my car. I had a Lincoln at the time and their insured also admitted fault (the same adjuster) and they accepted fault and said they would take care of the damages and again changed their mind and did not pay for the damages. Allstate what do you have against me personally? Why are you making me stress over something that you and get headaches because what you are doing is not right?

Replies
Never Had a Worse Insurance Experience in My Life
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

You are in horrible hands. Never had such problems and stress with a professional company in my life. I've been insured with Allstate for a few years now. Recently began leasing a car and also turned 25. The process of getting the insurance approved is a hassle in itself. I have automatic payment taken out of my account. A week ago I received a statement from my Honda dealer that my car is uninsured!!! Called up Allstate right away and they were very hostile.

As the story goes my father had called up months prior to get HIS policy changed to triple A Insurance. The agent had spoken to him about MY insurance as well because it's extremely high. I have no points accidents penalties, etc. The agent asked for my dad to fax a quote and they would see if they could match it. Somehow the company saw the fax and CANCELED my policy 3 months ago. Without MY permission, consent, any form of notification.

They wanted 800 to reinstate. For what? I haven't had insurance on my LEASED car unbeknownst to me. After many phone calls they agreed to reinstate for no charge. It's been almost a week, they have yet to contact me. I've called every morning to follow up with no progress. They're telling me it takes a week. I have two days to show reinstatement to Honda dealership.

DO NOT trust this company. Your best interests and safety are not their priority. They haven't insured me since November, yet took a payment from my account in December. As soon as I'm reinstated I am switching and cancelling. I could be insured for at least 60 less a month and not have to deal with their crap. Stay away.

Replies
Advertisement
You're not in good hands.
By -

CALIFORNIA -- ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY'S BEST KEPT UGLY SECRET. Car Hits Twelve-Year Old Girl While Standing On Sidewalk. Our daughter was injured as a pedestrian in a serious car accident while standing on a sidewalk with a friend when an underinsured driver jumped the curb while making a left turn and hitting our daughter straight on, flying her up in the air where she landed on top of the car hood and was slammed to the ground as the car continued on driving down the road without any regard to our daughter's well-being.

We learned from her doctors that she had sustained a brain injury resulting in cognitive impairment in addition to other physical injuries. Directly after the accident, she had to relearn simple math and forgot how to walk home from school as one of many examples. The accident occurred in 1997, and she has made substantial progress through great effort on her part and a relentless desire to get back what she had lost in the accident.

Allstate Denies Injury. Allstate contended that we had fabricated our daughter's injury and we had convinced her that she had suffered a brain injury despite medical testimony to the contrary. Despite Allstate's lowball offer of $15,000 to settle our daughter damage claim, the arbitrator awarded our daughter $1.4+ million dollars in damages for the injuries she sustained. Although Allstate represents that you are in “Good Hands,” they offered only $15,000 on a $1,400,000 injury under our Uninsured Motorist coverage.

During the arbitration proceeding, Allstate was even able through their crafty lawyers to get their own expert to change his testimony whereby he had written a prior report that indicated that my daughter had suffered a closed-head injury and had suffered some degree of unconsciousness as a result of being hit by a vehicle as a pedestrian. Again, my daughter was hit by a vehicle, thrown on the vehicle's hood, and was slammed to the ground as the driver drove off down the street without any regard to hitting my daughter.

The Allstate expert changed his testimony during the arbitration hearing by indicating that my daughter did not suffer a loss of consciousness, which is often a material element in supporting a brain injury, since the force of a car hitting a pedestrian did not necessarily constitute sufficient force to render such an injury. These facts alone should speak volumes about what I consider Allstate's deceptive insurance practices in denying claims to their own customers. This is precisely why Allstate has one of the lowest ratings of all insurance companies in the United States.

Inadequate Insurance Coverage. Although I was advised repeatedly that the Personal Umbrella Policy that I purchased in the amount of $1,000,000.00 applied to my daughter's injury under the Uninsured Motorist provisions, Allstate prevailed in subsequent lawsuits through the appeal process, after we had won two prior verdicts, by convincing a jury that no such coverage ever existed with respect to Allstate's Umbrella policy.

Allstate never offered such protection although they advised me on several occasions it was my fault for not reading cover to cover my lengthy policy with more loop holes than Swiss cheese. Instead of $1,250,000 of protection, we only had $250,000.

Umbrella Policies and Uninsured Motorist Protection-Buyers Beware When I purchased my Personal Umbrella Excess Liability Policy from Allstate Insurance Company, I was advised that the $1,000,000 million of additional Umbrella was in addition to my underlying $100,000 of Uninsured Motorist coverage, which was later increased to $250,000, as well as to my bodily injury portion. Subsequently, when I asked to increase my Uninsured Motorist coverage,

I was advised by Allstate that all I had to do was simply increase my Umbrella from $1,000,000 to $2,000,000, which I did in order to protect my family in the event one of us were injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorists. Uninsured motorist coverage can be obtained at very little expense, and the protection to one's family is of most importance due to the high number of uninsured and underinsured motorists in the State of California.

This is precisely why certain insurance companies do not advise their insured to get additional uninsured motorist protection, since they do not want to pay large claims for injuries sustained by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.

California Law. California only requires by law that a driver carry a minimum of $10,000 of bodily injury coverage per person. For example, the woman who hit my daughter was only required by law to have $10,000 in insurance to cover my daughter's injuries which were in excess of $1.4 million. An umbrella policy offers substantially more liability protection in amounts of $1,000,000 or more at very little additional cost. In my situation, at the time I believed I purchased the polices, I only had $100,000 in Uninsured Motorist coverage when I was led to believe I had an additional $1,000,000 of coverage on top of that.

The uninsured limits were eventually increased to $250,000 only because Allstate now required higher underlying limits for the Personal Umbrella to apply. The Allstate agent testified in court that Allstate would never advise you to obtain more uninsured motorist protection once you met the minimum of underlying coverage for the Umbrella to apply since he would never advise you that the Umbrella did not apply (“sneaky”), again leaving their insured subject to substantial risk and exposure if hit by an underinsured motorist.

Under California State law, an insurance agent is not required to advise their customers that they should obtain increased uninsured motorist coverage nor are they required to advise them that their particular Umbrella Excess Liability policy is not linked to the uninsured motorist portion. However, certain insurance companies doing business in California offer an umbrella excess liability linked to the uninsured motorist protection, such as Farmers Insurance Company. State Farm Insurance Company used to link the two but stopped doing so in 1996.

I contacted a State Farm insurance agent on January 21, 2010, and asked if the two were linked, and she indicated she was not sure but would contact her underwriter and get back to me, whereby she was informed that State Farm no longer offered Umbrella protection linked to the Uninsured Motorist protection as of 1999. I then asked her what the maximum of uninsured motorist coverage one could obtain through State Farm, and she did not know off the top of her but after looking at one of her policies she indicated $250,000, which is not adequate in my opinion.

When an Umbrella Policy purchased from Farmers Insurance Company (at least as up to a year ago when I last checked), the insured is offered an option of having the umbrella tied to the uninsured motorist portion by checking a box. However, Allstate has no such election or coverage. It is also possible to go outside of the “Good Hands” Allstate Company and obtain a stand-alone umbrella policy which is linked to the uninsured motorist coverage.

Our Agent ** Goes Outside of Allstate to Get Protection not Offered by Allstate. In fact, our agent with Allstate, **, did exactly that -- he went outside of Allstate and obtained such an Umbrella policy from State Farm that was tied to the Uninsured Motorist policy in order to protect his family. He admitted in a court of law that he never advised any of his clients over his 20-year career with Allstate that (1) the Allstate Umbrella policy was not linked to the Uninsured Motorist coverage, and that, (2) an insured can go outside of Allstate to obtain an inexpensive Umbrella policy that was in fact linked to the Uninsured Motorist coverage as he did.

When I obtained an Umbrella policy, he had already gone out of Allstate to obtain such protection for his family that was never offered to me, since he testified that it would have been too confusing for me to understand this concept and this would be a recipe for disaster. The recipe for disaster were not having Umbrella protection for my daughter's injuries, a concept that totally escaped Mr. **. I had referred ** numerous clients including my mother and other friends. I also lectured at his church on estate tax matters. I considered ** a friend but he concealed this information from me. He indicated that he did not have a duty or a moral obligation to tell me.

He also admitted in a court of law that during his 20-year career, none of his customers ever asked whether the Umbrella was tied to the Uninsured Motorist coverage. The reason that no customers ever asked this question is that the belief that such coverage under an Umbrella policy applies equally in a situation, that if the insured, someone or if someone in their family is injured, the Umbrella protection applies. Even insurance agents are under this mistaken belief as are attorneys, judges, as well as the average consumer.

Even the attorney that was representing me in the court action with over 30 years of insurance litigation experience was not aware that his Umbrella and Uninsured Motorist protection were not linked until he took my case and checked with his insurance company. After checking with his insurance company, he immediately went outside of his insurance company to obtain an Umbrella policy for only a couple hundred dollars a year in premiums that was in fact linked to his Uninsured Motorist.

Dirty Secret. This is one of the dirtiest secrets in the insurance industry, and Allstate is one of the worst offenders and has one of the lowest ratings among attorneys who represent clients against Allstate for denial of claims. I strongly advocate that the law in the State of California as well as other states and perhaps even under federal law should be changed whereby an insurance company that does not offer Umbrella protection linked to the uninsured motorist provisions should be required to advise their customers that they can go outside that particular insurance company to obtain such a policy at very little expense and without terminating any of the insurance coverages with the primary insurance company.

A better solution would be to require all insurance to offer Umbrella policies tied to Uninsured Motorist protection. The Personal Umbrella policy which was sold to me protects everyone in the world for injuries caused by me but my family are the only ones in the world who are not protected under this same policy to the extent I protect total strangers. This is so hard to believe that my family happens to be the only ones outside the Umbrella. The ordinary consumers as well as sophisticated individuals are not aware of this serious potential gap in insurance coverage.

We believe that Allstate's conduct over a substantial number of years is despicable and immoral. We strongly advise the California Insurance Department change the laws in California to protect other insured from the same fate that we suffered under the “Good Hands” of the Allstate Insurance Company.

Allstate Decreases Insurance. When I first met Mr. ** to discuss my insurance needs, I had three times the uninsured motorist coverage then, than I had when I walked out of the meeting with Mr. **. Although he testified in a court of law that he never decreases the insurance coverage of an insured when he reviewed their existing coverages, he subsequently decreased mine by two-thirds of what I had in place before the meeting.

Although I was teaching income tax and financial planning at UC Berkeley, at the Graduate School of Finance level, attending the graduate law degree program through NYU law school in taxation, and working as a tax attorney for a sophisticated East Bay law firm, ** stated in a court of law, but only after being prepped by clever Allstate attorneys after his deposition, which went poorly in my opinion, when he made no such claim that I was incapacitated to make any insurance decisions on behalf of my family and that my wife had to make all of the insurance decisions on my behalf.

He further testified that we declined any increased uninsured motorist coverage because my wife wanted to save $18. My wife was not even involved in discussions regarding our insurance needs since she was taking care of our two small children at the time. His testimony that I was incapacitated to make such a decision on behalf of my family clearly is without merit and a complete fabrication of the truth. This is further evidence that Allstate will go to any length to Win a case in blatant disregard of the truth in my opinion.

Change Hands - Change the Law. We believe that the testimony of ** as well as Allstate's egregious actions in this case, should serve as the “Poster Child” and “Poster Company” for reform of the insurance laws in the State of California as well as on a federal level. Join me in making this a reality and forever changing the insurance laws so that when an insurance company represents that you are in “Good Hands” that you are in fact in “Good Hands” with all fingers attached and without serious gaps in coverage which they do not disclose to you.

Please check with your insurance company to be sure that you have adequate insurance protection as well as having an Umbrella policy tied to your Uninsured Motorist protection. If necessary, change hands. We would never want anyone else to suffer the same fate that we experienced by not having adequate insurance protection for our daughter's injuries due to lack of disclosure as well as misrepresentation, in my opinion, on behalf of an unscrupulous insurance Company.

Replies
Uninsured Motor Claim
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BARSTOW, CALIFORNIA -- My accident occurred almost 5 years ago. My first 3 years were a nightmare and I continue to suffer with the chronic pain. I choose to stay active and continue with my work. It appears as though I am functioning but the pain is always there. I continue to receive treatments such as acupuncture, message, and chiropractic.

Many doctors have given up since I cannot seem to take the pills. Pills have given me too many side eaffect. As a result, I had to find alternative methods to lessen my pain such as using a portable sauna, tens machine, message devices, and taking herbs. Many of these treatments have been paid out of my pocket but AllState doesn't seem to care. Some days, I don't want to get out of bed just like people who are suffering with the fibromyalgia.

Five years into my accident, AllState has offered $25,000 from my uninsured motorist coverage. Is it for the pain I suffered or pain I continue to have? Let me sell my chronic pain to the AllState stock holders. We sit and complain about these insurance companies but we are helpless. AllState has more resources than us, but it is us who support these companies and our legislators who need to hear our voices.

Replies
Incompetent Claims Service/ Misrepresentation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAWRENCEVILLE, GEORGIA -- My vehicle was broken into and items stolen from the car while staying in a hotel away from home. Vandals broke the door glass, incident was captured on hotel surveillance video. Despite reporting loss within hours and providing the company with all contact information for the hotel, the police department, report, detective, hotel insurance carrier and the surveillance company the personal property claim remains pending 90 days out. Video shows 5 packed bags removed from the car by the thieves. Allstate agreed to cover the car immediately but offered no immediate assistance for the window repair and assumed the damage was under the deductible.

After I located a mobile window replacement myself so I could mitigate the damage and continue home the carrier deleted the claim without contacting me for inspection of the car. I had to re-submit the claim for damage to the car which was paid 3 weeks later. Despite accepting that the loss occurred, Allstate refused to extend coverage for the personal property for over 60 days.

Allstate sent a letter indicating that hotel carrier was extending coverage. Hotel carrier denied the claim and stated in writing that no one from Allstate had contacted them. Allstate then claimed letter indicating extension of coverage by the hotels carrier was a typo. IF YOU HAVE INSURANCE WITH THIS COMPANY FIND ANOTHER CARRIER BEFORE YOU HAVE A CLAIM. Policy Home & Auto since 2006.

Replies
Allstate Made Decision For The Wrong Car
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BROOKLYN, NEW YORK -- I had an accident and was in the right. The car that hit me was in the wrong. The place where the accident happened, had a video, which Allstate refuses to request. I had a lawyer and witnesses. The rookie police officer wrote the report wrong. I did not see the report until three days later. I confronted the officer, he refuses to change the accident report. Allstate insists that I was wrong, when I was right. My lawyer told me, Allstate made their mind up before the accident. They are committing fraud. They never requested the video tape, never came to the accident scene, nothing!

Whatever was said to Allstate, made no difference. I Feel this place where the claim was made is corrupt. I wrote to State ins. company, complaining about Allstate, this was 7 months ago. They still did not select a claim adjuster. Why? There is fraud everywhere and we allow the insurances companies to get away with murder. That is why our insurance policies go up every 6 months, because of fraud and corruption.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHESAPEAKE -- They recommend using repair centers in their network, bragging on the customer service. Horrible customer service, it took a week to get an estimate, When I dropped it off, they said they would have an estimate in 2 days. They kept my vehicle 5 weeks and saying they were backed up, waiting on parts, still working on it, Meanwhile dragging their feet about giving me an answer in helping with a rental once my rental allowance ran out. I ended up without a vehicle for 9 days.

Allstate kept referring me back to the repair shop would not have chosen if they had not recommended. Allstate did not have me in good hands. I have been with Allstate for 20 years, but I am shopping for new coverage for my house and 2 cars.

Replies
You're not in good hands.
By -

ALLSTATE INSURANCE COMPANY'S BEST KEPT UGLY SECRET. Car Hits Twelve-Year Old Girl While Standing On Sidewalk. Our daughter was injured as a pedestrian in a serious car accident while standing on a sidewalk with a friend when an underinsured driver jumped the curb while making a left turn and hitting our daughter straight on, flying her up in the air where she landed on top of the car hood and was slammed to the ground as the car continued on driving down the road without any regard to our daughter's well-being.

We learned from her doctors that she had sustained a brain injury resulting in cognitive impairment in addition to other physical injuries. Directly after the accident, she had to relearn simple math and forgot how to walk home from school as one of many examples. The accident occurred in 1997, and she has made substantial progress through great effort on her part and a relentless desire to get back what she had lost in the accident.

Allstate Denies Injury. Allstate contended that we had fabricated our daughter's injury and we had convinced her that she had suffered a brain injury despite medical testimony to the contrary. Despite Allstate's lowball offer of $15,000 to settle our daughter damage claim, the arbitrator awarded our daughter $1.4+ million dollars in damages for the injuries she sustained. Although Allstate represents that you are in “Good Hands,” they offered only $15,000 on a $1,400,000 injury under our Uninsured Motorist coverage.

During the arbitration proceeding, Allstate was even able through their crafty lawyers to get their own expert to change his testimony whereby he had written a prior report that indicated that my daughter had suffered a closed-head injury and had suffered some degree of unconsciousness as a result of being hit by a vehicle as a pedestrian. Again, my daughter was hit by a vehicle, thrown on the vehicle's hood, and was slammed to the ground as the driver drove off down the street without any regard to hitting my daughter.

The Allstate expert changed his testimony during the arbitration hearing by indicating that my daughter did not suffer a loss of consciousness, which is often a material element in supporting a brain injury, since the force of a car hitting a pedestrian did not necessarily constitute sufficient force to render such an injury. These facts alone should speak volumes about what I consider Allstate's deceptive insurance practices in denying claims to their own customers. This is precisely why Allstate has one of the lowest ratings of all insurance companies in the United States.

Inadequate Insurance Coverage. Although I was advised repeatedly that the Personal Umbrella Policy that I purchased in the amount of $1,000,000.00 applied to my daughter's injury under the Uninsured Motorist provisions, Allstate prevailed in subsequent lawsuits through the appeal process, after we had won two prior verdicts, by convincing a jury that no such coverage ever existed with respect to Allstate's Umbrella policy.

Allstate never offered such protection although they advised me on several occasions it was my fault for not reading cover to cover my lengthy policy with more loop holes than Swiss cheese. Instead of $1,250,000 of protection, we only had $250,000.

Umbrella Policies and Uninsured Motorist Protection-Buyers Beware When I purchased my Personal Umbrella Excess Liability Policy from Allstate Insurance Company, I was advised that the $1,000,000 million of additional Umbrella was in addition to my underlying $100,000 of Uninsured Motorist coverage, which was later increased to $250,000, as well as to my bodily injury portion. Subsequently, when I asked to increase my Uninsured Motorist coverage,

I was advised by Allstate that all I had to do was simply increase my Umbrella from $1,000,000 to $2,000,000, which I did in order to protect my family in the event one of us were injured by an uninsured or underinsured motorists. Uninsured motorist coverage can be obtained at very little expense, and the protection to one's family is of most importance due to the high number of uninsured and underinsured motorists in the State of California.

This is precisely why certain insurance companies do not advise their insured to get additional uninsured motorist protection, since they do not want to pay large claims for injuries sustained by an uninsured or underinsured motorist.

California Law. California only requires by law that a driver carry a minimum of $10,000 of bodily injury coverage per person. For example, the woman who hit my daughter was only required by law to have $10,000 in insurance to cover my daughter's injuries which were in excess of $1.4 million. An umbrella policy offers substantially more liability protection in amounts of $1,000,000 or more at very little additional cost. In my situation, at the time I believed I purchased the polices, I only had $100,000 in Uninsured Motorist coverage when I was led to believe I had an additional $1,000,000 of coverage on top of that.

The uninsured limits were eventually increased to $250,000 only because Allstate now required higher underlying limits for the Personal Umbrella to apply. The Allstate agent testified in court that Allstate would never advise you to obtain more uninsured motorist protection once you met the minimum of underlying coverage for the Umbrella to apply since he would never advise you that the Umbrella did not apply (“sneaky”), again leaving their insured subject to substantial risk and exposure if hit by an underinsured motorist.

Under California State law, an insurance agent is not required to advise their customers that they should obtain increased uninsured motorist coverage nor are they required to advise them that their particular Umbrella Excess Liability policy is not linked to the uninsured motorist portion. However, certain insurance companies doing business in California offer an umbrella excess liability linked to the uninsured motorist protection, such as Farmers Insurance Company. State Farm Insurance Company used to link the two but stopped doing so in 1996.

I contacted a State Farm insurance agent on January 21, 2010, and asked if the two were linked, and she indicated she was not sure but would contact her underwriter and get back to me, whereby she was informed that State Farm no longer offered Umbrella protection linked to the Uninsured Motorist protection as of 1999. I then asked her what the maximum of uninsured motorist coverage one could obtain through State Farm, and she did not know off the top of her but after looking at one of her policies she indicated $250,000, which is not adequate in my opinion.

When an Umbrella Policy purchased from Farmers Insurance Company (at least as up to a year ago when I last checked), the insured is offered an option of having the umbrella tied to the uninsured motorist portion by checking a box. However, Allstate has no such election or coverage. It is also possible to go outside of the “Good Hands” Allstate Company and obtain a stand-alone umbrella policy which is linked to the uninsured motorist coverage.

Our Agent ** Goes Outside of Allstate to Get Protection not Offered by Allstate. In fact, our agent with Allstate, **, did exactly that -- he went outside of Allstate and obtained such an Umbrella policy from State Farm that was tied to the Uninsured Motorist policy in order to protect his family. He admitted in a court of law that he never advised any of his clients over his 20-year career with Allstate that (1) the Allstate Umbrella policy was not linked to the Uninsured Motorist coverage, and that, (2) an insured can go outside of Allstate to obtain an inexpensive Umbrella policy that was in fact linked to the Uninsured Motorist coverage as he did.

When I obtained an Umbrella policy, he had already gone out of Allstate to obtain such protection for his family that was never offered to me, since he testified that it would have been too confusing for me to understand this concept and this would be a recipe for disaster. The recipe for disaster were not having Umbrella protection for my daughter's injuries, a concept that totally escaped Mr. **. I had referred ** numerous clients including my mother and other friends. I also lectured at his church on estate tax matters. I considered ** a friend but he concealed this information from me. He indicated that he did not have a duty or a moral obligation to tell me.

He also admitted in a court of law that during his 20-year career, none of his customers ever asked whether the Umbrella was tied to the Uninsured Motorist coverage. The reason that no customers ever asked this question is that the belief that such coverage under an Umbrella policy applies equally in a situation, that if the insured, someone or if someone in their family is injured, the Umbrella protection applies. Even insurance agents are under this mistaken belief as are attorneys, judges, as well as the average consumer.

Even the attorney that was representing me in the court action with over 30 years of insurance litigation experience was not aware that his Umbrella and Uninsured Motorist protection were not linked until he took my case and checked with his insurance company. After checking with his insurance company, he immediately went outside of his insurance company to obtain an Umbrella policy for only a couple hundred dollars a year in premiums that was in fact linked to his Uninsured Motorist.

Dirty Secret. This is one of the dirtiest secrets in the insurance industry, and Allstate is one of the worst offenders and has one of the lowest ratings among attorneys who represent clients against Allstate for denial of claims. I strongly advocate that the law in the State of California as well as other states and perhaps even under federal law should be changed whereby an insurance company that does not offer Umbrella protection linked to the uninsured motorist provisions should be required to advise their customers that they can go outside that particular insurance company to obtain such a policy at very little expense and without terminating any of the insurance coverages with the primary insurance company.

A better solution would be to require all insurance to offer Umbrella policies tied to Uninsured Motorist protection. The Personal Umbrella policy which was sold to me protects everyone in the world for injuries caused by me but my family are the only ones in the world who are not protected under this same policy to the extent I protect total strangers. This is so hard to believe that my family happens to be the only ones outside the Umbrella. The ordinary consumers as well as sophisticated individuals are not aware of this serious potential gap in insurance coverage.

We believe that Allstate's conduct over a substantial number of years is despicable and immoral. We strongly advise the California Insurance Department change the laws in California to protect other insured from the same fate that we suffered under the “Good Hands” of the Allstate Insurance Company.

Allstate Decreases Insurance. When I first met Mr. ** to discuss my insurance needs, I had three times the uninsured motorist coverage then, than I had when I walked out of the meeting with Mr. **. Although he testified in a court of law that he never decreases the insurance coverage of an insured when he reviewed their existing coverages, he subsequently decreased mine by two-thirds of what I had in place before the meeting.

Although I was teaching income tax and financial planning at UC Berkeley, at the Graduate School of Finance level, attending the graduate law degree program through NYU law school in taxation, and working as a tax attorney for a sophisticated East Bay law firm, ** stated in a court of law, but only after being prepped by clever Allstate attorneys after his deposition, which went poorly in my opinion, when he made no such claim that I was incapacitated to make any insurance decisions on behalf of my family and that my wife had to make all of the insurance decisions on my behalf.

He further testified that we declined any increased uninsured motorist coverage because my wife wanted to save $18. My wife was not even involved in discussions regarding our insurance needs since she was taking care of our two small children at the time. His testimony that I was incapacitated to make such a decision on behalf of my family clearly is without merit and a complete fabrication of the truth. This is further evidence that Allstate will go to any length to Win a case in blatant disregard of the truth in my opinion.

Change Hands - Change the Law. We believe that the testimony of ** as well as Allstate's egregious actions in this case, should serve as the “Poster Child” and “Poster Company” for reform of the insurance laws in the State of California as well as on a federal level. Join me in making this a reality and forever changing the insurance laws so that when an insurance company represents that you are in “Good Hands” that you are in fact in “Good Hands” with all fingers attached and without serious gaps in coverage which they do not disclose to you.

Please check with your insurance company to be sure that you have adequate insurance protection as well as having an Umbrella policy tied to your Uninsured Motorist protection. If necessary, change hands. We would never want anyone else to suffer the same fate that we experienced by not having adequate insurance protection for our daughter's injuries due to lack of disclosure as well as misrepresentation, in my opinion, on behalf of an unscrupulous insurance Company.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Allstate Insurance Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
64 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Allstate Insurance
2775 Sanders Road
Northbrook, IL 60062
1-800-255-7828 (ph)
847-402-0165 (fax)
www.allstate.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Insurance Companies