[X]
Feedburner count

Amazon.com

Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
203 Reviews & Complaints
www.amazon.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Refuse to sell and relist book Woody's Books
Posted by Feroce on 01/15/2008
I bought a book on Amazon.com from Woody's Books 12/22/2007 for $28.25. Woody' Books contacted me 12/27/2007 five days later after I bought the book and canceled my order reason out of stock. The next day Woody's Books posted the same book for sale back on Amazon.com website for a higher price of $69.95. Now the price is up to $87.42.

I BOUGHT THIS BOOK FOR $28.25 and Amazon will not let me leave negative feedback for this vendor, At LEAST let me give negative feedback for this person because I DID buy his book!

Amazon allows their vendors to cancel sales to raise the price and make more money.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by K_L on 2008-06-06:
I have ordered a few things this past year from Woody's Books on Amazon.con however they canceled every order. It is a hassle to have to wait several days only to find out they do not have it in stock.
Posted by RM# on 2011-05-17:
Purchased an item from Woody's Books for an advertised price of $42 via Barnes and Noble on Sunday. Purchase was confirmed by Woody's and Barnes and Noble on Monday. Monday afternoon received note from both that order was cancelled because item is no longer in stock. Later Monday night Woody's Books listed the kit on half.com for close to 30% more than advertised on Barnes on Noble. Asked seller for an explanation. No response. Surprised Barnes & Noble thinks this kind of behavior is good for their business. Will never order from them again.
Close commentsAdd reply


Merchants Beware- Selling on Amazon
Posted by Scentabulous on 09/24/2009

The Merchant program that Amazon.com offers is absolutely deplorable and shockingly unprofessional. It has turned out to be a nightmare for our small business. We wonder how they have been able to get away with their mistreatment of merchants for so long. There is no support or protection for merchants at all and you are left defenseless against Amazon, as well as scam artists who make a living off of purchasing items and claiming they "never received" them to get refunded.

Amazon has a very lax and customer-friendly refund policy. I am all for customers who legitametely did not receive something they purchased or are unhappy getting refunded, being that I have been a consumer myself numerous times myself. Amazon, however, refunds customer even in situations when the merchant can substantiate that the claim is untrue. We recently had a situation where a customer was refunded for an item that they initially claimed they never received, and tracking confirmed that the item was "delivered", and the customer recanted their story. We urged them to inform Amazon that they received their package so the claim could be dismissed. We also forwarded the A to Z Guarantee department and the Seller Guarantee department (because it was affecting our sales statistics) a copy of an email from the customer stating that the item was received and asked what we should do. We did this repeatedly five times. There was no response. We then tried to get the situation resolved by contacting the only help by phone that they have available, the tech suppport department. We were told by them that they couldn't assist us with any areas other than technical issues. We attempted to get a number from them to contact the Seller Performance and A to Z Guarantee department. The customer service rep's response was that they could only be contacted through email and they did not even have a number to contact them. So essentially, we had to wait for someone that was not responding to us and that we had no contact number for, to contact us at their convenience about money that was rightfully owed to us. Finally, we were contacted by the Seller Guarantee department SEVEN DAYS LATER, stating that the claim was dismissed and we would be credited for the refund!!

The next day later, we finally received a response from Seller Performance as well, which was not what we expected. The email said that our account was suspended, all of our listings removed, and any disbursements to us withheld. It did not mention how or when we would get paid the money they owed us and instead referred us to another department, the Payments department, which also has no contact number. The email also was very vague as to why our account had been suspended.

This mysteriously followed an email sent to us two days before from the Merchant Approval department after being notified that our account was under review. The email did not state the reason why we were under review and actually said that the review was a common practice. They also said they needed tracking information for all items we had already shipped so they could confirm that they had been mailed out and encouraged us to submit "a plan for improving your selling performance" if review was due to poor performance. We gladly complied and gave them tracking information. We were unaware why we were under review but submitted a plan for performance improvement just to be safe. In the letter that included the outline for seller improvement, we stated that we strongly believed we had been targeted because of the A to Z claim filed against us that was reversed and that we tried to contact them numerous times so that they could prevent the claim from affecting our seller performance. The response from them was suspension of our account.

They also implied that a factor in suspending our account was order cancellation (we cancelled three orders and notified customers in advance). We pointed out to them that we had not cancelled one order since four days before they sent us the first and only notification that order cancellations could affect seller performance. Otherwise we had no negative feedback, late shipments, or other warnings from Amazon.

The outcome of all of this is that we only sold on Amazon for a month and had the worst selling experience with them out of all selling platforms. We are out of around $400 and are considering legal action so we can recover the money owed to us by Amazon. We will share our story will as many merchants as we can to make sure that they are educated about the dangers of selling on Amazon. We will also never encourage anyone to sell nor buy on Amazon again!!
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-25:
Same with Ebay and Paypal. We Ebay sellers have been screaming about this same scenario for years. Those sites are no longer equal. They re for the BUYER. The SELLER who actually pays their bills are treated horribly. I gave up my Ebay sellers account because I just refused to allow someone I am paying to treat me like a beggar.

Your only recourse, is to file a police report and mail fraud complaint against your buyer. You can check and see how many lawsuits exist for your merchant. Paypal had several.
Posted by PepperElf on 2009-09-25:
i'd also recommend switching to shipping that requires a signature
i'm assuming it can't hurt
Posted by Scentabulous on 2009-09-25:
Thank you for your feedback!! The customer who filed the complaint against us actually recanted his story, which was mentioned in our review, and told the A to Z Guarantee department. Although they took significantly long to respond, we were finally contacted by them and told that we would be credited back for the money they refunded the customer and the claim would be dismissed. However, we were already under review by that time. The next day later Seller Performance responded with a suspension of our account and told us our funds were being withheld. We told them in our performance improvement plan that we were going beyond just mailing packages USPS with delivery confirmation, and had indeed started mailing packages USPS with Signature Confirmation and UPS. They never responded.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-09-25:
Pepper, if their merchant is like Paypal, even a signature does no good for them. It would only help in court.
Posted by ASGL2010 on 2010-11-15:
Our lawsuit against Amazon is still pending in federal court -
link:
http://dockets.justia.com/docket/florida/flsdce/1:2010cv20718/353407/

The trial is scheduled for June and we are fully committed to seeing this case through and to holding Amazon accountable for its fraudulent business practices. Many of you have already agreed to testify at our trial, and we appreciate your willingness to take a stand against Amazon! Amazon must not be allowed to pocket ill-gotten profits!!!

In addition to taking a stand in court, you can participate and make a real difference by filing complaints with the Better Business Bureau, by writing letters to Amazon’s executives, and by posting your stories online (e.g., YouTube, MySpace, etc.). Together we can force Amazon to be an honest company.

You will NOT be contacted by Amazon’s counsel directly, but may be contacted through us prior to the trial.

Please email alby1969_98@yahoo.com if you have any questions about this case, wish to testify at trial, or just want to share your stories. Also, if you intend to testify at our trial, please provide us with your full names and contact information. Be genuine!

Thank You and Good Luck!
Albert
Posted by jonah30 on 2013-06-13:
If you’re looking for ways to make money, selling on Amazon can be a great way to make easy money online. After you have everything set up and going, the process is fairly self-sufficient.

Of course you have to know what you are getting yourself into before you “start a business” on Amazon. Here’s a rundown of everything you need to know.
Posted by Margot on 2013-06-16:
Amazon charges EXORBITANT FEES! At first the percentage they charged was 30%, then 50%, then 70% of the selling price. Today, here is an example of fees that EXCEEDED what the selling price of one of my books was:
Order date: 06/16/2013
Price: $2.00
Shipping: $3.99
Amazon fees: -$2.64
Your earnings: $3.35
You can see that Amazon is charging me more in fees than I am selling the item for, and completely ignoring the $3 I will spend in shipping! To say I am disappointed is an understatement. I will have to find another way to sell my books.
Posted by Pratik on 2013-08-31:
I can echo the same problems from my experience of selling with them for past few months. They would automatically grant any AtoZ claim regardless of the situation or even evidence provided. and when questioned out right told me that contacting them is pointless as it will not look into any such cases let alone change them, and further added that any contact in future regarding such matters will be ignored by the Claim Department.
They are a disgrace and far worse than Ebay and PayPal. At least they make some effort in getting your goods back to you prior to doing any refunds. Amazon did nothing in this regard, but in fact its actions directly aid the buyers in committing fraud by effectively getting there money back and keeping our goods. Plus the buyers then ignore contact or make collection of the goods intentionally impossible.
Sooner Amazon are bought to justice over this the better.
Posted by manny on 2013-12-04:
Amazon has no respect or regard for their merchants..... They use Gestapo tactics with their merchants. Our company sells air filters. Some customers just do not know how to order the right size filter, in spite of our best efforts to explain it to them. When they get the wrong size they complain to Amazon. Soon after we get the Paternal email. "Enforcement will follow if this continues"......Today Amazon gave us Time-out, and send us to the corner.....One day suspension! We are a professional business but Amazon has no respect for us. They treat like us children......

Who needs Amazon? They are nothing but a middleman getting richer and richer at the expense of the little merchant. They provide no real value. I had a strong business, but I saw it slipping away because of Amazon's strong presence in Google, Yahoo, etc. So, I felt I had no choice but to join them and split my profit with them. Now I know what a mistake that was.

This company (Amazon) uses their power to take a piece of our profit while enforcing their strong arm tactics on us merchants. Some will say, "well, just leave them." Well, that is exactly what I am going to do. I went into business to be my own boss. I do not need someone sitting in India, Pakistan, California, pushing me around. I can foresee a massive merchant defection somewhere in the future if they continue their strong arm tactics with merchants.
Close commentsAdd reply

Impossible to Cancel an Order
Posted by Danger Mouse on 06/16/2004
MASSACHUSETTS -- When ordering through Amazon.com I inadvertely placed a $200.00 item in my shopping cart. I realized my error once I had completed checking out. I imediently contacted Amazon to cancel the order.

Amazon's customer support is useless. They could not cancel the order. However, it also took them 7 days to process the order.

During that time, I contacted customer service no less than 7 times. I also called Jeff Bezo's office, as the customer service was so poor, I thought escalating the problem may help. Foolish me.

I received no help at all from any Amazon rep. They were unable to cancel the order, work with the 3rd party vendor or offer any reason why they could not cancel an order.

I expected a lot higher level of service from Amazon. I was suprised by thier lack luster customer service and was shocked that they could not handle a simple request.

BEWARE.

     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by justUNbelievable on 2004-06-16:
Thanks for sharing. I'll avoid them altogether.
Posted by melissa.messner.ni1q on 2004-06-17:
Did you call to cancel the order, or did you go back to amazon.com to cancel? I ordered a few things for my son for Christmas last year, only to find them cheaper at Meijer on my way home from work. That night I logged back on and cancelled my order online without a problem.
Posted by Anonymous on 2004-06-17:
I have placed at over three dozen orders thru Amazon and have cancelled orders on at least 4 occasions with no problems at all. One order was cancelled 14 days after I placed it, while I was waiting for it to ship due to back order. Also, how can you accidently order something for $200 and not notice, they ask you to verify and confim at least twice before the order is actually placed!!
Posted by mynonsense on 2004-07-08:
I have a close friend that has used a credit card buying from them in the past. But recently was just looking at an item , and somehow the online checkout payed for the item. After 5 minutes these helpful people (not!) said it was no way to cancel the order , even after only 10 minutes had past. They said just return it after it's shipped. Yea! this was a $200.00 item that would cost about70.00 to ship back. Then a few days later , a delivery company (never heard )of called to say they were coming with item.After explanation ; the delivery person acted as if this was very common , that's why he was calling ahead.This messed up her checking for about three weeks , because the bank wanted to cancel the credit card and send new one because they said they can do it again , as long as they have your credit card number.To top it all , Amazon billed a different amount than what was said.The reason is because , you can call your bank and stop from charging , but you half to know the exact amount or you can not stop it! That means some pencil neck at Amazon.com knew what they were doing ! WAs he trying to show high sales for the day? I would avoid these jerks period!
Posted by mynonsense on 2004-07-08:
The item was a baby bed .And even if a person somehow made a mistake and buys something , they can cancel the order after 10 minutes.My friend had no intention of buying a baby bed , she was trying to just get a price of a certain model and it went to check out!So according to the person above that has had many refunds , why can't they refund the money 10 minutes later.Why change the total amount includuing tax , and send a differnt amount to your bank!I'll tell you! Deceptive and sneaky! To continue buying from these people would not be smart! But this is America. Where you do have the right to be stupid!
Posted by B.S. on 2013-04-14:
The exact same thing just happened to me. Bought a baby bed but used the wrong card and wrong address was clicked. Tried to change the payment method and delivery address immediately (would not work). Then tried to cancel the order and re-ordered the thing with the right card and right address. Then got email saying cancellation not possible. Called Amazon customer service and the (barely english speaking) person said no cancellation since 30 minutes has passed. I told her that I tried within 10 minutes. She admits that she sees that I tried to cancel it, but can do nothing. The item was sold AND shipped by Amazon. I will not be home to refuse the package, so I will have to pay to have it shipped back! This is crap, as I paid for Amazon prime and now am paying shipping. NICE! What is this, a baby bed thing, or an Amazon thing?
Close commentsAdd reply

Deceptive Business Practice
Posted by Angry senior on 08/03/2007
Sometime ago, I responded to Amazon.com's offer of an Amazon VISA card. Immediately I was deluged with solicitations from Chase Bank for other services. It was annoying, but not so bothersome as to cause me to cancel the card.I made some purchases, bur eventually had a small credit due to returned merchandise. I made no further purchases for several months, and then received in the mail an unsolicited refund check for the amount of credit.I cashed the check.

On 7/31/07, I received in the mail a Shoppers Advantage membership card, which I had not requested. Ordinarily, I discard such materials. However, by luck I read the accompanying letter and found that my unsolicited "membership" began immediately, and that unless I cancelled the "membership" within 30 days, I would be billed a "$59.99 6-month, or the then-current membership fee, automatically..."

I of course called the cancellation telephone number. I was told that by cashing a credit refund check from Chase Bank, I has been "automatically" enrolled in Shoppers Advantage. I insisted upon cancellation and was told that my membership would be terminated.

I feel that this business practice is greedy and deceptive at best, and fraudulent at worst, Maybe even illegal. I'm outraged that Amazon.com would participate in such a scheme. Previously, I had been a great admirer of Amazon.com. No more!

I am a senior citizen on a fixed income. An unexpected bill of "$59.99, or the then-current... fee" would be quite a blow to my budget. The same would be true of any individual or family trying to make ends meet. It seems likely that Shoppers Advantage is counting on the tendency of consumers to discard such mailings without reading them. Surely Amazon.com's loyal customers deserve better than to be delivered unawares into the hands of sleazy business partners such as Chase Bank and Shoppers Advantage.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-08-03:
angry_senior I'm not sure I'm buying the part about the check being exactly the same amount as your account's credit balance (or is that debit balance)? Anyway, I do think contracts printed on the back of checks should be illegal when used as a marketing ploy. Its very deceptive. I don't usually do this but since I get the feeling you're a good 'Joe', anger_senior, I'm going to go ahead click this review 'Very Helpful'.
Posted by demax on 2007-12-04:
Just like to point out that amazon.com credit card uses strong sales tactics. One simply has to be strong & say no.
Also amazon.com VISA card is not part of Chase Visa nor Chase Bank. Amazon.com is only a customer of Chase Bank.

I do wonder how your $30 credit went for applying for the card. Advertised as "you will receive $30.00 Credit within a few days" when in fact it took me almost 2 months after needing to call several times a week.

I lost faith in amazon.com and rather pay a little more if needed for everyone, ultimately, will fall into an amazon trap.
Posted by demax on 2007-12-04:
Stew I just came across an article in Business Week about this very same issue. 100's of people have had the same issue.

Read and search BusinessWeek.com (sorry I didn't think of you at the time.)

Close commentsAdd reply


AMAZON.COM DELETES NEGATIVE BOOK REVIEWS
Posted by Herbert on 01/05/2005
I posted a negative review of a real stinker of a book. At the time I posted it there were 29 other negatives and five positives. Mine was number 35.

The following evening I went back to see what other customers were saying about the book and found that AMAZON.COM had removed all the negative reviews of the book that they list as their top 2 seller. I was livid. Only the five positive reviews remained.

I called customer service and promised them that if they did not repost all the reviews they deleted that I would notify any and all parties that their reviews section cannot be trusted because AMAZON.COM simply removes negative reviews of books that they want to sell or need to sell.

This deceptive practice is downright dirty business and if a customer can't trust the customer review section to be an honest selection of opinions, then what CAN they trust.

Certainly NOT amazon.com

The customer service rep that I talked to was nice. She admitted that there were 35 reviews and that now there were only five and that those five were positive. She also agreed that removing the negative reviews as NOT a positive move for Amazon.com.

The only way AMAZON.COM can repair the trust of their customers (I intend to make CERTAIN that as many people as possible know that they cannot trust the customer review section of AMAZON>COM.) is to issue a WRITTEN APPOLOGY to all the people whose reviews were removed and admit that they not only did it but that they did it WRONGLY.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Slimjim on 2005-01-06:
Deception at its worst. How can they offer open reviews and then censor the bad ones. It's a bad book and they need to get rid of stock I guess, but the legit of the reviews is thrown out the window.
Posted by NeveragainAmazon on 2005-01-06:
As you can tell...I also have had other problems with Amazon.com over a 1click button. I am here to tell you they owe more than an apology to many people! Hence, my name NeverAgainAmazon!
Posted by fbb on 2005-07-06:
You are right. In fact, the reason I found this website and this post was because the same thing happened to me. I posted a lukewarm review of an $8000 collection of the Penguin Classics, only to have it removed within a day, along with all the other negative reviews (and many of the positive reviews), leaving only two 5-star reviews. In my review, I had two complaints: Penguins use cheap paper that turns yellow with age and cheap glue that comes apart with age, making an $8000 investment in an entire library of them inadvisable; secondly, though this was billed as "the classics", I noted several important books and authors that were omitted, while other less important authors were included, to the tune of 20+ volumes of their work. I mentioned that if I had $8000 to spend on the classics, I would invest in hardcovers.

After my review was taken down, I wrote Amazon and received this classic response:

Greetings from Amazon.com.

After reading your e-mail, I read the review you submitted on June
27 for "The Penguin Classics Library Complete Collection." The
review focused on the quality of the materials of which the books
were made as well as what items were not included in the set. The
review also refers to the price of the item.

The publisher of the item has not started shipping the set to
customers, so it isn't possible to review the quality of the book
material.

Also, customer reviews should focus on the item's contents, not what
is missing from the item.

In addition, our posted Review Guidelines state that pricing
information should not be included in a review.

Unfortunately, we are not able to provide information on other
customers' reviews that were removed due to our account security
policy.

I hope this information helps. Please feel free to re-submit a
review for this item after reading through our Review Guidelines:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/browse/-/508094/

Thank you for shopping at Amazon.com.

Please let us know if this e-mail resolved your question:

If yes, click here:
http://www.amazon.com/rsvp-y?c=bwgwddce3443724036
If not, click here:
http://www.amazon.com/rsvp-n?c=bwgwddce3443724036&q=hcm2

Please note: this e-mail was sent from an address that cannot accept
incoming e-mail.

To contact us about an unrelated issue, please visit the Help
section of our web site.

Best regards,

Jeff G.
Amazon.com Customer Service
http://www.amazon.com
==============================
Check your order and more: http://www.amazon.com/your-account


ref_id:=xhfyddce1296248356


> Date: Mon Jul 04 23:52:02 UTC 2005
> Subject: Customer Reviews
> To: int-community-help__7i7i7i@amazon.com
> From:
>
> ---------------
> 07/04/05 16:51:36
> NAME:
> COMMENTS: Hi. I spent some time reviewing 'The Penguin Classics
Library
> Complete Collection', only to find that my review has been
deleted. In
> fact, there were quite a few reviews, but all except two have been
deleted.
> I would like to know why this is the case.
> ---------------
Close commentsAdd reply

Amazon does not care about what you have to say!
Posted by Crispsound on 12/13/2007
This company got so big that they don't really care what small businesses like mine have to say!
We are a small retailer, we have an account at Amazon.com as a Seller central member. We considered ourselves a good paying customer and treated Amazon to be a good business affiliate. Recently, Amazon decided to suspend / close our account without cause. When we inquired through their Amazon Alliance group, they gave us conflicting stories. First they claimed we had multiple accounts. Then when we challenged them, they alleged that we were trying to bypass their system! We always maintained one active account and we managed to score 100% positive feedback from all our customers. We invited Amazon to resolve the issue via a simple phone call but they refused! We contacted them 4 times in the course of last 48 Hrs and we received one email back that did not offer any solutions. Amazon flexed its big muscle and tried to be the judge, the jury and the prosecutor! They failed to give us a valid reason for account suspension and respond to our inquiries on timely fashion. We still maintain that Amazon is considered a robust market place and we are refusing their denial of access to it.

We ask that you help us resolve this matter by contacting Amazon and initiate an investigation as we think that their actions are not fair and have no legal basis.

     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2007-12-13:
Read your agreement and see if you have any rights to protest and the procedure to protest. Or try reaching their executive customer at ecr@amazon.com
Posted by crispsound on 2007-12-14:
Amazon continued their assault on us! They froze over $5000.00 of our funds for the next 90 days!
We are seeking legal advise and we wish to bring their action in front of Federal judge, anyone wants to join in the class lawsuit can just drop a line: service@crispsound.net

Posted by Crazylizzy on 2007-12-26:
I agree they dont even email you and said they did. They lie. The seller support shut off early
Posted by crispsound on 2007-12-26:
We can all agree that Amazon is delivering a lousy service to its resellers and Seller Central members.
Their behavior is very deceiving, they hide behind these policies that nobody is familiar with and the take advantage of people's money by freezing the funds. Their actions are illegal and need to be exposed to the public in form of class law suite. Please help me bring this matter to light by joining me in potential law suite against this corporate giant. Please email me your contact info to be added to the list and I encourage you to file a complaint with these associations:
1- https://odr.bbb.org/odrweb/public/ComplaintBBB.aspx?ComplaintTypeID=2
2-http://www.atg.wa.gov/
3-http://www.ripoffreport.com/

Email me: sales@crispsound.net

Hanson
Posted by Crazylizzy on 2007-12-31:
There are tons of complaints including some where they did this in the past
Posted by buyersbeware2008 on 2010-01-02:
Hello crispsound: This Past December (2009)Amazon Did The SAME EXACT SITUATION With My Wife.....Freezing Her Account ...Telling Her She Has Multiple Account's (While She Only Has One) & After We Appealed Their Letter.....All We Got Was A Letter Teling Us That They (AMAZON) Has Frozen Her Account & Will NOT Reopen Her Account ......And WILL NOT ANSWER ANYMORE Of Her E-Mails On THis Matter.
P.S. With Their New Ship First B4 You Get Paid Policy...Am I Soooooo Glad I Wait Until My Wife Gets Her Money Into Her Account Because They (Amazon) Frozed Her Account & Then Reversed The Money She Was Suppost To Get.
I ALWAYS Tell Sellers To NEVER SHIP OUT ANY ITEM'S UNTIL YOU GET PAID!!!
Posted by Deceived & Lied About on 2013-01-14:
I am a newer seller on Amazon as well, with only about 8 orders with reviews. All were 100% until my most recent buyer, waiting nearly 2 1/2 weeks after his purchased, rated me 2 stars. I seriously cried most of the day. I bent over backwards, taking time to go over the electrical applicance I sent to make sure all was clean, packaged well, booklets enclosed, etc. It was an expensive unit but it had been used about 3-4 times, looked like new, and had been put back into the box after each use. It was exactly as described. I sent email to buyer advising of ship date, confirmation #, simplicity of use, etc and advised if he had concerns to email me. 6 wks now since buy date & he still has never emailed me nor ask for refund. I choose to not offer one because he said lies about the unit and said it looked as tho it had been used a year or more. A lie. It cost me $16 in shipping, which was more than Amazon allowed. I sent the guy an email about his lying about the unit & explained in detail how pristeen it was & how it had been stored, etc. No response from buyer. Amazon removed me from selling for about a week or more, now as allowed me to sell again. My rating is a crappy 88%. I have had no sales since and Amazon had refused to answer ?'s I have emailed to them. They also show an 11.11% chargeback rate which I do not explain. There have been no chargebacks I have been made aware of. They treat their sellers very very poorly, in my opinion; and being in customer service for over 26yrs I have tried very hard to give excellent customer service. They also froze my funds for a few weeks, but there was only $13 plus in my account when this happened.
Posted by Hidden for now on 2013-06-12:
It simply is about money and greed. They do not have common sense polices, they do everything blindly. Recent example
Close commentsAdd reply

Tip: How to rip off Amazon.com and earn money!!!
Posted by JK1 on 02/18/2010
So here is what Amazon taught me as a seller.

1. Buy an expensive item from a seller on Amazon and set shipping as standard-- avoid tracking or any of that.

2. Receive your item and enjoy! Free gift!

3. When the date that the item was "due" to arrive, log on to Amazon.com.

4. Write a complaint because, "you did not 'receive' the item."

5. Enjoy your refund!

It does not matter if the seller has a receipt from the post office proving the shipment. Heck, the seller could have videos of him or her sending the item(s). The seller has to prove that you, the purchaser, actually received the item!

Enjoy your free gift and extra money! Give it to them sellers!

By the way, I am an honest person and I would not do this. However, this is the TRUTH about Amazon and their "policies."
     
Read 19 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Venice09 on 2010-02-18:
If you're having a problem with Amazon, you might want to try resolving it with a little less sarcasm. I can't take your review seriously the way it's written.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-18:
Same thing with Ebay and Paypal.
Posted by goduke on 2010-02-19:
You know, there's a really clever way of proving an item was delivered, not just sent. You can have delivery confirmation from the USPS, or even go so far as to ship in a method that requires a signature. While a buyer may say "standard" shipping, I'm not aware of a law that stops you from taking extra precautions as the seller.
Posted by MaggieMcT on 2010-02-19:
Right you are, goduke. I've sold a few used books on amazon, and that's exactly what I do. Delivery confirmation is much cheaper than refunding.
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-02-19:
WOW OP, Just because you get away with it doesn't make it right. I sell on ebay and I don't play any of that. I use paypal shipping for anything over 5 bucks and get tracking on it for 19 cents. I hope your happy taking money out of people's pockets and stealing from them, because that's essentially what you're doing. On ebay it's not ebay's money that is refunded, it comes straight from the seller's paypal account. Seriously, shame on you!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-02-19:
I think you guys are missing the sarcasm here. Judging by the way this was written I get the feeling the OP is a 'seller' who got stung by an Amazon policy that forced the OP to give a refund.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-02-19:
i recommend it gets pulled for advocating theft and breaking the law myself
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-02-19:
woops. can't edit my post.
i see what you mean stew. still ...
Posted by Ytropious on 2010-02-19:
Now that I see what the OP has added it is indeed sarcasm.
Posted by L Lake on 2010-02-19:
I always choose the standard shipping when I order from Amazon or one of their sellers, unless I'm under some deadline where I need to receive it right away. Why pay extra for shipping when you don't have to?

I don't choose the standard shipping option, because I plan to rip off the seller and I'm sure that I'm not alone. Remember that not everyone who says they didn't receive their package is out to rip off the seller. Sometimes USPS does mess up, or as in my case, has rural route people delivering their mail who put your mail in every mail box but yours.

Yes, there are some very dishonest people in this world, who will take advantage of such policies, but I'm not one of them. You had better believe though, that if I ordered something and it didn't arrive, that I'm going to complain and I have that right.

I'm very grateful to Amazon for caring enough about their buyers to do something and not just stiff us. Remember that it's a little bit scarier not ordering directly from Amazon, but through one of their sellers, because not all sellers, like not all buyers, are honest people. We as buyers are just taking their word that they sent was ordered.
Posted by tiffany131us on 2010-02-21:
He is actually telling the truth. There is no sarcasm. The buyer doesnt even have to send the item back and they wont either but they will get their money back
Posted by JK1 on 2010-02-21:
First, I was not advocating theft or anything. While it is sarcasm, it is truth. Therefore, this is not a libel (slander) and I can advocate and further the knowledge of Amazon's policies. These policies, by the way, are largely left at "Amazon's discretion to do what the company so chooses." Consequently, they are the ones that should be pulled for furthering theft and illegal activities.

Second, I allow multiple options. As long as the person who orders chooses and pays the extra shipping, I do not care. On the other hand, for the seller to have to take the cost out of their pocket to pay for shipping? You are correct, I should just inflate the cost of the product.

Third, I think loss is loss. It should be a loss spread across all persons and/or entities. In this case, three (3) people/entities. Not just the seller.

Fourth, I am pursuing legal action and using all available remedies.
Posted by mike99 on 2010-04-18:
I feel the agony of the writer. While buyers are enjoying the so-called great service by Amazon.com, small sellers are enduring an Internet sweatshop practices by Amazon.com. Google "reinstate Amazon seller account" and you will start to see the tip of the iceberg. As a current Amazon seller I can tell you; Amazon is a living nightmare! Hundreds of sellers are looking forward to the opportunity to join in a class action.
Posted by PepperElf on 2010-04-18:
internet sweatshop?

Posted by cst6759 on 2011-07-03:
I just received a refund from Amazon for an order not received from a seller on the marketplace. The original shipment was confirmed delivered except it was the wrong order. The seller promised on 2 separate occasions the correct order was being mailed - and yes, I asked for information on returning the wrong order. After a month of waiting for something that never showed up I filed a claim. Who's being dishonest really depends on whose situation it was, doesn't it.
Posted by JJ on 2012-11-12:
I get ripped off by people like the composer of this message daily. Personally it is not much fun being on the other side of this story and having to deal with thieves like the composer of this story. Karma is reality...one day you will get yours.
Posted by Sue Frohman on 2013-12-31:
The OP was being sarcastic, and any seller getting stung by Amazon is intimately aware of that because they are having their lunch eaten on them every day.

You can't afford to add signature confirmations to the shipments because they are shorting you on the basic shipping already. I'm paying Amazon ALL the profits already, can't afford these ripoff-friendly policies that ENCOURAGE buyers to take the last nickel left on the table.
Posted by kahrma@gmail.com on 2014-01-06:
As a long time seller on Amazon.com and small business owner I have experienced this type of theft on numerous occasions. Amazon will always side with the buyer. Even if you go through all their recommended steps to ensure delivery the buyer can still rip you off. This really takes away from the little guy such as myself.
Posted by MLS on 2014-01-06:
Yep.

I had this happen to me...more or less.

I pride myself on doing the right thing (the golden rule, remember that?)

I sent the wrong item to a customer on Amazon and he complained that he received the wrong item.

It turned out that I didn't still ahve the item he wanted, so I refunded his money PLUS extra money for him to return the wrong item I had sent out.

So I waited a couple of weeks and the item was not returned. So I emailed and said 'hey, please return the item, I refunded your money and gave you money to cover the return'

No response.

Meanwhile, someone wanted to BUY from me the item the original customer had received. I had to cancel that order and thereby lost $24.99.

I sent out a seconds request for the item to be returned. By this time it's been six weeks.

Another two weeks went by. I sent an invoice for my money ($17.99) to the guy.

No response.

So it looks like I'm going to have to try something else.

There are websites out there that can help...

Close commentsAdd reply

Amazon has horrible service
Posted by Zannalee on 12/23/2005
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I placed an order on December 7 for items intended to be Christmas gifts for my son and other members of my family. Since then, the estimated shipping/delivery date has changed every day until it finally said my items would not arrive before Christmas. When I placed the order, every item stated it shipped within 24 hours. They have also double billed my account twice now, the error totaling over $200, causing an NSF for an item that should have cleared through. I, too have talked to several people but the CS reps can only send the info on to some other department who only contacts you via email. I also got the $10 consolation gift certificate but why would I use it now. I would never receive what I may order! Yesterday, I finally just told them to cancel my order and I now have to run around 2 days before Christmas trying to buy these items elsewhere. And somehow the second double charge is still looming on my bank account. The only way for it to be removed is for them to contact my bank, which I have given them the information necessary to do so. I called them today because I wanted it resolved before Christmas and our vacation, but of course still got nothing but the run-around. So now not only do I not have the items I ordered, I’m out over $150 until they decide to correct their error. This has been such a horrible experience! I've dealt with them many times in the past and never had any problems whatsoever. But this put a very bad taste in my mouth to where I'll never do business with them again! Their service and competence has gone completely downhill and I've told them so, although I doubt it will make any difference. I also told them that their CS reps deserve a raise this year for all the angry and unsatisfied customer calls they must be getting. I don't know what the final outcome will be but I'll try to come back and post again if and when it is resolved! Thanks for listening to my rants!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by spiderman2 on 2005-12-23:
Amazon seems to be going to heck lately. I for one am going to be steering clear of them.
Posted by Sparticus on 2005-12-24:
I had some good luck with them on some products where they offered steep rebates. One phone I got for free after all the rebates, and their rebates did pay out (eventually).
Posted by Ms.Consumer on 2005-12-24:
Some good companies seem to fall apart at Xmas time. Too bad.
Posted by KenPC on 2005-12-27:
I see on the news this morning, Amazon processed 108 MILLION orders this Christmas season. Apparently not all successfully, but an impressive number none the less.
Close commentsAdd reply


Rebate fraud
Posted by Apodas on 10/12/2003
CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- Last July, Amazon was advertising a T-Mobile cell phone for $300.00 with 2 - $150.00 rebates (1 from T-mobile an the other from Amazon). I bought the phone and sent in the paperwork. Within 10 weeks I had the rebate from T-Mobile but Amazon rejected my rebate stating that the rebate offer they advertised was not valid during the time they had actually advertised it. They continued to state that their rebate was only valid during the month of September. Does anyone else have this problem?
     
Add reply

Usually ship in less than 24 h? Yeah right!
Posted by on 08/06/2002
I placed an order with Amazon for 6 items on Aug 3 (Sat), and chose 2-day delivery, realizing that they wouldn't ship until Monday. Fine with me. All items in my order showed availability status 'usually ships in 24 hours' (and they still do as of yet). It's Tuesday night and my order hasn't even shipped yet! There is no phone # you can call to find out what's going on, and my e-mails to them have been left unanswered so far. The order status has been 'shipping soon' since Monday so I can't cancel anymore. My previous experiences with Amazon have been pretty good but this has been a real letdown.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2002-08-07:
" Usually " is the word they used. You said yourself they have been good in the past.
Posted by Anonymous on 2003-10-09:
"UsuallY" should not be used if it's more like not often. Just becuase they think it might happen they should not post it as the likely possible action. People depend on products in a timely and professional manner. How would they "likely" get paid for a item. Don't think they should.
Posted by catmom38 on 2005-06-24:
I placed an order on june 17 and now it's the 24th and I still don't have my item :(
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >