Amazon.com - Page 2

Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
2.8 out of 5, based on 32 ratings and
204 reviews & complaints.
www.amazon.com


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Amazon - Third Party Seller - Living Nightmare
Posted by on
I bought an item from a third party using an Amazon gift card, a week later I received an email from Amazon stating, "We're writing to inform you that your order xxx from Precise Sales has been canceled because the item(s) you purchased were out of stock.

So, I got back on Amazon - saw that the money was back in my account - and I ordered the same item again from another third party. When another week went by and I didn't receive the item, I contacted the seller through Amazon email (there is no other option) and asked them to send me an email letting me know if the item had shipped or when I might expect it to ship. I received no response from the third party.

But, then I got an email from Amazon (I'm thinking this is some sort of automatic email they send out when they know the seller hasn't fulfilled the order). It said, "I've checked your order and found that you purchased from DeliaRodStock, one of our registered third-party sellers on Amazon Marketplace. Amazon Merchant listings are created by sellers other than Amazon.com. When you buy an item from Amazon Merchant, the individual seller will process and ship your order. We charge your credit card for this purchase when the merchant is ready to ship the item. Until then you will see this amount has been blocked by us, but the transaction is not completed (i. e., we have not yet processed this charge). However in this case, I have checked your order and found that the merchant is not ready to ship this item as the item is currently not available with the merchant. Therefore, this order will be automatically cancelled and you will not be charged for this order."

Of course, since I used a gift card instead of a credit card - that last statement didn't apply and the money is gone off my gift card.

In that email it also stated, "If you'd like the seller to cancel the order sooner, you can send them an e-mail by going to the URL below and clicking the "Problem with this order?" button"

So, I took that route and asked the seller to cancel the order. And waited and waited. No email from the seller and no cancellation.

My next step was to contact Amazon. This is where I really got angry. As this is when Amazon goes into its spiel that this is a third party sell and they are not really responsible. I told him that I was definitely holding them responsible as 'to me' the person I am buying from is Amazon. He said the best he could do would be to call me back three days from now and if, by then, the third party seller had not responded to me that they could then 'take action'. I asked him how long after they 'took action' could I expect to see a cancelled order and the money back on my gift card. He said, well maybe another two weeks.

When the first 'third party seller' cancelled the order - I didn't even get the opportunity to get on and rate them for this action. And, as a buyer, its just this sort of action I'm looking for when I review the seller before I make the purchase.

When I sell an item on Amazon - I am told that it is my responsibility as a 'seller' to ship the item out in two days. And I faithfully do this. Yet, I guess these 'third party sellers' have different rules than just a 'seller'. You have to allow them three days to respond to your email. You have to allow them three days to respond to your request to cancel the order. It 'appears' that Amazon reviews this orders on a weekly basis - that's seven days.

OK, that's my story of how I tried to order a coffee maker on Amazon. From two sellers. And I have no coffee maker. And I'm out $160. And I see no real end in site. And most of all I AM TOTALLY IRRITATED.



     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
nick George on 08/13/2013:
Forget customer service with Amazon I bought a tablet off gary at gtr electronics he's a 3rd party seller .Tablet had a fault after a couple of months No response from seller went to Amazon he replied I returned item seller then said it was smashed when he received it so he promptly returned it to me not only was it totally destroyed but it was not even mine he swoped them Amazon did nothing let him get away with it he will not answer any emails so that's it I lost 180 pound and Amazon did absolutely nothing to help me so be warned Amazon help Amazon would never deal with them again buy off the high street in person that's my advice
Close commentsAdd reply
Amazon Payments. A Personal Banking Nightmare from the 1990s.
Posted by on
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- With the slow but steady demise of BillMonk, my friends and I turned to other means of debt tracking and bill sharing for our nights out. Ultimately we turned to Amazon Payments and their 'TextPayMe' service. While many of them may rant about how cool this is, I'm not going to.

Here is how it supposedly works. You give them your credit or debit card number, or alternatively your bank routing number and bank account. They supposedly from then on will magically deduct the texted amount from your bank and automatically drop it into your friend's Amazon Payments account. No need to split bills anymore, no need to settle up later. Its all done with a quick, flashy text from your cellphone to Amazon's number. You just text them the short "Pay $$ 'Account Name Here'" and tada! No muss, no fuss.

Nuh uh.

Here are the massive hiccups involved in this service, and the inducement of what is at least a 5-7 business day headache... it not much much longer, because one then must undo the damage done.

1). Unless you weave through the complicated and ill-laid out Amazon Payments website to find the box to check, the TextPayMe is going to call you and demand your Amazon Pin. No big deal. The phone call takes a minute or two. You're done, right? Nope.

2.) You've authorized the payment, it should be done, right? No. Something happens, and I have not yet been given a straight forward answer as to why. You get a text back either confirming that the money was transferred, or the OTHER message. "Your credit card was declined."

Okay, well... you know theres plenty of money in your account. Why was it declined? Meanwhile your friend wants his money and you look a bit like a deadbeat. You apologize and say you'll try again. Cue the annoying slew of 'call your banks' from your friends. Yes, that's exactly what I want to do- sift through a phone tree of computer automation.

What Amazon's very vague text that literally says, 'your credit card was declined' actually means is its been 'temporarily declined.' That is the exact wording given to me by the person on the other side of the 'Contact Us' link. But they don't tell you that in the text. Its just declined. In the rest of the world, that means its over. Try again. So what does it really mean?

This charge has been put into a review, which they claim takes 24 hours. I assume business hours. Unless you go onto their site and figure this out yourself by clicking on the right thing, you would never know. But why was it put into review? I wish I could tell you this. They have a box you can click SOMEWHERE that says, 'call me above a certain payment amount.' I had this unchecked. But they still called.

More confusion before we go on. They bounced certain charges, but let others go through.

Back to the meat of it. Tired of dealing with them pulling directly from my credit card because they didn't seem to like it, I decided to dump my 'going out' budget into Amazon Payments so they could directly pull from there. The TextPayMe system is supposed to pull from your balance with Amazon Payments first, and if you don't have enough there, it pulls from your credit card or account. Reasonable. But then we enter the 1990s.

Depositing AND withdrawing money into your Amazon Payments account takes 5-7 business days. That is 5-7 business days that it disappears from one place, reappears in another but isn't actually usable until then. Didn't we dispose of this (I believe by law) way, way back? This is not a money transfer where physical tender is being moved from place to place, this is electronic information. This is two computers talking to one another and saying, "Got it?" "Yep, got it." "Give me." "OK." Done.

So your budget for going out is in limbo, your Amazon Payments balance is still nonexistent, they are still reviewing your 'temporarily declined' payment and your friend wants his money. So what do you do? Try again? No that would be silly. But I did it anyway. Result? The exact same. The card was declined, the payment shunted to a reviewed status and I now have two payments and a balance transfer hanging in limbo. Its like the sword of damocles. When and where will the payments strike, further depleting your weakened saving account.

I had finally had enough. I contacted Amazon and they told me all of this 'temporarily declined' nonsense and they assured me that my poor limbo'ed budget would eventually arrive. And oh, they reviewed the first declined charge and its going through. But the other charge is still pending. When its deemed successful, it will be charged too... whenever that is. Twenty hours has passed, I'd like to note. Fantastic! Except I asked them to cancel them both so I could just pay my friend in cash! Now he must pay ME back for the duplicate charge.

So here I sit. Officially complaining about a product for the first time in my life. Lets add one last insult to injury. When I finally get my balance that has been floating unusably through cyberspace until then, I still either have to use this service to get it back, or else wait ANOTHER 5-7 days for them to transfer it back into my account. 10-14 BUSINESS days that I have not had my budgeted funds available, and have had to dip into other budgets to fulfill demands made. That is 2-3 weeks to those who are counting... business days after all.

A double payment that was supposed to come from my Amazon Payments account has been pulled out of my savings account, and I won't be getting that back until it is all settled. I did kind of want to go buy some groceries this week, but heres a fun fact- the money you have in your AP account can only be used with Amazon, and even then only on certain products.

I don't think an ATM (or a kind, apologetic smile and a request to split the check) has EVER looked so good right now. I ask you: who would do this to themselves? How is this convenient to have a reserve of difficult to access, difficult to replenish, difficult to use money that is not doing anything useful but sitting there possibly a good thing? Even in an ordinary savings account, its use or movement is near-instant, and in the meantime its making tenth of cents in interest.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 07/25/2010:
The whole idea sounds like a recipie for disaster to begin with. Sometimes it's just easier to pay with cash.
bcd on 07/25/2010:
We still take turns buying rounds. It’s worked for years.
smpritch on 07/25/2010:
@chevyfan12345 I wholeheartedly agree, sir, the only hiccup potentially being carrying around the right amount of cash. This is probably what I will go back to.

@bcd A good way to go... but what do you do when you buy a sandwich and soft drink on their dime, but they buy the steak and a beer on yours? Or what if you're buying dinner for a large group of people because its your turn, but there are one or two others who are guests, and you'll never see again?

A lot of the reason why we used the service in the first place was to assure 1) equitable payment and 2) a quick trade of payments.
bcd on 07/25/2010:
Many food establishments ask the customers if they want separate checks.
smpritch on 07/25/2010:
@bcd Yes they do. And I've never had any problem with asking if they would. This is more of a squick with my friends than myself.
Close commentsAdd reply
Nightmare Company Will Take Your Money and Run......
Posted by on
PHILIPINES -- I purchased a product from Amazon and the product was a total defect I returned it on July 3, 2010, as of today I have not received my refund even though I was told they were refunding my $60.95 in full they have not each time I call they have a different story, the first story was we are refunding your VISA account it will take up 59 5 to 7 business days, after the 7 days went buy and I didn't get my refund they had another story well we just received the merchandise back and we have to process refund, which was a flat out lie because I had the UPS receipt showing they had gotten in 2 weeks ago, anyway the last story I received it's up to your bank to refund you we will request them to, my bank what do you mean my bank... this is crazy.... if I were you I would go straight to the manufacture to do business Amazon location is in the Philippines I found out and they don't know what they are doing, they have no ideal what they are selling and they would like to keep your money, I have to take them to small claims court just to get my refund back this is ridicules
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 08/25/2010:
Dispute the charge with Visa and see how that goes. Nice picture, by the way.
Close commentsAdd reply
Amazon.com holds funds of innocent sellers for months
Posted by on
SUITE 1200, WASHINGTON -- I have been selling on Amazon on and off for a few years recently I decided to focus more on selling on the site. After getting income of about $1500 for about two months I decided that I could use a pro account. After making several inquires to amazons’ customer service, (and it took a few inquires)I was told that the only way to do this would be to close down my current account and start again. I was unhappy about doing this by I reluctantly agreed. So I closed my current account and opened up a pro account. The site said that funds would be held on new account for two weeks as a security measure. I was not happy with this but it seemed reasonable. Right before the two weeks were up I had accumulated about $1400 in my account. The day before the funds were two be released, I received the following message
“As part of our ongoing commitment to improving the customer experience on Amazon.com, we are conducting a review of your seller account. During this review period your funds will be reserved in your Amazon Payments account for up to 30 days…”
I immediately stopped selling on Amazon despite them telling me that it was OK. I called customer service and they told me that I had been “selected” and that this was “routine”. At that point I started doing research on Amazon and I was surprised to learn how often they do this and get away with this. I provided them with all the tracking information like they requested (everything was delivered and there were no complaints). I also receive a total of 17 positive feedbacks with no negative feedback. They requested information about where I source my merchandise from and I other business information. Information which I feel is an invasion of my privacy. Why should I have to reveal to Amazon detailed information about how I sourced my merchandise. No other on-line company has requested this. Not eBay; not overstock and not others. My merchant account company has also not requested such information. It is clear to me that they are requesting it to gain useful selling information for their own use.
I did not try to contact them again about the fairness of holding my funds because I read that a number of people that have tried to do that have had their accounts permanently terminated, rudely told that any further emails would not be returned and fund that were already held for a long time would remain in ‘custody’ for several more months.
After I received the notice mentioned above I sent them in all the information that they requested in spite of my objections. Immediately afterwards, I emailed them asking if the information that I sent was sufficient. I only received a form letter that did not answer my question. I repeated this and I got the same response.
About a week ago (3 ½ weeks after they sent the initial email), I received another email that the information that I provided them was insufficient and that my funds would be help for an additional 15 days. They did not explain what was insufficient, but I knew from experience that it would not help to ask. I again sent them more detailed information and I am now waiting. It has been more than thirty days since I shipped my last orders and I have no complaints against me. If they do not want me to sell on Amazon because they think that I am not trustworthy (actually I think that the opposite is true), so they should not let me sell, but why should they hold my money?
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Soaring Consumer on 04/12/2010:
File a complaint with your state's Office of the Attorney General's consumer protection division. They have no right to arbitrarily hold on to YOUR money nor invade your privacy in this way with the threat of keeping YOUR money longer.
Inat on 04/12/2010:
dude, that sucks! I don't understand why they would hold the funds through all of this - just seems like an intimidation tactic.
madconsumer on 04/12/2010:
Amazon's policy sounds reasonable to me. perhaps try godaddy.com consumer seller options?
Anonymous on 04/12/2010:
Doesn't sound the least bit reasonable to me. Maybe you could add why you think their policies stated above sound reasonable to you.
Connoisseur on 04/12/2010:
Hmmmmmmm holding onto your money? are they making interest on it???
TM on 05/31/2011:
I second the idea of contacting your state's AG and filing an official complaint. If you know how much you made and Amazon is holding it beyond a reasonable time, it is trying to earn interest on your fund and no one is in charge up there. You should close your seller account and stop using Amazon to sell products while you are trying to resolve the issue. Evey moment you are still selling there means anything which sells in the intervening period will most likely be held too.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Amazon Rips Off Sellers
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I am a new seller on Amazon and I am using a dropship supplier to ship my orders, basically my supplier. I listed the inventory I intended to sell, over 500 items. Because I was new, I wasn't clear on how to do my pricing so I listed my items for what the MSRP is.

I soon began receiving email messages from Amazon, claiming that my prices are too high and due to this, they stated that they are deactivating my listings; they began doing this on certain items, not my entire inventory. They stated that my pricing should fall within the wholesale and MSRP prices.

There were a multitude of items that were deactivated and instead of checking each SKU to determine if an item was deactivated I simply removed all inventory, I then proceeded to go to my supplier's website to download a fresh inventory feed. I adjusted my pricing to exactly what Amazon wanted and I uploaded everything fresh, to my webstore because it was easier and less time-consuming to do it this way.

I began receiving those same email messages and Amazon started deactivating my inventory again. I got upset and emailed them. I stated that I adjusted my prices but they continue to deactivate items. When I complained about it they claimed that it was just a "suggestion" to lower my prices so I can make more sales. I emailed back and said that if it were just a suggestion then why do you continue to deactivate my items? And besides that, I looked on the marketplace and compared my prices with other seller's prices and theirs are higher priced.

I initially had a webstore through Amazon but got frustrated and discouraged and cancelled the webstore. A week later I decided to open a new seller account using a new email address that isn't associated with my first webstore. Now what's going on is that I have tons of orders from customers and Amazon is sending me order notifications to the email address that was associated with my first webstore, not the email address associated with my current webstore. Even worse, none of my orders are posted under "manage orders" in my webstore. I wouldn't know that there were any orders at all if I didn't check my email account that was associated with my first webstore. Now I have customers emailing me asking where their orders are, and complaining about it. I looked at all of these orders which made me enough money to buy a used car but yet Amazon has not posted them to my account. I have no way to contact those customers unless they email me first; their orders show no email contact addresses.

I don't even know what to tell them.....
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
An Overlooked Promo Code Applied After the Order Was Placed.
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
I've been trying to find a nice winter coat for my no-longer-baby Clutzy. But of course finding one at a reasonable price is hard to come by. I thought I had one at Walmart, but when I looked at it, it wasn't what I had in mind. So, in the middle of my local Walmart, I ordered a London Fog bubble coat from the Amazon.com app on my phone. It was only about $10 more than what the Walmart coat was going for, but it's London Fog, so it's a name I know.

When I got home and looked at my order online, I noticed that there was a promo code for 20% off eligible outerwear that I could have applied to the order. Of course, my order was in the "shipping now" status so cancellation and reordering wasn't a very good option. So I decided to call Amazon customer service. After explaining what happened, the CSR managed to apply the discount to my order, bringing the cost of the coat down to about what I would have paid for the Walmart coat (especially after taxes). How awesome is that?

Update 11/18: The coat arrived last Tuesday, however Amazon failed to process my refund. I called an explained the problem. The person I spoke with said he would process it, it would take 2-3 business days and he sent me an email to confirm it. Fast forward to this morning (business day #3) and still no refund. I was about to call Customer Service AGAIN when I happened to check my bank account online and noticed that I was being charged less for a pair of pants I had just ordered. I checked my email and they had applied that refund to my AMAZON account and just used it for my next order. Obviously it doesn't matter at the end of the day since the money just went back to Amazon, but what if my coat purchase had been a one and done? I'm a little disappointed in Amazon's less than upfrontness about the whole matter.
     
Add reply
Warranty? Not So much...
Posted by on
I made this "informative" other than a "complaint" as I'm not really sure who's at fault.

My first XBox went out after 3 years or so, so being fat with all those expensive games, I pretty much had to get another one.

Ordered it from Amazon for a OK price and excellent shipping (always have good luck with Amazon and shipping)and got it 10/25/12.

Last night it decided to stop working after not quite 2 months. Found all the warranty paperwork and started the process. Registered it online (required) to start a ticket. At this point it says my XBox is under warranty (good deal) and the warranty expires 1/25/13. Huh?

So, evidently, if you order this stuff from Amazon it has been sitting in some warehouse eating up its warranty until you buy it. Supposed to be a year warranty, I get 3 months.

So, I got that going for me...

That was sort of my first issue. The problem with my XBox is all over the web and they say it just needs an updated power cord/supply. Which could easily be sent to me in no time. But, that isn't how things are done.

So... I had to pack the thing back up in (pick one) the original packaging (which is what the first info told me) or totally different packaging (which is what the second info told me) and ship it off to them. Which is what I did (and I mixed original packaging with new packaging just to cover all my bases). Now I wait for "2-3 weeks".

In Microsoft's defense, they do pay for the shipping when it's under warranty, but that seems to be where the customer being right pretty much ends.

Is it Amazon for eating my warranty or Microsoft for being hardly customer-centric? I'll let you decide...




     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Whiteduck on 01/03/2013:
Update: Got an email from Microsoft that said they were shipping my XBox back to me! Yay! Except that the Fed Ex tracking number isn't recognized by Fed Ex as valid. We've all seen that happen, right? Just wait a day and Fed Ex gets the package and tracking begins.

Except now it's 5 days later and they still haven't any record of the package @ Fed Ex.

Spent 20 minutes waiting for a tech @ XBox support who did NOTHING except tell me that their tech department says they sent it, so just wait because of the east coast weather (which is odd because I live in Indiana and shipped this thing to Texas).

We shall see, but if I were you guys, I'd go with a PS3.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Amazon advertised NEW merchandise, but vendor Discount Jungle sent REFURBISHED/FACTORY SERVICED MERCHANDISE, WHICH IS ILLEGAL
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WASHINGTON -- We ordered a Remington Razor advertised as NEW. Amazon's vendor DiscountJungle.com sent a Factory Serviced unit. This is illegal in Ohio. Discount Jungle Reviews on Google show many complaints where NEW merchandise advertised but Refurbished shipped. Amazon would not respond as to why Amazon allowed this to continue without stopping this for all of their customers, though they refunded me.

If this happens to you, please contact the Attorney General's Office for the State of Washington where Amazon is located, or contact me. Amazon is a good company, but with a weak tolerance for correcting bait and switch patterns that are brought to their attention. So let's help change this for Amazon and keep the internet fair and honest.

Joe Bush[snip]
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 10/14/2012:
I believe the name of the company is DiscountsJungle, not DiscountJungle.

After examining their website, I wouldn't order anything from them. At least one link at the bottom of the page leads to a template that was never filled in.

I agree - Amazon should not tolerate sellers that sell refurbished items as new on a continuing basis. There are other similar complaints about DiscountsJungle on Amazon.
Starlord on 10/14/2012:
It may be illegal in Ohio, but actually, I would prefer to have a refurbished unit. You suffer under the misconception that a new unit is inherently better than one that has been remanufactured, which is what refurbished actually means. A new unit is untested and may contain defective parts, as the 14 parts in a portable TV my mother purchased once. A refurbished unit is totally gone through and all questionable parts are replaced, and the unit is sent out with the same as a new warranty, It has been tested and works completely correctly.
ticia232 on 10/14/2012:
I think that rather than go after Amazon, go after DiscountsJungle.com. (Yes, DiscountsJungle!) I went to their website and nothing says that they sell refurbished things, so Amazon might be on the side of the store when they say no it is just someone who didn't like our return policy (which is ridiculous, if you have a manufacturer defect and don't want a replacement you have to pay a fee? You have to wait until they send you an authorization number?) or something like that.
Amazon is like an online Flea Market, you pay you can advertise what you have. So take the proof to your state AG and get that deceptive site shut down or at least fined because they were the ones who advertised it as NEW.
radar1857 on 10/14/2012:
They also repackage and resell used DVD's. Last Christmas I had to return 4 DVD's that were supposed to be new but weren't. They were from Amazon, LLC not a second party vendor. I also ordered 2 laptops. Both had been used as one had a very large scratch on the screen. The second one alreday had someones personal info on it. When I complained to Amazon, they banned me from shopping with them. Actually that's the best outcome for me possible. I now buy all of my electronics and DVD's form another retailer. Thank you Amazon for selling used junk. You did me a huge favor!
KevinTX on 10/15/2012:
Did you file a complaint against the company on Amazon under vendor reviews?
Joe Bush, joebush@roadrunner.com on 10/23/2012:
Dear KevinTX,

To answer your question as to whether I filed a complaint with Amazon regarding DiscountsJungle, I did. But Amazon after refunding me removed the complaint completely as though no bait and switch occurred.

I then emailed the CEO of Amazon.com, Mr. Jeffrey Bezos. I sent Mr. Bezos repeated updates with copies of all the information/complaints available by doing a google search and at the Better Business Bureau for Los Angeles, CA (there were 18 complaints there).

I have contacted the Attorney General for the State of Washington and asked that they investigate Amazon.com's handling of complaints regarding violations of consumer law. I believe that what Amazon did with my case is their normal response, refund if they must then sweep complaint under the rug, business as usual.

Which is illegal.

Joe Bush
joebush@roadrunner.com
At Your Service on 11/15/2012:
Not sure I'd want to buy something from a place called DiscountsJungle. Especially over the web where one has a lot less protection.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Credit Card Number Stolen Issues - You May Be in Trouble - No Support
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MIAMI, FLORIDA -- There is no way to talk to Management, employees do what ever they want because there is not way to complain. I have an issue with Amazon for over 4 weeks and I have not been able to resolve it, because they don't care.

YOU CONTINUE PUTTING MY ACCOUNT IN HOLD (very unprofessional) I am planning to bring to your Management this type of actions. I have called several times to your customer service and they promises they will put a note in my account, so they don't put my account in hold again but guys disregard any notes and continue PUTTING my account in hold. I am sencirelly believe that the problem in your company is the account specialist department, every time I call they open a request to the account specialist and they claim that he/her will call me within the next 24 hours, it never happen I have never received a call from an account specialist.

I have a log of all the nightmare that I have with you guys, I am planning to send all this proof of very bad service to all the executives including Jeff bezos. I have requested for a supervisor to call me, and never received a call. I AM REQUESTING AGAIN FOR A SUPERVISOR OR A MANAGER TO PLEASE CALL ME MY PHONE NUMBER IS XXX-XXX-XXXX

Every time you put my account on Hold I buy from EBay and other places, so your company looses the business, but I think your company don't care, that is a bad business. Check my account and see the activities I have in the past.

My credit card number was stolen in Amazon, the bank Issued a new credit card, I provided the new credit card number to Amazon for some previous charges, my account was put in hold for weeks now. When I call Amazon, they claim I will be call within 24 hours, I have never received a call from them. I have send several emails, no response. They don't care because there is no way to call a resolution department or complain to Management.


     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 07/03/2012:
Your account is evidently being reviewed and held because of the credit card issue. The lack of a return call if you are promised one is a concern - the only thing I can think of is they are still reviewing tha account for possible fraud - those investigations can take a few weeks to a month.

I've never had a problem with Amazon - I hope this is resolved soon for you. Hang in there - Amazon is a good company though you are having an issue right now.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Do Not Use 1-Click
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
WARRENTON, VIRGINIA -- I liked 1-click because it's fast and convenient. I hate it because Amazon lies to the consumer. They make you think that you can cancel an order if you need to make a change - but you can't. On any attempt to cancel,. Amazon wastes your time requiring that you fill out a form with the reason for the cancellation before you can cancel. After you fill in the form, you are to press "Submit". According to the directions, doing so will cancel the order. Instead of that, the form resets to a blank form and your order is still there.

Customer service is no help: the representative kept me on the phone until the option to cancel expired (it was as if she didn't know what 1-click was) talking about other issues. Although she did offer one piece of advice at the start of our conversation: "Disable 1-click!".

I called the seller, (within 5 minutes of the cancellation, mind you), and was advised I might be too late to stop the order because it "may have gone out already" (Imagine that! Service at the speed of light!). I was told I would be contacted by email if they were successful.

This isn't my first run in with 1-click. I once received - and paid for 2 books when I had ordered only one. It was cheaper to donate the unwanted book than return it. Another time, I 1-clicked a gift item for delivery to another state; it came to me instead.

I do intend to disable 1-click. But, I have another concern: can Amazon be trusted? Does Amazon care that I'm dissatisfied or is my business expendable (I previously spent $500 with them on one item but what can 1person matter when the world is their market?)? Amazon offers convenience, but, is it worth it: as more of us decide to use Amazon for the majority of our buying needs - you can have everything from toilet paper to furnace filters auto - delivered to your door on a schedule of your choice - will trusted local merchants be driven out of business allowing Amazon's service be to grow even more untrustworthy?

I know that I can buy with from confidence from my local merchant who cares about me because he cares about community relations, if there's a problem with the product, I can return it, no questions asked, there is a direct and immediate response to any request or issue. But Amazon is in no way beholden to its customers - its size obviates that. I've heard seller complaints of unfair play; are we customers next?

Yes, I will continue to buy from Amazon, but, because I no longer trust them, I intend to frequent local merchants when possible and from sites other than Amazon, e. g., manufacturer's sites, using PayPal or my PayPal credit card (the other option for secure shopping). Oh if it were only that easy to unchain myself from my cable service!
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
copper_works_ on 06/16/2012:
Wow, I'm surprised. I've cancelled with Amazon before and didn't have any problems, I just did it through my account page, I answered a couple of questions, then I got an email saying it was cancelled.
FoDaddy19 on 06/16/2012:
I've had nothing but good experiences with Amazon. I've never used the one click ordering thing though. You'd be surprised how quickly some of these e-retailers can ship something. I once ordered a piece of computer hardware from newegg.com, and I kid you not. Within 10 seconds of the placing the order I got a email saying the order had been processed, 20 seconds later a email saying that my credit card had been charged, and then about 3 minutes later another email saying that my order had been shipped.
MRM on 06/16/2012:
FoDaddy, with the case of Newegg, if you order before 2:00pm, your order will be shipped the same day.
trmn8r on 06/16/2012:
I like Amazon, and have never had any reason to not trust them. HOWEVER, I have always been nervous about 1-click and would not use it. I like to review everything step by step. I can see the attraction for frequent users, but for me it isn't attractive. Helpful review.
Starlord on 06/17/2012:
I consider myself a regular Amazon customer now,and am tickledd by the speed of the deliveries and the fact that Amazon has things I want that I cannot get anywhere else. example. a CD by Shintaro Katsu, the actor who played the blind swordsman. I just found an MP3 player that replaces one I had for over 5 years, and that no one else carries any more. I just had a Customer service rep take care of a question I had, overnight, on a weekend.
Anonymous on 06/17/2012:
I don't like one-click for the simple fact that shipping is automatically set to 2 day shipping. I placed an order not realizing that until it was too late, but they do allow you to change the default shipping.
The one time I needed to cancel an order, they wouldn't allow it which is understandable. I had to fill out a form and request to cancel and they told me upfront that if it was past a certain point in the shipping process, that they would not be able to cancel it.
ok4now on 06/17/2012:
On 8-20-2010 (see related reviews) I wrote the almost exact same review about one-click ordering at Amazon. Apparently this policy has not changed. I was happy to see your post warning people not to fall for this again.
CowboyFan on 06/18/2012:
Convenience has a price - loss of control over the process. That's why I like to see each step along the way, to make sure it is exactly what I want. If I used one click, I would assume that once I clicked it, the product was mine.

This has nothing to do with trust, but with the rules and procedures. The time period to change an order is quick, because once it is in the process of being sent, it is too late to cancel.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >