Auto Europe

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 12 ratings and
45 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Auto Europa/Sicily By Car S.P.A.
Posted by on
I have the same problem. I was in Milan in October 2010. I got a car from Auto Europa Silicy by car company. It was Nissan Micra 1.2. 7 days car haven't got any damages and problems. We was in many cities in Italy, about 2000 km was done for 1 week. After we gave car back (I gave keys in office to a man, he said nothing needed more, we don't checked car, it was 2 hours on parking when we waited for office opening) and when we arrive to out home country I checked internet bank and saw that there were charged 860 EUR more (first 1200 eur charging was still there, not unblocked). I called to Auto Europe and they said that car was damaged and this 860 EUR deposit is for repairing. After 2 weeks they unblocked money but not all, minus 380 eur for mirror repair.

Also I find real prices for repair. They prices are fake. Mirror cost is only 80 eur in Italy not 180 Eur like they send me some fake papers. You can see them in attachment.

So I recommend to all people, if you get car in this company you need full insurance + photo car when you gave it back + check car with office man so they can`t charge you more and damage car after you gave it back like it was with my car.

Better to get car from Avis, Hertz, Europcar and pay more. It will be your mistake if you want lower cost for car hire in Italy. They are SCAMmers, they will fraud your credit card and charge from it without your knowing.

http://www.darkman/. lv/autoeuropa. jpg
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Dr M Rifai on 12/07/2013:
Warning, Cheap Only In Business Ethics
Billiger-Mietwagen.DE of Freiburg advertises discounted Auto Europe rates. They owe me € 137.87 which they have charged twice to my Visa card and did not reverse to my Visa account. They were abusive ,dishonest and arrogant.We addressed our complaint to Zell am See,and Freiburg and got only evasive replies in German over a period of 4 months until it became obvious that this was deliberate and is not done in good faith.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Auto Europa Scam
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ROME - LEONARDO DI VINCI AIRPORT -- When traveling to Rome Italy recently my sister and I had a very bad experience with Auto Europa at the Leonardo di Vinci Airport. The reservations were booked through Expedia and under Thrifty Car Rental.

Upon checking in we were told that the reservations were with Auto Europa which is affiliated with Thrifty. We were told to proceed to the garage to pick up the vehicle. We went to the service booth to check in and were told the car was parked in a certain location and they were rude and did not retrieve the car for us. No one inspected the car with us and signed off on it for any prior damages.

Upon leaving, I noticed the indicator light on the SUV was on for the back latch door not being closed. I remember I had to slam it several times before it would lock. It was over cast and dark in the garage, and the car was black. We noticed when we got to our destination the next day that there was a dent where the back door latch was located and that was why we had trouble closing it.

Upon leaving the same airport that we originated from, again, no service agent and we used the drop box and indicated the problem with the back latch door on the SUV we rented. When my sister received the bill from American Express there were several additional charges unauthorized on her credit card from Auto Europa amounting to $3000. She was not contacted by Auto Europa about the addition charges. She is in dispute with the credit card company and the charges were reduced to $1000, which still is not the original agreed upon charges. I think this company is a scam artist and I would not recommend using this company to any one in the future.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
At Your Service on 12/24/2012:
A lesson well learned. One should always inspect the vehicle before leaving. If you are not able, the person running the counter should sign a waiver that you are not responsible for anything that may turn out to be a problem in the future.

I normally photograph the entire vehicle before leaving. No reason not to with everyone walking around with some sort of photographic device these days.

Thanks for posting.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Total Ripoff
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PORTLAND, MAINE -- ~I went online to rent a car.

~I wrote down four quotes from Hertz, Enterprise, Alamo, and Dollar. All of these quotes were within $75 of each other.

~I 'discovered' Auto Europe online.

~I explored its rates and found them to be significantly less than all of the others.

~I began the process of completing a rental (charge card to be charged upon finishing...unlike the others). I went to the final step to see if any 'hidden' fees appeared. They did not.

~At the very last step, before completing the process, I called the number I found online (see above) from my home telephone, which is 1-802-436-2838

~I asked the agent why Auto Europe's cost was so much less than the others. It had raised a red flag for me. I was told that by renting through AE I avoided paying several of the "fees and miscellaneous charges" because AE's contract with the auto renters specifically excluded those fees and charges. I asked for further clarification on this matter as it seemed strange to me that if this was true, I had not heard of AE previous to this occasion. I was assured that I had nothing to worry about, and that I would in fact be paying the significantly lower total amount. The agent then added something to the effect of, "If this does not prove to be true, call me back and we'll make it right." He then went on to give me his name and extension.

~I competed the rental online.

~My charge card was charged the agreed upon rate 48 hours later.

~Upon renting at the airport I was charged an additional $161.07 by Hertz, the actual Car Rental company. The agent at their desk put in considerable time and effort to try to 'solve' the issues I raised, but in the end could not find a way to avoid making the charges. She advised me to call Auto Europe after the trip.

~I called Auto Europe Customer Service this morning. I was told to try to dig up the name and number of the agent I'd contacted originally. I did. I sent it and a long explanation to them via email.

~ After a Class A Runaround, I was offered a $25 discount off my next rental with them. If I had not been so angry, I'd have laughed out loud.

IN THE END I ASKED WHY ANYONE SHOULD BOTHER TO RENT THROUGH THEM AND THERE WAS NO ANSWER. IT COST ME A GREAT DEAL OF TIME AND EFFORT, AND AN EXTRA $15 (THEIR COST EXCEEDED THE COST OF A DIRECT HERTZ RENTAL BY THIS AMOUNT)




     
Add reply
Rip off website and they don't care once they have your money!
Posted by on
PORTLAND, MASSACHUSETTS -- DO NOT BOOK!!!! They would not honor the booking and would not refund when we showed up and the car agency ran out of cars!!!!!! I couldn't believe it. I have been talking to customer service for two months now and they refuse to help. They give me the runaround and are really smug about it on the phone. I never knew they had so many complaints until I got burned by them and goggled Auto Europe online.

We paid for a car rental in full via credit card on their website. We went to pick up the car at exact location specified. When we got there, the car agency had given our car away because they said it was 3 hours after the reservation time. This is undisputed by Auto Europe. They were unable to give us another car. We have a copy of all the terms and conditions and voucher. Nowhere does it state that if you are late by 3 hours, they can charge you 100% and not give you a car. Sometimes planes are late and they never called even though they had our phone number. We had to rent another car at or own expense from Hertz. We also spoke to the manager at EuropeCar at the airport and they said they have spoken to Auto Europe on our behalf and is not charging Auto Europe for the non rental. They apologized to us for the mistake but Auto Europe is still refusing to refund our money. We were left stranded with no car. We are out of the money as well. There are no written terms and conditions that would allow for them to not provide us with a car. They are going against a written contract. We showed up and found out they gave away our car after 3 hours because Auto Europe works with agencies that all have different rules but can't state them clearly on their website. Most and I think all car rental companies hold a car for you for at least 24 hours if you pre-paid for a car. This is want EuropCar and Hertz told us. This is against all terms and conditions on Auto Europe website and on our contract. In fact, if you go to their website, it does not say anywhere that if you are late by 3 hours, they can cancel your reservation and charge you 100%. But that is what they did. I still can't believe it and everyone at Auto Europe gives us the run around. I really think they don't care at all.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 07/14/2011:
Did you challenge this with your credit card company? You might want to do that, though it may be too late to now.
Mallorca Orka on 07/02/2013:
Why did you make a booking for a certain time and show up 3 hours later? Was your flight information on the booking? Did you call to let them know you would be late? I am just curious why you would make a contract for example 12 and show up at 1500?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Auto Europe Stole Our Money!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BUDAPEST, HUNGARY, MICHIGAN -- AUTO EUROPE STOLE OUR MONEY! We reserved a car through their website and this was the only email we ever received....

Thank you for your internet request. Please note that your car is not yet confirmed. As your reservation is considered last minute, we need to verify availability with our supplier. We will notify you once the reservation is confirmed. If our supplier cannot confirm your request, we will look into all other available options and contact you as soon as possible.

We look forward to hearing from you! We are open 24 hours a day / 7 days a week for your convenience.

Best regards,
Riley
Internet Reservations
Auto Europe

They never provided us a car and THEY CHARGED US ANYWAY !!! Their customer service told us "you are not getting your money back, I am doing more that I should by even telling you this much." They are liars and thieves!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
bob932304 on 08/02/2012:
Of course dispute this with your credit card company immediately.
Close commentsAdd reply
Abusive and unprofessional!
Posted by on
Booked a car through them for 5 days, to use in Spain. There was no mention about any particular fuel policy during the booking process, so one could well assume that this would be the standard "pick up full, return full" policy. Only after I'd paid and received the voucher, I noticed that the fuel policy was an abusive one: you had to buy a full tank of petrol (overpriced even, at almost double the average price per litre!), with no refunds given for any unused petrol at the end of the booking.

I should have seen something like this coming judging by the way the booking went - site broke down and could not handle online bookings, so had to book over the phone, on an international call, with a slow and untrained operator.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 10/12/2011:
I took a look at their websites and didn't see them mentioning anything about buying their petrol at their rates when you rented the car. Certainly deceptive. Thank you for the information!
PepperElf on 10/12/2011:
no but a policy like that WOULD be on your rental agreement
Mallorca Orka on 07/02/2013:
In your complaint you said "so one could well assume that this would be the standard "pick up full, return full" policy.". . . Is it ever safe to assume anything when traveling abroad? I go to Spain 6 times a year using Auto Europe and every phone agent I have spoke with has been extremely helpful.

If you are a regular booker for Spain and/or Portugal (as I am) one should know that almost ALL local suppliers have a FULL to EMPTY policy.

Not to mention you booked this over the phone and didn't ask? That dosnt make much sense does it?
Close commentsAdd reply
Hidden charges with AutoEurope and Dollar
Posted by on
Never rent with autoeurope in your life ..
I paid the voucher to rent a car with AutoEurope. The, I pick up the car at Dollar Los Angeles.
They took my credit card, according to them, to place a hold on it, in case we do not return the car. Then, they try to convince you to upgrade your car and rent a GPS. We decline everything.
When we returned the car and came back home, I noticed we have been charge twice for the same rental car. Once from Auto Europe and once from Dollar. I contact auto Europe and Dollar to solve the misunderstanding.

To my surprise, auto Europe reply a couple of weeks later saying that Dollar has billed as for the following:
$55.92 USD -- Personal protection plan
$47.92 USD -- Roadsafe
$36.77 USD -- Prepaid fuel
--------------
$9.78 USD -- State tax billed on above items
$15.62 USD -- Airport surcharge billed on above items
$1.19 USD -- Tourism surcharge billed on above items

We already had an insurance with auto Europe and we never agree or talk about any other insurance with Dollar. As far as I understood, everything, including the fuel, was already paid with the Auto Europe voucher. No extra charges are mentioned anywhere.

Auto Europe fail to take any responsibility for the service they provide, or at
least, clearly inform the customer of extra expensive charges, like taxes. As a
reservation company, they do not protect the customer and they deal with
dishonest companies like Dollar, and agree to support this kind of frauds .


I just regret I did not have a look at the forums before to check the reviews from Dollar and AutoEurope, as I now see there are much worse cases that mine. There was not any misunderstanding, this is an scam, even if legal. And it is not fair, that the customer does not know in advance how much he is going to have to pay for what it should be a straight forward car rental. It is pathetic how little protected the customer is in this kind of situations.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
MSCANTBEWRONG on 09/30/2009:
What did it say in your contract regarding these charges?
Anonymous on 09/30/2009:
One of those billings was probably an authorization that should reverse itself in a few days. Most rental places, even gas stations, charge your card an authorization to verify the card is active, and has enough credit for the purchase. Once the actual charge is submitted for payment, the auth hold falls off.
Close commentsAdd reply
Auto Europa
Posted by on
PORTLAND, MAINE -- In April 2008, I rented a car in Milan from Auto Europa through Kemwel, Portland, Maine, USA.

I paid for the full insurance coverage with ZERO deductible. Two days before I returned the car the front door lock could not operate by remote. The return rental desk person said someone had tried to open the door and it was an act of vandalism. A month later my credit card was charged $750 for the repair of a lock. Since it was rented through Kemwel in the US I called their customer department. Their representative told me that full insurance coverage does not include any damage to the car due to theft unless the car is stolen and not found or damage due to an accident. Any damage to the car due to theft or an attempt of theft is not covered, IT IS ONLY FOR TOTAL LOSS! BEWARE, ALL POTENTIAL CUSTOMERS. Their full comprehensive insurance is very misleading. I learned the hard way. Don't be fooled by Auto Europa and Kemwel.

I will be grateful if someone who has similar experience can advise me on on how I can recover Auto Europa charge to my credit card.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Massillon on 01/05/2009:
Have an ongoing similar situation with Auto Europe in Catania, Sicily. The rental agency in Sicily charged my MasterCard with $472 for damages to the vehicle which we did not do. I disputed the charge on my card but just received notice from Sears MasterCard that they determined my claim was not proven. In the same mailing I got a form from Sears Security Services requesting information so that they can prove fraud. Haven't heard back from my call to MasterCard yet but will cancel it as soon as this ends. Auto Europa claims they can't do anything about it since I've disputed the charges. I'll never rent another car from them.
H Clay on 01/27/2009:
I had a similar case at the beginning of November, 2008 at the Palermo airport. We had to leave our car without inspection as we had a 7 AM flight. I have received to master card charges for $100+ and $200+ to repair the car. We left the car in better condition than we found it-cleaner. My wife and I have never had a ding in a rental in over 30 years of traveling. This appears to be fraud on the part of the AutoEurope/Europcar staff in Palermo.
darkman.lv on 11/09/2010:
I have the same problem. I was in Milan in October 2010. I got a car from Auto Europa silicy by car company. It was Nissan Micra 1.2. 7 days car haven't got any damages and problems. We was in many cities in Italy, about 2000 km was done for 1 week. After we gave car back (I gave keys in office to a man, he said nothing needed more, we don't checked car, it was 2 hours on parking when we waited for office opening) and when we arrive to out home country I checked internet bank and saw that there were charged 860 EUR more (first 1200 eur charging was still there, not unblocked). I called to Auto Europe and they said that car was damaged and this 860 EUR deposit is for repairing. After 2 weeks they unblocked money but not all, minus 380 eur for mirror repair.

Also I find real prices for repair. They prices are fake. Mirror cost is only 80 eur in Italy not 180 Eur like they send me some fake papers. You can see them in attachment.

So I recommend to all people, if you get car in this company you need full insurance + photo car when you gave it back + check car with office man so they can`t charge you more and damage car after you gave it back like it was with my car.

http://www.darkman.lv/autoeuropa.jpg
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
BEWARE DISHONEST PREDATORY COMPANY
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SANTO DOMINGO -- BEWARE DISHONEST PREDATORY COMPANY

I had made online reservations to pickup a rental vehicle for a vacation to Santo Domingo with Auto Europe which I paid with my USAA Credit card for the Sum of $123.34 online. Prior to my trip I called up USAA credit card services and was assured the car was fully covered for damages but I would still need to purchase additional Liability Insurance to cover other vehicles in case of an accident. When I arrived in Santo Domingo on June 7, 2014 to pick up the vehicle the sales representative at Auto Europe asked if I would like to purchase the additional Liability Insurance to cover other vehicles for additional sum of approximately $118 which I agreed too. When the printed invoice was handed to me it had a sum of $2500 total with no explanations to the costs. The clerk told me that it was only a deposit and that only $118 dollars would be charged to my account ounce the vehicle was returned but nothing on this invoice stated this policy. I told the clerk that I was not comfortable singing a blank invoice for $2500 especially when the vehicle is covered under my credit card and I am simply asking optional liability coverage. At this time I told the clerk I was not comfortable with the transaction and that I wanted a refund. He assured me that he will cancel the transaction but I still landed being charged. THIS IS A VERY DISHONEST PREDATORY COMPANY WHO WILL TRY TO ROB YOU AT ANY COST. BEWARE.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Not following EU/UK Consumer Legislation and Insurance Rip Off
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OXFORD -- I will never book with this company again usually I book direct form the airport. I needed a car for the next day for my 2 kids to go to Peppa Pig world as we were visiting family in the UK. I thought I bought full insurance cover which was actually pretty pointless as it is not recognized by the partner companies. RIP OFF. This was not made clear enough, my advise is not to use the company and to book direct. In phoning the company and then speaking to a manager. I spoke to a very condescending man who clearly informed me it is a US based company that did not have to follow EU and UK legislation. This is of course false. Do not rent a car from them go direct. Customer service is appalling, and the product and service a rip off.
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >