Preview Review

Next Review

CarMax Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Buying, Selling, Shipping
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I've always had good experiences with CarMax in the past. I've bought and sold from them more than a few times. Yes - the trade in amount they offer is always lower than what other car dealers offer me - I think they start at the average trade in value and take off what tax savings you will get on a purchase. Sometimes I've traded into them - sometimes I sold to another dealer and came out way ahead even giving up the tax break - but I think you are paying for the one stop shopping.

I've found what I wanted and drove 100 miles to go look at it (and bought it), and I've bought off the local lot. They were always good experiences. Yes, they made money off of me - but they are in business to do that, so it's to be expected.

Perhaps I was lulled into trusting them, perhaps I was tired of not seeing what I wanted anywhere near me - but this time the only truck that matched what I wanted was all the way across the country - a $899 transfer fee. I wanted the vehicle to use on my vacation which was coming up fast - and at 3 weeks I decided to bite the bullet and pay to have it transported to me.

After paying for it I asked how long it would take - and surprise - they told me 28 days - right when my vacation ends. I should have told them to reverse the charges - but when I reminded them what I wanted it for they told me it would probably just be 2 weeks, that the 4 weeks is just to be safe. I was also told that I could cancel at any time if I found something closer. I was concerned - but decided that since I could cancel it would be okay.

Funny - a few days later some trucks were popping up on the CarMax site that were even more than I wanted, and closer. I called my agent to cancel the other one (which hadn't shipped yet). I should have put a hold on it - because as I was talking to him it became unavailable. He told me so before the website did - and I wonder now if it was a coincidence... So time keeps passing - at a week it still hasn't shipped and I have a local dealer makes me a high offer on my current truck - and has one with everything I want - but also tricked out. It costs more - but with the higher offer on my truck.

I called my agent and asked about my transfer and was told he hadn't heard anything. I asked him to verify and he came back and told me it hadn't shipped. I asked him if I could only cancel if I found another CarMax vehicle, or if I could cancel if I found one at another dealer. He asked me why - so I told him that there were a lot of trucks popping up locally that interested me. He told me that I could cancel the transfer and get my money back with the only condition being that I could do it as long as my truck hadn't shipped yet.

So the other dealer texted me and told me the truck I really liked online would be at his store if I would like to test drive it - and we set up a time to look at it. And then the CarMax salesman called me to tell me mine had shipped. Maybe I shouldn't have called - but I wanted to make sure the ability to get my $899 back was good if I bought elsewhere.

Well - it's been another week. I have no idea where my truck is, or when it will get here. I've transported vehicles before - and I can't believe that I paid $899 and have no idea where it is or when it will get here. I'm a few days from going on my vacation - and I'm looking at spending $1,000 to rent a comparable vehicle for a week, or saying goodbye to the $899 and the truck I was shipping here - to buy the one local. Giving up the $899 seems like a better option - especially because I keep having people tell me coming from the Northwest what they consider normal for the condition of the undercarriage is what in Texas we consider too rusty.

I wouldn't recommend paying anyone to ship a vehicle to you to buy it unless it is new - and I would strongly recommend against having CarMax do it. What had always been a decent experience has been terrible only because of the lack of communication and lack of information about where is it and when will it get here. For $899 I would expect more.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- First of all, the car they sold me is a lemon. It's been in their shop so many times and has had numerous recalls. Every time I take it in I pay the deductible. They fix it and the next month something else breaks so there goes another deductible.

Last month I took it in and they said they fixed it. I got it back and it was making another noise. I took it back and they charged me to run another diagnostic. This time they said it didn't have any oil in it which I question because in the past the change oil light comes on when it needs an oil change but this time it didn't plus they just had it and never even mentioned anything about oil. So now I had to pay a diagnostic fee again. They have bad mechanics!!!

Replies
Wonderful!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I think people come to this site to complain and it gives Carmax a bad rating. I have purchased 4 vehicles from Carmax and sold 3 vehicles to them. I have had nothing but great experience through Carmax. After years of being ripped off at dealerships, I started selling my vehicles to Carmax and they give me a great price (over the KBB price each time)!

My friend went to purchase a car at a dealership and they were not giving him what he needed on his trade-in and the sales person actually told him to sell his car to Carmax and bring the check to them as the down payment... he was shocked at the price he received for his car.

I purchased two vehicles on the lot and had two vehicles transferred to me. Each time the sale and/or transfer was quick and smooth. They tell you that it could take anywhere from 1 to 28 days to transfer depending on where you are transferring from. We purchased the extended warranty on one of the vehicles and found it to be a waste of money. The one time that we did try to use it, the warrantless was days from ending and our claim was denied. We did not purchases the warrantless on the other vehicles.

Replies
Disrespectful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOYNTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- Had an amazing salesman Steve who showed me around to test drive two vehicles (after CarMax Pompano Beach had a car put on hold with a sales order new year's eve so I could come back the next day with my cosigner and process paperwork etc. And I called 3 times confirming, loaded parents into car and drove them down. 5 minutes before I got there called back and said car was sold the night previous (aka they sold it before the first time they told me they wrote up a sales order and put it on hold for me...). One of the two vehicles was VERY smoky smelling, so Steve said he would get it cleaned...

I came BACK THE NEXT DAY with my cosigner to test drive/she them the two cars and to make a decision. Steve was busy (even though I made an appointment) so he passed me off to who I now refer to as the worst salesman ever (aka WSE)... WSE shows me first car and in an abrasive manner tells me it's not what I want and drives it off to be parked. Tells us he will be back in less than 5 minutes with the keys to other vehicle so we can test drive... 20-30 minutes later after baking in the sun outside (cosigner has a cast on foot and couldn't walk back to building easily)...

He finally returns and starts in about how all these other vehicles are what I want, blah blah blah... finally convince WSE to let me test the car I came there to sign paperwork on in reality. On test drive calls me foolish/dumb for driving around and test driving other cars, tells me every reason possible why I don't want the car I'm in, calls me and my mother poor essentially, told us he worked on commissions and test driving ONE car was wasting his time... Kept on insulting me until I has to yell at him after he rolled his eyes at me twice. If my mother has not been there, I was so disrespected it would have become me assaulting a salesman in the CarMax parking lot...

Disrespected me so much I had to walk out of your store before I made him eat his own teeth. I have never had such a bad sales experience, and have never felt the need to get physical with a car salesman before now... not only will I NOT be buying the 24 thousand dollar car I was looking at, I will be going back in today to make a formal complaint with the GM and also with corporate. I Will never shop at a CarMax again after the level of disrespect I was shown.

I'm sure I'm forgetting half the insulting back talking comments he made to me. I was so mad. At the end of the test drive it was all I could do from stopping myself dragging WSE out the car and making him eat his teeth in your parking lot... If he had said half the things he said to me and I wasn't somewhere where there was video cameras... dude would have woken up in a hospital wondering what happened...

Will also be filing complaints with every online rating service, CarMax Facebook page etc... Was treated so poorly I cannot let this go and the worst part??? I actually wanted/needed the car I was looking at and was ready to sign, stuck down in FL until I get a car and drive back home, missing work over this. And of course I am sure CarMax will do NOTHING to make this right....

Replies
Advertisement
Got the Run Around and a Low Ball Offer for my Car
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BOYNTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- I went to the Boynton Beach FL CarMax for a quick sale of my Kia Forte after a break up w/ my ex in order to sell my Kia Forte that he had been driving. Because of a convoluted situation where he owes me 18 months of rent and bills but did some remodeling work in the house, I agreed to sell the car which I bought new and give him the surplus money after the car loan was paid off up to 5 grand. Well, they offered me a very low ball offer. I sold them a 2012 Kia Forte w/ 44k miles in excellent condition which they offered me $9000.00 for. They're selling 2010 Kia Forte's with 56k miles that can't be in better condition for 13k as of this writing, so it was definitely a low ball offer.

The only reason I took it is because I wasn't getting the money from the car so I didn't really care. In fact because I was giving my ex the money it kind of was worthwhile to watch him walk away with less. If it hadn't been for that little twist of fate where he got less money I'd have waited and sold it privately for 12K. But I had no horse in the race so the quicker the better. And he wasn't going to offer me anything to improve his lot. If he'd have offered me a couple thousand and gotten a private loan he'd have been able to take over the note himself but it is what it is.

Anyway I sat in the caramel office for hours while the guy I dealt with went off showing cars to other people. Then I finally went off to drop my ex at the rental car place, came back and saw the low ball offer and said hell with it just accept it since I'm not making a nickel off it anyway. Oh the car has brand new tires and tinted windows on it too which the windows were 150 and the tires 600 bucks alone.

Replies
They Have Ruined My Credit and Destroyed My Life to the Point I Almost Lost My Job
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT MYERS, FLORIDA -- I was told by my salesman that all CarMax go through a 125 point inspection which I was lied to and it was a total misrepresentation. I was sold a Cadillac. A junk from the day I took it out of the lot. I have so many thing wrong with it, it proved they never did a 125 inspection.

I had to rent cars so I could do my work, because I was ready to lose my job. I was unable to do my job, I lost so much money with that junk car that I was sold by CarMax, that I did not have an option to give it back to the lender. So not just buying a junk car was I harmed but now I have a repossession on my credit. I have service records from the day I took the car out of the CarMax lot. I am filing a complaint with the Delores Division, with the State Of Florida.

Replies
Caxmax Is a Ripoff
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I am a Carmax ex-employee so I can give you a little feedback. Carmax puts about $4,000 markup from cost on average some less some even more. I have experience in buying cars and you are better off in a dealership where you can haggle the price. Paying whatever a dealer thinks is fair is just plain stupid. If you are a skill negotiator you can get a really good deal. AutoNation and Carmax are both the same, corporations for profit business. They just go about conducting their business in a different manner.

Carmax is not the Salvation Army or United Way, they charge really high interest rates for their cars and both dealerships if you let them will bury you into a car that you will be greatly upside down someday when you want to get out of the car. I also sold for traditional dealerships and they do the same. Be a smart consumer and a good negotiator but I would never buy a car at a fixed price unless I got wholesale value with Edmond's or KBB. People do not realize this but you can buy a new car for the prices CarMax has on their used cars with low APR's, which means lower cars payments and money saved.

Replies
Robbed and Robbed
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BEAVERTON, OREGON -- I had a buyer for a car I financed with Carmax. When I called to ask how to expedite the process of paying the loan off and getting the title they said to go into the dealer and pay it off with my debit card. Then they could fax the receipt to the finance department and they would rush the title to me the next day. When I called the next day to follow up, they told me they were holding the title for 5 days. Even though I have a bank statement showing the money being transferred to them. This on top of the car being over priced. Carmax is a huge rip off!

Replies
Advertisement
Carmax, the Run-Around, & a Lost Car Title
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORCROSS, GEORGIA -- We were recently at the store in Norcross, GA. It was very unpleasant. I had gone in to look/buy a 2010 Dodge Caliber. It took about 5 minutes to find the vehicle we wanted since we had done some research on their website prior. We sat down with the salesman **. The first day we spent 5 hours there. We went through everything paperwork, down payment, insurance. You name it we did it. He kept running back and forth, and coming back with "The financial department needs this, and this". He was extremely UNorganized. When it was all over with we had given him everything.

Just as we went into the signing room he pulled us out of the signing room and said "Carmax" would not let us have the car until my DL had been changed over to GA. Now.. I can agree that was my fault, but he had seen my DL at the very beginning he couldn't tell me this before I wasted all that time, and we had gone through all of that? Well I left the dealership and the next day I went and got my correct DL. So at that point there was nothing else that needed to be done. I had kept in contact with him every single day since he had said he would hold the vehicle for me.

He assured me when we came in again that it would be a very quick process and nothing else would happen. Well we showed up a 2nd day, and he had to redo the paperwork. After telling us he wouldn't have to, that everything was finished with the Caliber. That took almost 3 hours. The salesperson was extremely UN-knowledgeable and did not answer many questions. When we asked him why he kept re-submitting the information for the loan approvals he said he had to do that every time he had to correct something on the paperwork. All the mistakes on the paperwork was his fault.

I was sitting behind him in the office looking at his computer screen and I corrected him several times on things that were wrong. Finally when the paperwork was done and we went into the signing room we sat there for almost a hour. No one came over, people kept looking at us and finally I asked, "What is going on?" No one said anything. Finally someone came over, sat down and said.. "We are sorry we cannot find the Caliber's title. We are looking for it.." Now.. we had spoken to our sales person several times we were under the impression the deal was done, then when we get to the final stages the car title is not available.

My salesperson was not even going to tell me this until I asked him. Let me add to this, my grandmother was with me. She is elderly, has some health problems.. but she was there helping me find a good vehicle since she has had some dealings with dealerships, and she knows how they work. My grandmother had to ask the sales person 3 times, "What was going on with the car, and why was it taking so long?" He kept dodging the question and would not answer her. Finally he told her, and she asked him the same thing we did, "How can you have a vehicle for sale on your car lot and have no idea where the title is?"

Now out of all of those days that I spoke with him, and the first day of going through the paperwork I was told all of this was done. It wasn't anything of the sorts. I would think if he knew we were coming back and had shown that much interest in that vehicle he would have made sure everything was together. To top it all off shortly after that happened, he told us he had to go home. His wife was there to pick him up. So he handed us off to another salesman. Yes the other salesman was great, but we had to go through everything all over again.

To top it all off.. they had no other calibers, and told us they could have one shipped from another CarMax but it would not be there until tomorrow. So we ended up having to choose something else off of the lot. We did not leave the dealership until 10:30 P.M. that night. All over CarMax there were signs up saying, "You can have a stress-free, enjoyable, good price, buying experience." We got none of those things. Also the commercials that say, "The way car buying should be". After that I will probably never go through any of that ever again.

I walked away with a car I do like, but somewhat feel like we settled because we could not get our first choice. The car is a great car, but it was not exactly what we wanted. I am very unhappy about this whole situation. I've never had a experience like this in my life. I feel lied to, and ran-around.

Replies
Dishonest Service Department
By -

SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- My car has been "in the shop" off and on (more on than off) for the past seven months for transmission problems. Once my son picked it up for me and he didn't get more than a mile away before he had to take it back. I was assured the transmission was in working order.

Finally, my car stalled on the Interstate and I had to have it towed home. I was called and kept up-to-date at this point. They took it to a Volkswagen dealership since it still had the factory warranty. Next I hear, through my son, that they called and said I owe CarMax thousands because the warranty didn't cover it. I called and left messages that were unanswered. I did not give permission to spend that kind of money. CarMax has ignored me for more than a month.

I sent a registered letter to their corporate office and to the local dealership's general manager requesting copies of the repairs made on my car and a written statement of what they felt I needed to do to get my car back. I never heard from anyone at their corporate office or local manager. I then finally got a phone message from their service manager saying he wanted to chat with me about the car and he understood I wanted some paperwork.

At this point, I do not trust this company and will not discuss this on the phone. I left the repair manager a message to that effect and I again requested a written statement and copies of my repairs. His response was a message saying he wants me to call him about the car. His messages do not match my questions and requests. I called again requesting the repair bills and statement of what they want from me. I left my work fax number. I do find it peculiar that there is no email address to contact the local store and in their phone directory there is no option to talk to the general manager. And also, it appears, they do not want anything in writing.

I cannot resolve this without the information I am requesting. I have bought two other cars from CarMax and never had any issues with them until this car. I am a widow of a disabled veteran with a small income. I do not have the resources to get another car. I am walking, taking the bus, and relying on friends to get me to the grocery store. This is causing me great anxiety which is affecting my health, and causing me to miss important evening meetings related to my job.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

CarMax Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
45 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
CarMax
12800 Tuckahoe Creek Parkway
Richmond, VA 23238
800-519-1511 (ph)
www.carmax.com
Compare Auto Dealerships