Preview Review

Next Review

CarMax Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Disrespectful
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOYNTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- Had an amazing salesman Steve who showed me around to test drive two vehicles (after CarMax Pompano Beach had a car put on hold with a sales order new year's eve so I could come back the next day with my cosigner and process paperwork etc. And I called 3 times confirming, loaded parents into car and drove them down. 5 minutes before I got there called back and said car was sold the night previous (aka they sold it before the first time they told me they wrote up a sales order and put it on hold for me...). One of the two vehicles was VERY smoky smelling, so Steve said he would get it cleaned...

I came BACK THE NEXT DAY with my cosigner to test drive/she them the two cars and to make a decision. Steve was busy (even though I made an appointment) so he passed me off to who I now refer to as the worst salesman ever (aka WSE)... WSE shows me first car and in an abrasive manner tells me it's not what I want and drives it off to be parked. Tells us he will be back in less than 5 minutes with the keys to other vehicle so we can test drive... 20-30 minutes later after baking in the sun outside (cosigner has a cast on foot and couldn't walk back to building easily)...

He finally returns and starts in about how all these other vehicles are what I want, blah blah blah... finally convince WSE to let me test the car I came there to sign paperwork on in reality. On test drive calls me foolish/dumb for driving around and test driving other cars, tells me every reason possible why I don't want the car I'm in, calls me and my mother poor essentially, told us he worked on commissions and test driving ONE car was wasting his time... Kept on insulting me until I has to yell at him after he rolled his eyes at me twice. If my mother has not been there, I was so disrespected it would have become me assaulting a salesman in the CarMax parking lot...

Disrespected me so much I had to walk out of your store before I made him eat his own teeth. I have never had such a bad sales experience, and have never felt the need to get physical with a car salesman before now... not only will I NOT be buying the 24 thousand dollar car I was looking at, I will be going back in today to make a formal complaint with the GM and also with corporate. I Will never shop at a CarMax again after the level of disrespect I was shown.

I'm sure I'm forgetting half the insulting back talking comments he made to me. I was so mad. At the end of the test drive it was all I could do from stopping myself dragging WSE out the car and making him eat his teeth in your parking lot... If he had said half the things he said to me and I wasn't somewhere where there was video cameras... dude would have woken up in a hospital wondering what happened...

Will also be filing complaints with every online rating service, CarMax Facebook page etc... Was treated so poorly I cannot let this go and the worst part??? I actually wanted/needed the car I was looking at and was ready to sign, stuck down in FL until I get a car and drive back home, missing work over this. And of course I am sure CarMax will do NOTHING to make this right....

Replies
Advertisement
They Have Ruined My Credit and Destroyed My Life to the Point I Almost Lost My Job
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FORT MYERS, FLORIDA -- I was told by my salesman that all CarMax go through a 125 point inspection which I was lied to and it was a total misrepresentation. I was sold a Cadillac. A junk from the day I took it out of the lot. I have so many thing wrong with it, it proved they never did a 125 inspection.

I had to rent cars so I could do my work, because I was ready to lose my job. I was unable to do my job, I lost so much money with that junk car that I was sold by CarMax, that I did not have an option to give it back to the lender. So not just buying a junk car was I harmed but now I have a repossession on my credit. I have service records from the day I took the car out of the CarMax lot. I am filing a complaint with the Delores Division, with the State Of Florida.

Replies
Did Not Honor Advertised Price
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLORADO SPRINGS, COLORADO -- I found a car I was interested in. Price was listed as $26599 on their website. Car was on the east coast. By the time my local Carmax (CO) opened for business the price had been changed to $29999. I asked for them to honor the previous listed price. After several calls that same day I was told they would NOT honor their original listing price. I will never use Carmax in the future! This is bait and switch advertising!

Replies
Carmax, the Run-Around, & a Lost Car Title
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORCROSS, GEORGIA -- We were recently at the store in Norcross, GA. It was very unpleasant. I had gone in to look/buy a 2010 Dodge Caliber. It took about 5 minutes to find the vehicle we wanted since we had done some research on their website prior. We sat down with the salesman **. The first day we spent 5 hours there. We went through everything paperwork, down payment, insurance. You name it we did it. He kept running back and forth, and coming back with "The financial department needs this, and this". He was extremely UNorganized. When it was all over with we had given him everything.

Just as we went into the signing room he pulled us out of the signing room and said "Carmax" would not let us have the car until my DL had been changed over to GA. Now.. I can agree that was my fault, but he had seen my DL at the very beginning he couldn't tell me this before I wasted all that time, and we had gone through all of that? Well I left the dealership and the next day I went and got my correct DL. So at that point there was nothing else that needed to be done. I had kept in contact with him every single day since he had said he would hold the vehicle for me.

He assured me when we came in again that it would be a very quick process and nothing else would happen. Well we showed up a 2nd day, and he had to redo the paperwork. After telling us he wouldn't have to, that everything was finished with the Caliber. That took almost 3 hours. The salesperson was extremely UN-knowledgeable and did not answer many questions. When we asked him why he kept re-submitting the information for the loan approvals he said he had to do that every time he had to correct something on the paperwork. All the mistakes on the paperwork was his fault.

I was sitting behind him in the office looking at his computer screen and I corrected him several times on things that were wrong. Finally when the paperwork was done and we went into the signing room we sat there for almost a hour. No one came over, people kept looking at us and finally I asked, "What is going on?" No one said anything. Finally someone came over, sat down and said.. "We are sorry we cannot find the Caliber's title. We are looking for it.." Now.. we had spoken to our sales person several times we were under the impression the deal was done, then when we get to the final stages the car title is not available.

My salesperson was not even going to tell me this until I asked him. Let me add to this, my grandmother was with me. She is elderly, has some health problems.. but she was there helping me find a good vehicle since she has had some dealings with dealerships, and she knows how they work. My grandmother had to ask the sales person 3 times, "What was going on with the car, and why was it taking so long?" He kept dodging the question and would not answer her. Finally he told her, and she asked him the same thing we did, "How can you have a vehicle for sale on your car lot and have no idea where the title is?"

Now out of all of those days that I spoke with him, and the first day of going through the paperwork I was told all of this was done. It wasn't anything of the sorts. I would think if he knew we were coming back and had shown that much interest in that vehicle he would have made sure everything was together. To top it all off shortly after that happened, he told us he had to go home. His wife was there to pick him up. So he handed us off to another salesman. Yes the other salesman was great, but we had to go through everything all over again.

To top it all off.. they had no other calibers, and told us they could have one shipped from another CarMax but it would not be there until tomorrow. So we ended up having to choose something else off of the lot. We did not leave the dealership until 10:30 P.M. that night. All over CarMax there were signs up saying, "You can have a stress-free, enjoyable, good price, buying experience." We got none of those things. Also the commercials that say, "The way car buying should be". After that I will probably never go through any of that ever again.

I walked away with a car I do like, but somewhat feel like we settled because we could not get our first choice. The car is a great car, but it was not exactly what we wanted. I am very unhappy about this whole situation. I've never had a experience like this in my life. I feel lied to, and ran-around.

Replies
Advertisement
CarMax in Brandwine, MD
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRANDYWINE, MARYLAND -- I am so disappointed in my first experience with CarMax at the Brandywine, Md location. They did not meet my expectations at all. When I first arrived, no salesmen came to help me so that I can check out the vehicle that I found online prior to arriving. They just sent me over to the appraisal section and told me the person that I spoke to over the phone would be with me shortly.That person never came over to help. I waited an hour and a half to get car appraised by the way. I had to actually go over back to the front desk to ask if someone could help me so that I could check out the car that I was interested in.

When someone did, then we walked around for about 10 min to discover the car was no longer there. Then we had to go back inside to check the stock # and actually find where the vehicle was. The salesman assisting had issues getting into computer, left the station for about 20 minutes and during that time he had been chatting w/ co-workers, while I sat there waiting. He finally came back, got into system and found that car had already been sold. Then my car finally got appraised and the gentleman appraising it informed me that they do not offer Kelley blue book value.

He appraised my car for $2500 less than what the Kelley blue book value was in poor condition. That was huge disappointment. After that, I went back to speak w/ person assisting me with trade in, and basically he became very short and unhelpful with trying to continue with process of trading in my vehicle. I decided it wasn't the time to continue w/ process, the salesmen said okay and didn't seem concerned at all with helping me stay there and make the trade. I was there a total of two and half hours, and it was a complete disappointing waste of my time.

Replies
Broken and Out of Money!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VIRGINIA -- I have purchased two different cars from CarMax that have somehow ended up breaking down after 6 months. The first one was in and out of the shop a few times a month. The end result was 3 catalytic converters died; my muffler crumbled to pieces, and my ball joint was so old the mechanic told me I was lucky to still be alive. One time I had my car in the shop at CarMax and an employee stole multiple belongings out of my car that were never able to be returned. When I asked about trading my car in because I had enough, I was told they would only give me $4,000.

I complained and complained until they raised it to $6,000. I am now $14,000 in debt with my last car and now this car that I bought after. When I called CarMax they pretty much told me I was out of luck or could trade this car in for another but that would possibly make me a good $20,000+ in debt. I will soon be left with no car, no money to fix my car, and no money to get a new car. If this wasn't the second car I had bought from CarMax I wouldn't be so mad but it is. I am officially left high and dry. I work 13 hours a day to be able to afford my car but it has now left me unable to feed myself half the time.

This is unbelievably ridiculous that I have been through all of this with no help from CarMax!! I have looked into legal advice but figured I would contact someone higher than a store manager. I have wasted almost 2-3 years' worth of money on broken cars from CarMax. I am not happy!!!

Replies
Got the Run Around and a Low Ball Offer for my Car
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

BOYNTON BEACH, FLORIDA -- I went to the Boynton Beach FL CarMax for a quick sale of my Kia Forte after a break up w/ my ex in order to sell my Kia Forte that he had been driving. Because of a convoluted situation where he owes me 18 months of rent and bills but did some remodeling work in the house, I agreed to sell the car which I bought new and give him the surplus money after the car loan was paid off up to 5 grand. Well, they offered me a very low ball offer. I sold them a 2012 Kia Forte w/ 44k miles in excellent condition which they offered me $9000.00 for. They're selling 2010 Kia Forte's with 56k miles that can't be in better condition for 13k as of this writing, so it was definitely a low ball offer.

The only reason I took it is because I wasn't getting the money from the car so I didn't really care. In fact because I was giving my ex the money it kind of was worthwhile to watch him walk away with less. If it hadn't been for that little twist of fate where he got less money I'd have waited and sold it privately for 12K. But I had no horse in the race so the quicker the better. And he wasn't going to offer me anything to improve his lot. If he'd have offered me a couple thousand and gotten a private loan he'd have been able to take over the note himself but it is what it is.

Anyway I sat in the caramel office for hours while the guy I dealt with went off showing cars to other people. Then I finally went off to drop my ex at the rental car place, came back and saw the low ball offer and said hell with it just accept it since I'm not making a nickel off it anyway. Oh the car has brand new tires and tinted windows on it too which the windows were 150 and the tires 600 bucks alone.

Replies
Caxmax Is a Ripoff
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MIAMI, FLORIDA -- I am a Carmax ex-employee so I can give you a little feedback. Carmax puts about $4,000 markup from cost on average some less some even more. I have experience in buying cars and you are better off in a dealership where you can haggle the price. Paying whatever a dealer thinks is fair is just plain stupid. If you are a skill negotiator you can get a really good deal. AutoNation and Carmax are both the same, corporations for profit business. They just go about conducting their business in a different manner.

Carmax is not the Salvation Army or United Way, they charge really high interest rates for their cars and both dealerships if you let them will bury you into a car that you will be greatly upside down someday when you want to get out of the car. I also sold for traditional dealerships and they do the same. Be a smart consumer and a good negotiator but I would never buy a car at a fixed price unless I got wholesale value with Edmond's or KBB. People do not realize this but you can buy a new car for the prices CarMax has on their used cars with low APR's, which means lower cars payments and money saved.

Replies
Advertisement
A Dream car... Yeah Right
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MODESTO, CALIFORNIA -- We all hear stories about friends, or just plain out strangers buying cars and a few short months down the line, their dream vehicle is sitting in the driveway collecting dust, unable to drive it but still have to pay for it. Well unfortunately that's my 'car' story and I'm sticking to it. Well pretty much, I don't have a choice but to stick with it.

About six months ago I bought a car from Carmax, the sales associate was very nice, helpful.. Actually the whole entire staff was, so I never thought negative about the whole situation. I test drove a 2005 Chevy Aveo. I fell in love with the car, my very own car I bought and saved up for. They showed me a report on the vehicle said it was inspected up and down, sideways back and forth you name it they inspected it. The car even came with a certificate stating it has been through various tests and protocols. I couldn't afford the warranty but didn't think it would be a big deal since the car was inspected by numerous mechanics that work at Carmax.

Six months later.. my car is sitting.. collecting dust... I'm unable to fix it because I still got to make the payments and the repairs to my car are equivalent to buying a whole another car. The timing belt broke after just six months of having the car. I'm just thankful nothing happened to my family and I because I was on the freeway when the car broke down.

Replies
Frustrating Transaction With Manager - I Would Not Recommend Anyone to CarMax
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RIVERSIDE, CALIFORNIA -- When I started the process I told the sales person Antonio that I was out on disability and will return to work 7/19. He stated that that would not be an issue. All he needed was an up-to-date check stub. I bring the check stub in, the transaction happens, I buy the car.

A few days later Darryl calls and says the bank is having an issue with the checks stub because they're all zeros on the check stub due to my leave. Several days past and I get a message that the bank is not able to process the loan due to inability to verify employment. The last call from Darryl stated to bring the car back. So I called up there and I said, "When I bring the car back? Will I get my money back?" He stated "That is besides the point. Just bring the car." At that point I was upset. That was rude. He also threatened to repo car because I asked about my refund. I am very upset with manager Darryl and the entire experience there. I would not recommend Carmax.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

CarMax Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
41 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
CarMax
12800 Tuckahoe Creek Parkway
Richmond, VA 23238
800-519-1511 (ph)
www.carmax.com
Compare Auto Dealerships