Charter Communications

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 58 ratings and
150 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Charter Communications
12405 Powerscourt Drive
St. Louis, MO 63131
1-888-GetCharter (ph)
Compare Phone/Mobile Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Run Like You Are Being Chased by Zombies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTHERN, MICHIGAN -- I've spent the last 8 years fighting with this company nearly monthly over missing channels, my bill, internet speed- you name it. My saga:
- March 2007 signed up for triple play at promo rate
- July 2007 bill doubled. Called and got it fixed
- August 2007 moved and Charter tried to charge us for moving. Got it fixed
- October 2007 bill went up. Charter refused to honor price. Canceled service. Switched to a dish service
- May 2008 dish service was worse. Relented and signed with Charter.
- July 2008 bill went up. Called and got fixed
- November 2008 channels disappeared and bill had false charges. Called and got fixed
- May 2009 promo over called for a better deal. Got one. Life is good until....
- February 2011 bill goes up, phone stops working, Internet starts lagging. Call. No help. Call for 3 weeks straight every day. Bill is fixed. Finally get a tech to come. Find that wiring is bad. Fix it. All is well.
- March 2012 cancel cable and phone. Keep internet.
- February 2013 husband NEEDS cable. Add it back
- April 2013 bill goes up. Call to fix.
- June 2014 add phone for triple play. Get amazing deal.
- July 2014- May 2015 call every month about bill. I have the promo in writing. They try to not honor it. Tell me that the deal shouldn't have been given. I send screenshots. They relent. Also I call weekly as our internet keeps lagging. Speed tests show it's at dial up speed. They say it's not. I send screen shots. They say it's peak time. (Apparently every time from 1pm to 3am is peak time- who knew?!)
- May 2015 tech comes to check internet. Turns out "someone" put a restriction at the pole to our house. Shocking! I call to demand refund for the last year as I've been telling them this the whole time. Denied. Get bill. It's tripled. Call. Told too bad. I send screenshots from June 2014. Still told too bad. Cancel phone.
- end of June 2015 call to cancel cable. Am stuck on phone for 10 minutes alternating between being berated for canceling and offered promo. Hang up. Call back. Offers more promo. I refuse. Tell CSR to just cancel all but internet. CSR yells at me and hangs up. I call back. I'm told I can't cancel it's in my husbands name. No, the bill says otherwise. He calls. They pull same with him. He finally snaps and they cancel cable and phone.
- July 2015 get bill. It's still same rate for triple play. Call. I'm told they will credit future bills after I pay this month. No, thank you. It will take 3.5 months to cover the bill if they credit the whole future bill (which we know they won't). I'm told too bad. Husband calls. They edit bill. It's still $40 too much. He's told it's for prorating our bill for the time we had the triple play. Wait, what? We pay a month ahead. Husband tells them this. Oh, ok. We will fix it. I pay for just the internet and taxes.
Today- get a phone call saying service will be disrupted if we don't pay our past due balance. Look online. That $42.12 is still showing. Call. Am given the run around and hung up on. Call again. Am told it's fixed. We will see.

Bad customer service and unethical business practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSOULA, MONTANTA -- For the most part - these folks don't care if you're unhappy. Their internet is slow too often, and I've had nothing but problems with them (since becoming Charter - even though they state nothing has changed but the name - it changed for me).

The installer put cords through a main walk area, which my son tripped over twice (we have photos but what's the point - they don't care). We are keeping them here until our new ISP installs so we can have a witness - and will be getting statements from as many people as we can over the next few days - dust around them and all so can prove how screwed up this cord thing has been and continues to be). I tripped over it once and pulled the cord right out of the back of my TV (and the whole cable connection so TV is broken). I luckily only fell down and nothing landed on me - just a broken TV. The cord was suspended through the air by about ½" (pulled taught by the installer). My son ruined another TV when helping me move some furniture (at least he didn't trip this time). I have these two broken TV's in the exact condition they were when we accidentally tripped over the cable cord. If someone were to see where this thing was they would be amazed (literally in the middle of the room suspended through the air enough that if not careful this could happen. I'm surprised we didn't trip over it more often. We never got this resolved - eventually had to get an extension wire (which they threw at us and made us do - we couldn't due to the enormity of the splits so had to wait for them to come back). They basically extended it but only enough so the cord would now touch the ground (is still running in the middle of the living room walkway).

They also ruined my computer by putting their software into it twice (yes twice). Once and awhile I get this box that says, "cannot install or upgrade software due to affinigy" or something to that extent - which is digido. Their response - "we don't know why it does this to macbooks and there is nothing we can do." So - why then would they install it 'twice"? Because they didn't believe me when I told them it had been installed before and were too incompetent to search for proof it had been before recklessly reinstalling it. My computer cost 1500.00 and has not worked the same since.

To reward me for 101/2 months of hell - they raise my monthly service by $38.00 per month. Because they never once cared to take care of any of the problems I had due to their negligence and at my expense I have needed to report to the BBB & consumer affairs. I'll likely end up in court. I honestly had let it all go - still have these issues but was trying to be kind and not be a pain to them. Having raised my prices without warning (and taking it out of my account), was the breaking point. I have 2-broken televisions, which need cable connections installed back into (not a difficult process but I won't stop until they take care of this expense), a computer that needs to be sent to a technician (at one point they told me to bring it in to get the software off - at "my" expense when they couldn't do it), and unauthorized amounts coming out of my account.

They have cost me a great deal of time, stress, and money (and just don't care). I strongly recommend any company other than this for your internet and cable services. Their internet may be advertised as fast - and it is "when it works". More often than not I have freezes and delays - major slow downs and needs to reboot (on any devise), and have to turn to my cell phone's internet service for a working connection. Their triple play package - good if you will only want their service on a temp basis. After that you will work your way from the 99.99 to 189.00 - the longer you stay the more you pay. I had been talked into this even though I had been a consumer for about 7 years prior to that. The idea was "you will pay a little less and get a phone out of the deal" I took the offer but was never told that I would pay in a big way down the road. I've asked them to pull the recording from that call (I had called about us tripping over the wire a second time and a second TV being broken), when they sold me this package. I thought existing customers didn't get this deal but evidently because I was paying a decent price they figured they needed to hook me for something (I have no idea why they did this).

A sad ending to a company I would have preferred to stay with for life simply to have some continuity- was even willing to bypass the difficulties to stay with them but they pushed things too far.

I was lied to throughout my painful experience with Charter
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ASHEVILLE, NORTH CAROLINA -- 1. We've had the lowest rated cable service in Asheville, NC since 2010. This is according to 2009 Consumer Reports.

  1. We were warned about the problems with Charter by a few people and we walked into it eyes wide open. It has been the worst everything to the point that I dreaded the renewal timeframe.

  2. Charter Comm. sent a letter to its customers dated 9/14/13 in which it states our promotion is about to expire and we will get a Customer Appreciation Discount of $59 for an additional 12 months. Then the nightmare (the worst of them) began.

  3. They are all pushing a new package. A representative on chat (my second attempt to find out what was going on) called me something close enough to stupid for not wanting to take advantage of the new deal. I told the representative Charter is herding people to upgrade and eventually the costs will skyrocket. I reported his actual words to the rep.'s supervisor who pushed the new package, not the comment by the employee. I attempted to bring the focus back on the employee. I don't know if I was successful. I do know it was a lost cause.

  4. I was pushed off to a higher tier representative. I hung up on him. He called back and I finally picked up the 2nd callback. I explained I knew what Charter was doing and he was my fourth contact of the day pushing a package. I would not apologize. After more agonizing contact, he said we'd get the upgrade (to me of things we don't want or need) for $133 (inclds tax) and our modem/router combo had to be upgraded to handle the higher speed. I informed him the technicians are yet another nightmare. I also asked for the package information with the price quoted be sent to me as, based on all other experiences, people at Charter lie or management does not provide them enough information to do an honest job. He said he could not do that. I replied that I was purchasing something at a verbal rate not in writing and I was concerned I'd be burned (ripped off was more accurate).

  5. The bill was updated online. The Balance for the dropped rate (I was paying $138) was about $9. I called and the uninformed or stupid representative said it was a credit. It did not look like a credit but a charge.

  6. The next day or so I looked again, now the Balance was $89. I CALLED AGAIN.

  7. Customer support could not help, so I was bounced to billing. After about 55 mins. on the phone with the lovely woman from Wisconsin, she said:
    a. We didn't need to replace the modem/router everyone else said had to be replaced. It would handle the new speed. I worked in the computer field and with our internet usage we DON'T NEED MORE SPEED. She spent time confirming that. I truly truly appreciated that. She took time to ensure she was telling the me truth.
    b. We didn't have to replace our current DVR/cable box that everyone else said had to be replaced.
    c. Sometime in October, if we want service on our HD TVs upstairs, we will need boxes for $12/month. I'm considering not watching TV... I could also go to the local shop and pick up the boxes myself. That remains to be seen if it's possible.

I liked the woman in Wisconsin and I apologized to her when I said I'll believe it when I see it. She actually understood and apologized profusely. Apologies for repeatedly horrific service from Charter is worthless but I understood why she had to say it.

I sent a letter to Verizon FiOS imploring them to come here. I watched their stumbling and growth in NY. They would be the competition for Charter.

"Terrible" Does Not Even Begin to Describe Charter
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WHITTIER, CALIFORNIA -- For all those considering dealing with Charter stay away from Charter as you may regret it as my experience below shows. This is the last bad experience of a series of bad experiences I had with this company in the last several months including at their office or by phone. It is amazing to see the number of similar complaints on line and with the Better Business Bureau about how this company conducts its business.

We had today Saturday Sept. 7, 2013 a scheduled 3 - 5 PM move of service from one location to another which is literally next door. The reason is that I am disabled and to avoid the stairs in the old location a residence section was blocked of in the new location which has no stairs.

Charter technician failed to show up in spite of two assurances made by Charter on the same day when I called personally to check the status and whereabouts of the installer. Misinformation is what Charter specialize in. For example one of the untrue piece of information given as an excuse is that the installer could not find the new location while two assistants of mine were sent out to wait in the street under scorching heat from 2:10 PM (since your installers some times come earlier) to 5:30 PM well beyond the appointment time. One assistant was stationed at the corner so he can see Charter truck whether it comes from the front door or the back door and the other stood less than 100 feet away at the entrance of old location. Charter never showed up. In spite of 6 calls to Charter each entailing a 20 minutes wait to go through the menu until you get a live person and in spite of several assurances where every time a different and conflicting story is given to the customer we did not learn until after 5:30 that Charter unilaterally rescheduled the appointment for next Saturday a week later.

At that time I called the assistants back from the street and called Charter several more times to discuss a date to get rid of Charter unless they honor their word and install today. One employee attempted to help, called back to inform me that she is talking to a dispatcher and hopes to get the transfer to be done today in an attempt not to lose an 18 years customer. But then very long time passed but she never called back.

Charter also disconnected me from the existing location without connecting the new location using different misinformation as an excuse. I was with no service, no email, no internet and the only thing Charter offered was a 'sorry' and more conflicting information and different story every call. This untrustworthy company reneged on their promise at a great cost to me not only by robbing me of a full day of my life but also adding insult to injury by having me wait from 5:30 PM to 10 PM when they re-gave me the impression that they will honor their promise that night and then not having the courtesy to call back and tell me they will not do it.

"Terrible" does not even begin to describe the installer who because of him Charter lost an 18 years old customer and robbed him from a wasted day of his life plus that of two assistants and unknown number of hours of suffering to obtain alternate service and handle the mess of 18 years old email accounts. Not finding a prominent corner well known business address is only a lame excuse for a more serious problems with Charter staff. The least I can do is to make it my mission in life to inform all our friends, neighbors, every social site and on every occasion the facts of my experience with their misinformation and inefficiency. It will be a pleasure to drop Charter from my dictionary.

It will be a big breath of fresh air to get rid of Charter management who hires such terrible installers and employees.

Still waiting...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SILVER SPRINGS, NEVADA -- On 9/26/12, I ordered Charter's Triple Play to be installed in a house I was renting. I was given an installation date of 11/6/12 and was not a happy camper. Called to complain and get an earlier installation date and was called back on 9/27/12 telling me a technician would arrive between 1:00 and 3:00 pm on 9/27/12. The tech arrived, but informed me that Charter would have to bury cables to hook up my service. I was told that the order would be placed that day and that the cable would be buried the following week. I was told that I did no have to be home when the cable was buried, but I would have to be there when the service was hooked up.

On 10/5/12, I called Charter and told them that I could not occupy the house without communications set up in the house. I asked when the cable would be buried so that service could be hooked up. The representative was rather annoyed with my call. I was told that the order was still open and Charter placed another order for the buried cable. I was told that I would know when the cable was buried when I saw painted lines on the ground and markers delineating the water/gas/electrical lines. My husband drives a truck for a living and I do not feel safe without communications hooked up to the house.

On 10/9/12, I called Charter again with further promises that the cable would be buried soon. Once again, I felt as if I was nothing but an annoyance to the Charter personnel.

On 10/12/12, I called again and was told that the crew was scheduled to bury the cable on 10/2/12, but they did not show up. Yet another order was placed for the bury cable work to be done. I was told they would show up on 10/10/12 to bury the cable. They did not show up. I reiterated that I was still unable to live in the house until service was connected. Charter's customer service people leave a lot to be desired. They are rude and make no attempt to disguise their irritability.

On 10/19/12, I placed another call to Charter and was once again given the run around. The representative told me that she would send another bury cable order and that I should receive a call on Saturday, 10/20/12 telling me that the cable was buried and to make an appointment to have service connected.

Today, 10/20/12, I have still not received a call from Charter. I have never been able to talk to the same person when I call Charter. I have no service and have no clue when I will have service. What is the problem? Charter is full of apologies, but that does not give me service. I feel that I have been patient long enough and I am tired of the empty apologies and promises that Charter gives me. I would NOT recommend subscribing with Charter for any reason. They are unreliable and untrustworthy. I am at the end of my rope and would warn anyone and everyone to avoid Charter like the plague. The frustration and lack of service is beyond belief and you are better off dealing with other communcation providers.

I Am Addressing This Huge Concern to George [Snip] Director of Media
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

George, I will make this quick because I am tired of wasting my time with the Charter sales team. I have sought out several Federal Agencies in the Consumer Action Handbook who have informed me that contacting you first for an agreeable resolution, and if not, they would be happy to step in and review the situation.

We must discuss this issue of promising the public a price for a product, and not delivering. You are doing this to me and to many others. I am paying $29.99 (plus paid the $50 install fee) for Internet service only. This price I am paying that you advertise is for phone service. I do not even have a land-line! I should be paying the advertised (via fliers and website offers) $19.99!

Your SALES TEAM is RUDE, INCOMPETENT and just do not care. At this point, and in my professional estimation, Charter has raised Verizon Wireless to a good level. And I believe Verizon has the worst ability in Corporate History of providing in any way a decent and positive customer service. The stats do not lie.

When I called to inquire, your SALES team refused to adjust this appropriately and were very pleasant to tell me they would be more than happy to cancel my service. But, no refunds. I guess that your SALES person already got his/her commission. Now do not get to anxious, I want my service active. There is a lot to write about.

George, you really should be paying more attention to customer retention and establish a track record of KEEPING CUSTOMERS. I guess I am from the old school when the people I worked with cared as much as I did about the customers experience. I was in Hospitality Management for 20-years. I would have FIRED any employee who addressed my customers this way. It all makes sense. I had a lot of competition and if I could not treat the employees and customers properly, they would walk across the street seek out another Hotel. I did not want my employees to form Unions within my establishment. But in these times, maybe the option should be revisited.

I worked for 5-star hotels as DHR and for GM in Labor relations. I am yet to find a decent wireless phone, Internet, home phone or television company anywhere these days. Most all are manipulative, greedy, and not operative with their customers. We low line customers of yours, George, give you a company to operate.

I received an e-mail this morning that a NEW AND IMPROVED Internet package is being offered at the bargain price of $29.99! George, your sales person informed me that I would not get this service even though I am already paying the erroneous $29.00. I was told I can not take advantage of this offer because ... because...because.... I am tired of your employees problems. There is always a reason WHY the customer cannot have what is rightfully offered at what they are paying! I want to know "HOW THEY CAN HELP ME, NOT WHY THEY CANNOT! THAT IS YOUR PROBLEM GEORGE, NOT MINE.

OK, I am finished here, for now. You were anxious to post a response to my compliment on 2/22/2012. Don't run away now! I will NOT just go away and it would be very unprofessional of you to throw me to anyone else. Your 3Cents readers want to know. I want to know. It is time to stop treating your customers like we are ignorant or just right down STUPID! I await our reply before I move ahead with my options. I am handicapped, and I know you do not want to approach any Civil Rights laws.

Company Response 3/14/2012:

Greetings again Penny,

We'd be more than happy to address your concerns. Please contact us at with the name and address on your account so we can we can take a look at your billing concerns. Please be sure to put ”CharterGeorge – My3cents - PennyLayne” in the subject line so I can keep an eye out for it.

Thanks and I look forward to assisting!

George Vick
Senior Social Media Specialist – Charter

By -

Honestly, to those of you that have had problems with your Charter service, I'm sorry. I say that because I am one of the agents that you would possible speak with if you were having problems with your cable or internet. With that being said, I would like you to take into mind that I am only one person of about 17,000 agents that you could possible speak to.
I AM from the US, and do speak English. I have read that many people have issues with people not speaking English but as those of you that have been generous enough to donate to the earthquake or tsunami victims throughout the world, please realize that those are our employees too!
I really wish that each person that has called in with a complaint or issue to our company could work only one month in our daily life. I personally try to be as compassionate and empathetic to every caller I receive, yet understand that some people just don't want to hear it.
If you might be willing to read, this is a normal day of service for a Charter agent:
1. As much as I would love to be able to give you a time that an outage would may resolved, it's really just not possible. I, nor the Charter technitians, are able to prevent them. Granted, sometimes it is a maitenance issue that is being done in the area to repair services, but we cannot control weather-relates issues (such as 49 out of the 50 states getting snow this year,) nor are we able to stop an accident of a vehicle may crash into a fiber line that takes 48 hours to repair. No company is ever perfect but we strive our hardest to give you the best service possible.
2. No one in life (or computer) is perfect. You may call in and speak with the automated system to ask questions about something and get to the incorrect department. Honestly, it happens. When you speak with an agent and tell them what you're calling in about, we're not intentionally trying to avoid you're issue, it's just that we're all trained in different area of specialty. If I'm not the correct agent for you, I'll get you to the right one as soon as possible with the least about of hassle as possible. No program or person is perfect but we do the best that we can.
3. Please keep in mind that on an average day we take anywhere from 30-70 calls per 8 hour shift. During that day it's only one of two things that we're answering the call about; either your cable or your internet is not working. While answering your call there are only so many option that we have to help with. As I said earlier we are specifacally trained per department, and as a call center cable and internet repair agent there is only so much that I'm able to help you with over the phone. I'm aware that when we ask you to unplug a cable box or modem it's typically not conveniant to get to (either being in an entertainment center or searching through many cables connected with your computer.) If there was a way to bypass this option, or to do it for you, we would. Unfortunately this just isn't possible. We only ask you to do this because it genuinely repairs about 80% of the calls that we receive.
4. I completely understand that the automated system may be frustrating, yet yet many customers have their issues resolved while following the steps provided. Granted, in some circumstances an agent is required to resolve issues, the system is in place to over-all assist the customer calling in,
5. While we do provide you, the customer, with cable and internet service, we cannot guarantee that the equipment you used to access those services are going to work. For example, if your television will not turn on, or if your computer has a virus (or the moniter won't power on) unfortunately we may not be able to resolve the problem for you. The same standard applies for third-party routers. If you're able to get online to the internet directly connected to the standard modem, but not able to access your own wireless service in your house, it may be something that you would need to contact the manufacturor about for assistance. we will try to repair any issue you may have with the services and equipment that Charter has provided you with, but some things are just out of our hands.
5. If your services aren't working we will truly try to fix the issue. No one person is expected to pay for a service that they're not getting, but please at least give us a chance to resolve the issue. If you are experiencing an outage or some equipment failure is causing it not to work, call us to let someone help repair the problem. Whether the resolution in sending a technician out or replacing the equipment we can do that for you. However when a person calls in saying that their services haven't been working for the last year, but they's no notes on your account alerting us to the problem, it's difficult to know the accuracy of the statements. It's not the we don't believe you, only that as per any company there must be documentation. As inconveniant it may be for people to take time our of their busy days to call us to state their cable/internet has been intermitten, it's necessary to reciprocrate the compensation you deserve.
In conclusion, we're not robots or droids that have been trained to give a scripted response to answer you. I personally, and the company as a whole strive to give the best customer service possible. Everyone has good and bad days as a whole we do our best. Please keep that in mind next time you call in. Thank you for reading and have a great day.

~~~ A Charter Call Center Agent ~~~

Charter Triple Play - Bait & Switch - Don't fall for it!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GAINESVILLE, GEORGIA -- The Charter Triple Play was eye-catching. So since we were getting married, we thought we'd drop her current provider & make a “fresh start”… Boy, was that a mistake..

I called Charter September 3rd to sign up for the Triple Play ($29.99 for TV, internet & home phone). (I still do not know why we needed a home phone, as we have cells & have not had a land line in years, but they said that was a part of the package, so we bit) We had it installed October 2, as we were getting married, honeymooning, etc & did not want it till 10/2.

I was quoted $107.94 for the first 12 months (the first month was to be $137.93 for installation, etc)

I received my first bill October 9th in the amount of $301.41!!!!!

I called immediately & asked what the heck was going on.. After getting nowhere, even after talking with the supervisor Matt, I told them I wanted to cancel my services & pay up what I have used. I returned the equipment the next day, October 11th.

They have been sending me bills for $71.00 & I asked what that was for, they said that was for the telephone connection that was in place! I told them that I'd told them I wanted it discontinued when I called previously about cable & internet. They said I did not specifically say I wanted to disconnect the telephone, therefore the continuing charge! (We did not even need/want a phone line from the start, they said it was part of the ‘bundle')

In the meantime, Charter has sent my account to a collections agency to collect $68.40…

I am posting this to let all know that they are a scam & to beware of their schemes.

I have since switched to AT&T, & while I believe their services to be high, I can afford $106. A month for internet & cable a little better that the bait & switch Charter pulled on me. & yes, I am going to pay the $68.40, but I wanted to post this first & I will also be sending them a hard copy of this in the payment!

Promises Not Kept
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PORAGE, MICHIGAN -- First let me say everyone I talked to was nice and tried to be helpful except Bonnie. After switching from AT&T due to their rate hiking, I went with Charter and they promised to lock in my price for 2 years. The first 6 months took me literally 10 phone calls(Liam, Jason, Sheri, Felicia, Jamaal, Linda, Theresa, Brook, Andi, and Sonya) to correct my billing. Apparently their system is complicated and non-user friendly for billing and corrections. On top of that, their modem regularly(2-3 times each week) disrupted my WiFi service to where I had to reset the modem, reset the router, and restart my computer every time.

Their tech specialists who I spoke with and came to my house twice could not offer any solutions until their company received their new modems with better technology. So I was just waiting a few more months until I was going to call again to have that done. Then they audited my account to find that they were not billing me a monthly charge to use their (crappy old school)modem. Of course you weren't! Didn't you read the notes on the account? This is part of what you promised. Apparently, they were not supposed to and would not take the charge off my account. After reading to them my notes of all the issues I have had in the past 10 months, no one offered any real help or solutions(Chris and Bonnie) until I called(Guy) to cancel because I decided to go back to ATT. If they would have offered to credit me enough to purchase my own modem in the first place, I would not have changed back. But I am glad I did because mow I pay less for the next 12 months and get a $200 Visa gift card. Charter is not worth all the hassle

By -

Charter is THE WORST service out there! Their customer service should be called "get customers outraged" They talk in circles and don't answer the questions you ask because they SUCK and they are just in business to screw every customer they acquire. I can not give a specific story because I have waaaaayyy too many to get into without my blood pressure rising dangerously high. However Saturday I spent the whole day moving came home and just wanted to watch a movie and relax so sure enough I turn the TV on and my HD channels are pausing every 60 seconds so against my better judgment because I don't think a heart attack at the age of 26 is necessary, I called charter to see if maybe, just maybe, they actually knew what they were doing and could fix something! But once again I was wrong they sent this signal to my box that just took the channels out completely, no picutre, no pausing, no nothing, just black and basically responding by saying oops! So we spoke to a very pleasant manager (she was clearly a faker) she sadi everything we wanted to hear, something we had never experienced with charter before, we informed her we were moving and wanted our cable shut off on Sept 28 and she said she would pro rate it until then and then credit us $50 for our trouble and not having cable Saturday night, then we could return the boxes that week of the 28th... Too good to be true was right! I came home tonight at 9:30 from another 16 hour day and just wanted to lay back relax and watch a show I DVR everyday, well god forbid I get a service I paid for. The HD box in the livingroom was completely out and when I turned the TV on it says "this box is not authorized" so I go into my spare room and hmm that one is working.. So once again I call my favorite company charter and they inform me that on Sat I set up a voluntary disconnect, I said I most certainly did not, explained the whole situation and then asked if I had "cancelled" why do I still have cable in my spare room, well I don't know was there reply.. So I said OK so reconnect it since I didn't do this, well ma'am we can't un-do a disconnect.... hmm OK really well then I'm not paying for this box then if I don't have service on it, and they say well you have to pay for it until you return it, you were just going to return it anyway she said to me!! The nerve of her "YES I was going to return it when it was comvenient for me AFTER I was finished moving which was the week of the 28th which is why I set the disconnect up for that date!! So another super manager gets on the phone with his genius self and says ma'am you have a disconnect date set up for the 22nd (tomorrow) So I said OK well explain to me why if you claim I have this disconnect date for tomorrow which isn't even the case THEN WHY IS MY CABLE OFF TODAY!!! "Well I don't know ma'am was the response I received" So I screamed "WELL APPARENTLY YOU DON'T KNOW HOW TO DO ANYTHING EXCEPT INCORRECTLY SHUT OFF PEOPLES CABLE and you can't turn it back on ! So they say well will you be transferring your service when you move?? I lost in slammed the phone down and came to the computer to finally complain!!!! I HATE THIS COMPANY, THE SERVICE, THE CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! EVERYTHING THEY SHOULD BE PUT OUT OF BUSINESS...... BRING ON COMCAST, CHICOPEE SHOULD NOT HAVE A CRAPPY CABLE MONOPOLY!!!

Top of Page | Next Page >