Preview Review

Next Review

Chrysler Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Payment Reconciliation
By -

I agree, Chrysler Financial can't reconcile payments made by their customers. I leased a car in August of 2007 and my father co-signed with me. In July of 2009 he filed bankruptcy due to my mom being ill with cancer and couldn't afford the medical bills. He made sure that my name was clear of the claim with his lawyer. I always paid my payments on time through their website with no problems.

However, after my father's claim went through they discontinued my allowance to make payments online. With that being in effect, I was forced to call and make a payment (which occurs a processing fee) or mail a check. Each time that I tried to explain to them that I had nothing to do with the bankruptcy they didn't want to hear anything about it. I fell behind in the Summer of 2009 with payments due to trying to help my parents out with medical bills. However, I caught up and at the end of 2009. I made 12 months of payments.

I have my bank statements to prove the electronic payments and checks that were mailed. I made a payment in January of 2010 and then missed February. On 3/18/10 I called to catch up on my payments and the representative told me that I owed January of 2010. I asked for them to send me the statements to show that they have the months mixed up and I'm 30 days late, no 60 days. Their response was they couldn't discuss with me because of the bankruptcy.

Once again, I tried to explain that I had nothing to do with that claim and I should be getting statements and a fair explanation as to why they keep screwing up my payment history. In any event, I made a payment of $758.00 to be up to date on my account. On the morning of 3/19 my Jeep was repossessed. When I called Chrysler they told me that the representative forgot to cancel the order and that I was indeed up to date on my account. But, I need to call their redemption center.

I call them, they then tell me that I owe what is left on the loan? When I question that and prove that I made payments the prior day they then tell me that they need to review the account with a manager and someone will get back to me within an hour. Never did. Called three more times from 8 am - 1 pm. Kept telling me that they couldn't give me any information on what was being decided.

Finally called again and they told me they reviewed the account and that even though I made the payment on 3/18, I still owed March's payment (which was only 2 days late at this point). So much inconsistency it's mind blowing. They then proceeded to tell me that in order to get the car back I had to pay the repo fees + March payment + a copy of mine and my father's proof of income + copy of the insurance policy with Chrysler as the Lien holder + 6 recommendation letters. I seriously blew up.

I was willing to make an extra payment if that meant getting my car back (even though my bank statements show I'm up to date). But I will NOT be bullied into providing paper work and extra fees just to delay their process and Win more money out of my pocket. I have all of my statements printed, copies of cleared checks to prove I'm up to date. Additionally, I have an appointment to see a lawyer on Monday night.

I much rather pay the lawyer fees and get the car back than pay Chrysler anymore money that is not owed to them at this time. They want to fight, I'm ready. I will go all the way to the Attorney General's Office on this one. They had no reason to repo my car. They screwed up, the repo guy never got the canceled notice and now they want me to pay the damages. NO WAY.

Replies
Advertisement
Disposition Fee
By -

OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- My lease on my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee is coming to an end on April 2, 2009. I was planning on getting another Jeep, but Chrysler Financial stopped doing leases as of August 1, 2008. Since I only lease my cars, I decided to go with a Nissan instead. I just made my last lease payment to Chrysler Financial to fulfill my contract. However, to my surprise, I found out that I still owe $425.

I called Chrysler Financial to find out what this extra ‘fee' was for. I was told that since I didn't lease or buy another Chrysler, Jeep or Dodge, I had to pay a $425 disposition fee. I stated that I knew nothing about this fee and asked why the dealership never informed me before I signed the contract. All they said was that they were sorry that no one told me but if they told everyone about the disposition fee, they wouldn't sell any cars.

Then I was told that it was my fault for not reading the contract close enough. One guy I spoke with said, “You must not lease cars very often because every dealership/company has a disposition fee.” The Nissan that I just leased is my sixth car and I have NEVER heard of nor have I paid a disposition fee! (FYI: I called Nissan, Toyota and Honda and NONE of these companies have a disposition fee!)

In the end, I will have no choice but to pay the $425 disposition fee since it was stated in a binding contract, I signed it and I refuse to let it affect my credit. However, it is not going to stop me from running my mouth, letting everyone know about the shady business practice Chrysler Financial is conducting! I know I may only be one person, but word of mouth is powerful and I intend to inform as many people as I can so they don't make the same mistake I did!

Replies
Not Fixing Recalls
By -

On June 22 2011, I get a recall paper for parts on my car. It tells me that I can't get car fixed until after July 15 2011. I take it to dealership and they don't have parts. No dealership in 50 mile radius has parts. Call Chrysler they say they don't know when parts will be ready.

I told them that on June 26th I was going down 367 at 75 mph and car just shut itself off. It is not safe for this to happen with my kids in the car. They say just wait till we get parts but we don't know when that will be. They will not help. I'm frustrated, and concerned about driving with my kids in the car.

Luckily the day they this happened no one was near me and I could get to side of road without incident. I may not be lucky next time. I need my car fixed. This is the 2nd recall I have had on this car and I have had it less than one year.

Replies
Chrysler Over Payment Not Returned
By -

Paid off my truck with an insurance claim. I only owed $1200 and the over payment was in the amount of $5800.. They cashed the check 11/10/10 and I was to have the over payment and title back in 21 days. It's now 12/30/10 and Chrysler still has my $5800 and are unable to tell me when they will send it to me.

I have been told 4 times someone will return my numerous phone calls. I have been told the check is in the mail 3 times and now they simply say they don't know when I will get my $5800 back. I have brought 3 vehicles from Chrysler over the years and I will NEVER USE THEM AGAIN! Companies like this need to go away and our government needs to let them sink!

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Engine Design
By -

TULSA, OKLAHOMA -- I have a 2007 PT Cruiser and it has so many problems, I cannot name them all in this review. The engine has been designed to fall apart at 70,000 miles and repairs are a joke. There is nothing under the hood that can be fixed for less than 600 dollars. I didn't know I was buying a BMW, we're just to fix the engine. Any part was going to break the bank. The warranty is a joke. They always find a way around that, or they go out of business and leave you out in the cold. Thank Chrysler for nothing but problems.

Replies
Unfair Collections / Accounting Policies
By -

After paying on a chapter 13 bankruptcy for 18 months, the trustee paid Chrysler Financial $2,837 beyond the terms and payments amount due to this company. When the bankruptcy was dismissed due to a job loss, this company reversed the $2,837 payment from principal balance and absorbed the extra cash to interest profit. The final statement from the trustee showed me owing the company $11,563.00. They sold the vehicle for $11,500 and are now suing for an additional $5,000 + court and attorneys fees. They have already received $33,000 on a $24,000 loan.

This company has had no intentions on settling this account admirably and simply will do what it can to collect as much as they can. They will not inform their customers of what the additional fees and charges are for. This is not the type of behavior that is expected from a Government bailed out company that has also filed for bankruptcy protection. If you purchase a vehicle from Chrysler and the financing is offered through Chrysler Financial Services, beware before you sign the contract. It is my opinion that this company has no ethics when it comes to collections..

Replies
Brakes
By -

I have a 2008 dodge charger with annoying brake squeal. I bought the car new about 6 months ago. First trip to the dealer they sanded the rotors, noise stopped for a few days. Second trip dealer said nothing was wrong with the brakes. Called Chrysler they said take it to another dealer (that dealer was not a corporate dealer) but I would have to pay to have the brakes replaced since the car has over 12,000 miles. Chrysler customer service was rude and not at all helpful. This is my first Chrysler product and is sure to be my last.

Replies
Dodge Durango 2004 Hemi
By -

At 83000 mi. my 2004 Hemi Durango broke a valve spring on the #1 cyl. This caused a bent valve, bent pushrod, damaged the piston and valve guide. According to a local Dodge dealers service department this has been a common problem with this motor. They even have an upgrade kit to fix it. I have now been told the Head is a non-machinable part (read throwaway) and will cost an additional $2,000 on top of the $1,700 already quoted.

Dodge will accept no responsibility even knowing that this problem is a persistent one. Those of us who purchased the first gen of Hemis are screwed. I will never purchase a Dodge or Chrysler product again. In the past I have been a loyal Dodge buyer, no longer. No wonder they are insolvent.

Replies
Advertisement
Heartless
By -

After hearing from all the dealers you put out of business, I have to say, I will never promote your line of vehicles, or any product to do with your company or any companies affiliated with you!! The way you have handle your so called chap 11 is sad and heartless. You have left so many people without jobs and in some cases, people lost everything they spent their lives building. All for the better good... Ya right! Where is this so called better good? First you take our money then you file bankruptcy, then when you're taking more of our money after you reemerge! How dare you take taxpayers money from those same people you left out in the cold with nothing!

Replies
Rude and Inconsiderate
By -

We have been dealing with Chrysler Financial for some time now and due to our son-in-law being deployed for Iraq as of today and the death of our daughter we have been trying to move 3 young grandchildren into a 2 bedroom home with a total of 5 people and really no help whatsoever. Things have been misplaced and sometimes behind but never skipped. They never want to work with you to make arrangements to get things straightened out or even make anything work until things settle down and return to normal. They don't care if you have follow your bank policy.

It's pretty bad when they don't care if a family of a person who is serving his or hers country and they say on their statement a worry free experience and personal attention. They just want their money and they will harass you 4 times a day and not work with you anyway shape or form. I have and will continue to tell anyone that is willing to listen that this is the last time I will ever deal with this outfit. If I could find other financing I would but that's not an option right now and it will be the last time I do this with them. They are not here for us and never glad to help, just rude and nasty and inconsiderate.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Chrysler Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
48 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Chrysler
P. O. Box 21-8004
Auburn Hills, MI 48321
1-800-992-1997 (ph)
www.chrysler.com
Product/Services
Compare Auto Manufacturers