Chrysler

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
49 reviews & complaints.
www.chrysler.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
False Information, Fraud, and Rude Customer Service
By -

RAYVILLE, MISSOURI -- In march/april 2007, my 22 year old daughter purchased a used 1999 Honda crv from a local dealer and used Chrysler's financial services to finance the balance she owed on the vehicle. She is a full-time student who has consistently paid her monthly account bills on time or before they were due. On November 26, 2007, my daughter was involved in an automobile accident. She is/was fully insured by state farm insurance, who reviewed the accident and later (e.g., within a week) deemed the vehicle a total loss.

Within approximately a week, on behalf of my daughter I made contact with Chrysler financial services to notify them of the accident and to make them aware that, at the time, the insurance company was wanting to "total" the vehicle. At that time, I spoke with a representative in the insurance resolution group (male representative, foreign accent – contacted through #800-556-8172) who assured me that should we choose to retain the vehicle (e.g., salvage), take the insurance settlement minus salvage, and have the vehicle repaired to "factory standards" as per state farm, that Chrysler financial services would maintain my daughter's loan with the vehicle as collateral and that my daughter would not be required to pay off the loan in full, but could continue to make payments.

Currently, her balance is approximately $1,700. During the course of resolving the accident issues with state farm and the collision repair shops, I contacted Chrysler financial services two more times to verify that the information I had been given was accurate so that we (e.g., my daughter and I) could make a final decision to either retain or repair the vehicle. On all three occasions, I spoke with the same individual at Chrysler who assured us all three times that there would not be a problem, even with the insurance company wanting to declare the vehicle a "total loss."

Furthermore, this individual stated that he would note my daughter's account with the status so that it would be referenceable for future representatives. On all three occasions, this individual also indicated that what would be needed for Chrysler financial to continue to maintain the loan would be: The original state farm insurance estimate, a work order from the collision shop, a letter of satisfaction from my daughter following the repairs to the vehicle stating that it had been repaired to her satisfaction, the insurance settlement check, which was made out to my daughter, myself, and Chrysler financial. The representative assured us that Chrysler would sign the check so that we could pay the shop for the repairs.

Again, this individual stated on all three occasions that these were acceptable to Chrysler financial and that there would be no consequences against my daughter's loan status. On January 7, 2008, we (my daughter and I) sent the above referenced items to Chrysler financial via express mail. The items were delivered on January 8, 2008 at 6:53 am and signed for by **. As we had not received the signed check from Chrysler financial as of Friday, January 11, 2008, we contacted Chrysler financial and were told that they had never received the items listed above. At that time, we used our tracking number with the post office and verified that they had indeed received the above items.

Further attempts to speak with representatives within Chrysler financial netted the same "we don't have it answer," until late Friday when I was finally able to reach **, who said she could not discuss the account with me until my daughter ** verified that I had access to her account. On Tuesday, 1/15/08, at approximately 2:00 p.m. (Central time), my daughter and I again contacted Chrysler financial to determine the status of the check as we had not received any information from Chrysler financial regarding our previous inquiries. We were again told that Chrysler did not have the check, to which we responded that they did indeed as per the post office, at which time the representative looked again and noticed that the check was "held up" as non-endorsable.

As per further investigation, the representative (e.g., ** and then the supervisor **) told us that Chrysler financial would not honor their original agreement with us (as stated above) because the insurance company had deemed the vehicle a total loss. I again reiterated that we had already spoken with a representative (the same individual) on all three occasions who had said that Chrysler would indeed honor the agreement given the items listed above. We were passed from rude representative to representative and I finally requested to speak with a supervisor regarding the manner. After being disconnected several times, I was finally transferred to ** voice mail and received a return call from her at approximately 5:30 pm.

Upon speaking with **, I was again told that Chrysler would not honor the agreement as stated above because the insurance company had deemed the vehicle a total loss. I explained to ** that we (e.g., my daughter and I) had made the decision regarding the vehicle based upon false information provided by her department and that I did not feel it should be our responsibility to absorb the consequences given that her department did not have the wherewithal to review their own policy and verify that policy. I furthermore indicated that the vehicle, which has indeed been repaired to "factory standards" is certainly worth the balance on the loan as a collateral vehicle and that state farm is containing to provide full coverage insurance on the vehicle based upon those repairs.

I further iterated that based upon the information provided by her department, the vehicle had been repaired and that there was now an outstanding $6,166 balance due to the collision shop, the amount of the check which Chrysler financial is refusing to sign. ** continued to be combative and rude, stated that we should "read our contract," and made excuses for Chrysler financial's ineptness and false information regarding the repairs to the vehicle. At that time, I asked ** to speak with her supervisor, which she declined, stating that "there is nobody else who can or will speak with you."

I told her that this was unacceptable, demanded that the check be returned, and stated that my daughter would not be paying off the balance on the loan, but that she would continue to make timely payments on the loan with Chrysler until the matter was resolved. Furthermore, I informed ** that I would be going well above her head within the Chrysler corporation to resolve the matter. ** then stated that she was going to close the account and report my daughter to the collections department for not paying the loan. To my knowledge, Chrysler financial cannot do this as they have accepted my daughter's payments and have "cashed" those payments each and every time.

Given the information above and the inadequacy and inept behavior of the insurance resolution group, I do not feel that my daughter (who is a full time student) should have to relinquish $1,700 of the insurance settlement check to pay off a loan that is in good standing nor do I feel that Chrysler financial should "stronghold" and "threaten" her or the status of this loan to achieve its own wishes. Furthermore, based upon the repairs performed by the shop as well as assessments by state farm, the repaired vehicle is more than worth the balance of the loan in a collateral situation. Ultimately, however, this situation would not have arisen had Chrysler financial provided us with accurate information from the beginning.

This most certainly would have made a difference in how the matter was addressed and would not have placed us in a financial hardship pending coming up with $1,700 to cover the loan. Not only has Chrysler financial demonstrated less than acceptable customer service relations, they have provided false and fraudulent information to the customer, failed to investigate and understand their own policies, and are now covering their own inept "asses" by punishing the customer. We are certainly more than willing to honor our loan and continue timely payments to Chrysler corporation, but will not suffer the consequences that have arisen due to Chrysler's own stupidity.

The customer should never be punished for an employee's inability to comprehend, understand, and/or investigate a matter such that the matter escalates and spins out of control to the detriment of a) the customer and b) Chrysler financials further interactions with potential customers. We have tried to locate an email address to complain to parties that are not customer service and have been completely unsuccessful. I guess Chrysler must have something to hide, eh? Note: anybody considering using Chrysler financial to finance their vehicle should definitely consider going somewhere else! Chrysler financial does not care about the customer, is willing to lie to the customer rather than accurately present facts, and will bully at all costs!

Replies
Morons at Chrysler
By -

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Apparently Chrysler Financial has nothing but morons working for them. I have been having problems since December, 2004. I had a Chrysler Voyager which was leased. We also had a Dodge Ram truck. We took the leased van back and traded the truck in for a new 2005 Chrysler Sebring. Nice car.

The first complaint is that Chrysler had the van inspected (because it was leased) for any damage and/or mileage overage. When I got home from work and found the paperwork left by the guy who inspected the vehicle I was shocked to learn that he put down we had gone over our mileage. I know this wasn't so because I had checked our contract and we had gotten the highest amount we could which was 15,000 miles a year (4 years), 60,000. We were under at that time by about 8,000 miles.

However, the inspector had us at 45,000 miles per our contract and had put down the amount from our odometer. Hence we were over. I called them about this and stated that our contract was for 60,000 miles and we were not over. After all was said and done when we returned the leased van and traded the truck, we came out with the Chrysler Sebring and thought everything was okay. This has not been the case.

First of all, Chrysler Financial has sent me invoices stating I owe for the damage and the mileage overage. This was not the case because at the time of the financing for the new vehicle, everything was rolled into the new loan which was written up by the dealership. There was no mileage overage because we were still under by a few thousand miles. However, when Chrysler Financial got the paperwork they took the mileage from the truck as the mileage from the van even though the paperwork states the mileage is from the Dodge Ram.

So here they have payment for the damage and they are trying to get money for mileage overage that doesn't exist. Now they claim there is a disposition fee of $275.00. Nothing was ever mentioned to me during the sale of the new vehicle. I also do not have a bill from Chrysler stating that is all that is owed. No, I have bills coming to me regarding damage and mileage overage.

When I spoke to someone on the phone the beginning of May (2005) I first had to go through the whole spiel about what had been transpiring about what is owed. (I have been doing this since December, 2004). I said if that is all that is owed (and I still am not sure about any disposition fee) I would pay it. I was asked to pay it over the phone (a $7.00 fee) and at first I was going to. Then I thought better of it because if Chrysler still doesn't have their file right (or their system) that I don't have for any mileage overage then I don't want them to have access to my credit card and at some point decide that if they can't get me to pay on my own that they take it themselves. (This has been done by other companies.)

I told that person I would mail in the payment. I did not state I would mail it that day. I did tell her that I wanted a new bill stating that all I owe is the disposition fee of $275 and that everything else has been straightened out. I had recently sold my house and put everything in storage (prior to our move out of state). I got a post office box and at the same time I had a change of address put in. I never received anything from Chrysler.

I received a call on my cell phone on Wednesday, June 1 while I was at the doctor's office. I didn't get his name but he apparently was my "account manager." He asked me if I was going to make the payment. I told him I was still waiting for the invoice. He told me I had to make a payment right then or he would send my file to the collection agency. I snapped. I told him he better not send me to a collection agency, that I had requested a bill and that I wasn't going to pay it over the phone.

He got nasty, I got nasty. I told him I wanted to speak to his manager. He refused to let me speak to a manager. All he said that he was going to note that I refused to make payment and that he was going to send it to a collection agency. I stated I never refused to pay anything, I just wasn't going to pay it over the phone. Needless to say he hung up on me and I never got to speak to a supervisor.

I had to call 411 to get Chrysler's 800 number which I was connected to. The first gentleman I spoke to pulled my file up and stated I owed $766 (plus change). I quickly got irate with him because he I was told I only owed $275.00. (See what I mean about getting their file and system in order?) He put me through to someone else **. She said she was the one I spoke to last time and that her file states I said I would send the payment on the 14th.

This is not what I said I told her the other girl I spoke to I told her that I wanted a new invoice stating all I owed was the $275 since I keep getting invoices with different amounts and clearly every time I call I owe something different. I asked to speak to her supervisor. Of course when I asked them what they titles were I was told they were some sort of a supervisor. I don't believe them. I was told that they have the authority to do things, but when asked for them to do something for you (like extend a few days) they can't.

I was told that they hold a file for 25 days and yet they held mine for 30 and now it was going to a collection agency. First of all, I worked for a law firm for 16 years and never once did I ever hear of anyone being sent to a collection agency after only 30 days. When I asked to speak to her supervisor she refused to let me talk to anyone else. She said I can make a payment over the phone ($7.00 fee) by 10:00 that night. Otherwise, if I didn't, it would be sent to a collection agency.

I told her that I wasn't going to pay the $7.00 fee for the check by phone and I certainly wasn't going to pay for a credit agency. Since Chrysler is contracted with them they can pay. She told me that they mailed me a bill. I never got it. She said that was the Post Office's fault. That's funny, I got all of their other mail.

Needless to say all I got was rudeness, inconsideration, and downright attitude. I hung up on her. When I got home that night I immediately went to the Chrysler website and sent them an email. Chrysler employees talk to you, the customer, like you don't have a choice. They think they are intimidating you but don't let them.

Get back at them. Take a stand. Don't let them bully you. They don't think you know the law. Even if you know the law, they think they have their own law.

Also keep a journal of your troubles with Chrysler (or any company) when you have a dispute. Keep all paperwork. I don't know what these people are thinking (the ones who work for Chrysler) but I believe they are in for a rude awakening. Not by me, but by all of us.

Replies
Poor Payment Reconciliation
By -

I agree, Chrysler Financial can't reconcile payments made by their customers. I leased a car in August of 2007 and my father co-signed with me. In July of 2009 he filed bankruptcy due to my mom being ill with cancer and couldn't afford the medical bills. He made sure that my name was clear of the claim with his lawyer. I always paid my payments on time through their website with no problems.

However, after my father's claim went through they discontinued my allowance to make payments online. With that being in effect, I was forced to call and make a payment (which occurs a processing fee) or mail a check. Each time that I tried to explain to them that I had nothing to do with the bankruptcy they didn't want to hear anything about it. I fell behind in the Summer of 2009 with payments due to trying to help my parents out with medical bills. However, I caught up and at the end of 2009. I made 12 months of payments.

I have my bank statements to prove the electronic payments and checks that were mailed. I made a payment in January of 2010 and then missed February. On 3/18/10 I called to catch up on my payments and the representative told me that I owed January of 2010. I asked for them to send me the statements to show that they have the months mixed up and I'm 30 days late, no 60 days. Their response was they couldn't discuss with me because of the bankruptcy.

Once again, I tried to explain that I had nothing to do with that claim and I should be getting statements and a fair explanation as to why they keep screwing up my payment history. In any event, I made a payment of $758.00 to be up to date on my account. On the morning of 3/19 my Jeep was repossessed. When I called Chrysler they told me that the representative forgot to cancel the order and that I was indeed up to date on my account. But, I need to call their redemption center.

I call them, they then tell me that I owe what is left on the loan? When I question that and prove that I made payments the prior day they then tell me that they need to review the account with a manager and someone will get back to me within an hour. Never did. Called three more times from 8 am - 1 pm. Kept telling me that they couldn't give me any information on what was being decided.

Finally called again and they told me they reviewed the account and that even though I made the payment on 3/18, I still owed March's payment (which was only 2 days late at this point). So much inconsistency it's mind blowing. They then proceeded to tell me that in order to get the car back I had to pay the repo fees + March payment + a copy of mine and my father's proof of income + copy of the insurance policy with Chrysler as the Lien holder + 6 recommendation letters. I seriously blew up.

I was willing to make an extra payment if that meant getting my car back (even though my bank statements show I'm up to date). But I will NOT be bullied into providing paper work and extra fees just to delay their process and Win more money out of my pocket. I have all of my statements printed, copies of cleared checks to prove I'm up to date. Additionally, I have an appointment to see a lawyer on Monday night.

I much rather pay the lawyer fees and get the car back than pay Chrysler anymore money that is not owed to them at this time. They want to fight, I'm ready. I will go all the way to the Attorney General's Office on this one. They had no reason to repo my car. They screwed up, the repo guy never got the canceled notice and now they want me to pay the damages. NO WAY.

Replies
Rude & Nasty Customer Service
By -

I recently had the WORSE experience of my life with Chrysler Financial. I am currently going through a rough divorce and have also moved to a totally new city and had fallen behind in a payment (unintentionally). I contacted Chrysler financial to work out a payment plan to bring my account current and while speaking with the customer service agent I received another call from a **, another customer service agent, who ended up leaving a very, very nasty and rude and disrespectful message on my cell phone.

When I got home that evening I was informed by my sister that he had also called there and was very rude to her and when she told him that he needed to speak with me regarding the account and that she could take a number and have me call him back he proceeded to discuss my account details with her anyway. When I called the 800 number listed on my invoice to place a complaint I was transferred to yet another customer service agent who was also rude, nasty and disrespectful and refused to give his name. I explained (again) the situation and asked for a supervisor or manager to which his response was, "We don't have supervisors or Managers that you can speak with."

I then asked for an email address to where I can send a complaint and once again was told, "We don't have an email where you can send complaints." He then stated "Maybe if you would keep your account current then you wouldn't have to worry about people calling you being rude, leaving nasty voice mails and speaking to 3rd parties about your account" and he then hung up on me. I was so appalled and upset that I didn't even call back. I sent a letter to EVERY address that I could find for Daimler/Chrysler and I went on the internet and saw that there were MANY other people who have had similar experiences to mine and it is truly disturbing.

I had to explain my situation to at least 4 different customer service agents and out of the 4 only 1 was understanding. It's not like I'm not trying to pay my bill. If I wasn't then I wouldn't have initiated a call to them to make arrangements to bring the account current. Their agents talk to you as if you are just some kind of a deadbeat or a child. They are very rude and disrespectful. Being in a customer service based field myself, I know that respect and confidentiality are key factors to customer satisfaction.

It's also a fact that "WORD OF MOUTH" can destroy a company but I guess that Chrysler Financial doesn't care about customer service or customer satisfaction. If this is the type of service that I have to look forward to w/ Chrysler Financial then I'm truly sorry that I EVER became a customer and will NEVER finance another vehicle through them. I will also advise ALL OF MY FAMILY MEMBERS AND FRIENDS to do the same. Regretfully a Chrysler Financial Customer.

Replies
Disposition Fee
By -

OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- My lease on my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee is coming to an end on April 2, 2009. I was planning on getting another Jeep, but Chrysler Financial stopped doing leases as of August 1, 2008. Since I only lease my cars, I decided to go with a Nissan instead. I just made my last lease payment to Chrysler Financial to fulfill my contract. However, to my surprise, I found out that I still owe $425.

I called Chrysler Financial to find out what this extra ‘fee' was for. I was told that since I didn't lease or buy another Chrysler, Jeep or Dodge, I had to pay a $425 disposition fee. I stated that I knew nothing about this fee and asked why the dealership never informed me before I signed the contract. All they said was that they were sorry that no one told me but if they told everyone about the disposition fee, they wouldn't sell any cars.

Then I was told that it was my fault for not reading the contract close enough. One guy I spoke with said, “You must not lease cars very often because every dealership/company has a disposition fee.” The Nissan that I just leased is my sixth car and I have NEVER heard of nor have I paid a disposition fee! (FYI: I called Nissan, Toyota and Honda and NONE of these companies have a disposition fee!)

In the end, I will have no choice but to pay the $425 disposition fee since it was stated in a binding contract, I signed it and I refuse to let it affect my credit. However, it is not going to stop me from running my mouth, letting everyone know about the shady business practice Chrysler Financial is conducting! I know I may only be one person, but word of mouth is powerful and I intend to inform as many people as I can so they don't make the same mistake I did!

Replies
Lease Return Nightmare
By -

On June 29th, 2007 we returned our leased dodge caravan to our local Chrysler dealership. At this time the dealership inspected the vehicle with a fine tooth comb. The van did have a small dent in the rear quarter panel and we did point this out and covered the financial cost of repairing this damage. Besides this dent there was no other damage and the dealership signed us off of the van. We then proceeded to sign a new lease on a new van.

All seemed fine for five months, when we received a telephone call from Chrysler Canada financial on Nov 28th 2007, asking us why we had not yet responded to the letter they had sent us and how did we plan on paying for the $7,000.00 worth of hail damage on the vehicle. I advised them we had received no such letter and more importantly that when we handed the van in there was no hail damage on the van. Well they insisted there was and that this matter was in the hands of Chrysler credit collections department! I again told this lady that we had never received any such letter and would she please fax a copy of this letter off to me asap.

Well that fax was never sent and it took a week of constant calling our dealership before we were able to get a response back from Chrysler collections. We did not have possession of the van for almost 5 months and therefore no care or control of the van. I gather there was indeed a lot of hail damage on the van which clearly happened once Chrysler took possession of the van. What it all boiled down too was Chrysler Canada was not interested in follow the paper trail on this van and arbitrarily decided that we, the lessors of the van would pay for the damage.

Be very careful when you hand back a leased vehicle. Do not take the dealership's word for anything. Take pictures of your returned vehicle and have the dealership sign off on those pictures. Chrysler is interested in one thing and one thing only.. the almighty buck at any cost and to hell with the customer. Unless that customer hasn't yet made the deal, then they care a whole lot. Once the deal is made.. to heck with them!

Replies
Paying Off My Lease Was a Nightmare!!
By -

DALLAS, TEXAS -- In August 2004 I leased a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica from Chrysler Financial for 3 yrs. On July 30, 2007 I decided to purchase the vehicle. I went to a local bank and refinanced the vehicle. They sent a cashier's check to Chrysler on July 30, 2007. They check cleared on August 10th. On September 4, 2007 I received a letter from Chrysler stating that I was in default of my loan (that had a ZERO balance) because they needed the "Vehicle Purchase Package". This package was sent via Fed Ex to my previous address.

The finance department had my new address, but evidently the lease area did not. On September 4th, 2007, I dealt with **, Lease Maturity Advisor-Remarketing Operation. She sent me via email the package. I completed it and faxed it back to her. I know she received it because she sent me an email bank. The copy of my driver's license did not make the fax for some reason, but I just found that out today.

On October 10th, myself and the loan officer at the bank where I refinanced both left multiple messages for ** regarding where the title to my car was. No response!! This morning at 6 AM, Chrysler sent a tow company to repossess my car that is paid off!! They said I owed $66!! I have been on the telephone all day dealing with this. I finally got a hold of ** and she told me that she did not call me or email me to tell me that she did not receive the copy of my license because and I quote "I am not her customer".

She said that she has lots of other customers to deal with and that the representative that handled my account had made calls (to my old telephone number). The funny thing is that my name, address, telephone number, cell phone number, and fax number was on all of the emails that she received from me. I can't get her supervisor to call me back and I just found out that they have now sent a check back to my bank rejecting my pay off that they already cashed!!

They told me that I would have to go through a local dealership to buy my car AGAIN! Are they crazy!! This is the most ridiculous thing I has ever happened to me in my life! I will never deal with Chrysler Financial again! I will never BUY another Chrysler product again because of the way I have been treated! I am outraged at their customer service! If they worked for me, I would fire them!

Replies
Chrysler 300 Piece of Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- Only looks good when new in the showroom. After 1 year driven, almost everything on the vehicle started rattling and falling apart.

Replies
Not Fixing Recalls
By -

On June 22 2011, I get a recall paper for parts on my car. It tells me that I can't get car fixed until after July 15 2011. I take it to dealership and they don't have parts. No dealership in 50 mile radius has parts. Call Chrysler they say they don't know when parts will be ready.

I told them that on June 26th I was going down 367 at 75 mph and car just shut itself off. It is not safe for this to happen with my kids in the car. They say just wait till we get parts but we don't know when that will be. They will not help. I'm frustrated, and concerned about driving with my kids in the car.

Luckily the day they this happened no one was near me and I could get to side of road without incident. I may not be lucky next time. I need my car fixed. This is the 2nd recall I have had on this car and I have had it less than one year.

Replies
Chrysler Over Payment Not Returned
By -

Paid off my truck with an insurance claim. I only owed $1200 and the over payment was in the amount of $5800.. They cashed the check 11/10/10 and I was to have the over payment and title back in 21 days. It's now 12/30/10 and Chrysler still has my $5800 and are unable to tell me when they will send it to me.

I have been told 4 times someone will return my numerous phone calls. I have been told the check is in the mail 3 times and now they simply say they don't know when I will get my $5800 back. I have brought 3 vehicles from Chrysler over the years and I will NEVER USE THEM AGAIN! Companies like this need to go away and our government needs to let them sink!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >