Chrysler

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 2 ratings and
55 reviews & complaints.
www.chrysler.com
Product/Services
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lower Ball Joints
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MICHIGAN -- Dodge should recall 07 caliber for lower ball joint before someone gets killed.

Replies
Terrible Service / Repairs at This Dealership
By -

LANCASTER, TEXAS -- If only Mike Perry Dodge were in Dallas, life would be great! To begin with, let me say that I am currently driving my sixth Chrysler product and have been a very satisfied customer for over 15 years. I have owned two Chrysler Sebring Convertibles, two Dodge Intrepids, one Dodge Stratus and one PT Cruiser. Currently I own a Sebring and a PT Cruiser. I purchased three of the vehicles from Mike Perry Dodge in Nacogdoches. Major kudos goes out to that entire dealership for providing the quality and level of service they do.

It is a horrible shame that my first service run in here in the DFW area has just about ruined my entire perception of how Chrysler / Dodge treats it customers. Needless to say in this area of Dallas there are not many choices of where to take a Dodge for service so I choose the one near my office: Manual Chrysler. Manual Chrysler is in Lancaster, Texas, just about 15 miles south of Dallas off of I-35. It is also about five miles to my office where I work as a local school district administrator. I moved to this area less than a year ago from Nacogdoches to work for one of the school districts in the area. About two months ago my airbag light came on in the display on the dash. Every five or so minutes the chime warning would also ring (my car has over 70,000 miles so it was out of the factory warranty).

I did purchase an extended Chrysler warranty when I bought the car. I just did not want to take it in and waste the $100 deductible for something as small as an airbag light. After driving around for two months with that stupid chime coming on I almost just decided to just trade in the car, it did have a lot of miles on it and my warranty is almost up. One Sunday I drove the lot of Manual Chrysler and saw this gorgeous blue Crossfire convertible. I always wanted one but it did not have a price on it so I just went home and then decided to take my car in on May 30th and just pay the $100 deductible and get on with life.

I pulled up around 8:30 a.m and ** one of the service reps came over to help me. He is a very pleasant guy and before writing up the work order he checked the computer to see if I had a warranty and I did. I told him my air bag light was on for two months and wanted it fixed. He took the car and told me he would call me when he found out something and I got a ride to work. Well it was about 3:00 p.m and no call so I decided to call them. He told me the work to be done would not be covered by the warranty and it would be close to $240 for the entire job to be done.

I told him I just wanted to spend the $100 for the deductible but if it was not covered, I would just come in and take the car home with me and get it fixed later. I was waiting for the keys for my car but he was on the computer typing away. Then he put a bill on the counter and said it would be $90 or something like that. I said that makes no sense. I have to pay $90 just for them to release my car to me and did no work on the car.? I told him up front that I only had $100 to cover the deductible for the repair and now he wants almost all of that and I get nothing.

I was pretty upset but hey, this is not Mike Perry Motors or East Texas anymore. He told me that if I pay the $90 and I brought the car back within a month that it would apply to the cost of fixing the air bag problem, but I had a month to do it. After considering this robbery I told him to just go ahead and fix it and I will just deal with the entire amount. That was like asking an elephant to cough up a diamond! He ran around for a good 30 minutes looking for his boss and get approval on this. Approval?! I just want to get it done with so what is the problem I asked.

He said since the invoice was already printed that it needed to be paid for and he could run a new invoice for the remaining balance. I was at a loss on that one so I inquired some more. He came back and said that he had a new deal for me. He told me that if we were to cancel the first job order I would have to pay the entire amount of $230 or so up front to get the work done. I was already feeling blindsided and raped here so why not just add another $230 to the fire so I said, “Just go ahead and do it!”€He then told me that the part would have to be ordered and he would call me when it came in. I said, “I am not paying $230 for nothing.”

He went on to tell me that it was in their best interest that the part was paid for up front. He told me “Not that you would do this but we have had some people who have come in here with similar situations, we ordered the part and then they never came back... Then we get stuck with a part and the bill.” So Mr. Nice guy that I am, I went along with this ** of a story and gave him my credit card and went back to my office with my car and waited on the call. The next day, no call but I figured they would need at least two days to get the part so it was cool. The second day I called and was told the part was on order still and he would call me when it came in.

Remind you, I paid in advance for service here. The next day I did not get a call at all so I just left it alone and decided to just show up on Thursday morning with the car and see what was going on. I pulled up the service drive thinking ** would be quickly out to greet me and apologize for not calling but it did not happen. I got out of my car and just waited for him to come over. He came over alright but looked like he had no idea who I was or why I was there. He said, “Can I help you?”

I just looked at him like he was nuts!! Then I looked at my car and back at him and still he did not catch on. I told him I am the guy who prepaid you three days ago for the airbag light. He said, “Oh yeah, that part came in but our parts guy has been out so things are a mess right now. Leave the car here and we will get it taken care of and I will call you when it is done.” Well no call all day long.

Then Friday came and I called them about 2 P.M and talked to **. I said, “Is my car ready?” He told me to hold on and he would check it out. Then within 10 seconds he comes back on the line and says, I can't check it right now, let me call you back, can I get your number?” I just slammed the phone down at that point and jumped in my company van and headed over there steaming! I could not believe he asked me for my number let alone could not answer the simple question if my car was ready.

I was at the dealership in minutes and at his counter. I asked very nicely if my car was ready. He told me a long story about how the parts guy was not there and they ordered the wrong seatbelt part for the car. I about blew a gasket at that point, (still minus $230 and remember being told that they don't want to be screwed by customers who order parts and never return). I kept my patience with the man and his manager who finally got involved with the situation. They gave me the story again how the parts guy was not there and they will reorder the part and that the service manager would personally take care of the problem ASAP!

I told them I was leaving Sunday morning for a three day convention and I could drop off the car Sunday and I would be back in town Wednesday to pick it up. I was assured by the manager that he would take care of it and he even offered me his card and a free oil change for my troubles, (did he honestly think I wanted to come back here and go through this type of service again?). I dropped off the car Sunday and went to my convention with the knowledge that surely it would be ready for me when I got back three days later.

Well today is Wednesday, June 7, 2006 around 7:00 P.M and I am still without my car fixed! This is so unbelievable it is funny! I got no call from this dealership saying the part came in or that my car was fixed. I tried to call them but did not keep the phone number because it is extremely hard to get through to that service department. I recommend you give them a call and see how many times the computer voice tells you to call back at another time; they are not available in the service department.

I went to the service department around 4:30 today and was driving my school minivan and was having problems with the a/c. It seems my school district 2001 Grand Caravan lost its a/c along my trip. I thought it would be perfect to just drop of the Caravan and get it fixed and just drive my car home. Boy am I am idiot for thinking that. Why was I even considering given them another chance to work on a vehicle that I have control over. I guess because I believe everyone can have a bad day or two and everyone deserves a second chance.

Well I drove the van to the service drive, was not greeted by anyone at this time but saw ** through the window on the computer. Out came his manager saying the good news the part came in today. Actually two of the same parts came in so we were in luck. I hated to even ask but I did. “OK, so is my car ready?” I knew the answer even before I asked or pulled up on the lot. He said no but the parts were there and they just arrived that afternoon.

I blew my top and am one never to lose control of my emotions but this time I was furious. I threw my arms up in the air, shook my head and said, “I am through with this dealership FOREVER! You guys here are so **!”€Of course I went on but that was the gist of it. I had totally lost my patience at that time. Here they had order the wrong part a week ago and a week later the part is there and it's still not done.

He went on about how the parts guy was still not there but enough of the problems. He is the service manager! Step up to the plate and stop placing blame, you're the manager. If you order the wrong part a week ago, you better well make sure your customer is taken care of and overnight that part at your cost and be sure you simonize the customer's shoes on the way out!! You don't treat people this way. I had a phone call thankfully as I was in my tirade but he kept on my feet explaining the problem as I was in the middle of my conversation.

I finally walked away far enough and he was gone. I get in my school minivan and just about to drive away and out comes ** to talk to me. He says he can get his best mechanic on it right away and it will be finished today. I told him that I just got back from a four hour drive with no a/c and was done with the games. I told him to call me tomorrow when it is done.

It is now 3:30 Thursday, June 8, 2006 and I am calling Manual Chrysler to see if my car is ready. I did not get a call from them so now I am on the phone with **. OK, the voice message came on again for the third time saying they are not available. After dialing the number two for service again I got ** on the phone. He said the car was finished 15 minutes after I left last night and it is ready for me to pick it up.

It's amazing it was ready 15 minutes after I left yesterday but why couldn't that 15 minutes of work be done during the day and not when the customer is in your face upset at you. Now tell me this one, “Why is it that I am billed $133.50 for 15 minutes of a mechanics work?” ** did tell me they gave me a free oil change coupon for me to use. They have got to be joking, I am never stepping one foot inside that dealership nor will any of my friends or future acquaintances. Well my car is ready seven days after bringing it in for service. This was for a simple replacement of a front seat belt part number: YP401DV-AB, total bill is $231.63.

The total frustration dealing with this service department is unforgettable. I asked ** to leave the keys with salesmen after the service department closes at 6:00. I don't ever want to see those people in that service department ever again. I will pick up my car later this evening and will never go back to that place ever again. I am going to send this letter to Manual Chrysler and anyone I can at Chrysler and maybe even a few Chrysler dealers in the city here. I just want you all to know it is not right to treat customers this way and expect to keep their business. I am even going to try to send it to the top bosses at Chrysler; this has just gone way beyond normal frustration for me.

Maybe one my letter will be forwarded to the top and hopefully will end future encounters like this for all customers. Good luck to all of you and if you know Mike Perry Dodge, you can blame them for this letter for providing the most pleasant buying and servicing experience ever. Thanks Mike Perry **, I wish you were all in the Dallas area but then you may put some others out of business.

Replies
False Information, Fraud, and Rude Customer Service
By -

RAYVILLE, MISSOURI -- In march/april 2007, my 22 year old daughter purchased a used 1999 Honda crv from a local dealer and used Chrysler's financial services to finance the balance she owed on the vehicle. She is a full-time student who has consistently paid her monthly account bills on time or before they were due. On November 26, 2007, my daughter was involved in an automobile accident. She is/was fully insured by state farm insurance, who reviewed the accident and later (e.g., within a week) deemed the vehicle a total loss.

Within approximately a week, on behalf of my daughter I made contact with Chrysler financial services to notify them of the accident and to make them aware that, at the time, the insurance company was wanting to "total" the vehicle. At that time, I spoke with a representative in the insurance resolution group (male representative, foreign accent – contacted through #800-556-8172) who assured me that should we choose to retain the vehicle (e.g., salvage), take the insurance settlement minus salvage, and have the vehicle repaired to "factory standards" as per state farm, that Chrysler financial services would maintain my daughter's loan with the vehicle as collateral and that my daughter would not be required to pay off the loan in full, but could continue to make payments.

Currently, her balance is approximately $1,700. During the course of resolving the accident issues with state farm and the collision repair shops, I contacted Chrysler financial services two more times to verify that the information I had been given was accurate so that we (e.g., my daughter and I) could make a final decision to either retain or repair the vehicle. On all three occasions, I spoke with the same individual at Chrysler who assured us all three times that there would not be a problem, even with the insurance company wanting to declare the vehicle a "total loss."

Furthermore, this individual stated that he would note my daughter's account with the status so that it would be referenceable for future representatives. On all three occasions, this individual also indicated that what would be needed for Chrysler financial to continue to maintain the loan would be: The original state farm insurance estimate, a work order from the collision shop, a letter of satisfaction from my daughter following the repairs to the vehicle stating that it had been repaired to her satisfaction, the insurance settlement check, which was made out to my daughter, myself, and Chrysler financial. The representative assured us that Chrysler would sign the check so that we could pay the shop for the repairs.

Again, this individual stated on all three occasions that these were acceptable to Chrysler financial and that there would be no consequences against my daughter's loan status. On January 7, 2008, we (my daughter and I) sent the above referenced items to Chrysler financial via express mail. The items were delivered on January 8, 2008 at 6:53 am and signed for by **. As we had not received the signed check from Chrysler financial as of Friday, January 11, 2008, we contacted Chrysler financial and were told that they had never received the items listed above. At that time, we used our tracking number with the post office and verified that they had indeed received the above items.

Further attempts to speak with representatives within Chrysler financial netted the same "we don't have it answer," until late Friday when I was finally able to reach **, who said she could not discuss the account with me until my daughter ** verified that I had access to her account. On Tuesday, 1/15/08, at approximately 2:00 p.m. (Central time), my daughter and I again contacted Chrysler financial to determine the status of the check as we had not received any information from Chrysler financial regarding our previous inquiries. We were again told that Chrysler did not have the check, to which we responded that they did indeed as per the post office, at which time the representative looked again and noticed that the check was "held up" as non-endorsable.

As per further investigation, the representative (e.g., ** and then the supervisor **) told us that Chrysler financial would not honor their original agreement with us (as stated above) because the insurance company had deemed the vehicle a total loss. I again reiterated that we had already spoken with a representative (the same individual) on all three occasions who had said that Chrysler would indeed honor the agreement given the items listed above. We were passed from rude representative to representative and I finally requested to speak with a supervisor regarding the manner. After being disconnected several times, I was finally transferred to ** voice mail and received a return call from her at approximately 5:30 pm.

Upon speaking with **, I was again told that Chrysler would not honor the agreement as stated above because the insurance company had deemed the vehicle a total loss. I explained to ** that we (e.g., my daughter and I) had made the decision regarding the vehicle based upon false information provided by her department and that I did not feel it should be our responsibility to absorb the consequences given that her department did not have the wherewithal to review their own policy and verify that policy. I furthermore indicated that the vehicle, which has indeed been repaired to "factory standards" is certainly worth the balance on the loan as a collateral vehicle and that state farm is containing to provide full coverage insurance on the vehicle based upon those repairs.

I further iterated that based upon the information provided by her department, the vehicle had been repaired and that there was now an outstanding $6,166 balance due to the collision shop, the amount of the check which Chrysler financial is refusing to sign. ** continued to be combative and rude, stated that we should "read our contract," and made excuses for Chrysler financial's ineptness and false information regarding the repairs to the vehicle. At that time, I asked ** to speak with her supervisor, which she declined, stating that "there is nobody else who can or will speak with you."

I told her that this was unacceptable, demanded that the check be returned, and stated that my daughter would not be paying off the balance on the loan, but that she would continue to make timely payments on the loan with Chrysler until the matter was resolved. Furthermore, I informed ** that I would be going well above her head within the Chrysler corporation to resolve the matter. ** then stated that she was going to close the account and report my daughter to the collections department for not paying the loan. To my knowledge, Chrysler financial cannot do this as they have accepted my daughter's payments and have "cashed" those payments each and every time.

Given the information above and the inadequacy and inept behavior of the insurance resolution group, I do not feel that my daughter (who is a full time student) should have to relinquish $1,700 of the insurance settlement check to pay off a loan that is in good standing nor do I feel that Chrysler financial should "stronghold" and "threaten" her or the status of this loan to achieve its own wishes. Furthermore, based upon the repairs performed by the shop as well as assessments by state farm, the repaired vehicle is more than worth the balance of the loan in a collateral situation. Ultimately, however, this situation would not have arisen had Chrysler financial provided us with accurate information from the beginning.

This most certainly would have made a difference in how the matter was addressed and would not have placed us in a financial hardship pending coming up with $1,700 to cover the loan. Not only has Chrysler financial demonstrated less than acceptable customer service relations, they have provided false and fraudulent information to the customer, failed to investigate and understand their own policies, and are now covering their own inept "asses" by punishing the customer. We are certainly more than willing to honor our loan and continue timely payments to Chrysler corporation, but will not suffer the consequences that have arisen due to Chrysler's own stupidity.

The customer should never be punished for an employee's inability to comprehend, understand, and/or investigate a matter such that the matter escalates and spins out of control to the detriment of a) the customer and b) Chrysler financials further interactions with potential customers. We have tried to locate an email address to complain to parties that are not customer service and have been completely unsuccessful. I guess Chrysler must have something to hide, eh? Note: anybody considering using Chrysler financial to finance their vehicle should definitely consider going somewhere else! Chrysler financial does not care about the customer, is willing to lie to the customer rather than accurately present facts, and will bully at all costs!

Replies
Morons at Chrysler
By -

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Apparently Chrysler Financial has nothing but morons working for them. I have been having problems since December, 2004. I had a Chrysler Voyager which was leased. We also had a Dodge Ram truck. We took the leased van back and traded the truck in for a new 2005 Chrysler Sebring. Nice car.

The first complaint is that Chrysler had the van inspected (because it was leased) for any damage and/or mileage overage. When I got home from work and found the paperwork left by the guy who inspected the vehicle I was shocked to learn that he put down we had gone over our mileage. I know this wasn't so because I had checked our contract and we had gotten the highest amount we could which was 15,000 miles a year (4 years), 60,000. We were under at that time by about 8,000 miles.

However, the inspector had us at 45,000 miles per our contract and had put down the amount from our odometer. Hence we were over. I called them about this and stated that our contract was for 60,000 miles and we were not over. After all was said and done when we returned the leased van and traded the truck, we came out with the Chrysler Sebring and thought everything was okay. This has not been the case.

First of all, Chrysler Financial has sent me invoices stating I owe for the damage and the mileage overage. This was not the case because at the time of the financing for the new vehicle, everything was rolled into the new loan which was written up by the dealership. There was no mileage overage because we were still under by a few thousand miles. However, when Chrysler Financial got the paperwork they took the mileage from the truck as the mileage from the van even though the paperwork states the mileage is from the Dodge Ram.

So here they have payment for the damage and they are trying to get money for mileage overage that doesn't exist. Now they claim there is a disposition fee of $275.00. Nothing was ever mentioned to me during the sale of the new vehicle. I also do not have a bill from Chrysler stating that is all that is owed. No, I have bills coming to me regarding damage and mileage overage.

When I spoke to someone on the phone the beginning of May (2005) I first had to go through the whole spiel about what had been transpiring about what is owed. (I have been doing this since December, 2004). I said if that is all that is owed (and I still am not sure about any disposition fee) I would pay it. I was asked to pay it over the phone (a $7.00 fee) and at first I was going to. Then I thought better of it because if Chrysler still doesn't have their file right (or their system) that I don't have for any mileage overage then I don't want them to have access to my credit card and at some point decide that if they can't get me to pay on my own that they take it themselves. (This has been done by other companies.)

I told that person I would mail in the payment. I did not state I would mail it that day. I did tell her that I wanted a new bill stating that all I owe is the disposition fee of $275 and that everything else has been straightened out. I had recently sold my house and put everything in storage (prior to our move out of state). I got a post office box and at the same time I had a change of address put in. I never received anything from Chrysler.

I received a call on my cell phone on Wednesday, June 1 while I was at the doctor's office. I didn't get his name but he apparently was my "account manager." He asked me if I was going to make the payment. I told him I was still waiting for the invoice. He told me I had to make a payment right then or he would send my file to the collection agency. I snapped. I told him he better not send me to a collection agency, that I had requested a bill and that I wasn't going to pay it over the phone.

He got nasty, I got nasty. I told him I wanted to speak to his manager. He refused to let me speak to a manager. All he said that he was going to note that I refused to make payment and that he was going to send it to a collection agency. I stated I never refused to pay anything, I just wasn't going to pay it over the phone. Needless to say he hung up on me and I never got to speak to a supervisor.

I had to call 411 to get Chrysler's 800 number which I was connected to. The first gentleman I spoke to pulled my file up and stated I owed $766 (plus change). I quickly got irate with him because he I was told I only owed $275.00. (See what I mean about getting their file and system in order?) He put me through to someone else **. She said she was the one I spoke to last time and that her file states I said I would send the payment on the 14th.

This is not what I said I told her the other girl I spoke to I told her that I wanted a new invoice stating all I owed was the $275 since I keep getting invoices with different amounts and clearly every time I call I owe something different. I asked to speak to her supervisor. Of course when I asked them what they titles were I was told they were some sort of a supervisor. I don't believe them. I was told that they have the authority to do things, but when asked for them to do something for you (like extend a few days) they can't.

I was told that they hold a file for 25 days and yet they held mine for 30 and now it was going to a collection agency. First of all, I worked for a law firm for 16 years and never once did I ever hear of anyone being sent to a collection agency after only 30 days. When I asked to speak to her supervisor she refused to let me talk to anyone else. She said I can make a payment over the phone ($7.00 fee) by 10:00 that night. Otherwise, if I didn't, it would be sent to a collection agency.

I told her that I wasn't going to pay the $7.00 fee for the check by phone and I certainly wasn't going to pay for a credit agency. Since Chrysler is contracted with them they can pay. She told me that they mailed me a bill. I never got it. She said that was the Post Office's fault. That's funny, I got all of their other mail.

Needless to say all I got was rudeness, inconsideration, and downright attitude. I hung up on her. When I got home that night I immediately went to the Chrysler website and sent them an email. Chrysler employees talk to you, the customer, like you don't have a choice. They think they are intimidating you but don't let them.

Get back at them. Take a stand. Don't let them bully you. They don't think you know the law. Even if you know the law, they think they have their own law.

Also keep a journal of your troubles with Chrysler (or any company) when you have a dispute. Keep all paperwork. I don't know what these people are thinking (the ones who work for Chrysler) but I believe they are in for a rude awakening. Not by me, but by all of us.

Replies
Poor Payment Reconciliation
By -

I agree, Chrysler Financial can't reconcile payments made by their customers. I leased a car in August of 2007 and my father co-signed with me. In July of 2009 he filed bankruptcy due to my mom being ill with cancer and couldn't afford the medical bills. He made sure that my name was clear of the claim with his lawyer. I always paid my payments on time through their website with no problems.

However, after my father's claim went through they discontinued my allowance to make payments online. With that being in effect, I was forced to call and make a payment (which occurs a processing fee) or mail a check. Each time that I tried to explain to them that I had nothing to do with the bankruptcy they didn't want to hear anything about it. I fell behind in the Summer of 2009 with payments due to trying to help my parents out with medical bills. However, I caught up and at the end of 2009. I made 12 months of payments.

I have my bank statements to prove the electronic payments and checks that were mailed. I made a payment in January of 2010 and then missed February. On 3/18/10 I called to catch up on my payments and the representative told me that I owed January of 2010. I asked for them to send me the statements to show that they have the months mixed up and I'm 30 days late, no 60 days. Their response was they couldn't discuss with me because of the bankruptcy.

Once again, I tried to explain that I had nothing to do with that claim and I should be getting statements and a fair explanation as to why they keep screwing up my payment history. In any event, I made a payment of $758.00 to be up to date on my account. On the morning of 3/19 my Jeep was repossessed. When I called Chrysler they told me that the representative forgot to cancel the order and that I was indeed up to date on my account. But, I need to call their redemption center.

I call them, they then tell me that I owe what is left on the loan? When I question that and prove that I made payments the prior day they then tell me that they need to review the account with a manager and someone will get back to me within an hour. Never did. Called three more times from 8 am - 1 pm. Kept telling me that they couldn't give me any information on what was being decided.

Finally called again and they told me they reviewed the account and that even though I made the payment on 3/18, I still owed March's payment (which was only 2 days late at this point). So much inconsistency it's mind blowing. They then proceeded to tell me that in order to get the car back I had to pay the repo fees + March payment + a copy of mine and my father's proof of income + copy of the insurance policy with Chrysler as the Lien holder + 6 recommendation letters. I seriously blew up.

I was willing to make an extra payment if that meant getting my car back (even though my bank statements show I'm up to date). But I will NOT be bullied into providing paper work and extra fees just to delay their process and Win more money out of my pocket. I have all of my statements printed, copies of cleared checks to prove I'm up to date. Additionally, I have an appointment to see a lawyer on Monday night.

I much rather pay the lawyer fees and get the car back than pay Chrysler anymore money that is not owed to them at this time. They want to fight, I'm ready. I will go all the way to the Attorney General's Office on this one. They had no reason to repo my car. They screwed up, the repo guy never got the canceled notice and now they want me to pay the damages. NO WAY.

Replies
Worthless 4.7 Dodge Engines
By -

SPRINGFIELD, MISSOURI -- I recently found out that Dodge does not make good on their warranties on the 4.7 engine. I have two 1500 Dodge trucks. One has a Hemi the other a 4.7 engine. The 2004 4.7 engine failed while driving on a local highway. I changed the oil every 2000 miles and had proof. When the dodge dealership inspected the engine they said there was too much sludge in the engine and would not honor the warranty. Very upset I went to pick it up and a salesman approached me.

He told me he used to be a service manager for many years and the sludge in my engine was normal and no reason to be void the warranty. He told me to call Daimler Chrysler customer service number and tell them the problem. They concurred that the engine had too much sludge and therefore was not taken care of even though I had proof of oil changes. It was when I began to try to find a replacement that I was told by every wrecking yard that this engine was a joke.

The cheapest engine I could find was a burnt engine that was priced at $1300.00. I sent Daimler a letter telling them I was selling my vehicles and making sure everyone I met knew of their policy not to honor their warranties. The reply was "Oh well, sorry you feel that way but we will not change our mind.” If you have a vehicle with a 4.7 you might consider going to a Ford or Chevrolet. For me a Chrysler will never be in my garage or driveway again.

Replies
Rude & Nasty Customer Service
By -

I recently had the WORSE experience of my life with Chrysler Financial. I am currently going through a rough divorce and have also moved to a totally new city and had fallen behind in a payment (unintentionally). I contacted Chrysler financial to work out a payment plan to bring my account current and while speaking with the customer service agent I received another call from a **, another customer service agent, who ended up leaving a very, very nasty and rude and disrespectful message on my cell phone.

When I got home that evening I was informed by my sister that he had also called there and was very rude to her and when she told him that he needed to speak with me regarding the account and that she could take a number and have me call him back he proceeded to discuss my account details with her anyway. When I called the 800 number listed on my invoice to place a complaint I was transferred to yet another customer service agent who was also rude, nasty and disrespectful and refused to give his name. I explained (again) the situation and asked for a supervisor or manager to which his response was, "We don't have supervisors or Managers that you can speak with."

I then asked for an email address to where I can send a complaint and once again was told, "We don't have an email where you can send complaints." He then stated "Maybe if you would keep your account current then you wouldn't have to worry about people calling you being rude, leaving nasty voice mails and speaking to 3rd parties about your account" and he then hung up on me. I was so appalled and upset that I didn't even call back. I sent a letter to EVERY address that I could find for Daimler/Chrysler and I went on the internet and saw that there were MANY other people who have had similar experiences to mine and it is truly disturbing.

I had to explain my situation to at least 4 different customer service agents and out of the 4 only 1 was understanding. It's not like I'm not trying to pay my bill. If I wasn't then I wouldn't have initiated a call to them to make arrangements to bring the account current. Their agents talk to you as if you are just some kind of a deadbeat or a child. They are very rude and disrespectful. Being in a customer service based field myself, I know that respect and confidentiality are key factors to customer satisfaction.

It's also a fact that "WORD OF MOUTH" can destroy a company but I guess that Chrysler Financial doesn't care about customer service or customer satisfaction. If this is the type of service that I have to look forward to w/ Chrysler Financial then I'm truly sorry that I EVER became a customer and will NEVER finance another vehicle through them. I will also advise ALL OF MY FAMILY MEMBERS AND FRIENDS to do the same. Regretfully a Chrysler Financial Customer.

Replies
My Headache Chrysler-Dodge's Mistake
By -

AUBURN HILLS, MICHIGAN -- Okay I recently fell into some money, and the first thing I wanted to do was buy a vehicle. I was already in love with Dodge so I chose them. I bought a 2005 Dodge Durango in 2008. It was the prettiest truck I had ever see. I loved the deep red color, the space it provided and the smooth ride it gave. I bought the truck from a local dealership, and two days later my check engine light was on.

I was like okay, I called the dealership to let them know what was going on. They said that they rain an emissions test and that everything came out clean. Well long story short I came out of pocket 150 dollars because my truck kept cutting off while I was driving it. This was the first problem I had with Dodge. I let this issue go.

Now my second problem is, my truck came with only one key, why I have no idea. I very rarely drive my and it has less than 100,000 miles on it. Well a couple of days ago I went to go and crank my truck and it crank then turned right back off, I did this three more times, after that the truck completely shut down on me. I was later told that I had a bad key. I'm like a bad key? Yes the truck did not recognize my key anymore.

Now I am not an expert or a mechanic but when a vehicle does that to me that sounds like a manufacturer's mistake. Especially when I have not done or caused any damage to the key or truck myself. So now I am looking at bill of at least 400 to 600 hundred dollars because one key alone is 245 dollars and some change. Dodge, please tell me I did not waste my money on you all. I am tempted to get a lawyer and sue them for all that has gone wrong with this truck.

Replies
Disposition Fee
By -

OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- My lease on my 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee is coming to an end on April 2, 2009. I was planning on getting another Jeep, but Chrysler Financial stopped doing leases as of August 1, 2008. Since I only lease my cars, I decided to go with a Nissan instead. I just made my last lease payment to Chrysler Financial to fulfill my contract. However, to my surprise, I found out that I still owe $425.

I called Chrysler Financial to find out what this extra ‘fee' was for. I was told that since I didn't lease or buy another Chrysler, Jeep or Dodge, I had to pay a $425 disposition fee. I stated that I knew nothing about this fee and asked why the dealership never informed me before I signed the contract. All they said was that they were sorry that no one told me but if they told everyone about the disposition fee, they wouldn't sell any cars.

Then I was told that it was my fault for not reading the contract close enough. One guy I spoke with said, “You must not lease cars very often because every dealership/company has a disposition fee.” The Nissan that I just leased is my sixth car and I have NEVER heard of nor have I paid a disposition fee! (FYI: I called Nissan, Toyota and Honda and NONE of these companies have a disposition fee!)

In the end, I will have no choice but to pay the $425 disposition fee since it was stated in a binding contract, I signed it and I refuse to let it affect my credit. However, it is not going to stop me from running my mouth, letting everyone know about the shady business practice Chrysler Financial is conducting! I know I may only be one person, but word of mouth is powerful and I intend to inform as many people as I can so they don't make the same mistake I did!

Replies
Lease Return Nightmare
By -

On June 29th, 2007 we returned our leased dodge caravan to our local Chrysler dealership. At this time the dealership inspected the vehicle with a fine tooth comb. The van did have a small dent in the rear quarter panel and we did point this out and covered the financial cost of repairing this damage. Besides this dent there was no other damage and the dealership signed us off of the van. We then proceeded to sign a new lease on a new van.

All seemed fine for five months, when we received a telephone call from Chrysler Canada financial on Nov 28th 2007, asking us why we had not yet responded to the letter they had sent us and how did we plan on paying for the $7,000.00 worth of hail damage on the vehicle. I advised them we had received no such letter and more importantly that when we handed the van in there was no hail damage on the van. Well they insisted there was and that this matter was in the hands of Chrysler credit collections department! I again told this lady that we had never received any such letter and would she please fax a copy of this letter off to me asap.

Well that fax was never sent and it took a week of constant calling our dealership before we were able to get a response back from Chrysler collections. We did not have possession of the van for almost 5 months and therefore no care or control of the van. I gather there was indeed a lot of hail damage on the van which clearly happened once Chrysler took possession of the van. What it all boiled down too was Chrysler Canada was not interested in follow the paper trail on this van and arbitrarily decided that we, the lessors of the van would pay for the damage.

Be very careful when you hand back a leased vehicle. Do not take the dealership's word for anything. Take pictures of your returned vehicle and have the dealership sign off on those pictures. Chrysler is interested in one thing and one thing only.. the almighty buck at any cost and to hell with the customer. Unless that customer hasn't yet made the deal, then they care a whole lot. Once the deal is made.. to heck with them!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >