College Works Painting - Page 2

Star Star Star Star Empty star
4.2 out of 5, based on 16 ratings and
25 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Experience With Painter
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- Our house, last painted in 2003, went through an insulation project in August 2011. Numerous holes with grey cement filling appeared all over the external walls. We were, however, not thinking of painting as the last one was done in less than 10 years ago. In March, 2013, however, the situation attracted the attention of Sky of College Works Painting. He initiated contact with us. His enthusiasm and sincerity convinced us that it was time to seriously consider painting all the walls. An agreement was then signed in March, 2013. At our request, the work was completed in June.

It was done within a week. Two painters were assigned to work full time painting while Sky usually came twice a day to check on them, apart from the initial cleaning of all the walls done totally by him. Overall, my wife and I found Sky easy to work with. He was very accommodating to our requests. There were, however, left behind a number of small corners or parts here and there that needed touch-ups. We suspect that the painters might not have been equipped with finer tools like smaller brushes. They might also need closer monitoring. Probably the real test will be the heat of the upcoming summer sun and the dampness of the winter rains. We’ll see.

To assign stars, we would say 4.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Excellent House Painting Experience
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
FLAGSTAFF, ARIZONA -- I recently had the exterior of my house painted by College Works Painting. My crew was led by Zach [snip]. They did an excellent job and met every expectation that we agreed to before the work started. The two most important things to me were that they were extremely detailed when walking the house before the work began and that they did everything that they promised, and did it on time.

They keep the work area organized and put everything away at night and walked the property with me. They also implemented safety measures while working on the roof. All the surfaces were prepped properly before painting and any minor issues that I identified were fixed without question.

I would obviously recommend Zach and his crew to anyone in the Flagstaff area that is looking for quality, reliable house painting.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Intern Year
Posted by on
Rating: 3/51
PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- This is a very frustrating and hard program yet life changing. You will not learn more about people, business, and about yourself with any other internship. DON'T do this for the money. Do it to learn, grow and launch yourself 10 years ahead of your peers. I wouldn't recommend this to people that aren't willing to sacrifice a lot in order to get the most out of this. Working 80+ hours a week may be normal for some people during the summer as it was for me.

If you are competitive and are willing to do what it takes to get to your goal this program will surely test you. I believe this is definitely not for everyone and most people that fail prove it every year.

Everyone's experience is always different from the next person because you will work with a different district manager and you're personality, strengths, and weaknesses are not the same as the manager in the next city over.

I learned a lot but a worked ridiculously hard for it. No regrets.

There are some clients that don't get good service and complain... it's not the company it's you for not caring about your house enough to constantly check progress and on you for hiring the contractor. You hire the manager not college works.

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Soaring Consumer on 06/04/2013:
The amount of spam reviews posted by this company is hilarious.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Challenging internship to propel you to 6 figures before 25
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
AUSTIN, TEXAS -- I started working for this company in 2008 and 09. It was not easy in any way-it was actually one of the hardest things I had ever done mentally as it transformed my view on how the world works. Most people go through life without doing anything truly challenging and this internship was my number 1 career enabling move. The ability to start a business and provide the livelihood for other citizens through gainful employment will give you a leg up over any other applicant for any other business.

My advice to homeowners is:
Make sure you understand that the majority of interns are doing this for the experience and are fully dedicated to the finest quality finished product. This being said you need to personally judge the character of the Branch manager that comes to your home to make sure that is the type of person you wish to work with.

My advice to the painter is:
The branch manager you work for truly cares about the employees making money. The pay structure is identical to a Car Mechanic pay structure which is a great way to determine how much you get paid-if you need additional training to perfect your painting skills the branch manager/district manager/VP will get you ALL the necessary tools for you to make the money you want to make. Ask for help if you need it!

My advice to the Branch Manager is:
This is a great experience and your experience entirely depends on your organization and your willingness to ask for help when you need it from the district manager/VP.

The key to this business is communication!
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Challenging, Professional and Profitable Marketing, Sales and Management Experience.
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
PEORIA, ILLINOIS -- I was recruited while an engineering student at the University of Illinois. After five selective and informative interviews I was hired by the president after shaking hands.

The warnings I had received about the necessary commitment and time demand proved to be well placed. Many people told me I couldn’t do it. However, part of this internship is training in management of your own time. I was trained and tested in accomplishing more than I ever thought possible. I had a full semester of engineering courses, initiated into an honor society and maintained a 3.7 GPA during the spring semester. (You can always handle more than you think.) During the semester I also drove home on the weekends, marketing and selling painting jobs. My record sales in one weekend was right around $15,000, if I recall correctly.

In this internship, hard work pays off. I started the internship believing the abstract principle that hard work pays off. I ended the internship with this principle experimentally confirmed. The sense of satisfaction and accomplishment was overwhelming and gave me a new fire for success. I profited over $27,000 and still had time to fly to Oregon and relax for 10 days before school started back up. My district manager was helpful in motivating me throughout the year and keeping me positive. This internship was the experience of a lifetime and sold me in an interview for a world renowned company the next summer.

But don’t do it if you aren't going to fully commit and make the most out of it. Be prepared to both work hard and enjoy the payroll Friday events.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
John Nicholson on 05/25/2013:
This is nothing but a commercial for a business which may or may not be legit. Make sure you investigate thoroughly before you hand over your hard-earned money on a venture like this. Caveat Emptor
Close commentsAdd reply
Untreated Stucco Patch Work
Posted by on
IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- As have others, I too, struggled financially while going to college and so I thought giving a college student an opportunity to provide income for said student was a noble thing to do. The character of the student who sold us this job gave great assurances regarding the completion of the job to our satisfaction.

Half way through the job, a patched area of stucco was evident prior to the paint being applied and my wife questioned whether or not that would be a problem. The salesman used his favorite reply,"no problem". After painting over the aforementioned area, the finish was entirely different from the rest of the surface area. Told it was unacceptable, the salesman's solution was to add four(4) more coats of paint to the area to which there resulted in no noticeable difference. This area is a direct eyesore to neighbors and passing traffic. My neighbor across the street came over and asked if were going to leave that area untreated and said it was very noticeable from his front yard.

After two(2) discussions with the salesman about how he intended to rectify the problem he said that his company did not do any patch work and that they had contracted only to paint the house. It didn't seem to bother him when he asked me to cut tree branches away from the house or cut back bushes so that his job would be made easier. However, on their website, it states as part of the prep work, College Works.com, will wire-brush flaking and deteriorating stucco as well as stucco-patch large areas. This is a direct contradiction to what was stated by the salesman. The completion of the house is nearly over and the rigidity of the salesman stands.

As this situation is ongoing, I will report the final outcome to these pages in the near future. Arcadia, Calif. is a beautiful area of So. California and I would not any blemish on my home to upset that standing. More to follow.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 08/20/2010:
If you live in Arcadia try giving the Code Service Division a call at 626-574-5436 or 574-5421. While this isn't a code violation, they may be helpful in giving you some advice on dealing with College Painting. It's worth a shot.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Challenging, but Life-Changing
Posted by on
Rating: 4/51
CINCINNATI, OHIO -- In the very beginning, I was recruited at the University of Cincinnati. I went through multiple interviews and eventually was hired as an intern/branch manager. Began training in the Spring and began meeting with homeowners to provide work for the Summer. When Summer rolled around, I hired my painting crews to produce the homes that had decided to work with me back in the Spring. I would definitely recommend the program, especially to anyone looking to work in business or start their own business in the future.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Gain Real Experience With This Internship
Posted on
Rating: 5/51
DURHAM, NORTH CAROLINA -- I have learned so much as an intern with College Works Painting. I have real experience with managing and running my own business that sets me apart from my peers. This internship required hard work and dedication to see success, but I learned how to grow my clientele base, hire and manage employees, satisfy my clients, and control the finances. It was an unforgettable experience.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Painting My House
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- I contracted College Works to paint my home in Sandy Utah. The home is older and had many areas that concerned me. Jonathan and his crew examined these areas and performed the necessary prep work (caulking, scraping, sanding, etc.) that needed to happen prior to painting.

They were very meticulous with their work, and addressed each area on the house thoroughly. Now that the house is painted, it looks absolutely amazing. I am very impressed with their work and recommend them to all.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Great service, better than any painter I have worked with
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- I had my house painted 11 years ago by College Works Painting. I saw the reviews online and thought that others might want to know my job has still held up and does not need to be painted yet.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
copper_works_ on 08/22/2012:
They did a house down the street from me this summer. They did such a good job it is one of the best paint jobs I've ever seen and I was looking very closely. They had a two day cookout and got the job done.
CUontheFlipSide on 08/24/2012:
Does anyone else feel a little shill in the air tonight?
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >