Comcast Corporation

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 114 ratings and
427 reviews & complaints.
www.comcast.com
Product/Services | Related Resources
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HIALEAH, FLORIDA -- In my 49 years of existence I have never written a letter of complaint but I am so APPALLED at Comcast Customer Service that I feel forced to write my first one. Let me start by saying that I would have never thought a company like Comcast would turn out to be the company with the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

My father'€™s cable went out last Friday, January 17, 2014. He went to the Hialeah Comcast office to advise them of the problem. After waiting in a two hour line they told him that from now on he needed the cable box to be connected. He went home and did just that. However it didn'€™t work. Seeing my father'€™s frustration, because that he is 84 years old and TV is his biggest form of entertainment, I decided to take matters into my own hands and called Comcast for a technical call service.

After going through all of the automated services and sending signals to the cable box Comcast finally agreed that a technician had to service my father. At this point my father had been without cable for three days. A technician was scheduled to come on that Tuesday and never showed. I called to let them know this. Again, a person came on and tried to tell me what to do with the box, etc.

With no apologies given for the not show call they scheduled yet another appointment for Saturday, Jan. 25, 2014. This time they called my dad and by accident my dad pressed the wrong button. Within 20 seconds I was calling Comcast back to let them know of the mistake but they said that appointment couldn'€™t take place anymore and that the earliest they could come was on Wednesday, Jan. 29 for a $30.00 fee. I was very upset and hung up on the guy, called back and was able to get someone friendlier who scheduled a call for the following day, Sunday, Jan. 26, 2014 from 10-12.

By Sunday at 12:00 no one had showed up and when I called they told me that the appointment was cancelled due to a power outage. At this time I was furious. How can an appointment be cancelled due to a power outage when it is obvious that my father'€™s cable service interruption was there before the power outage took place? I felt my blood pressure rising and the lady finally put me through to a supervisor who assured me someone would be there on that day and gave me a priority number of **. She said someone would call me back to give me a time of arrival. Sunday came and went and no one called.

Meanwhile, my poor 84 year old father has been sitting doing nothing waiting for the Comcast technician to come. Today, Monday, January 27, 2014, I called Comcast once again. This time I got someone who told me the computer said that a technician was scheduled to go to my father'€™s house on Wednesday, Jan. 29, from 1:00-“ 3:00. To say that I was angry, frustrated and helpless is an understatement. I hung up, called back and this time the lady told me now that the priority number which I was given on Sunday was never inputted correctly into the computer therefore that is the reason no one ever called.

She proceeded to tell me that a call would take place on Tuesday, Jan. 28, 2014, from 1:00 to 3:00. I told her a service call had to take placed TODAY, Monday, Jan. 27 because my father had been without cable for a week and a half. I proceeded to tell her that she needed to cancel someone else or pay a tech over time but that my father deserved at least that. She told me no problem that she was going to call me back with another priority number and the problem would be resolved today. Needless to say, today came and went and I never got a call back.

I am appalled that these people represent Comcast. My father has a homeowners association which contracts Comcast therefore it is the only reason that keeps us tied to Comcast. If not I would have been gone a long time ago. I have U-Verse and had been thinking of switching over to get Infinity since U-Verse is a little bit overpriced. I wouldn'€™t switch to Comcast even if you told me I could have it for free. What a difference with customer service.

This is not the end of it. My next step is to get the residents' signatures for the association to withdraw from Comcast as I have already found out how many residents are dissatisfied with Comcast'€™s services. I will also post my bad experiences and bad reviews for Comcast on the internet where I see possible. It is the worst company I have ever dealt with. The bad experience has left us aggravated, helpless, used and fooled.

I am a teacher and this morning on my way to work was when I called. I felt so frustrated and upset that I got into a car accident but then again that'€™s a whole different story that I am sure Comcast couldn't care less about. All I heard from your workers is "€œI feel your frustration." I told them that it was obvious they had been trained to say that for by then I had heard it 100 times. I asked them to please stop saying it because it just made me more furious.

I forgot to tell you that after my accident my husband took over the situation and tried taking care of the problem from his job. They told him not to worry that they would take care of it today. Comcast assured that my father would get a call before the service call today. NO ONE CALLED!!! Comcast is truly the worst company I have ever dealt with. They don'€™t care about their customers or anything else and I will make sure that everyone and every possible source of communication finds out about my experience.

Replies
Horrible Support!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA MARIA, CALIFORNIA -- I have been on the phone with tech support numerous times per week for this last month for numerous issues. It seems like every single "tech" I speak to can do nothing but verify my account, reset my box, then try their best to get me off the phone as quick as possible. Last Saturday I upgraded my service from the BlastPlus! package to a Triple Play package with preferred digital HDTV and 50Mb internet.

I was told by the phone sales agent that the TV service would be available within the next hour or two, and that the box would not need to be switched out. I was also told that for the phone service would be unavailable until I received my new modem, and that the existing internet service would remain active on my existing modem. The extra TV channels never came, and I called support to troubleshoot this issue. I was told by an Agent that the service has not been activated on my box yet, and that I should call back tomorrow if its still not working.

Next day, still do not have the channels. Called support again, and spoke to another agent who told me that the upgraded package has not been activated on my equipment yet, but that he would be happy to activate it for me. He said that he activated the services on my equipment, and to give it an hour or so before the upgraded services become available.

Two hours later, still no channels, so I called back. I spoke to another agent, who asked me what my issue was. I told him that I recently upgraded my services and that the changes still have not taken effect. CST said that the package has a work order that has not been completed yet, and that to complete the work order I would need to speak with someone from billing. I told him that the previous agent said that he had activated the new services onto my equipment, and he insisted that there is a pending work order stopping the service from working, and that he could not do it on his end.

I asked to speak with a manager, and was told that there is no manager available and that one would call me back within 30 minutes if I gave him my callback number. I gave the agent my callback number, and waited. I did not receive a call back.

Fast forward to today, when I come home from work to find that both TV and internet are both down completely. I contact support again, and am told by agent (**, was told her operator id was **) to connect my new modem. Connect the modem, and get no service. I was told that this issue would need to be escalated, and that she would get a Comcast special care agent(?) on the line with me to assist further. Was transferred to another queue, and was greeted by a woman named ** (Agent id **) who answered the phone and asked me what my issue was.

The previous agent did not give her any information whatsoever regarding my case, just transferred me to another call queue. I had to re-verify my account again, and give her the history of what has been going on. Agent resets my box and modem, neither come online. Agent then said that she would need to escalate the issue to a level two tech. I told her that she just did the same thing that the last agent did, and asked to speak with a manager. She said that a manager was unavailable, and that I should at least try to speak with the level two tech to try to resolve my issue.

I asked the agent to please get the level two agent on the line before transferring me so that she can give him some info regarding my issue so we would not have to start from the beginning all over again. The agent said that she would do that, and put me on hold. 15 seconds later, I get cold transferred to another queue. I was greeted by agent ** (agent id **), who started from scratch asking me what my issue was and if I could verify my account info. The previous agent did not speak to her at all. I verified my account info AGAIN, and gave them a rundown of my issue AGAIN, and was told by the agent that she would run a diagnostic on my box.

After 5 minutes, she told me that my box is showing that it is offline. She then reset my box and modem, and told me to call back in a half hour if service is not restored. I still asked to speak with a supervisor regarding the way things have been going, and am again told that a supervisor was unavailable. I told the agent that I would wait, and waited on the line, checking in every couple minutes. After about 20 minutes, I was hung up on. Internet service has since come up, TV however is completely down still. No supervisor has called me back, and I do not want to call support again just so they can reset my box and tell me to call tomorrow.

What is going on with phone support? Every time I call, the next agent has no idea what happened in the previous calls. I don't know if it is their standard policy to leave no notation when a customer calls support or what, but this is ridiculous. I've asked agents for case id's, and I am told that they cannot give me a case id, but they are taking notes. Then when I speak with the next agent, when I ask they say they see no notation on my account. Nobody has any clue what the last guy did, which I guess doesn't matter because all they do is reset the box anyway. Every time I ask for a supervisor I am told they are unavailable, or that one will call me back.

I get wildly different agent numbers as well. I am not even sure they are giving me their correct names and agent numbers. It's as though phone support has no accountability whatsoever. If anyone else has had issues like mine, please chime in.

Replies
Don't Take an Attitude With Me
By -

COLORADO -- So I just noticed my voice mail light blinking on my phone, and checked the message. It was a call from Comcast, telling me if they cannot get in touch with me, my appointment for today would be cancelled. What! I have a scheduled appointment for tomorrow, October 12, 2011.

When I call them back to tell them, they are insisting my appointment is for today, October 11, 2011. I tell them no, it's for tomorrow, because we have dental cleaning appointments today, and have had this dental appointment for 3 months, so I know not to schedule anything for today. I would not waste some technician's time by having them come out when we aren't home. I was very polite, and just wanted to clear things up, which is the error on their part.

The guy on the other end cops an attitude with me, telling me he'll try to reschedule me for tomorrow. I say, "No we already have an appointment for tomorrow, and here is my reference number." I can hear him sighing loudly as if I'm annoying him. I'm not crazy, I know when I make appointments and mark my calendar. I made this appointment last Tuesday, which was October 4, 2011, for tomorrow October 12, 2011. I understand errors happens, but I didn't make the error and should not have to be treated rudely, when I was polite and remained polite during the entire phone call. I said thank you and good bye, and was just hung up on.

All I wanted was for them to make sure my scheduled appointment for tomorrow is still scheduled, and for some reason, they keep insisting I'm wrong. Is it that difficult to understand that today is not our appointment. So at this point, he says someone should be out here tomorrow. We'll be here waiting for our scheduled tech to arrive, tomorrow October 12, 2011 between 1-3 PM.

Has anyone been having this issue? This is our problem, when we go into the free section for movies, the TCM (Turner Classic Movies) which is free, now all say "BUY," but we get the channel so this category is free. It's been free for 4 years, and it's part of our package. So the tech department could not do anything for us by phone, so they said we need a tech to come to our home. I think it's so weird this is happening in our free category, but hopefully the tech, if they show up, can help us.

Replies
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA -- Contacted Comcast on Sept 22nd to cancel services, spoke with a representative who was processing the request and informed me the prorated balance would be refunded to my account. November 7th, received a bill from Comcast for service, contacted once again and discussed situation with another rep. In review he saw that the account was supposed to be cancelled, according to him, on the 24th. I argued and stated I had called on the 22nd but after a minute conceded the two days wasn't worth arguing any further. The agent agreed to backdate the cancellation to the 24th and refund the unused portion of my services.

November 16th, opened a bill from Comcast showing an outstanding charge of $67. Contacted Comcast immediately and after 2 reps found out this was a $90 charge for non-return equipment. I stated we had never been told we needed to return the equipment and that we would do so immediately. Equipment was returned on Nov 17th to a Comcast brick and mortar facility and a receipt showing the return was obtained.

Early December, contacted Comcast again to complete closing out the account. Agent stated it was in process but didn't see the returned equipment. December 29th, contacted Comcast yet again as I had not received the outstanding credit. Spoke to an agent who informed me that I had not received any credit because I was being charged for services from the backdated cancellation of Sept 24th through to November 17th when I returned my device. I disputed stating I had done what was required and it was Comcast's issue if they couldn't disconnect service after it was requested.

I was told a research ticket was filed for their back office team to investigate internet usage to determine if they could complete the credit. I was told if there was no usage that the credit would be applied. I was told a supervisor would contact me within 2 weeks with the results – no contact ever.

January 15th Contacted Comcast, was routed through 4 agents, finally to a retention agent. After providing a detailed update of what has occurred provided a $60 credit and stated the Supervisor would have to provide the remaining amount but he/she was not in and would not be back in the office until that Thursday but when they arrive back they would process the remaining credit to 0 out the account and contact me – no contact ever.

I contacted Comcast on January 22nd, finally reaching an agent after working my way through the sales department. I again explained my situation to a Billing representative who stated he couldn't help. I asked for a supervisor and was promptly disconnected. Second call January 22nd, again routed through sales - got a hold of an agent named **. He reviewed my account and was working on making the credit to the account when, surprise, promptly disconnected.

It has been 4 months since cancelling my services. I am due approximately $23 in refund, yet Comcast has charged me $90 for equipment that I returned and haven't been credited, in fact they have refused to provide a credit for the equipment yet they are in possession of it. I still don't have my refund, I have been put into collections and threatened to report the past due amount to the credit bureaus. I have performed my duties in this relationship while Comcast has continually failed to follow up on their commitments. I want the account closed, my payment refunded and a guarantee nothing will be reported to the credit reporting bureaus.

Replies
Feeling Lied To and Frustrated
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICO, CALIFORNIA -- I have had Comcast for 4 years now. Overall, the product works and I am pleased. However, when there is a problem, it is HORRIBLE! These last few months have been the worst service I have gotten from any company ever! To be honest, I am frustrated at the lack of customer service and what seems to be poor communication within the Comcast Company.

From March 1st until the end of May, I did not receive Comcast Internet service because of ongoing and unresolved issues. During this time I still paid anywhere from $48-$79 per month. The Internet was shutting off multiple times a day, leaving a small window of an hour or so to use it. We would attempt to reset the modem, check for loose cables, stop and restart everything, but most times this did not work. When that was the case, I had to call the Comcast office and have them restart our modem from their end. I did this anywhere from 2-7 times a week for three months.

Since March 1st, I have called numerous times! I have called to have a technician come out and check the internet connection at least four times, I have called to have assistance restarting our modem 30+ times, I have gone in to exchange our modem twice, and I have even called to attempt to resolve our billing 6+ times. It took THREE MONTHS and EIGHT DAYS, for the Internet issues to even begin being resolved! I feel that I have been paying a company to lie to me in order to placate my anger while they do nothing to resolve the issues.

Here is a short summary of my life with Comcast in the last three months: Four Technicians came to the home and claimed they had “fixed the problem.” Within an hour, the Internet was once again broken. On the phone daily, employees promise that the issue is resolved. The Internet would crash within the hour. Told that wiring in the house may need to be fixed to resolve issue. Rewired home and problem persists. Told that Comcast wiring in the neighborhood is broken. Neighborhood technician fixes the problem and the problem continues. Went to the Comcast office to try two new modems. Problem unresolved and monthly bill is raised.

I have noticed my service bill has gone up since April 1st. I do not understand nor do I want to pay since I have not received any services promised for March, April or May. When I call, I am told a supervisor is not in, they are on a trip, and they are too busy to answer my call. I called the billing department around May 28th and was promised that a supervisor would be calling me back no later than June 4th to resolve the issue. This never happened. I called back in an attempt to have the conversation I was promised and was told that my credits are on hold and a supervisor is not in at the moment to discuss it further.

Many times I have been told that I will get a credit on my account but this is never given. It wasn't until I spoke with someone from the Loyalties department that I was finally helped with my billing. This was, however, after I threatened to cancel my service due to the employee demeaning and accusing me! I am unimpressed.

Replies
Awful Customer Service!!!! Bad Business! Comcast Ripping People Off!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DANIA BEACH, FLORIDA -- I have NEVER had such a nasty experience with anything that I have with Comcast! Here is the story: I was living in a condo where the cable was included and I have to pay only for the internet. I chose Blast Internet and was paying $34.99 per month plus all the fees. The total bill was $43.47.

In the beginning of April I was moving to the new community. I called Comcast to set up the move. The representative informed me that the cable is not included anymore, and asked me what services I want to have. I told her, that I want to keep my Blast internet as to the cable I only watch TNT, FX, SYFY and NBA. The representative told me that these channels are in the Digital Starter package and the price for the internet and this cable will be $54.99 + fees. I agreed even though I couldn't understand why the bill is so high. I will be paying now $73.47 for internet + cable TV with Digital starter package.

My services worked for 3 days, after that everything went OFF and it says: Requires Activation. Called Comcast 5 times to do the activation – nothing helped. Finally they said that the technician has to come over to see what's wrong. The technician came on April 23. Mind you, I was without service for 2 weeks already. The technician has to re-wire the house, because however connected it the first time made a mistake! Also the technician informed me that I have only Limited Basic TV. I was really frustrated.

Called Comcast AGAIN!!!!! Spoke with really nice representative who informed that the $54.99 per month is a promotion for Blast Internet + Limited Basic TV! I was like: ‘But that's not what I was told!” He apologized and told me that he will contact the Resolution department so they can fix the situation.

The resolution department then informed him that even though they don't have the package for this price – they will create the package specifically for me, so I will have Digital Starter TV + Blast Internet for $54.99. The representative informed me, that Resolution department will create a package and will take them 1-3 days and they will contact me. NOBODY DID!

I called the Resolution department on April 25 to check the status. The representative was really nasty and told me that the only way he can do it is for me to pay $89.99. I got frustrated and told him that the previous representative assured me that they can do it and about the price and also he was in contact with the resolution department. “That's not true! I apologize for miscommunication...” And so on and so forth. I asked to talk to the supervisor – He said that the supervisor is not available and he can create a memo, so that the supervisor will get back to me within 24-48 hours. Guess what? Nobody did get back to me.

Today is April 28, I will pay for this month service which I didn't have $73.47. I called Comcast again – got the same response about $89.99 + fees. Comcast is ripping people off. In my new community Comcast has internet monopoly, so not any other company can provide the internet service. And as everybody knows, only when you bundle you can get the decent pricing. My friend lives in North Miami – she is paying $64 for Blast Internet + Digital Starter package (fees included). And since I live in the community where Comcast has monopoly – I will pay $105 per month for the same services!!!

BIGGEST LEGALIZED SCAM EVER!!! AWFUL CUSTOMER SERVICE!!! COMCAST IS RIPPING PEOPLE OFF!!! I would gladly cancel the service, but I can't, because nobody will be able to provide internet for me. I'm stuck with Comcast! After so many years with Comcast this all came as a nasty surprise! I was really under the impression that Comcast has nice service in all areas!! I was mistaken!!! I would NEVER recommend Comcast to anybody and will definitely post my story everywhere!! What an awful, nasty and frustrating experience!!! BAD BUSINESS!!! AWFUL COMPANY!!!

Replies
Devious? Or Merely Stupid?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONCORD, CALIFORNIA -- So, we rely heavily on WiFi in our house, and Comcast was the only company that could offer enough mbps to meet our needs (AT&T came close, but we had 'have cable, too' in order to get the higher WiFi). The sales representative I got on the phone way over-promised and utterly undelivered. According to her, we could get a Triple Play of the high speed Internet we needed, as well as phone and 80 channels of cable (including HBO) - all for $119 per month. Additionally, she said, she could charge us $30 for the install fee (usually $99). I told her I needed to talk to my wife about it, and she agreed to call me the next day.

What she did instead - She proceeded to process the order, and the next day (unbeknownst to us) had a technician come over and flip the Comcast switch (previous occupant had Comcast). At that point, Comcast started charging us for service, even though there had been no install, and I had not yet determined what package I wanted. Additionally, when I called back the next day I was told that the actual cost of the package was going to be $159 per month, and there was no way that the install could be done at $30 (which I was fine with, but why lie?). The person assisting looked at the order she had placed and it was a mess.

The following month - Received a whopping bill for both service and install, since they started billing us 2 weeks before the actual install. Called to complain, and was told that there was nothing they could do: service started the day they flipped the switch. As I was happy with the phone/internet (we dropped the TV because the original representative had lied to us and there was no HBO included), I agreed to pay the bill.

I paid the bill, and 5 days later received a notification threatening that our service would be pulled due to non-payment. Checked my bill pay and saw that the payment I had sent to them had been deducted from my account. Called them up and asked if they'd received payment. They said they typically receive notification of payment within 3 days of being paid online.

I pointed out that it was FIVE days, and is my service at risk of being pulled? I was advised that I should check it again in a couple of days ('because it takes a few days for payments to post,' though I again pointed out that it had been), and if my service gets interrupted they would reinstate it upon receipt of payment for 'ONLY A $25 RECONNECT FEE!!!' Total bargain, when you pay your bills online and on time... ARE THEY KIDDING ME???

This is by far the worst customer service I've experienced, bar none. If their products didn't work acceptably (and weren't the only ones who could offer the wireless speeds we need), I would drop them faster than a politician can lie. I cannot believe these folks haven't gone bankrupt. Yet.

Replies
Comcast reps are very good at apologizing, and no wonder.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- Comcast service representatives are so good at apologizing because they must have to do it so often. My experience started with over 40 minutes on the phone attempting to request a simple disconnect of services, which included: Waiting on hold, only to be finally transferred to a representative on the west coast, after providing my name, address and account number. I live on the east coast. The west coast representative then told me he would have to transfer me to someone else. Another 5 to 10 minutes on hold. I was then asked to repeat all details I had just provided; ie account number, name, address, etc.

This was the first week of July, and I identified my disconnect date as July 31st. The representative then asked me for a forwarding address to send the final invoice. Since I'm moving to Canada, I provided the address of the house I'm moving into, there. The representative was confused, asking me what state the Canadian province of Nova Scotia is in... He then asked me for the zip code there. I explained to him that Canada has postal codes, which are made up of numbers and letters. I then read the 6 digit postal code to him. He told me he was unable to accept it, and that the address had to be in the United States.

I told him that after July 31st I would not have a US address, and that it shocked me that a company like Comcast can't sent a piece of mail outside American borders, especially to a country like Canada that shares international borders with the US. I told him that this was Comcast's problem, not mine and we ended the call.

About a week later, on July 15th, I decided to take my Comcast television cable-boxes to a local Comcast service center and asked the fellow behind the counter to double check that my disconnect date was still July 31st, as I wanted to continue having access to my email account. He happily assured me that there would be no issues. And just to be sure, as I was leaving I asked him to confirm it again. He told me there would be no problem, that his system said it was, in fact, July 31st.

Of course about an hour later, when I attempted to access my email account from my girlfriend's home office, I could not get into the account. The prompt told me the account was closed. So another 30 minutes on the phone with an apologizing representative, but eventually just to be told that I would have to call back the next morning to speak with another department.

The next morning I called again, and was assured by another apologizing representative that my email was back online. I asked her to wait while I checked. I couldn't get in, and she sounded shocked. She apologized again and transferred me to another representative. This person told me that I would have to re-boot my router. The problem here was that I was not at home, I was still at my girlfriend's. I was an hour away from my condo, and was planning on leaving town and not returning to my condo for 10 days.

I was getting angry and the representative told me there was no other alternative. So after nearly another 40 minutes on the phone, I hung up and drove back to my condo (an hour's drive), turned on the computer, and called Comcast, again. She checked the router remotely and told me all was fixed. But then, I couldn't even get on the internet. The rep, continually apologizing, told me the only solution was now to send a service person to the condo, but couldn't get someone there for two days.

Remember, by this time, I had planned to be 3 hours north of the city on my vacation and I could not wait any longer to leave. I told the Comcast representative that I was extremely frustrated and that their customer service was nothing short of abysmal. I told her that I would put rabbit ears on my roof before ever purchasing Comcast services again.

And finally (the fun continues) yesterday, the new tenants of the condo who move in August 1st emailed me to tell me that they can't open a new account with Comcast because there is no disconnect in place from me. After blowing about 2 gaskets, I called Comcast, again. After another 40 minutes of apologies and comments like "I really don't know how this happened" by the rep, I was able to re-activate the disconnect. Again, lots of apologizing.

I'd estimate that this series of events ate up nearly 3 hours of my time, and caused me to be extremely late for my first stop on my working vacation. And that doesn't account for the stress and frustration I experienced. Comcast is a large company, which benefits from a monopoly on neighborhoods in Boston. In other words, my neighborhood in Boston, which is an older established area, is not serviced by Verizon, RCN, or any other providers of internet, TV and phone. Therefore I had no choice but to use Comcast.

At the end of the day Comcast, which promotes their 24/7 customer service guarantees and trains people to apologize endlessly, doesn't really have to care about their customers. Hell will freeze over before I would ever use them again, and that will be a long time, even with global warming.

Replies
Most Corrupt/Inept Company We've Ever Dealt With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBURY, MINNESOTA -- In Jan. of 2014 we signed on with Comcast for cable TV/phone/internet. They were offering a two-year "special" (with a cancellation fee for the first year) and, per my request, our sales representative wrote on our Purchase Order exactly what it would cost for the second year. Immediately our bills were way too high, but after my husband argued with them, they dropped down to the agreed amount. But after the year was up, sky-high went the bills again.

I requested a better copy of our signed Purchase Order with the rep's notes, as our customer copy wasn't totally legible. This seemed like such a simple request, which any decent company would comply with. I made multiple phone calls and got multiple stories - the Service Order had been archived; it no longer existed; if we went to our local Comcast store, they would have a copy for us.

I went there and was told it had been scanned and shredded. I asked for a copy of the scan. I was yelled at. I called my husband and the "Customer Support" person yelled at him on the phone. She said, "Our sales reps promise this stuff all the time, but we can't make any money THAT way!" When she finally looked at the Service Order copy I did have, she said she could see there was more writing on it, and she would talk to her supervisor and they would call us the VERY NEXT DAY to reduce our bill to what we felt it should be. She insisted on shaking my hand. No one ever called.

I filed a Complaint with our state Attorney General - merely asking that Comcast provide us a better copy of our Service Order and then abide by it. Then we received a copy of an "Agreement" from them in the mail. It claimed we had "requested" this new Agreement, which locked us into a two-year contract with a large cancellation fee.

Yesterday we received a call from a Comcast representative (she only called because of the AG Complaint - plus we had complained to our local cable franchise office). We recorded the call. She said that on the date I had been in their store, one of us asked for this two-year contract. That is hogwash. But to make things worse, she insisted that this "Agreement" had then been verified with us over the phone by their "3rd-party verification vendor."

Neither of us has ever taken a call from such a person (and, no one else lives here…). When I asked her which one of us did that, she said WE should know that. When I asked for proof (like a recording?), she said they would not give us that, and we could take them to court.

We are now giving up cable TV (they're the only provider here), and switching our phone/internet company. The representative threatened a cancellation fee. I have a feeling this isn't over yet. I cannot describe how stunned we are by all this. The Comcast store promised me a refund of the overcharges, but I know that will never happen. But if they try to charge us one more penny, we will be in Conciliation Court. Also, thank you to our state Senator Franken who was instrumental in today quashing the Comcast/Time Warner merger. This company is already w-a-y too big for its britches.

Update 04/26/2015:

I am adding part of that recent conversation with Comcast. (In our state, you can record your own phone conversations. However, I did tell her at the end that it had been recorded.)
Comcast: Our position remains the same in regards to the response that I forwarded to the Attorney General… I did inform him that we do have an Agreement on file… where the Agreement was placed through a third-party verification process on March 24th of 2015... Third-party verification means that you agreed to the upgrade or the promotional pricing that was offered.
Hubby: On March 24 of 2015??
Me: Nobody agreed to anything, ma'am… We got [an Agreement form] that was dated this year which … locks us into two years with a big cancellation fee. Nobody agreed to that…
Comcast: Well, [it's] correct because we did get that third-party acceptance.
Hubby: Can we talk about that third-party acceptance?
Comcast: I'm trying to explain it to you. When you agreed to the promotion and the promotion was added, we send all of our customers through third-party agreements whenever there's any contracts or you're signing up for a special promotional offer that lasts for up to 24 months. And with this particular Agreement … either you had called because the Agreement had bumped up… and so when you agreed to another Agreement, then that nulls out the first one, so you did get a copy … of the recent one that was agreed upon on March…
Me: Who agreed?
Comcast: The upgrade was placed. And you had contacted us in regards to it. Because the Agreement…
Me: Who agreed?
Comcast: … a verbal agreement over the phone.
Me: Who agreed?
Comcast: Why don't you tell me. Why don't both- because both of you are on the phone.
Me: But who agreed?
Comcast: Both of you are on the phone, so one of you can tell me who agreed.
Hubby: Neither one of us agreed.
Me: Neither one of us agreed. Do you have this recorded?
Comcast: We have it on file.
Me: You do. We would like a recording of who agreed.
Comcast: Well, you won't get that recording.
Me: I'm sure we won't because no one did.
Comcast: But the Agreement has been sent to you…
Hubby: I want to make sure I'm clear on this. You are saying that either C___ or I talked...
Comcast: That is correct.
Me: Which one? Which one of us? If you have it recorded…
Comcast: Either you…
Me: Well, we don't sound the same.
Comcast: Ma'am, that's done through a third party. It's not even done by Comcast. A third party has this information.
Me: Who is the third party, ma'am?
Comcast: It is our vendor…
Me: I'm sorry, who is the vendor?
Comcast: If you want that information, then you can either take us to court to get it because that's not…
Me: Take you to court to figure out who signed up for a two-year…??!
Comcast: But you're asking me questions that are not relevant to the issue here.
Hubby: Of COURSE they're relevant!
Comcast: OK, so what I'm saying to you is that we have an Agreement on file, which you agreed to … on March 24 of 2015 …
Me: You say that some third-party vendor (quote, unquote) signed us up over the phone, somebody gave permission, you won't tell us who this vendor is, and you say go to court to find out?
Comcast: No, here's what I'm saying to you, to clarify it. You agreed with Comcast to accept this promotion.
Me: No…
Comcast: OK, you're saying “No,” so it's OK to disagree, but this is what we're showing happened. So during the agreement process, to validate it, we forward it over to a third-party verification process or vendor…
Me: So PROVE that.
Comcast: Ma'am, we sent you a copy of the Agreement.
Me: It is not in my opinion legal to tell somebody they have a contract they have to opt out of when they haven't signed up for it…
Hubby: Before we finish- and this is a yes or no question, and I'd like to complete it before you answer. Are we clear that you won't send us any proof that we participated in a third-party verification and that we-
Comcast: No, no, I'm not going to-
Hubby: You were supposed to let me FINISH.
Comcast: Oh, you go right ahead, sir, I apologize, I thought you were finished.
Hubby: I want to be perfectly clear that you will not send us any proof that we participated in a third-party verification, and that we agreed to something, and that we signed off on something. I want you to just answer yes or no.
Comcast: No, I won't send you any information other than the Agreement that we've already sent you… What I've stated to you is that what she put when she put in that new order…
Me: Who is she?
Comcast: Uh, whoever you spoke with, whenever you upgraded your service, and agreed to with the third-party verification in regards to changing your contract.

I am adding part of our recent conversation with Comcast. (In our state, you can record your own phone conversations. However, I did tell her at the end that it had been recorded.)
Comcast: Our position remains the same in regards to the response that I forwarded to the Attorney General… I did inform him that we do have an Agreement on file… where the Agreement was placed through a third-party verification process on March 24th of 2015... Third-party verification means that you agreed to the upgrade or the promotional pricing that was offered.
Hubby: On March 24 of 2015??
Me: Nobody agreed to anything, ma'am… We got [an Agreement form] that was dated this year which … locks us into two years with a big cancellation fee. Nobody agreed to that…
Comcast: Well, [it's] correct because we did get that third-party acceptance.
Hubby: Can we talk about that third-party acceptance?
Comcast: I'm trying to explain it to you. When you agreed to the promotion and the promotion was added, we send all of our customers through third-party agreements whenever there's any contracts or you're signing up for a special promotional offer that lasts for up to 24 months. And with this particular Agreement … either you had called because the Agreement had bumped up… and so when you agreed to another Agreement, then that nulls out the first one, so you did get a copy … of the recent one that was agreed upon on March…
Me: Who agreed?
Comcast: The upgrade was placed. And you had contacted us in regards to it. Because the Agreement…
Me: Who agreed?
Comcast: … a verbal agreement over the phone.
Me: Who agreed?
Comcast: Why don't you tell me. Why don't both- because both of you are on the phone.
Me: But who agreed?
Comcast: Both of you are on the phone, so one of you can tell me who agreed.
Hubby: Neither one of us agreed.
Me: Neither one of us agreed. Do you have this recorded?
Comcast: We have it on file.
Me: You do. We would like a recording of who agreed.
Comcast: Well, you won't get that recording.
Me: I'm sure we won't because no one did.
Comcast: But the Agreement has been sent to you…
Hubby: I want to make sure I'm clear on this. You are saying that either C___ or I talked...
Comcast: That is correct.
Me: Which one? Which one of us? If you have it recorded…
Comcast: Either you…
Me: Well, we don't sound the same.
Comcast: Ma'am, that's done through a third party. It's not even done by Comcast. A third party has this information.
Me: Who is the third party, ma'am?
Comcast: It is our vendor…
Me: I'm sorry, who is the vendor?
Comcast: If you want that information, then you can either take us to court to get it because that's not…
Me: Take you to court to figure out who signed up for a two-year…??!
Comcast: But you're asking me questions that are not relevant to the issue here.
Hubby: Of COURSE they're relevant!
Comcast: OK, so what I'm saying to you is that we have an Agreement on file, which you agreed to … on March 24 of 2015 …
Me: You say that some third-party vendor (quote, unquote) signed us up over the phone, somebody gave permission, you won't tell us who this vendor is, and you say go to court to find out?
Comcast: No, here's what I'm saying to you, to clarify it. You agreed with Comcast to accept this promotion.
Me: No…
Comcast: OK, you're saying “No,” so it's OK to disagree, but this is what we're showing happened. So during the agreement process, to validate it, we forward it over to a third-party verification process or vendor…
Me: So PROVE that.
Comcast: Ma'am, we sent you a copy of the Agreement.
Me: It is not in my opinion legal to tell somebody they have a contract they have to opt out of when they haven't signed up for it…
Hubby: Before we finish- and this is a yes or no question, and I'd like to complete it before you answer. Are we clear that you won't send us any proof that we participated in a third-party verification and that we-
Comcast: No, no, I'm not going to-
Hubby: You were supposed to let me FINISH.
Comcast: Oh, you go right ahead, sir, I apologize, I thought you were finished.
Hubby: I want to be perfectly clear that you will not send us any proof that we participated in a third-party verification, and that we agreed to something, and that we signed off on something. I want you to just answer yes or no.
Comcast: No, I won't send you any information other than the Agreement that we've already sent you… What I've stated to you is that what she put when she put in that new order…
Me: Who is she?
Comcast: Uh, whoever you spoke with, whenever you upgraded your service, and agreed to with the third-party verification in regards to changing your contract.

Replies
Comcast Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Since July 27, 2014 I have had nothing but issues dealing with your company. I have reached out to you and it continues to serve as no help. It all began when I was going to cancel services that Sunday because I was paying too much and the 300gb data cap. Not sure if any of you all have kids that require service for school, but I do. Which means we need data. We have not once gone over, but I was looking into going back to school myself. Well if I could have got my cap increased.

Anyway, so I make a call to Comcast. The lady was real nice - sold me on the x1 digital preferred plus, 105 tier internet with unlimited data and the phone, for under 150 a month for 1 year. Great let's do this. Scheduled an appointment for Wednesday, I don't know why but I felt like it was too good to be true. Well I researched it and it turned out that you all don't offer unlimited data. But I saw locations that offer 600gb. I called back on Monday - explained what I found.

The lady was like, "Yeah we don't do unlimited data." She was like, "We do have the 600gb that comes with the 105 tier." I was like great. I asked her check and make sure it was all in the system correctly. She said it was not. She said they didn't include the internet. She said she fixed it. Tuesday rolls around and since there was already 1 error and already been misinformed once thought I would just verify. Lady got on the phone - confirmed all the information, I confirmed the 600 gb. Everything was ready to go.

Wednesday tech shows up 2 minutes late, not too bad. Looks at the paper work as "I oh can't do nothing - codes are wrong." Makes a couple calls and leaves. So I call again, ** was like, "Yeah codes are all wrong," said, "No problem. We will get them fixed and get a tech back out there to you." He told me had to put the schedule in for Monday just to hold a time. Went over what I had ordered and confirmed the data limit of 600gb. Said he was giving it to his supervisor so we could rush a tech out, plus just to make sure he got all incorrect codes off.

Thursday rolls around - no word so I call, said no tech was available today maybe Friday. Said ok - had representative confirm what was ordered. Had her confirm the data cap. She said 600. Friday arrives. No word. I called and explained this needs to be done today cause otherwise will increase the proration and cause me a double bill. She said would take care of that. Had her confirm the account again and what was the data cap 600. Said ok. Saturday no tech confirmed all. Sunday I took a day off from dealing with Comcast.

Monday arrives tech showed up, and was only going to install the internet. Explained no supposed to be internet and x1. He agrees to go and get a box. Finally all installed. Finally. Well wish that was the end. That night pulled up my data cap info still reporting 300. Figured maybe it takes 24 hours to update. So I look the next morning still 300. Called and was told all those. People I spoke to were wrong. Asked for a supervisor, I got with attitude will not do you any good. Will tell you the same thing. I said ok.

Reached to corporate, nothing but "sorry and we will take care of teaching" but not happening. Even at 1 point ** with corporate was like, "Yeah you are a part of the 600gb data area." 2 hours later "sorry no you're not." Plus the internet is no faster and constantly drops. They sent a Tech out and that night it was great.

Next day same thing. COMCAST I am calling you out. I have given you the chance to honor what was promised. I have listen and defended for years. You have promised a better Comcast and better customer service. Here is your chance to deliver what your people have promised. Not asking for anything but was promised, if can't make it happen in residential give me my package as a business customer. Do whatever is necessary. Now you all will not even return my call.

So Comcast, here is your chance to prove you are that company you claim to be. Brian Roberts CEO this is your company - make changes. Also someone truly fix my internet. I am starting to think it is being done intentional because you want to get back at me for calling you out on promises you have yet to deliver. But I don't think it's a conspiracy. Just think most of your reps are incorrectly trained and have no empowerment. But what does Brian Roberts care, it's not affecting his paycheck. Since 8/22/14 now corporate will not even return my calls.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >