Preview Review

Next Review

Comcast Corporation Cable TV Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Dealing with Comcast is a Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I have been trying order an HD digital box since 12-1-13 and I have finally accepted the fact that I am not going to get one. I will, of course, be charged for it. Six, count them, six times I have made the request and each time I was told they just couldn't understand why my request had not been fulfilled. I have been told they must have used the wrong code or a variety of other excuses. I have spoken with someone in India, Mexico, and the US.

I realize now that the Comcast way is to tell the customer whatever lie is necessary just to get them off the phone. They always want the customer to review right after your contact with CS. They need to contact the customer days later after they realize they were lied to. I am supposed to receive my HD box today by priority mail. I will not hold my breath!

Replies
Advertisement
No Tech Support
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AURORA, ILLINOIS -- Network channels black-out and/or picture break-up since January 2013. This is 9-2013. Right now two channels are blacked out. When on-screen number is called you are directed to pay your bill when it is not due. Regardless, we pay monthly fee if we need a service call and most tech problems can be connected, electronically.

Why is American cable so high priced compared to other countries? Our bill is $169.00 every month with basic cable. How is it Germany and Russia only pay around $40.00 a month and that's for the whole country? Worse of all Xfinity has a monopoly on our apartment building. We cannot change cable company. I think that is why we get sloppy service. That and lack of proper training and language barriers.

These excessive fees should include free scheduled routine service visits. Every person hired should be required to do a paid on-the-job in-service training class every week ranging from OJT to ESL to the humanities. They could pay their independent contractors to teach their OJT classes not to mention the plethora of knowledgeable laid off professionals. They may even qualify for a gov't grant. Customer service is a joke. I have been on the phone an entire day until I, finally, got an intelligent representative who was knowledgeable about his job. The solution was so simple but it took me all day to get satisfaction.

Replies
Bill Paid And Sent To Collections
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOBILE, ALABAMA -- My bill was late, paid bill over two years ago. Debt was turned over to collections for payment. When collections called I told them bill had been paid. I wrote the company about bill, I received a hand-written note saying send proof of payment written on my letter and letter sent back to me including the envelope. I sent company inquiring about my account.

Well, I have found check from bank, just wanted to make my comment, this was uncalled for cause you have lazy people working for you looking for their check and time to break and leave. Now I have go to credit bureau to dispute credit collections, in order to clear my credit. You don't have to worry about me getting cable anymore with cable one or Comcast, I'll be sure to spread the word.

Replies
Terrible Cable TV And Lying Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- Over the course of three months, my cable TV has never worked properly despite 4 technicians visiting my home, hours on the phone with XFINITY and several "promises" that it will work along with free months of service. If it wasn't for the free service, I would have gone to satellite long ago - and plan to once my free service is up. I have been double-billed, had either snowy or no reception, no sound, premium channels not working, on-demand not working or some other type of issue at all times throughout my service.

The customer service representatives are rude and many speak poor English, often hanging up on me. I was also promised more channels than I received and then later told I could only get HD channels with an extra HD receiver rented from them - even though the terrible package they now have me on has only 10 HD channels - although I was promised over 75 when I first ordered service. The technicians are consistently late, do not call beforehand so I can travel from my office and are rude and do little to help improve the service - clearly no one wants to work for this terrible company. DO NOT GET XFINITY.

Replies
Advertisement
Comcast Tech Intentionally Keeps Cutting My Cable Wires
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- I subscribed to Comcast for about 17 years. I frequently experienced problems with my reception, poor service, and my bill was getting higher. I live in a fourplex now. About three years ago I decided to change to AT&T Uverse. A couple of days later a Comcast technician came out and cut my Uverse cable. One end was wrapped behind another cord about 15 feet up and the other was lying on the ground. I didn't complain at that time. Two years later I have DirecTV. I came home one night to find that my TV was not receiving a satellite signal. I went outside to find that my cables had been cut again.

Several cables were scattered around the yard along with a piece of siding torn down. I talked to my neighbor next door and discovered that Comcast had come out that day to install her cable. I spent hours on the phone with Comcast trying to get a supervisor to complain. The only contact I could make with a Comcast representative was with service techs outside the country!

Several techs did advise that even though their technician cut the line, Comcast would not be the ones to repair it. What a racket! Now I have to wait 10 days to get DirecTV to come out and repair Comcast's vandalism! I would have liked to think it would be an option for me to return to Comcast... but it ain't happening now!!!

Replies
The Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- Recently switched from AT&T cable TV to Comcast and I don't even have service with them yet and they are already giving me the blues. I went to the store to pick up my DVR boxes, came home to plug them in and they do not work. Contacted Comcast and the representative informed me that a tech would have to come out and connect from the outside (which the lady who set up my service failed to mention), and they would be here between 8 am - 10 am.

So now I'm waiting for an extra 3 days just to get service. I call back the day of the service after 11 am due to the service not being connected and the representative told me that it's an all-day appt and I should be lucky 'cause some people are waiting a week or two to get connected. What the heck, who tells a customer that they should be lucky!!! I can't deal with them so I decided to switch back to AT&T and I'll just deal with the higher bill.

Replies
Cable t.v. Works Less Than 50% of the Time
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- We have had Comcast internet and phone for around a decade, with very few complaints. In January, we "upgraded" to the Xfinity Triple play so we could receive cable t. v. It is now the early days of May, and the Xfinity technicians have been to our house three times. Of the four cable boxes, only one has performed consistently. The digital box has been replaced three times.

A digital converter box has been replaced 4 times (and needs to be replaced again). Another digital converter box has been replaced 3 times (and needs to be replaced again). I have spent many, many hours on Xfinity's Chat ("help") line. Each time, they ooze with confidence as to how they guarantee they will fix the problem. But it is never permanently fixed.

The two boxes that are currently not working were switched-out at the local Comcast/Xfinity brick-and-mortar store a week ago. They didn't even last a week. And in the chat response from Xfinity, they seem to think I should be thrilled that I can return these two boxes--AGAIN--"at no charge." The cable companies' monopolies on their respective towns and cities is disgusting. If there were legitimate alternatives, no consumer would put up with this hideous level of "service". We are going to cancel our Comcast/Xfinity service, all of it, despite us having few complaints about the internet and phone services.

Replies
Comcast - Beware of Sneaky, Added on Charges.
By -

COLORADO -- When people write complaints against Comcast, I can sympathize with the original author, but at the same time, I've posted how well things go whenever we have had Comcast issues. Well today is my turn, to write a complaint.

On April 6, 2010, we had a technician come out to our home, again. We have had the ON-DEMAND service since 2007. We have had Comcast since 2000 when it was first called Adelphia, and service has been fine, until we ordered the ON-DEMAND service which included the box. We have had nothing but trouble with the box in our family room since 2007. They have always come out to our home, replaced the box, and things would work a while, before the trouble and many error messages begin. I started to think maybe it was our TV, so we went and bought a new TV for the family room in August of 2009.

The technician came out, said the box was bad and replaced it, again. We are very used to that. He was late, and they gave us a $20.00 credit along with another 3 months of free HBO due to all the issues this one box causes us. They have also tested the outside wiring, and it's all good. All the other digital boxes in the house work fine, so far anyway. I probably just jinxed us, by saying that.

Here is my complaint. I just went to pay my bill, and it was much higher than normal. I use the automated service to pay by phone. I then take the option for a customer representative. She goes over my bill, and says, "Oh, I see the extra charge," which is $29.99. I ask, "What was that for?" She says, "Oh for the service call on April 6, 2010."

I ask why, after 3 years, and many many service calls are we being charged. She says they only charge for the service call, if the problem is on your end, and not with their equipment. I say, "It was your equipment, again. The digital box was bad. How is that our fault??" She says, "Well for an added amount of $1.45 a month, you can get their service protection plan." I said, "No thank you, I do not want that."

The problems we have with Comcast are not on our end, it is due to their equipment. She was very nice and said she would credit us the $29.99, it would take up to 72 hours. I said thank you, and when I get the credit, I will pay my bill. I think it was a sneaky charge that was added. I always check over my bills because of things like this. I understand it was an error on their part to charge me, I just wonder how many other people do not actually read their bills, just pay what the amount for the month is due.

Replies
Advertisement
Cannot Make This Up
By -

My first round with Comcast was in 2007. One of their contractors was installing new fiber through my front yard. Ended up piercing my water line & cracking my driveway. Cost to fix? More than $6,000. You would not believe what I had to do to get reimbursed. Despite the photos of the actual dig line marks in my grass lining up with crack in driveway, waterline, and cable box (in addition to my water bill going from $20/mo to more than $200 immediately after the dig), you'd think that it wouldn't take almost 4 months to get it replaced.

Additionally, a tech disabled my virus while trying to 'work' on my connectivity, allowing malware/virus on my desktop to the point it took in excess of FOUR hours from powering on to simply load Windows. Of course, Comcast would not reimburse me for that. Round 2. My company required non-wifi, non-DSL internet for telecommuting. At the time, Comcast was running a special in March 2009. Internet was $24.99 with basic cable for $10 more a month for a year with free installation. Pretty good deal that (stupidly) made me try again.

Four different installation techs. 3 were complete idiots. The first one tracked mud through my home - staining my carpet. Another insisted my cabling was feeding in 'through my attic'. Now I'm not a cable installation tech, but I know the cable is fed through the side of my home. The third one was just stupid. The forth one finally got it done - said there were no problems and the previous 3 people did not know what they were doing. Additionally, he 'swapped out' my own personal modem (meaning he took mine) for a new one. That was a hurdle. But it was installed and smooth riding now, right? (Laughing, not a chance.)

First, I was charged for FOUR separate installation fees. Secondly, I was not given the promotional offer advertised. Seems simple enough to call and get it corrected, right? (Not a chance). EVERY month, I mean EVERY month, I had to deal with incorrect bills from late charges, to incorrect fees. I got tired of dealing with the regular service, started just beginning by asking for a supervisor. (Four weeks later, that return call hadn't happened). Service shut of several times when I paid the amount I was told to over the phone but credits were not applied.

Then I learned that Comcast has a team for "reputation management" for Twitter. I tweeted "Comcast sucks" and got someone give me an email address to 'fix' my problem. The problem was not fixed (on a monthly basis), but at least I did not have to sit online for god knows how long, and I had everything in writing. (Thank heaven for that). I emailed the one person I had interacted with ongoing that I had advised them I was canceling Internet service, I had gotten another provider and was fed up with the crappy internet access. But I was charged for the following 3 months, despite regular repeated email insistence to cancel service.

In early March, I'm having my future In-Laws over for brunch. First time I'm meeting them. Big deal. Knock at my door. A Comcast tech is there to collect $149 immediately or they are shutting off service. I tell him he's incorrect and show him the last email exchange advising me that credits had been applied (but weren't). I was absolutely MORTIFIED by this experience and it utterly ruined my brunch.

Promises made yet again, but all talk. TWELVE bills. Not one correct. Not one. I'm still being charged an 'inactive modem fee' in addition to a 'modem fee' - I have told them they are happy to have this one back but they need to require the one they took. I was assured more than a month ago that the situation would be 'resolved' once and for all, but 4 weeks later, still not a peep. I've also advised them to cancel my TV - as it was constantly 'shifting channels' requiring me to reprogram the TV channels (a 3+ hour process with my particular TV). I checked yesterday - more than 3 weeks ago, I notified them to cancel service, but they have yet to cut my service.

I have been interacting with supposedly one of the senior customer service people at corporate. It is completely inconceivable how a company can be so consistently inept? I would rather go without TV at all before dealing with Comcast again. I've fortunately got everything documented for more than 8 months of the lackluster service I've received. I will be working with a local Consumer Reporter later this month to do a story on how atrocious Comcast is. I look forward to sharing my experience with as many people as possible. I am going to digital antenna at this point.

Replies
Just another Comcast story
By -

I have had Comcast phone, internet and cable service problems since they took over from Time Warner. I finally cancelled my phone and internet because at any given time some or all of the services did not work. I have complained to customer service constantly and they have yet to resolve any of those issues.

They lie just about all the time when confronted with the complaints and often try to put the blame on other department personnel. Customer service blames the techs and the techs blame customer service and the problem or issue is never resolved. They are well adept at keeping the customer in limbo and all the while you are paying for services you never receive without any adjustment to your monthly bill.

In the few years with with Comcast I have been double billed for $244.00 and had to fight with them for three months to resolve it. Charged me for an NSF EFT because they entered my bank account info incorrectly, then did not want to refund it even when I provided a letter from my bank stating that the charge was never applied to my bank account. I have been lied to at least a few times or more within all levels of the company including management.

Lost wages taking off work to meet them for appointments, in which on two occasions they never showed up and have yet to offer a credit as per their commercial claims. They have sent technicians to my house at least 7-9 times for a cable card problem. On one occasion the tech sat on my couch and watched basketball on ESPN till I finally told him I had to leave. They have come poorly equipped with multiple cards that aren't programmed properly, or, are for their cable boxes and not TVs. They've stayed for hours at a time, bickered with personnel who are operating the console and some techs have had little or no experience with cable cards at all.

They intended to bill me for a service call when in fact they caused the problem by removing a code from the system and didn't know how to correct it. I had no premium channels since Dec.2009 and only able to receive about 20 or so of the lower tier channels. Three techs came to my house, one in Jan. and two within one week in Feb for the same problem. I finally asked the last tech to remove the card from my account and requested to have my services downgraded to expanded basic. He said he would pass the information to someone and hopefully get them to prorate my account due to the lack of service.

Shortly after he left, I received a call from a lady representative assuring me that she could get my problem resolved if I would give her a chance by re-scheduling a tech to come with more cable cards. She said she felt sure they could get one to work. I declined to which she then offered me an HD box and asked when she could schedule someone to install it. I reluctantly said yes and asked for an evening appointment reminding her that I had already missed enough work because of this situation.

She apologized and assured me that my bill would be credited for the inconvenience and loss of service. The appointment time came and went without anyone showing up. I called the next day to find out what happened and was informed that I never had an appointment after all. I then called to get my bill prorated and after about 30-45 min. of back and forth discussion finally thought we had come to an acceptable amount and I paid the agreed amount immediately after our call ended.

Today, 10 days later, I checked my account only to find that they added all the charges back on my bill and listed them as previous balance due. Looks like they have lied again... I don't know why I believed them in the first place. Now I will cancel my services completely and refuse to pay them another penny. Bottom line... If you are not being treated fairly drop them, they will realize the importance of their customers when the company loses them all.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comcast Corporation Cable TV Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
130 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comcast Corporation
1500 Market St FL 33e
Philadelphia, PA 19102-4782
215-665-1700 (ph)
215-981-7790 (fax)
www.comcast.com
Product/Services
Compare Cable/Satellite Services