Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Trying to Be Fair.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO, ALASKA -- I don't have any photos so I guess "that let's this review out"? Have not read/heard many good things about this company. To be fair though much (not all) of consumer feedback can be found on various sites. How credible can that be? Seems like the only person that is raving about this service is the retired NHL player. Yes, I know his name: please read the Review Guidelines. He may know something that others don't?

Here is my factual story (again, read the Review Guidelines). The company says that it is based in Toronto and I don't dispute that (is on the website as such) but all of the people that I was talking to allegedly working for COMWAVE were working in El Salvador, Central America (2 hour difference).

Now just under a month ago, after trying to decide how to save some money on a few bills/talking to a few people about the company, I called COMWAVE (yes this is in capitals, see Review Guidelines) but so is the company name on its advertising). Three or four phone calls later (one of which the supervisor was going to be there at a certain time so that I would be able to confirm certain details with her, therefore not having to explain everything all over again to any operator that answers), I was given a proposed installation date.

Oh yes, that supervisor that said she would be there at a certain time, was not. Understandably, that is only a minor issue but if a supervisor says something, then it should be done. Does the time that I took off to ensure that I would be available at the agreed upon hour not count for anything. My time is precious to me.

The installation went fine but when I called to confirm everything, there were issues. The instructions on the boxes that were sent by the company said "to call the company while the installer was still there". As in the real world, those instructions are often changed/suggested to be overlooked in order to speed things up. That is what happened this time. Not a problem. A phone call to COMWAVES' Tech Dept. solved that "hiccup" easily enough. However, then I learned that my existing phone # was not put on the original order as being kept. That # had been in the family for over 50 years so that was a non-issue, which turned out to be the case.

Next, on that same phone call (getting better on solving all the problems on one phone call), I was informed that I would be paying more than originally quoted (understandable due to keeping my original # , which should have been done though in the first place). However, also hear this: that amount was almost double the advertised monthly amount or better put, double the price that is intended to draw people to the ad in the first place. Yes, don't forget to read the small print. Most of this stuff is covered there. Now everything was supposed to be good and it was, for the first week.

After the second week I received my old original number. Up until that time I was given a temporary #. When calling a number, the connection was bad but that did not happen often (though more than once). One night about midnight, E.S.T. the phone was not able to be used. Kept getting a "phone is not registered message" or something similar. That lasted for about 2.5 hours. Voicemail was also not put on the original order, yes something that should have been done and was asked for by me. To be fair though, it was not "caught" by me when the Customer Svc. reviewed my initial order.

A possible problem could very well be a language issue (ever try to call a bank after hours to get something done. Can you say, India)? So now to the present day. In researching the pros and cons after the fact (isn't hindsight grand), I have heard/read about too many possible/questionable and problematic issues that others have encountered, not just my own and not only from the internet.

I will be cancelling my order today (23 Nov 15, which is 1 day before the 30 day trial period ends) and will be interested in finding out if some of the rumours about your company are in fact true or not. There should be a refund or such, put into my bank account to the tune of $200 ($50. refundable home phone device, $75. refundable internet device or modem and the $75. refundable security payment).

If that amount is refunded to me then that will give COMWAVE a seemingly much needed boost/positive feedback from a cancelling, yet satisfied customer. By that amount not being put in/credited to my bank account or something similar, that too will speak volumes about your company. Trusting your action in this matter, a for now somewhat skeptical customer.

Company Response 03/31/2016:

Hi Dave, We appreciate your feedback very much and I am sorry to hear about your experience. We try to make customer service our top priority. If you have any other concerns, please feel free to email us at social@comwave.net or private message us on Facebook.

Replies
Advertisement
Very Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered Internet service with this company in may 2015. They scheduled to send technician one day before they sent me text message and changed my appointment without my consent. After technician didn't show up, even with new changed schedule and worse part they have already charged my first bill without confirming that I got service or not. Every time I call after 15 min representative asked me to keep waiting till they find what happened and they hang up the phone. I have spoken to several supervisors. I was so frustrated, I have spent over $200 and no service, no money and waste lot of time.

I called and cancelled my service. Now, I have to fight for my refund after one and half months. On June 9th and June 10th received two refunds - one $84 for activation fee and second $49.94 for first bill. Still I didn't get the $75 for my modem which they have received already. Their customer representative confirmed and also with tracking number, I have confirmed. About a month ago, I called again to know about my $75. Representative told me "It's applied today and you will receive within 48 hours," which I never received. Today, I called them they told me they already issued the $84 that they pay for activation was for modem!!! Whaattt???

Can you believe it and when ask check my history "How much you charged me and how much did you pay me?" Do the simple math. The representative said I have to send my bank statement... Come-on. You guys look at account... And he said he will transfer to supervisor and it's been 36 min I am still waiting for supervisor... It's just happened now (July 20th 2015 Monday 3:25 pm).. This company they want just your money... Just stay away with this company... Stay away.

Replies
Worst Company Ever! Full Of Liars
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MISSISSAUGA -- They (Comwave) told us over the phone that they would offer us 50mbps for $50 a month. This offer was accepted by us and the deal was settled after repeating many agreements over the phone to ensure everything was correct and understood. Later on we realized the connection was horrible and called back asking what the situation is.

They said we don't have 50mbps, they gave us 6mbps. We argued that when we signed up the representative offered us 50mbps and that it was on the recording. They said in order for them to listen to the tape we had to pay $30. We told them we are not paying for them to listen to a tape. After a long wait and talking to many different people, they said they will listen to the tape free of charge and check if the deal we said was agreed on was in fact 50mpbs for $50/month. We were told it would take time for them to listen to the tape and that we would get a call back the next day.

The next day they called back saying that 50mbps for $50 a month was in matter of fact said on the recording so they are going to raise the speed to 50mbps and it would take effect the morning of July 17, 2015. We checked our speed and it was nowhere close to 50mbps. We called back asking why we still don't have the speed promised. They changed their story saying that because of "accents" it was misunderstood and the agreement was on 15mbps. So at the end we didn't get our 50mpbs.

We ended up having 6mpbs entered in their system but yet we were paying $50 for a plan that's $40 (6mbps Unlimited for $40) and the agreement over the phone was "mistaken" because 50 and 15 sound alike. So 15 and 50 were said, but 6 was entered paying $50 for a $40 service. Comwave is the WORST provider. They are full of lies and deceive you, and the story they tell you changes with every different representative you speak with.

Replies
Perfect, No Problems at All!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TORONTO -- After reading many reviews, even before I transferred my number, which completes your commitment, I took the risk and completed the process to become a Comwave Client. Despite the negative reviews/comments, I may be one of minority who really appreciates the service and money saved being a Comwave client. I changed after leaving Bell & Rogers. I used Comwave years ago, for long distance only. I had Bell for all my other phone requirements. They charged me 6.97 and after 5 years my long distance went up to 7.33. Both these rates included taxes; No complaints!

When I switched to Rogers I decided to put everything into one bundle, thus leaving Comwave. After three months with Rogers, I could not take the inconsistency with fluctuating rates and the poor customer service. I switched to Comwave. The process to do so was painless. The rate is perfect for my needs. The profile page showing the details of usage etc., is set up beautifully, easy to access and use. The wait time for customer service has NEVER been longer than 5 minutes.

The customer representatives are on board with quoting the rates that were quoted to me from the beginning (believe me, I tested them on this) and I was able to speak with and email the same woman who contacted me to advise me of when the set up would take place etc. Granted, the day of set up did not take place, as they were overwhelmed with the volume of new customers. However, they more than made up for their mistake with a Saturday morning appointment; giving a window of time and I had someone at my door at 8:00 in the morning, leaving my day completely open. The technician was at my home for less than half an hour.

Even after reading the reviews, which are not in favor of Comwave, I still decided, that with all the 5 years of my long distance service, they deserved more than what I was reading about them; I took the plunge and I continue to be satisfied. THANK YOU COMWAVE and I truly hope this review speaks volumes about your company and more people join the Comwave Team!!!

Company Response 03/22/2016:

WOW Katie!

Thanks so much for the wonderful review! We love to hear from happy customers and your message is exactly what we are going for! We will share it with our team and let them know what a great job they did for you! If you need anything else feel free to DM us on Facebook or email us at social@comwave.net! :)

Replies
Advertisement
Follow Up on My Original Feedback
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA -- First of all, this feedback is from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada and not Alaska as is mentioned. Secondly, I have nothing good to report. The Company, Comwave is a scam. They tell you that you have a 30 free trial. Don't believe them, no matter what they say or promise you. In my case, when I cancelled within the 30 period they told me that because I did not check a specific box then the 30 day period does not exist for me. Box? Are you kidding me? How can I ensure a box or any box for that matter is actually being checked when I am talking to someone in El Salvador?

When Comwave called back because they say I owe them money, they called from Toronto. I have a friend that knows that ex hockey player, Tai Domi (or however the hell you spell it). He told me "That guy is only into barely legal scams. Don't believe anything you hear from him." One good thing though is when you do cancel their service, the banks will refund part of your money that Comwave takes. They can only refund part but it is about 70%. The banks have to wait until Comwave debits your account before they can refund it. Notice that Comwave did not have much to say in way of a response to my original feedback sent back in about Nov or so of 2015.

They had a chance to make a statement and chickened out or is simply unable to lie effectively enough in their response to my feedback. The bottom line is, Comwave is a scam company, when you have a phone line from them (I was still using a landline at that point), there are disadvantages. One is that when dialing, if you wait a second or more between numbers, you will go back to a dial tone. Run, run, run away as far and as fast as you can from Comwave.

In my case, I turned in the hardware that they had sent me but of course I did not get back the refund that they said they would give me. The bank helped me out there. It may not have been for that but I received a refund for @ $300. Might be a little less. Point is the bank saw that it is a scam and they help the consumer. I used the T.D. Bank.

Now, almost 6 months after I first received their threatening phone calls and emails, I still get text messages. Simply ignore them. They and their company are insignificant. Hopefully enough people are able to read these types of feedback and will help to put this sorry scam of a company out of business.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

Hi Dave,

I am sorry to hear about this. If you would like to discuss anything further, please email us at social@comwave.net and we can look into it.

Replies
Number Transfer Fee and Consolation Fee
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO -- I have been with Comwave since 2009. My 3 years agreement finish in Sep/2013. On July/2015 I called them to cancel my account because they start charging me high amount on May and June. When I ask them why, they said "It is currency exchange from USD to Canadian dollar." I discovered today they charge my MC $44.99 on Jul/6th and $107 on Jul/20th. When I called them and ask them "Why the last charge?" They said "This is for cancellation Fee and number transfer Fee." They said this number is theirs, while it is mine. I transfer it from Bell without any Fee.

I did transfer my home # and my Cell # many times within 15 years. No other company charge me like this, never. They shocked me with this charge. I decide to tell my friend what happened with me with Comwave. I will never think with this company anymore. Be careful. Don't start before you know the end.

Replies
I Hate Comwave
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I hate Comwave. They duped me into a three year contract and it cost me over $200 to get out of a VOIP contract. Please get the word out there NOT to do business with Comwave. They use deceptive tactics to lock you into a ridiculously long contract for a "free" service that they charge over $20/month and then have the audacity to charge you an arm and a leg to let you out of the contract. ** them. I HATE COMWAVE and will make sure that I post over 200 negative comments about them. One for every dollar they took from me. Don't get COMWAVE. Their service sucks and so do their contracts.

Replies
Won't Allow to Cancel Account - Sent to Collection Agency for a Service Not Used
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO -- I subscribed for long distance calling service via Comwave mobile app. This is a pay in advance service, which means an annual fee is charged upfront for the service provided for the following year. History:
March 15 onwards: I received multiple phone calls reminders about pending payment for this service. March 17th: I wrote to customer care to cancel this service as I no longer wanted it. I got an automatic response saying that I should contact customer care.

March 23rd: I finally reached a customer care representative (after several attempts from 17th till 23rd), who said that my service would be discontinued. He has put a note to revert the charge (since this is a pay in advance service) and that I should write to ecare@comwave.net to discontinue my service to complete the procedure. Not sure why I needed to do that since the first email mentioned that any cancellation requests cannot be made via email. He also said that when I write in, there will be an automatic response from comwave which I should ignore.

March 23rd: as advised by the customer care rep, I wrote an email asking for cancellation of service and sure enough I got a standard response saying "this is to confirm we have received your request..." April 23rd, I got another email from comwave saying that my account has been sent to a third party collection agency and it will affect my credit rating and on searching my emails, I found another email that came in on 24th March which asked me to confirm my address and phone number to cancel my account!

April 23rd: I responded to that email, again writing the history of me trying to cancel the service and also providing my address and phone number as requested. April 23rd: I received an automatic email saying that your request is received... and that for cancellation I have to contact customer care.

Complaint: Now I am sure you can understand the frustration. A simple cancellation has taking so long and so much effort and yet it is uncertain. For a meagerly amount of $35/year I am being threatened with a credit score damage. I haven't used the service at all! This is a pay in advance service, so why am I being penalized for a service that I don't want, haven't used and is anyways supposed to be paid in advance for me to use?

If I write an email to cancel service, I am told to contact customer care, customer care says to complete procedure, send an email. I send an email, I am asked for additional details which be on record in any case. When I do provide the details, I get an automatic response saying that for cancellation I should contact customer care. Can the cancellation procedure not be made simpler? Perhaps provide a cancel account link in your app? If I can pay from my app, why not cancel?

Company Response 04/26/2016:

Hi Salim,

It sounds like there is a lot of confusion and I am sorry to hear you are having some trouble. Please email us at social@comwave.net with your account details and we can look into this right away.

-The Comwave Team

Replies
Advertisement
Overcharge
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

TORONTO -- I got an account with Comwave to make long distance calls. For a few months I got the feeling I was charge at a different rate but failed to check my bill until now. Comwave charge the rate that I was told but they add a USD exchange rate to the long distance total. Comwave says they apply an exchange rate because they deal with the telephone carriers in USD. I don't see how this is my problem as a consumer. This is a Canadian company, I reside in Canada and the rate is in Canadian dollars. I cancelled my account because I found their practice unethical and lodged a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.

Replies
Phone service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST CATHARINES -- They charged my account 300.00 for service I did not get. They also charged me 72.00, all on the same day. When I got my Visa bill I asked them what it was for if the first 6 months were free. However, it did not work at my house. I returned the equipment to them. They credited my Visa 56.00, that I understand. It also cost me 10.00 to return the equipment at the post office. I had the equipment for 2 weeks.

Tried to get help from them to hook me up but they could not hook me up so I decided to return the equipment. They canceled everything but on my Visa bill they charged me 300.00. I called them. They also do not know what this is all about. Spoke to a man Daniel who spoke to a supervisor. They said they would get back to me in 5 days which will be Monday, October 19. Monday, trust they will. I have called my Visa and also went to the bank. I do hope this will be looked after. Wow. Do not deal with this company. Something is very wrong.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 67 ratings and
83 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services