Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Garbage: Scam: Incoherent
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- This so called "company" is a joke. I called in to inquire about their services and a so called representative said in order to continue we need to do a credit check, so I said, "Ok fine." He response "I need your credit card number", so I gave it to him and said "you're not going to take money off of it right." He said '"Of course not". Anyways the representative said "Great. Everything looks good. You will not have to leave a deposit as your credit is good." I said, "Cool."

So we started talking about the services cable, landline and internet. I told him I was with Rogers right now and currently have cable a landline and internet with them, he replied "What type of package do you have and how much do you pay?" So I told him "Unlimited high speed internet, home phone with voice mail, caller ID, call waiting, and cable that includes everything including all the sports packs, TMN, HBO, super channel, all the movie networks and all the regular channels".

So he says "Wow. Ok. I can help, how much do you pay a month?" I responded "$$$" and he said "In order for me help you out I need you to email me your package you have with Rogers so I can verify that this is true." I said ok. That same day I emailed the representative at COMWAVE as I was still on the phone with him.

He said "Ok thanks and to hold for a second." I said "Ok". 45 minutes later he came back on the phone and told me that "Would it be ok to call you tomorrow because a lot of you channels are special channels and I'm going to try and find a loophole so that you can get all of these channels for less money your paying now with Rogers." I said "Ok".

The next day was Saturday and it was around 4 pm and the representative Mark had not called me back, so I called them and asked if "I could speak with Mark" and this representative Morris said Mark doesn't work on weekends. I said, "Oh wow. He told me he was working starting at 9 am."

So I told the representative Morris "Ok nevermind. I don't want to do any business with Comwave because I was lied to". So the representative Morris started questioning me "Why? Why? I can help you." I said "No thanks. Please remove my credit card # of of your system," he said, "I'm sorry you feel that way and that you were lied to." So he transferred me to a supervisor named David. David said "No problem we can take care of this". All of the sudden I here a beep on my phone alerting me that money had been taking out of my credit card from COMWAVE.

I was livid and told David "What the ** is going on, you guys just took money out of my credit card without my permission?" He replies, "Sorry I don't know why that happened" and that he would return my money in 3 business days. I said "No put it back now. This is theft". He once again said "Sorry you have to wait 3 days to get it back". So I finally said "ok" and proceeded to tell the supervisor David "So everything is going to be shut down?" (my account) He said "yes". End of conversation.

The next day I get an e-mail from Comwave stating that a technician has set a date to come out and install everything. In my head I was like, "WTF is going on here?" So I called back Comwave and told them, "What was going on?", the rep's name was Rodrick (supervisor) and he read the notes on my account and said "I'm sorry this is happening. Please hold." So I did for 30 min. Rodrick finally came back on the phone and said "Ok I'll can reassure you that your account is canceled" so I said "Thank you".

So the next day I get another e-mail saying all the equipment is being sent out to me. I was ** pissed. So I called back and spoke to David the supervisor again and he told me "Don't worry. Nothing will be sent out because I put a stop to it." I said "I canceled my account so why am I even getting e-mails from you guys stating you're sending out all the equipment when everything was supposed to be canceled?" He said, "Nothing" and then said "I had nothing to worry about. I said "Ok fine. Bye".

2 days later a knock at my door from Campar Canada with 3 big boxes of equipment. I told the shipper to send it back. I don't want it and got back on the phone with Comwave and told them what happened and they had no explanation and said "sorry." I freaked out saying "That's all you guys say is sorry, we understand your frustrations". I hung up.

So the next day I called back Comwave and spoke to another supervisor named Elvia and I asked her where my money was because it's been 3 days and she said, "It's gonna take another 7 to 10 business days." I was sooo mad. Currently I am still waiting for my money and receive e-mails everyday from Comwave saying your equipment is on its way. It's ridiculous. This company is a scam. Don't buy into their **. PS: I have read over 100 reviews with Comwave and no one had anything good to say about them. Please please please don't get any kind of service with them.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Horrible Horrible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDMONTON -- "DO NOT GET ANY KIND OF SERVICE FROM THIS COMPANY." I don't even know where to start… I called Comwave to get an internet service on Dec 5th 2017. I Had long distance service through Call Select which is now own by Comwave. Told him about that long distance service I had and he told me that it will be better if I join the account, that way I will get only one bill and made sense and agreed to do so. He told me that technician will be in my place to set it up on Dec 18 Mon, 19 Tue or 20 Wed, but he can't confirm the date just yet and I would receive an email for confirmation.

I told him that I understand that you can't confirm the date just yet but would you be able to leave the note on my file that I prefer 18 Mon or 19 Tue because Mon and Tue is the only day that someone will be available at my place and even told him that if not 18th or 19th I'm okay with any other date but has to be Mon or Tue. Then he told me that he had the note on the file and I will receive the confirmation email regarding. Dec 11, 2017 - Got the confirmation email that Technician will come and set it up the internet and GUESS WHAT... the date was for 20th Wed.

I specifically told that guy ONLY MON OR TUE of the week would work for me. And now I tried to call so called customer service (What a Joke customer service by the way). Had to wait more than 50 min just to speak with somebody and finally one lady picked up my call and I explained the whole situation and she was like "Oh well there is no note on your file stating that you only requested for Mon or Tue". I was like "What?" Anyway I told her that the day they have put me on won't work so please cancel that day for me and have set it up some other date (Mon or Tue).

She told me that 20th Wed has been cancelled and will be one of the date 18th or 19th but again can't confirm yet and will receive an email. ALRIGHT! So here I was waiting for email just so I know which day they are coming. Waiting waiting and waiting NO email at all. And here it comes 19th of Dec and was told it would be 18th or 19th. Dec 19, 2017 - around 5pm trying calling them to see what the… is going on, and waited and listened that annoying music ever for one hour and 36 min just to speak with someone.

Finally got to speak and asked them, “Hey what's going on?” I was told that I will get an confirmation email for 18th or 19th but today is 19th 5pm already. And lady replied "Oh you have confirmed already that the technician is coming on 20th." I was so mad and start telling her the whole thing what happen since I sign up. I wanted Mon and Tue specific and that didn't happen cause they sent me email to confirm for Wed and I called to cancel that Wed and now that Wed was not cancel.

What a Horrible company or customer service is that? I could not believe what they are doing there. They should not be even doing business at all. So now I asked to speak with so called supervisor which was another 30min on hold just to be on hold and finally got to speak and repeated every single steps and explained what was happen and she was like "oh Sorry" hahhahahahahaha is that all?

Anyway I told her, “Stop everything right now. I do not want to deal with anything” and then of course trying to sell their ** services and making a deal but I was so done already and told her straight that "JUST CANCEL EVERYTHING RIGHT NOW, AND I‘M SO GLAD THAT I FOUND YOUR ** SERVICE before it's too late." Finally she did cancel everything and oh yeah I received their modem and she told me to return them in my own expenses. I said, “Sure” cause I just wanted to closure everything.

But before everything I asked her not twice but more than twice regarding my long distance service from Call Select which they combined to this ** internet account will be still up running cause I will need it (which I was gonna find out what's out there and cancel from them anyway but decided to keep for now). She confirmed that yes it will running up for long distance service. So after all that finally canceled the order. Thank God I did. Now hoping my long distance will be up running. And couple days later tried to call my mom in Nepal and Guess What??? It's not working.

Holly... Then again trying calling them and of course waited for 2 hour 41 min and 32 sec, I ended up hang up cause couldn't take that stupid music anymore. Tried the next day again and finally got to speak with someone after being on hold for more than 45 min. Isn't that ridiculous the amount of time you have to wait just to even talk to someone regarding anything. Who has time for that???

Anyway after speaking with that lady I found out that my long distance service has been cancelled too. REALLY??? After all that??? Couldn't explain how mad I was at that time and just figured it's gonna be useless to even argue and I just hang up. This was the worst experience ever I had in my life. Nobody has any idea what the... they are doing. I would rather pay bit more extra bill to get great customer service and know what I'm getting. Please Please Please do a favor for yourself and stay away from this **...

Replies
Fraudulent Behavior by Comwave
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OSHAWA -- My name is Bonita **. In February 2018 I decided to switch from Bell to Comwave. When the representative came out to set me up I was told not to contact Bell regarding the switch of services. In good faith I said "OK". The switch never happened. I tried to straighten it out with Comwave several times. I had to wait for hours for a representative to help me through this whole thing. Several calls were made. During some calls I couldn't wait anymore after waiting for 45 minutes to an hour in some cases. My work is extremely demanding. I just don't have time for this.

At one point a representative said that I had not filled out the transfer request properly so we did it together. I thought that was it, that the problem was solved the problem, but not so despite the fact that once again I was cautioned not to call Bell, so I didn't.

Since February I have been paying two bills, one from Comwave and one from Bell. The billing never did stop from Bell. I have been paying two bills every since I signed up with Comwave. Finally I took matters in my own hands and phoned Bell to talk with them about the switch. They told me they had received no information about switching the internet and TV but that they did get notification from Comwave to switch the phone lines. Bell told me to contact Comwave to sort it out. I came down with the flu so I did not contact Comwave for a few days. Then yesterday my internet went down and my TV was disconnected.

There was a nasty note on my computer on the interface from Comwave saying that my credit card declined this months billing. So now my TV is not working and my internet is also not working. What was really disturbing is that even though my internet was down a Comwave notice about the non-payment of my bill was on my computer's interface preventing me from using my computer at all. (This happened when there was no internet up at all.) When I tried to get it off my screen I couldn't.

During the first week of May, I contacted Bell, once again they confirmed that at no time did they ever get a request from Comwave for internet and TV services to be switched. Bell offered to take back the phone line, I said yes. I did not contact Comwave to let them know I was not going to use their services right away as I was ill. I was mistaken as to how much was left on my credit card and I had no idea it had declined until Bell reinstated my TV and internet enabling me to access my email notices. It is hard to believe that my services would be cut off when I was paying for two service providers for months. It is ironic to say the least.

I am going to try and recoup my money from Comwave. This is a very shady outfit to say the least. I don't think I have a choice but to honor Comwave's last billing otherwise they will make sure they damage my credit. I have read many similar complaints about Comwave over the last little while. Many of them quite similar. I guess it is not surprising that when you contact the Comwave head office no one ever answers. My next step is the Better Business Bureau.

Replies
Seriously Unethical and Fraudulent
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, ON -- You will cancel all services effective immediately (March 23, 2018) and revise your invoice charging me for the pro-rated amount from March 2nd to March 23rd only. You will provide a shipping waybill along with RA numbers in order to have your equipment shipped back to you. I will not incur shipping charges.

My son had requested the money taken from my bank account be returned by EOD Monday, March 26th, however, I have been in contact with my bank and they will reverse the payment. They are also looking into how my banking information ended up in your hands as I didn't provide said information. You have NEVER had authorization from myself to take payments from either my credit card or chequing account. You will cease and desist immediately. Should I have extra banking fees due to your unauthorized behaviour, I will expect Comwave to reimburse.

To date, these are your actions: March 5, 2018 - Comwave invoice of $0 balance sent via email. March 19, 2018 - Invoice in the amount of $315.38 was sent via email. March 19, 2018 - Email notice of credit exceeded sent to me (how this is possible I don't know as you set up the billing - would you not take pro-rates and one month ahead billing into account???).

March 19, 2018 - Comwave attempted to take payment via Scotia debit/credit card. March 19, 2018 - Another email from Comwave stating my credit card had been declined. March 20, 2018 - TV service suspended - phone call with Customer Service and Supervisor resulted in me hanging up after repeatedly attempting to cancel my services. March 20, 2018 - Yet another telephone call with Customer Service and 2nd Supervisor resulted in re-instatement of service and process on cancelling service.

March 20, 2018 - Email notice of credit exceeded sent to me. March 20, 2018 - Email from Comwave stating my credit card had been declined. March 21, 2018 - Email notice of credit exceeded sent to me. March 21, 2018 - Email from Comwave stating my credit card had been declined. March 22, 2018 - UNAUTHORIZED payment taken as POS Purchase from my chequing account with Scotiabank. March 23, 2018 - Telephone call with Customer Service cancelling services and attempting to find out how unauthorized payments were taken and demand to reverse the charges.

A formal complaint will be submitted to the CCTS as your billing practices are suspect, unethical and extremely aggressive. It's quite underhanded of Comwave to take a payment via POS from my banking account and again, I would like to know how you came across my banking information as I am sure I didn't provide it. Nor did I, at any time, authorize your company to take payments.

When I signed up for your services, I expressly told the customer service person that will make my payments via online banking when I receive invoices and at no time did he tell me that payment was by way of pre-authorized payment through credit cards. This would have made me not go ahead with the order.

Your "supervisors" choose not to listen to customers and will only speak of 'making the service better' even when the customer is adamant that they want to cancel services. Your practices are bullish, rude and extremely arrogant. I will never do business with your company again after this experience and I would appreciate a formal apology.

Replies
Advertisement
All Comwave Does Is Rip People Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO ON -- I made the mistake of signing up with Comwave months ago and I have had nothing but problems with the service and with customer service. I asked for a higher plan due to the fact I only stream and use iPhones so I was told to get the 150mbps plan with would be great for my internet needs, not even a month later I was having buffering problems, I also was only getting a max of 86mbps which is just over half of the speed I was paying for and as low as 4mbps which I have proof of from my Speedtest app, plus internet connection failure.

So I called Comwave and was directed to tech support where they troubleshooted for a couple hours and nothing was done but due to work I was in and out of town and wasn't able to call them until a few weeks later and when I did that keep in mind I'm calling again about the same problems. I was on the phone with tech support for three and a half hours which they then were connected directly to my computer which was directly connected to the modem and tech support took over and tried to fix the problem with the computers paired. After three and a half hours tech support said the modem must be the problem and said they were going to send me a new one.

A month went I just got back home and no modem so again I called customer service and they were giving me the round around to tech support back to customer service to supervisors and this continued another 3 or 4 times. I was furious at this point and made another call to customer service and explained to them the all the issues and gave them notice that I was going to be canceling within the month due to all the issues and they said no problem and were going to give me a rebate for all the months I had the service.

So around 3 weeks later I had another internet provider come in and install the internet so I called Comwave to cancel. Explained to them again after the umpteenth time. As soon I told them I was calling to cancel they gave me the runaround again and told me they were going to charge me $400.00 for a cancellation fee due to the fact I didn't give them enough time to solve the problem.

So I offered one last time to let tech support to figure out the problem and their response was that I need to call in to tech support every day for 30 days and then after that point if tech support couldn't fix the problem then they would waive the cancellation fee, which is absolutely outrageous. They couldn't fix the problem the first time or the second or the third. What is going to change. I waited for the modem gave them that chance they never sent it I'm still going through this with them till this day and unfortunately the next for me is going to be of legal proceedings.

It is not fair what they're doing to people and what they're getting away with. I did everything they asked of me. Gave them plenty of chances and yet they want me to do more like I don't work and have a life, I'm a contractor and if a customer called me about a leaky sink I wouldn't ask them to call me for 30 days in a row telling that the sink is still leaking. I would fix the problem or change the sink.

Bottom line it is a complete waste of time and I think a way to make extra money for another month or to make sure they always get their cancellation fee which from what I've been reading from the reviews is always their fault for people canceling. I would never recommend Comwave to anyone at all even if it's free. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE never sign up with Comwave. All they do I say are lies and scams on ways to take your money.

Replies
Worst Company Ever!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Called about middle of September to get Comwave internet. At no time was it explained to me that I was signing up for a 3 year contract and that if I cancelled after 30 days there would be a cancellation fee. Paid them $100 deposit on the modem. They tried to sell me home phone but I said no. They said it's free. I said, "No it isn't because you just told me I would have to pay another $100 on the phone device." Took 2 weeks for install.

No install tech came inside to check the connection, never even knocked on the door to let me know he was in my backyard. Found out later it was a Shaw tech as Comwave uses Shaw's infrastructure in my area. Modem didn't show up till 2 days later. Modem came with wi-fi turned off as default!!!

What ISP in their right mind would send out a modem without wi-fi turned on already!!! Considering many people only use wireless connections now. And considering I was told I would just have to connect it to the cable line and plug it in and it would be ready to go. Then had to reset the modem about once a week because the wi-fi would go dead. Oh well, I had a router that would do that once in a while. When my first bill came I discovered there were also undisclosed 'access' fees which made my bill higher than the quoted amount but not too much so decided to give them a chance.

They came out with TV service. Thought I would give that a try. BIG MISTAKE!!!! Once again it was not made clear to me that there would be a cancellation fee after 30 days. For the first week the guide did not work. The DVR never did work properly (it saves to a cloud, not to the device). Their so called 'back-in-time' feature does not work properly. Could not fast forward as I could not see what I was fast forwarding. Using 30 sec skip button worked sometimes.

Every time I tried to use either feature it would often randomly restart the program or just go back to live TV in the middle of the recorded program. Programs I tried to set up a future record for would be replaced with some unknown program. Tried to delete programs that were recorded - did not work, programs showed up in the list again.

Manually deleted every program one by one until there were only a couple of programs left. Then tried to use delete all and instead all of the programs I had deleted showed up again! Yes, I did try calling tech support. Guess what!?!?! No 24 hr support - and it closes at 6pm EST on Sat and Sun!!! That's 4 pm for me in Alberta! Waited till next day.

Finally go through to tech support (25 min wait for anyone to answer). Was told the guide was a known issue that they were working on (took them a week to fix it). When I explained the issues with the DVR and back-in-time features was told sorry I can't help you with that I will have to refer your problem to 'higher support', whatever that means. Was told they would have to call me back. I asked him if he could please transfer me right then as a call back was not good for me as I am very busy. He said no. They never did get it fixed.

After 3 weeks I had enough. This service was not worth what I was being charged. Got Telus PureFibre service instead. Wow! 250 Mbps - amazing fast compared to Comwave's supposed 60 Mbps (I was told when I first called in that was the maximum speed available in my area).

Then the nightmare phone call started. Called Comwave to cancel all services. Had to wait on hold for 20 minutes before anyone answered. Told the guy I wanted to cancel my account. He asked why. I told him their service was terrible and they did not provide the promised service on the cable.

Told him not to bother trying to sell me a better deal, I was done and I wanted to cancel. He said, "Ok, I understand but just so you know, there will be a $400 cancellation fee." I said, "Wait a minute, how much!?!?!?" He said, "It is $200 per service on a 3 year contract." I said, "Hold on I was never told that." He said, "Well to cancel and if you are disputing the fees I have to transfer you to a supervisor."

I was put on hold again, this time I waited half an hour before a so called supervisor answered. Repeated my reasons for cancelling. She said, "Well that's not fair, you haven't given us a fair chance." I said, I was not interested in anymore deals. The internet service was terrible, the cable service was worse, and their lack of 24 hr support sealed the deal. And having to just spend 50 minutes on hold did nothing to change my mind. I just wanted to cancel. She said, "Well you are inside 30 days on the cable but we will have to charge you $200 for the internet cancellation."

I told her that I was never told of the cost of cancellation after 30 days before today. She said, "Yes you were, it is noted on your file." I repeated that I was never told the cost of cancellation after 39 days. I also told her I use to work in an industry that also 'noted' customer files and was well aware that employees can pretty much put in whatever they like in those notes to cover their own butts.

I informed her that I was cancelling everything. She then became very rude, and tried to rush me off the phone. Now I have to send back the modem and cable box at my own expense!! I had another ISP a few years back and when I cancelled with them (because of a move to an area they did not serve) they sent me a prepaid package to return the modem in. Not so with Comwave. This has definitely been the worst company I have ever dealt with.

I used a prepaid credit card to pay for them so they will not get any more money from me. Although, I won't get my deposit back. I got the impression I wasn't getting that without a fight anyway. I honestly pity anyone who has all 3 of their services and tries to cancel with them after 30 days. That would be a $600 cancellation fee!!! How are they allowed to do this!?!?!

To anyone considering Comwave - DO NOT USE THEM! They are not that much cheaper, they are extremely difficult to deal with, and they do not provide the advertised services. There are hidden fees and they do not even ask you if you want a contract or month-to-month package. The CRTC should revoke their license.

Company Response 01/05/2018:

I am so sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. It was not truly our intention. We really appreciate your willingness to share your comments, and hope you do give us the chance to make this right. Please send me a message to social@comwave.net ~Lisa

Replies
Commercial Fraud Plus Sign Up Fees
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WINDSOR, ONTARIO CANADA -- OK, after 6 months of service, I'm finally posting my review... At first when I saw the commercial on Canadian TV high speed internet and home phone with all features free for 6 months then $49.95 +15% (ON) tax (figured tax would be added) = $59.4425 = (rounded up) $59.45 would start after the 6 Month period, so I figured this is a great deal as it costs $100.00 + for Cogeco, Bell, and what not, I called and signed up, got charged $200.00 + $85 plus dollars upfront, before I got the equipment I was charged another $11.00.

2 days before equipment came tech came in (Tech on time = Good) then about 3 days after I got charged again $27.00 for some fee and 911, had to pay $27.00 on this 6 month free account until 6 months were up (got suspended every time I got charged and not knowing it till I try to get on the internet) extensions were ok but still it was suppose to be FREE for 6 months.

After the charges and suspensions I decided to cancel, got told that I could cancel because of a 3 year contract which nobody said anything about when I first signed up, then I was told that I was paying for the features which was to be a package deal with internet, basic was free with internet, so I asked to give me the basic, got told no because of the contract, so being pissed off I said fine.

Once the 6 months were up they tried to charge my prepaid credit card $55.20 then got suspended because they didn't get the money, I got it fixed and check my email and there was no invoice in which I didn't know 6 months were up and payment was due till 1 day after talking to them about the suspension.

Now I'm going to be charged for basic phone and internet $77.00+ which is $ 17.00 + over the Commercial price of High speed internet and Home phone with all features free for 6 months then $49.95 +15% (ON) tax = $59.4425 = (rounded up) $59.45, found out for high speed internet I had a choice of 75 Mbps or 25 Mbps, not knowing I chose 25 Mbps as I'm the only one using the services here in my home (my cell, tablet, desktop).

When I got the equipment I changed the password to my own as "password" is not a good password to have, internet kept buffering constantly while trying to watch a movie online, so I figured somehow people are getting on my wifi so I tried to check and couldn't sign into the modem, tried calling to have this fixed yesterday (Nov/15/2017) and was put on hold waiting for tech to answer for 2 hours and no answer so I gave up.

I called back today (Nov/16/20017) and had to wait again almost an hour, finally a tech support answered and got things fixed, other than the waits times Tech was very courteous and told me how to fix it myself as he would have been cut off while I'm resting the modem to factory login and password due to not having a landline from Bell or what not, I did what he said and called me back within the 5 min that he said. That is the only time that I didn't get pissed off LOL. I was giving bad reviews every time I had to do a survey on the people I talked to but will be giving a very good review for the tech I talked to...

I don't mind recommending Comwave to family and friends but will be letting them know what I went through and I want to be there if they do decide to join up with Comwave so they don't get screwed like me, but once this # year unwanted contract is done and I get my $200.00 back I will be checking around for cheaper and better without false information and pricing...

Company Response 01/05/2018:

Hi G. I am glad to know our Technical Support could help you in your latest interaction and I feel sorry to hear you had to go through such a series of unfortunate events before. If there is anything I can help you with, please email me to social@comwave.net. I would love to make everything possible to ensure you receive the proper assistance you deserve. ~Lisa

Replies
Very Unreliable Customer Service and Internet Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO -- I started service with Comwave in October 2014. I signed up because their internet service was cheaper than Rogers and they had unlimited internet which I needed for my roommate. I got into a 3 year contract which was fine, and I paid an extra $75 to have their router. They would pay me the $75 back once I have returned the router to them. Over the first 2 years, my internet was slow and the router and modem would have to be rebooted every few days. I would call, and then the problem would be fixed for a while.

Fast forward to November 2016, I moved to a house in a nearby town, and was going to move my services. When I proceeded to move my services, they said would cost me $100 plus tax just to move my services. I was so irate to find out that it would cost me that much just to move my services. I asked for a supervisor, and the wait takes a long time to just talk to a supervisor. By the way, what another reviewer says, the supervisor is only just another customer service representative with higher seniority. The supervisor said that it was that fee, and that you have to pay it to move it. So, I said fine.

Then, fast forward to February 2017, I called to up my service so that my wife's kids could have faster speed, and the customer service said, "Oh, it is $50 plus tax" just to change my package. I was very angry, and asked them. "Why do you always have these hidden fees that you never tell your customers about?" They finally gave me a discount to help me with the cost. Even with the increase in the speed of the internet, we were still having to reset the modem and the router almost every day so that certain devices could get on. My stepson couldn't even get on his tablet.

Fast forward to July 2017, I called to ask how much it would cost to cancel my services, they said it is $20 a month plus tax for any remainder of your contract. I said, "Great thanks," and so I proceeded to set up my services with Fido because they have better internet and higher speeds for a lower cost than what Comwave was offering. I set up my service with Fido, and the internet works great. No trouble with internet at all.

I decided to keep Fido, and I called around August 1, 2017 to cancel my services so that I won't get charged for the services on August 10, 2017. I got talking to the customer service representative (finally after having to wait a good 30 minutes on hold), and asked him how much it would cost to cancel. He said, $200 plus tax. I was so livid, and I asked to speak with a supervisor right away. He said, "I am sorry sir, but it will cost you $200 plus tax to cancel." I said, "Please I need to talk to the supervisor." He said, "Okay, but just so you know it is $200 plus tax."

I finally got talking to the supervisor, and I explained to her that the last representative just told me it is $200 to cancel, and that when I called in, the representative had told me it was $20 plus tax per month of my contract was left. I asked her to "please always make sure your reps know the correct charges, or you will have more irate customers like me." She apologized.

I had explained to her that I was cancelling because I found a better deal with Fido. She then tried to offer me a better package just for $79 plus tax and all those fees for 100mbs download speed. I said, "Well let me talk to my wife, and we will call you back and let you know." I told her also that we also had problems with the equipment because we have to keep resetting it. She said, "You send that one back, and we will give you a another whole new router/modem combination." I told her, "Let me think about, and I will let you know." She put the notes in my file.

After speaking with my wife, she and I agreed to cancel with Comwave because we trying to save money, and we are very happy with Fido with a speed of 75mbs download speed. Up to this point, I haven't had to even reboot my modem/router combination.

On August 7, 2017, I called back, and asked them to cancel. I had to wait on hold for a good 20 -30 minutes to talk to a representative The representative said, "I can't cancel your services, but the supervisor can cancel your services." I said, "Okay," and they transferred me over to a supervisor. I waited on hold for at least another 20 minutes on hold.

I got talking to the supervisor, and I said I am done with Comwave, and I no longer want their services as I am with Fido now. The supervisor proceeded to offer me the other package the last supervisor had offered me. I said no, I am not interested any further, and that I am done with Comwave. The supervisor then proceeded to ask me how much I was paying with Fido. I said I am not interested. He said, "How much are you paying with Fido, and we can see if we can save you." I told him I am done with Comwave, and to cancel my services with Comwave.

He kept on trying to ask me, and I interrupted him and said, "If you continue, I will hang up, and call the BBB, and make a complaint." He kept on going like he didn't hear me. I kept telling him that if he does not stop now, I will hang up, and call the BBB. I had to tell him 4 times before he finally clued in, and said, "Okay we will cancel. You just need to listen to me sir, and we can cancel the services." He had gotten me so upset when I told him that I was done with Comwave, and I just want to cancel my services. Even after I got him to listen to me when I said I wanted to cancel, he still asked me how much I was paying with Fido. I ignored him.

We finally got everything cancelled. He told me that I need to send everything back if I want to get my $75 back for the router that Comwave promised me at the beginning of the contract. I have now sent everything back to Comwave, and according to Canada Post's tracking they have received my package this morning in its original packaging and even the original box they sent the equipment in.

I am now expecting around $35 back from them ($75-$40 plus tax for the remaining 2 months on my contract with them). So Comwave, please be aware of this, I am watching my credit card online account to make sure you put the money back on my credit card as your representative promised you will do. I am expecting around $35 on my credit card.

Replies
Advertisement
Unprofessional and Deceptive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- On this forum, there are a number of short reviews posted toward the 2nd half of the year 2017 which are obviously fake for the following reasons: All of the reviews follow the same format: short (3-5 sentences long), usually accompanied by grammar and/or syntax errors, emphasizing the name of an employee and the employee's phone extension (keep in mind that when calling Comwave support, you cannot dial a particular extension... you have to wait until the next available specialist is available).

The reviews are always vague on the details of the issue experienced, describing the reason for phoning customer support in general terms. The reviews always give Comwave a 5 star rating. The reviews are in stark contrast with the overwhelming number of negative (usually 1 star) reviews. Ever since these positive templated reviews started to appear, the Comwave overall rating has improved - as of this posting it is 3 stars. I will not speculate on the reasons for this deception, although it speaks volumes of this company/employees' integrity.

Replies
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NORTH YORK, ONTARIO -- Many promises were made when I called Comwave for internet service in January 2018. More speed than I had; in fact much more. They promised to run a cable to my house. It all sounded too good to be true, and that should have been my first warning sign. They sent out the cable receiver boxes (3 of them) and asked for a scan of a cancelled cheque. I was given an installation date and time and the boxes arrived in a couple of days. The day and time of installation came and went. No technician.

I called and was informed that Comwave was unable to install a cable and I would not be getting their services. A return label was to be sent to my email so I could return the equipment. The label never arrived. No contact whatsoever; no emails, no phone calls (they had my phone number as it was my account number). Then one day, the $450 for the equipment is taken from my account. I called them. They said that since I didn't return the equipment, I was charged for it. I informed them that I did not receive a label. They said it was sent.

I asked for the email address it was sent to, and it turns out it was wrong. No apologies ever through any of this. The email was corrected, and I was assured by a supervisor that when they received a tracking number from FedEx, the refund would be sent. Didn't happen. I called back. The equipment was received and signed for, and a refund request was issued and I was assured that the refund would be in my account in 5-9 business days.

I called to check after 7 days. The refund request still hadn't been requested, as the equipment was only marked in the system as returned after my phone call. The request was processed, again, and I was also told that if I had not called, the refund would not have been requested. It is not an automatic process. I was assured that I would get the refund in 5-9 business days. I spoke with a supervisor, and she was able to reduce the timeline to 5 days. The takeaway for all this is to ask lots of questions and don't give a way that Comwave can charge you until you have the services. A better takeaway is to avoid doing business with Comwave. Not good.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
2.8 out of 5, based on 323 ratings and
339 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services