Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCARBOROUGH -- In summary: spoke to salesperson on, Nov. 12, 2016, agreed to internet and home phone bundle with a 6 months free phone service, given 30 days to try without a contract. Equipment arrived within 2-3 days. Technician notice was emailed for Nov. 21, 2016. Technician came and checked cables etc., to confirm compatibility (all was 'excellent'). Was told that everything should be 'up and running' within 2 hours. Nothing in two hours; I phoned for support. Was told that the matter would be resolved within two hours.

Next day, Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2016, still no service; I phoned back. Spoke to another person and was told, again, that the matter would be resolved within 24 hours. Next day, nothing; I phoned again and spoke to supervisor; she told me she would take care of this and get the modem connected within an hour. Nothing, so I phoned again to speak to customer service - on hold for four hours and then disconnected.

I sent an email asking that someone call me as I kept on hold for hours and then disconnected. I also requested to cancel as I was not satisfied with the customer support (plus, I was charged for a second phone line, tax on that, 911 fee etc., of which I did not ask for one line as agreed when I 'signed up'). Called customer service again and waited again for over 70 mins. before someone finally answered (with apologies that they were 'under-staffed') - not my problem.

I proceeded to make my request to cancel the service as I had only had it for 2 days, of which it only worked for 4 hours. I also said that I expected a refund for the internet charge (they charge a month in advance) due to the fact that I only had 4 hours service and I was now canceling. I also asked why I was being charged for a second phone line which I did not request or agree to. Customer service kept attempting to solve my 'problem' and not accept my cancellation request (even though there was no contract as this was a few days within the 30 day trial period).

Customer service said that she would escalate my request - not sure if this means she canceled as per my request or not (even though I made it very clear I wanted to cancel, period). Agent difficult to understand; strong accent. I asked for email confirmation of my cancellation (in case they try charging my CC again next month). I got an email with the instructions on how to send back the equipment (at my expense) - no local office where I can drop it off.

I contacted my CC and they advised that if there were any future CC charges that I file a dispute with them (MasterCard), provide the 'return equipment instructions email' as proof of cancellation. Awaiting to see: did they cancel, will I get a refund for charges applied that I did not use (told I 'should' by "Maggie"), will I get an email tomorrow to confirm my refund (as "Maggie" assured me I would, from her).

Loss: $88.08 for the shipping (to me) of the modems and 'installation fee' - which I will not get back, fee for me to mail back the modem, charges for services rendered for the few hours I actually had the service. My next steps: have my attorney on notice in the event my cancellation request is not honored and/or they do not refund me for unused service and/or I am charged any further. I have contacted MasterCard for assistance re: next steps if any further charges are applied to my credit card.

My expectation: cancellation, refund for charges applied to my credit card which I did not use, no further charges on my credit card nor any further frustration with this company. If I get a 'no hassle' cancellation and they honor what they advertise (cancel within the 30 day trial period) and they credit my MasterCard for service not used, I may consider using them in future once they are better staffed to deal with customers (without waiting 4+ hours). If there are any hassles or problems, I will definitely involve my lawyer!

In the end I should only have to incur the $88.08 (shipping and installation fee - which I don't think I should), plus, the minimal free for 4 hours service. Also, what I have to pay to ship back the modems. Very dissatisfied so far; hoping Comwave can redeem themselves and do the right thing re: my cancellation. We'll see. I will post updates.

Replies
Advertisement
Impossible to Cancel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- Our business is moving in September. In July we tried to cancel our service as the new building we are moving into already has internet and phone setup knowing we have already has service for more than 3 years (contracted term was 3 years). Seems they offer us 6 months of free phone service at the beginning of the contract as savings of $19 a month, great right? Not so great when you trying an cancel. You see that free service extends your contract six months.

So come September there will still be three months on the phone contract $19 a month. So if we want to cancel that's $99. Hang on if I don't cancel and let it run out I will pay $57 plus tax. Or I can cancel and pay $99. But wait I can't cancel now. I have to call back at the end of the month when I want the service to end. Otherwise my service will get disconnected now??? Sorry I'm lost in all of this.

I could not cancel by email, I cannot cancel now and my free service that they offered to get me as a customer is now going to cost me more to cancel than if I keep the service and let the contract which should have ended in July end in December.

In addition, they passed me from a customer service representative to a supervisor. I did not ask to speak with anyone else nor did I want to. Just take my cancellation and be done with it. No I had to go through both the service representative and then the supervisor over and over again asking me if anyone in my family would like to take over this account.

Let me be very clear, ABSOLUTELY NOT! While there have been some reported bumps in the road with the service. After today's experience I would not subject anyone else to this kind of harassment. To be very honest I just want to be done with this company. However I still must call at the end of the month. If I get the same treatment, I will find every social media site and post everywhere.

Replies
Technical Support
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TORONTO, ON -- ** OMAR EXT. Today, my internet connection and my home phone line was installed by one of your field technician. After he left, I tried connecting to the internet and realized I am having troubles and difficulties with my laptop to connect. My mistake I let the field technician to leave without trying if all are connecting via WiFi. (Also, I was thinking I am buying my home phone machine on Monday, I didn't bothered to do the testing with the internet WiFi. All I asked is the WiFi ID and WiFi Key which is attached according to the package on the bottom of the router).

So I did what I can to be able to connect, I rebooted my laptop, turned off the router, etc. I getting frustrated then I checked my notes where I wrote down the COMWAVE Customer Care hotline number (1-877-474-6638). Honestly, I am hesitant to call because normally with previous experience with other technical support (with the competitors), they are either rude or just not willing to help at all.

But I really need to be connected online to check my emails and to do other stuff over the internet. I dialed the 1-877 number. Omar got my call and he is so warm and pleasant to accommodate my issue and most important thing he said I am the boss and he there to help me with any technical issues I am experiencing.

Ok I will say we were over the phone for like an hour just to figure out what went wrong. But Omar gave his above and beyond customer service and knowledge about the problem and solution to make. He assures me that things will be alright and he never gave up finding the answer and solution with my internet issue on WIFI connection. Omar made my Christmas Eve a day to remember that COMWAVE will be a good service with my new internet and home phone line. I am a new customer and I am happy and will say satisfied with the service. I just hope you guys will never change and will always say "Yes, we can help you" to all of us your customers.

I would like to tell Omar's superiors he deserved not just an acknowledgement to the team or department but a well deserved nomination and award to his job well done service today and to all his work to your company. Merry Christmas and Happy 2017.

Company Response 01/03/2017:

Hi E. Thank you for letting us know what a great job Omar did. We will be sure to let him know! Have a great day
– The Comwave Team

Replies
Trying to Get Internet Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO -- After searching for a new internet service, reading and viewing different providers in Ontario, I decided to try Comwave. Their pricing was good, better speed than I have now. After spending the better part of an hour on the phone with a very nice salesman, going over all the detail and pricing, giving them all my banking information for the "activation fee", the supervisor comes on to verify everything, proceed to tell me instead of the $81.30 fee it would be $281.30 because of a low credit score. I explained to him my husband and I are retired, have lived and own the same house for 35 years, and we don't have any credit cards, just our monthly bills.

He said they would refund it in 6 months. So basically they want use of my $200.00 for 6 month free of charge. The other part is they charge you .99 cents a month for technical support. I know it's not a big deal a buck a month. I had never heard of that fee and fees keep adding on. You really have to listen to what the salesman is saying and getting you to agree to extended warranties, extra lines free for 3 months then you have to call in and cancel or be charged. I can't comment on the service itself as we didn't sign on with them. I just want people to be aware of the scam they run.

Replies
Advertisement
Taking Money Out of a Closed Account and Not Returning My Deposit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- This company lies through their teeth. They have took money out of my account that was already closed. I've waiting for a very long time to get my money returned and now being told it will be 10-20 days for it to be back in my account. Really 20 ** days? Who the hell says that? This supervisor talks tough over the phone and won't let me have a word in, so now I've been on hold again for 40 minutes just so I can get his information and hopefully talk to someone that's not an idiot.

I'll be talking to a lawyer this week about them stealing money out of my account. I hope this company falls apart. I also will be contacting the president of Comwave to let him know how bad his employee are treating their customers.

Replies
Not a Reputable Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, ONT, CANADA -- Further to my comments to this site back on 24 Nov 2015. The best thing I can say about Comwave is that they eventually leave you alone (after harassing you constantly for, in my case @ 1 year). After Comwave tried unsuccessfully to retrieve money from me that they said I owed them, it then went to a collection agency. Thing is this company does not have a good name with the business community, specifically the banks (T.D in my case). The collection company was simply a ploy to make me pay. After I ignored their repeated calls, they stopped calling. That was about 1 year ago.

When I presented my case to "my bank", they told me that I would not be able to recover all of my money but that when I paid the following Comwave bill, the money that I paid could then be returned to my account along with any other amount that was fraudulently obtained. I met a person that knows that hockey player well (one who advertises for Comwave) and was told "don't believe anything that guy says/endorses". As I said earlier, I have nothing good to say about Comwave. A subscriber who is glad to be done with Comwave.

Replies
Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CAMBRIDGE -- If anyone is looking to deal with Comwave think again. I called them back in June to start service for July 1, they told me that I had to put $181 down because of my credit (no problem). Then when it was time to get it set up I had to call and fight with them to get it set up. 10 days after their promise date. Then they wanted $65 to start the first month after three months of month to month service I went somewhere else for my internet service.

It is now November and they are still trying to take out money. I will be calling them and calling a lawyer to sue them. I have a new withdrawal from them on November 23, have not been with them since August.

Replies
A Worst Experience I Ever Had With a Customer Like Me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- I am a decade old Comwave customer, enjoyed the services till 7-8 months back when my phone stop working. I moved back to Saudi Arabia few years back and took the phone with me. It's last year October or November when I was unable to use the Comwave phone anymore and open a support case as below. Nothing was working and I was paying the bill regularly even without any call, you may check my previous bills.

Last month, I decided to give this number to my friend in a scenario that she will use my number and when I will return back to Toronto will move again to Comwave, because I was just paying bills without service at the moment and called CS to cancel it. Comwave posted $300+ on my account, the charges for terminating my contract early and some admin fee and other stuff.

I Skyped Comwave customer service and told them the whole story, talked to supervisor too that I have no option left other them to cancel my future bills without having any service. No one seems to help me and threatening to give outstanding amount to collection agency. Even I paid for my IP device when I got service and got email to return it or pay $79+.

Replies
Advertisement
Worst Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA -- DO NOT GET COMWAVE. Worst internet service, worst customer service. You call, and stay on hold for an hour at a time just to speak with a supervisor. I have been with Comwave for 3 years and the internet goes out on a weekly basis. I have had to call Comwave multiple times within my contract to solve basic problems, and they make it harder than it needs to be.

They also tell you that you get 6 months free on your phone service, then when your contract is up (like mine is) and you try to cancel, they tell you you still owe them 6 months of payment. Do yourself a favor - do not, I repeat, do not get Comwave. It is a scam. Poor customer service representatives, with poor English and communicating skills. WORST SERVICE I'VE EVER HAD.

Company Response 01/12/2017:

Hi J.F.,

We're sorry you experienced issues with your service. Please contact us directly at social@comwave.net and we will help you out. – The Comwave Team

Replies
Worst Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

So I signed up for internet and phone. $300 on deposits for all their boxes that was told would get money back for but they don't even work. My house phone's out half the time. Have to go reset my boxes 3-5 times a day. They messed up my order, charged me a month in advance, then didn't even send my equipment. Send a tech to do setup then charged me $100 for not using him because I hadn't yet received the boxes so well I was waiting for all the setup to happen.

A billing month comes up and they charge me even though I'm not set up yet. Oh and the reason they didn't send equipment was because their computer messed up and said I didn't pay them anything yet. Well at that point they had taken just over $400 and now that was 3 months ago.

Just got new bill. It's doubled. Well my contract guaranteed 6 months of same fees then because of all their mistakes they promised wouldn't change for a year. At this point I just want out but are putting me through hell to get back my deposits and out of a contract they have breached several times themselves. Don't ever use Comwave.

Company Response 01/03/2017:

Hi Darcee. Sorry you are having issues please contact us directly at social@comwave.net and we will help you out. – The Comwave Team

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
2.8 out of 5, based on 183 ratings and
199 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services