Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCARBOROUGH -- In summary: spoke to salesperson on, Nov. 12, 2016, agreed to internet and home phone bundle with a 6 months free phone service, given 30 days to try without a contract. Equipment arrived within 2-3 days. Technician notice was emailed for Nov. 21, 2016. Technician came and checked cables etc., to confirm compatibility (all was 'excellent'). Was told that everything should be 'up and running' within 2 hours. Nothing in two hours; I phoned for support. Was told that the matter would be resolved within two hours.

Next day, Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2016, still no service; I phoned back. Spoke to another person and was told, again, that the matter would be resolved within 24 hours. Next day, nothing; I phoned again and spoke to supervisor; she told me she would take care of this and get the modem connected within an hour. Nothing, so I phoned again to speak to customer service - on hold for four hours and then disconnected.

I sent an email asking that someone call me as I kept on hold for hours and then disconnected. I also requested to cancel as I was not satisfied with the customer support (plus, I was charged for a second phone line, tax on that, 911 fee etc., of which I did not ask for one line as agreed when I 'signed up'). Called customer service again and waited again for over 70 mins. before someone finally answered (with apologies that they were 'under-staffed') - not my problem.

I proceeded to make my request to cancel the service as I had only had it for 2 days, of which it only worked for 4 hours. I also said that I expected a refund for the internet charge (they charge a month in advance) due to the fact that I only had 4 hours service and I was now canceling. I also asked why I was being charged for a second phone line which I did not request or agree to. Customer service kept attempting to solve my 'problem' and not accept my cancellation request (even though there was no contract as this was a few days within the 30 day trial period).

Customer service said that she would escalate my request - not sure if this means she canceled as per my request or not (even though I made it very clear I wanted to cancel, period). Agent difficult to understand; strong accent. I asked for email confirmation of my cancellation (in case they try charging my CC again next month). I got an email with the instructions on how to send back the equipment (at my expense) - no local office where I can drop it off.

I contacted my CC and they advised that if there were any future CC charges that I file a dispute with them (MasterCard), provide the 'return equipment instructions email' as proof of cancellation. Awaiting to see: did they cancel, will I get a refund for charges applied that I did not use (told I 'should' by "Maggie"), will I get an email tomorrow to confirm my refund (as "Maggie" assured me I would, from her).

Loss: $88.08 for the shipping (to me) of the modems and 'installation fee' - which I will not get back, fee for me to mail back the modem, charges for services rendered for the few hours I actually had the service. My next steps: have my attorney on notice in the event my cancellation request is not honored and/or they do not refund me for unused service and/or I am charged any further. I have contacted MasterCard for assistance re: next steps if any further charges are applied to my credit card.

My expectation: cancellation, refund for charges applied to my credit card which I did not use, no further charges on my credit card nor any further frustration with this company. If I get a 'no hassle' cancellation and they honor what they advertise (cancel within the 30 day trial period) and they credit my MasterCard for service not used, I may consider using them in future once they are better staffed to deal with customers (without waiting 4+ hours). If there are any hassles or problems, I will definitely involve my lawyer!

In the end I should only have to incur the $88.08 (shipping and installation fee - which I don't think I should), plus, the minimal free for 4 hours service. Also, what I have to pay to ship back the modems. Very dissatisfied so far; hoping Comwave can redeem themselves and do the right thing re: my cancellation. We'll see. I will post updates.

Replies
Advertisement
Impossible to Cancel
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- Our business is moving in September. In July we tried to cancel our service as the new building we are moving into already has internet and phone setup knowing we have already has service for more than 3 years (contracted term was 3 years). Seems they offer us 6 months of free phone service at the beginning of the contract as savings of $19 a month, great right? Not so great when you trying an cancel. You see that free service extends your contract six months.

So come September there will still be three months on the phone contract $19 a month. So if we want to cancel that's $99. Hang on if I don't cancel and let it run out I will pay $57 plus tax. Or I can cancel and pay $99. But wait I can't cancel now. I have to call back at the end of the month when I want the service to end. Otherwise my service will get disconnected now??? Sorry I'm lost in all of this.

I could not cancel by email, I cannot cancel now and my free service that they offered to get me as a customer is now going to cost me more to cancel than if I keep the service and let the contract which should have ended in July end in December.

In addition, they passed me from a customer service representative to a supervisor. I did not ask to speak with anyone else nor did I want to. Just take my cancellation and be done with it. No I had to go through both the service representative and then the supervisor over and over again asking me if anyone in my family would like to take over this account.

Let me be very clear, ABSOLUTELY NOT! While there have been some reported bumps in the road with the service. After today's experience I would not subject anyone else to this kind of harassment. To be very honest I just want to be done with this company. However I still must call at the end of the month. If I get the same treatment, I will find every social media site and post everywhere.

Replies
Won't Allow to Cancel Account - Sent to Collection Agency for a Service Not Used
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO -- I subscribed for long distance calling service via Comwave mobile app. This is a pay in advance service, which means an annual fee is charged upfront for the service provided for the following year. History:
March 15 onwards: I received multiple phone calls reminders about pending payment for this service. March 17th: I wrote to customer care to cancel this service as I no longer wanted it. I got an automatic response saying that I should contact customer care.

March 23rd: I finally reached a customer care representative (after several attempts from 17th till 23rd), who said that my service would be discontinued. He has put a note to revert the charge (since this is a pay in advance service) and that I should write to ecare@comwave.net to discontinue my service to complete the procedure. Not sure why I needed to do that since the first email mentioned that any cancellation requests cannot be made via email. He also said that when I write in, there will be an automatic response from comwave which I should ignore.

March 23rd: as advised by the customer care rep, I wrote an email asking for cancellation of service and sure enough I got a standard response saying "this is to confirm we have received your request..." April 23rd, I got another email from comwave saying that my account has been sent to a third party collection agency and it will affect my credit rating and on searching my emails, I found another email that came in on 24th March which asked me to confirm my address and phone number to cancel my account!

April 23rd: I responded to that email, again writing the history of me trying to cancel the service and also providing my address and phone number as requested. April 23rd: I received an automatic email saying that your request is received... and that for cancellation I have to contact customer care.

Complaint: Now I am sure you can understand the frustration. A simple cancellation has taking so long and so much effort and yet it is uncertain. For a meagerly amount of $35/year I am being threatened with a credit score damage. I haven't used the service at all! This is a pay in advance service, so why am I being penalized for a service that I don't want, haven't used and is anyways supposed to be paid in advance for me to use?

If I write an email to cancel service, I am told to contact customer care, customer care says to complete procedure, send an email. I send an email, I am asked for additional details which be on record in any case. When I do provide the details, I get an automatic response saying that for cancellation I should contact customer care. Can the cancellation procedure not be made simpler? Perhaps provide a cancel account link in your app? If I can pay from my app, why not cancel?

Company Response 04/26/2016:

Hi Salim,

It sounds like there is a lot of confusion and I am sorry to hear you are having some trouble. Please email us at social@comwave.net with your account details and we can look into this right away.

-The Comwave Team

Replies
Follow Up on My Original Feedback
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA -- First of all, this feedback is from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada and not Alaska as is mentioned. Secondly, I have nothing good to report. The Company, Comwave is a scam. They tell you that you have a 30 free trial. Don't believe them, no matter what they say or promise you. In my case, when I cancelled within the 30 period they told me that because I did not check a specific box then the 30 day period does not exist for me. Box? Are you kidding me? How can I ensure a box or any box for that matter is actually being checked when I am talking to someone in El Salvador?

When Comwave called back because they say I owe them money, they called from Toronto. I have a friend that knows that ex hockey player, Tai Domi (or however the hell you spell it). He told me "That guy is only into barely legal scams. Don't believe anything you hear from him." One good thing though is when you do cancel their service, the banks will refund part of your money that Comwave takes. They can only refund part but it is about 70%. The banks have to wait until Comwave debits your account before they can refund it. Notice that Comwave did not have much to say in way of a response to my original feedback sent back in about Nov or so of 2015.

They had a chance to make a statement and chickened out or is simply unable to lie effectively enough in their response to my feedback. The bottom line is, Comwave is a scam company, when you have a phone line from them (I was still using a landline at that point), there are disadvantages. One is that when dialing, if you wait a second or more between numbers, you will go back to a dial tone. Run, run, run away as far and as fast as you can from Comwave.

In my case, I turned in the hardware that they had sent me but of course I did not get back the refund that they said they would give me. The bank helped me out there. It may not have been for that but I received a refund for @ $300. Might be a little less. Point is the bank saw that it is a scam and they help the consumer. I used the T.D. Bank.

Now, almost 6 months after I first received their threatening phone calls and emails, I still get text messages. Simply ignore them. They and their company are insignificant. Hopefully enough people are able to read these types of feedback and will help to put this sorry scam of a company out of business.

Company Response 04/19/2016:

Hi Dave,

I am sorry to hear about this. If you would like to discuss anything further, please email us at social@comwave.net and we can look into it.

Replies
Advertisement
Trying to Get Internet Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO -- After searching for a new internet service, reading and viewing different providers in Ontario, I decided to try Comwave. Their pricing was good, better speed than I have now. After spending the better part of an hour on the phone with a very nice salesman, going over all the detail and pricing, giving them all my banking information for the "activation fee", the supervisor comes on to verify everything, proceed to tell me instead of the $81.30 fee it would be $281.30 because of a low credit score. I explained to him my husband and I are retired, have lived and own the same house for 35 years, and we don't have any credit cards, just our monthly bills.

He said they would refund it in 6 months. So basically they want use of my $200.00 for 6 month free of charge. The other part is they charge you .99 cents a month for technical support. I know it's not a big deal a buck a month. I had never heard of that fee and fees keep adding on. You really have to listen to what the salesman is saying and getting you to agree to extended warranties, extra lines free for 3 months then you have to call in and cancel or be charged. I can't comment on the service itself as we didn't sign on with them. I just want people to be aware of the scam they run.

Replies
Con Artist
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEWMARKET -- I ordered services on Feb. 28/16 and immediately cancelled due to feedback after phone call. I was told that was no problem and was assured that my bank account would not be compromised, however they decided to defraud my account of $286.31 on Mar 03/16 four days later. When I called to find out why they touched my account I was then told by customer care that they were so sorry (like that helps) for this happening and I didn't cancel the service in time. How that could be is beyond me when I cancelled 10 minutes after ordering and that it would take 10 to 15 business days to pay my money back.

Not only did they steal my money they also sent my account into a tale spin of chaos, I am starting legal action on this company. If anyone else has had same problem defrauding bank account please contact me and we could start a class action lawsuit against them. They just think they can do what they want and we are at their mercy... I'm pissed beyond belief and will put them back down where they belong... They tell you their system does it and they have no control over it. Are we that stupid as a society that we would believe the computer has all the control... REALLY!!!

Company Response 03/30/2016:

Hello Cheryl,

I completely agree with you. We should have been able to stop the transaction if you cancelled it right away. Not sure what happened here. Can you send me you contact information to social@comwave.net so that I can investigate. I assure you that if we have made such a grave error I will do everything I can to make it right.

Thanks,

David

Replies
Technical Support
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TORONTO, ON -- ** OMAR EXT. Today, my internet connection and my home phone line was installed by one of your field technician. After he left, I tried connecting to the internet and realized I am having troubles and difficulties with my laptop to connect. My mistake I let the field technician to leave without trying if all are connecting via WiFi. (Also, I was thinking I am buying my home phone machine on Monday, I didn't bothered to do the testing with the internet WiFi. All I asked is the WiFi ID and WiFi Key which is attached according to the package on the bottom of the router).

So I did what I can to be able to connect, I rebooted my laptop, turned off the router, etc. I getting frustrated then I checked my notes where I wrote down the COMWAVE Customer Care hotline number (1-877-474-6638). Honestly, I am hesitant to call because normally with previous experience with other technical support (with the competitors), they are either rude or just not willing to help at all.

But I really need to be connected online to check my emails and to do other stuff over the internet. I dialed the 1-877 number. Omar got my call and he is so warm and pleasant to accommodate my issue and most important thing he said I am the boss and he there to help me with any technical issues I am experiencing.

Ok I will say we were over the phone for like an hour just to figure out what went wrong. But Omar gave his above and beyond customer service and knowledge about the problem and solution to make. He assures me that things will be alright and he never gave up finding the answer and solution with my internet issue on WIFI connection. Omar made my Christmas Eve a day to remember that COMWAVE will be a good service with my new internet and home phone line. I am a new customer and I am happy and will say satisfied with the service. I just hope you guys will never change and will always say "Yes, we can help you" to all of us your customers.

I would like to tell Omar's superiors he deserved not just an acknowledgement to the team or department but a well deserved nomination and award to his job well done service today and to all his work to your company. Merry Christmas and Happy 2017.

Company Response 01/03/2017:

Hi E. Thank you for letting us know what a great job Omar did. We will be sure to let him know! Have a great day
– The Comwave Team

Replies
Taking Money Out of a Closed Account and Not Returning My Deposit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- This company lies through their teeth. They have took money out of my account that was already closed. I've waiting for a very long time to get my money returned and now being told it will be 10-20 days for it to be back in my account. Really 20 ** days? Who the hell says that? This supervisor talks tough over the phone and won't let me have a word in, so now I've been on hold again for 40 minutes just so I can get his information and hopefully talk to someone that's not an idiot.

I'll be talking to a lawyer this week about them stealing money out of my account. I hope this company falls apart. I also will be contacting the president of Comwave to let him know how bad his employee are treating their customers.

Replies
Advertisement
A Worst Experience I Ever Had With a Customer Like Me
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- I am a decade old Comwave customer, enjoyed the services till 7-8 months back when my phone stop working. I moved back to Saudi Arabia few years back and took the phone with me. It's last year October or November when I was unable to use the Comwave phone anymore and open a support case as below. Nothing was working and I was paying the bill regularly even without any call, you may check my previous bills.

Last month, I decided to give this number to my friend in a scenario that she will use my number and when I will return back to Toronto will move again to Comwave, because I was just paying bills without service at the moment and called CS to cancel it. Comwave posted $300+ on my account, the charges for terminating my contract early and some admin fee and other stuff.

I Skyped Comwave customer service and told them the whole story, talked to supervisor too that I have no option left other them to cancel my future bills without having any service. No one seems to help me and threatening to give outstanding amount to collection agency. Even I paid for my IP device when I got service and got email to return it or pay $79+.

Replies
Not a Reputable Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, ONT, CANADA -- Further to my comments to this site back on 24 Nov 2015. The best thing I can say about Comwave is that they eventually leave you alone (after harassing you constantly for, in my case @ 1 year). After Comwave tried unsuccessfully to retrieve money from me that they said I owed them, it then went to a collection agency. Thing is this company does not have a good name with the business community, specifically the banks (T.D in my case). The collection company was simply a ploy to make me pay. After I ignored their repeated calls, they stopped calling. That was about 1 year ago.

When I presented my case to "my bank", they told me that I would not be able to recover all of my money but that when I paid the following Comwave bill, the money that I paid could then be returned to my account along with any other amount that was fraudulently obtained. I met a person that knows that hockey player well (one who advertises for Comwave) and was told "don't believe anything that guy says/endorses". As I said earlier, I have nothing good to say about Comwave. A subscriber who is glad to be done with Comwave.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
2.9 out of 5, based on 179 ratings and
195 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services