Preview Review

Next Review

Comwave Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SCARBOROUGH -- In summary: spoke to salesperson on, Nov. 12, 2016, agreed to internet and home phone bundle with a 6 months free phone service, given 30 days to try without a contract. Equipment arrived within 2-3 days. Technician notice was emailed for Nov. 21, 2016. Technician came and checked cables etc., to confirm compatibility (all was 'excellent'). Was told that everything should be 'up and running' within 2 hours. Nothing in two hours; I phoned for support. Was told that the matter would be resolved within two hours.

Next day, Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2016, still no service; I phoned back. Spoke to another person and was told, again, that the matter would be resolved within 24 hours. Next day, nothing; I phoned again and spoke to supervisor; she told me she would take care of this and get the modem connected within an hour. Nothing, so I phoned again to speak to customer service - on hold for four hours and then disconnected.

I sent an email asking that someone call me as I kept on hold for hours and then disconnected. I also requested to cancel as I was not satisfied with the customer support (plus, I was charged for a second phone line, tax on that, 911 fee etc., of which I did not ask for one line as agreed when I 'signed up'). Called customer service again and waited again for over 70 mins. before someone finally answered (with apologies that they were 'under-staffed') - not my problem.

I proceeded to make my request to cancel the service as I had only had it for 2 days, of which it only worked for 4 hours. I also said that I expected a refund for the internet charge (they charge a month in advance) due to the fact that I only had 4 hours service and I was now canceling. I also asked why I was being charged for a second phone line which I did not request or agree to. Customer service kept attempting to solve my 'problem' and not accept my cancellation request (even though there was no contract as this was a few days within the 30 day trial period).

Customer service said that she would escalate my request - not sure if this means she canceled as per my request or not (even though I made it very clear I wanted to cancel, period). Agent difficult to understand; strong accent. I asked for email confirmation of my cancellation (in case they try charging my CC again next month). I got an email with the instructions on how to send back the equipment (at my expense) - no local office where I can drop it off.

I contacted my CC and they advised that if there were any future CC charges that I file a dispute with them (MasterCard), provide the 'return equipment instructions email' as proof of cancellation. Awaiting to see: did they cancel, will I get a refund for charges applied that I did not use (told I 'should' by "Maggie"), will I get an email tomorrow to confirm my refund (as "Maggie" assured me I would, from her).

Loss: $88.08 for the shipping (to me) of the modems and 'installation fee' - which I will not get back, fee for me to mail back the modem, charges for services rendered for the few hours I actually had the service. My next steps: have my attorney on notice in the event my cancellation request is not honored and/or they do not refund me for unused service and/or I am charged any further. I have contacted MasterCard for assistance re: next steps if any further charges are applied to my credit card.

My expectation: cancellation, refund for charges applied to my credit card which I did not use, no further charges on my credit card nor any further frustration with this company. If I get a 'no hassle' cancellation and they honor what they advertise (cancel within the 30 day trial period) and they credit my MasterCard for service not used, I may consider using them in future once they are better staffed to deal with customers (without waiting 4+ hours). If there are any hassles or problems, I will definitely involve my lawyer!

In the end I should only have to incur the $88.08 (shipping and installation fee - which I don't think I should), plus, the minimal free for 4 hours service. Also, what I have to pay to ship back the modems. Very dissatisfied so far; hoping Comwave can redeem themselves and do the right thing re: my cancellation. We'll see. I will post updates.

Replies
Advertisement
Very Unreliable Customer Service and Internet Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

TORONTO -- I started service with Comwave in October 2014. I signed up because their internet service was cheaper than Rogers and they had unlimited internet which I needed for my roommate. I got into a 3 year contract which was fine, and I paid an extra $75 to have their router. They would pay me the $75 back once I have returned the router to them. Over the first 2 years, my internet was slow and the router and modem would have to be rebooted every few days. I would call, and then the problem would be fixed for a while.

Fast forward to November 2016, I moved to a house in a nearby town, and was going to move my services. When I proceeded to move my services, they said would cost me $100 plus tax just to move my services. I was so irate to find out that it would cost me that much just to move my services. I asked for a supervisor, and the wait takes a long time to just talk to a supervisor. By the way, what another reviewer says, the supervisor is only just another customer service representative with higher seniority. The supervisor said that it was that fee, and that you have to pay it to move it. So, I said fine.

Then, fast forward to February 2017, I called to up my service so that my wife's kids could have faster speed, and the customer service said, "Oh, it is $50 plus tax" just to change my package. I was very angry, and asked them. "Why do you always have these hidden fees that you never tell your customers about?" They finally gave me a discount to help me with the cost. Even with the increase in the speed of the internet, we were still having to reset the modem and the router almost every day so that certain devices could get on. My stepson couldn't even get on his tablet.

Fast forward to July 2017, I called to ask how much it would cost to cancel my services, they said it is $20 a month plus tax for any remainder of your contract. I said, "Great thanks," and so I proceeded to set up my services with Fido because they have better internet and higher speeds for a lower cost than what Comwave was offering. I set up my service with Fido, and the internet works great. No trouble with internet at all.

I decided to keep Fido, and I called around August 1, 2017 to cancel my services so that I won't get charged for the services on August 10, 2017. I got talking to the customer service representative (finally after having to wait a good 30 minutes on hold), and asked him how much it would cost to cancel. He said, $200 plus tax. I was so livid, and I asked to speak with a supervisor right away. He said, "I am sorry sir, but it will cost you $200 plus tax to cancel." I said, "Please I need to talk to the supervisor." He said, "Okay, but just so you know it is $200 plus tax."

I finally got talking to the supervisor, and I explained to her that the last representative just told me it is $200 to cancel, and that when I called in, the representative had told me it was $20 plus tax per month of my contract was left. I asked her to "please always make sure your reps know the correct charges, or you will have more irate customers like me." She apologized.

I had explained to her that I was cancelling because I found a better deal with Fido. She then tried to offer me a better package just for $79 plus tax and all those fees for 100mbs download speed. I said, "Well let me talk to my wife, and we will call you back and let you know." I told her also that we also had problems with the equipment because we have to keep resetting it. She said, "You send that one back, and we will give you a another whole new router/modem combination." I told her, "Let me think about, and I will let you know." She put the notes in my file.

After speaking with my wife, she and I agreed to cancel with Comwave because we trying to save money, and we are very happy with Fido with a speed of 75mbs download speed. Up to this point, I haven't had to even reboot my modem/router combination.

On August 7, 2017, I called back, and asked them to cancel. I had to wait on hold for a good 20 -30 minutes to talk to a representative The representative said, "I can't cancel your services, but the supervisor can cancel your services." I said, "Okay," and they transferred me over to a supervisor. I waited on hold for at least another 20 minutes on hold.

I got talking to the supervisor, and I said I am done with Comwave, and I no longer want their services as I am with Fido now. The supervisor proceeded to offer me the other package the last supervisor had offered me. I said no, I am not interested any further, and that I am done with Comwave. The supervisor then proceeded to ask me how much I was paying with Fido. I said I am not interested. He said, "How much are you paying with Fido, and we can see if we can save you." I told him I am done with Comwave, and to cancel my services with Comwave.

He kept on trying to ask me, and I interrupted him and said, "If you continue, I will hang up, and call the BBB, and make a complaint." He kept on going like he didn't hear me. I kept telling him that if he does not stop now, I will hang up, and call the BBB. I had to tell him 4 times before he finally clued in, and said, "Okay we will cancel. You just need to listen to me sir, and we can cancel the services." He had gotten me so upset when I told him that I was done with Comwave, and I just want to cancel my services. Even after I got him to listen to me when I said I wanted to cancel, he still asked me how much I was paying with Fido. I ignored him.

We finally got everything cancelled. He told me that I need to send everything back if I want to get my $75 back for the router that Comwave promised me at the beginning of the contract. I have now sent everything back to Comwave, and according to Canada Post's tracking they have received my package this morning in its original packaging and even the original box they sent the equipment in.

I am now expecting around $35 back from them ($75-$40 plus tax for the remaining 2 months on my contract with them). So Comwave, please be aware of this, I am watching my credit card online account to make sure you put the money back on my credit card as your representative promised you will do. I am expecting around $35 on my credit card.

Replies
Technical Support
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TORONTO, ON -- ** OMAR EXT. Today, my internet connection and my home phone line was installed by one of your field technician. After he left, I tried connecting to the internet and realized I am having troubles and difficulties with my laptop to connect. My mistake I let the field technician to leave without trying if all are connecting via WiFi. (Also, I was thinking I am buying my home phone machine on Monday, I didn't bothered to do the testing with the internet WiFi. All I asked is the WiFi ID and WiFi Key which is attached according to the package on the bottom of the router).

So I did what I can to be able to connect, I rebooted my laptop, turned off the router, etc. I getting frustrated then I checked my notes where I wrote down the COMWAVE Customer Care hotline number (1-877-474-6638). Honestly, I am hesitant to call because normally with previous experience with other technical support (with the competitors), they are either rude or just not willing to help at all.

But I really need to be connected online to check my emails and to do other stuff over the internet. I dialed the 1-877 number. Omar got my call and he is so warm and pleasant to accommodate my issue and most important thing he said I am the boss and he there to help me with any technical issues I am experiencing.

Ok I will say we were over the phone for like an hour just to figure out what went wrong. But Omar gave his above and beyond customer service and knowledge about the problem and solution to make. He assures me that things will be alright and he never gave up finding the answer and solution with my internet issue on WIFI connection. Omar made my Christmas Eve a day to remember that COMWAVE will be a good service with my new internet and home phone line. I am a new customer and I am happy and will say satisfied with the service. I just hope you guys will never change and will always say "Yes, we can help you" to all of us your customers.

I would like to tell Omar's superiors he deserved not just an acknowledgement to the team or department but a well deserved nomination and award to his job well done service today and to all his work to your company. Merry Christmas and Happy 2017.

Company Response 01/03/2017:

Hi E. Thank you for letting us know what a great job Omar did. We will be sure to let him know! Have a great day
– The Comwave Team

Replies
New Services
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

ONTARIO -- In Feb.17 I switched from Shaw to Comwave. I wanted the same old phone number and they said no problem. Upon receiving the modem I read the instructions and when my phone wasn't giving me a dial tone I called for the first advice. By the 3rd call months later still no dial tone. I then contacted the customer service representative Tracy and complained. I was by then frustrated and said just how ridiculous this was. I tried again sometime in June and once more no phone service. Then 3 weeks ago I called and a Carlos found the problem or half the problem. It seems that they couldn't use my old phone # as I had had it disconnected before their service started.

I had a - surprise - a new #. No one advised me of this at all. Then he gives me the # and we do some checking and still not working. He was due to call me at a certain time as that would be when he'd be able to reach me and instead, calls me in his time zone and not mine as I specified 3 hrs. earlier which made it 6:00 a.m. I was sleeping. Then had to go for the day. He did try again but I couldn't respond. This week I gave it one last try and this Edwin was the smartest of all as he made me redo certain things and he reset the modem for the internet, moved the phone line into the direct port and had to register the phone under the new #.

So for 7 mos. now I've been charged for a phone line that could have been easily dealt with from the get go. How ridiculous is this? I spoke to Tracy and she is now arranging for me to receive a 7 month refund. Unbelievable. I specifically believe that the recording about listening in for training purposes is not really in use as the many complaints directly to the tech. reps. must be heard and our suggestions as well.

These ineffectual people before Carlos and him as well ought to be retrained to use their minds to go deeper into the core of what might be wrong just like the wonderful Edwin. He listened and cared. So did Carlos but Edwin wins the best tech. representative for the whole year as far as I'm concerned. Not everyone learns at the same pace that is for sure but come on. Just skimming the surface is inadequate and creates frustrations that absolutely unacceptable.

Replies
Advertisement
No Internet
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

CANADA -- I have 2 iPads. The internet connection to one of the iPads was suddenly not there anymore. There is no signal icon. Message received is: "Cannot connect because the server stopped responding..." My password entry attempts to reconnect to my WiFi all come back: "Unable to join network." I phone Comwave and after a few minutes wait, I talk to customer service representative Hector. My phone starts beeping within minutes after that and then the battery dies before I can get the needed assistance.

Seven hours later, phone battery recharged, I phone Comwave again. After a wait of OVER an HOUR I talk to technical support representative Jose # **. Jose has a very pleasant voice. He sounds like a nice, competent technical call center rep, someone I don't really want to get to feeling like yelling at for having to wait for so long. (Don't you guys have a callback option anymore?) So I don't mind telling him my problem.

After entering my PW for Jose and receiving the same "Unable..." message, and after giving Jose my PIN, Jose gives me the correct PW. The correct PW immediately reminds me of the handy-dandy personal PW I had made, some time ago it seems now, to replace the cumbersome number-letter-number-jumble of a PW that comwave gave me when I opened the Account and which I'd written down right underneath the original Comwave jumble PW.

I guess I was just so darn used to using the jumble PW all of those other times! My eyes have gotten bad too, and it can be hard to see my own fine print amongst all those other important details for all these technical goods and services sometimes. In the end this was a very brief call, I thought, and one that certainly didn't warrant the extremely long wait time I had endured to get here. Thanks very much for your patience, Jose.

Replies
Early Cancellation Fee
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- May 23, 2017: I contacted Comwave and advise them I wished to change from my present Internet service provider to them. May 23: I requested my phone number be ported. May 31: Rogers cable service was to check, make sure I had the necessary cable. Rogers cable was a no-show. June 1: called Comwave customer service to advise of the Rogers no-show on the 31st.

The service representative showed me that Rogers cable man had been here. I said Rogers cable had neither phoned or knocked on the door. Service representative and for me that is not necessary. I said in my case it was. My backyard is inaccessible to gate is locked and I have to unlock it for Rogers to gain entry to my yard. Therefore he was not here. Service representative insisted he was. There was no point in going on with this debate. Service representative insisted that we begin installation of the modem. Instructed me to open the box which I received a week earlier, remove the modem and the black cable.

I informed him that there was no black cable. He suggested I remove the cable off my TV. I said my TV hasn't had that type of cable for 20 years. But if it did have that type of cable, or if the black cable had been in the box, it would have been to no avail, as there was no wall receptacle to plug the cable into because I have no cable coming to my residence (which Rogers cable should've noticed when they were supposedly here May 31). Seeing the way things are going, I thought I don't want to go down this road. I told the customer representative to cancel the whole deal.

June 1: Modem return via Canada Post. June 3: Rogers cable shows up at the door in the afternoon (in all the one that was here May 31) to check the cable. I told him that would not be necessary as I had cancelled the whole thing. June 23: I received statement showing the charge of $285.24 early cancellation fee. The service was never installed or activated. I feel a charge of $285.24 is excessive. I called Comwave customer service and explained everything to them. They informed me there was nothing they could do.

Replies
Taking Money Out of a Closed Account and Not Returning My Deposit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TORONTO -- This company lies through their teeth. They have took money out of my account that was already closed. I've waiting for a very long time to get my money returned and now being told it will be 10-20 days for it to be back in my account. Really 20 ** days? Who the hell says that? This supervisor talks tough over the phone and won't let me have a word in, so now I've been on hold again for 40 minutes just so I can get his information and hopefully talk to someone that's not an idiot.

I'll be talking to a lawyer this week about them stealing money out of my account. I hope this company falls apart. I also will be contacting the president of Comwave to let him know how bad his employee are treating their customers.

Replies
Not a Reputable Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OTTAWA, ONT, CANADA -- Further to my comments to this site back on 24 Nov 2015. The best thing I can say about Comwave is that they eventually leave you alone (after harassing you constantly for, in my case @ 1 year). After Comwave tried unsuccessfully to retrieve money from me that they said I owed them, it then went to a collection agency. Thing is this company does not have a good name with the business community, specifically the banks (T.D in my case). The collection company was simply a ploy to make me pay. After I ignored their repeated calls, they stopped calling. That was about 1 year ago.

When I presented my case to "my bank", they told me that I would not be able to recover all of my money but that when I paid the following Comwave bill, the money that I paid could then be returned to my account along with any other amount that was fraudulently obtained. I met a person that knows that hockey player well (one who advertises for Comwave) and was told "don't believe anything that guy says/endorses". As I said earlier, I have nothing good to say about Comwave. A subscriber who is glad to be done with Comwave.

Replies
Advertisement
Rip Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CAMBRIDGE -- If anyone is looking to deal with Comwave think again. I called them back in June to start service for July 1, they told me that I had to put $181 down because of my credit (no problem). Then when it was time to get it set up I had to call and fight with them to get it set up. 10 days after their promise date. Then they wanted $65 to start the first month after three months of month to month service I went somewhere else for my internet service.

It is now November and they are still trying to take out money. I will be calling them and calling a lawyer to sue them. I have a new withdrawal from them on November 23, have not been with them since August.

Replies
Worst Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA -- DO NOT GET COMWAVE. Worst internet service, worst customer service. You call, and stay on hold for an hour at a time just to speak with a supervisor. I have been with Comwave for 3 years and the internet goes out on a weekly basis. I have had to call Comwave multiple times within my contract to solve basic problems, and they make it harder than it needs to be.

They also tell you that you get 6 months free on your phone service, then when your contract is up (like mine is) and you try to cancel, they tell you you still owe them 6 months of payment. Do yourself a favor - do not, I repeat, do not get Comwave. It is a scam. Poor customer service representatives, with poor English and communicating skills. WORST SERVICE I'VE EVER HAD.

Company Response 01/12/2017:

Hi J.F.,

We're sorry you experienced issues with your service. Please contact us directly at social@comwave.net and we will help you out. – The Comwave Team

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comwave Rating:
Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
3.0 out of 5, based on 255 ratings and
271 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comwave
61 Wildcat Road
Toronto M3J 2P5, ON
1-866-288-5779 (ph)
www.comwave.net
Compare Phone/Mobile Services