Preview Review

Next Review

Cricket Wireless Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Cricket Rebate Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW BRAUNFELS, TEXAS -- Cricket promises a $200 Visa card rebate on a $299 phone. Great deal, right? Only problem is they tell you close to the end of the program that you didn't send all the correct info, rebate denied and it's too late to resend the info. We sent all the correct info, which they admitted, but it's too late to get the rebate now.

The phone's OK but I damn sure wouldn't buy a phone for that much. All I need it for is a phone, and the camera is nice but that is stupid expensive for a phone if you don't use it for internet, etc. I'm not the only scam victim I know of, no one I no has gotten a rebate form Cricket. "Sorry we can't help you" - Translation: tough **, you lose. Next stop BBB and Attorney General's office.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Customer Service, Order Off Internet
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEES SUMMIT, MISSOURI -- When I ordered my phone from the call representative nearby, they told me that once I get my phone it'll be ready to use. Once I got my phone, I read the introductions and it told me I need to keep it charged over night. Well I did so, and I continued the activation instructions. Activation unsuccessful. I called the customer service (located in India!!!) And they kept on saying "Um okay yes yes okay ** stupid **." They told me that they cannot activate it and told me to go to the nearby store. I did that and the store even told me they cannot even activate it and I need to go to a corporate store located 45 minutes. I told them "** that, that is stupid and I want to return my phone".

I've asked these people to go get their supervisor and they kept on saying "I am looking for one" but keeps on picking up the phone every minute to see if I'm still here. Do not use Cricket Wireless, worthless ** company which their customer service is in India. All store reps are foreigners!

Replies
Nightmare! Avoid at All Costs!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- I would have given this company 0 stars if that were possible. Avoid this place as if your life depends on it. The staff are very unprofessional. The local corporate store manager ** seems to have no idea how to do her job. After having an issue with the Huawei mercury I purchased in June which did not work from the moment I left the store I purchased it at (Hickory grove) I returned it to that store the following morning and was told by ** who sold me the phone that I would have to take it to the corporate location to have it replaced. I sat at this location for 4 hours without speaking to a single employee other than to be told very rudely to sign in on a kiosk which I did.

I stood against the wall for 4 hours waiting to be served because there is only one bench and the place is always packed (wonder why). There is a police officer stationed in the waiting room which should tell you something about this location. A woman was actually hitting her very young child in the waiting area with a shoe and no one even seemed to notice. After 4 hours I had to return home with no resolution. I spent hours on the phone with Cricket's useless customer service with no resolution and was directed back to the store where
I waited several more hours with no help.

Everyone within Cricket, apart from ** herself tells me that she should have replaced the phone and they can't help me. Fast forward to October. THAT'S 4 MONTHS! I am at my wit's end and am still paying for a phone that will not work. I finally get in touch with a regional manager for the Charlotte area that covers the store I purchased the phone from because the manager of that store (hickory grove) named ** refuses to help me as well. The regional manager named ** tells me that if I will pay a 125 insurance claim fee that he will give me a better phone and a discount monthly on my service as well as a credit to offset the cost of the insurance fee.

Although I did and still do believe that they should have immediately replaced the defective merchandise that they sold me, I felt that this was an acceptable compromise and agreed. He told me to go see ** at the Mallard pointe store and gave me a packet of info to give her to have this resolved. She did get me the new phone and I paid my 125 and she told me that she would text me within an hour to let me know that the credit and discount had been applied and what my monthly bill would be going forward. Needless to say, I never received that text. Just found out that none of that had been done after I left.

This has been the worst customer service I have ever received.Avoid Cricket at all costs!!!! The convenience of not having a contract does not offset the total lack of professionality and customer service. Every single person I have dealt with within this company made it very clear that they will only do the minimum required and couldn't care less about their customers.

Replies
Cricket Broadband and Employees suck!
By -

MADISON, WISCONSIN -- On Tuesday, January 4, 2011; I purchased a wireless broadband from Cricket from East Towne Mall. The man that was taking down my information, asked me for my license, and I informed him that I had just moved and if he would like my new address rather than the one on my license. He told me that my address doesn't matter, and that's when I questioned how I got billed. He told me that you get billed and pay online. I spent $53 for the modem, and $50 for the first month's internet, total of $103. I get back to my house around 9:30 pm to try out my new internet, installed and did everything the directions told me to do, only to find out it didn't work.

I called the 800 number and the guy told me that my internet didn't work because my $50 credit hadn't been posted. So I waited until the next day. Wednesday, January 5, 2011; After I got home from work at 6 pm, I tried the internet again, only to find out that it didn't work. I called the 800 number again, and the guy asked me for my zip code (the zip code on my license and where I live now are different) so he looked me up by my account number.

I began to explain to the man that the guy that sold me the broadband told me that my address didn't matter, and man chuckled. He took down my current address and then told me that I didn't receive any service where I lived which would have been nice to know before I purchased everything. The man explained to me that I could go to the West Side (30 minutes from where I purchased everything) to get a FULL refund as long as I made it in there by the 6th.

Thursday, January 6, 2011; I drove 40 minutes to the Westside store, where they denied me and told me I had to go to the store I bought everything from because they don't "associate" with the other store on the other side of town. So I had to drive to the other side of town were I purchased it from (Eastside) and the man told me that he could only be able to give me $25 of my $103 because they could only take back to broadband modem and I had to pay a restocking fee. I told that man that I would like to speak to his manager. He gave me her number and I called her, to find out she was VERY rude.

She started raising her voice at me telling me my receipt states I had 24 hours to return everything for a full refund and that the man that told me I had 3 days misinformed me. I told her that I didn't think it was right that I was paying for something I A) Never got to use B) Wasn't my fault that the guy didn't tell me I didn't get service where I lived cause he didn't take down my current address. I told her I wanted to speak to her boss, she then, really rudely took my name and number and hung up on me. NO manager should EVER hang up on a customer. 50 minutes later still no phone call. I called her store back, and she told me to go back to the booth.

I went back there to find a different man standing there. He refunded me the $53 for the wireless modem, and began to guilt trip me by saying that THEY (CRICKET) are losing money because they refunded me. I told him I wanted my $50 back for the month of internet I didn't and will never get to use. He told me I would have to go back to the store on the Westside (where I already was). I explained to him that they denied me, and he told me to ask for a manager there. I got their number and called them, and when I called a lady picked up, I explained the situation to her and she said that the guy gave me false information because they don't contact that store (even though they are the SAME company). I then flipped.

She went to someone higher than the owner, and I am now getting my $50 in a Visa gift card, not a check or a credit back to my bank account. But after the hours I spent running around and defending my case to rude Cricket employees, I just took it. and they are mailing it to me. I advise you NOT to work with Cricket, they are THE worst service I have ever had to deal with!

Replies
Advertisement
Cricket Wireless CUSTOMER SERVICE does not exist
By -

I must be stupid, I have been burned twice by this company. The first time with a cell phone that I had, the battery died (choked and died - DNR). I went to the local store, the girl behind the counter messed around it for about 5 minutes, tossed it on the counter and said that she could not get the back of the phone off, stated that I should just buy a new phone, turned around and walked off. I called the "1-800 #" and they nicely told me that insurance would not cover it, because I must have done something to the phone, but I could go up to the local store and see if they could fix it.

When I told them what happened, they insisted that it did not happen, "they do not hire bad customer service reps". Moving on - I switched carriers, and for a little more a month "not much more" I went to Verizon for phone services. Fast forward to present day my son got a laptop for Christmas. I wanted him to have Internet services, it was last minute, so I went to Cricket and bought the modem, and was on my way (boy I just wished I would have waited) I tried to pay my bill in January, albeit a day late, I know my fault, they had already cut the service off (understandable).

I went to the local store to pay, however the guy at the store said that because it had been turned off, he could not help me without the actual modem, so I went home and the next day went back with the modem and was told he still could not help me. I asked him to reactivate it, start up a new account and I would pay all the fees associated with it, he informed me that I had to buy another modem - at that time I left.

I tried to get help online, and called their 1-800 number that they listed, the guy on the phone, told me that he only processed new orders and gave me another 1-800 to call. I called this number, I do not think this number has any customer service people associated with it. I pressed the option to reactivate, and was told to go the nearest store, I tried every option, but without a "phone number for the account because it had been turned off". It was pretty useless, I tried to press 0, the system HUNG UP ON ME. While I understand the appeal of Cricket, the unlimited, no credit check, no contracts etc.

However with the crap you have to put up with, I think that it is worth the little extra money you have to pay with Verizon to get the customer service, people that actually answer the phones, email reminders about invoices due, stores everywhere, with more than 1 person in each store, and the convenience of being a day late and not having to go through heck. In researching, I have found that Cricket is actually rated one of the lowest for customer service, actually next to last. I will never make that mistake again, shame on me for getting burned twice!!! No third time!!! Beware and be smart

Replies
Poor customer service
By -

TENNESSEE -- The following was first sent to Smith Micro since it was under Support for the program that launches the Cricket Wireless service at 9:30 P.M. Friday Oct 30, 2009. They provided me with an email address to Cricket Wireless Support on the following Monday which I immediately forwarded the message to. There has been no response, so I thought I would send you an email with the body of the text that was sent to both parties. By the way, we've already lost two of the seven clients I have recommended the service to.

My stepson says that he called Cricket Support earlier today and was informed that the bandwidth was throttled and will be this way for the next several days because of "excessive downloading". I don't put any stock in this statement as this has never been a problem before; Cricket Wireless is advertised as unlimited broadband, & the two clients I lost today to a local Internet provider used the Cricket Wireless service for less than a month. Please see below:

"For the last two hours my Cricket Wireless modem has been running download speeds between 100-110 Kbps. Ping & upload speeds are typical (ping between 280-330, upload speed is 90-120 Kbps). Do you have a server down? Weather is clear here. Download speeds generally range from 400-700 Kbps. Generally, these speed reductions are only seen in this area from 2 A.M. to 3 A.M. I'm assuming a server reboot or other maintenance is being done at this time as this always happens regardless of the time of year. I reside in Atoka, Tn, approximately 25 miles north of Memphis.

Operating System: Windows XP Home, Windows OS Version: Windows XP Home Service Pack 3. System scanned for viruses and other malware. System is clean. Last Windows update run Thursday 10-29-09. Antivirus updated at this time. Additional system used to test modem is a Dell server running Windows 2000 Pro. Windows updates and antivirus updated same day as the above system. This system also clean. Same problem. Problem detected with Session Information window provided by QuickLink Mobile software, verified by www.whatismyip.com/speedtest/index.asp.

It is now 75 hours later and I am running a new application, http://www.speedtest.net; it also reports poor results. I am a local tech in the area & have gotten calls from three clients so far wanting to know why their Internet service is running slow. Current results as of Tuesday, Nov 3rd at 1:00 a. m.: Ping: 543 ms. Should be between 280-330 ms typical. Maximum download speed: 130 Kbps. Should be between 400-700 Kbps. Maximum upload speed: 100 Kbps (normal). I informed my clients that I would contact them as soon as I received an answer from you.

Are you upgrading your servers? Satellite hit with gamma radiation bursts? Is this the new normal my clients can expect? They & I are not happy. All these users use both desktops & laptops. I myself have two desktops & one laptop. Please respond as soon as possible so I can contact my clients and let them know when service can be expected to return to normal. This is a service I highly recommend because of the price & past reliability.

I have tested the service again as to the ping, download speed, and upload speed as of 12:40 A.M. today, Wednesday, Nov 4, 2009. A response from you would be appreciated in this matter. If this email has been sent to the wrong department, please forward to the correct department at your earliest convenience. Thank you."

I received a phone call from the Escalation Dept. on Friday, Nov. 6th, 2009. I was not able to take the call at the time and a message was left by ** requesting I return his call on Saturday, Nov. 7th. He informed me that he normally doesn't work on Saturdays but would be in the office at 8:00 A.M. the next morning my time to take the call. When I attempted to contact him, all I could reach was the answering machine. I left a brief message that included a call back number and a request to contact me at his earliest convenience.

It is now Monday Nov. 9th at 8:05 A.M. my time and I have once again attempted to contact Mr. Smith at the phone number given. Mr. Smith no longer occupies the office or the phone number has been rerouted to another office occupied by a gentleman who is only identified as **. I shall wait on this phone call until 12:30 P.M. today to see if a return call might be forthcoming.

No phone call was returned in what I expect to be a reasonable time. All I can conclude at this point is that their customer service is lacking or they do not wish for me or my clients to participate in their services anymore. I cannot recommend this service as truthful as far as their advertised claims any longer.

I am forwarding a copy of the final message to Cricket Wireless, the email address listed for Bill W. Smith, and the Better Business Bureau in Denver, Co. No further contact will be required. Our cell phone has been switched from Cricket to Cellular South. We will also be switching our broadband Internet connection to the local company that provides this service. I would like to say we did appreciate the service you have provided the past two years and are sorry we have to part company.

Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever.
By -

It all started when I had to move from Phoenix, Arizona to Windsor, California. I took my Cricket phone with me and all was well. I decided to make my monthly payment 5 days in advance on October 9th. I paid a total of 53.86 for my services which would be billed from October 14 to November 14th. Now on October 10th the phone broke. I had insurance on it and went through the proper channels to get a replacement phone, which cost me 50.00. I received the phone on October 14th. Unfortunately because of my move I was unable to activate my phone and was told I would need to go to a Cricket store to do so.

The nearest store is 150 miles away and I am unable to get there. So I told them to disconnect the services then and I wanted a refund on the 53.86 for services since I was unable to use them. I was told everything would be fine I would receive my money in 2-3 weeks. I then called their insurance company, The Signal, and got them to issue me a refund for the 50.00 deductible, and I had to send both phones back. I just received the refund from The Signal today, November 7th. I called Cricket to check on the status of my refund from THEM since I had not received it yet. I was told there were no notes stating that, and that the services were still active.

I spoke with a supervisor. She told me she would get right on it, it would take 7-10 days for it to be issued and that I needed to go and fax her my bank account info showing the payment was taken out. I did so and called back 2 hours later. I spoke to a different representative, and explained my situation and asked if my fax had been received. She told me this was the wrong department. I asked for a number to reach the correct department and she said she didn't have it. I then asked for a supervisor and she told me to call back in 30 mins. I was explaining to her how ridiculous that was since you never get the same place two times and she HUNG UP on me.

I then called back and spoke to another supervisor, a female. She was very rude and unhelpful and told me that she couldn't assure me I would even receive a refund. This was the first I have heard of anything like that, and I was trying to ask WHY that would EVER be. She couldn't tell me why and told me there would be an investigation. I told her I wanted to make sure my Fax was received since it is personal information. She told me she was unable to verify this and to call the Main Cricket store located in California. I called and spoke to a female. She told me I was misinformed and she couldn't help me at all.

I had to call Cricket's 800 number, AGAIN, and ask for a supervisor. When I got someone on the line, I didn't get her name unfortunately, but in the middle of me explaining my concern I hear her exclaim "Oh, my lip balm!!" She was not paying any attention to me so I promptly asked for a supervisor.

I talked to a male and explained my issues. He pretty much told me the same thing that there would be an investigation and someone would call me. I advised him I do not trust their company to call me back and that I would call back in a week. I was told it would take up to 2 weeks JUST TO FIND OUT IF I AM APPROVED FOR MY MONEY!!! I wasn't even able to use the service I didn't even have a phone. I am being put through this frustration for an error on their part, and I seriously feel like I was not helped, or treated properly.

Replies
Sold Phones That Will Not Work as of 3-1-2015
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHARLOTTE, NORTH CAROLINA -- Cricket Wireless is using AT&T cell towers - my daughter has experienced roaming 80% of the time. As of March 1, 2015 phones purchased as recent as August and October 2014 will not be able to work. Cricket's solution is to sell customers an upgraded phone. Phones not 1 year old does not matter. Today I was told I could cancel the service or pay extra money. I cancelled.

Replies
Advertisement
Suck Suck Suck
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

28083 -- I didn't use my phone for the month of July. Paid for August on the first. You took my money and then cut my phone back off. I was robbed!!! You guys are thieves! What a horrible way to treat your customers!

Replies
Read this before you switch to Cricket
By -

I have the Huawei Ascend 3G Touch Screen and I regret the day I paid $189.99 x 2 for these phones and made the switch to this company. Two months after I bought the phones they start giving them away for free if you switch to Cricket service. My husband sees my struggle with this phone and the service he never even activated his phone. The reception is bad wherever I go, to work in VA or home in MD. I have to go outside to get a good signal, by good I mean 3 bars, inside if I do get 1 or 2 bars the call goes through but it will drop several times, I get so frustrated by the time I do get through I don't want to talk anymore.

I cannot hear on this phone - it has the worst volume I have ever seen on a cellular phone. If you don't have an earpiece phone has to be on speaker to have a conversation and that is bad, it is like using a walkie-talkie (you put it to your ear to listen then to your mouth to talk). I can use my phone in my car on speaker at MAX volume and the person in the passenger seat next to me cannot clearly hear what is being said, very poor quality product. The speaker does however do OK when used on the web or with some music apps, when it is very quiet but if there is any noise where you are it's no good.

I cannot speak to customer service representative if my service is off, I mean 1 day late and you are off. The only option I have is to make a payment. Even if I make a partial payment they call this a bridge payment, you still can not reach tech support or cust service. Can you say "Rip Off"? I've had this service for 5 or 6 months now and I hardly ever use it, I am so frustrated with the horrible service.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Cricket Wireless Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
74 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Cricket Wireless
575 Morosgo Dr NE
Atlanta, GA 30324
1-800-CRICKET (274-2 (ph)
www.cricketwireless.com
Compare Phone/Mobile Services