Cricket Wireless - Page 2

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
75 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Read this before you switch to Cricket
Posted by on
I have the Huawei Ascend 3G Touch Screen and I regret the day I paid $189.99 x2 for these phones and made the switch to this company. Two months after I bought the phones they start giving them away for free if you switch to Cricket service. My husband sees my strugle with this phone and the service he never even activated his phone. The reception is bad where ever I go, to work in VA or home in MD. I have to go outside to get a good singal, by good I mean 3 bars, inside if I do get 1 or 2 bars the call goes through but it will drop several times, I get so frustrated by the time I do get through I don't want to talk anymore. I can not hear on this phone it has the worst volume I have ever seen on a cellular phone, if you don't have a earpiece phone has to be on speaker to have a conversation and that is bad, it is like using a walkie-talkie (you put it to your ear to listen then to your mouth to talk). I can use my phone in my car on speaker at MAX volume and the person in the passenger seat next to me can not clearly hear what is being said, very poor quality product. The speaker does however do OK when used on the web or with some music apps, when it is very quiet but if there is any noise where you are its no good. I cannot speak to customer service representative if my service is off, I mean 1 day late and you are off, the only option I have is to make a payment. Even if I make a partial payment they call this a bridge payment, you still can not reach tech support or cust service, can you say "Rip Off". I've had this service for 5 or 6 months now and I hardly ever use it, I am so frustrated with the horrible service.
     
Replies
Cricket Has The Worst Customer Service Ever!
Posted by on
I am writing concerning the HORRIFFIC customer service I have received from your Cricket Wireless. I have been a Cricket customer for several years and am extremely disappointed in what I have recently experienced.

First, I have tried to update my address on the phone with their representatives on three separate occasions. I also tried to update my address on their web site on five separate occasions and after a period of approximately 1 ½ years I was finally successful. That’s actually OK. I can accept that.

Second, on March 26, 2011 I went on line to order their new Huawei Ascend phone and upgrade my service. The web site told me it could not process the transaction which I found very strange because I pay my bill with the same credit card on line every month. And, although I was informed that the transaction could not be processed, they charged my account the $152.44 with no order confirmation! I was able to talk to their customer service and my bank and have the charge removed. I then went back on line to order the phone again, and again, the transaction was not processed however, my account was once again charged! This occurred three times! I spent numerous hours on the phone with their customer service department as well as with my bank. Finally, after 12 days of frustration I drove to a Cricket store to purchase the phone and upgrade my service. I had to pay MORE than I would have online because I was not able to get the online discount! After seven days of new service, my phone was disconnected because of an error on their end stating that I owe $21.00 which is impossible considering I signed up for and paid for the phone and new service directly at the store. I drove back to the store for a 2nd time to have the issue resolved. Two days later my phone quit working once again, so once again I drove to the store, (31 miles one way) to have the latest issue resolved.

In summary, I have spent more than five hours on the phone trying to resolve these issues, 186 miles worth of gas for the three specific visits to the store and my time in order to resolve these numerous issues that were all caused by the incompetence of their company only to discover that I am not able to be compensated in any way. This is unacceptable. Is this how their company values its customers? I have NEVER been so disappointed with the service I have received from any company in my entire life! In addition, no one ever even bothered to contact me and offer me some sort of retribution.
     
Replies
Cricket Wireless Lies!
Posted by on
MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN -- I went to the Cricket store in Brown Deer, WI on 8/24/10. Katrina a sales representative helped me and told me that I could get Unlimited Roaming added to the plan for $5.00 more and with where I live (West Bend, WI), I would need Unlimited Roaming because when I’m at home it’s roaming. I paid for the phone ($139.99) and my first month’s service payment of $37.47 (As shown on receipt). On 9/8/10 my phone would not allow me to make or receive calls, saying I ran out of roaming minutes! I called the 1-800 number for Cricket and they told me there’s no such thing as unlimited roaming, your give only 30 minutes of roaming for $5.00 which is not what I was told when I bought the phone by Katrina the sales representative I tried calling the Brown Deer store on 9/8/10 and left a detailed message. I called again 10:30 am on 9/9/10 and got voicemail. Again I left another detailed message and never heard anything back. So I drove 35 minutes to the Brown Deer store to return my phone. There return policy said you have 30 days to return merchandise and I have had my phone for less than 30 days. I got to the store and they told me they could not refund me any money because I had talked on my phone for more than 30 minutes! They told me it was crickets policy and there was no way they could give me a full or even a part of a refund! I don't even know why I got this phone, oh wait because I thought I was going to be getting Unlimited roaming but am not and now I'm stuck with a $139.99 phone I can't even use and Cricket won't take back!!!!
     
Replies
Crickect Has The Worst Customer Service in the world!!!!!!!
Posted by on
Do NOT!!!!!! DO NOT!! get a Cricket cell phone or plan. This is fact: I have paid my bill online through the "My Account" on the Cricket web site, and not only did they turn my phone off but claims to not have received my payment, when they must have forgotten that if you pay online there is an automatic confirmation number sent to you right after you pay online, and one sent to your e-mail saying thank you for your payment. Like a receipt basically. I told them that I have that e-mail as my proof and they say this: You might have paid a false website, Oh we don't control the e-mails that goes out, Did you pay before 6pm est time?,

I was able to counter all of these questions in the e-mailing back and forth between Cricket support and myself.

Eventually they finally said well call 1-800-Cricket and or *611 for customer service and they will be able to help you with this inconvenience. Okay right call customer service no problem..........
.............................calling......calling............................calling......Oh wait a minute! when your phone has recently or if your phone is about to be disconnected you can't reach a customer service agent. No matter if it's 1-800-Cricket or *611 from your cell phone, it do not matter. You can NOT reach an agent, and they know that.

So I knew when they told me to call customer service they were just trying to shut me up and just pay this months bill and next all at one time. If you take notice, you will see your bill being high ever month if you just make monthly payments, it's because they charge you the next month bill in advance. I hate Cricket. I really do. Can you get a plan that has unlimited everything including web for about 55$ a month..yes you can, but is it worth all the trouble when one becomes inconvenienced by Cricket and there constant mistake making unprofessional system failers, I don't know. Maybe try Boost mobile. Times are hard but I only have Cricket because it's the only plan that I could afford at the time. Cricket should be embarrassed by the way their customer service treat people.
     
Replies
Poor customer service
Posted by on
TENNESSEE -- The following email was first sent to Smith Micro since it was under Support for the program that launches the Cricket Wireless service at 9:30 P.M. Friday Oct 30, 2009. They provided me with an email address to Cricket Wireless Support on the following Monday which I immediately forwarded the message to. There has been no response, so I thought I would send you an email with the body of the text that was sent to both parties. By the way, we've already lost two of the seven clients I have recommended the service to. My step son says that he called Cricket Support earlier today and was informed that the bandwidth was throttled and will be this way for the next several days because of "excessive downloading". I don't put any stock in this statement as this has never been a problem before; Cricket Wireless is advertised as unlimited broadband, & the two clients I lost today to a local Internet provider used the Cricket Wireless service for less than a month. Please see below:

For the last two hours my Cricket Wireless modem has been running download speeds between 100-110 Kbps. Ping & upload speeds are typical (ping between 280-330, upload speed is 90-120 Kbps). Do you have a server down? Weather is clear here. Download speeds generally range from 400-700 Kbps.

Generally, these speed reductions are only seen in this area from 2 A.M. to 3 A.M. I'm assuming a server reboot or other maintenance is being done at this time as this always happens regardless of the time of year.

I reside in Atoka, Tn., approximately 25 miles north of Memphis.

Operating System: Windows XP Home
Windows OS Version: Windows XP Home Service Pack 3

System scanned for viruses and other malware. System is clean. Last Windows update run Thursday 10-29-09. Antivirus updated at this time.

Additional system used to test modem is a Dell server running Windows 2000 Pro. Windows updates and antivirus updated same day as the above system. This system also clean. Same problem.

Problem detected with Session Information window provided by QuickLink Mobile software, verified by www.whatismyip.com/speedtest/index.asp.

It is now 75 hours later and I am running a new application, http://www.speedtest.net; it also reports poor results. I am a local tech in the area & have gotten calls from three clients so far wanting to know why their Internet service is running slow. Current results as of Tuesday, Nov 3rd at 1:00 a. m.:

Ping: 543 ms. Should be between 280-330 ms typical.
Maximum download speed: 130 Kbps. Should be between 400-700 Kbps.
Maximum upload speed: 100 Kbps (normal).

I informed my clients that I would contact them as soon as I received an answer from you. Are you upgrading your servers? Satellite hit with gamma radiation bursts? Is this the new normal my clients can expect? They & I are not happy. All these users use both desktops & laptops. I myself have two desktops & one laptop. Please respond as soon as possible so I can contact my clients and let them know when service can be expected to return to normal. This is a service I highly recommend because of the price & past reliability.

I have tested the service again as to the ping, download speed, and upload speed as of 12:40 A.M. today, Wednesday, Nov 4, 2009. A response from you would be appreciated in this matter. If this email has been sent to the wrong department, please forward to the correct department at your earliest convenience. Thank you.

I received a phone call from the Escalation Dept. on Friday, Nov. 6th, 2009. I was not able to take the call at the time and a message was left by Xxxx X. Xxxxx requesting I return his call on Saturday, Nov. 7th. He informed me that he normally doesn't work on Saturdays but would be in the office at 8:00 A.M. the next morning my time to take the call. When I attempted to contact him, all I could reach was the answering machine. I left a brief message that included a call back number and a request to contact me at his earliest convenience. It is now Monday Nov. 9th at 8:05 A.M. my time and I have once again attempted to contact Mr. Smith at the phone number given. Mr. Smith no longer occupies the office or the phone number has been rerouted to another office occupied by a gentleman who is only identified as Xxx. I shall wait on this phone call until 12:30 P.M. today to see if a return call might be forthcoming.

No phone call was returned in what I expect to be a reasonable time. All I can conclude at this point is that their customer service is lacking or they do not wish for me or my clients to participate in their services anymore. I cannot recommend this service as truthful as far s their advertised claims any longer.

I am forwarding a copy of the final message to Cricket Wireless, the email address listed for Bill W. Smith, and the Better Business Bureau in Denver, Co. No further contact will be required. Our cell phone has been switched from Cricket to Cellular South. We will also be switching our broadband Internet connection to the local company that provides this service. I would like to say we did appreciate the service you have provided the past two years and are sorry we have to part company.


     
Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever.
Posted by on
It all started when I had to move from Phoenix, Arizona to Windsor, California. I took my cricket phone with me and all was well. I decided to make my monthly payment 5 days in advance on October 9th. I paid a total of 53.86 for my services which would be billed from October 14 to November 14th. Now on October 10th the phone broke. I had insurance on it and went through the proper channels to get a replacement phone, which cost me 50.00. I received the phone on October 14th. Unfortunately because of my move I was unable to activate my phone and was told I would need to go to a cricket store to do so. The nearest store is 150 miles away and I am unable to get there. So I told them to disconnect the services then and I wanted a refund on the 53.86 for services since I was unable to use them. I was told everything would be fine I would receive my money in 2-3 weeks. I then called their insurance company, The Signal, and got them to issue me a refund for the 50.00 deductible, and I had to send both phones back. I just received the refund from The Signal today, November 7th. I called Cricket to check on the status of my refund from THEM since I had not received it yet. I was told there were no notes stating that, and that the services were still active. I spoke with a supervisor. She told me she would get right on it it would take 7-10 days for it to be issued and that I needed to go and fax her my bank account info showing the payment was taken out. I did so and called back 2 hours later. I spoke to a different representative, and explained my situation and asked if my fax had been received. She told me this was the wrong department. I asked for a number to reach the correct department and she said she didn't have it. I then asked for a supervisor and she told me to call back in 30 mins. I was explaining to her how ridiculous that was since you never get the same place two times and she HUNG UP on me. I then called back and spoke to another supervisor, a female. She was very rude and unhelpful and told me that she couldn't assure me I would even receive a refund. This was the first I have heard of anything like that, and I was trying to ask WHY that would EVER be. She couldn't tell me why and told me there would be an investigation. I told her I wanted to make sure my Fax was received since it is personal information. She told me she was unable to verify this and to call the Main cricket store located in California. I called and spoke to a female. She told me I was misinformed and she couldn't help me at all. I had to call cricket's 800 number, AGAIN, and ask for a supervisor. When I got someone on the line, I didn't get her name unfortunately, but in the middle of me explaining my concern I hear her exclaim "Oh, my lip balm!!" She was not paying any attention to me so I promptly asked for a supervisor. I talked to a male and explained my issues. He pretty much told me the same thing that there would be an investigation and someone would call me. I advised him I do not trust their company to call me back and that I would call back in a week. I was told it would take up to 2 weeks JUST TO FIND OUT IF I AM APPROVED FOR MY MONEY!!! I wasn't even able to use the service I didn't even have a phone. I am being put through this frustration for an error on their part, and I seriously feel like I was not helped, or treated properly.
     
Replies
Cricket PayGo Service And InComm Fastcard A Scam! Beware!
Posted by on
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I started Cricket PayGo service on Dec 31, 2008. I paid in store to add minutes to my phone. The plan I chose was $1 a day for unlimited phone calls only to be charged on days the phone was in use. I used the phone for two days. The phone was turned off for about a week and when I tried to use it again it was disconnected. I called Cricket from a different phone and was told that the phone was disconnected and they did not have information on what days the phone was charged for. "Oh well," I thought. I was not in the mood to argue so I asked them to reactivate the phone and apply minutes that I purchased at Wal-Mart from a Cricket PayGo card that is powered by Fastcard a registered trademark of InComm.
I checked my balance at 10:30pm to assure my $15 was added to my account. It was there, yeah! WRONG!

The next day I tried to check the balance on my phone and got the dreaded busy signal that is heard when a phone is disconnected. I dialed my Cricket PayGo telephone number from a different phone and sure enough it was cancelled. I called Cricket and after being hung up on 3 times was informed that "research" would have to be done on my account because they did not show that I added minutes to the phone. Cricket claims they can not track InComm refill cards. They said I must call the 800 number on the back of the refill card. I attempted this to no avail because you can not reach customer service just an automated machine. So here I sit with a refill card and confirmation number that Cricket PayGo claims that they have no record of. Basically the whole set up is a scam. If you want cheap phone service just get the basic plan from Cricket.

I have never had trouble with the regular Cricket's customer service, but PayGo is out of the question. It is a rip off and not worth the time and frustration. Just wanted to give a heads up to everyone. BEWARE!!!
     
Replies
Cricket Customer Service is FRUSTRATING!
Posted by on
ARVADA, COLORADO -- I have happily been with Cricket since 2005 and have never had to deal with customer service before yesterday, 5/19/08. I was late in paying my bill and called the *611 number to pay up. I received a confirmation number after payment and was told my phone would be activated in approximately 30 mins. After waiting a couple of hours, I called the *611 number only to hit a voice automated system telling me I could not proceed to any other options unless I paid my bill! I needed to simply SPEAK to a live person to see why after paying my bill my phone was not turned back on. I tried 7 different numbers all which would not lead me to a live person. I went on the website mycricket.com to find contact info, or an email address and found nothing. On 5/20/08, more than 24 hours after paying my bill, my phone was still not activated. In desperation, I call the web sales number to get a live body and was told they could not help me and that they had received my specific complaint a lot at their office. I then call the rebate number, got a live person who also said they could not help me, different system, blah, blah, blah. I asked to speak to a supervisor who told me she could not help, had no other additional numbers for me to try to "sorry, we hear this a lot." Finally I called a number I found when I googled " cricket customer service rep" and got a gentleman who gave me the number that finally worked!!! It is 1.866.384.4425. When I spoke to the live body and gave her my confirmation number she could not see why my phone was not reactivated yet, but turned my phone on manually, lectured me about paying my bill on time, and then asked if I would be interested in upgrading my service, newer phone, etc. INCREDIBLE! I know being without a phone for two days is not the end of the world, but what is wrong with Cricket's customer service? The web is full of complaints that had I seen before I bought my Cricket phone, could have swayed my decision to not go with them. I shudder to think of the headaches I could have if I had re- occurring problems with my phone. I have had one problem in 3 years. Anyway, buyer beware!
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Trade in Rip Off - Lousy Reps
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SAN ANTONIO, TEXAS -- Lousy reps with no professional skills, deceptive practices and uninformed phone sales. I was told by a senior rep, that cricket service will not support my iphone. I traded in my iphone 5 for a samsung phone. The guy said it was one of the best ones available and if I was not satisfied with it, I could trade it in for another phone. So, I fell for it and got the samsung.

I paid around $200.00 for this samsung after trading in my I phone 5.
this samsung phone is the worst phone I've ever owned. It's very slow.
This fat guy knew the my I phone was way superior than this cheesy samsung phone. I went back after a couple of months to see if could trade it for different phone. No chance. They didn't want it after 3 months. Only 3 months.
So much for honesty, reliability and good service.

Cricket Wireless: 5511 Northwest Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78238
Cricket Wireless reps at this location don't care about customers. They take your money and after you walk out the building, tough!
     
Replies
StarStarStarStarStar
Excellent
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
UPSTATE, NEW YORK -- Really surprised by all the negative reviews. My experience has been nothing short of amazing. I have the pro plan for $60 a month (55 with autopay), which gives me unlimited talk and text, and 10 gigs of 4g data. I get 8 to 10 mbps speeds on 4g which is really fast. Virtually every other prepaid service that advertises 4g would give me 3 to 4 mbps. Coverage in upstate ny is excellent. I used to be on contact with AT&T and paying $110 a month after taxes I got 250 minutes and only 3 gigs of data. Sure 4g was faster getting 20 to 25 mbps, but 8mbps with Cricket is plenty fast, streaming HD videos no problem. And unlimited talk and text all for half the cost of a contract. And 10 gigs of data a month! Amazing. Personally I think Cricket is the best value for the money so if there coverage is good in your area I highly recommend them.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >